User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 555 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 1, 2010
    5
    It seems Lionhead tried to reinvent the wheel (which wasn't broken) and ran out of time to do so. One type of Xp, One item per store, no way to view your items, TOUCH SYSTEM was a complete gimmick serving no value to the game as a whole, no online store... I can go on.

    This was a great game... until I figured out I could beat the story in 4 hours. What could have been a powerful and epic
    It seems Lionhead tried to reinvent the wheel (which wasn't broken) and ran out of time to do so. One type of Xp, One item per store, no way to view your items, TOUCH SYSTEM was a complete gimmick serving no value to the game as a whole, no online store... I can go on.

    This was a great game... until I figured out I could beat the story in 4 hours. What could have been a powerful and epic game turned out to be a waste of my $80. I went ahead and continued the side-quests, having fun although half felt repetitive and same to Fable II. Beat those in 4 hours! Whole game beat, 8 hours. I found all the chests, gnomes, and doors in another 5 hours. DONE. ALL DONE. In 13 hours. No more to play. What a joke, this is an RPG people. I put days into Fable II, more in Fable I... Lionhead, you should of taken another year to finish your little concept that you left bare, boring, and short. I'm a Fable fan to death... and I really want my money back with this one. Actually made me depressed on how fast it was over. I was so excited, pre-ordered, and I get a hunk of unfinished game in my Xbox. I'm very disappointed.
    Collapse
  2. Nov 9, 2010
    5
    Fable 3 is disappointing........to say the least. It doesn't feel much of a sequel, in-fact in many ways it feels like fable 2's predecessor. The developers made some weird choices as to what to cut out from the last game, for example combat has been "streamlined" or in other words simplified to the point of it feeling totally void of any skill (i played the entire game through withoutFable 3 is disappointing........to say the least. It doesn't feel much of a sequel, in-fact in many ways it feels like fable 2's predecessor. The developers made some weird choices as to what to cut out from the last game, for example combat has been "streamlined" or in other words simplified to the point of it feeling totally void of any skill (i played the entire game through without dying once). Its all just button mashing. You now only have the choice of 4 weapon types, Sword or hammer and pistol or rifle. And the variety of types of magic has been greatly reduced. In a game like this where choice is key, sadly it lacks it. All the choices you make are simply good or evil, thats it, no room for personality. When you become king the decisions you make require little to no thought, its all down to whether you want to be good or bad. It feels like a kids game wrapped to to look like a RPG. It wants to be a hardcore game but it really really isn't. Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2010
    6
    This game feels like a chore to play. While there is some enjoyment to be found the repetition, bugs, stale combat, and poor development designs dominate most of the game. The combat is very unenjoyable and down right frustrating some times with hit detection problems riddled in the melee, and guns, magic is over powered and the path of least resistance though gets repetitous very quickly.This game feels like a chore to play. While there is some enjoyment to be found the repetition, bugs, stale combat, and poor development designs dominate most of the game. The combat is very unenjoyable and down right frustrating some times with hit detection problems riddled in the melee, and guns, magic is over powered and the path of least resistance though gets repetitous very quickly. Exploration is very tedious, with the dog barking every 2 seconds for a dig spot where you get a very little amount of gold, and the rewards of exploration are not worth the time invested. The good/evil choices while they do have a great impact once you become king/queen it all really feels tacked on and not cohesive whatsoever. I did enjoy making the choices, holding court, and amassing wealth. The family system is terrible and investing in properties and business is more streamlined (you can do it through the map) it is not enjoyable. There is some fun to be had in Fable 3, but you have to deal with a large portion of excrement in this buggy, disjointed, and non-cohesive adventure. Expand
  4. Oct 31, 2010
    5
    This game looks great, and is very enjoyable on my first run through. Shortly after starting my second run through the lag was horrendous and my butler became mute. The game took 15 hours to get through and that was taking my time. The combat was ridiculously easy. The Road to Rule was an interesting idea but I believe there wasn't enough on it. I loved the first 2 games, and had highThis game looks great, and is very enjoyable on my first run through. Shortly after starting my second run through the lag was horrendous and my butler became mute. The game took 15 hours to get through and that was taking my time. The combat was ridiculously easy. The Road to Rule was an interesting idea but I believe there wasn't enough on it. I loved the first 2 games, and had high hopes for this one. With its performance I may never buy a Lionhead game again. Expand
  5. Nov 26, 2010
    5
    I don't see how they would let a game be released with such a significant amount of flaws. Yes, the story is good, but the graphics are horrendous. I loved Fable 1 and Fable 2 but this game ran the whole franchise into the ground. Their is a large amount of glitches in the gameplay such as pop ins and graphical glitches but, the story was very compelling in every way. I will buy the nextI don't see how they would let a game be released with such a significant amount of flaws. Yes, the story is good, but the graphics are horrendous. I loved Fable 1 and Fable 2 but this game ran the whole franchise into the ground. Their is a large amount of glitches in the gameplay such as pop ins and graphical glitches but, the story was very compelling in every way. I will buy the next one because I love the fable franchise but this was a complete downfall to the series. Not worth the money. Expand
  6. Mar 24, 2011
    7
    I am a huge fan of the Fable series. Fable II was a great game that I played over and over again and never really got tired of. Fable III, although good, doesn't hold my interest like the second did. The graphics and gameplay are definitely improved over part II, (especially the multiplayer) but I feel there is something missing. I only played this game through one time. You don'tI am a huge fan of the Fable series. Fable II was a great game that I played over and over again and never really got tired of. Fable III, although good, doesn't hold my interest like the second did. The graphics and gameplay are definitely improved over part II, (especially the multiplayer) but I feel there is something missing. I only played this game through one time. You don't have the ability to make different characters and I seriously think this lowers the replay value. It was fun to play through, (I've completed the main storyline and many of the side quest) but once it's over, it kinda feels over for good. Expand
  7. Jun 28, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I truly wanted to like Fable III. I'm a fan of the first two games; I liked the territory explored by the first, and the second, though lacking in some of the technical elements I look for in games, is such fun that I go back to it about twice a year for a brief and fulfilling love affair with what is essentially mindless sword-swinging and spell-slinging. I expected the third installment in the series to work with what Fable II set in place for it, and improve on what was already a tremendously fun franchise. Sadly, this is not what I found. Fable III partially (and, as far as I'm concerned, needlessly) revamps the leveling system, actually making it clunkier and more tedious rather than streamlining it as is generally the trend. The plot is cheaper and less interesting than either of the previous games', consisting of two halves: making promises you have no idea whether or not you can keep, and then keeping or breaking them based on an overarcing moral choice that wants very badly to be 'deep' and 'difficult.' Ultimately, it is this choice which robs the game of any fun it might have presented before, because it renders the entire experience one big exercise in metagaming. I have a lot of trouble with this, because I don't go to Fable for hard choices--I've never really considered the series to be morally intelligent enough to need them. I go to Fable to have fun. It's a game, that's what it's there for. This choice made the game stop being fun for me. And it's not because it's not an interesting choice, it's because it's an interesting choice that requires intelligence in what is ultimately an unintelligent world. You are given the option to do bad things for all the right reasons, but never given the option to explain, or offer reparations for breaking your promises.

    I won't talk about the game's technical issues, except to say that I actually found this game's graphics worse than its predecessor's. I suspect this has less to do with the actual specs of the game and more to do with the way in which the visuals were used. I wasn't particularly fond of the voiced protagonist, since I was never given the option to control what came out of her mouth, but this, like most of my other problems with the game, is a matter of personal preference. Customization is more limited than in the previous installment, not simply for lack of options, but because of the huge amounts of money the game wants you to spend on clothing. There are a hundred other tiny, nitpicky details I could mention, but none of them are particularly relevant.

