User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1446 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [anonymous]
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    You must get the GOTY edition with the DLC to enjoy this game!!! I could see this game being an 8 or 9 without the DLC, but with the level cap raised, and other missions. this is my favorite game of all time!!
  2. DanielT
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    Um... What the hell? I really, really don't see why anyone would call this game boring and the shooting element bland. If this is boring, then why play great shooters like Modern Warfare 2 at all? Anyways, to the point of my review score - 10/10 - One word: CHOICE. Not even Mass Effect (which hurts me to say) has the impact of decisions that you make; we have to wait for ME2. Playing Um... What the hell? I really, really don't see why anyone would call this game boring and the shooting element bland. If this is boring, then why play great shooters like Modern Warfare 2 at all? Anyways, to the point of my review score - 10/10 - One word: CHOICE. Not even Mass Effect (which hurts me to say) has the impact of decisions that you make; we have to wait for ME2. Playing through the first time on the Hero morality took me several weeks to beat, at which point I was greatly dissapointed by the ending...until Bethesda came out with Broken Steel, and renewed my love for this game. If you "hate" this game, don't play it and say bad things about and, in turn, have it defended by the actual gamers. -Number 3 on my list- Expand
  3. MarkK
    Nov 4, 2008
    10
    While this is a game definately NOT for the casual gamer, or even your average FPS fan, for those who seek a little more substance in their gaming diet, this is simply phenomenal. I was a big fan of the original games back in the day, and I'm glad to say this is a very worthy (and quite probably better) successor. The level of immersion is second to none as you really have a feeling While this is a game definately NOT for the casual gamer, or even your average FPS fan, for those who seek a little more substance in their gaming diet, this is simply phenomenal. I was a big fan of the original games back in the day, and I'm glad to say this is a very worthy (and quite probably better) successor. The level of immersion is second to none as you really have a feeling that absolutely everything you do has an effect of some kind on the excellently-designed post-apocalyptic wasteland that your dude/dudette calls home. Genuinely, my only wish is that there was more of it. The interface does exactly what I presume Bethesda intended it to, keep the feel of the originals while adding the functionality of a next-gen game. The VATS system is solid, and a brilliantly-implemented compromise between the older-games fight mechanics and Oblivion's FPS-like combat. Essentially, what Bethesda have done is achieve the impossible; keep the fans of the original Fallout happy, while once again revolutionising the genre in a similar way to Mass Effect this time last year. Purely awesome. Expand
  4. JamalA.
    Oct 10, 2008
    10
    Probably deserves a 9.6 in reality. Played the "specially aquired" version and love it so much I'm definitely going to support Bethesda by buying it on the 28th. The main quest storyline is AMAZING and side quests are plentiful and easily found. My main petpeeve with the game is when you try to play it like a fps. I don't see the point of having a scope if when you take your Probably deserves a 9.6 in reality. Played the "specially aquired" version and love it so much I'm definitely going to support Bethesda by buying it on the 28th. The main quest storyline is AMAZING and side quests are plentiful and easily found. My main petpeeve with the game is when you try to play it like a fps. I don't see the point of having a scope if when you take your time lining up a headshot and the rpg-ish "dice roll" won't count it. Overall, this is a must buy and an obvious game of the year contender. Expand
  5. matthurd
    Nov 8, 2008
    10
    how does gears 2 have a 93 just like this? this is a much better game and it has way more 100 ratings then gears i think they need to fix the rating system here

    either way this game was fantastic and you would be flat out unacceptable to he gaming community to pass up on this master piece
  6. DaveW.
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    Masterpiece! Same format as Oblivion but very much its own game. A MUST play for any RPG fan. FPS mechanics are of a high quality as well as the visuals that are some of the best I have seen. Just a shame my 360 red lighted 9 hours in! Putting that aside Bethesda have done it again - buy it!!
  7. AaronB.
    Oct 30, 2008
    10
    I can't believe this is only an 8.5 for user votes. Must be some haters bringing the average down. I think it deserves at least a 9. It's not perfect - what game is? - but I'll rate it a 10 to compensate for the haters.
  8. DominicL
    Jan 6, 2009
    10
    Best game ever. I haven't played any other previous Fallout games. But i have to say this is 1 of the best games I have ever played. Perfect 10 i'd say. It's realistic, the graphics are great, different variety of weapons and the list goes on. This game was worth every single cent of my money and i wouldn't have it any other way. A true masterpiece.
  9. EddieP
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    The last time I spent anywhere near to the amount of time I've spent playing Fallout 3 was when I first played Legend of Zelda OoT. The games are not comparable in anyway except in their level of greatness and absorption. This is the best X-Box 360 game I have ever played.
  10. SamR
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    In reality, the game comes close to ten. I'd give it a 9.7 at least. The story is inventive, all parts of it. The side quests are readily available, everything from Rigging and election in a small four bedroom republic to wiping an entire town off the map with a massive nuclear explosion. The Karma system, while a little basic, still applies a few interesting dialog options, as well In reality, the game comes close to ten. I'd give it a 9.7 at least. The story is inventive, all parts of it. The side quests are readily available, everything from Rigging and election in a small four bedroom republic to wiping an entire town off the map with a massive nuclear explosion. The Karma system, while a little basic, still applies a few interesting dialog options, as well as a few other options. Even if you get bored out of your skull, or manage to run through the twelve or so hours it takes you to get through the story, there's still a plethora of things to do. Feel like enslaving someone? or maybe you want to help rebuild the crumbling source of freedom in America? Or maybe revisit an old friend that you havent' seen. There's any number of things that can be accomplished. In all truth, anyone that criticizes the game is either trying to play it like a shooter, which it clearly is not, or they're carrying some grudge against Oblivion or Bethesda for some inclined reason. The bottom line is, if you've even remotely stepped near Oblivion, morrowind, or anything of the sort in the past ten years and found them remotely interesting, you'll like Fallout 3. and for one, I applaud Bethesda for preserving the post war culture of fallout, and it's familiar humor and style. Expand
  11. AndrewD
    Jul 8, 2009
    10
    One of the best games ever, hands down. The world is huge, the characters are all different and you can interact with most of them. I loved the VATS thing because it's a happy medium between turn-based fighting and FPS shooting. The main quest is nice and long, but you probably won't notice because you'll be too busy exploring the Capital Wasteland. Bottom line, buy it.
  12. JasonZimmerman
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    This is an epic game that plays well on moral decisions and the characters within it. The sounds (especially the old school songs), game play, side objectives, and visuals are excellent. On top of all that, the game is long. You get so much for your money in this game.
