User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1446 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 9, 2012
    5
    I really wanted to like this game. I had heard from a bunch of people that it was fantastic. However, after trying it I was not only unimpressed, I was dissapointed. The game was not very good. I thought the gunplay was alright. However, using melee weapons was pretty awful. Playing in third person was a waste of time as well. Not only that but the voice acting was okay at best and theI really wanted to like this game. I had heard from a bunch of people that it was fantastic. However, after trying it I was not only unimpressed, I was dissapointed. The game was not very good. I thought the gunplay was alright. However, using melee weapons was pretty awful. Playing in third person was a waste of time as well. Not only that but the voice acting was okay at best and the story was boring. And then, after hours of playing I got sick of all the glitches and took my game back to gamestop. Oh well. Expand
  2. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    2008 game of the year and did it diserve it hell yes the game is slower than fallout new vegas thats why the newer fnv newcomers dont like it i played the first fallouts and this one was a welcome revival to the series
  3. Aug 9, 2012
    1
    I played this game for a little while, completed tutorials and i thought "Hey, this might have potential" so I go to the first city, the quest tracking is terrible and leads you to places you shouldn't be, the combat is really flimsy, and the quests are kind of ridiculous, first real quest after tutorial: Blow up a nuclear bomb or disarm it after talking to someone who should help you, butI played this game for a little while, completed tutorials and i thought "Hey, this might have potential" so I go to the first city, the quest tracking is terrible and leads you to places you shouldn't be, the combat is really flimsy, and the quests are kind of ridiculous, first real quest after tutorial: Blow up a nuclear bomb or disarm it after talking to someone who should help you, but ends up dying by some bad guy first. Terrible game, would not recommend it. Not to mention you actually need to gain skills up before you can perform such alternate ways of playing the game, inventory management is poor, and the mechanics / story is poor itself. Expand
  4. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    This is easily one of the best RPGs you'll ever play in your life. It plays well on Xbox and it even has amazing DLC. The GOTY edition is a must buy for any gamer
  5. Apr 11, 2013
    3
    The game is okay by itself, if it were a standalone or a spin-off it would be kind of good. Now that's the worst part, it tries to be a successor to a series it really just doesn't have the goods to be. A lot of the quests lack any sort of emotion or critical thinking that made the first game so good, your actions had true impact. But in this you don't even get a small puzzle or area thatThe game is okay by itself, if it were a standalone or a spin-off it would be kind of good. Now that's the worst part, it tries to be a successor to a series it really just doesn't have the goods to be. A lot of the quests lack any sort of emotion or critical thinking that made the first game so good, your actions had true impact. But in this you don't even get a small puzzle or area that requires thinking, it's either walk across a massive game world, shoot something, or talk to someone. And the style of the story definately doesn't fit the Fallout franchise, anybody who says this game lives up to the originals is dead wrong. The ending is FAR too much of a "Happy ending" for this game to be anything close to what is a bleak existance even after your character becomes a walking tank helping everybody in the originals. Now the gameplay and mechanics not relating to the originals are pretty good, it would be more of a "Save your money, buy it if you don't have anything to play" kind of game not considering the story. The story itself is also fine, but also lacks true depth and is quite bland. I would say you should save your money, the game is OKAY but it is far from as good as people say it to be. Expand
  6. Jun 9, 2013
    4
    Fallout 3 is almost like a broken game. If you aren't doing a scavenger hunt for ammo, your weapons are probably getting broken. If your weapons aren't broken, you are probably getting destroyed by Super Mutants. Fallout 3 just isn't fun.

    I have given this game four solid attempts and I can only play less and less of the game. I can say that when I first got the game I had an enjoyable
    Fallout 3 is almost like a broken game. If you aren't doing a scavenger hunt for ammo, your weapons are probably getting broken. If your weapons aren't broken, you are probably getting destroyed by Super Mutants. Fallout 3 just isn't fun.

    I have given this game four solid attempts and I can only play less and less of the game. I can say that when I first got the game I had an enjoyable 15 hour play through, but couldn't go any further than that. While this may seem like a lot of time with the game, when it says on the back "a compelling journey that leaves you wanting more even after 100 hours of play," it's safe to say I expected to play this game much more than the 15 hours I did.

    Repetition is the name of this game. Fallout 3 features subways which is where you will spend a majority of the game, and they all feel the same. Feral ghouls are pretty much the only foes you will face in these underground subways and it becomes annoying really fast. What is even more annoying are the Super Mutants you will encounter as soon as you leave these subways. It's nearly impossible to survive their assault.

    I do have to give credit to Fallout 3 for creating some interesting characters. Mister Burke, Three Dog, and the overseer are all important to the narrative and unique in their own ways. The scenery of Fallout 3 is also impressive considering what it is going for. It still can be pretty frustrating when you can't go in a certain direction because their is a bunch of rubble blocking your path.

    Overall, Fallout 3 is an incredibly over-hyped game. You will have fun with it at the start so this game is only worth a rental at best.
    Expand
  7. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    Best game ever. Well perhaps shared top spot with Fallout New Vegas. Great character development, massive amount of great content, post apocalyptic setup and various ways to play. What else can you hope from a game?
  8. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    Some days ago, my 7 years son asked me what was the better game I have ever played. I spent half an hour after that trying to explain what nuclear holocaust means.
  9. Jun 23, 2014
    10
    I have been playing indies and old school games for a while and decided to go back to Fallout 3.....I finally realize how great this game is. Music, atmosphere, weapons, armour, NPCs....a blend of perfection.
  10. MarkK
    Nov 4, 2008
    10
    While this is a game definately NOT for the casual gamer, or even your average FPS fan, for those who seek a little more substance in their gaming diet, this is simply phenomenal. I was a big fan of the original games back in the day, and I'm glad to say this is a very worthy (and quite probably better) successor. The level of immersion is second to none as you really have a feeling While this is a game definately NOT for the casual gamer, or even your average FPS fan, for those who seek a little more substance in their gaming diet, this is simply phenomenal. I was a big fan of the original games back in the day, and I'm glad to say this is a very worthy (and quite probably better) successor. The level of immersion is second to none as you really have a feeling that absolutely everything you do has an effect of some kind on the excellently-designed post-apocalyptic wasteland that your dude/dudette calls home. Genuinely, my only wish is that there was more of it. The interface does exactly what I presume Bethesda intended it to, keep the feel of the originals while adding the functionality of a next-gen game. The VATS system is solid, and a brilliantly-implemented compromise between the older-games fight mechanics and Oblivion's FPS-like combat. Essentially, what Bethesda have done is achieve the impossible; keep the fans of the original Fallout happy, while once again revolutionising the genre in a similar way to Mass Effect this time last year. Purely awesome. Expand
  11. matthurd
    Nov 8, 2008
    10
    how does gears 2 have a 93 just like this? this is a much better game and it has way more 100 ratings then gears i think they need to fix the rating system here

    either way this game was fantastic and you would be flat out unacceptable to he gaming community to pass up on this master piece
  12. AaronB.
    Oct 30, 2008
    10
    I can't believe this is only an 8.5 for user votes. Must be some haters bringing the average down. I think it deserves at least a 9. It's not perfect - what game is? - but I'll rate it a 10 to compensate for the haters.
  13. DominicL
    Jan 6, 2009
    10
    Best game ever. I haven't played any other previous Fallout games. But i have to say this is 1 of the best games I have ever played. Perfect 10 i'd say. It's realistic, the graphics are great, different variety of weapons and the list goes on. This game was worth every single cent of my money and i wouldn't have it any other way. A true masterpiece.
  14. EddieP
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    The last time I spent anywhere near to the amount of time I've spent playing Fallout 3 was when I first played Legend of Zelda OoT. The games are not comparable in anyway except in their level of greatness and absorption. This is the best X-Box 360 game I have ever played.
  15. SamR
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    In reality, the game comes close to ten. I'd give it a 9.7 at least. The story is inventive, all parts of it. The side quests are readily available, everything from Rigging and election in a small four bedroom republic to wiping an entire town off the map with a massive nuclear explosion. The Karma system, while a little basic, still applies a few interesting dialog options, as well In reality, the game comes close to ten. I'd give it a 9.7 at least. The story is inventive, all parts of it. The side quests are readily available, everything from Rigging and election in a small four bedroom republic to wiping an entire town off the map with a massive nuclear explosion. The Karma system, while a little basic, still applies a few interesting dialog options, as well as a few other options. Even if you get bored out of your skull, or manage to run through the twelve or so hours it takes you to get through the story, there's still a plethora of things to do. Feel like enslaving someone? or maybe you want to help rebuild the crumbling source of freedom in America? Or maybe revisit an old friend that you havent' seen. There's any number of things that can be accomplished. In all truth, anyone that criticizes the game is either trying to play it like a shooter, which it clearly is not, or they're carrying some grudge against Oblivion or Bethesda for some inclined reason. The bottom line is, if you've even remotely stepped near Oblivion, morrowind, or anything of the sort in the past ten years and found them remotely interesting, you'll like Fallout 3. and for one, I applaud Bethesda for preserving the post war culture of fallout, and it's familiar humor and style. Expand
  16. AndrewD
    Jul 8, 2009
    10
    One of the best games ever, hands down. The world is huge, the characters are all different and you can interact with most of them. I loved the VATS thing because it's a happy medium between turn-based fighting and FPS shooting. The main quest is nice and long, but you probably won't notice because you'll be too busy exploring the Capital Wasteland. Bottom line, buy it.
  17. JasonZimmerman
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    This is an epic game that plays well on moral decisions and the characters within it. The sounds (especially the old school songs), game play, side objectives, and visuals are excellent. On top of all that, the game is long. You get so much for your money in this game.