    The only thing I want to make perfectly clear is this: This game is not Fable II. It is similar enough to bear the same title, but it tears away the best parts of Fable II and in their place inserts elements that, in my opinion, don't fit in the Fable universe.
    Expand
  8. Apr 23, 2011
    7
    A fun game to play but not as good as the previous game. The spell progression has been massively dumbed down and the game looses its way in the middle which is a real shame. It feels like Lionhead rushed this game and left bits out or half finished them to bring it to market quickly which is a shame as real fans of the series would have been happy to wait for a more complete version.
  9. Nov 9, 2011
    5
    I really wanted to like this game. I really did. My first game with the Xbox 360 was Fable 2, so I looked forward to seeing Fable 3, but a horrible thing happened between Fable 2 and Fable 3...I played Dragon Age. The Fable world feels flat and one dimensional in comparison with the epic scale of Dragon Age. Dragon Age offers me real world choices and actually lets me really exploreI really wanted to like this game. I really did. My first game with the Xbox 360 was Fable 2, so I looked forward to seeing Fable 3, but a horrible thing happened between Fable 2 and Fable 3...I played Dragon Age. The Fable world feels flat and one dimensional in comparison with the epic scale of Dragon Age. Dragon Age offers me real world choices and actually lets me really explore relationships with the NPC's. Fable 3 just feels like a child's game in comparison. It saddens me to say this, but Fable 3 has not stepped up its game enough. Expand
  10. Feb 12, 2012
    5
    Bundles of charm, some pretty cartoony graphics and some fun gameplay ideas (bigamy never looked so adorable!). But the combat is hilariously dumbed down to point where it's actually almost impossible to die. You don't have a stamina bar or a magic bar, so you can spam any attack you want as much as you want with no consequences. The combat here is obviously just an accompaniment to theBundles of charm, some pretty cartoony graphics and some fun gameplay ideas (bigamy never looked so adorable!). But the combat is hilariously dumbed down to point where it's actually almost impossible to die. You don't have a stamina bar or a magic bar, so you can spam any attack you want as much as you want with no consequences. The combat here is obviously just an accompaniment to the rest of the game, but there are so many combat situations present, that the dumbed down combat just becomes an irritating distraction from the rest of the game. It improves upon some elements of Fable 2, namely the menu systems, but fails in every other way. Fable 2 had a terrible mini-map which was unusable most of the time. Fable 3 instead has no actual map of an area, but simply a representative 3D top-down view of what the area might look like with key areas. This is fine for when purchasing houses etc, and actually makes up-keep of families and property a lot easier, but if you want to get to a particular spot in an area of the world, there is no game map to help you navigate. It's a little bit preposterous and I'm really starting to think that Lionhead Studios have a thing against maps in games. Such a basic requirement of RPGs shouldn't be messed up like this . Also the game is very very short lived and raising funds is far too easy due to the massive amounts of gold you receive after quest completion, which makes much of the game world feel a bit pointless at times. Like Fable 2 the story really struggles to be compelling and seems to lose its way and come to an abrupt end. Overall, Fable 3 does nothing to try and improve upon the issues present in Fable 2 and actually in most cases makes things worse. The only thing saving this game, is the charming jovial atmosphere and some very pretty graphics. Expand
  11. Nov 11, 2012
    5
    It's just more of the same, minus what made fable II fun. Interactions with NPCs have been dumbed down and are boring and repetitive. Gameplay is shallow and repetitive. Technically the game is rough, frame rate isn't perfect. It's not visually inspiring. This games redeeming quality is its sense of humor, it is very funny. Humor can only do so much for a game. Straight down the line, thisIt's just more of the same, minus what made fable II fun. Interactions with NPCs have been dumbed down and are boring and repetitive. Gameplay is shallow and repetitive. Technically the game is rough, frame rate isn't perfect. It's not visually inspiring. This games redeeming quality is its sense of humor, it is very funny. Humor can only do so much for a game. Straight down the line, this game is just average. It wouldve been more enjoyable if it were the only fable game ever made, however it's not. The best fable game on the 360 is not the newest one. Expand
  12. Nov 7, 2010
    7
    This is not your protagonist's parents game...

    Fable III lost much of what made it's predecessor great. Spell and skill progression is wonky and the story line gets really choppy half way through. With all the attention and and success of the last version you would think the third installment would be an incremental improvement. By all measures, it falls short of Fable II. My
    This is not your protagonist's parents game...

    Fable III lost much of what made it's predecessor great. Spell and skill progression is wonky and the story line gets really choppy half way through. With all the attention and and success of the last version you would think the third installment would be an incremental improvement. By all measures, it falls short of Fable II.

    My recommendation to the dev team is to go back to what made Fable II so great and build on it. I would much rather see a solid expanded Fable 2.5 than a sub-par Fable III.

    Weapon progression? It has no sense of impact on the game and is therefore useless. Go back to socketed weapons please.

    The game feels slightly rushed, rough at the end, and ultimately void of meaningful innovation. Reboot off Fable II next time please.
    Expand
  13. Oct 29, 2010
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I purchased the Limited Collector's edition of Fable 3 -- and expected that I would play the game until i had all of its Achievement (as I had with Fable 2).

    My first impression (say, the first 5-6 hours of gameplay) was that it had been underestimated by professional critics. But, as I continued, doubts began to creep across my mind. Albion was full of charm and whimsy (as ever) but little in the game is innovative. My dog was virtually useless in battle. The RPG aspects appeared to be "dumbed down" -- perhaps as an appeal to casual gamers. Once i obtained the ability to combine two spells together -- I chose electric shock and ice storm -- there was hardly any enemy that could knock me out (Fable's euphemistic equivalent of "dying"). The final battle was simply a button-mashing exercise -- As most gamers will know by now, Fable 3 is divided into 2 sections; the first 90% consists of uniting various factions so that you can stage an uprising and depose an evil King (your brother). That section is moderately interesting even though nothing ground-breaking occurs. But the remaining 10% (approximately) consists of making critical decisions, most of them in your throne room, that involve major expenditures. If you decide to play as a "good" King, and honor your agreements with your allies, and improve the lives of Albion's citizens, the treasury will be quickly depleted. (If you play as an evil King you are apparently no improvement over Logan, your brother -- a paradox that the game does not comment upon.) In fact, Logan tries to justify his actions by saying that he had the long-range interests of Albion at heart and was not truly "evil" as the citizens believed.

    You are told however that, in one year's time, you must raise over 6 million gold pieces in order to protect the citizens of Albion from an unprecedented invasion (by something called "the darkness"). Should you fail to raise this huge sum, most of Albion's citizens will perish (so you are told). It is impossible as far as I can tell to make "good" decisions as King and yet raise the cost of defense. Each day as King (or Queen) you are forced to make decisions -- all of which involve spending or saving money. You are not given any opportunity to address your subjects and rally them together in an effort to deal with the economic plight or defend the country. It is not (in my view) a particularly interesting section of the game to play -- despite the stakes involved, partly because the game's mechanics force you to be (a cruel and treacherous ruler who saves the treasury solely for defense or a good ruler who benefits his subjects with but lacks the means of defending them.) A simplistic paradox barely worth thinking about.

    Fable 3 has interesting ideas but fails to develop their potential -- it has a split personality: rather like trying to combine Walt Disney with Machiavelli. And so, eventually, i felt royally let down by this game: I completed it but with no sense of accomplishment. (unlike how i felt at the end of Fable 2). I also had the feeling that this game marked the end of a long-lasting relationship with the Fable series; i.e. it left me suffering from Fable fatigue. Too much of the same thing, endlessly repeated.

