Fallout 3 Xbox 360

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1698 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 4, 2011
    10
    Fallout 3 is one of the best experiences I have ever had with a video game, the graphics are AMAZING and still highly impressive even by todays standards, voice acting is top notch, and sound effects and music are outstanding, the quests are amazing, this game has stolen over 200 hours of my life and I still want more, my only complaints are that it has some bugs and glitches, but in theFallout 3 is one of the best experiences I have ever had with a video game, the graphics are AMAZING and still highly impressive even by todays standards, voice acting is top notch, and sound effects and music are outstanding, the quests are amazing, this game has stolen over 200 hours of my life and I still want more, my only complaints are that it has some bugs and glitches, but in the end they don't hinder the experience at all, I highly recommend this game to any and all gamers, it is an adventure that must be experienced by everyone. Expand
  2. Jan 31, 2013
    9
    Following the global atomic war of 2077 the US has been all but destroyed. Within one of many underground bunkers built to keep citizens safe however the residents still enjoy a life free from the Giant Insects, Raiders, Slavers and Mutants. The game opens with your birth within this vault and quickly moves through pivotal moments in your childhood introducing the controls and concepts ofFollowing the global atomic war of 2077 the US has been all but destroyed. Within one of many underground bunkers built to keep citizens safe however the residents still enjoy a life free from the Giant Insects, Raiders, Slavers and Mutants. The game opens with your birth within this vault and quickly moves through pivotal moments in your childhood introducing the controls and concepts of the game along the way.
    During this introduction you discover that no one has left the vault in nearly 100 years yet just as you reach adulthood you awake one morning to discover that your father has left the comfort and security of your home. In trying to discover why you soon find that you yourself must leave and that is when Fallout 3 really begins.

    As the vault door creeks open you get your first glimpse that the awe inspiring world that Bethesda have created. Abandoned towns, polluted rivers and mountain ranges stretch out before you and all are accessible at any point during the game. You soon realise that survival in this harsh new world will be tough.
    The main narrative of Fallout 3 is largely concerned with tracking down your father and learning his motivations for leaving the vault but as with all the best role playing games it is the side quests that really bring the game to life. These can be picked up from many of the characters that litter the wasteland and can often be completed in more than one way. Beware however that your actions will have consequences and can drastically change the game world you inhabit!

    Combat itself is also largely successful. Gun and Melee attacks are performed in first person and while your ability to aim straight is important it is really your characters stats that decide how successful you are. Should you come up against a particularly difficult enemy you can thankfully rely on the VATS system. This allows you to pause the game and target specific body parts for a dramatic kill but needs time to recharge so must be used tactically. In a game this size there are of course going to be some minor bugs and flaws the most jarring of which is the inability to continue after completing the main quest. I was disappointed to not be able to complete the remaining side quests. It is very easy to overlook any slight problems however in a game as ambitious and good as Fallout 3.
    Expand
  3. Feb 15, 2013
    8
    There is no doubt that allot of love went into making this game. The story is brilliant and fits the universe perfectly. The first person (elder scrolls-esque) perspective fits in really well and is an improvement on the old turn based system of Fallouts 1 and 2. Stunning visuals and an impressive post apocalyptic rendition of D.C. So why don't I sound more excited by it? Because,There is no doubt that allot of love went into making this game. The story is brilliant and fits the universe perfectly. The first person (elder scrolls-esque) perspective fits in really well and is an improvement on the old turn based system of Fallouts 1 and 2. Stunning visuals and an impressive post apocalyptic rendition of D.C. So why don't I sound more excited by it? Because, generally speaking, it is a bit bland and can be a little boring at times. The dull colors really do add to the atmosphere and set the mood nicely, however, they also make everything look the same. Again I state this is a great game that just really needs a bit more color and life to it. Because as it stands, it feels like a black and white version of the Mona Lisa. Overall: A fantastic game that falls just under brilliance thanks to its overdone monochromatic and dirty tones. They're done well, and serve their intended purpose well, but perhaps a bit too well. Thanks Bethesda for keeping the series alive, and making such a great game. Expand
  4. Apr 13, 2017
    8
    Ce Fallout rebooté des limbes de la 2D et transfiguré par Bethesda est bien plus qu'un Oblivion avec des flingues (et heureusement d'ailleurs !) : il restitue avec brio l'univers baroque de la licence et l'implante dans une magnifique interface, intuitive et très maniable.