  18. AshtonJ
    Aug 8, 2009
    10
    This game does what it works for so well when I left the Vault after the training quests I was filled with a sense of dread and hopelessness. All alone in a bleak wasteland devoid of colors not beige or taupe. Once I started finding some quests the sense of hopelessness left and I had a purpose which brought everything into focus and lead me on the crooked path to explore and beat the This game does what it works for so well when I left the Vault after the training quests I was filled with a sense of dread and hopelessness. All alone in a bleak wasteland devoid of colors not beige or taupe. Once I started finding some quests the sense of hopelessness left and I had a purpose which brought everything into focus and lead me on the crooked path to explore and beat the game. One thing about this game is even after beating it there is still so much to see. With all the unmarked side-quests and vast amount of areas you could wander for hours just exploring anything and everything, the game isn't well played if you don't experience these optional forays. I just maxed out the GS for the game and all add-ons and couldn't be happier with the game I played. Expand
  19. TroelsS.
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    Yes, it's almost a complete ripoff of the Elder Scrolls series. However, there are many elements in Fallout 3 that are more likely to please any gamer: FPS, rpg, adventure, sneak. Oblivion had many of the same things, though not executing it very well compared to Fallout 3 - especially the action in Oblivion wasn't very intriguing. Some may say the environment is a bit sterile Yes, it's almost a complete ripoff of the Elder Scrolls series. However, there are many elements in Fallout 3 that are more likely to please any gamer: FPS, rpg, adventure, sneak. Oblivion had many of the same things, though not executing it very well compared to Fallout 3 - especially the action in Oblivion wasn't very intriguing. Some may say the environment is a bit sterile in Fallout - a common term is "beatiful destruction" (like Gears of War). It's simple but done incredibly well. And what goes for the dungeons/buildings compared to Oblivion, there are many nuances and it doesn't seem very repetitive. Maybe it's just a sort of new, unofficial installment in the Elder Scrolls series (though fallout is a series on it's own), but since when has that been a bad thing? Alost every part of the game is an improvement over Oblivion. Perfect in every way. Probably the greatest game for this generation of consoles. Expand
  20. JohnHartman
    Nov 1, 2008
    10
    First of all, can anyone else see that Mike R is taking the piss? He's made 2 comments already, and both of them are completely (And deliberately) inane.

    As for fallout 3, it ranks in the best 3 games I've ever played. 1. Half life 2 (Including episodes) 2. Bioshock 3. Fallout 3. The graphics weren't fantastic, but the environmental design was. This is everything
    First of all, can anyone else see that Mike R is taking the piss? He's made 2 comments already, and both of them are completely (And deliberately) inane.

    As for fallout 3, it ranks in the best 3 games I've ever played.

    1. Half life 2 (Including episodes)
    2. Bioshock
    3. Fallout 3.

    The graphics weren't fantastic, but the environmental design was. This is everything that oblivion has but more, such as VATS, Guns, and the fallout setting.
    Expand
  21. BradBegey
    Nov 10, 2008
    9
    This game is a one in a million, the game offers many choices in karma (KOTOR?) the game has a different feel than oblivion but has many of the same querks that I love. Sadly the storyline does end and you can't keep playing? If they can patch this my score would be a 10 for sure.
  22. MatthewC.
    Nov 2, 2008
    10
    Fantastic game, sure, it's got faults. So does everything. What I
  23. KyleG.
    Nov 3, 2008
    10
    I am about 40 hours in and at this point I can safely say that in my book, this is definitely game of the year. While it does share some of Oblivion's style and perspective, Fallout 3 is unquestionably it's own game. The combat is great fun with it's mix of V.A.T.S. and real time first person shooting making dealing with groups of enemies feel fresh and unpredictable. The I am about 40 hours in and at this point I can safely say that in my book, this is definitely game of the year. While it does share some of Oblivion's style and perspective, Fallout 3 is unquestionably it's own game. The combat is great fun with it's mix of V.A.T.S. and real time first person shooting making dealing with groups of enemies feel fresh and unpredictable. The perk system really adds a new and exciting twist to the RPG side of things. The main story really starts to blossom around the 20-25 hour mark to create a fantastic sense of purpose for your character. Graphically, the game excels in creating an atmosphere that is at once technically beautiful, completely absorbing and borderline depressing. After playing for extended amounts of time, I suggest treating yourself to an ice cream cone to help alleviate the feeling of bleakness this environment can bestow upon you. My only gripe with the game is that money (bottle caps) seems to be rather difficult to come by. Perhaps I'll play as a bad guy on my second play through to see if things are easier in that department. Absolutely brilliant game though. I hope everyone enjoys it as much as i have. Expand
  24. JamesD.
    Nov 3, 2008
    10
    Fallout 3 is Exactly what I, a long time Fallout veteran, have been hoping for and more! In order to explain just how amazing this game is, I will tell you this. My girlfriend, who normally just plays casual games on the Wii, played this game just to see how it was and was amazed by it. She has been stuck on the game for three days now, I kid you not. I think that the game is downright Fallout 3 is Exactly what I, a long time Fallout veteran, have been hoping for and more! In order to explain just how amazing this game is, I will tell you this. My girlfriend, who normally just plays casual games on the Wii, played this game just to see how it was and was amazed by it. She has been stuck on the game for three days now, I kid you not. I think that the game is downright the most sprawling, addictive video game of the year, bar none. Others might not dig the VATS targeting system, the slow-mo kill cams, the graphics, or the trekking across the D.C. wasteland, but I believe that these features make the game so unique and refreshing that I couldn't imagine the game without thinking about them. If you thought Oblivion was addictive or you are remotely interested in an adventurous apocalyptic action extravaganza, you will absolutely love this game. The game is chock full of hilarious dialogue and great little comic touches to the an otherwise shockingly ravaged nuclear land. There are many minor flaws and issues with this sprawling open-world action-shooter-RPG, but come on, what game is perfect? If you came to negatively critique the game, then chances are that you never gave it a chance in the first place. Give the game your full attention, open up your imagination, turn up the Ink Spots on Galaxy News Radio, and try not to be sucked into an awe-inspiring atmospheric adventure into a the Washington D.C. that you thought you knew so well! I am simply blown away by the sheer scope of the game and the teeny tiniest little details in the game that make it so memorable. Whether it be the G.O.A.T. test or a rag-tag ramshackle city's "colorful" citizens, Fallout 3 is sure to surprise you with its amazing presentation, realism, its thought-provokingly insightful situations, and immersion factor. If you own a game console or PC that will play this game, then you have no excuse to not buy this amazing game. Expand
  25. AndyS.
    Nov 3, 2008
    10
    Take the best Deus Ex and mix in a good serving of S.T.A.L.K.E.R and you have Fallout 3. This is without a doubt the PC game of the year, if not for 360 and PS3 as well. I'm only L8 and i already want to play it again, and again, and some more after that.
  26. TomP.
    Nov 3, 2008
    9
    A very solid representation of the fallout universe, as a big fallout fan I've been cautious as to how the game would turn out, but bethesda have done a great job. My only problem is with the lack of some of the series previous humour and with hardly any reference to fallout 2 let alone fallout 1. That said it's a solid 9/10 for me.
  27. ZacS.
    Nov 5, 2008
    10
    Simply the most immersing and compelling game in history, that is, if you have half a brain. I found Mass Effect's dialog trees tedious and mind-numbing... Fallout 3 introduces a quest system that makes Fable II look like the smallest sandbox on the playground. Bottom line: games like this are triumphs of balance between such a multitude of advanced gaming concepts that a few hiccups Simply the most immersing and compelling game in history, that is, if you have half a brain. I found Mass Effect's dialog trees tedious and mind-numbing... Fallout 3 introduces a quest system that makes Fable II look like the smallest sandbox on the playground. Bottom line: games like this are triumphs of balance between such a multitude of advanced gaming concepts that a few hiccups must be expected. Fallout 3 is nearly flawless in its hybridization of sandbox, RPG, dialog-based games , first person shooter, strategic targeting, etc. etc.... even the minigames are amazing. This is a new day in gaming and this is the maverick title to raise the bar beyond a level I think will be reached until we enter the 'next generation' of gaming... or Fallout 4. Expand
  28. JasonS
    Nov 6, 2008
    10
    This game is sheer amazing. I recommend it to anyone with a console who can play it. It offers a variety of different ways in which to play it, whether it be real time shooting for fps fans, or Vats for more role play fans, and a mass map for the adventerous type (which I would hope is all of us). The ONLY ways in which it is like Oblivion is its sheer map scale, immersive gameplay and This game is sheer amazing. I recommend it to anyone with a console who can play it. It offers a variety of different ways in which to play it, whether it be real time shooting for fps fans, or Vats for more role play fans, and a mass map for the adventerous type (which I would hope is all of us). The ONLY ways in which it is like Oblivion is its sheer map scale, immersive gameplay and plot. And the physics engines are some what similar. The gameplay and fighting systems are NOT at all alike, and the role play elements of Fallout are far greater than that of Oblivions... and more importantly level scaling is not so imposing in fallout (which somewhat ruined Oblivion (only a ltitle) for me). It's also somewhat more fast paced, so you won't feel the burden of fighting like you did in Oblivion (constant hack), it's more explosive and exciting. Buy buy buy!!! Expand
  29. JosephS.
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    (1) We know that Fallout 1&2 were SICK, and (2) We know that Bethesda creates works of art (Oblivion) for a living. If this game isn't a 9 or 10, it's because the subtleties imbedded within go unnoticed by a generation of gamers who thought 'Mario Sunshine' was a top-notch title. Our standards must be set higher - I believe Bethesda and Fallout 3 will help us do that.
