User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 63
  2. Negative: 17 out of 63

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BS
    Sep 1, 2009
    10
    I don't have the game yet and wish to judge it, because I am a retarded monkey with no sense of common sense. I don't even have the platform that this page is about, but feel that I have the ability to judge it. I luv teh blastah! I hatin' teh Anchorage! Blah blah blah.

    Kyle T, T stands for TOOL BAG.
  2. KyleT
    Aug 10, 2009
    4
    First I'd like to say I have a PS3 so I don't have this yet, but I am going to judge on what I have seen. This is not better than Operation Anchorage, the weapons and armor you get from this are so boring, the Gauss Rifle the Stealth Suit, and then an Alien Rifle oooohhh awwww boring! In terms of depth it isn't that long all you do is escape lots of combat all talking is First I'd like to say I have a PS3 so I don't have this yet, but I am going to judge on what I have seen. This is not better than Operation Anchorage, the weapons and armor you get from this are so boring, the Gauss Rifle the Stealth Suit, and then an Alien Rifle oooohhh awwww boring! In terms of depth it isn't that long all you do is escape lots of combat all talking is boring everyone sas mostly the same thing. Well if you are an FO3 fan and love the Alien Blaster you will enjoy this as for me I hated the Alien Blaster, I will only buy it for a little more time. Expand
  3. Oct 8, 2010
    6
    it was alright wouldnt have made it the last DLC. i played through it at level 30 and it was tough. thats not why i didnt like it, i just found it a bit crap. i did like SOME of the weapons though like that pistol and rifle.
  4. Aug 11, 2011
    4
    This DLC adds nothing new to Fallout 3, and feels wholly unnecessary. Environments are linear and everywhere looks the same. The story is weak but the NPC's are mildly interesting given the different time periods they come from. There are some new guns and armor but nothing that would make this an essential purchase. There is a significant lack of depth and charm here which is a shameThis DLC adds nothing new to Fallout 3, and feels wholly unnecessary. Environments are linear and everywhere looks the same. The story is weak but the NPC's are mildly interesting given the different time periods they come from. There are some new guns and armor but nothing that would make this an essential purchase. There is a significant lack of depth and charm here which is a shame given the possibilities offered by its central concept. Expand
  5. mobius
    Aug 6, 2009
    8
    Even though there are no side quests i enjoyed this as much as broken steel. Mothership zeta captures that 1950s retro future perfectly. i loved how the aliens sounded just like those from tim burtons mars attacks. and it was a nice touch meeting a cowboy a samuri warrior and a medic from operation anchorage. this for me is a great expansion and a fitting final DLC for fallout 3. role on Even though there are no side quests i enjoyed this as much as broken steel. Mothership zeta captures that 1950s retro future perfectly. i loved how the aliens sounded just like those from tim burtons mars attacks. and it was a nice touch meeting a cowboy a samuri warrior and a medic from operation anchorage. this for me is a great expansion and a fitting final DLC for fallout 3. role on Fallout new vegas. Expand
  6. NickB
    Oct 8, 2009
    8
    This was actually a pretty fun expansion (and the last, I gather) but with the following caveats: First, Mothership Zeta feels a bit more like a traditional FPS environment than the eerie post-apoc setting of Fallout 3, although there is plenty to be found inside the ship that ties in to the overall back story (finding that the aliens have been kidnapping people for far longer than the This was actually a pretty fun expansion (and the last, I gather) but with the following caveats: First, Mothership Zeta feels a bit more like a traditional FPS environment than the eerie post-apoc setting of Fallout 3, although there is plenty to be found inside the ship that ties in to the overall back story (finding that the aliens have been kidnapping people for far longer than the era of the wasteland, for example). Second, if you haven't gotten too far yet in the rest of the game, this expansion gives you ample opportunity to load up on some of the deadliest weapons you'll find in the game, not to mention access to a cool base of ops when you finish it. Overall, I liked it; the aliens had a bit of the "Invasion: Mars" vibe going on, and the concluding events leading up to your escape from the mothership were a blast. Expand
  7. MarkK
    Aug 28, 2009
    3
    Easily the worst Fallout 3 DLC. Completely linear dungeon crawl that focuses on FO3's below average FPSer mechanics. There are multiple game breaking glitches (picking up a certain weapon can result in a dead-stop and getting stuck in a room indefinitely), poor weapons, a meager 3 enemy types, and a forgettable story. Save your money, this DLC verges on terrible.