  13. AshtonJ
    Aug 8, 2009
    10
    This game does what it works for so well when I left the Vault after the training quests I was filled with a sense of dread and hopelessness. All alone in a bleak wasteland devoid of colors not beige or taupe. Once I started finding some quests the sense of hopelessness left and I had a purpose which brought everything into focus and lead me on the crooked path to explore and beat the This game does what it works for so well when I left the Vault after the training quests I was filled with a sense of dread and hopelessness. All alone in a bleak wasteland devoid of colors not beige or taupe. Once I started finding some quests the sense of hopelessness left and I had a purpose which brought everything into focus and lead me on the crooked path to explore and beat the game. One thing about this game is even after beating it there is still so much to see. With all the unmarked side-quests and vast amount of areas you could wander for hours just exploring anything and everything, the game isn't well played if you don't experience these optional forays. I just maxed out the GS for the game and all add-ons and couldn't be happier with the game I played. Expand
  14. TroelsS.
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    Yes, it's almost a complete ripoff of the Elder Scrolls series. However, there are many elements in Fallout 3 that are more likely to please any gamer: FPS, rpg, adventure, sneak. Oblivion had many of the same things, though not executing it very well compared to Fallout 3 - especially the action in Oblivion wasn't very intriguing. Some may say the environment is a bit sterile Yes, it's almost a complete ripoff of the Elder Scrolls series. However, there are many elements in Fallout 3 that are more likely to please any gamer: FPS, rpg, adventure, sneak. Oblivion had many of the same things, though not executing it very well compared to Fallout 3 - especially the action in Oblivion wasn't very intriguing. Some may say the environment is a bit sterile in Fallout - a common term is "beatiful destruction" (like Gears of War). It's simple but done incredibly well. And what goes for the dungeons/buildings compared to Oblivion, there are many nuances and it doesn't seem very repetitive. Maybe it's just a sort of new, unofficial installment in the Elder Scrolls series (though fallout is a series on it's own), but since when has that been a bad thing? Alost every part of the game is an improvement over Oblivion. Perfect in every way. Probably the greatest game for this generation of consoles. Expand
  15. JohnHartman
    Nov 1, 2008
    10
    First of all, can anyone else see that Mike R is taking the piss? He's made 2 comments already, and both of them are completely (And deliberately) inane.

    As for fallout 3, it ranks in the best 3 games I've ever played. 1. Half life 2 (Including episodes) 2. Bioshock 3. Fallout 3. The graphics weren't fantastic, but the environmental design was. This is everything
    First of all, can anyone else see that Mike R is taking the piss? He's made 2 comments already, and both of them are completely (And deliberately) inane.

    As for fallout 3, it ranks in the best 3 games I've ever played.

    1. Half life 2 (Including episodes)
    2. Bioshock
    3. Fallout 3.

    The graphics weren't fantastic, but the environmental design was. This is everything that oblivion has but more, such as VATS, Guns, and the fallout setting.
    Expand
  16. MatthewC.
    Nov 2, 2008
    10
    Fantastic game, sure, it's got faults. So does everything. What I
  17. KyleG.
    Nov 3, 2008
    10
    I am about 40 hours in and at this point I can safely say that in my book, this is definitely game of the year. While it does share some of Oblivion's style and perspective, Fallout 3 is unquestionably it's own game. The combat is great fun with it's mix of V.A.T.S. and real time first person shooting making dealing with groups of enemies feel fresh and unpredictable. The I am about 40 hours in and at this point I can safely say that in my book, this is definitely game of the year. While it does share some of Oblivion's style and perspective, Fallout 3 is unquestionably it's own game. The combat is great fun with it's mix of V.A.T.S. and real time first person shooting making dealing with groups of enemies feel fresh and unpredictable. The perk system really adds a new and exciting twist to the RPG side of things. The main story really starts to blossom around the 20-25 hour mark to create a fantastic sense of purpose for your character. Graphically, the game excels in creating an atmosphere that is at once technically beautiful, completely absorbing and borderline depressing. After playing for extended amounts of time, I suggest treating yourself to an ice cream cone to help alleviate the feeling of bleakness this environment can bestow upon you. My only gripe with the game is that money (bottle caps) seems to be rather difficult to come by. Perhaps I'll play as a bad guy on my second play through to see if things are easier in that department. Absolutely brilliant game though. I hope everyone enjoys it as much as i have. Expand
  18. JamesD.
    Nov 3, 2008
    10
    Fallout 3 is Exactly what I, a long time Fallout veteran, have been hoping for and more! In order to explain just how amazing this game is, I will tell you this. My girlfriend, who normally just plays casual games on the Wii, played this game just to see how it was and was amazed by it. She has been stuck on the game for three days now, I kid you not. I think that the game is downright Fallout 3 is Exactly what I, a long time Fallout veteran, have been hoping for and more! In order to explain just how amazing this game is, I will tell you this. My girlfriend, who normally just plays casual games on the Wii, played this game just to see how it was and was amazed by it. She has been stuck on the game for three days now, I kid you not. I think that the game is downright the most sprawling, addictive video game of the year, bar none. Others might not dig the VATS targeting system, the slow-mo kill cams, the graphics, or the trekking across the D.C. wasteland, but I believe that these features make the game so unique and refreshing that I couldn't imagine the game without thinking about them. If you thought Oblivion was addictive or you are remotely interested in an adventurous apocalyptic action extravaganza, you will absolutely love this game. The game is chock full of hilarious dialogue and great little comic touches to the an otherwise shockingly ravaged nuclear land. There are many minor flaws and issues with this sprawling open-world action-shooter-RPG, but come on, what game is perfect? If you came to negatively critique the game, then chances are that you never gave it a chance in the first place. Give the game your full attention, open up your imagination, turn up the Ink Spots on Galaxy News Radio, and try not to be sucked into an awe-inspiring atmospheric adventure into a the Washington D.C. that you thought you knew so well! I am simply blown away by the sheer scope of the game and the teeny tiniest little details in the game that make it so memorable. Whether it be the G.O.A.T. test or a rag-tag ramshackle city's "colorful" citizens, Fallout 3 is sure to surprise you with its amazing presentation, realism, its thought-provokingly insightful situations, and immersion factor. If you own a game console or PC that will play this game, then you have no excuse to not buy this amazing game. Expand
  19. AndyS.
    Nov 3, 2008
    10
    Take the best Deus Ex and mix in a good serving of S.T.A.L.K.E.R and you have Fallout 3. This is without a doubt the PC game of the year, if not for 360 and PS3 as well. I'm only L8 and i already want to play it again, and again, and some more after that.