  30. CalebH.
    Dec 5, 2008
    10
    The very first step you take out of Vault 101 is one of the greatest moments in video gmae history. As your eyes adjust to the sunlight which you've never seen before, you begin to realize that what's around you is nothing you've ever seen before...nothing. Fallout 3 is an absolutely stellar achievement to open-world gaming, and to video games in general. No game before it The very first step you take out of Vault 101 is one of the greatest moments in video gmae history. As your eyes adjust to the sunlight which you've never seen before, you begin to realize that what's around you is nothing you've ever seen before...nothing. Fallout 3 is an absolutely stellar achievement to open-world gaming, and to video games in general. No game before it has created such a strong sense of survival like Fallout 3 does; Every bullet shot, every stimpak injected, every beer drank has weight to it and you can feel it. From the clothing you wear, to the people you meet, to the raiders who try to kill you, every little bit is well-thought out and works like a charm. Voice acting is top-notch and every single city in the Capital Wasteland is unique. That isn't to say that this game is "flawless". The little flaws that are their do not detract from the game in any way, but they are still there and still a problem. The maps you use are pretty much a waste of time. They are hard to read and give you no clear destination. The compass on your HUD is basically all you need. Character models are a bit too similar and their movements are strangely robotic, and this is due to preset animations. The characters do act on their own and are always doing something different, but not without looking like a programmer told them to do it. This is made up for by the increidible voice-acting, but on that note, their are not enough of them! Multiple characters have the same voice as another character. This problem was also present in the latest Oblivion and it doesn't seem like Bethsada cares to fix it. It also would be really cool if we could make a motorcycle and drive it, considering that you can actually pick up all the poarts to a motorcycle. That's all I have to say about its problems. With several hundred missions and over 50+ hours of gameplay, Fallout 3 almost pays for itself. It draws a fine line between action gameplay and RPG elements. It makes for the perfect game. If you even remotely like action or role-playing, give Fallout 3 a try. You shouldn't regret it. Expand
  31. MattF.
    Oct 30, 2008
    10
    This is a phenomenal game. It's not in the same vein as the first two fallouts (the dark humour is much less evident), but it is a very very good game. VATS is a phenomenal combat system - switching back to first person becomes a bit of a drag after using VATS too long.
  32. Wtfji
    Oct 30, 2008
    9
    Isn't there someone to moderate these comments? Mike R is clearly taking the piss with the most stupid and worthless comment of all time. Maybe you need to be British to understand that. Either way... you should delete it.
  33. StevenD
    Jan 23, 2009
    10
    Awesome game. I've put in around 30 hours so far, and haven't even really done that many quests. I've just enjoyed traveling the wasteland, building up my character, and exploring for new towns/cities. If you enjoyed Oblivion or Mass Effect, this is equally great!
  34. HansH
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    It's an amazing game with a good story and charakters. All 5 add-ons are well worth playing!
  35. FrankP
    Jan 6, 2009
    10
    This is one of the best or THE best game I have ever played. To any critics who gave this less than 100 or users who gave it a 0 or someother BS low score..."You must be INSANE". I guess it could just not be your cup of tea...but come on...this game has everything! And it's the most bang for your buck by a long shot...much more than Orange Box...and that game was a masterpiece as This is one of the best or THE best game I have ever played. To any critics who gave this less than 100 or users who gave it a 0 or someother BS low score..."You must be INSANE". I guess it could just not be your cup of tea...but come on...this game has everything! And it's the most bang for your buck by a long shot...much more than Orange Box...and that game was a masterpiece as well. I have become addicted to this game, it is that good. I have easily played over a 100 hours on it and still am not even halfway done. It has action, great environments and level design, tons of interesting characters to interact with, multiple outcomes and rewards to each situation, the RPG leveling up dynamic, its simply brilliant. Expand
  36. ColinMosher
    Feb 3, 2009
    10
    I played this game for a good five day rental and I got through quite a bit. I have to say, it is all I wanted in a version of Oblivion with guns. Of course, instead of just making a game from the past such as Oblivion with guns, they adjusted the setting to fit the Fallout series perfectly and executed the Oblivion engine accurately. I found the beginning to be very imaginative, more soI played this game for a good five day rental and I got through quite a bit. I have to say, it is all I wanted in a version of Oblivion with guns. Of course, instead of just making a game from the past such as Oblivion with guns, they adjusted the setting to fit the Fallout series perfectly and executed the Oblivion engine accurately. I found the beginning to be very imaginative, more so than what was done with Oblivion; however, it was very lengthy and seemed to block me from getting much action. Overall, I say 9.5/10 for excellent game despite glitches and somewhat lengthy beginning. Expand
  37. LukaszC
    Jul 19, 2009
    9
    The game is great . In times where some games like Mass Effect (13 hours length first playthrough) are called Rpg this game shows what a real RPG is . With over 30 hours of lentgh its a decent long game . There is alot to explore , the battle system is great and there are some funny stuff to do like let Megaton explode and then betray tenpenny ? xD The only things i didnt like and why The game is great . In times where some games like Mass Effect (13 hours length first playthrough) are called Rpg this game shows what a real RPG is . With over 30 hours of lentgh its a decent long game . There is alot to explore , the battle system is great and there are some funny stuff to do like let Megaton explode and then betray tenpenny ? xD The only things i didnt like and why this game didnt get a 10 out of 10 are : There are some bugs which can make the experience suffer and also if you look at other Fallout games you will see that there is some stuff which you cant do , and also you can kill whole megaton with a bomb but you cant kill the children with a handgun ? Kinda stupid but thats only my opinion . Still this game is a MUST BUY for every RPG fan who wants to wander through the capital Wastelands . And the DLCs keep comming to continue the story of the Lone Wanderer ... Score 9/10. Expand
  38. robb
    Sep 1, 2009
    10
    I'm not an rpg fan,however i have been blown away by fallout3.oblivion did nothing for me as much as i tried to love it but this had me from the moment i was born untill i completed the game.the gameplay and story are so brilliantly wound together even after i turned my 360 off i still found my mind heading back to the wasteland.there was just so many memorable misions and side I'm not an rpg fan,however i have been blown away by fallout3.oblivion did nothing for me as much as i tried to love it but this had me from the moment i was born untill i completed the game.the gameplay and story are so brilliantly wound together even after i turned my 360 off i still found my mind heading back to the wasteland.there was just so many memorable misions and side quests i could play them all again and again.the graphics are for the most part great although some annimation and character models need some fine tunning but it does not detract from the game at all.2008 an amazing year for gameing between this gta4 and left 4 dead to name just three of the best games ever created. Expand
  39. ChrisT
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    I got Oblivion for chrismas the year it came out, and i remember thinking "wow this game is great, but i wish it had guns in it." and then in the not so distant future i heard about this game and got it when it came out. Seriously, one of the best games i have ever played. i can get month's of enertainment from this game. No matter what is new out and what i am playing, i can always I got Oblivion for chrismas the year it came out, and i remember thinking "wow this game is great, but i wish it had guns in it." and then in the not so distant future i heard about this game and got it when it came out. Seriously, one of the best games i have ever played. i can get month's of enertainment from this game. No matter what is new out and what i am playing, i can always put fallout 3 in and enjoy it. Expand
  40. Miguel
    Sep 26, 2009
    10
    shooter or not i had a very good time with this game and i greatly reward it with a 10/10
    it's the best game i played in a long time so it deserves it very much.
    good controls.sharp graphics,nice world (or well...nice ?) chaotic is the word :)
    it is challenging enough for my liking .
    so it is a ACE if u ask me.
  41. JeffM
    Feb 9, 2010
    10
    Immersive, beautifully ugly, but the challenge seems to disappear once you get to the higher levels. This is made up for in quirky events, random encounters, and overall fun. I couldn't decide on 9 or 10 so what the heck, I wouldn't play it over again if it wasn't as good as it is.
  42. MikeP
    Nov 1, 2008
    9
    Everything in the game was as good as promised, the environments are very detailed and awesome to look at, the V.A.T.S system is very well done, and gives the player an edge over their enemies, like a better form of bullet time. Characters in this game are at least twice as well developed as they were in Oblivion, I felt attached and involved with the storyline and the characters. As far Everything in the game was as good as promised, the environments are very detailed and awesome to look at, the V.A.T.S system is very well done, and gives the player an edge over their enemies, like a better form of bullet time. Characters in this game are at least twice as well developed as they were in Oblivion, I felt attached and involved with the storyline and the characters. As far as following the overall feel of a fallout game, I feel it does pretty well, it stumbles in some places that really point out the difference between Black Isle/Interplay and Bethesda. Bethesda's fallout world is less free, less funny and less nuanced than Black Isle' fallout world. There were less dialogue options in F3 as opposed to F1&2 but I suppose that when you record voices for every NPC sentence it makes it more difficult to have 7 options when 3 would get the point across. Along those lines though sometimes I felt like what I wanted to say didn't have a parallel with the options I was given. It was also like I said not quite as funny as the first two games in the tragic-comedy type of way. Also Bethesda does not give you the ABSOLUTE freedom that you would get from the first two games, if you have 99 skill in lockpick and the door requires 100 your not getting in, in Fallout 1&2 you'd just chuckle as you set a five pound brick of plastic-explosives for 20 seconds and dive behind cover as the door flies off it's hinges. You require training to use certain armor, and the person that trains you isn't available to you until you complete an objective well within the middle of the game; F1&2 you'd just put it on. It's details like those that I'm missing from this fallout and have made it slightly frustrating to play as a fallout game. That and my biggest annoyance is that if I turn every enemy in the room into steaming goo before my allies fire a shot, they still talk to me like I needed their help and I can't handle myself. Expand
  43. TheStodd
    Nov 16, 2008
    10
    Fantastic - Game of the Year. I haven't been so imeresed since Mass Effect. A few bugs, but overall less hassle than the PC version. Get it NOW!