    Certes, les dialogues sont parfois creux et l'histoire ne casse pas toujours des briques (mais éclate souvent des
    Ce Fallout rebooté des limbes de la 2D et transfiguré par Bethesda est bien plus qu'un Oblivion avec des flingues (et heureusement d'ailleurs !) : il restitue avec brio l'univers baroque de la licence et l'implante dans une magnifique interface, intuitive et très maniable.

    Certes, les dialogues sont parfois creux et l'histoire ne casse pas toujours des briques (mais éclate souvent des têtes au ralenti...) et la mise en scène est plutôt à la rue (malgré quelques bonnes idées) en raison de cette vue subjective permanente et l'animation des personnages fort médiocre.

    Pour autant, l'ambiance se révèle fabuleuse, le moteur 3D très performant et l'inédit combat au VATS ne fait pas regretter le vieux tour par tour. L'évolution du perso selon le fameux système SPECIAL (des vieux Fallout) et la durée de vie très longue grâce au côté très "bac à sable" du jeu en monde ouvert font de Fallout 3 le digne successeur de ses aînés et disons-le carrément, le renouveau de la franchise !
    Expand
  5. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    If you liked Oblivion you will fall in love with this masterpiece. Trying to follow your missing dad ,stuff gets more interesting and almost impossible to finish the game , simply because you just want to explore Washington completely. There are a lot of weapons but limited ammo , radiated water , hordes of creatures and mutants , rider making it hard and struggling to survive in thisIf you liked Oblivion you will fall in love with this masterpiece. Trying to follow your missing dad ,stuff gets more interesting and almost impossible to finish the game , simply because you just want to explore Washington completely. There are a lot of weapons but limited ammo , radiated water , hordes of creatures and mutants , rider making it hard and struggling to survive in this wicked dangerous world. Cool graphics , cool environment , desolated city etc. Great ambient sound effect. This is a totally pick for RPG fans Expand
  6. May 27, 2015
    9
    Once again Bethesda the masterpiece maker has once again made another masterpiece: Fallout 3. This is the ultimate post-apocalyptic game, it's scary, intense and a lot like Mad Max. The only flaw I noticed was it's annoying difficulty, it got pretty hard sometimes. I really love how Fallout 3 is super realistic, I felt like an actual survivor in an apocalypse, scavenging items for yourOnce again Bethesda the masterpiece maker has once again made another masterpiece: Fallout 3. This is the ultimate post-apocalyptic game, it's scary, intense and a lot like Mad Max. The only flaw I noticed was it's annoying difficulty, it got pretty hard sometimes. I really love how Fallout 3 is super realistic, I felt like an actual survivor in an apocalypse, scavenging items for your survival. You will need weaponry, food, aid kits and plenty more things to survive in the unforgiving radioactive wasteland. Buy this game. Expand
  7. May 20, 2012
    9
    Fallout 3 is a well made game witch was loved by so many people and still is today. I know the history of Fallout series and it has had up and downs with it. Bethesda has brought Fallout back from the dead and winning Game of The Year 2008. Fallout 3 has great combat, great story line and I don't know why people would give a 6 or any other low score. It's a must buy. Fallout 3 9.9/10
  8. Mar 6, 2017
    10
    This game seems like Oblivion with guns at the start, but you will soon realise that it is so much more. What an amazing game this is and if you pick up the GOTY edition then you will not be disappointed as it adds 5 full storyline DLC's to the already great game that is Fallout 3. A game that must be played.
