User Score
4.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 75
  2. Negative: 41 out of 75

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 10, 2012
    4
    When Fable: The Journey was first announced I knew it would fail. Peter told us exactly "It's not on rails", well guess what? It is. Fable continues to slowly die out though to the changes it's over going year after year. The graphics are nice but what's the point when you can't stop to enjoy some of the breath taking environments? This game locks in for a boring ride unlike the previous two games. It's time Fable lived up to it's name and actually became one, because this is one you'll want to forget. Expand
  2. Oct 9, 2012
    2
    The fanboys can't even defend this one. It is complete and utter **** And if anyone cares about Fable, they won't argue about that. I love seeing people try to turn this into something it's not and make excuses for it existing.

    Kinect is a bad, overpriced tech demo and this game is just another example(as if Star Wars Kinect and Steel Battalion weren't enough) as to why Kinect doesn't
    work and how motion control based games aren't good with the current tech. Don't buy into this trash.

    RIP Fable
    Expand
  3. Oct 10, 2012
    8
    Definitely the best Kinect game I
  4. Oct 10, 2012
    0
    AWFUL GAME!

    microsoft is basically scamming people here... this is unplayable fable 3 was ok, not as good as 2 but this is awfullllllllllllllllllllll
  5. 71M
    Oct 10, 2012
    9
    This is the most fun I've had with a Kinect game period! Playing the entire game seated was a pleasure and a stroke of genius so well done Lionhead for pushing the boundaries.

    I'm a big FAble fan and the story kept me gripped to my TV and with great pace of play.

    If you don't have the Kinect you're really missing out on a brilliant game experience!
  6. Oct 11, 2012
    9
    I was sceptic at first, but when I learned that I could physically cast magic at enemies I felt I really had to give a go -- and it turned out that it really worked for me and I found myself enjoying it very much!!
    This seated play also is a great thing... Most of the other Kinect games require me a huge effort to stand up and work out, which has been a turn-off for me especially after
    coming back from work exhausted. But I can play this game while sitting and relaxed and I can play for long without being covered with sweat like other Kinect games!
    The game experience is nicely and gently presented and works as a whole, unlike a collection of mini games that other Kinect games tend to be.
    If you've already own Kinect like me, I would definitely recommend this game. Even you don't, I would still recommend it :) It is quite an experience.
    Expand
  7. Oct 10, 2012
    9
    As the game is NOT released for Two days I would ignore the user reviews here.

    The demo is up on xbox live, though it's nothing more than a control tutorial of the game it gives you an idea. of the nice graphics and good use of the Kinect in the game.
  8. Oct 12, 2012
    7
    Fascinating, humorous, it frees the magic that lies in your hands! If you like what your Kinect cab do, you'll love it. Play an RPG, FPS with your hands, being a spell-caster. Scenario is strong, graphics and music even better. Would love an inventory though and shops to buy armor. Moreover, why not have the freedom to choose your own path in the game, or feel the excitement of being good or bad. I liked it, as it made me travel in my dreams of being a powerful mage! Expand
  9. Oct 12, 2012
    0
    i am big fable fan when i saw this game i said cool but then they made it as kinect feature i said why?

    then when saw demo i was fully pissed off the best game series from 1 and 2 best ones then when 4th one came out it was even worst it make 3rd game better.

    my nephew said it very boring repetitive not very move able with kincect feature
  10. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    Since I did not have a Kinect before I purchased this game, I wanted to be sure that the game was worth the 100$ for the apparatus itself (plus the 30$ for the game). I love all the Fable titles, but considering that this game is a Kinect exclusive, I did research before investing. I watched about 45 mins of gameplay and decided I would take the plunge. I was absolutely not disappointed. No, this is not a typical Fable game. Yes, you can only play as a mage. No, there are no towns or open-world quests. Yes, there are RPG elements with regard to upgrading your horse's abilities, your spells, and your stats. Yes, certain segments of the game are on a rail, but this game- not once- is ever tedious or boring. The storytelling is fabulous and links all the previous games to make what really is a 15-hour epilogue of the entire trilogy, at the end of which you feel as though you have really accomplished something. The attachment you gain with your horse, the new parts of Albion, and all the characters in the game in general are as irreplaceable as the gameplay. I didn't think I was going to do well at the no-controller controls, but after about 20 mins of driving the cart and learning how to use the spells, I was enjoying myself immensely. Was the game worth the 130$ I paid to play it (without giving away spoilers)? Absolutely, especially when you consider how many games there are that are 80$ asking price for about 1/4th of the fun. Is it challenging? Yes, it is, and not in a frustrating way. Would I recommend it for people who don't like motion games? Yes, I would. Would I recommend it to Fable fans? Yes, I do, but don't expect another Fable 3; expect a different style game that simply takes place in Albion and cleans up all the questions left over from the third game. I also enjoyed the tie-ins with Fable Heroes, which only added to the game's charms and replayability. Arcade Mode makes sure you get that exploration craving squelched, and all the new spells and aftertouches, the humorous dialogue, and unique setting serve to fill up the blank in RPGs around this year. If there were such a category as rail-RPG, this would certainly be the pinnacle. I can understand why many would not want to buy a Kinect just for this- it is expensive, and for those who cannot make the investment, I hope there will be a compatible version soon (even I would want that just to see how the gameplay would differ), but I found the venture more than worth it. Overall, a really satisfying and unique experience. The best game for the Kinect, to be sure. Expand
  11. Oct 16, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I literally sh@t my pants when I saw this game had finally been released.