  44. JohnF.
    Nov 19, 2008
    7
    Disappointing. Not a terrible game, but disappointing. Bugs, annoying enemies, too many off-screen cheap shots and booby traps, and worst of all, the game isn't fun to explore. Oblivion, which is Fallout 3's most recent ancestor, had a pretty world that was easy and fun to explore. In Fallout 3, you walk around an ugly, unpleasant, dreary world filled with barriers blocking your Disappointing. Not a terrible game, but disappointing. Bugs, annoying enemies, too many off-screen cheap shots and booby traps, and worst of all, the game isn't fun to explore. Oblivion, which is Fallout 3's most recent ancestor, had a pretty world that was easy and fun to explore. In Fallout 3, you walk around an ugly, unpleasant, dreary world filled with barriers blocking your path to the spot on your map you're trying to reach. It's common once you get into the city to be close to a spot on your map only to be blocked by piles of rubble, forcing you to turn around and navigate maze-like tunnels and streets to find your location. The interface is ugly too, and the violence is so over the top that it actually detracts from the game. There's just unfortunately not a whole lot that is very enjoyable about this game. There have been countless times while playing it that I thought to myself, "This could have been so much better than it is." It's a dirty, unpleasant game that leaves me with a sour aftertaste. Expand
  45. JackJ.
    Nov 2, 2008
    9
    This is a great game. The visuals are good, and there is a huge environment to enjoy. Aside from the story, there are many other enemies and battles to engage in, and the missions are extensive. Definitely lives up to my expectations
  46. KristianR.
    Nov 3, 2008
    9
    Sure, it has a few bugs. Sure, it's like Oblivion (Why is that bad exactly?). I suppose it is possible to not like this game. But if you don't like it, you probably don't like video games much at all. Either that or you're lying to yourself and you secretly crave all that the Wasteland (TM) has to offer. And it offers a great deal.
  47. BrendanK
    Nov 3, 2008
    9
    Amazing, absolutely amazing. A lot of reviews say it isn't just Oblivion-with-guns but really, that is all it is... and that is excellent! Bethesda have done an excellent job recreating the Fallout world with a consistent aesthetic and style and tone and you wll lose hours just exploring the Wasteland before you remember you haven't even entered DC yet. The floaty animations are Amazing, absolutely amazing. A lot of reviews say it isn't just Oblivion-with-guns but really, that is all it is... and that is excellent! Bethesda have done an excellent job recreating the Fallout world with a consistent aesthetic and style and tone and you wll lose hours just exploring the Wasteland before you remember you haven't even entered DC yet. The floaty animations are dissapointing but tolerable, in my opinion. Expand
  48. GD
    Nov 6, 2008
    9
    I've been playing RPGs since Ultima 1, and this is certainly on par with the quality of Oblivion, with all the humor, storyline, combat, development, and history of a Fallout game. Don't let anyone tell you this is "oblivion with new graphics," because they're not right. So much stuff to do and see, and it's completely wide open. Anecdotally, each of my 4 friends I've been playing RPGs since Ultima 1, and this is certainly on par with the quality of Oblivion, with all the humor, storyline, combat, development, and history of a Fallout game. Don't let anyone tell you this is "oblivion with new graphics," because they're not right. So much stuff to do and see, and it's completely wide open. Anecdotally, each of my 4 friends playing exited the first Vault in different ways than I did... there's no 'correct' way to do things. Apart from some minor glitches, this game is a must have for any Fallout or RPG fan. You won't be disappointed. Expand
  49. AndrewD.
    Nov 6, 2008
    10
    This game was something I had been waiting for a long time. I had loved Oblivion to death, and once i played this, I saw a striking similarity in a different setting. VATS is an awesome addition to combat and the part of conserving ammo and food puts you on the edge all the time. If you enjoyed Oblivion, I would highly recommend you give this game a try.
  50. AnonymousMC
    Nov 6, 2008
    10
    Such a fine game deserves all the praise and attention it's getting. I've never played a game more realistic, more immersive, more epic. The story is engaging and clever, the AI is so real you feel like you actually are transported into this wasteland.

    The fantastic story unfolds all around you, as the brilliant world is brought to life with beautiful graphics and a well
    Such a fine game deserves all the praise and attention it's getting. I've never played a game more realistic, more immersive, more epic. The story is engaging and clever, the AI is so real you feel like you actually are transported into this wasteland.

    The fantastic story unfolds all around you, as the brilliant world is brought to life with beautiful graphics and a well thought out and detailed combat system.
    One thing's for sure, there has never been an RPG quite like this.
    Expand
  51. KevinS.
    Nov 7, 2008
    7
    Not a bad game, just not great. Definitely not a real fallout game. Combat is pretty fun, but this game fails at everything else. The story is terrible. The atmosphere is good, until you actually talk to an npc. The wasteland areas are good, if a little repetitive, but everything else is bad. The NPCs seem horribly out place, their dialogue does not really match the grim surroundings Not a bad game, just not great. Definitely not a real fallout game. Combat is pretty fun, but this game fails at everything else. The story is terrible. The atmosphere is good, until you actually talk to an npc. The wasteland areas are good, if a little repetitive, but everything else is bad. The NPCs seem horribly out place, their dialogue does not really match the grim surroundings outside. All references to old fallout games feel forced and really miss what made the old games so awesome. All of the RPG elements are extremely shallow. Many of the skills are just down right useless, and it often feels like there is no real character growth. Sure you gain perks every level, but none of them really change the way your character will play out. (a good portion of them are just bonuses to skills) I've heard that increasing your skill in a weapon type increases the damage it does, but I can't really tell. As far as I know it only increases your accuracy in VATS. Also there really are very little consequences to any of your actions. There are a few points scattered throughout the game but they are fairly obvious. Your dialogue options end up being either, "I'm a good guy, I'm the guardian of the wastes!" or "I'm an evil dude, I'm going to kick some puppies!" I guess this game tried to be more sand box like, but all of the things you are supposed to do instead of the main quest are just irritating. In return the main quest is incredibly short. According to steam I beat it in 4.2 hours on my first time through. Expand
  52. JorgeM.
    Nov 8, 2008
    10
    Awesome game. The story is great and there's lots of side quests and other things to do. Yes, it feels a lot like Oblivion, but the first time you decapitate a mutant with your rifle you will realize you are not in Cyrodil anymore. Your choices have real consequences and the world is huge. I highly recommend it.
  53. Daz
    Oct 19, 2008
    8
    No doubt a good game but just not for me. Very similar to oblivion in the way you travel around and have to interact with others. Much darker than Oblivion though. The menu interface is quite neat and the look of it reminds me of bioshock as it looks very 1940s/1950s. I've only played for about 2 hours to get out of the vault though megatron and to the radio base. will probably give No doubt a good game but just not for me. Very similar to oblivion in the way you travel around and have to interact with others. Much darker than Oblivion though. The menu interface is quite neat and the look of it reminds me of bioshock as it looks very 1940s/1950s. I've only played for about 2 hours to get out of the vault though megatron and to the radio base. will probably give it a bit longer and see if it really appeals before selling it if it doesn't grip me more. I should add though, if you like oblivion and want a similar game this is for you. Expand
  54. RickA.
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    The reviewer from GamePro got it right, quite easily the best RPG on the console to date. Ive been gaming for 27years, so ive pretty much played them all - the greats that is, and this massive gem from Bethesda easily falls into my all time fave games list. Fallout3 is so impressive, immersive, atmospheric and downright massive that its up there with the likes of Resident Evil, Tomb The reviewer from GamePro got it right, quite easily the best RPG on the console to date. Ive been gaming for 27years, so ive pretty much played them all - the greats that is, and this massive gem from Bethesda easily falls into my all time fave games list. Fallout3 is so impressive, immersive, atmospheric and downright massive that its up there with the likes of Resident Evil, Tomb Raider, Half-Life, Final Fantaty or Halo as a single player gaming experience you dont want to miss. You can burn through the main story in 20hrs, however thats not the real experience. Ive just clocked 100hrs exploring the 150+ locations around the map, each one with its own different theme, history, monsters, hidden goodies & feel - that you never know what to expect, the variety being the rewards for your efforts. Ive played many RPG games where the off story locations feel just that. Not so with this beautiful game - and there in lies Fallout3's irresistable charm. Easily the front-runner for the 2008 G.O.T.Y - Expand
  55. DavidM.
    Nov 9, 2008
    9
    Besides some annoying glitches (stopped F3 from getting a 10) this is the most fun I've had with a game in recent memory. For those attempting to make the choice between Fable 2 and Fallout 3 I would certainly suggest both, but F3 is far better in my opinion. PROS: Deep role playing elements, serviceable shooter controls, interesting story, theme and atmosphere, excellent graphics Besides some annoying glitches (stopped F3 from getting a 10) this is the most fun I've had with a game in recent memory. For those attempting to make the choice between Fable 2 and Fallout 3 I would certainly suggest both, but F3 is far better in my opinion. PROS: Deep role playing elements, serviceable shooter controls, interesting story, theme and atmosphere, excellent graphics (It ISN'T supposed to be bright and sunny like Oblivion folks, stop saying it looks dreary like it's a bad thing, it's fracking supposed to.) CONS: Glitches, fighting without V.A.T.S. is like pulling teeth sometimes, dialogue is a little sketchy occasionally, combat A.I. is better (than Oblivion) but overall NPC A.I. seems janky. Expand
  56. JakeL.
    Dec 13, 2008
    8
    It's fun, but I'm disappointed because Oblivion was so much better.Fallout3's story was much to short.Oblivion had loads of side quests,while F3 barely had enough to satisfy me. Bethesda focused to much on graphics than playability.