  9. Rem
    Oct 15, 2014
    8
    Stepping out of the Vault, players undertake a breathtaking journey through the Wasteland in Bethesda's rendition of the Fallout series. One thing that Bethesda always promotes with each of their games is the growing amount of freedom to play the game how you want. Go anywhere, befriend or kill anyone, ignore the main quest altogether it's up to you. Along the way you soak in the stunningStepping out of the Vault, players undertake a breathtaking journey through the Wasteland in Bethesda's rendition of the Fallout series. One thing that Bethesda always promotes with each of their games is the growing amount of freedom to play the game how you want. Go anywhere, befriend or kill anyone, ignore the main quest altogether it's up to you. Along the way you soak in the stunning view of a decimated Washington D.C., but look too closely and you'll see that the textures are rough and pop-ins are frequent. Many complain about technical problems ruining their games like corrupted files and freezing, but none of those were present for me. Instead I only got clipping, pop-ins, and excruciatingly long load times, nothing good but they're not as bad as people say. Expand
  10. Mar 23, 2017
    10
    Fallout 3 proves to be one of the best open world games of all time, and while it has many problems that can easily be argued that Fallout New Vegas does better, the world and content was just unmatched for me. After spending 300 hours doing all the main quests and side missions (base and all dlc included), I spent 300 more just going on my own and doing my make believe adventure andFallout 3 proves to be one of the best open world games of all time, and while it has many problems that can easily be argued that Fallout New Vegas does better, the world and content was just unmatched for me. After spending 300 hours doing all the main quests and side missions (base and all dlc included), I spent 300 more just going on my own and doing my make believe adventure and having such fun doing it. I truly felt that the game had the best way to bring out exploration and reward the player well. It holds a special place in my heart for just how fun a post-apocalyptic survival game could be even when the content would run dry. Expand
  11. Aug 12, 2017
    8
    This post-apocalyptic action-RPG offers engaging gameplay, a great leveling system, an awesome targeting system (VATS) and a branching story that changes depending on your choices. However, the actual shooting mechanics are poor even for 2008 (and being an RPG doesn't excuse poor mechanics). Also, the story is quite a lot shorter than I expected and side quests are less abundant than I'mThis post-apocalyptic action-RPG offers engaging gameplay, a great leveling system, an awesome targeting system (VATS) and a branching story that changes depending on your choices. However, the actual shooting mechanics are poor even for 2008 (and being an RPG doesn't excuse poor mechanics). Also, the story is quite a lot shorter than I expected and side quests are less abundant than I'm used to from Bethesda. It's still very much worth a playthrough in 2017 but don't expect the amount of content from Oblivion for example. Expand
  12. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    Masterpiece of modern gaming. Bethesda crafted a unique game which remains an excellent homage to the original Fallout series. Almost 4 years after its release and I can still pick it up and enjoy it again and again. It would not surprise me if I had 300+ hours of play time into it. It's just that good.
  13. Nov 26, 2015
    10
    If you buy Fallout 4 for XB1 after 10 days you get a code to redeem this game for free, as part of the backwards compatible 360 games for XB1.

