Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Utilize magic as a deadly weapon while defending the fate of Albion. Embark on a perilous quest to unmask the evil that threatens the land as you learn how to harness your plentiful and mysterious powers. Give up your easy-going nomadic life and become heroic as you help decide the fate of Albion. Assume the role of Gabriel and defend Albion from the dark Corruption in this story chock full of Fable's signature wry humor. Fable: The Journey thrusts you in a role-playing experience with a host of familiar faces and foes. In this action-packed adventure you’ll form a lasting bond with your horse through an emotional journey. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 70
  2. Negative: 11 out of 70
  1. Oct 15, 2012
    90
    Some core players might find the puzzle elements and on-rails battle sequences too easy, but I'm definitely not one of them. As a story-focused motion control offering, Fable: The Journey shows off the Kinect's potential while still existing as far more than a technology demo; this is a true Fable in all senses of the word.
  2. 80
    It's not demo material or a novelty release, but an uncompromising adventure game that weaves an engrossing story while utilizing the full potential of motion control. It doesn't always work flawlessly, but the sheer ambition alone makes it a must-own for Fable and Kinect fans alike.
  3. Oct 9, 2012
    75
    Fable fans will enjoy the plot and the details about Theresa and Albion, but after the fun combat is over, there's really not much else to keep you coming back. Kinect's detractors won't change their minds with Fable the Journey.
  4. Oct 9, 2012
    60
    The whole thing is just so gosh darn British, too, which I imagine is less of a selling point if you are British. That pervasive sprinkling of refined, humorous nonsense makes The Journey feel a little more like one worth taking, even when some of its nuts and bolts are less appealing.
  5. Nov 5, 2012
    60
    Fable: The Journey looks and sounds great, but lacks the smooth Kinect experience to make it a truly enjoyable game.
  6. Oct 19, 2012
    50
    This was supposed to be a Kinect game for a hard core audience. But despite being good looking and really smooth to play, all the usual Kinect problems are still here and it's also way too linear.
  7. Oct 9, 2012
    30
    Due to the unresponsive controls, you're going to have a lot of frustrating moments where you'll want to throw a controller against the wall - only you are the controller, which could end pretty badly for yourself. When it comes to these portions (which is easily half, if not more of the game) I hope you really like horses, as you're going to be spending a lot of time grooming, petting, and tending to it. You could even say that part of the game feels like an XBLA sequel to Kinectimals.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 7 out of 20
  1. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    Since I did not have a Kinect before I purchased this game, I wanted to be sure that the game was worth the 100$ for the apparatus itself (plus the 30$ for the game). I love all the Fable titles, but considering that this game is a Kinect exclusive, I did research before investing. I watched about 45 mins of gameplay and decided I would take the plunge. I was absolutely not disappointed. No, this is not a typical Fable game. Yes, you can only play as a mage. No, there are no towns or open-world quests. Yes, there are RPG elements with regard to upgrading your horse's abilities, your spells, and your stats. Yes, certain segments of the game are on a rail, but this game- not once- is ever tedious or boring. The storytelling is fabulous and links all the previous games to make what really is a 15-hour epilogue of the entire trilogy, at the end of which you feel as though you have really accomplished something. The attachment you gain with your horse, the new parts of Albion, and all the characters in the game in general are as irreplaceable as the gameplay. I didn't think I was going to do well at the no-controller controls, but after about 20 mins of driving the cart and learning how to use the spells, I was enjoying myself immensely. Was the game worth the 130$ I paid to play it (without giving away spoilers)? Absolutely, especially when you consider how many games there are that are 80$ asking price for about 1/4th of the fun. Is it challenging? Yes, it is, and not in a frustrating way. Would I recommend it for people who don't like motion games? Yes, I would. Would I recommend it to Fable fans? Yes, I do, but don't expect another Fable 3; expect a different style game that simply takes place in Albion and cleans up all the questions left over from the third game. I also enjoyed the tie-ins with Fable Heroes, which only added to the game's charms and replayability. Arcade Mode makes sure you get that exploration craving squelched, and all the new spells and aftertouches, the humorous dialogue, and unique setting serve to fill up the blank in RPGs around this year. If there were such a category as rail-RPG, this would certainly be the pinnacle. I can understand why many would not want to buy a Kinect just for this- it is expensive, and for those who cannot make the investment, I hope there will be a compatible version soon (even I would want that just to see how the gameplay would differ), but I found the venture more than worth it. Overall, a really satisfying and unique experience. The best game for the Kinect, to be sure. Expand
  2. Apr 13, 2013
    10
    I think this game is quite fun and interesting.The storyline is still very amazing and the graphics are nice.The best thing is about kinect, it's the first game where you can use it, the detection and working of kinect in this game is very good i could say.The bad thing is there is no free roam, but in the spite of that we have optional quest which saves it. The quest are short and fun. So that why i called this game "been there, done that". If you could think that riding on a horse is quite booring there isn't the character around you tells story, you collect many orbs with which you can upgrade your level and when you think that you will go into booring at the same time some guys show up and attack your cart.So overall i give it 10 especially for the nice kinect optimization, interesting storyline, and new gameplay. Expand
  3. Oct 10, 2012
    9
    As the game is NOT released for Two days I would ignore the user reviews here.

    The demo is up on xbox live, though it's nothing more than
    a control tutorial of the game it gives you an idea. of the nice graphics and good use of the Kinect in the game. Expand
  4. Nov 24, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Quit fun to move tour hands and blast spells. I didn't have huge problems with The kinect, but it doesn't respond The way it is supposed to... Beautiful graphics, a petty you can't explorere The whole world. Expand
  5. Oct 12, 2012
    7
    Fascinating, humorous, it frees the magic that lies in your hands! If you like what your Kinect cab do, you'll love it. Play an RPG, FPS with your hands, being a spell-caster. Scenario is strong, graphics and music even better. Would love an inventory though and shops to buy armor. Moreover, why not have the freedom to choose your own path in the game, or feel the excitement of being good or bad. I liked it, as it made me travel in my dreams of being a powerful mage! Collapse
  6. Jul 22, 2014
    4
    Fable: The Journey could have been a return to greatness for Lionhead's signature franchise, but it simply isn't. The character development is good, even if Gabriel is annoying, and the story is interesting, but the gameplay has to be cooperative, in order for it to be a good game. It isn't. And that isn't Lionhead's fault. This game could have been great, but the Kinect holds it back. Fable: The Journey's controls are unresponsive, half of the time, but when they work, they're boring. I must have been ambushed by hobbes half a dozen times throughout this game, and that's 4 too many. The enemies are not diverse, nor is the world that you have to stare at during the 12 hours that you'll spend riding on a horse. The emotional bond between the player and the horse is non-existent the whole way through, despite the fact that Peter Molyneux promised that we would care about it. In conclusion, the game's interesting story and characters are held back by the either unresponsive or boring gameplay. Expand
  7. Oct 12, 2012
    0
    i am big fable fan when i saw this game i said cool but then they made it as kinect feature i said why?

    then when saw demo i was fully
    pissed off the best game series from 1 and 2 best ones then when 4th one came out it was even worst it make 3rd game better.

    my nephew said it very boring repetitive not very move able with kincect feature
    Expand

See all 20 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2012
    You might have to wait until next year to play GTA V or BioShock: Infinite, but there are still plenty of major games arriving over the next few months, including a new Assassin's Creed, the latest Call of Duty, and the beginning of a new Halo trilogy.