    Peter has really done it this time. Talk about innovation. I literally feel like I'm sitting on a horse cart riding through the most fantastically realised environments this side of the original Doom. Wow. I bought a whip so I could real get the feeling of driving that cart and although my son has got a few marks on his face from my errant whipping the effect is magical. Highly recommended if you like carts and especially horses.
    Expand
  12. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    Fable: The Journey, is the most underrated game of of the past year. It has an amazing plot, a unique combat system, and extremely lovable characters. In short, it is everything I wanted from Fable 3 (but didn't get). While it does suffer from some Kinect motion sensing flaws, you can overcome these by taking a little extra time to tune your play environment. I used a chair instead of sitting on my couch and the controls worked perfectly fine (most of the time). This is a game no hardcore gamer should miss. Expand
  13. Nov 24, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Quit fun to move tour hands and blast spells. I didn't have huge problems with The kinect, but it doesn't respond The way it is supposed to... Beautiful graphics, a petty you can't explorere The whole world. Expand
  14. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    While I was not expecting much out of this game when I bought it (I only bought it cause it was on sale for $15 dollars on black Friday) I was pleasantly surprised. Once you get the hang of the controls, they actually work very well if the environment is set up correctly, and if you ever start having issues it is easy to fix by simply re-calibrating the spell casting, which only takes a few minutes. At first, the spell casting is simple and enemies are easy to kill, however as the game goes on the combat gets much more complex and interesting due to the addition of new spells and enemies. When it comes to the story, I was also pleasantly surprised. It has to be noted however, it IS different than any other Fable game, so if you go in thinking you are going to have the same experience you will be disappointed. However, if you go in with an open mind and look at it as something different, it is quite enjoyable. The game is on rails, but at this point with Kinect games that has become unavoidable so I don't really knock it for that aspect. In actuality, the on rails and very linear approach actual aids the games story, because since it is on rails, the story has much more depth than previous installments. In addition, it fills in a lot of the holes between the previous games in the series, and give much more insight into Theresa and her story. In conclusion, as long as you go into the game without the expectation that it will be like every other Fable game, it is actually a very enjoyable experience. The controls mostly work well, and the few issues are not any big problem, and the story, however linear and on rails it is, is enticing and makes me want more Fable. Collapse
  15. Apr 13, 2013
    10
    I think this game is quite fun and interesting.The storyline is still very amazing and the graphics are nice.The best thing is about kinect, it's the first game where you can use it, the detection and working of kinect in this game is very good i could say.The bad thing is there is no free roam, but in the spite of that we have optional quest which saves it. The quest are short and fun. So that why i called this game "been there, done that". If you could think that riding on a horse is quite booring there isn't the character around you tells story, you collect many orbs with which you can upgrade your level and when you think that you will go into booring at the same time some guys show up and attack your cart.So overall i give it 10 especially for the nice kinect optimization, interesting storyline, and new gameplay. Expand
  16. Jul 25, 2013
    3
    Come on guys, you can clearly see it is the failure in this franchise. Fable 3 sold ~4m copies... fable 2 sold +3m copies... only on xbox, they were ported to pc as well witch sale numbers are not included in the numbers above. Fable the journey sold almost 200.000 copies on xbox and was not ported to any other platform. That is a huge failure in my book.
  17. Aug 16, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fable 4:, The Journey has great potential with the first person view (which is rarely sen in an RPG) combined with the motion controls atempting to put you in the game in a whole new way. I am a pretty big Fable Fan myself, and am not disappointed much at all. The only problem that I had with the game was the finicky controlls that came with the Kinect being the primary source of countrol. It is in my opinion an intuitive idea on the behalf of Lion Head Studios. I wouldn't mind seeing another release with this controlling layout, but with a controller option for those whom cannot get used to the Kinect (or find the sweet spot). That was the only true downfall to the gameplay, which needs improvement. Although I did not expect much less from such a bold move of controlls. Once I found the sweet spot I found that the spells were being cast where I was truely aiming roughly 95% of the time. The only time that it was a real pain is when I took a break because my arms began to cramp up a little, or my wife walked within the censor's view and it thought her hands were mine... Silly Kinect! The second thing that was a drastic change was that in this installment of the Fable series; I could not become a filthy rich property tycoon charging my tenants far too much rent! But, being a story focused indevidual I found it rather bold and there was some emotion. I enjoyed that there was no bad or good choices to be made they made me feel like a total softy/massive jerk in previous Fable games. You're always on the move in this game which is something I enjoyed very much. I couldn't stop playing, and beat the entire story in under 11 hours. (Having to eat and take the dogs out, I have to play the game called real life too of course). I was NOT expecting the game to end as it did, but never the less, I loved it! They have left it WIDE open for a brand new story.

