User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 79
  2. Negative: 12 out of 79

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 4, 2011
    9
    Fallout 3's DLC Operation Anchorage is a great DLC it has a great story, that gives you a look back at the beginning of the war that started the apocalypse, it adds new weapons, characters, achievements, and a slightly different gameplay style, the only problem I can find with it is that it has glitches and it is extremely short, this is definitely worth the $10 asking price, and I highlyFallout 3's DLC Operation Anchorage is a great DLC it has a great story, that gives you a look back at the beginning of the war that started the apocalypse, it adds new weapons, characters, achievements, and a slightly different gameplay style, the only problem I can find with it is that it has glitches and it is extremely short, this is definitely worth the $10 asking price, and I highly recommend it to any fan of the game. Expand
  2. Nov 9, 2014
    8
    Fallout 3 - Operation: Anchorage is Fallout 3's first dlc and is a great one. You meet the Brotherhood of Steel Outcasts and try to access a sealed armory full of equipment. To do so you need to complete a virtual reality session that takes you into the battlegrounds of Alaska. The simulation is action packed and fun to play. Once you beat the simulation you unlock an armory that hasFallout 3 - Operation: Anchorage is Fallout 3's first dlc and is a great one. You meet the Brotherhood of Steel Outcasts and try to access a sealed armory full of equipment. To do so you need to complete a virtual reality session that takes you into the battlegrounds of Alaska. The simulation is action packed and fun to play. Once you beat the simulation you unlock an armory that has powerful weapons and a set of some of the best armor in the game. This dlc is relatively linear and short that doesn't take long to beat. This dlc is really fun, but I wish it was a little longer. Expand
  3. Oct 8, 2010
    8
    i liked this. i liked the video game within a video gameesque theme going on here. enjoyed playing through it. i liked the goodies you got after finishing it. plus the photo being taken of a few soldiers which was then made into a landmark in the fallout 3 world.
  4. Jul 17, 2012
    8
    Its coming to my attention that I'm like the only person who likes this. But a quick side note. You will most likely find great experiences with this if you like sneaking through, but if your guns ablazing then welcome to a nice open can of whoop ass. The game never really feels like its in fallout 3 and for some reason i didn't like that. But the whole simulation thing and the awesomeIts coming to my attention that I'm like the only person who likes this. But a quick side note. You will most likely find great experiences with this if you like sneaking through, but if your guns ablazing then welcome to a nice open can of whoop ass. The game never really feels like its in fallout 3 and for some reason i didn't like that. But the whole simulation thing and the awesome swag you get after is WELL worth the price of admission. Expand
  5. KrosaK.
    Feb 7, 2009
    8
    Fallout 3 is definitely the number one game I've played in the last year. And the downloadable content was also well worth it in my eyes. I don't exactly grasp why reviewers are griping over things like "It's un-Fallout 3 like" I mean, yes it is in the Fallout 3 universe, but... In context, how "Fallout 3" can you make a pre-programmed computer simulation where essentially Fallout 3 is definitely the number one game I've played in the last year. And the downloadable content was also well worth it in my eyes. I don't exactly grasp why reviewers are griping over things like "It's un-Fallout 3 like" I mean, yes it is in the Fallout 3 universe, but... In context, how "Fallout 3" can you make a pre-programmed computer simulation where essentially you're taking on the role of someone who lived 200 years ago? The idea that it wasn't "Open enough" well, I want someone to go to an Arcade, play the game, and tell me that they were mad because they couldn't play Tekken 6 on the DDR pad. It's just unrealistic to expect that a Virtual Reality game would allow it's players to "Free Roam" and the mistake everyone seems to be bashing on is that they're looking at it as if the VR was Fallout 3. In essense, the Downloadable Content is... A game within a game. Thus meaning that the rules of the original pretext of Fallout 3 really shouldn't be set in stone. Now, one thing I was a tad disappointed by, was just the fact that the health and ammo refills seemed far to close together. It never really felt like I was in a "Simulation where I could die", which overall made it feel about as shallow as playing the new Prince of Persia game. But aside for that detail, definitely worth the 800 points. Expand
  6. MichaelT
    Feb 11, 2009
    9
    I'm a huge fan of Fallout 3, with over 300 different saves and nearly every single achievement possible obtained on the Xbox 360. I agree that the "expansion" is very short, linear, and different than the main game. However, it is entertaining while it lasts. And the gear that you get after completing the simulation, including an awesome set of armor and a hugely powerful and I'm a huge fan of Fallout 3, with over 300 different saves and nearly every single achievement possible obtained on the Xbox 360. I agree that the "expansion" is very short, linear, and different than the main game. However, it is entertaining while it lasts. And the gear that you get after completing the simulation, including an awesome set of armor and a hugely powerful and entertaining futuristic sniper rifle, makes it a worthwhile investment. ON another matter, I really can't believe there are some idiots who would give this game or the DLC a rating of "0"... they are just trolls looking to bring down the rating of the game and the scores should not be counted. This game really is one of the best games for the system, and no realistic rating gives it that low of a score, anywhere. Expand