  57. NeilK.
    Dec 23, 2008
    10
    This game is so engaging for such a long period of time. The vast wasteland gives the player an endless array of enemies and new terrains to discover. With one of the most in depth stories since Bethesda's last offer, Elder Scrolls IV Oblivion, Fallout 3 brings you all the fun of Oblivion with guns. The game clearly will be lacking the magical element of Oblivion but the freedom This game is so engaging for such a long period of time. The vast wasteland gives the player an endless array of enemies and new terrains to discover. With one of the most in depth stories since Bethesda's last offer, Elder Scrolls IV Oblivion, Fallout 3 brings you all the fun of Oblivion with guns. The game clearly will be lacking the magical element of Oblivion but the freedom given to the creators in building creatures is endless. With mutants and wild animals alike strolling around this 13 square mile wasteland is dangerous. With some of the highlights being, running through the deadly Deathclaw Sanctuary and making my way through the super mutant infested capitol, and of course who could forget the communist hating robot Liberty Prime. With brilliant voice acting from Liam Neeson and Malcolm McDowell and brilliant weapons like the Fat Man, Fallout 3's creative futuristic post-apocalyptic wasteland is vastly in depth with things to do and people to meet. Expand
  58. ClaudeBaldwin
    Dec 23, 2008
    9
    This game is by far the greatest, single-most, awesomeness game to grace the genre of RPG in a LONG time. It is by far surpassing of Fable 2 or any other game that you think could live up to Fallout 3. Bethesda went ALL out on this game. 60+ hours of gameplay for 60 dollars. Definite buy for any RPG fan.
  59. choddo
    Dec 29, 2008
    9
    Outstanding, atmospheric. You have to buy in to the story (which I did and then some) in order to make the scavenging feel worthwhile and the morose scenery really resonates if you're prepared to suspend disbelief that you're wandering around a post-nuclear wasteland. I tired of Oblivion after an hour but this has me hooked.
  60. JosephA.
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    The game captures the post-apocalyptic scarcity, desperation, and freedom of the original two masterpieces and takes advantage of all the great things Oblivion offered. Most enjoyable game I have played this year thus far, and I've played nearly all of them.
  61. ShaneB
    Oct 28, 2008
    10
    While this game does have a few minor flaws the overall play and concept are rock solid it touches on lots of aspects and there is no single action in the game that is overly painful or monotonous from the combat to even the mini-games that run when you attempt skills such as lockpick. This game is, without a doubt, a ten out of ten.
  62. MarcB.
    Oct 31, 2008
    9
    Exactly what I've been waiting for. If you enjoy western RPG's, you won't want to miss it. Very reminiscent of Oblivion, of course, but F3's VATS system is much more engaging than Oblivion's combat or casting. Interesting theme, amazing locations, addictive questing. I only deduct a point because (despite what others are writing) I find myself a little Exactly what I've been waiting for. If you enjoy western RPG's, you won't want to miss it. Very reminiscent of Oblivion, of course, but F3's VATS system is much more engaging than Oblivion's combat or casting. Interesting theme, amazing locations, addictive questing. I only deduct a point because (despite what others are writing) I find myself a little disappointed with the graphics. They are breathtaking... occasionally... but at other times downright retro (and not in the intentional sense.) Either way - fun! Expand
  63. EricW
    Oct 31, 2008
    9
    Bethesda did a great job making the word feel like Fallout. It doesn't have the "magic" that the Black Isle games did, but they've paid tribute to the first two games and brought the series into the new generation. I'll be looking forward to more Fallout games from Bethesda.
  64. J.S.
    Oct 11, 2009
    9
    An epic game with lots of content and atmosphere. There's plenty of intrigue and mystery to go around. But the magic does where off relatively fast, when you realise how you're virtually invincible after a certain point and the mechanism behind exploring. The combat is decent, but sometimes a bit stiff. You really feel like you're there while playing it, trying to survive. An epic game with lots of content and atmosphere. There's plenty of intrigue and mystery to go around. But the magic does where off relatively fast, when you realise how you're virtually invincible after a certain point and the mechanism behind exploring. The combat is decent, but sometimes a bit stiff. You really feel like you're there while playing it, trying to survive. Stumbling onto an old ruined building and exploring it is always cool, finding some mutated zombies in the basement is always a plus. How cool this game is will stick with me, and I'll remember a lot of the expiriences I had. Maybe I wouldn't buy it on console though; these types of games have more replay value on PC. Expand
  65. JimP
    Jan 16, 2009
    9
    Fallout 3 was certainly a new twist on the classic series. Gone is the turn-based combat system and in comes the real-time, V.A.T.S. combat. It does a good job incorporating little things from previous titles that players of the originals would recognize. The wasteland atmosphere is done very well, but the black, brown, and gray atmosphere gets really repetitive after a while and you wish Fallout 3 was certainly a new twist on the classic series. Gone is the turn-based combat system and in comes the real-time, V.A.T.S. combat. It does a good job incorporating little things from previous titles that players of the originals would recognize. The wasteland atmosphere is done very well, but the black, brown, and gray atmosphere gets really repetitive after a while and you wish you were looking at the lush, green forests of Oblivion. But Bethesda did a great job in creating a "post-Apocalyptia" atmosphere. Overall, the game is a joy to play. It gives you plenty of options to try and there are tons of sidequests to tackle. If you don't believe me, go pick up the strategy guide, it's over an inch thick and the map included has dots all over the place which mark places to go and explore. While the old Fallout games ended after the story was completed, I was kind of hoping that Bethesda would drop that and allow for a more Oblivion-esque feel and allow you to play the sidequests you didn't complete and explore the Wasteland some more, but unfortunately, it didn't. That was my sole complaint with the game. Had there been a post-main storyline ability to play, I would have given the game a 10. Expand
  66. BrandonO
    Oct 16, 2009
    9
    This game just blew me away. From its amazing graphics to the awsome AI's. this is a game that almost any gamer needs. it is very good from how the enviorment changes as you move along and how everyone has a different veiw of life that you can help or somewhat change. This is not like anyother good vrs evil game its a game to chose who you follow or who follows you. u choose the path This game just blew me away. From its amazing graphics to the awsome AI's. this is a game that almost any gamer needs. it is very good from how the enviorment changes as you move along and how everyone has a different veiw of life that you can help or somewhat change. This is not like anyother good vrs evil game its a game to chose who you follow or who follows you. u choose the path for yourself and the world. Expand
  67. TonyG
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Honestly anyone who gave this game lower than a 9 is clearly slightly autistic and probably shouldent even own a next gen system... this game is almost perfectly made there are few glitches and lets be serious what game is 100% perfect... every game has glitches so dont bash this game for the few it has. This is one of the most in-depth games you will ever play and theres a reason why its Honestly anyone who gave this game lower than a 9 is clearly slightly autistic and probably shouldent even own a next gen system... this game is almost perfectly made there are few glitches and lets be serious what game is 100% perfect... every game has glitches so dont bash this game for the few it has. This is one of the most in-depth games you will ever play and theres a reason why its game of the year. Playing this game for 3 hours will serve the game no justice, so if you played for 3 hours and gave this game a bad review you should just sell your system cause your probably a moron. Anyone who gets this game will most likely end up never wanting to put it down.. Obviously if you buy this game and try to compare it to COD or Halo you should be shot since its not an FPS. Then again, this game isn't for everyone but that doesn't mean you give it a bad review just because its not for you. All in all this game is amazing and everyone i have recommended it too hasn't been able to sleep without thinking about it. Expand
  68. JohnT
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    I took some time to go through the bad reviews for this game since i was curious to see what sort of stupid reasons people had to give this game bad reviews, just to give an example of one, "Fred F. gave it a 0: This is a crap game on the XBOX as I have had nothing but problems with it either hanging or rebooting the console. Tried it back at the store and it works fine so they will not I took some time to go through the bad reviews for this game since i was curious to see what sort of stupid reasons people had to give this game bad reviews, just to give an example of one, "Fred F. gave it a 0: This is a crap game on the XBOX as I have had nothing but problems with it either hanging or rebooting the console. Tried it back at the store and it works fine so they will not refund. It may be my XBOX playing up again. My mate has it on his PS3 and he loves it. My warranty has run out on my XBOX so I will not be able to get it fixed again. Might be time to bin it and get a PS3 or a Wii." Okay.. Fred you just acknowledged the fact that your xbox is the problem and you gave the game a 0, what the hell is wrong with you? there are plenty of other stupid bad ratings that make no sense, all a bunch of retards that have nothing better to do than find and "create" every little flaw with a game they possibly can. This game is incredible and i think most normal people will spend plenty of time playing this game. This game will always be a 10 in my book, but dont take it from me, just go through and read the bad comments left for this game and you'll realize that there is so much more good stuff to say about this game than bad. Expand
  69. StevenP
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    Brilliant. Enjoyed every last bit of it. Best game in my opnion on the 360. Not terrific graphics but good and it captures the feeling of post nuclear war and isolation very well. Although I finally have the 1000 gamerpoints there remains much to see and do - the replay value is high. It is quite rough around the edges with respect to NPC's, scenery and storyline glitches but Brilliant. Enjoyed every last bit of it. Best game in my opnion on the 360. Not terrific graphics but good and it captures the feeling of post nuclear war and isolation very well. Although I finally have the 1000 gamerpoints there remains much to see and do - the replay value is high. It is quite rough around the edges with respect to NPC's, scenery and storyline glitches but considering its such an epic and ambitious game it isnt so bad. It is a game best played slowly - if you rush through to the finish much of the game will be lost. Its not a Halo type boom-fest so some will lose patience after the slow start. Expand
  70. MarkB
    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    Near as perfect as a gaming experience can be. Oblivion is similar, however Fallout 3 has that 'real' feel about it, which I particularly prefer. The feeling upon walking down a road within the wastelands, with that slow atmospheric melody, the sun setting as the road glistens, you feel a sense of lonliness, isolation and being cut-off, feeling like you have to find your way in Near as perfect as a gaming experience can be. Oblivion is similar, however Fallout 3 has that 'real' feel about it, which I particularly prefer. The feeling upon walking down a road within the wastelands, with that slow atmospheric melody, the sun setting as the road glistens, you feel a sense of lonliness, isolation and being cut-off, feeling like you have to find your way in any way you see fit. Few games can match this type of realism, scale, and sense of emotion. This may not be for everyone, but for the people that feel these things, and others, this is surely the best experience a game can give in so many different instances. Expand
  71. richardl
    Jan 30, 2009
    8
    I personally love this game. The story line is great and the gun are fun to use, but my biggest problem is how unlike oblivion you are not able to continue the game after you beat the last mission. other then that the game is good, just don't skip through the story line like i did the first time or the game will get boring because of how fast you beat it.