  20. ZacS.
    Nov 5, 2008
    10
    Simply the most immersing and compelling game in history, that is, if you have half a brain. I found Mass Effect's dialog trees tedious and mind-numbing... Fallout 3 introduces a quest system that makes Fable II look like the smallest sandbox on the playground. Bottom line: games like this are triumphs of balance between such a multitude of advanced gaming concepts that a few hiccups Simply the most immersing and compelling game in history, that is, if you have half a brain. I found Mass Effect's dialog trees tedious and mind-numbing... Fallout 3 introduces a quest system that makes Fable II look like the smallest sandbox on the playground. Bottom line: games like this are triumphs of balance between such a multitude of advanced gaming concepts that a few hiccups must be expected. Fallout 3 is nearly flawless in its hybridization of sandbox, RPG, dialog-based games , first person shooter, strategic targeting, etc. etc.... even the minigames are amazing. This is a new day in gaming and this is the maverick title to raise the bar beyond a level I think will be reached until we enter the 'next generation' of gaming... or Fallout 4. Expand
  21. JasonS
    Nov 6, 2008
    10
    This game is sheer amazing. I recommend it to anyone with a console who can play it. It offers a variety of different ways in which to play it, whether it be real time shooting for fps fans, or Vats for more role play fans, and a mass map for the adventerous type (which I would hope is all of us). The ONLY ways in which it is like Oblivion is its sheer map scale, immersive gameplay and This game is sheer amazing. I recommend it to anyone with a console who can play it. It offers a variety of different ways in which to play it, whether it be real time shooting for fps fans, or Vats for more role play fans, and a mass map for the adventerous type (which I would hope is all of us). The ONLY ways in which it is like Oblivion is its sheer map scale, immersive gameplay and plot. And the physics engines are some what similar. The gameplay and fighting systems are NOT at all alike, and the role play elements of Fallout are far greater than that of Oblivions... and more importantly level scaling is not so imposing in fallout (which somewhat ruined Oblivion (only a ltitle) for me). It's also somewhat more fast paced, so you won't feel the burden of fighting like you did in Oblivion (constant hack), it's more explosive and exciting. Buy buy buy!!! Expand
  22. JosephS.
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    (1) We know that Fallout 1&2 were SICK, and (2) We know that Bethesda creates works of art (Oblivion) for a living. If this game isn't a 9 or 10, it's because the subtleties imbedded within go unnoticed by a generation of gamers who thought 'Mario Sunshine' was a top-notch title. Our standards must be set higher - I believe Bethesda and Fallout 3 will help us do that.
  23. CalebH.
    Dec 5, 2008
    10
    The very first step you take out of Vault 101 is one of the greatest moments in video gmae history. As your eyes adjust to the sunlight which you've never seen before, you begin to realize that what's around you is nothing you've ever seen before...nothing. Fallout 3 is an absolutely stellar achievement to open-world gaming, and to video games in general. No game before it The very first step you take out of Vault 101 is one of the greatest moments in video gmae history. As your eyes adjust to the sunlight which you've never seen before, you begin to realize that what's around you is nothing you've ever seen before...nothing. Fallout 3 is an absolutely stellar achievement to open-world gaming, and to video games in general. No game before it has created such a strong sense of survival like Fallout 3 does; Every bullet shot, every stimpak injected, every beer drank has weight to it and you can feel it. From the clothing you wear, to the people you meet, to the raiders who try to kill you, every little bit is well-thought out and works like a charm. Voice acting is top-notch and every single city in the Capital Wasteland is unique. That isn't to say that this game is "flawless". The little flaws that are their do not detract from the game in any way, but they are still there and still a problem. The maps you use are pretty much a waste of time. They are hard to read and give you no clear destination. The compass on your HUD is basically all you need. Character models are a bit too similar and their movements are strangely robotic, and this is due to preset animations. The characters do act on their own and are always doing something different, but not without looking like a programmer told them to do it. This is made up for by the increidible voice-acting, but on that note, their are not enough of them! Multiple characters have the same voice as another character. This problem was also present in the latest Oblivion and it doesn't seem like Bethsada cares to fix it. It also would be really cool if we could make a motorcycle and drive it, considering that you can actually pick up all the poarts to a motorcycle. That's all I have to say about its problems. With several hundred missions and over 50+ hours of gameplay, Fallout 3 almost pays for itself. It draws a fine line between action gameplay and RPG elements. It makes for the perfect game. If you even remotely like action or role-playing, give Fallout 3 a try. You shouldn't regret it. Expand
  24. DuxaC.
    Oct 27, 2008
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played.. Tutorial is genius, the world looks like id imagine a post apocalyptic world... the story is thrilling. Characters are awesome. There are some minor issues, like small pathing/animation problems.. but those can all be fixed with a small patch. And even if they never fix them, they are so minor that it doesn't matter. If you are going to buy This is the best game I have ever played.. Tutorial is genius, the world looks like id imagine a post apocalyptic world... the story is thrilling. Characters are awesome. There are some minor issues, like small pathing/animation problems.. but those can all be fixed with a small patch. And even if they never fix them, they are so minor that it doesn't matter. If you are going to buy only 1 game this holiday season.. then this is the game to get. Expand
  25. ChristianG.
    Oct 27, 2008
    10
    This is no doubt one of the best games in history, and a front-runner for game of the year. It combines incredibly deep roleplaying with amazing combat, an astounding narrative, ridiculous amounts of freedom, an incredible atmosphere and obscene amounts of content into a cohesive whole that is greater than the sum of its parts. A game that transcends simple quality, it is simply a must play.
  26. MattF.
    Oct 30, 2008
    10
    This is a phenomenal game. It's not in the same vein as the first two fallouts (the dark humour is much less evident), but it is a very very good game. VATS is a phenomenal combat system - switching back to first person becomes a bit of a drag after using VATS too long.
  27. Tom
    Oct 30, 2008
    10
    As a fan of the original Fallout series I was worried but am relieved to say that this is an incredible game. It truly makes you feel like you are a scavenger in a post apocalyptic world.