  7. MichaelS.
    Feb 12, 2009
    9
    Foolish people, don't let the die hards ruin this game for you...it's a great game. People who say it's not fallout simply are the same people who hate the new color scheme for Diablo3...whiners who can't ever be happy. Fallout 3 and it's new content are great additions...and you will enjoy the game. It's not cannon but that doesn't really matter. Foolish people, don't let the die hards ruin this game for you...it's a great game. People who say it's not fallout simply are the same people who hate the new color scheme for Diablo3...whiners who can't ever be happy. Fallout 3 and it's new content are great additions...and you will enjoy the game. It's not cannon but that doesn't really matter. It's a fallout setting you control the fun. Expand
  8. KyleT
    Jul 20, 2009
    9
    Ok every stupid PC or Xbox 360 user needs to shut up about how this isn't long enough. What if you didn't get it at all. Would that be better for you jerks? Bethesda did a great job on the first DLC this was just the starer and they have gotten better. I own a PS3 so I have not gotten the DLC, but I have watched enough video's to know this a great DLC. it is fun gives good Ok every stupid PC or Xbox 360 user needs to shut up about how this isn't long enough. What if you didn't get it at all. Would that be better for you jerks? Bethesda did a great job on the first DLC this was just the starer and they have gotten better. I own a PS3 so I have not gotten the DLC, but I have watched enough video's to know this a great DLC. it is fun gives good rewards and it is just a difernent style for Fallout. When I got this finally I will have something to do for 2-4 hours plus It will get me back into Fallout. Either like it or don't get it, stop whining, PS3 people don't even get it you babies. Expand
  9. HagenMc.
    Jan 29, 2009
    9
    A fantastic bit of content well worth 800 msp. It will last year 2-3 hours depending on how much you explore the quest areas. Everyone needs to stop griping about the length of this package. Everyone seems to think it was supposed to be the size of The Shivering Isles. It's an 800 msp add-on and there is another on Feb 1st. Chill out and enjoy it for what it is, people.
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. The changes in gameplay are refreshing and the challenge level which results from them make it a satisfying experience. It is not painfully difficult, just pleasantly so, and its running time of roughly three hours is long enough to be enjoyable without becoming monotonous.
  2. I love Fallout 3. I love it to an almost indecent extent. It was far and away my game of 2008, and doesn't look like being knocked out of my personal top spot for a good while yet. But when you sift out its role-play, the ammo-box inspection and the exploration and draft in a fleet of health and ammo regeneration points to compensate... well, affairs just feel shallow and somewhat naked.
  3. 70
    Ultimately, it's the die-hard Fallout 3 fans that should enjoy this new chapter in the series' history, and those same fans who may end up slightly annoyed after the fact. Operation Anchorage doesn't answer many questions regarding the lead-up to the big war, but it's an interesting piece of the puzzle that fits into the overall game without feeling out of place.