  72. JeffD
    Feb 3, 2009
    7
    I played the original Fallouts. Heck, I played the CGA game Fallout was based on back in the 80s. They were all classics: well-written, atmospheric, and they just gelled well. Unlike most diehard Fallout fans though, I also thought Oblivion was a masterpiece, albeit for different reasons: huge and beautiful gameworld, lots of options, lots of fun stuff to do just tinkering around in the I played the original Fallouts. Heck, I played the CGA game Fallout was based on back in the 80s. They were all classics: well-written, atmospheric, and they just gelled well. Unlike most diehard Fallout fans though, I also thought Oblivion was a masterpiece, albeit for different reasons: huge and beautiful gameworld, lots of options, lots of fun stuff to do just tinkering around in the sandbox. For my money, Fallout 3 is weaker than either the original two Fallout games or Oblivion. It really is pretty much "Oblivion with guns", which I would have been fine with, except a lot of what made Oblivion so enjoyable is missing here. You can explore all you want, but real, meaningful choice is very nearly as absent in this game as it was in Bioshock. There is only one way for the main story to proceed -- there are console-style artificial barriers placed at key moments in the story to prevent you from disrupting the narrative. Furthermore, in the original Fallouts, you could play as a diplomat OR a hacker OR a gambler or whatnot -- there were almost always meaningful *alternatives* to shooting. In this Fallout, you have to have Small Guns AND Repair AND Science AND Lockpicking to get anywhere -- they aren't alternatives, they're all mandatory -- and usually there is only one way to handle a problem. The primary radio station just sounds like a broken record. VATS isn't a turn-based alternative to real-time combat, it's just like a "special attack" system to add targeted shots onto FPS combat (if you use only VATs, you'll only get to shoot about half as frequently as if you alternate between FPS (while your APs charge) & VATS. Etc. In summary, lots of problems here. Be that as it may, expectations were pretty insane for most people, and resurrecting a classic franchise is dangerous business, and for a first effort at a Fallout game, I think Bethesda did OK. Not great, not awful. The game does have its moments, no question, and I'm optimistic that with another iteration, Bethesda's Fallout will become more polished and (importantly) differentiated from Oblivion and take on character of its own. Worth playing, but don't get your hopes up too high. Expand
  73. NicholasBlatsos
    Feb 4, 2009
    10
    One of the best games i have ever played. It is mostly true to the old games, sharing the same feel of the wasteland. It has trimmed some of the old features, and invented new ones. The V.A.T.S. aiming system is as entertaining to use the millionth time as the first. The variety, size and replayability of Fallout 3 will ensure entertainment for possibly hundreds of hours.

    -Nick B.
  74. KevinJ
    Jun 25, 2009
    8
    This is one of the few game where you actually get your $60 worth. A huge map, great graphics and very interactive gameplay make it a great buy. While I can see how the many side quests and VATS combat system isn't everyone idea of fun, anyone who gives this game under a 4 is crazy.
  75. Jon
    Jun 9, 2009
    9
    Once you get past some of the more annoying glitches and game freezing, this is one of the best RPG's ever made. At first it can take a little bit to get used to the VATS system, but after an hour or so you'll be enjoying nearly every moment of the game.
  76. Frank
    Jul 4, 2009
    10
    Variety of play and diverse characters need more games like this one. I've had enough of same old shoot'em up crap. Lets hope Bethesda ( or other ) creates another similar or Fallout game.
  77. Connor
    Jul 9, 2009
    10
    Some people are completely idiots about this game. THIS IS NOT A SHOOTER!!!. this is an RPG! people are giving it bad ratings because the fighting doesn't compare to COD. the fighting is only a quarter of what this game really is. there is so much in this game that people who hate this game don't see that because there stupid. trust me people, if you love rpgs and/or oblivion, Some people are completely idiots about this game. THIS IS NOT A SHOOTER!!!. this is an RPG! people are giving it bad ratings because the fighting doesn't compare to COD. the fighting is only a quarter of what this game really is. there is so much in this game that people who hate this game don't see that because there stupid. trust me people, if you love rpgs and/or oblivion, BUY THIS GAME! Expand
  78. MatthewMaltby
    Aug 17, 2009
    10
    Dude, I shed tears of joy and extreme happiness when I play this game! Aside from HALO It is my all time favorite. I can't even go into breaking it down and listing it's attributes. Everything in it is just completely awesome. I wouldn't even know where to begin. Just rest assured that once you start you will be completely hooked. Did i just say hooked? I mean flippin'Dude, I shed tears of joy and extreme happiness when I play this game! Aside from HALO It is my all time favorite. I can't even go into breaking it down and listing it's attributes. Everything in it is just completely awesome. I wouldn't even know where to begin. Just rest assured that once you start you will be completely hooked. Did i just say hooked? I mean flippin' ADDICTED!!!! Expand
  79. Arthur
    Aug 18, 2009
    7
    A very entertaining game. I had fun playing it. I am sure I would have scored it higher except that I spent much time on side quests, getting to level 20 (max) before getting very far with the story. What a disappointment when I found out you can't level up from 20. I kind of felt that my time was somewhat wasted and it killed the game for me. Don't do what I did, focus moreA very entertaining game. I had fun playing it. I am sure I would have scored it higher except that I spent much time on side quests, getting to level 20 (max) before getting very far with the story. What a disappointment when I found out you can't level up from 20. I kind of felt that my time was somewhat wasted and it killed the game for me. Don't do what I did, focus more on the main story, you will have more fun! Expand
  80. AsianSensation
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    This game was simply amazing. I played Bioshock, Halo 3, REd Faction Guerilla, and Left 4 Dead, and Fallout 3 is by far the best game I have ever played. I only own 2 games, out of the 15 I have played and beaten. Left 4 Dead was my first purchased and kept game, and Fallout 3 was my second. Once I played Fallout 3, i could not put down the controller. The game sucked me into a world ofThis game was simply amazing. I played Bioshock, Halo 3, REd Faction Guerilla, and Left 4 Dead, and Fallout 3 is by far the best game I have ever played. I only own 2 games, out of the 15 I have played and beaten. Left 4 Dead was my first purchased and kept game, and Fallout 3 was my second. Once I played Fallout 3, i could not put down the controller. The game sucked me into a world of chaos and wonder, and had me keep going to explore new places, events, and more. This game has to be the best game I have ever played. Expand
  81. EdwardKotarski
    Sep 29, 2009
    10
    When I first got oblivion I fell in love, I would spend hundreds of hours making my character perfect. The one problem with oblivion was if you changed the difficulty the only difference was the damage ratio between you and your enemies. On fallout you CAN kill hard characters, not by just hitting them over and over again, because of the skill and leveling systems you can win with skill.When I first got oblivion I fell in love, I would spend hundreds of hours making my character perfect. The one problem with oblivion was if you changed the difficulty the only difference was the damage ratio between you and your enemies. On fallout you CAN kill hard characters, not by just hitting them over and over again, because of the skill and leveling systems you can win with skill. 10/10 but it still deserves more. Expand
  82. HarveyB
    Jan 13, 2010
    7
    Fallout 3 is a good game but certainly not the great game people are claiming it to be. For the most part, the story is average, not in the leagues of Mass Effect and Half-life 2. But it does not border on pretentious either. The gameplay is a mixed bag, part of it is the great V.A.T.S system that Bethesda incorporated which is simply brilliant. the other is the very poor shooting Fallout 3 is a good game but certainly not the great game people are claiming it to be. For the most part, the story is average, not in the leagues of Mass Effect and Half-life 2. But it does not border on pretentious either. The gameplay is a mixed bag, part of it is the great V.A.T.S system that Bethesda incorporated which is simply brilliant. the other is the very poor shooting mechanics when not using the V.A.T.S system. The shooting controls are sticky and unresponsive. As far as the graphics go, they are impressive for a open world game. The dialogue is smart and funny at times, although when it comes to making decisions it wont matter which one you pick as the story wont be strong enough to make you care. on a positive note however, this game will keep you occupied searching every place in the wasteland for valuables and weapons. Expand
  83. Beto
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    The best game of 2008. The combat system could be improved, but it was much better than Mass Effect's. I can't name another Xbox single player that I've played that compares to this experience.
  84. TheDude
    Jan 31, 2010
    10
    Truly awesome game. My favorite RPG since the original KOTOR. I've seen some reviewers upset because the combat isn't Halo. If you want an action shooter, play Halo or COD. This is an RPG. It's about the story, the choices you can make, and the immersion into it's world and getting to decide what your character is like and how they will interact with those they come in Truly awesome game. My favorite RPG since the original KOTOR. I've seen some reviewers upset because the combat isn't Halo. If you want an action shooter, play Halo or COD. This is an RPG. It's about the story, the choices you can make, and the immersion into it's world and getting to decide what your character is like and how they will interact with those they come in contact with. The best thing I can say about the combat is what I can't say about every other RPG I've played since KOTOR; the combat doesn't detract from the game. With Jade Empire or Mass Effect, I thought the combat was so lame and such a pain in the butt(Dragon Age, too) that I couldn't wait for it to end every time it popped up in the game. With this game, the combat is certainly not a selling point, or a reason in itself to play it, but it doesn't detract from the experience either. You can choose between the turn based, traditional RPG method in VATS mode and target individual body parts and watch some cool gratuitous slow-mo gore as you attack your opponents, or you can just try to aim the cross-hairs and pull the trigger as fast as possible. Both can be effective depending on the situation. I haven't felt so fully immersed in a games' world in, well, maybe never. The game also has an awesome dark, dry sense of humor going on, both in the dialogue and in some of the ridiculously over-the-top things you can do in the crazy lawless post-nuclear apocalypse setting. I've played it for over 60 hours and I'm still not finished with my initial play-through, let alone the 5 expansions included on the second disc of the game of the year edition, so the amount of bang for your buck you can get is unbelievable for a one-player game. I've heard that you can rush through the game if you focus on the main quest, but I've spent my time searching and exploring the world. I've barely even scratched the surface of the main quest. My only gripe about this awesome game would be the amount of time that one spends looting and searching through rooms and boxes. It really does account for probably 60% of my gametime, if not more when I add in all the time I spend on inventory management, but I can pretty much sum up what makes this game so great like this: I have yet to sit and play for 3-4 hours and not stumble upon something awesome, whether its a ridiculous settlement, plot-line, new ability, weapon, etc. Sure, I can spend an hour or two wandering aimlessly, but in the end it always seems to pay-off. A super cool game, not for everyone, but one that most RPG fans, especially ones with a little bit of a dark sense of humor and an appreciation for the odd and the absurd, will probably love. Expand