  28. maxs
    Oct 11, 2009
    10
    Note to all who gave it bad ratings- Some people just don't like role playing games, and that doesn't mean that people should rate it badly just because you dont like rpgs in the first place. To the person who said that the size of the game overwhelmes you, that is just your problem because last time I checked, role playing games are suposed to be huge, otherwise there is not Note to all who gave it bad ratings- Some people just don't like role playing games, and that doesn't mean that people should rate it badly just because you dont like rpgs in the first place. To the person who said that the size of the game overwhelmes you, that is just your problem because last time I checked, role playing games are suposed to be huge, otherwise there is not much to do. To the person who said that this game just goes by the system, ("swing till you kill"), that is the exact same thing as a fps, which is probably all you play, based on the rating you gave this game. ( don't worry, I love cod 4). My point from all of this is dont need to trash a game's user rating, which a lot of people use to decide whether to buy a game, just because you are not a role playing game person. I don't care that you don't like rpg's ( I am a big fps fan and rpg fan), just dont trash a games score over it. ( a zero, seriously!) Expand
  29. StevenD
    Jan 23, 2009
    10
    Awesome game. I've put in around 30 hours so far, and haven't even really done that many quests. I've just enjoyed traveling the wasteland, building up my character, and exploring for new towns/cities. If you enjoyed Oblivion or Mass Effect, this is equally great!
  30. HansH
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    It's an amazing game with a good story and charakters. All 5 add-ons are well worth playing!
  31. FrankP
    Jan 6, 2009
    10
    This is one of the best or THE best game I have ever played. To any critics who gave this less than 100 or users who gave it a 0 or someother BS low score..."You must be INSANE". I guess it could just not be your cup of tea...but come on...this game has everything! And it's the most bang for your buck by a long shot...much more than Orange Box...and that game was a masterpiece as This is one of the best or THE best game I have ever played. To any critics who gave this less than 100 or users who gave it a 0 or someother BS low score..."You must be INSANE". I guess it could just not be your cup of tea...but come on...this game has everything! And it's the most bang for your buck by a long shot...much more than Orange Box...and that game was a masterpiece as well. I have become addicted to this game, it is that good. I have easily played over a 100 hours on it and still am not even halfway done. It has action, great environments and level design, tons of interesting characters to interact with, multiple outcomes and rewards to each situation, the RPG leveling up dynamic, its simply brilliant. Expand
  32. ColinMosher
    Feb 3, 2009
    10
    I played this game for a good five day rental and I got through quite a bit. I have to say, it is all I wanted in a version of Oblivion with guns. Of course, instead of just making a game from the past such as Oblivion with guns, they adjusted the setting to fit the Fallout series perfectly and executed the Oblivion engine accurately. I found the beginning to be very imaginative, more soI played this game for a good five day rental and I got through quite a bit. I have to say, it is all I wanted in a version of Oblivion with guns. Of course, instead of just making a game from the past such as Oblivion with guns, they adjusted the setting to fit the Fallout series perfectly and executed the Oblivion engine accurately. I found the beginning to be very imaginative, more so than what was done with Oblivion; however, it was very lengthy and seemed to block me from getting much action. Overall, I say 9.5/10 for excellent game despite glitches and somewhat lengthy beginning. Expand
  33. RowanF
    Apr 9, 2009
    10
    I've never really been much of a fan of the RPG genre. However, when I played Fallout 3... It... To use a quote from the add that i'm occasionally glancing at whilst writing this: It put a smile on my face. In fact I would go so far to say that if... Yes, I'm going to say it: If you don't like Fallout 3 then you should be thrown into the bottomless pit of hellfire. The I've never really been much of a fan of the RPG genre. However, when I played Fallout 3... It... To use a quote from the add that i'm occasionally glancing at whilst writing this: It put a smile on my face. In fact I would go so far to say that if... Yes, I'm going to say it: If you don't like Fallout 3 then you should be thrown into the bottomless pit of hellfire. The graphics are stunning, the locations the biggest I've seen amongst games and the load times the shortest. The sheer ingenuity and imagination that has been put into the game is astounding. As opposed to games like far cry 2 where the mission variety ranged from 'go here and destroy this' to... well... 'go here and destroy this', fallout 3 has you recovering the declaration of independence from an android who thinks he's a president in between helping a village based on a half-collapsed freeway rid themselves of the local vampire cult. And, while you might think that in a game where everything is so incredibly imaginative and well thought out there might be many flaws and a very short playtime, the entire game feels solid and problem free, with the exception of a few harmless, and often hilarious, glitches. And in fact, I've colcked up ver 60 hours of gameplay so far and there's stil tonnes i ahvent done. In short, almost every single part of this game is perfect. It is, if you like, an ingenious angel sent from heaven in a time of four-hours-long dull monotonous games. Expand
  34. robb
    Sep 1, 2009
    10
    I'm not an rpg fan,however i have been blown away by fallout3.oblivion did nothing for me as much as i tried to love it but this had me from the moment i was born untill i completed the game.the gameplay and story are so brilliantly wound together even after i turned my 360 off i still found my mind heading back to the wasteland.there was just so many memorable misions and side I'm not an rpg fan,however i have been blown away by fallout3.oblivion did nothing for me as much as i tried to love it but this had me from the moment i was born untill i completed the game.the gameplay and story are so brilliantly wound together even after i turned my 360 off i still found my mind heading back to the wasteland.there was just so many memorable misions and side quests i could play them all again and again.the graphics are for the most part great although some annimation and character models need some fine tunning but it does not detract from the game at all.2008 an amazing year for gameing between this gta4 and left 4 dead to name just three of the best games ever created. Expand
  35. ChrisT
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    I got Oblivion for chrismas the year it came out, and i remember thinking "wow this game is great, but i wish it had guns in it." and then in the not so distant future i heard about this game and got it when it came out. Seriously, one of the best games i have ever played. i can get month's of enertainment from this game. No matter what is new out and what i am playing, i can always I got Oblivion for chrismas the year it came out, and i remember thinking "wow this game is great, but i wish it had guns in it." and then in the not so distant future i heard about this game and got it when it came out. Seriously, one of the best games i have ever played. i can get month's of enertainment from this game. No matter what is new out and what i am playing, i can always put fallout 3 in and enjoy it. Expand
  36. Miguel
    Sep 26, 2009
    10
    shooter or not i had a very good time with this game and i greatly reward it with a 10/10
    it's the best game i played in a long time so it deserves it very much.
    good controls.sharp graphics,nice world (or well...nice ?) chaotic is the word :)
    it is challenging enough for my liking .
    so it is a ACE if u ask me.
  37. JeffM
    Feb 9, 2010
    10
    Immersive, beautifully ugly, but the challenge seems to disappear once you get to the higher levels. This is made up for in quirky events, random encounters, and overall fun. I couldn't decide on 9 or 10 so what the heck, I wouldn't play it over again if it wasn't as good as it is.
  38. TheStodd
    Nov 16, 2008
    10
    Fantastic - Game of the Year. I haven't been so imeresed since Mass Effect. A few bugs, but overall less hassle than the PC version. Get it NOW!