    It is possible, of course, for this game to attract new gamers for whom this Fable will be their first -- and they may love it (for everything will be new to them). It remains to be seen how commercially successful it will be regardless of its quality. But, for me, it is "goodbye to Albion" -- Personally, I am drawn more to Fallout New Vegas (which is familiar but innovative enough to justify sustained interest) and also to the upcoming Black Ops (which I am fairly sure will not disappoint).
    Expand
  14. Nov 1, 2010
    6
    The game isn't bad but isn't good neither. It's pretty much Fable 2 part deux. I was expecting the game to look a tad better than the previous one but it doesn't. Mind you a game can still be excellent without being pretty. Still all the small graphical glitches got to me a tad (like shoveling through my dog or being half inside the ground when interacting with a NPC). Quest becomesThe game isn't bad but isn't good neither. It's pretty much Fable 2 part deux. I was expecting the game to look a tad better than the previous one but it doesn't. Mind you a game can still be excellent without being pretty. Still all the small graphical glitches got to me a tad (like shoveling through my dog or being half inside the ground when interacting with a NPC). Quest becomes repetitive a boring fast. It has good moments but still my wallet cries of that 90$ I have lost on that collector edition. I give it a 6/10. Good game but could have been way better. Expand
  15. Oct 30, 2010
    5
    Fable III to me plays like a kinect game ported to the regular Xbox 360. Almost all of the functionality has been completely simplified to the point where I was trying to find the green plumbob over my characters head. Yes, Fable III has been so simplified it feels more like the Sims 3 w/ a weak RPG port.

    The story line is good, but the game mechanics are just not up there with any
    Fable III to me plays like a kinect game ported to the regular Xbox 360. Almost all of the functionality has been completely simplified to the point where I was trying to find the green plumbob over my characters head. Yes, Fable III has been so simplified it feels more like the Sims 3 w/ a weak RPG port.

    The story line is good, but the game mechanics are just not up there with any form of RPG on the market today. In Fable I and II you could at least pick the magic you want, nope. In Fable III you have to pick one spell or a combination of two spells and thats all you have. Of course you can buzz back to base and pick another spell there to use. Which takes time and is not FLUID. The entire game feels like an exercise in breaking up the flow of what could have been a good RPG.

    Now, lets look at the in game sales. Buzz back to base, and you hear John Cleese (the butler) selling you DLC. Yup, the game has made selling DLC part of the game experience directly.

    The only redeeming part of the game is the writing, for that the game gets a 5. If you are looking for a game with a good story and a challenge to play, DO NOT BUY FABLE III. Fable III is a good rental game for the weekend.
    Expand
  16. Nov 7, 2010
    5
    What follows is a ranting kinda-review:
    ////
    Fable III's last mission lasted less than 10 minutes, and the final boss fight was easier and less epic than any of the (2 or 3) minibosses in the game. Fable III was a step backwards from Fable II; even from Fable I. //// There were almost no unexpected twists or setting switch-ups. Fable II had the Spire and the time progression at the start
    What follows is a ranting kinda-review:
    ////
    Fable III's last mission lasted less than 10 minutes, and the final boss fight was easier and less epic than any of the (2 or 3) minibosses in the game. Fable III was a step backwards from Fable II; even from Fable I.
    ////
    There were almost no unexpected twists or setting switch-ups. Fable II had the Spire and the time progression at the start after being a child, and other parts as you journey around. Fable III has one interesting bit, and it's only there to royally disappoint you at the end.
    ////
    There was less humour, and the characters are less interesting. Jasper (John Cleese) might have been cool, but he stops talking (still unresolved bug), and tries repeatedly to sell you retarded DLC. So screw that.
    ////
    The landscapes are crappier. The draw distance is small, all of the landscapes were fairly samey. There's only a few more enemies, and they're not very interesting (and they only show up later in the game). There's no goofy areas like the Shadow Temple in Fable 2.
    ////
    Skill progression is simplified from Fable II, which was already pretty bloody simple to begin with. The game is also even easier than Fable II, which was pretty damn easy to begin with.
    ////
    The "choices" you make are straight up good or evil. All "good" choices while monarch will simply make the game take longer as you need to earn more money to make up for them. That is, if you even care about the treasury. There's no consequences to anything. The character is also set up as a really good guy in every cinematic, even if you're playing as a complete dick.
    ////
    The interaction system is a nice example of the unthinking that went into this game. Instead of interacting with a large group of villagers at once, you have to interact with them one at a time, and with even more coarsely-grained choices than before (A, X, Y: Nice, Scary, Rude). Why did they change it?
    ////
    And of course it's messy as all hell. The glowing "bread crumb" trail disappears, or points in an altogether wrong direction. The framerate drops precipitously all the time and the game goes into slow-motion mode. Baddies show up nonsensically in rich areas where nobles live.
    ////
    I really enjoyed Fable 1 and 2, but this? It was an *okay* time-waster, but basically completely unmemorable.
    Expand
  17. Oct 29, 2010
    5
    Fable 3 is basically Fable 2 for the majority of the game, until you get to manage your kingdom. But the combat, dialogs, economy are all just a simplified version of Fable 2. The main character is a prince/princess, who for some reason decided to leave the wealth and power, only to fight their way back to the same place. I don't really feel any connection to any of the characters. UnlikeFable 3 is basically Fable 2 for the majority of the game, until you get to manage your kingdom. But the combat, dialogs, economy are all just a simplified version of Fable 2. The main character is a prince/princess, who for some reason decided to leave the wealth and power, only to fight their way back to the same place. I don't really feel any connection to any of the characters. Unlike Fable 2, where I really felt like I knew the main characters and they were developed well. Now, you're just thrown in the game as some random noble doing favors for random people to start a revolution against a king who's a jerk. It's funny actually, because revolutions against the crown usually don't end up placing the king's brother in power, because they end up killing the entire royal family. That aside, the game feels so over-simplified that it's actually quite boring. The dialogs no longer have a little moving line that you have to hit at the right moment. You just hold down the button until it says "release", and that's it. Many quests make you keep going back to the same place over and over again. Making money is extremely easy. There aren't very many good/evil choices in dialog. Actually there isn't much dialog at all. And what the hell were they thinking with the hand-holding garbage?? My quest was to get apprehend a criminal called "the butcher", so I run up to him and grab his hand and we skip and dance back to the guard, as if I'm taking a naughty child back to their mother. Really? I feel so awkward when I have to do this. Also, the hand-shaking, kissing, hugging sound effects are really bad. Do people really moan and groan loudly when shaking hands? I hate this part of the game so much that I avoid interacting with any NPCs. I do like the inventory system, where you go into your sanctuary to look at your stuff. But the map is useless... I want a quick way to pull up a map, but instead i have to jump to my sanctuary, run up to the map table, zoom to the area I'm in, and figure out where I was standing. Combat is more difficult that Fable 2, but there are few weapons, and your clothes and armor have no bearing on your abilities. There's tons of outfits you can put on, as if you're playing dress-up with a doll. It's pointless and stupid, and it makes me think this game was targeted towards people who love The Sims but want to fight too. Expand
  18. Nov 2, 2010
    6
    I don't know why this is such an issue in Fable games, but the frame rate dropping on almost every moving thing all the time is back. What's worse is that it's not even lag, its just bad graphical design. It's a shame because the game looks gorgeous in every other aspect. Characters mouths move strange though, and that might be nitpicking but for a game that uses a cartoony style ofI don't know why this is such an issue in Fable games, but the frame rate dropping on almost every moving thing all the time is back. What's worse is that it's not even lag, its just bad graphical design. It's a shame because the game looks gorgeous in every other aspect. Characters mouths move strange though, and that might be nitpicking but for a game that uses a cartoony style of graphics this shouldn't have been a problem. Otherwise really, its a Fable game. If you like the old ones, you'll love this. The combat is awesome and way more fun than in past games. The new menu system takes a while to get used to, but doesn't jar the experience at all like the old menu full of text. I'd recommend definitely checking this one out at least, theres a lot of good in it, but not enough for me. Expand
  19. Nov 19, 2010
    7
    Great game kept me playing all the way through the campaign all I would say is be careful not to rush through the part when your king as i did and it goes wrong (I was being good) Take your time and build your royal balance slowly.
  20. Oct 27, 2010
    7
    Like my other current favorite games (Bioshock and Fallout 3) this sequel doesn't stray too far from it's predecessor. There are some general game-play improvements but nothing too drastic. This game feels and sounds very familiar.