    I love Fallout 4 for XB1, but getting Fallout 3 for free 10 days later just puts it over the top. Just more Bethsaida open world, rpg, post apocalyptic game to love. If you love these types of games you will love Fallout. A perfect series to
    If you buy Fallout 4 for XB1 after 10 days you get a code to redeem this game for free, as part of the backwards compatible 360 games for XB1.

    I love Fallout 4 for XB1, but getting Fallout 3 for free 10 days later just puts it over the top.

    Just more Bethsaida open world, rpg, post apocalyptic game to love. If you love these types of games you will love Fallout. A perfect series to keep you busy as you wait for the next Elder Scrolls installment for XbI.
    Expand
  14. May 7, 2013
    9
    I was bored2my ass at the end of 2009, watched youtube videos of fallout 3, then decided I have to play this game, at that time my laptop was too crappy to run the game, I either should buy a new PC or a XBOX360 console (dont like PS3) and I went with XBOX360, and officially start my gaming hobby. So, this game is the reason why am i here, checking and rating video games.
    Rated 9 for GOTY
    I was bored2my ass at the end of 2009, watched youtube videos of fallout 3, then decided I have to play this game, at that time my laptop was too crappy to run the game, I either should buy a new PC or a XBOX360 console (dont like PS3) and I went with XBOX360, and officially start my gaming hobby. So, this game is the reason why am i here, checking and rating video games.
    Rated 9 for GOTY version. Love the wasteland DC, so bloody violent, three dog is awesome. the beginning part of the game is the best among other games, directly took you into the character and the game sitting.
    Expand
  15. May 30, 2013
    8
    Fallout 3 is a wonderful game and has a classy feel every time I play it. While exploring may be disappointing because everything is destroyed, I still had a lot of fun looking around the ruined world. A lot of skill trees to level up so it makes great replay value and I've put in about 120 hours into it. It's still has its fair share of glitches, but I can't be too harsh on it. DefinitelyFallout 3 is a wonderful game and has a classy feel every time I play it. While exploring may be disappointing because everything is destroyed, I still had a lot of fun looking around the ruined world. A lot of skill trees to level up so it makes great replay value and I've put in about 120 hours into it. It's still has its fair share of glitches, but I can't be too harsh on it. Definitely worth picking up. Expand
  16. Oct 30, 2010
    9
    One of the best Western RPGs to come around in a long time. Even if the combat could have felt more refined, there are just so many fun things to do in the unique world. The quests are all very diverse and allow for many different options on how to play them out. Also most of the DLC for this game is worth purchasing (except for Mothership Zeta.) People can debate whether or not this gameOne of the best Western RPGs to come around in a long time. Even if the combat could have felt more refined, there are just so many fun things to do in the unique world. The quests are all very diverse and allow for many different options on how to play them out. Also most of the DLC for this game is worth purchasing (except for Mothership Zeta.) People can debate whether or not this game is better than Oblivion but I think they are each equally good in their own ways. Expand
  17. Apr 30, 2012
    10
    Whilst Skyrim feels like a cheap, by the numbers cash-in designed for nothing more than raking in people's dollar from pre-orders, Fallout 3 (GOTY ed) is a superbly crafted game, and the effort + skill put into this top notch package is evident throughout. The main reason the game works so well is because the game's environment, and subsequent discoveries you make throughout exploring it,Whilst Skyrim feels like a cheap, by the numbers cash-in designed for nothing more than raking in people's dollar from pre-orders, Fallout 3 (GOTY ed) is a superbly crafted game, and the effort + skill put into this top notch package is evident throughout. The main reason the game works so well is because the game's environment, and subsequent discoveries you make throughout exploring it, really draw you in and submerse you with ease - the capital wasteland has so much character that you can't help but fall in love with it. Everything about the game fits and works well too, from the leveling system to the VATS combat system which, although it may take a little time to get used to, never gets old. The atmospheric terminator-esq music helps draw you in too, and a lot of the quests actually require you to keep pushing on throughout the wasteland instead of being simple fetch quests (although there are a few of those in there) - which again enhances that desire to explore further. The RPG aspect does still lack - again it's a case of there not being that much choice available (although there is still SOME choice available, more than Skyrim). But the game is no weaker for it, and a game which is all about exploration in a ruined wasteland manages to nail that right on the nose. It can be a bit buggy at times, and it can also be a tad repetitive, but overall it just works and it works superbly. Definitely one to put at the top of your shopping list. Expand
