Fallout 3: Point Lookout Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 68 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Downloadable Content) Buy a ticket and hop onboard the Duchess Gambit, as Tobar the Ferryman takes you to the strange seaside town of Point Lookout. What secrets does the dilapidated boardwalk hold? Who lives in the sprawling mansion? Why is the Punga Fruit so important? And what horrors(Downloadable Content) Buy a ticket and hop onboard the Duchess Gambit, as Tobar the Ferryman takes you to the strange seaside town of Point Lookout. What secrets does the dilapidated boardwalk hold? Who lives in the sprawling mansion? Why is the Punga Fruit so important? And what horrors lie in the depths of the murky swamp? Point Lookout is the most open-ended DLC yet, and allows you to explore an entirely new and expansive gameplay area any way you’d like. A completely new questline allows you uncover the town’s hidden secrets, and wield powerful new weapons like the Double-Barrel Shotgun against the swamp’s dangerous, and deformed, denizens. So venture to Point Lookout, if you dare. Just pray it’s not a one-way trip. [Bethesda Softworks] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. With its copious amounts of content and impressive new locale, Fallout 3: Point Lookout provides a definitive reason to head back into the Fallout universe yet again.
  2. The best DLC for Fallout 3 so far. [Sept 2009, p.84]
  3. This jaunt away from the Capitol Wasteland is a welcome addition to the three adventure add-ons that build on Fallout 3's awesome adventure.
  4. Point Lookout is the best Fallout 3 add-on this far, and this is probably the only one actually essential in the gameplay side. A brilliant story and a big and vigorous new map are among its main virtues.
  5. At a very reasonable 800 points this is well worth your time. The strongest Fallout 3 DLC to date.
  6. Essentially, Point Lookout feels more like an organic extension of Fallout 3 rather than a collection of missions bolted onto a new environment. A couple of technical glitches aside, this DLC is sure delight players who want to test their mettle in a great new locale.
  7. An intriguing plot, fascinating characters and even a psychedelic trip within your own mind, characterize an expansion perhaps weak in terms of content, such as weapons and armor, but very enjoyable.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. JordanT
    Jul 29, 2009
    10
    Point Lokkout it by far one of the most interesting and enjoying downloadable contents for Fallout 3. I enjoyed it very much and I expect Point Lokkout it by far one of the most interesting and enjoying downloadable contents for Fallout 3. I enjoyed it very much and I expect people who are into fallout to enjoy it as well. Expand
  2. Jul 24, 2011
    10
    This is some good DLC right here. You get a sixth of a full game for a sixth of the price. There's some cool quests and weapons, andThis is some good DLC right here. You get a sixth of a full game for a sixth of the price. There's some cool quests and weapons, and interesting characters. Plus there's a pretty big map to explore so if u love Fallout 3 then drop the 10 bucks. Expand
  3. ObsidianP.
    Sep 10, 2009
    9
    I will just put it like this: I was lost in Oblivion for months. Now I am lost in the wasteland of Fallout 3 and have been for months! These I will just put it like this: I was lost in Oblivion for months. Now I am lost in the wasteland of Fallout 3 and have been for months! These expansions are like addictive drugs; once you get hooked you are totally consumed! I think my family is secretly planning an intervention session... Expand
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    An interesting story, useful loot and actual roleplaying qualities make Point Lookout stand above the other DLCs of Fallout 3. One can sayAn interesting story, useful loot and actual roleplaying qualities make Point Lookout stand above the other DLCs of Fallout 3. One can say surprisingly little about the plot without spoiling it, so I'll leave that alone with one statement: It's extremely interesting. The gameplay is difficult in a good challenging way, requiring both skill and stimpaks. The setting is fascinating and serves as an almost mini-Wasteland. The fact that you can come and go as you please makes it even better, allowing you to explore Point Lookout as you play the main game. If anything, Point Lookout's main issue is that it makes the other Fallout 3 DLC look bad. Expand
  5. Nov 22, 2010
    8
    It could have been a little longer, but Point Lookout is a fun, well-crafted expansion for Fallout 3. It's probably the best one out of all ofIt could have been a little longer, but Point Lookout is a fun, well-crafted expansion for Fallout 3. It's probably the best one out of all of them, actually. Expand
  6. Jul 14, 2011
    8
    Point lookout is a nice change if you have bored on traveling on dry and barren capital wasteland. It brings you interesting new landscapePoint lookout is a nice change if you have bored on traveling on dry and barren capital wasteland. It brings you interesting new landscape that is refreshingly different from original one. It takes you to a swampy area that was not completely destroyed during the great war. There is plenty of new content in this DLC and finally it brings the dual shot double-barrel shotgun to fallout which I so much missed from original fallout 3. The story is decent and keeps you entertain till the end. Main story lasts about 3 to 4 hours, but there are also some mini quests that add things to do. Point lookout also introduces some new creatures. Some of these creatures are quite powerful and might give you a hard time especially if you are playing with low level character. You can start playing the point lookout whenever it suites you, but I would recommend to level up your character quite a bit before entering the swampy lands of point lookout. Donâ Expand
  7. Aug 19, 2012
    6
    To put this review short the main quest was alright but world itself is great asking to be explored and new weapon s as well and side quests.To put this review short the main quest was alright but world itself is great asking to be explored and new weapon s as well and side quests. Fallout 3: Point Lookout 6.9/10 Expand

See all 17 User Reviews