    If you enjoyed Fable 2 you should like Fable 3 but you might be wishing that this game had a more thorough update.
  21. Oct 26, 2010
    6
    Fable 3 is in almost every way the same as Fable 2. This game does the same exact thing in almost every way that the second one did, Even the ending is just as disappointing as Fable 2. I could right a ton more, but I would just advise you to look at Fable 2, than compare that to now and be amazed at how they did little to correct any of the flaws of the previous installment. All in all,Fable 3 is in almost every way the same as Fable 2. This game does the same exact thing in almost every way that the second one did, Even the ending is just as disappointing as Fable 2. I could right a ton more, but I would just advise you to look at Fable 2, than compare that to now and be amazed at how they did little to correct any of the flaws of the previous installment. All in all, if you loved Fable 2 you will like this game, just don't expect anything fresh. Expand
  22. Nov 7, 2011
    7
    They pulled a Nintedo and made the same game 3 times in a row with one or two little changes. If I reviewed it based on what was new it would have a 3, but I was impressed with how refined and nice this one was and am updating my review as a result. It's playable, and pretty decent.
  23. Oct 26, 2010
    5
    what is the point at looking at reviews anymore? It is now routine that games are released buggy and patched at a future date so how do you really guage a game anymore? Reviewers are scoring games 100% based on their mood and love of a particular genre or game and not so much the real quality of the game itself at the point of review. As game bugs are worked out through patching the gamewhat is the point at looking at reviews anymore? It is now routine that games are released buggy and patched at a future date so how do you really guage a game anymore? Reviewers are scoring games 100% based on their mood and love of a particular genre or game and not so much the real quality of the game itself at the point of review. As game bugs are worked out through patching the game also deserves different scores. I just give up. Expand
  24. Jan 16, 2011
    5
    Fable III is a very charming game, however a game that requires no tactics whatsoever. Simply pressing any one of your buttons several times will finish off anyone. The story is stronger than most, and diversions such as relationships and a brief stint as a landlord are nice touches - however there is no real RPG elements to this game. In a weird way, it is similar to Heavy Rain - in thatFable III is a very charming game, however a game that requires no tactics whatsoever. Simply pressing any one of your buttons several times will finish off anyone. The story is stronger than most, and diversions such as relationships and a brief stint as a landlord are nice touches - however there is no real RPG elements to this game. In a weird way, it is similar to Heavy Rain - in that you are just passenger to a story - having to press a few buttons now and then. Expand
  25. Dec 18, 2012
    7
    Ofh Fable, you try soooooo hard. But you couldn't possible escape a 7 if your life depended on it. But you are fun. No doubt. Anyways, Fable is good, no question. It's fun' It's big. It just never, ever blows me away. I feel like "wow, I'm on a big adventure" but I don't feel like"Omg this is the greatest thing ever!!!" Anyways, play it, have simple fun. I do truly (said it since Fable1)Ofh Fable, you try soooooo hard. But you couldn't possible escape a 7 if your life depended on it. But you are fun. No doubt. Anyways, Fable is good, no question. It's fun' It's big. It just never, ever blows me away. I feel like "wow, I'm on a big adventure" but I don't feel like"Omg this is the greatest thing ever!!!" Anyways, play it, have simple fun. I do truly (said it since Fable1) thing it's the most overrated series ever. But it's still fun. Give it a shot. Expand
  26. Dec 8, 2010
    6
    What an absolute botch job by Lionhead. They stripped almost everything that made the second game so good and added a bunch of new stuff...that all sucks. The ending is embarrassingly bad. The conversation system has been neutered as well as the magic and fighting systems. 2010's biggest disappointment on the Xbox 360.
  27. Oct 19, 2011
    7
    Fable III trumps its predecessor "II" by giving you a well defined story which your protagonist can rise to the role of a hero and save Albion. Upgraded graphics, a clear map system, and a larger world to explore also make this a better game. The voice acting is top notch as usual and the side quests are as hilarious as ever. The Fable franchise has certainly become one of the moreFable III trumps its predecessor "II" by giving you a well defined story which your protagonist can rise to the role of a hero and save Albion. Upgraded graphics, a clear map system, and a larger world to explore also make this a better game. The voice acting is top notch as usual and the side quests are as hilarious as ever. The Fable franchise has certainly become one of the more artistic and unique RPGs of this generation that is definitely worth experiencing. The decision to axe the menu system in favor of an interactive walk-in closet has good and bad qualities. The good is that you feel more immersed into the game you are playing, the bad is that it is slower than navigating an on screen menu. So it is more of an immersion experience over practicality, but doesn't take away anything from the game. The bad part of the game is that the npc interaction has been reduced from the Sims style of a player-choice wheel to floating option buttons, which takes away player choice and is limited. Not only that but the unusual choices given to you for the interactions make you feel like an idiot every time. If Lionhead could have used the Fable II npc interaction with the Fable III storyline this game would have been a 10. In addition, the "fetch" quests were just exactly that; "Could you go fetch this for me?"--"Thanks I thought I lost that forever."---If you're going to make fetch quests, don't be so obvious. Because of the lack of interaction options along with its idiocity, and the boring fetch quests, I avoided as many npcs as possible....until I realised that I could get Guild points from them, then I sluggard my way through them, not enjoying them one bit. Speaking of fetch quests, I found the final conflict to have been dissapointing in a sense that it lasted as long and I had to put enough effort into it as if it were another fetch quest. Lionhead needs to work harder on the actual climax of a story for the fan's sakes. But overall, the game was fun and entertaining so I do recomend it. Expand
  28. Nov 29, 2011
    7
    It looks a lot better and there are a lot less bugs and glitches in this game as well. However lame and repetitive mission objectives as well as simple combat and poor moral choices that dont change much in the game makes it another disapointing addition to the franchise.
  29. Jul 6, 2013
    7
    Fable 3 is one of the best fantasy games available on the Xbox 360. Skyrim of course is much better, but still Fable 3 succeeds in most areas where it needs to.

    The characters in this game are developed and very intriguing. Characters like Sabine and Boulder are hilarious while Logan and Reaver are evil. You can change your relations with not only these characters, but all of the
    Fable 3 is one of the best fantasy games available on the Xbox 360. Skyrim of course is much better, but still Fable 3 succeeds in most areas where it needs to.

    The characters in this game are developed and very intriguing. Characters like Sabine and Boulder are hilarious while Logan and Reaver are evil. You can change your relations with not only these characters, but all of the characters in Albion.

    The combat while simple is always fun. You can choose to use magic, melee, or ranged weapons. All of them are fun to use, even though magic might be too overpowered.