  85. PeterL.
    Nov 11, 2008
    10
    This Game doesent only live up to the hype it build up since Bethesda previously created Oblivion it Blows up the hype it is just an incredible experience. So many choices every little thing you do will come back to help or haunt you. Either finding a dog to assist you in the wasteland or finding secret weapons that will own the bigger guys... If you have a choice between fable 2 and this This Game doesent only live up to the hype it build up since Bethesda previously created Oblivion it Blows up the hype it is just an incredible experience. So many choices every little thing you do will come back to help or haunt you. Either finding a dog to assist you in the wasteland or finding secret weapons that will own the bigger guys... If you have a choice between fable 2 and this masterpiece. it is Fallout 3. Now before you go praising gears of war 2 like it is a epic masterpiece just put it next to fallout 3 and it is an absolute Failure. Go get this game right now.. - The Broken Gamer Expand
  86. GregM
    Nov 11, 2008
    10
    I have a feeling a lot of the idiots on this board scoring this game low were against it from the very beginning, and it might've been hand-delivered from God (or whomever you want) and they still would treat it like used toilet paper. I've been playing Fallout since it came out in 1998. I've been playing games since Zork. This game is incredibly immersive. It is not I have a feeling a lot of the idiots on this board scoring this game low were against it from the very beginning, and it might've been hand-delivered from God (or whomever you want) and they still would treat it like used toilet paper. I've been playing Fallout since it came out in 1998. I've been playing games since Zork. This game is incredibly immersive. It is not without fault. But it exceeded my expectations, and it is the most fun I've had on the Xbox. Expand
  87. Tjthegamer
    Nov 11, 2008
    10
    A great game. Although not perfect (I don't consider any game "perfect") Fallout 3 offers an experiance unlike any other game in it's genre. The perk system is genius, The story is great, and the V.A.T.S. system comes together perfectly. It's near endless exploration and hours of side missions will have you playing it for weeks on end. Fallout 3 feels and plays like only A great game. Although not perfect (I don't consider any game "perfect") Fallout 3 offers an experiance unlike any other game in it's genre. The perk system is genius, The story is great, and the V.A.T.S. system comes together perfectly. It's near endless exploration and hours of side missions will have you playing it for weeks on end. Fallout 3 feels and plays like only one other game: The Legend of Zelda. Expand
  88. DenizY
    Nov 16, 2008
    10
    Probably the best game I've played so far, definitely the best game of the year. The graphics are superb, the world is expansive and incredibly detailed (you can literally see for miles...), story is so immersible, the gameplay is actually enjoyable, very enjoyable in fact (unlike Oblivion), the style and dialogue is very good, and the theme is so friggin awesome (yes it's Probably the best game I've played so far, definitely the best game of the year. The graphics are superb, the world is expansive and incredibly detailed (you can literally see for miles...), story is so immersible, the gameplay is actually enjoyable, very enjoyable in fact (unlike Oblivion), the style and dialogue is very good, and the theme is so friggin awesome (yes it's supposed to be dark, gloomy, and various shades of gray and brown, it's a post-apocalyptic world you idiots!) There's so much to do and not enough time to do it. I've been playing it for close to 30 hours, not close to finishing the game, and I'm still hungry for more. Expand
  89. HagenM.
    Nov 17, 2008
    10
    I went into Fallout 3 expecting the perfect game. I did not find a perfect game but I found the closest thing to a perfect game since The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. This game has so much depth and gameplay that if anyone was talking about depth and gameplay, Fallout 3 could be used as a reference. From the amazing plot line to the creative and addictive ecstasy that is VATS, and I went into Fallout 3 expecting the perfect game. I did not find a perfect game but I found the closest thing to a perfect game since The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. This game has so much depth and gameplay that if anyone was talking about depth and gameplay, Fallout 3 could be used as a reference. From the amazing plot line to the creative and addictive ecstasy that is VATS, and from the dialogue to the leveling system, this game has perfected nearly every aspect of an action RPG. The world may not be as massive as Oblivion, but it has so less wasted space. Nearly every inch of The Capitol Wasteland has some location, some vault, metrostation, or point of interst to explore. I beat the game 2 days after buying it, but spent the next 3 weeks playing the side quests., and I'm still exploring locations. The only flaws I found was that the game can be a little unimmerisve when the loading screens come up, and that the walking wasn't fixed from Oblivion. you still seem to slide around when in third-person. Fallout 3 is an experience in itself and if you consider yourself a fan of video-games, then you owe it to yourself to at least try this game. Expand
  90. WilliamM.
    Nov 17, 2008
    8
    Fallout 3 is without a doubt one of the most impressive games out period. It features good plot lines, weaponry, rpg elements, great graphics etc etc. If you want to read more positive comments see the metascore and all of the professional reviews. This game is not without its downsides, which are significantly played down by the professional reviewers. The creators of the game did not Fallout 3 is without a doubt one of the most impressive games out period. It features good plot lines, weaponry, rpg elements, great graphics etc etc. If you want to read more positive comments see the metascore and all of the professional reviews. This game is not without its downsides, which are significantly played down by the professional reviewers. The creators of the game did not use the scope of the game to their advantage; by that I mean there are only 31 achievement quests(including quests as part as the main story) while there is easily over 150 locations to explore. During the beginning hours, this may not become obvious; in the last hours, however, a player can see that this game seems almost half finished. It just seems that while DC is huge, the amount of things to do in it are limited. Another problem is the gunplay. Often, a player will find themselves wasting tons of ammo trying to kill a simple enemy because their guns are not particularly effective nor accurate outside of VATS. This leads to the player entering combat with VATS, only to hide until VATS fills back up so they can use it again. Fallout 3 has an utter lack of bosses. Bosses are arguably the heart of RPGs aside from the basics; the fact that this game ignored them makes it kind of awkward (especially no final boss). New game plus? Forget about it; once the game is over, it is over. Leveling up past 20? Forget about it; you max out at level 20. Any reason to put the game on very hard? No(no achievement; while you do get more experience points, you will max out before you finish the quests making the quests pointless). Any items that are just "cool" enough to go after a long quest for? No. You can make some and their are some special ones, but they aren't that great. On the plus side, this game will engross you for hours(it would take about 40 of them to complete the story and all the side quests). Expand
  91. EricT
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Corrected comments For anyone still looking to buy the game, here are a few Clarifications on the few low scores. "An incredibly dull game filled with bugs. I'm surprised that they've released it in the stage that it's in. It's poor animation, terrible models poor conversation/storyline and extremely bad lighting are just a few things that make this game painful to Corrected comments For anyone still looking to buy the game, here are a few Clarifications on the few low scores. "An incredibly dull game filled with bugs. I'm surprised that they've released it in the stage that it's in. It's poor animation, terrible models poor conversation/storyline and extremely bad lighting are just a few things that make this game painful to play." There are as many bugs in this game as in any other top notch game, few and far between. The animation is better than any other sandbox game, and the dialogue is much better than almost any other game that I have played "Simple, linear, unoriginal narrative." There are 25+ quests plus many side "requests" that can be done in the game, and only 3 of the quests are required, not linear at all. "Tactical combat has been removed." Just because the game isn't turn based doesn't mean it isn't tatical. Sure, you could stand in the open on easy difficulty and mow down enemies, or you could turn up the difficulty and use cover, stealth, and your allies. "In Fallout 3, you can shoot nuclear-powered cars with your nuclear catapult (early in the game...), in a town built around an unexploded nuclear bomb." Yes this is true, you can shoot a mini-nuke launcher. Before the war, cars had been powered by nuclear reactors, so for some strange reason, someone hadn't gone through the entire world and removed the engine from every car. There is a town around a dud nuclear bomb because it was dropped out of a plane from low orbit and still didn't detonate. It made an ideal crater for a town. "Much of the crowded (who would have thought nuclear winter would be so claustrophobic?) "wasteland" is sloppily and lazily copy-pasted from place to place." Nuclear winter has worn off during the 200+ years after the Great War. Just because there was a nuclear war doesn't mean that people will never be able to live on the surface. If the wasteland is really just copy-pasted from place to place, how come every building is different and the view from each hill is different. Also, look around you home, do any things look the same. I know that I see houses that look almost identical and cars which are identical every day. "Play first Fallout and Fallout2 ignoring the graphics and then play Fallout3.Only then you will realise how bad this game is.Most gaming sites have either no idea what they are talking about or have been paid well to write these ridiculous reviews." First of all, the game is almost completly different from Fallout and Fallout 2, so there is no way to compare them. Look at Warcraft and World of Warcraft. They are completly different games and there is no way to say which is better. The same is true for Fallout 3. "V.A.T.S. is an interesting concept but it should not take two point blank headshots to kill someone. Free aim is sloppy. The graphics look washed out even in high def and the skin tones are off. " First of all, in many games a headshot isn't a one hit kill. all Halo games, all COD games, all GTA games, Gears 1&2, all Perfect Dark games, all Bond games, Counter Strike, and many, many more. Free aim is only sloppy if you don't know how to use the two little stick things on your controller. The graphics are far better than any other sandbox games, and better than most scripted games. There is no way that skin tones can be off given the fact that every person's skin is a different color. Also, it is a radiation soaked world, and there is a very good chance that skin color could be affected, concidering the insane mutations occuring to other creatures. Expand
  92. NathanE
    Nov 2, 2008
    9
    This game is amazing. I don't know what Mike R's problem with it is, but the targeting system is actually useful as well as flexible and satisfying. You have a huge, realized open world to explore, tons of interesting characters to talk to and a plethora of ways to upgrade your character, all while trying to survive through the run down wastelands of a radiation stricken This game is amazing. I don't know what Mike R's problem with it is, but the targeting system is actually useful as well as flexible and satisfying. You have a huge, realized open world to explore, tons of interesting characters to talk to and a plethora of ways to upgrade your character, all while trying to survive through the run down wastelands of a radiation stricken Washington DC. If you like any of Bethesda's previous games like Oblivion, or even if you like the old Fallout games, don't hesitate to pick this one up. If you have the brain to actually manage your character within the game's nearly limitless rules, you will undoubtedly have a blast with Fallout 3. My only problem is that the main quest can be finished in around 10 hours without doing any side missions, but thank god the side missions are there. There's plenty of them to do and they tend to be more interesting than the main quest. Also, when going into this game don't expect it to be a shooter. This is a Western RPG through and through, and what a wonderful RPG it is. Expand
