User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. redson
    Sep 28, 2008
    7
    FaceBreaker is a ridiculous arcade game thats silly and fun and im really surprised that many people are so down on it. Facebreaker is not a serious fighting game like Virtua Fighter 5 or any Street Fighter title. Those games are impossible to pick up and play, hell, playing VF5 is a job by itself.. I sat down with FaceBreaker for the first time with a group of friends, girls and guys, FaceBreaker is a ridiculous arcade game thats silly and fun and im really surprised that many people are so down on it. Facebreaker is not a serious fighting game like Virtua Fighter 5 or any Street Fighter title. Those games are impossible to pick up and play, hell, playing VF5 is a job by itself.. I sat down with FaceBreaker for the first time with a group of friends, girls and guys, and we all had a great time. I learned how to play fast and quickly i was competitive with the better players in the room. some of the girls knew how to play already and had a great time beating up on some of us newbies. i think the game is lots of fun and, while it lacks the depth and balancing of a more polished fighter, its a great social game and isnt intimidating for beginners at all.. a definite rent, possible buy if you've got friends that need an ass kickin. Expand
  2. KhristianR.
    Oct 1, 2008
    5
    The style, the animations, the characters and the little animations are well designed. But its sadly let down by each character only having very few moves. Its a quick snack, but then you'll be bored because of its repetitiveness. Its a shame, this could have been a very good game. SCORE : 57%.
  3. JoshuaC.
    Oct 26, 2008
    8
    Honestly, I don't think most of the reviewers actually played this game. The review scores given are around what I would have scored it, in the first 15 minutes of play. The first 15 minutes, wow, were they frustrating. First tip - RTFM. Read the f$%$^ manual. The game doesn't bother to tell you how to play, how to charge a combo. Once you can actually do a facebreaker, you can Honestly, I don't think most of the reviewers actually played this game. The review scores given are around what I would have scored it, in the first 15 minutes of play. The first 15 minutes, wow, were they frustrating. First tip - RTFM. Read the f$%$^ manual. The game doesn't bother to tell you how to play, how to charge a combo. Once you can actually do a facebreaker, you can end most fights with it. At this point, I'm sitting at 890 out of 1000 achievement points. Time to start another new game. Graphics are nice, cartoony, a good start. Controls are old-school, and it boils down to a big boxing game of rock-paper-scissors. Since the difficulty is high, it's very satisfying to win each fight. The online play is lacking. Every time I've started to win a fight, the other player has quit. It does have wonderful community online features, with the fighter creation mode. I have decent interpretations of George Bush, The Joker, Rocky, etc on my hard drive. All downloaded from the games wonderful set up player uploaded fighters. All told, I'm aware that this hasn't sold well. I paid $30 for my sealed copy, the week it released. A friend had pre-ordered it, read reviews, and started offering it around. Hopefully this series continues. I'd pick up a Facebreaker 2, especially if it touts improved online play. Oh, and an actual story mode would be nice. The characters are great, tell us more. Expand
  4. DanielDeveau
    Jun 2, 2009
    9
    Joshua C. sums this game up perfectly in my opinion. The reviewers seemed to have played this game for about 15-30 minutes and made judgments far too quickly. It has the funniest cast of characters in any fighting game. The gameplay is fast-paced, but certainly not a button-mashing festival as the reviews may suggest. Once you master the easiest difficulty level (which is pretty hardJoshua C. sums this game up perfectly in my opinion. The reviewers seemed to have played this game for about 15-30 minutes and made judgments far too quickly. It has the funniest cast of characters in any fighting game. The gameplay is fast-paced, but certainly not a button-mashing festival as the reviews may suggest. Once you master the easiest difficulty level (which is pretty hard itself), the game has great replay value as you step up the difficulty. Much like the old Punch-Out!!! game, most opponents have a weakness that can be exploited, which makes even the fastest or strongest opponents beatable. If you get stuck on an opponent, finally taking him/her down feels fantastic. Seriously, try this game for yourself, it's a great time. Expand
  5. PaulF.
    Sep 26, 2008
    2
    One of the worst gameplays I've ever seen in a box game, EA tried to add more value with a touch of comedy and this feature where you can put any picture so you can fight the president if you feel like...I surely won't recommend this game.
  6. ColinC
    Apr 20, 2009
    8
    The first hour I spent with this game, I felt like I was flailing a bit with the controls. But then things started clicking. Slowly. I've finished this game on the easiest difficulty level and some boxers were very tough to figure out how to beat them. But once you do, it gets a lot easier. I played with Ice all the way through. Good fun. And yes, I had to play some boxes likeThe first hour I spent with this game, I felt like I was flailing a bit with the controls. But then things started clicking. Slowly. I've finished this game on the easiest difficulty level and some boxers were very tough to figure out how to beat them. But once you do, it gets a lot easier. I played with Ice all the way through. Good fun. And yes, I had to play some boxes like 15 or 20 times to figure out how to beat them, because my default style wasn't cutting it. So I need to experiment. Throwing them into corners more. Dodging away. Learning how to counter their special stun move. Others I beat almost immediately, because my default style was perfect to take them down. I had with arcade wrestling games back in the mid eighties. I haven't played online yet. Curious to see how my skills stack up against another opponent. Plus you can get this game very cheaply right now. This game definitely doesn't deserve a 54. I'd probably give it a 75, although the fun I've had with it bumps it up even more for me. Expand
  7. Aug 17, 2014
    1
    I bought FaceBreaker with 5 dollars I found in my couch, and I want my money back. FaceBreaker is an incredibly difficult fighter that I couldn't keep playing past the first 30 mins. I do think that, should I put my time in t this broken game, that I might find some enjoyment, hence the 1/10, but taking the time to get good enough at this game to make it enjoyable, I'm not sure if I'mI bought FaceBreaker with 5 dollars I found in my couch, and I want my money back. FaceBreaker is an incredibly difficult fighter that I couldn't keep playing past the first 30 mins. I do think that, should I put my time in t this broken game, that I might find some enjoyment, hence the 1/10, but taking the time to get good enough at this game to make it enjoyable, I'm not sure if I'm willing to do that, when there are so many other games I would rather play. Expand
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 57
  2. Negative: 20 out of 57
  1. Excellent production values but lacking the depth of our favourite beat-'em-ups. [Oct 2008, p.81]
  2. The cosmetics and style that FaceBreaker offers in spades fail to raise the mechanics and gameplay above average. [Oct 2008, p.125]
  3. FaceBreaker’s gameplay is pretty simple, meaning that gamers of all types will be able to get into the game and feel comfortable with the controls very quickly. However, the overall experience does feel a bit shallow and might not hold your interest for very long.