    Fable 3 should have more choices available in the second half of the game. The way that most of this portion of the game is presented is that either you can spend all your money, but be a hero or don't spend money and be called the worst king ever. While I do like the idea of how this game shows direction with the trails, in execution it doesn't work perfectly. It glitches and in one instance I lost an entire quest due to this. Interactions are funny at first, with the ability to fart in someone's face, or do the chicken dance, but eventually you will wish that you could do more.
    Expand
  30. Jan 17, 2011
    7
    Fable III features some hilarious, but miraculous writing, mix that with some fairly mediocre gameplay elements, a quirky storyline plus outstanding visuals, and you have a decent game created by one of the most annoying old goombas in the video game industry. Fable III's defeat lies in its little mistakes. With the tacked on dog, the flimsy bread-crumb trail and various glitches --Fable III features some hilarious, but miraculous writing, mix that with some fairly mediocre gameplay elements, a quirky storyline plus outstanding visuals, and you have a decent game created by one of the most annoying old goombas in the video game industry. Fable III's defeat lies in its little mistakes. With the tacked on dog, the flimsy bread-crumb trail and various glitches -- Lionhead's latest installment can become a royal pain. Expand
  31. Feb 5, 2011
    6
    fable 3 was going to be incredible due to all the hype over how it was 'supposedly' going to be the best RPG game ever. The game as i expected was not. The graphics arn't a good standard compared to many games released around the same time. Lip sink is absolutely dreadfall and the story is very poor and lacking in content in my opinion with once again a very disapointing ending much likefable 3 was going to be incredible due to all the hype over how it was 'supposedly' going to be the best RPG game ever. The game as i expected was not. The graphics arn't a good standard compared to many games released around the same time. Lip sink is absolutely dreadfall and the story is very poor and lacking in content in my opinion with once again a very disapointing ending much like its predeseser. All moaning aside, the game is fun. There are alot of funny voice actors including the likes of Jason Manford, John Cleeves and Simon Pegg. The game has alot more comedic value then the previous titles but that doesn't make it a fantastic game its just good. Campaign - 45/100 Free Roam/Play - 76/100 Graphics - 60/100 Fun - 68/100 Overall - 62.25 Expand
  32. Nov 15, 2011
    7
    I have played both Fable and Fable 2 since they came out and Fable 3 is easily the second best game of the series (behind Fable). It greatly improves the audio and visual aspects of the game and features a lot less bugs and glitches but the gameplay still needs a lot of work and there is no replay value to it, Lacks quests and overall interest, Also your choices have no effect on anythingI have played both Fable and Fable 2 since they came out and Fable 3 is easily the second best game of the series (behind Fable). It greatly improves the audio and visual aspects of the game and features a lot less bugs and glitches but the gameplay still needs a lot of work and there is no replay value to it, Lacks quests and overall interest, Also your choices have no effect on anything before you become king and after you become king, They just effect the environment and if people hate you or not.

    Disapointing.
    Expand
  33. Dec 9, 2010
    7
    Not as good as Fable 2. The morphing weapons are awesome, and I like the spell system better, I like menus and seeing everything I own. How "no menus, but a magical building that you can disappear into whenever you like" is more immersive is beyond me. Also, because the revolution is required, even when you are "evil", you are still the hero of the people until the end. Really, in myNot as good as Fable 2. The morphing weapons are awesome, and I like the spell system better, I like menus and seeing everything I own. How "no menus, but a magical building that you can disappear into whenever you like" is more immersive is beyond me. Also, because the revolution is required, even when you are "evil", you are still the hero of the people until the end. Really, in my mind, there is no reason to replay this game as the story is pretty much the same until the end. And even then, there are some tricks (good-becomes-evil, etc). Glad I played it, probably won't play it again. Wish I hadn't paid $60 for it. :( Expand
  34. Dec 27, 2010
    7
    Yes, the difficulty isn't in the combat, it's in the decisions you make, and many people don't see this. Unfortunately, these decisions are too few and far between, and while the choices have meaningful consequences, being the king is too short and you can't re-write your laws. Also the story can often feel dis-connected, because the main quests are quite serious, but the side-quests,Yes, the difficulty isn't in the combat, it's in the decisions you make, and many people don't see this. Unfortunately, these decisions are too few and far between, and while the choices have meaningful consequences, being the king is too short and you can't re-write your laws. Also the story can often feel dis-connected, because the main quests are quite serious, but the side-quests, which you must inevitabley do some to continue the main questline, take away the seriousness of the main story. Now for the good parts of this game. I am glad to say the co-op has been vastly improved, with your own camera and character now, though you still have to stay within the same area. Spell-weaving is a fantastic addition that helps to spice up the combat, but the biggest addition by far is the sanctuary. The sanctuary is very original and is great fun, but mixing and matching my clothes is really long and annoying with the sanctuary, but thats my only complaint about that. As for the story, it's saved by the chram of the witty characters and the ending which is a lot better than Fable II's.

    To sum up this game is great, thanks to the witty characters and thee ven more flexible combat, with some hard decisions to make at the end of the game. Unfortunately it is held back by the fact that the last half of the game, (when you're king) is way too short, and the side-quests, while hilarious at times, force out all the seriousness of te main questline. This could have been an amazing game, but is only very good, and while disappointing, it doesn't stop this game being worth your time. Better luck next time, Molyneux!
    Expand
  35. Dec 22, 2010
    7
    Fable 3 is a combination of many good and bad things, frankly it seems that for the upgrades made for the games there's some kind of retarded problem appearing in the game, first off there's the story which feels much more straightforward than fable ones or two because frankly unlike the first 2 games there's actually less choices to make, sure some choices in the later half actuallyFable 3 is a combination of many good and bad things, frankly it seems that for the upgrades made for the games there's some kind of retarded problem appearing in the game, first off there's the story which feels much more straightforward than fable ones or two because frankly unlike the first 2 games there's actually less choices to make, sure some choices in the later half actually have some meaning but there's only about 1 or 2 choices in the first part of the game and it just doesn't flow with fable's be good or bad attitude, because most of the time your being hero to the people and this really just leaves out players who want to be evil, basically you can be evil but it doesn't really have an effect on the story. Oh yeah and the characters you meet are just there for progression you never really get the feeling of caring or hate toward them, you just have them around, even your dog feels like something just there.
    story: 7 out of 10

    The graphics in fable 3 are actually pretty good even if a slight step up from fable 2, character models seem better, environments have better details and the style looks better here than the other games, still it feels like a SLIGHT improvement in graphics not a complete overhaul. graphics rating: 7 out of 10

    The game play of fable 3 really isn't all that different from fable 2 just slightly more organized and simplified. The good thing about the game play is it feels more organic mostly because that damn pause menu has finally been fixed instead of the laggy one from fable 2, fable 3 has the sanctuary which is your hub to view your clothing, weapons and status as well as gold with ease you even have your own butler which is sweet, too bad just like the cast he feels like he's just there.The combat has barely changed, basically magic is the most changed instead of the five tier system from fable 2 you can equip one spell and later can mix 2 up with spell weaving , though there are less spells to use combining them actually balances them out for example fireball and tornado make fire-tornado, force push and ice make um... ice-push! it looks cooler than it sounds. Even with these small changes combat eventually feels repetitive and there's little variation of game play throughout your quest for kingdom and king/queen ship. Al so dealing with npcs has changed, minorly but still different, interactions in fable 3 no longer use the wheel from fable 2 instead you go up to them and press A. Interacting now is simple and the game gives you emote to use instead of picking one, so basically whether a person is man or woman doesn't matter you'll always tickle, hug, dance to please them,Every time literally that's all you do then to become friends you do a quest for them and to be lovers you take them on a date and theres your interaction it becomes a chore and feels repetitive, even worse everyone has the same personality just like in fable 2 people will love for the same things other npcs do and it just gets boring One feature peter said would be in the game is being king half way through the game and well he lied, it feels more like 85 percent through and your basically king for 1 to 2 and a half hrs after that well your back to your travels, yay???? One thing to note though is that decisions do matter but i still found myself disappointed by the whole way the game ends because it just never felt like i stayed king after(if your going to good after the game just wait 14 days trust me!) you'll see what i mean.
    small additions like weapons challenges and weapons changing depending on how you play are interesting but not enough to add to the game.
    One good thing that saves the game from getting a 6 in gameplay is the sidequests, there are plenty of them and while some are forgetable, some are really unique and cool
    gameplay:7 out of 10
    well thats about it fable 3 is basically a flawed game that doesn't seem to use much new things and the new things are pretty minor so what you have here is a decent ride that's fun but quickly becomes repetitive and boring so beware because this game isn't the game peter promised us so only buy if you really have to or just wait for it to be used
    Overall 7 out of 10
    Expand
  36. Dec 25, 2010
    7
    Pretty much the same as Fable 3 but I'd say the difficulty is much more easier. Unless your planning on getting the achievement where you don't "die" this game is terribly easy.

    You are instantly revived and awarded scars when you die. This means that you can pretty much eat your dinner whilst watching TV whilst you endlessly mash X (and I did and beat the last boss by doing so). Good
    Pretty much the same as Fable 3 but I'd say the difficulty is much more easier. Unless your planning on getting the achievement where you don't "die" this game is terribly easy.