  93. ReeceS.
    Nov 24, 2008
    9
    Fallout 3 is close to being perfect, but I did find some elements of the game to be disappointing. The leveling up of the character is great, but ends far to quickly with a level 20 cap, and the environment is fairly bland, but there is not much of an alternative considering a nuclear war. Other than those two points the game is excellent. Dialogue options are plentiful, as well asFallout 3 is close to being perfect, but I did find some elements of the game to be disappointing. The leveling up of the character is great, but ends far to quickly with a level 20 cap, and the environment is fairly bland, but there is not much of an alternative considering a nuclear war. Other than those two points the game is excellent. Dialogue options are plentiful, as well as quests, and the combat system is easy to get into and enjoyable. Overall a great game. Expand
  94. KylerN
    Nov 26, 2008
    8
    There were lots of small glitches, but in the museums there was a huge glitch where the models would blind your screen which was an issue with the 360 cache, other than that it has solid gameplay and a little more enticing the the elder scroll series but i feel ripped off by how close it plays like them
  95. JohnC
    Nov 3, 2008
    9
    Fallout 3 is fantastic, if you like RPG's add this to your wish list. Its story structure and side plots are like Mass Effect but you can roam wider like in Oblivion. Combat is engaging and fun The graphics are good but a few of the motion animations are off center. Good plot line, plenty of sub quests, solid and enjoyable combat system, only a couple of very minor animation Fallout 3 is fantastic, if you like RPG's add this to your wish list. Its story structure and side plots are like Mass Effect but you can roam wider like in Oblivion. Combat is engaging and fun The graphics are good but a few of the motion animations are off center. Good plot line, plenty of sub quests, solid and enjoyable combat system, only a couple of very minor animation glitches, a great game, I am a big Fallout fan and I knew Bethesda would not drop the ball. Great stuff. Expand
  96. qoobah
    Nov 4, 2008
    7
    While the atmosphere and artistic direction of the game is exceptional, it seems that Bethesda refused to acknowledge what developments have been made in cRPG genre in recent years. The dialogue is plain abysmal when compared to a gem like Mass Effect, they are often too long or too short, depending on situation, and the fact that the main character never utters a word doesn't help. While the atmosphere and artistic direction of the game is exceptional, it seems that Bethesda refused to acknowledge what developments have been made in cRPG genre in recent years. The dialogue is plain abysmal when compared to a gem like Mass Effect, they are often too long or too short, depending on situation, and the fact that the main character never utters a word doesn't help. Facial expressions are virtually nonexistant, and the fact that the world "freezes" when you talk to someone is a giant dent in immersion. Also, one on one dialoges often feel stiff. Oblivion with guns? Very much so, for better or worse. Personally I favour tightly knit and involving story to sandbox game experience, and that might be part of the reason why Fallout 3 didn't quite suit me, but that aside, there are some issues that I have with the game regardless. The above mentioned dialogue system is one thing, but there is quite a lot of bugs and glitches around the world that make exploring it even more painfull. In general, if the dialogue and character intaraction have been given the same amout of care as the world creation and artistic direction, this could have been a real gem. But with Bethesda staying fixed on their game design idea refusing to adapt acknowledged improvements made by other games, this is "only" an enjoyable title. Expand
  97. SteveK.
    Nov 6, 2008
    7
    I've been a gamer for nearly 20 years and would say that video games are my favorite pastime. So i was really excited when my copy finally arrived. But the introductory sequence was a first disappointment and a good primer of what to expect from the rest of the game. The graphics, especially inanimate objects, are really good and this and the excellent art direction are the main I've been a gamer for nearly 20 years and would say that video games are my favorite pastime. So i was really excited when my copy finally arrived. But the introductory sequence was a first disappointment and a good primer of what to expect from the rest of the game. The graphics, especially inanimate objects, are really good and this and the excellent art direction are the main sources of atmosphere in the game. Rivet City, the barren wastelands, Megaton...awesome. But in regard to animation the game is mediocre at best. The 3rd person view looks downright ridiculous. The facial expressions of NPCs are a joke. They look like puppets. Even such oldies like No One Lives Forever with like 10 polygons per face had better animation and more charisma to their characters. Another flaw is imho the writing (both dialog and characterization) which fluctuates greatly in terms of quality over the course of the game and is seldom great, often barely okay and sometimes just bad. Often one is under the impression that Bethesda tried too hard sometimes. Most characters remain one-dimensional and only a few examples of the humour are good examples. Same goes for the quest design. Some are really good, but especially the main quest and the god-awful ending are real bummers. Not only that, but the tradition of the fallout series to show the consequences of the choices that you made in the past is reduced almost beyond recognition. The VATS combat system mostly works but you can not turn off the slow motion death cam (gets really annoying) and the real-time combat between the VATS phases is lackluster at best and totally inferior to 'real' shooter games. The classical soundtrack is, aside from the brooding main theme, utterly forgettable but you can turn on the radio and listen to pre-50s pop songs while travelling the wastes. Great, but needs more songs imho (i believe there is a music folder to put your own tracks in). So writing, story, animation, characters and combat are less than stellar but in terms of postapocalyptic atmosphere this game is up there in atmosphere heaven together with (also flawed) gems like the two STALKERs. It's good fun but not the exceptional achievement most 'professional' reviews make it out to be. Surely, it has exceptional ambition, but the execution is somewhat lacking. A classic case of an hyped up gaming press imho Expand
  98. JasonF
    Nov 6, 2008
    10
    This game has a ton to offer you. A cool story and an immense world to delve into and a character that can be whatever you want. You can lug around giant guns and sport badass armor, or play as a sneaky thief who likes setting land mines. There is so much to do and see in this game. Just when you think you have seen it all you stumble on another hidden gem. If you own a 360 then you have This game has a ton to offer you. A cool story and an immense world to delve into and a character that can be whatever you want. You can lug around giant guns and sport badass armor, or play as a sneaky thief who likes setting land mines. There is so much to do and see in this game. Just when you think you have seen it all you stumble on another hidden gem. If you own a 360 then you have to own this game. Expand
  99. NatH.
    Nov 6, 2008
    7
    While technically a great game overall in spite of its many small bugs and glitches, Fallout 3 does nothing to offer the intelligence and complexity of its predecessors. Fans of the original two games may remember them as thoughtful and thought inspiring, with good writing and quests that often forced the player to make tough ethical decisions with true consequences and no right or wrong While technically a great game overall in spite of its many small bugs and glitches, Fallout 3 does nothing to offer the intelligence and complexity of its predecessors. Fans of the original two games may remember them as thoughtful and thought inspiring, with good writing and quests that often forced the player to make tough ethical decisions with true consequences and no right or wrong answer. Fallout 3 has practically none of the things that made the other games so great. In pure looks and aesthetics it does wonderfully as an heir to the Fallout title, but it is up to you to decide what you expect from games and wether or not this one can live up to those expectations. If you want an expansive, open sandbox world full of dolls to play dress up with, you will love this game. If you were looking for a game that will make you think, look elsewhere. Expand
  100. AlexQ
    Dec 12, 2008
    9
    Ryencoke , spare us your vitriol. If you didn't like Oblivion or Morrowind, maybe you should have the good judgement to realise that you just dont like the RPG genre, at all. and you should stick playing games more in your league. It goes without saying that this is one of the greatest and most absorbing RPGs ever. It's setting is unique, and affecting, its quests are deep and Ryencoke , spare us your vitriol. If you didn't like Oblivion or Morrowind, maybe you should have the good judgement to realise that you just dont like the RPG genre, at all. and you should stick playing games more in your league. It goes without saying that this is one of the greatest and most absorbing RPGs ever. It's setting is unique, and affecting, its quests are deep and entertaining , and the wealth of CHOICE available is completely mind boggling. On the minus - poor ending - Forgiving difficulty curve ( even on very difficult the game feels overly easy ) - Ocassional crashes , glitches, and i experienced a save game corruption though it may have been due to usermods. Expand
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 84 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 84
  2. Negative: 0 out of 84
  1. Fallout 3 is an experience in itself, and while it may not offer as much replay value as Oblivion, it’s so much more then an “Oblivion with guns”.
  2. 90
    From the hollow wind blowing down through subway tunnels, to the radioactive dust clouds swirling throughout the wasteland, up to the buzzards circling the encampment where the bodies of 30 slave traders lie; Fallout 3 is as much a game as it is a training sim for the coming apocalypse.
  3. In fact, Fallout 3 is leaner and meaner than Bethesda's previous efforts, less expansive but more intense, while still offering immense replay value and quite a few thrills along the way.