Fallout 3: Broken Steel Xbox 360

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 77
  2. Negative: 3 out of 77

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PrincessS
    May 11, 2009
    10
    Broken Steel does for Fallout 3 what the Extended Editions did for LOTR. It takes a great game with a pretty average ending and turns it into a great game with a strong ending. Absolutely essential.
  2. RowanF
    May 21, 2009
    10
    An luurvely peice of DLC, probably the best for Fallout 3. It fixed the only problem that Fallout 3 had for me: no free-roam option at the end. The perks and new levels are good, and the new quests do a brilliant job of expanding on the story. It's also probably woth getting just for the chance to ride in a Vertibird... The only complaint I would have is that if you have completed An luurvely peice of DLC, probably the best for Fallout 3. It fixed the only problem that Fallout 3 had for me: no free-roam option at the end. The perks and new levels are good, and the new quests do a brilliant job of expanding on the story. It's also probably woth getting just for the chance to ride in a Vertibird... The only complaint I would have is that if you have completed all of the story and side quests BEFORE getting Broken Steel then reaching the level 30 cap can be a real pain, as the quests that come with the DLC only get you about half way. Aside from that, a must buy. Expand
  3. Oct 16, 2010
    8
    Broken Steel actually continues the story where Fallout 3 ended, and it let´s you end the fight with the Enclave.This DLC had some really good moments, and you also unlock more sidemissions, and don´t forget that you get the Tesla Cannon. Propably the best thing about Broken Steel is that the Level cap gets raised from 20 to 30, so you get a reason to go backBroken Steel actually continues the story where Fallout 3 ended, and it let´s you end the fight with the Enclave.This DLC had some really good moments, and you also unlock more sidemissions, and don´t forget that you get the Tesla Cannon. Propably the best thing about Broken Steel is that the Level cap gets raised from 20 to 30, so you get a reason to go back exploring the wasteland.Broken Steel was really a good DLC. Expand
  4. Mar 6, 2011
    9
    If you can only buy one Fallout 3 DLC it's either this one or The Pitt, this outstanding piece of DLC adds a new quest taking place after the main one, extends the level cap to 30, adds new side quests, random encounters, new achievements, new weapons, free rome after you beat it, and hours of new gameplay, my only complaint is that the story backing it isn't all that great, but is still aIf you can only buy one Fallout 3 DLC it's either this one or The Pitt, this outstanding piece of DLC adds a new quest taking place after the main one, extends the level cap to 30, adds new side quests, random encounters, new achievements, new weapons, free rome after you beat it, and hours of new gameplay, my only complaint is that the story backing it isn't all that great, but is still a must download. Expand
  5. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    It's amazing. It's long (took me about 6 hours) but it's only DLC keep that in mind. there's lots of new weapons, interesting stories, and you end the game on a better note. Pretty great DLC, try it.
  6. Jul 5, 2011
    9
    In my opinion, this is the best fallout add on there is. It is definitely a must get for fallout fans, because it continues the game, instead of the game ending. Also with the new quests, this is an add on that is definitely worth the microsoft points.
  7. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    I really enjoyed the extra content this DLC provided, and the additional level cap was great. I am of a personal belief that this add-on ruined an otherwise wonderful ending. It is my belief that you should leave well enough alone - unless you intend it that way from the beginning. I do not believe this was the intent, but the developers bowed to the will of the fan base. Another gameI really enjoyed the extra content this DLC provided, and the additional level cap was great. I am of a personal belief that this add-on ruined an otherwise wonderful ending. It is my belief that you should leave well enough alone - unless you intend it that way from the beginning. I do not believe this was the intent, but the developers bowed to the will of the fan base. Another game (Mass Effect 3) has a similar problem, but I think the add-on involving an ending is something that was intended from the beginning. Don't get me wrong, this is a good addition, probably up there with Point Lookout as one of the best, but the changing of the ending still sits sore with me. Expand
  8. Aug 16, 2012
    8
    After a long break from Fallout 3 i'm now going to play the last two of the DLC'S. So far this is the best DLC. Broken Steel countinues with the story of Fallout 3 and finish the fight with the Enclave. You don't really get many stuff in this DLC but 3/4 in to it you ass-kicking Tesla Cannon. You also your cap raised from 20 to 30. Now just one more Dlc to go and then i'm done. Fallout 3:After a long break from Fallout 3 i'm now going to play the last two of the DLC'S. So far this is the best DLC. Broken Steel countinues with the story of Fallout 3 and finish the fight with the Enclave. You don't really get many stuff in this DLC but 3/4 in to it you ass-kicking Tesla Cannon. You also your cap raised from 20 to 30. Now just one more Dlc to go and then i'm done. Fallout 3: Broken Steel 8.0/10 Expand
  9. Oct 29, 2013
    7
    Essentially fixed the game. Added some interesting quests as well, but it's largest contribution was that it let the player continue playing the game. Besides this, the changes to the Wasteland are relatively interesting and the final destruction of the Enclave is a FAR more satisfying conclusion to the main questline than the original end to Fallout 3.
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Broken Steel is important in the sense that it continues the individual campaign of Fallout 3, however, its technical features and lack of novelty are a bit of a shame. The extension that we are discussing here offers a slightly longer duration than its preceding expansions, but it is less intense that the action in Operation Anchorage and less interesting than the captivating The Pitt.
  2. Put simply, if you love Fallout 3, Broken Steel is an essential purchase.
  3. 85
    Lifting the level cap breathes new life into a great game, but shouldn't totally overshadow a new series of quests that is a lot of fun.