User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 53
  2. Negative: 15 out of 53

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 8, 2010
    6
    it was alright wouldnt have made it the last DLC. i played through it at level 30 and it was tough. thats not why i didnt like it, i just found it a bit crap. i did like SOME of the weapons though like that pistol and rifle.
  2. Feb 15, 2011
    9
    This DLC isn't the best Fallout 3 DLC but it is still a blast to play, in this DLC your abducted by aliens, and you and the other captives have to fight your way out, this DLC takes more of a combat focus, which isn't a bad thing it's actually a lot of fun, the new weapons, enemies, and location, are a blast, my only complaint is that it locks off most of the ship after you complete the quest, but this is still a blast, and a must download for Fallout 3 fans. Expand
  3. Aug 11, 2011
    4
    This DLC adds nothing new to Fallout 3, and feels wholly unnecessary. Environments are linear and everywhere looks the same. The story is weak but the NPC's are mildly interesting given the different time periods they come from. There are some new guns and armor but nothing that would make this an essential purchase. There is a significant lack of depth and charm here which is a shame given the possibilities offered by its central concept. Expand
  4. Jul 12, 2011
    6
    This DLC suffers from the similar problems as Operation Anchorage. It is not as bad as OA, but it still gives you a feeling that is not originally meant for Fallout 3. It has again much of shooting going on, but it also gives you possibility to loot stuff and it has some kind of decent story that might keep you interests if you like UFO stuff. The game provides you some alien weaponry which is nice spice on energy weapons selection; these weapons did not feel so overpowered either. In my opinion this DLC does not fit to Fallout universe, even though there are UFO random encounters in the game. This DLC is supposed to give you an explanation for why you see these UFO random encounters. As a game it is decent, but suffers from the fact that fallout 3 is not best as a FPS action game, which this DLC is mostly about. If you donâ Expand
  5. Mar 20, 2012
    7
    To be honest, this was kind of a cool concept but ultimately became boring. It also leaves you ridiculously overpowered in the core game, which for me kind of ruined the feel of the series. Really, I should give this a 5 or a 6 but I give it points for the interesting lore it provided on the history of the universe.
  6. Jul 12, 2013
    2
    The Godfather 3 of DLCs. Doesn't make much sense and doesn't advance the Fallout narrative whatsoever.
    I'm playing it through this second time now purely for the achievements.
    Play it once if you're a completionist, but never again.
    The worst of what the Fallout series has to offer.
    Playable, though just barely, and easily forgettable.
  7. May 15, 2012
    5
    This is the first dlc I have played for Mothership Zeta. I got to admit it looks cool. But it is not as good as it looks. I felt in Mothership Zeta that they replaced a fantastic story line in to a too much combat dlc[ I just love a good story] The weapons are cool and pretty much blew the hell out of those aliens heads. I recommend this only for more Fallout 3. Fallout 3 Mothership Zeta 5.8/10
  8. Oct 29, 2013
    5
    As with Anchorage, Mothership Zeta had a forgettable plot and very good loot. It was less well-integrated into the story than Operation Anchorage, and also left a massive and glaring plot hole in that all the technology you presumably now have access to amounts to nothing in the wasteland at large. The gameplay itself is rather normal, not remarkable in either a good or bad way. The key redeeming quality is an easily obtained alternative to Weapon Repair Kits and some nice new Energy Weapons. Key issues include a forgettable plot, irrelevance to the game at large and few RPG qualities. Expand
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34
  1. Mothership Zeta is a let down. It's nowhere near as good as Point Lookout or The Pitt. It's slightly better than Operation Anchorage, but only slightly. It's a linear, repetitive slog through an alien space ship and nothing else. Is it a fitting finale? No. Is it worth 800MS Points? Just. If only for the Samurai Armour. Sniff.
  2. With repetitive, largely uninspired corridor combat, and boring, linear and samey mission design, the least you'd hope is that there would be some supplementary side quests to extend the lifespan - but not so.
  3. The result is a game that looks great, ends well, but at times, leans too heavily on formulaic game mechanics.