    You are instantly revived and awarded scars when you die. This means that you can pretty much eat your dinner whilst watching TV whilst you endlessly mash X (and I did and beat the last boss by doing so).

    Good game still but don't believe Molyneux's hype and you'll be fine trust me... P.S: For those who are expecting a game as good as Fable: TLC good luck lol... Stop the expectations MS are milking this franchise.
    Expand
  37. Dec 30, 2010
    5
    What's the point of playing a game if it doesnt challenge you enough? And that is where Fable 3 fails. A good story falls short of becoming enthralling simply because the game tries to fit in everything and messes up big time. The game is simply too easy. I got through the game withouot dying even once, simply getting 'knocked down' a couple of times. Fable 3 is a dissapointment.
  38. Apr 12, 2011
    6
    Fable III is just fable II, minus many of the best aspects. It took Fable II, and made it into a very linear, one playthrough only game. You will have fun in the first half of the game - it's like a cheap bonus pack for Fable II, but once you reach the games second half, you have the most ridiculous options thrown your way. And the progression in the second half... not to spoil, but aFable III is just fable II, minus many of the best aspects. It took Fable II, and made it into a very linear, one playthrough only game. You will have fun in the first half of the game - it's like a cheap bonus pack for Fable II, but once you reach the games second half, you have the most ridiculous options thrown your way. And the progression in the second half... not to spoil, but a hundred days pass as quickly as one in the world of Fable III. Yes, decent graphics, but not much better than Fable II's, same generic animation, audio, and a few re-imaged locations. If you love Fable, you'll like this, and if you never enjoyed previous series entries, this isn't any sort of improvement. Expand
  39. Apr 14, 2011
    5
    Personally I didn'ty like this ame as much as the first 2 games, this game felt rushed and felt like a lazy attempt to make money. The only thing that was cool, was the environments, This was a poor excuse for a fable game.
  40. Jan 28, 2012
    7
    The game isnt as bad as some reviewers say. I actually genuenly thought the game was fun ,funny (In some parts) and pretty unique. Sure the game has its faults. Like having to go into the sanctum every time you want to equip something. Yeah it does get sort of annoying but since theres no loading screen when heading there its not so bad and i found it actually kind of cool and unique. TheThe game isnt as bad as some reviewers say. I actually genuenly thought the game was fun ,funny (In some parts) and pretty unique. Sure the game has its faults. Like having to go into the sanctum every time you want to equip something. Yeah it does get sort of annoying but since theres no loading screen when heading there its not so bad and i found it actually kind of cool and unique. The combat is all around decent but its FAR to easy and removes the tension that combat should have. Heres my biggest issue with the game. The designers put a lot of effort into creating the world which looks very nice and is designed well. But instead of looking at the stellar visuals you are forced to stare at a glowing trail of sparkles to your destination, That is annoying and should have been removed entirely, and sure you can turn it off but then you have no clue where to go. Overall its a pretty enjoyable game though. Expand
  41. May 6, 2011
    5
    This game i felt was very poor. Felt far too much like fable 2. The upgrade system was a shambles and combat shockingly bad. Running about holding little girls hands isnt my idea of a good rpg game. The only saving grace and reason why this game did not score lower is because the graphics where exceptional. In my view your not missing much here.
  42. T-A
    Jun 18, 2011
    5
    Fable III is a major letdown for fans of the series. Despite new, seamless inventory and traveling systems, the game lacks the wonder, challenge, and exploration of its predecessors. The plot at first seems very promising and epic, but Molyneuxâ
  43. Feb 7, 2012
    7
    Peter did it again. He promised something and it didn't live up to expectations. By this point, it's safe to say that we as gamers are partially responsible for buying his over promised games. Fable III isn't a bad game by any stretch, but it isn't a great game either. The combat is fun, though there's not a lot of customization. The story is pretty poor compared to other entries, andPeter did it again. He promised something and it didn't live up to expectations. By this point, it's safe to say that we as gamers are partially responsible for buying his over promised games. Fable III isn't a bad game by any stretch, but it isn't a great game either. The combat is fun, though there's not a lot of customization. The story is pretty poor compared to other entries, and the morality system is replaced by more of a political system. What drove me mad though was the fact that after putting in many hours to the game, my save became corrupted. I didn't factor that into the score but it's worth mentioning since I'm not the only one experiencing it. Expand
  44. Mar 20, 2012
    7
    Fable 3 is fun and offers some nice quests and a nice story where your choices actually matter, but the game is short, I only spent around 7 hours on my first playthrough. Of course I could have spent more if I had done all the side quests, but I don't think there's a lot more than 20 hours in the game. What's in there is good, but the game is way too easy and far too forgiving which ruinsFable 3 is fun and offers some nice quests and a nice story where your choices actually matter, but the game is short, I only spent around 7 hours on my first playthrough. Of course I could have spent more if I had done all the side quests, but I don't think there's a lot more than 20 hours in the game. What's in there is good, but the game is way too easy and far too forgiving which ruins the experience a lot. Still, it's a good game, and the multiplayer is nice. Expand
  45. May 11, 2012
    6
    the more I played this game, the more I started to dislike it. There are a lot of bugs in this game, such as the golden trail not working properly or not showing up at all. The dog can get confused or doesn't keep up with you.
    Lionhead takes a few steps forward with this game from Fable 2, but it also feels like they take a few steps back.
  46. May 13, 2012
    7
    Okay, to describe fable as a series is that it's that bridge between jrpg's and normal ones. The game has a unique art style that i love about fable. The combat is easy and accessible. The issue: TOO EASY!. I had 4 characters never died once. You also can't lose if you cast spells. However, combining two spells is the coolest thing i have ever seen in my life. The story is cool at first,Okay, to describe fable as a series is that it's that bridge between jrpg's and normal ones. The game has a unique art style that i love about fable. The combat is easy and accessible. The issue: TOO EASY!. I had 4 characters never died once. You also can't lose if you cast spells. However, combining two spells is the coolest thing i have ever seen in my life. The story is cool at first, but then turns really slow, then picks up. Then slows down...this kind of roller coaster is something I've grown familiar with since fable 2. I found myself having more fun making choices as king then fighting. As always morality is what fable is about and there are little to no visual changes in your characters alignment. THAT WAS MY FAVORITE PART ABOUT FABLE 2. Overall, good game but disappointing. Expand
  47. Jul 17, 2013
    6
    Despite having some great ideas, it is too simple and a game-breaking bug stopped me from going any further but what I played I had fun with. Sooooo I thought it was decent
  48. Sep 3, 2012
    6
    What a letdown. They spend the entire second half of the game building up to this huge event that is supposed to be almost impossible to survive, then when you get to it there is no challenge whatsoever. Other than that the game is fun for the 12 hours that it lasts, and there is plenty of mediocre content if you want to keep going. But it is excessively glitchy- not polished at all.What a letdown. They spend the entire second half of the game building up to this huge event that is supposed to be almost impossible to survive, then when you get to it there is no challenge whatsoever. Other than that the game is fun for the 12 hours that it lasts, and there is plenty of mediocre content if you want to keep going. But it is excessively glitchy- not polished at all. One time I had to reset the game because it would not let me go through a door that I had to go through to proceed. Luckily it worked after I reloaded. I have no idea why Molyneaux is so proud of himself. This game is a definite step down from Fable 2. Expand
  49. Nov 23, 2012
    5
    Its a good RPG game, I personally found it boring. Had more fun playing fable 2. If you like RPGs and you like fable 2. I would recommend it, but I think they took a step backwords with this game.
  50. Apr 19, 2013
    7
    This game was such a let down for me. Moleneux promised so much and delivered only an echo of what he said.