  18. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    For me Fallout 3 is the best game available on 360, it is so immersive and chock full of surprises. The setting is fantastic and the surrounding of 50s style propaganda really adds to the games character. There is a vast amount of fun weaponry and ways to use them, the character building is top notch with some very fun and interesting perks. The world is full of wonderful characters (theFor me Fallout 3 is the best game available on 360, it is so immersive and chock full of surprises. The setting is fantastic and the surrounding of 50s style propaganda really adds to the games character. There is a vast amount of fun weaponry and ways to use them, the character building is top notch with some very fun and interesting perks. The world is full of wonderful characters (the "super heroes" at war with each other using giant ants and robots spring to mind) with many problems across the game world that need sorting, it's the exploration that really makes this game, there are some very interesting buildings around that can really come in useful while some serve as sheds for plungers and lead pipes. The main story is good and gripping but the same could be said about the majority of side quests. This game is excellent, the standard by which all other games should be striving to achieve, It gets my 2008 game of the year and also stands as my game of the generation. Expand
  19. Nov 21, 2010
    8
    This game is good, but it falls short of great. It offers an interesting world that can be freely explored, and a story that is bolstered with strong dialogue and interesting character choices. The main problem is the excessive tedium required to find one's way through a lot of these maps. Any indoor/underground map instantly becomes a pain. Instead of the player having separateThis game is good, but it falls short of great. It offers an interesting world that can be freely explored, and a story that is bolstered with strong dialogue and interesting character choices. The main problem is the excessive tedium required to find one's way through a lot of these maps. Any indoor/underground map instantly becomes a pain. Instead of the player having separate two-dimensional maps for each level of a given three-dimensional structure, each level is mapped onto one single two-dimensional image. This makes navigating indoors using the map almost completely pointless, and adds hours and hours to the game that consist of nothing but wandering in exasperation. Overland/outdoor exploration, on the other hand, is an absolute blast. Expand
  20. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    Fallout 3 masterfully creates a parallel universe for players to explore and lose dozens of hours in. No other game of this console generation comes close to offering the amount of content, freedom of choice, and level of immersion that can be found here.
  21. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = This game has frozen on me a total of 36 times, but you know what?? Despite all of it's issues it still manages to be one of the best games ever made!! Excellent atmosphere, amazing design.
  22. May 5, 2012
    9
    Fallout 3 is beautiful example of how less can be more. In a post-apocalypse environment, the feeling of isolation and desolation this game successfully portrays is essential to pull the player into that world. Some have complained the game is sparse, so would life be after such events. The graphics are good, but the heavily glitchy nature keeps them from being great. The music andFallout 3 is beautiful example of how less can be more. In a post-apocalypse environment, the feeling of isolation and desolation this game successfully portrays is essential to pull the player into that world. Some have complained the game is sparse, so would life be after such events. The graphics are good, but the heavily glitchy nature keeps them from being great. The music and soundtrack are one of the best out there, period. The balance of amusing vintage American and tense thematic background create a constantly changing mood that lasts right through the 40 or 50 hours you can log. The storyline is compelling and goes from the slow searching to a feverish paced finally, a very rewarding finish, even without the DLC expansion. This game is random exploration heaven and apart from some mechanics issues, a completely enveloping experience. Expand
  23. Feb 5, 2015
    8
    Fallout 3 How i adore thee still a great game even with all your technical problems. My question to you is. Will bethesda ever hire great programers? Caz they know how to make great rpgs. Or maybe they could atleast keep them in development until somebody play tests them? I know i know they're complicated games well so is my brain.
  24. Jun 23, 2014
    10
    I have been playing indies and old school games for a while and decided to go back to Fallout 3.....I finally realize how great this game is. Music, atmosphere, weapons, armour, NPCs....a blend of perfection.
  25. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    An excellent game in the development of weapons and skills
    But the only problem is walking! Hero does not walk never walk normally!
    The story is great grandfather and so many weapons and too many drugs and beam in some cases not be a good situation
    For the transmission of a new era needs for a long time.
    by / adil khojah saudi arabia jeddah city
  26. May 22, 2012
    10
    I've been gaming for years so I've played loads of great games but for me fallout 3 is top of my list. I'm on my third play thru and it's just fresh each time. Was so disappointed with new Vegas and hated how reviewers kept saying the graphics we're like fallout 3. They weren't, fallout 3 graphics were far better.
  27. Jun 3, 2013
    10
    It's hard to pick one, but I can safely say Fallout 3 is my favorite game of all time. It's an open world of discovery in an ideal apocalyptic setting. I've put hundreds and hundreds of hours into it, but there is so much I haven't done (I only just got the last of the achievements).