  39. AndrewD.
    Nov 6, 2008
    10
    This game was something I had been waiting for a long time. I had loved Oblivion to death, and once i played this, I saw a striking similarity in a different setting. VATS is an awesome addition to combat and the part of conserving ammo and food puts you on the edge all the time. If you enjoyed Oblivion, I would highly recommend you give this game a try.
  40. AnonymousMC
    Nov 6, 2008
    10
    Such a fine game deserves all the praise and attention it's getting. I've never played a game more realistic, more immersive, more epic. The story is engaging and clever, the AI is so real you feel like you actually are transported into this wasteland.

    The fantastic story unfolds all around you, as the brilliant world is brought to life with beautiful graphics and a well
    Such a fine game deserves all the praise and attention it's getting. I've never played a game more realistic, more immersive, more epic. The story is engaging and clever, the AI is so real you feel like you actually are transported into this wasteland.

    The fantastic story unfolds all around you, as the brilliant world is brought to life with beautiful graphics and a well thought out and detailed combat system.
    One thing's for sure, there has never been an RPG quite like this.
    Expand
  41. JorgeM.
    Nov 8, 2008
    10
    Awesome game. The story is great and there's lots of side quests and other things to do. Yes, it feels a lot like Oblivion, but the first time you decapitate a mutant with your rifle you will realize you are not in Cyrodil anymore. Your choices have real consequences and the world is huge. I highly recommend it.
  42. RickA.
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    The reviewer from GamePro got it right, quite easily the best RPG on the console to date. Ive been gaming for 27years, so ive pretty much played them all - the greats that is, and this massive gem from Bethesda easily falls into my all time fave games list. Fallout3 is so impressive, immersive, atmospheric and downright massive that its up there with the likes of Resident Evil, Tomb The reviewer from GamePro got it right, quite easily the best RPG on the console to date. Ive been gaming for 27years, so ive pretty much played them all - the greats that is, and this massive gem from Bethesda easily falls into my all time fave games list. Fallout3 is so impressive, immersive, atmospheric and downright massive that its up there with the likes of Resident Evil, Tomb Raider, Half-Life, Final Fantaty or Halo as a single player gaming experience you dont want to miss. You can burn through the main story in 20hrs, however thats not the real experience. Ive just clocked 100hrs exploring the 150+ locations around the map, each one with its own different theme, history, monsters, hidden goodies & feel - that you never know what to expect, the variety being the rewards for your efforts. Ive played many RPG games where the off story locations feel just that. Not so with this beautiful game - and there in lies Fallout3's irresistable charm. Easily the front-runner for the 2008 G.O.T.Y - Expand
  43. NeilK.
    Dec 23, 2008
    10
    This game is so engaging for such a long period of time. The vast wasteland gives the player an endless array of enemies and new terrains to discover. With one of the most in depth stories since Bethesda's last offer, Elder Scrolls IV Oblivion, Fallout 3 brings you all the fun of Oblivion with guns. The game clearly will be lacking the magical element of Oblivion but the freedom This game is so engaging for such a long period of time. The vast wasteland gives the player an endless array of enemies and new terrains to discover. With one of the most in depth stories since Bethesda's last offer, Elder Scrolls IV Oblivion, Fallout 3 brings you all the fun of Oblivion with guns. The game clearly will be lacking the magical element of Oblivion but the freedom given to the creators in building creatures is endless. With mutants and wild animals alike strolling around this 13 square mile wasteland is dangerous. With some of the highlights being, running through the deadly Deathclaw Sanctuary and making my way through the super mutant infested capitol, and of course who could forget the communist hating robot Liberty Prime. With brilliant voice acting from Liam Neeson and Malcolm McDowell and brilliant weapons like the Fat Man, Fallout 3's creative futuristic post-apocalyptic wasteland is vastly in depth with things to do and people to meet. Expand
  44. JosephA.
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    The game captures the post-apocalyptic scarcity, desperation, and freedom of the original two masterpieces and takes advantage of all the great things Oblivion offered. Most enjoyable game I have played this year thus far, and I've played nearly all of them.
  45. ShaneB
    Oct 28, 2008
    10
    While this game does have a few minor flaws the overall play and concept are rock solid it touches on lots of aspects and there is no single action in the game that is overly painful or monotonous from the combat to even the mini-games that run when you attempt skills such as lockpick. This game is, without a doubt, a ten out of ten.
  46. TonyG
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Honestly anyone who gave this game lower than a 9 is clearly slightly autistic and probably shouldent even own a next gen system... this game is almost perfectly made there are few glitches and lets be serious what game is 100% perfect... every game has glitches so dont bash this game for the few it has. This is one of the most in-depth games you will ever play and theres a reason why its Honestly anyone who gave this game lower than a 9 is clearly slightly autistic and probably shouldent even own a next gen system... this game is almost perfectly made there are few glitches and lets be serious what game is 100% perfect... every game has glitches so dont bash this game for the few it has. This is one of the most in-depth games you will ever play and theres a reason why its game of the year. Playing this game for 3 hours will serve the game no justice, so if you played for 3 hours and gave this game a bad review you should just sell your system cause your probably a moron. Anyone who gets this game will most likely end up never wanting to put it down.. Obviously if you buy this game and try to compare it to COD or Halo you should be shot since its not an FPS. Then again, this game isn't for everyone but that doesn't mean you give it a bad review just because its not for you. All in all this game is amazing and everyone i have recommended it too hasn't been able to sleep without thinking about it. Expand
  47. JohnT