    The game itself is pretty good and is technically a huge improvement on the last game. But also, doesn't do too much new. The "landlord" approach to maintaining your kingdom is fun at first but gets extremely tedious the deeper in you get. The social aspect and the ability to
    This game was such a let down for me. Moleneux promised so much and delivered only an echo of what he said.

    The game itself is pretty good and is technically a huge improvement on the last game. But also, doesn't do too much new. The "landlord" approach to maintaining your kingdom is fun at first but gets extremely tedious the deeper in you get. The social aspect and the ability to join other games is also pretty fun. Clothing and tattoo seem totally pointless as they don't offer any real benefits or perks, not to mention most of the costumes are just stupid. I did like the evolving weapon idea. I found it curious how much attention they gave to making your main weapon unique and evolve based on your play style, yet put a ton of other weapons in the game that are far better. Your companion (dog) this time around seems more tacked on. Serving little purpose within the main narrative.

    Overall:
    Fable 3 is, on its own, a great game. But from all the hype and what we know Lionhead is capable of, it should have been allot better. Fable 3 is a disappointment that suffers from lack of innovation. I really hope that Lionhead have learned from this and improve for the next game.
    Expand
  51. Jan 9, 2013
    7
    Fable 3 has its good points and bad points, my own option on the game. Is that getting to be good or evil is always decent when playing a game getting to choice what you do in the game. The storyline was alright (could of been longer) I wouldn
  52. Jan 28, 2013
    7
    I didn't find the story line or characters very compelling, though the gameplay was fun--especially using ranged weapons such as rifles and pistols in combat. The most enjoyable component, for me, was the local co-op. Being able to grab a friend and go questing together was a blast.
  53. Aug 29, 2013
    6
    An average RPG, and a bad Fable game, Fable III aims to do much but achieves little. It's buggy, dumbed down and boring. The graphics are one redeeming quality, with some really gorgeous character and enemy design, pretty environments and smooth animations. Overall though, this game is lacking in a lot of ways.
  54. Apr 25, 2013
    5
    At first, I didn't mind it, I was just thinking it was just the starting, and it was going to get better for me, but then the game went on and on, and I never enjoyed it. The story is just plain boring, compared to many other games out there with a fabulous campain mode, and this game just falls flat in my opinion.
  55. May 11, 2013
    5
    I wanted to like this game. I'd heard rumors about how bad it was, which I ultimately disregarded and bought the game. (Plenty of people have rated sequel games lowly for not being exact replicas of their predecessor, and I figured that was what was going on with Fable III.)

    This game is not trashed by fans unfairly. The combat is boring, magic is vastly overpowered, there is basically
    I wanted to like this game. I'd heard rumors about how bad it was, which I ultimately disregarded and bought the game. (Plenty of people have rated sequel games lowly for not being exact replicas of their predecessor, and I figured that was what was going on with Fable III.)

    This game is not trashed by fans unfairly. The combat is boring, magic is vastly overpowered, there is basically no use for melee weapons in this game.. The guns and magic succeed melee even in close range. This is disappointing, as the hammer in the game has the ability to become quite aesthetically pleasing.

    One of the features of the Fable series that everyone knows is the ability to become good or evil. But in this game, it seems misplaced. You are the Princess/Prince trying to overthrow your brother, the King, because he is mean and evil. If you choose to become evil, the whole plot of the game is contradictory.

    The graphics are original and charming. It's like stepping into a fairy tale.. Until you move. When you are moving, the environments become blurry and have actually made me nauseous.

    Albion's formerly grin-inducing chicken humor has gone too far in this game. They took a small, "icing on the cake" aspect of the first game and overused it until it was too tired to be funny anymore.

    Fable I is the best Fable, if you can overlook the old graphics and the inability to have a female protagonist. If not, Fable II is far superior to III.
    Expand
  56. Dec 6, 2014
    6
    It shouldn't win any awards but the third Fable game has enough going for it to make it worth completing. The combat is fresh and the story is admirable.
  57. May 30, 2013
    5
    Fable 3 was such a disappointment from it's ancestors, but I can't say I didn't enjoy it. It didn't really change anything from Fable 2, but I loved Fable 2; so I did enjoy it. However, it came across me as a lazy, and rushed project. Wouldn't recommend it, but it's not the worst game you'll ever play.
  58. Jun 18, 2013
    7
    I was one of many Xbox Live Gold subscribers who grabbed the game for free, and it was worth the 1 hour, 5.6 GB download. Fable III provides an entertaining campaign that keeps the player excited. However, it was pretty short and only took me 2 days to finish. Granted, the game was addicting enough to have me at it all day, but still. I'm giving it a 7 because of the other amazing thingsI was one of many Xbox Live Gold subscribers who grabbed the game for free, and it was worth the 1 hour, 5.6 GB download. Fable III provides an entertaining campaign that keeps the player excited. However, it was pretty short and only took me 2 days to finish. Granted, the game was addicting enough to have me at it all day, but still. I'm giving it a 7 because of the other amazing things that keep the game alive. Many side quests, marriage, real estate, collecting keys/gnomes/flowers/books all kept me going. Also, being able to have 20 wives and 50 children at once is quite humorous (the game does boast a sense of humor).

    The story was decent (no spoilers, no worries). Your brother is a tyrant that seems to be torturing his kingdom and you are his reckoning. Unbeknownst to you an even worse threat lies outside of Albeon. Meh.

    Overall 7

    Story 5
    Gameplay 8
    Multiplayer 6
    Free-Roam Aspect 8
    Expand
  59. Aug 18, 2013
    5
    This game was pretty good until the halfway point. It had fun, if easy, combat, a decent enough story and pretty good gameplay. And then you become king. It gets repetitive, uninspired and goes way too quickly. The final boss fight is just not difficult enough or interesting. And when you beat the game you don't really feel motivated enough to finish the side quests. I just got bored so IThis game was pretty good until the halfway point. It had fun, if easy, combat, a decent enough story and pretty good gameplay. And then you become king. It gets repetitive, uninspired and goes way too quickly. The final boss fight is just not difficult enough or interesting. And when you beat the game you don't really feel motivated enough to finish the side quests. I just got bored so I turned off safety mode and went psycho on Brightwall. And never looked back. Peter Molyneux, sort it out for Fable 4. Expand
  60. Sep 20, 2013
    7
    Quite a good game it can be fun to play, the story and characters are good and the atmosphere is nice but there is no challenge, I finished the game without dying. The combat is way too easy. Another problem is that becoming friends with people is boring just hold down A and you're done but despite these problems I had fun with this game and think it deserves a 7.
  61. Oct 26, 2013
    5
    When they said that they working on fable 3 i was happy but he dissapoint meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
  62. Apr 25, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A lot that can be said about Fable III can be found in my Fable II review, the Disneyesque presentation is still there and the production seems to have been ramped up with voice acting talent coming in for a great sound quality. The game is more or less the same in structure, design and gameplay, this time around the missions are a little bit better one memorable mission was being shrunk down to be involved with a kid's Dungeons and Dragons game. The game ended a bit strange as you become king and have to run the country with bureaucratic decisions that can save the people but the time jumps randomly during this period of the game which makes it really hard to prepare and yet again I feel the franchise has wasted a handful of good idea's that would progress the series. Overall it is good looking and competent. Expand
  63. Jun 19, 2014
    7
    Fable 3 is an action RPG set in the world of Albion. You must become a hero and saved your Kingdom. It's good fun, but if you've played Fable 2 you may be disappointed. I've outlined the pros and cons without being too picky, I hope.

    Pros: - The voice acting! John Cleese and Stephen Fry! This is probably the best part of the game! - The humour! - The artwork and improved
    Fable 3 is an action RPG set in the world of Albion. You must become a hero and saved your Kingdom. It's good fun, but if you've played Fable 2 you may be disappointed. I've outlined the pros and cons without being too picky, I hope.

    Pros:

    - The voice acting! John Cleese and Stephen Fry! This is probably the best part of the game!

    - The humour!

    - The artwork and improved graphics! Visually this game is an improvement over Fable 2.

