Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 18
  2. Negative: 4 out of 18
  1. Dec 19, 2010
    75
    As a whole, the game is simple, but still fun.
  2. Feb 23, 2011
    70
    In the end, though, I give Spiders credit for their work on Faery: Legends of Avalon. If they maintain the quality music and dialogue from the game, improve the plot, and fix the controls and world maps, they'll have a decent game on their hands, worth the 1200 MS points. In that case, pick up the first episode of the series. Otherwise, your money is better spent elsewhere.
  3. Feb 8, 2011
    70
    It's all about level design, and Faery shows some goodness. SHame for the lack of depth, and the sometimes small locations.
  4. Jan 10, 2011
    70
    It's not perfect, but it is a great addition to the genre, and unparalleled on XBLA.
  5. Jan 3, 2011
    70
    Overall, Faery: Legends of Avalon is a great attempt at bringing the RPG genre to the Xbox Live Arcade. Very few downloadable titles contain as much depth as this and, at 1200 Microsoft Points; this is certainly a game to purchase if you enjoyed the trial.
  6. Dec 19, 2010
    70
    Faery is a solid fantasy role-playing game, but the short tale means it's not quite worth the 1200 Microsoft point price tag.
  7. Jan 4, 2011
    66
    Simple concept but entertaining for RPG's beginners.
  8. 65
    But between its quaint characters and charming attitude, it's still an entertaining enough way to while away a few afternoons in service to imaginary nobility. [Jan 2011, p.66]
  9. Feb 13, 2011
    60
    Faery: Legends of Avalon isn't exactly a fairytale. The fact that you can make your own fairy is one of the few hightlights of this game. The campaign is simply too short and the audio and video are very mediocre.
  10. 60
    Faery: Legends of Avalon is an interesting idea and it has a great story to tell with wonderful graphics. But in the end, there are to many technical problems so it never gets as entertaining as it could and should have been.
  11. Dec 19, 2010
    58
    Still, Faery is commendable for being among the first foray of the core RPG genre in the downloadable space dominated by twin-stick shooters and bite-sized platformers.
  12. Dec 19, 2010
    58
    The battles are rarely gripping and are so few and far between that you start getting bored waiting for something to actually happen.
  13. Feb 26, 2011
    50
    Faery is really quite a bland game with an uninspired combat system and basic storyline. Still, it does serve its purpose as a nice bit of eye candy.
  14. Dec 19, 2010
    50
    If you fancy the idea of an RPG-lite Brothers Grimm tribute act, then go right ahead. But if you can tolerate more than half an hour without wanting to eat your own earwax, you'll be doing better than I.
  15. Dec 19, 2010
    45
    This little role-playing game is pretty--and pretty dull.
  16. 40
    Do yourself a favor and get Costume Quest instead. [Issue#67, p.105]
  17. Dec 19, 2010
    40
    Far from being a void attempt at the genre in digital form, Faery is charming thanks to its freshness and classic world revisiting the forgotten tales and legends. But it will will quickly show its limits to the RPG fans, because of its not-so-deep gameplay. Despite its limitations, Faery remains an interesting proposition, if you have already consumed all the must-have games of the downloadable offerings out there.
  18. Dec 19, 2010
    30
    Between the wide variety of locales, the impressive bits of character customization, and the myriad choices both big and small, this game had lofty ambitions. Sadly, the game does very few things right – the poor design and garbled English make this a sloppy offering that isn't worth your time or money.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Jan 17, 2011
    7
    Graphics:
    As it comes to graphics it is not too bad for a downloadable game. Don't expect to get the newest and the best you have ever seen,
    Graphics:
    As it comes to graphics it is not too bad for a downloadable game. Don't expect to get the newest and the best you have ever seen, more PSP like graphics but on your big tv. The environment can be somewhat empty every here and there, but the artwork is amazing! The colors are well chosen even tho the colours appear somewhat minimalistic.

    Audio: The audio is pretty good. It is good at a level that it does not disappoint. The sounds are basic, aswell as predictable and sometimes seem like they are imported from games from 2005 or so. Biggest sit back was when the dialogue was no sound acting but read only. The soundtrack however is amazing. You can almost compare it to 'Lord of the Rings'. It is all well composed, sometimes even gives you an feeling of epicness.

    Gameplay:
    I will be really short about this too. Basic but fabulous. The navigation in the world is as easy as taking a pee. The battles are really easy too. However there are enough abilities to explore in battles, as well as tactics. It would be nice tho if there was a time limit for the choice you make to make the turn based part a bit more interactive.
    The skill points are intresting too. It affects your visual (I.E. skills also change your apperance with new wings, horns on your head etc.) and will make your character stronger and will give you new abilities. These differ from more HP up to awesome magic attacks.

    Conclusion:
    F:LoA is an entertaining game. It is fun to play, has nothing too dificult and has nice artwork. Don't expect a full retail RPG game, more a smaller but very fun game to play. As a total score I would give it a 5 when I started. But when I got further into the game it surprised me with fun gameplay, nice enviroments and fun characteristics. I had to choose between a 7 and 8 since I was thinking of giving it a 7.5. However, due to the basicness of the game (is that a word?) I chose to give it a 7. All together: A basic but fun game!
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 14, 2010
    7
    Faery: Legends of Avalon is a fun game, though rough around the edges with the translation. I love the look of it and personally thought theFaery: Legends of Avalon is a fun game, though rough around the edges with the translation. I love the look of it and personally thought the flight and movement both handled and looked fantastic. The different worlds you travel to are attractive but small and there was a heavy reliance on tedious fetch quests throughout the game. The combat is a simple turnbased system but entertaining and can catch you sleeping if you're not careful. The story was too linear for my tastes, we couldn't even choose which world to explore first as is common in RPGs these days. There weren't any real decisions of consequence either except in one instance, though it was quite a doozy. I can't wait for the next game to see what happens.

    Overall I really enjoyed Faery: Legends of Avalon quite a bit and look forward to a second installment in the series. I just wish things would open up abit in the next game and that I can customize, equip and level up my party mates instead of it being done for me. The game is presented well but with rough edges, the gameplay is straightforward and on the simplistic side but provides for an entertaining experience overall and the story starts off slow but does finish strong. It was worth my 1200 points.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 5, 2014
    9
    I loved this game. The graphics were beautifully done and the ability to fly over everything was breathtaking. i was glad I was able to designI loved this game. The graphics were beautifully done and the ability to fly over everything was breathtaking. i was glad I was able to design my own character and was amazed at all of the other characters. I have played through the game so verbal times and keep hoping for a part 2. Full Review »