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    I took some time to go through the bad reviews for this game since i was curious to see what sort of stupid reasons people had to give this game bad reviews, just to give an example of one, "Fred F. gave it a 0: This is a crap game on the XBOX as I have had nothing but problems with it either hanging or rebooting the console. Tried it back at the store and it works fine so they will not I took some time to go through the bad reviews for this game since i was curious to see what sort of stupid reasons people had to give this game bad reviews, just to give an example of one, "Fred F. gave it a 0: This is a crap game on the XBOX as I have had nothing but problems with it either hanging or rebooting the console. Tried it back at the store and it works fine so they will not refund. It may be my XBOX playing up again. My mate has it on his PS3 and he loves it. My warranty has run out on my XBOX so I will not be able to get it fixed again. Might be time to bin it and get a PS3 or a Wii." Okay.. Fred you just acknowledged the fact that your xbox is the problem and you gave the game a 0, what the hell is wrong with you? there are plenty of other stupid bad ratings that make no sense, all a bunch of retards that have nothing better to do than find and "create" every little flaw with a game they possibly can. This game is incredible and i think most normal people will spend plenty of time playing this game. This game will always be a 10 in my book, but dont take it from me, just go through and read the bad comments left for this game and you'll realize that there is so much more good stuff to say about this game than bad. Expand
  48. StevenP
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    Brilliant. Enjoyed every last bit of it. Best game in my opnion on the 360. Not terrific graphics but good and it captures the feeling of post nuclear war and isolation very well. Although I finally have the 1000 gamerpoints there remains much to see and do - the replay value is high. It is quite rough around the edges with respect to NPC's, scenery and storyline glitches but Brilliant. Enjoyed every last bit of it. Best game in my opnion on the 360. Not terrific graphics but good and it captures the feeling of post nuclear war and isolation very well. Although I finally have the 1000 gamerpoints there remains much to see and do - the replay value is high. It is quite rough around the edges with respect to NPC's, scenery and storyline glitches but considering its such an epic and ambitious game it isnt so bad. It is a game best played slowly - if you rush through to the finish much of the game will be lost. Its not a Halo type boom-fest so some will lose patience after the slow start. Expand
  49. MarkB
    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    Near as perfect as a gaming experience can be. Oblivion is similar, however Fallout 3 has that 'real' feel about it, which I particularly prefer. The feeling upon walking down a road within the wastelands, with that slow atmospheric melody, the sun setting as the road glistens, you feel a sense of lonliness, isolation and being cut-off, feeling like you have to find your way in Near as perfect as a gaming experience can be. Oblivion is similar, however Fallout 3 has that 'real' feel about it, which I particularly prefer. The feeling upon walking down a road within the wastelands, with that slow atmospheric melody, the sun setting as the road glistens, you feel a sense of lonliness, isolation and being cut-off, feeling like you have to find your way in any way you see fit. Few games can match this type of realism, scale, and sense of emotion. This may not be for everyone, but for the people that feel these things, and others, this is surely the best experience a game can give in so many different instances. Expand
  50. NicholasBlatsos
    Feb 4, 2009
    10
    One of the best games i have ever played. It is mostly true to the old games, sharing the same feel of the wasteland. It has trimmed some of the old features, and invented new ones. The V.A.T.S. aiming system is as entertaining to use the millionth time as the first. The variety, size and replayability of Fallout 3 will ensure entertainment for possibly hundreds of hours.

    -Nick B.
  51. Frank
    Jul 4, 2009
    10
    Variety of play and diverse characters need more games like this one. I've had enough of same old shoot'em up crap. Lets hope Bethesda ( or other ) creates another similar or Fallout game.
  52. Connor
    Jul 9, 2009
    10
    Some people are completely idiots about this game. THIS IS NOT A SHOOTER!!!. this is an RPG! people are giving it bad ratings because the fighting doesn't compare to COD. the fighting is only a quarter of what this game really is. there is so much in this game that people who hate this game don't see that because there stupid. trust me people, if you love rpgs and/or oblivion, Some people are completely idiots about this game. THIS IS NOT A SHOOTER!!!. this is an RPG! people are giving it bad ratings because the fighting doesn't compare to COD. the fighting is only a quarter of what this game really is. there is so much in this game that people who hate this game don't see that because there stupid. trust me people, if you love rpgs and/or oblivion, BUY THIS GAME! Expand
  53. MatthewMaltby
    Aug 17, 2009
    10
    Dude, I shed tears of joy and extreme happiness when I play this game! Aside from HALO It is my all time favorite. I can't even go into breaking it down and listing it's attributes. Everything in it is just completely awesome. I wouldn't even know where to begin. Just rest assured that once you start you will be completely hooked. Did i just say hooked? I mean flippin'Dude, I shed tears of joy and extreme happiness when I play this game! Aside from HALO It is my all time favorite. I can't even go into breaking it down and listing it's attributes. Everything in it is just completely awesome. I wouldn't even know where to begin. Just rest assured that once you start you will be completely hooked. Did i just say hooked? I mean flippin' ADDICTED!!!! Expand
  54. AsianSensation
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    This game was simply amazing. I played Bioshock, Halo 3, REd Faction Guerilla, and Left 4 Dead, and Fallout 3 is by far the best game I have ever played. I only own 2 games, out of the 15 I have played and beaten. Left 4 Dead was my first purchased and kept game, and Fallout 3 was my second. Once I played Fallout 3, i could not put down the controller. The game sucked me into a world ofThis game was simply amazing. I played Bioshock, Halo 3, REd Faction Guerilla, and Left 4 Dead, and Fallout 3 is by far the best game I have ever played. I only own 2 games, out of the 15 I have played and beaten. Left 4 Dead was my first purchased and kept game, and Fallout 3 was my second. Once I played Fallout 3, i could not put down the controller. The game sucked me into a world of chaos and wonder, and had me keep going to explore new places, events, and more. This game has to be the best game I have ever played. Expand
  55. EdwardKotarski
    Sep 29, 2009
    10
    When I first got oblivion I fell in love, I would spend hundreds of hours making my character perfect. The one problem with oblivion was if you changed the difficulty the only difference was the damage ratio between you and your enemies. On fallout you CAN kill hard characters, not by just hitting them over and over again, because of the skill and leveling systems you can win with skill.When I first got oblivion I fell in love, I would spend hundreds of hours making my character perfect. The one problem with oblivion was if you changed the difficulty the only difference was the damage ratio between you and your enemies. On fallout you CAN kill hard characters, not by just hitting them over and over again, because of the skill and leveling systems you can win with skill. 10/10 but it still deserves more. Expand
  56. Beto
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    The best game of 2008. The combat system could be improved, but it was much better than Mass Effect's. I can't name another Xbox single player that I've played that compares to this experience.