    - I liked the magic system. It's much improved. It's fun to combine two different elements. It's also a lot faster than before.

    - The girl in this game is way hotter than before.

    - It was fun making decisions as a queen.

    - The jobs system has improved. Instead of timing a needle, you press the X and A buttons, and try to hit the bars. Also, getting multipliers is easier.

    Not a Con, Not a Pro:

    - I liked the 3D map. But it lacked accuracy in details. Also, you could not deselect missions.

    - The controls are a mixed bag. It's slightly improved, but there are two main things I didn't like. First, getting rid of the gestures wheel. Opting for extreme simplicity was the wrong move. It does not allow players full control.

    - Second, you have to take out your gun, and then squeeze the left trigger to aim. Why? Why not just squeeze the left trigger and have the character withdraw his/her gun automatically? They had to put in the silly hand holding.

    - Furthermore, speaking on controls, I wish they would just have an option to always leave on sprinting.

    - There should be a separate button for dodging (rolling away from) enemy attacks.

    - Upgrading your weapons is a lot easier, but I did like the augmentations feature from Fable 2. Either one is fine. I guess it's personal preference.

    - I would've liked to have started off as a child like the previous games. It fleshes out the character better.

    Cons:

    - The sanctuary is extremely cumbersome. I hate how they've done away with the old menu. Bring back the old menu and tweak it.

    - You have a limited selection of clothes. It's harder to customize and mix and match. It makes your character less personal.

    - Gifting is a pain.

    - Lack of a gesture wheel takes away control from the user. Was not a good idea.

    - The world of Albion feels smaller. Not by a huge amount but there seems to be less exploring to be had.

    - I thought the holding hands feature was too silly and unnecessary. I did not care for the dancing and hand kissing either.

    - Why do I have to hold the A button to enter places? I want to press it once.

    - Sucks when you buy homes and you have to repair them. The maintenance is annoying. - Some areas have slow down. I guess this is inevitable in any game. Not a huge deal though. - The sword and hammer need to be more powerful to be balanced out with magic and guns. - Aiming the gun is difficult. It feels so wobbly. - There are less defined consequences for being good or evil. It takes away from the idea that you are a hero and you have to make choice that really affect your life. - Fable 3 is much shorter than Fable 2. I played Fable 2 and it ate up a lot of my time. Fable 3 was finished pretty quickly. - The story is good, but a bit more tepid than Fable 2 and 1. It feels less emotional. IN CONCLUSION: I really do hope the make 'Fable the Fourth' but improve, and combine all of the best elements together. I wish the game makers the best of success. Even though I've given this a 7 it is still a good game that is worth checking out.
    Expand
  64. Jan 16, 2014
    7
    I love this game, there is just a couple of things that annoys me. First off, it's just to easy, the game is hardly challenging at all. The emotions were better in Fable 2 with the wheel where you can actually choose what you want to do, in 3 you only have a choice of which button to press. The Co-op player can also not join in like in no.2. There is also some major slowdown for noI love this game, there is just a couple of things that annoys me. First off, it's just to easy, the game is hardly challenging at all. The emotions were better in Fable 2 with the wheel where you can actually choose what you want to do, in 3 you only have a choice of which button to press. The Co-op player can also not join in like in no.2. There is also some major slowdown for no apparent reason, you just run trough the village and it slows down to a crawl. I also think you get to the part where you become king way to quickly, and from there it becomes a bit of a bore.
    Ok, now for the plus points. The graphics are amazing, everything feels alive. The way the sun shines trough tree's, the water that makes you thirsty. The Co-op is also a huge improvement, the second player actually keep the weapons, armour and gold. And the second player actually look like they do on their own profile, not like Fable 2 where you actually chose a placeholder.
    So if you are a fan of this kind of game go get it now. It's a bit easy and and on the short side, but I enjoyed it a lot. PS it's a lot longer then your COD's!
    Expand
  65. Mar 4, 2014
    5
    Fable was an alright game to play, considering the full story line and plot, it flows following the events of Fable II. The downfalls of this game include the boring combat which makes the game unbearable. The focus of this game is Role-play, but honestly with the forced quests Role-play really isn't an option. It would've improved the game play if you could choose whether to do the questFable was an alright game to play, considering the full story line and plot, it flows following the events of Fable II. The downfalls of this game include the boring combat which makes the game unbearable. The focus of this game is Role-play, but honestly with the forced quests Role-play really isn't an option. It would've improved the game play if you could choose whether to do the quest later, but they were just forced upon you. The Road To Rule sucked, considering you weren't gaining the skills, but you only had the options to gain them if you fought in battles and won guild seals thus only giving you real skill with melee weapon fighting, range weapon fighting and magic. The dog was really annoying, and the treasures given were pointless. The story was too fast, and within a few hours of playing I was the king of Albion. And, Logan was just left after you either decided to let him free or execute him, he made no other appearances during the ruling time. The quests during being a king really did suck, and it was mostly just making choices and losing a LOT of gold, I was at least a million coins in debt and because I was forced to do quests I couldn't earn any money to repay that debt. I hope with Fable anniversary that they resolve this problem and restore Fable to its glory. Expand
  66. Aug 29, 2014
    7
    Fable III is good, but we just didn't ask for it. I will say that it's the most BEAUTIFUL game I've EVER played. It's pretty enough to make you weep. The combat is also very fun, even though you just end up mashing one button. The side missions are as plentiful as they are interesting. The voice acting is great, with masterful performances from great actors. However, the story is the worstFable III is good, but we just didn't ask for it. I will say that it's the most BEAUTIFUL game I've EVER played. It's pretty enough to make you weep. The combat is also very fun, even though you just end up mashing one button. The side missions are as plentiful as they are interesting. The voice acting is great, with masterful performances from great actors. However, the story is the worst part. It feels clichéd and scripted, and the RPG elements are wasted. Overall, Fable III is a disappointment, but is still a fun package. Expand
  67. Nov 1, 2010
    0
    It seems Lionhead tried to reinvent the wheel (which wasn't broken) and ran out of time to do so. One type of Xp, One item per store, no way to view your items, TOUCH SYSTEM was a complete gimmick serving no value to the game as a whole, no online store... I can go on.

    This was a great game... until I figured out I could beat the story in 4 hours. What could have been a powerful and epic
    It seems Lionhead tried to reinvent the wheel (which wasn't broken) and ran out of time to do so. One type of Xp, One item per store, no way to view your items, TOUCH SYSTEM was a complete gimmick serving no value to the game as a whole, no online store... I can go on.

    This was a great game... until I figured out I could beat the story in 4 hours. What could have been a powerful and epic game turned out to be a waste of my $80. I went ahead and continued the side-quests, having fun although half felt repetitive and same to Fable II. Beat those in 4 hours! Whole game beat, 8 hours. I found all the chests, gnomes, and doors in another 5 hours. DONE. ALL DONE. In 13 hours. No more to play. What a joke, this is an RPG people. I put days into Fable II, more in Fable I... Lionhead, you should of taken another year to finish your little concept that you left bare, boring, and short. I'm a Fable fan to death... and I really want my money back with this one. Actually made me depressed on how fast it was over. I was so excited, pre-ordered, and I get a hunk of unfinished game in my Xbox. I'm very disappointed.
    Collapse
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 88 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 88
  2. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. Jan 31, 2011
    80
    Lionhead carefully preserved everything that made Fable 2 so good. Though it's a pity that the "king simulator" concept is totally wasted here.
  2. Jan 16, 2011
    85
    There are more highlights in the first two missions of Black Ops, then in Medal of Honor. The requirements of Treyarch seemed to be better, than in the past few years. They made an interesting setting. In addition, there's a nice zombie mode and an overwhelming multiplayer. No doubt, this is Treyarchs best Call of Duty ever!
  3. Jan 15, 2011
    60
    Flaws in design and execution are even more obvious with this new game and, as usual, Lionhead fails to live up to the expectations.