    For an impressive story, and intalling the emotions of sympathy, and guilt (mainly for the poor horse!) I applaud Lion Head Studios. This game is not for the impatient, whom are too stubborn to work with the touchy Kinect that, at times, has serious tempermenal issues. I would instead recommend this game to the true Fable fans whom play for the story, more than the action. Not to say this game is lacking in that department! Believe me, my dogs were looking at me rather odd when I was shouting when I had to rush my way out of a forest while a giant THING was bent on eating me (and my delicious soul) for dinner!

    Fable: The Journey is certainly my favorite as far as the story line goes. The controlls took a bit to get used too, but even when my wife (not even close to being as much of a gamer as I am) got used to them, she was holding the virtual javalin of epicnes and cupping her hand to hold the scorching bal of fire. I even caught myself holding the reins (think I spelt that right) as if they were physicaly in my grasp!! My favorite Fable yet! Worth the money I spent, by far. Not sure why there are so many complaints, must be due to the drastic switch from controller to motion and third person to first person (excluding cut scenes of course). As I said, I found this to be a rather exciting game! Try it for yourself and keep in mind it's about the story!

    Final conclusion: Great game, bold change (that I would hate to see wated and they end up going back to that third person camera that always gave me headaches), outstanding environment and a wonderful story! (that poor horse!!!) would be 10 if it werent for the story being so short.
    Expand
  18. Nov 11, 2013
    8
    Don't believe what people write here. Most of them haven't even played the game they are just that it is on Kinect. The game is actually really good. Its a throwback to the arcane shooters of old. the motion controls are nice and not to frustrating and give a good change of pace to the usual controller standard. Give the game a go. The voiceacting, world and humour is all up to par. Besides its only like 20 dollars in a bargain bin now. Expand
  19. Jul 22, 2014
    4
    Fable: The Journey could have been a return to greatness for Lionhead's signature franchise, but it simply isn't. The character development is good, even if Gabriel is annoying, and the story is interesting, but the gameplay has to be cooperative, in order for it to be a good game. It isn't. And that isn't Lionhead's fault. This game could have been great, but the Kinect holds it back. Fable: The Journey's controls are unresponsive, half of the time, but when they work, they're boring. I must have been ambushed by hobbes half a dozen times throughout this game, and that's 4 too many. The enemies are not diverse, nor is the world that you have to stare at during the 12 hours that you'll spend riding on a horse. The emotional bond between the player and the horse is non-existent the whole way through, despite the fact that Peter Molyneux promised that we would care about it. In conclusion, the game's interesting story and characters are held back by the either unresponsive or boring gameplay. Expand
  20. Dec 27, 2012
    0
    While I was not expecting much out of this game when I bought it (I only bought it cause it was on sale for $15 dollars on black Friday) I was pleasantly surprised. Once you get the hang of the controls, they actually work very well if the environment is set up correctly, and if you ever start having issues it is easy to fix by simply re-calibrating the spell casting, which only takes a few minutes. At first, the spell casting is simple and enemies are easy to kill, however as the game goes on the combat gets much more complex and interesting due to the addition of new spells and enemies. When it comes to the story, I was also pleasantly surprised. It has to be noted however, it IS different than any other Fable game, so if you go in thinking you are going to have the same experience you will be disappointed. However, if you go in with an open mind and look at it as something different, it is quite enjoyable. The game is on rails, but at this point with Kinect games that has become unavoidable so I don't really knock it for that aspect. In actuality, the on rails and very linear approach actual aids the games story, because since it is on rails, the story has much more depth than previous installments. In addition, it fills in a lot of the holes between the previous games in the series, and give much more insight into Theresa and her story. In conclusion, as long as you go into the game without the expectation that it will be like every other Fable game, it is actually a very enjoyable experience. The controls mostly work well, and the few issues are not any big problem, and the story, however linear and on rails it is, is enticing and makes me want more Fable. Collapse
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 70
  2. Negative: 11 out of 70
  1. Dec 19, 2012
    75
    For Kinect owners who love Fable, The Journey is a must buy and will likely result in many hours being spent traversing Albion, enjoying a charming story with interesting characters and likely finding a new love the Xbox 360 peripheral. If you're on the fence about whether or not you need another Kinect game or you're trying to find an excuse to purchase a Kinect, Fable: The Journey is by far one of the reasons to pick up this piece of kit.
  2. Dec 17, 2012
    50
    An ambitious attempt at making a simple but compelling game, hampered by a device that's not quite up for it. [Jan 2013, p.81]
  3. 50
    You can ignore the smoke and mirrors for a while, but there's just no substance. [Issue#91, p.64]