  57. TheDude
    Jan 31, 2010
    10
    Truly awesome game. My favorite RPG since the original KOTOR. I've seen some reviewers upset because the combat isn't Halo. If you want an action shooter, play Halo or COD. This is an RPG. It's about the story, the choices you can make, and the immersion into it's world and getting to decide what your character is like and how they will interact with those they come in Truly awesome game. My favorite RPG since the original KOTOR. I've seen some reviewers upset because the combat isn't Halo. If you want an action shooter, play Halo or COD. This is an RPG. It's about the story, the choices you can make, and the immersion into it's world and getting to decide what your character is like and how they will interact with those they come in contact with. The best thing I can say about the combat is what I can't say about every other RPG I've played since KOTOR; the combat doesn't detract from the game. With Jade Empire or Mass Effect, I thought the combat was so lame and such a pain in the butt(Dragon Age, too) that I couldn't wait for it to end every time it popped up in the game. With this game, the combat is certainly not a selling point, or a reason in itself to play it, but it doesn't detract from the experience either. You can choose between the turn based, traditional RPG method in VATS mode and target individual body parts and watch some cool gratuitous slow-mo gore as you attack your opponents, or you can just try to aim the cross-hairs and pull the trigger as fast as possible. Both can be effective depending on the situation. I haven't felt so fully immersed in a games' world in, well, maybe never. The game also has an awesome dark, dry sense of humor going on, both in the dialogue and in some of the ridiculously over-the-top things you can do in the crazy lawless post-nuclear apocalypse setting. I've played it for over 60 hours and I'm still not finished with my initial play-through, let alone the 5 expansions included on the second disc of the game of the year edition, so the amount of bang for your buck you can get is unbelievable for a one-player game. I've heard that you can rush through the game if you focus on the main quest, but I've spent my time searching and exploring the world. I've barely even scratched the surface of the main quest. My only gripe about this awesome game would be the amount of time that one spends looting and searching through rooms and boxes. It really does account for probably 60% of my gametime, if not more when I add in all the time I spend on inventory management, but I can pretty much sum up what makes this game so great like this: I have yet to sit and play for 3-4 hours and not stumble upon something awesome, whether its a ridiculous settlement, plot-line, new ability, weapon, etc. Sure, I can spend an hour or two wandering aimlessly, but in the end it always seems to pay-off. A super cool game, not for everyone, but one that most RPG fans, especially ones with a little bit of a dark sense of humor and an appreciation for the odd and the absurd, will probably love. Expand
  58. PeterL.
    Nov 11, 2008
    10
    This Game doesent only live up to the hype it build up since Bethesda previously created Oblivion it Blows up the hype it is just an incredible experience. So many choices every little thing you do will come back to help or haunt you. Either finding a dog to assist you in the wasteland or finding secret weapons that will own the bigger guys... If you have a choice between fable 2 and this This Game doesent only live up to the hype it build up since Bethesda previously created Oblivion it Blows up the hype it is just an incredible experience. So many choices every little thing you do will come back to help or haunt you. Either finding a dog to assist you in the wasteland or finding secret weapons that will own the bigger guys... If you have a choice between fable 2 and this masterpiece. it is Fallout 3. Now before you go praising gears of war 2 like it is a epic masterpiece just put it next to fallout 3 and it is an absolute Failure. Go get this game right now.. - The Broken Gamer Expand
  59. GregM
    Nov 11, 2008
    10
    I have a feeling a lot of the idiots on this board scoring this game low were against it from the very beginning, and it might've been hand-delivered from God (or whomever you want) and they still would treat it like used toilet paper. I've been playing Fallout since it came out in 1998. I've been playing games since Zork. This game is incredibly immersive. It is not I have a feeling a lot of the idiots on this board scoring this game low were against it from the very beginning, and it might've been hand-delivered from God (or whomever you want) and they still would treat it like used toilet paper. I've been playing Fallout since it came out in 1998. I've been playing games since Zork. This game is incredibly immersive. It is not without fault. But it exceeded my expectations, and it is the most fun I've had on the Xbox. Expand
  60. Tjthegamer
    Nov 11, 2008
    10
    A great game. Although not perfect (I don't consider any game "perfect") Fallout 3 offers an experiance unlike any other game in it's genre. The perk system is genius, The story is great, and the V.A.T.S. system comes together perfectly. It's near endless exploration and hours of side missions will have you playing it for weeks on end. Fallout 3 feels and plays like only A great game. Although not perfect (I don't consider any game "perfect") Fallout 3 offers an experiance unlike any other game in it's genre. The perk system is genius, The story is great, and the V.A.T.S. system comes together perfectly. It's near endless exploration and hours of side missions will have you playing it for weeks on end. Fallout 3 feels and plays like only one other game: The Legend of Zelda. Expand
  61. DenizY
    Nov 16, 2008
    10
    Probably the best game I've played so far, definitely the best game of the year. The graphics are superb, the world is expansive and incredibly detailed (you can literally see for miles...), story is so immersible, the gameplay is actually enjoyable, very enjoyable in fact (unlike Oblivion), the style and dialogue is very good, and the theme is so friggin awesome (yes it's Probably the best game I've played so far, definitely the best game of the year. The graphics are superb, the world is expansive and incredibly detailed (you can literally see for miles...), story is so immersible, the gameplay is actually enjoyable, very enjoyable in fact (unlike Oblivion), the style and dialogue is very good, and the theme is so friggin awesome (yes it's supposed to be dark, gloomy, and various shades of gray and brown, it's a post-apocalyptic world you idiots!) There's so much to do and not enough time to do it. I've been playing it for close to 30 hours, not close to finishing the game, and I'm still hungry for more. Expand
  62. HagenM.
    Nov 17, 2008
    10
    I went into Fallout 3 expecting the perfect game. I did not find a perfect game but I found the closest thing to a perfect game since The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. This game has so much depth and gameplay that if anyone was talking about depth and gameplay, Fallout 3 could be used as a reference. From the amazing plot line to the creative and addictive ecstasy that is VATS, and I went into Fallout 3 expecting the perfect game. I did not find a perfect game but I found the closest thing to a perfect game since The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. This game has so much depth and gameplay that if anyone was talking about depth and gameplay, Fallout 3 could be used as a reference. From the amazing plot line to the creative and addictive ecstasy that is VATS, and from the dialogue to the leveling system, this game has perfected nearly every aspect of an action RPG. The world may not be as massive as Oblivion, but it has so less wasted space. Nearly every inch of The Capitol Wasteland has some location, some vault, metrostation, or point of interst to explore. I beat the game 2 days after buying it, but spent the next 3 weeks playing the side quests., and I'm still exploring locations. The only flaws I found was that the game can be a little unimmerisve when the loading screens come up, and that the walking wasn't fixed from Oblivion. you still seem to slide around when in third-person. Fallout 3 is an experience in itself and if you consider yourself a fan of video-games, then you owe it to yourself to at least try this game. Expand
  63. EricT