    The amount of loot and guns you can find is mind-boggling. The VATS system is innovative. Deaths are
    It's hard to pick one, but I can safely say Fallout 3 is my favorite game of all time. It's an open world of discovery in an ideal apocalyptic setting. I've put hundreds and hundreds of hours into it, but there is so much I haven't done (I only just got the last of the achievements).

    The amount of loot and guns you can find is mind-boggling. The VATS system is innovative. Deaths are deliciously gruesome. True, there are glitches, but I think it adds seasoning and a little fun to the game (as well as a sense of dread). And did I mention the story? It's right up there close to the likes of Bioshock.

    The only possible things that could be improved are the graphics and the ability to play with friends. But otherwise, zero complaints. Fallout 3 is the standard in gaming.
    Expand
  28. Sep 22, 2010
    9
    Highly entertaining and immersive. Though it is just like Oblivion in that you need to be able to get immersed into a game to truly enjoy all that Fallout has to offer. My only issues are the bugs, occasional lag, and the excessive amount of subways... oh and Megaton is the only cool city.
  29. Jul 28, 2011
    9
    If you liked Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion; you will like Fallout 3 and its similarities to Oblivion!!! It is one of my favorite games of all time only beaten by the Mass Effect series and Knights of the Old Republic. Fallout 3 has realistic visuals, a dark open post-apocalyptic world, immersing story , and cool morality system!! The only problems is the bugs and glitches , but I recommendIf you liked Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion; you will like Fallout 3 and its similarities to Oblivion!!! It is one of my favorite games of all time only beaten by the Mass Effect series and Knights of the Old Republic. Fallout 3 has realistic visuals, a dark open post-apocalyptic world, immersing story , and cool morality system!! The only problems is the bugs and glitches , but I recommend you to buy this awesome game!! Expand
  30. Jan 24, 2015
    8
    It's a huge openworld RPG with an amazingly crafted atmosphere and setting with a good storyline along with it. It took me about 6 hours before I really got into it and started enjoying it though, it's not just a game you pick up.
    The best things about this game for me were the characters and all the ways you could interact with them, the fantastic post-apocalyptic setting with 50s/60s
    It's a huge openworld RPG with an amazingly crafted atmosphere and setting with a good storyline along with it. It took me about 6 hours before I really got into it and started enjoying it though, it's not just a game you pick up.
    The best things about this game for me were the characters and all the ways you could interact with them, the fantastic post-apocalyptic setting with 50s/60s (Bioshock-esque) themes and the huge world with so much to explore.
    The combat mechanics were satisfying and so was equipping yourself with cool new gear. The story kept me intrigued and certainly had it's moments (especially if you influenced them), but the ending wasn't too grand in my mind.
    Technically it's a good looking game but it does suffer from quite a few issues. Slight screentearing and random glitches do plague this game, but it's no game-braker. The original score didn't impress me either though the old school music made up for it in a way. One thing that did annoy me throughout the game is the LARGE focus on looting/grinding. It felt like I spent half my time 'playing' this game sorting my inventory and buying/selling stuff. Getting a companion in the game helps a lot carrying stuff so get one ASAP.
    Also I felt like there was just too much content in the game. If you're a huge openworld RPG fan and like to drop hundreds of hours in a game, you can with Fallout 3. But for someone that just wants to play an awesome game and then move on to the next they could've streamlined Fallout 3 a lot in my mind.
    Conclusion: If you like these kind of games and have some time to spare, certainly pick it up. To compare: it's better than Bioshock but not as good as Half-Life 2 in my opinion. 8.4/10
    Expand
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 84 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 84
  2. Negative: 0 out of 84
  1. Fallout 3 is an experience in itself, and while it may not offer as much replay value as Oblivion, it’s so much more then an “Oblivion with guns”.
  2. 90
    From the hollow wind blowing down through subway tunnels, to the radioactive dust clouds swirling throughout the wasteland, up to the buzzards circling the encampment where the bodies of 30 slave traders lie; Fallout 3 is as much a game as it is a training sim for the coming apocalypse.
  3. In fact, Fallout 3 is leaner and meaner than Bethesda's previous efforts, less expansive but more intense, while still offering immense replay value and quite a few thrills along the way.