  8. KeithB
    Aug 6, 2009
    2
    This was by far the worst dlc for fallout 3. Many compare it to bethesdas first dlc Operation anchorage which was a major disappointment. But although that one was short it was a lot of fun and you came out with great equipment. Like Operation anchorage Mothership zeta is based on Fallout 3s combat. Unlike Operation anchorage mothership zeta is just plain old boring. Once completed theres This was by far the worst dlc for fallout 3. Many compare it to bethesdas first dlc Operation anchorage which was a major disappointment. But although that one was short it was a lot of fun and you came out with great equipment. Like Operation anchorage Mothership zeta is based on Fallout 3s combat. Unlike Operation anchorage mothership zeta is just plain old boring. Once completed theres no reason to replay. It gets boring real quickly. The most interesting highlight was the space walk and an interesting death ray battle. The new characters are interesting. Being able to meet a pre war soldier and a cowboy from way before the great war was amazing. Until you realize that all they have to say is I can't believe they did that to the world. The new equipment is bland. There is nothing original in the alien designs. Its different from fallout and is cool to look at for a shortwhile. Buts its like any old alien movie, little green guys speaking in jibberish with bug eyes. This is the worst dlc of all five. The fact that this is the last is the worst way bethesda can leave us. Expand
  9. NathanS.
    Aug 4, 2009
    7
    Enjoyable although it is too combat heavy the ending is totally epic it's no point lookout though.
  10. LaurenP
    Aug 5, 2009
    5
    Mothership Zeta is an experience that almost asks to be forgotten. It tries to sell itself on exploration and combat. The former is polished and beautiful, but it feels so wasted on the latter, which is generic and extremely boring.
  11. NiallK
    Nov 9, 2009
    3
    My God this was a disaster. I enjoyed it for 5 minutes, and then I wanted to leave. The weapons are unimaginative, the textures are bland, and the enemies only seem to vary in hit-points. Overall, an abomination of an expansion that should be sent straight to hell. You've lost some of my respect, Bethesda...
  12. camazotzB
    Aug 14, 2009
    7
    This is a fun expansion, but feels a bit "off" from the Fallout 3 style, more like a conventional shooter event jammed in to the middle of the awesomness of the Fallout universe. That said, I had fun rampaging through Mothership Zeta's long cooridors and getting in to all sorts of trouble, but eventually I started wishing I had stayed on Earth, as it dragged on long past my toleranceThis is a fun expansion, but feels a bit "off" from the Fallout 3 style, more like a conventional shooter event jammed in to the middle of the awesomness of the Fallout universe. That said, I had fun rampaging through Mothership Zeta's long cooridors and getting in to all sorts of trouble, but eventually I started wishing I had stayed on Earth, as it dragged on long past my tolerance for the more conventional fps-shooter style of this expansion. Expand
  13. AndrewT
    Nov 24, 2009
    2
    This DLC sends one of my favorite games out on a bad note. Linear pacing, almost no Karma alteration (killing the unarmed xenocidal maniacs in the ship nets negative karma, and that's about it), and an almost complete lack of story put it on par with Operation: Anchorage. Unlike O:A, though, there's no game-altering loot like the Stealth Armor or Winterized T-51b Power Armor. This DLC sends one of my favorite games out on a bad note. Linear pacing, almost no Karma alteration (killing the unarmed xenocidal maniacs in the ship nets negative karma, and that's about it), and an almost complete lack of story put it on par with Operation: Anchorage. Unlike O:A, though, there's no game-altering loot like the Stealth Armor or Winterized T-51b Power Armor. Sure, there's a bunch of nice energy weapons, but none of them markedly better than what exists in the core game. In the end, I find myself hoarding the Alien Epoxy found on the ship (which can repair any weapon on its own) and ignoring the rest of the DLC. After completion, one has the option of returning to the mothership; I find myself wondering why to go there in the first place. Expand
  14. Feb 15, 2011
    9
    This DLC isn't the best Fallout 3 DLC but it is still a blast to play, in this DLC your abducted by aliens, and you and the other captives have to fight your way out, this DLC takes more of a combat focus, which isn't a bad thing it's actually a lot of fun, the new weapons, enemies, and location, are a blast, my only complaint is that it locks off most of the ship after you complete theThis DLC isn't the best Fallout 3 DLC but it is still a blast to play, in this DLC your abducted by aliens, and you and the other captives have to fight your way out, this DLC takes more of a combat focus, which isn't a bad thing it's actually a lot of fun, the new weapons, enemies, and location, are a blast, my only complaint is that it locks off most of the ship after you complete the quest, but this is still a blast, and a must download for Fallout 3 fans. Expand
  15. Jul 12, 2011
    6
    This DLC suffers from the similar problems as Operation Anchorage. It is not as bad as OA, but it still gives you a feeling that is not originally meant for Fallout 3. It has again much of shooting going on, but it also gives you possibility to loot stuff and it has some kind of decent story that might keep you interests if you like UFO stuff. The game provides you some alien weaponryThis DLC suffers from the similar problems as Operation Anchorage. It is not as bad as OA, but it still gives you a feeling that is not originally meant for Fallout 3. It has again much of shooting going on, but it also gives you possibility to loot stuff and it has some kind of decent story that might keep you interests if you like UFO stuff. The game provides you some alien weaponry which is nice spice on energy weapons selection; these weapons did not feel so overpowered either. In my opinion this DLC does not fit to Fallout universe, even though there are UFO random encounters in the game. This DLC is supposed to give you an explanation for why you see these UFO random encounters. As a game it is decent, but suffers from the fact that fallout 3 is not best as a FPS action game, which this DLC is mostly about. If you donâ Expand
  16. Mar 20, 2012
    7
    To be honest, this was kind of a cool concept but ultimately became boring. It also leaves you ridiculously overpowered in the core game, which for me kind of ruined the feel of the series. Really, I should give this a 5 or a 6 but I give it points for the interesting lore it provided on the history of the universe.
  17. Jul 12, 2013
    2
    The Godfather 3 of DLCs. Doesn't make much sense and doesn't advance the Fallout narrative whatsoever.
    I'm playing it through this second time now purely for the achievements.
    Play it once if you're a completionist, but never again.
    The worst of what the Fallout series has to offer.
    Playable, though just barely, and easily forgettable.
  18. May 15, 2012
    5
    This is the first dlc I have played for Mothership Zeta. I got to admit it looks cool. But it is not as good as it looks. I felt in Mothership Zeta that they replaced a fantastic story line in to a too much combat dlc[ I just love a good story] The weapons are cool and pretty much blew the hell out of those aliens heads. I recommend this only for more Fallout 3. Fallout 3 Mothership Zeta 5.8/10
  19. Oct 29, 2013
    5
    As with Anchorage, Mothership Zeta had a forgettable plot and very good loot. It was less well-integrated into the story than Operation Anchorage, and also left a massive and glaring plot hole in that all the technology you presumably now have access to amounts to nothing in the wasteland at large. The gameplay itself is rather normal, not remarkable in either a good or bad way. The keyAs with Anchorage, Mothership Zeta had a forgettable plot and very good loot. It was less well-integrated into the story than Operation Anchorage, and also left a massive and glaring plot hole in that all the technology you presumably now have access to amounts to nothing in the wasteland at large. The gameplay itself is rather normal, not remarkable in either a good or bad way. The key redeeming quality is an easily obtained alternative to Weapon Repair Kits and some nice new Energy Weapons. Key issues include a forgettable plot, irrelevance to the game at large and few RPG qualities. Expand
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34
  1. Mothership Zeta is a let down. It's nowhere near as good as Point Lookout or The Pitt. It's slightly better than Operation Anchorage, but only slightly. It's a linear, repetitive slog through an alien space ship and nothing else. Is it a fitting finale? No. Is it worth 800MS Points? Just. If only for the Samurai Armour. Sniff.
  2. With repetitive, largely uninspired corridor combat, and boring, linear and samey mission design, the least you'd hope is that there would be some supplementary side quests to extend the lifespan - but not so.
  3. The result is a game that looks great, ends well, but at times, leans too heavily on formulaic game mechanics.