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Corrected comments For anyone still looking to buy the game, here are a few Clarifications on the few low scores. "An incredibly dull game filled with bugs. I'm surprised that they've released it in the stage that it's in. It's poor animation, terrible models poor conversation/storyline and extremely bad lighting are just a few things that make this game painful to Corrected comments For anyone still looking to buy the game, here are a few Clarifications on the few low scores. "An incredibly dull game filled with bugs. I'm surprised that they've released it in the stage that it's in. It's poor animation, terrible models poor conversation/storyline and extremely bad lighting are just a few things that make this game painful to play." There are as many bugs in this game as in any other top notch game, few and far between. The animation is better than any other sandbox game, and the dialogue is much better than almost any other game that I have played "Simple, linear, unoriginal narrative." There are 25+ quests plus many side "requests" that can be done in the game, and only 3 of the quests are required, not linear at all. "Tactical combat has been removed." Just because the game isn't turn based doesn't mean it isn't tatical. Sure, you could stand in the open on easy difficulty and mow down enemies, or you could turn up the difficulty and use cover, stealth, and your allies. "In Fallout 3, you can shoot nuclear-powered cars with your nuclear catapult (early in the game...), in a town built around an unexploded nuclear bomb." Yes this is true, you can shoot a mini-nuke launcher. Before the war, cars had been powered by nuclear reactors, so for some strange reason, someone hadn't gone through the entire world and removed the engine from every car. There is a town around a dud nuclear bomb because it was dropped out of a plane from low orbit and still didn't detonate. It made an ideal crater for a town. "Much of the crowded (who would have thought nuclear winter would be so claustrophobic?) "wasteland" is sloppily and lazily copy-pasted from place to place." Nuclear winter has worn off during the 200+ years after the Great War. Just because there was a nuclear war doesn't mean that people will never be able to live on the surface. If the wasteland is really just copy-pasted from place to place, how come every building is different and the view from each hill is different. Also, look around you home, do any things look the same. I know that I see houses that look almost identical and cars which are identical every day. "Play first Fallout and Fallout2 ignoring the graphics and then play Fallout3.Only then you will realise how bad this game is.Most gaming sites have either no idea what they are talking about or have been paid well to write these ridiculous reviews." First of all, the game is almost completly different from Fallout and Fallout 2, so there is no way to compare them. Look at Warcraft and World of Warcraft. They are completly different games and there is no way to say which is better. The same is true for Fallout 3. "V.A.T.S. is an interesting concept but it should not take two point blank headshots to kill someone. Free aim is sloppy. The graphics look washed out even in high def and the skin tones are off. " First of all, in many games a headshot isn't a one hit kill. all Halo games, all COD games, all GTA games, Gears 1&2, all Perfect Dark games, all Bond games, Counter Strike, and many, many more. Free aim is only sloppy if you don't know how to use the two little stick things on your controller. The graphics are far better than any other sandbox games, and better than most scripted games. There is no way that skin tones can be off given the fact that every person's skin is a different color. Also, it is a radiation soaked world, and there is a very good chance that skin color could be affected, concidering the insane mutations occuring to other creatures. Expand
  64. JasonF
    Nov 6, 2008
    10
    This game has a ton to offer you. A cool story and an immense world to delve into and a character that can be whatever you want. You can lug around giant guns and sport badass armor, or play as a sneaky thief who likes setting land mines. There is so much to do and see in this game. Just when you think you have seen it all you stumble on another hidden gem. If you own a 360 then you have This game has a ton to offer you. A cool story and an immense world to delve into and a character that can be whatever you want. You can lug around giant guns and sport badass armor, or play as a sneaky thief who likes setting land mines. There is so much to do and see in this game. Just when you think you have seen it all you stumble on another hidden gem. If you own a 360 then you have to own this game. Expand
  65. AlbertW.
    Dec 28, 2008
    10
    This game is the bigger i've ever played, i didn't try the first 2 games, but come on!! bethesda is a master on this area in videogames, yes you spend a lot of hours and may can be quite TEDIOUS, but BORING?? you can go and play something like viva pinata or lips, etc... this is a game for real gamers, is satisfying to finish the game and all the quests i can recommend this This game is the bigger i've ever played, i didn't try the first 2 games, but come on!! bethesda is a master on this area in videogames, yes you spend a lot of hours and may can be quite TEDIOUS, but BORING?? you can go and play something like viva pinata or lips, etc... this is a game for real gamers, is satisfying to finish the game and all the quests i can recommend this masterpiece to all the people who like action, adventures, blood... i say the same as Gary IS AN AMAZING GAME!! (also said by all the critics who gave it universal acclaim) YOU MUST HAVE IT! Expand
  66. Maou
    Oct 28, 2008
    10
    Amazing game, I can't stop playing it. Has some bugs/flaws, but I'm sure will be taken care of, even if not it's still one I can't put down. It's not perfect but then no game is, but it's everything I expected it to be and more! Not sure why people compare it to Oblivion, other than using the same engine (but more advanced) the games are really nothing alike. Amazing game, I can't stop playing it. Has some bugs/flaws, but I'm sure will be taken care of, even if not it's still one I can't put down. It's not perfect but then no game is, but it's everything I expected it to be and more! Not sure why people compare it to Oblivion, other than using the same engine (but more advanced) the games are really nothing alike. Story, environment, leveling, etc are completely different. Collapse
  67. NickB
    Oct 28, 2008
    10
    I'm blown away.....best experience I've had since Mass Effect, and this game is in fact better than that title, which was itself a+. Fallout 3 is the first game in years to really make me feel the environment and the setting.....startlingly addictive and immersive RPG. A must have!
  68. StuartS.
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    This game is fantastic. Good balance between clear narrative and open play. Early on, you get a taste for how much control over the play style you have, and I'm totally hooked. I think my work performance today is telling of my addiction.
  69. ErikP
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    Look I'm not going to straight review this game, but everyone needs to stop comparing it to Bioshock. You should be comparing Bioshock to it considering Fallout is an old series. Especially you reviewers get a life if you don't like this game. It may be your opinion, but your opinion is wack.On the same note Bioshock was a good game, but not worth playing more than once. Mass Look I'm not going to straight review this game, but everyone needs to stop comparing it to Bioshock. You should be comparing Bioshock to it considering Fallout is an old series. Especially you reviewers get a life if you don't like this game. It may be your opinion, but your opinion is wack.On the same note Bioshock was a good game, but not worth playing more than once. Mass Effect was a great game, but it's negative outweighed its positives. It got boring. Fallout 3 is nowhere near getting boring and it definitely will have great replay qualities. From the engrossing storyline that only gives little by little to keep you wondering. To the humorous and serious interactions with NPC'S. To the guy on the side of the road looking for purified water. It's a great game don't let critics throw you from the beaten path on playing Fallout 3. Expand
  70. SanzeeMan
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    I bought Fallout 3 a few days ago and have been playing it ever since. I skipped almost all sidequests because I was interested in the story. Now that I've played through this game, I can honestly say WOW. Every aspect of this game is superb. Concept, Graphics, Sound, Gameplay, Technical, Story, everything totally kicks @ss. Truly has it earned Game of the Year in my eyes. Bethesda,I bought Fallout 3 a few days ago and have been playing it ever since. I skipped almost all sidequests because I was interested in the story. Now that I've played through this game, I can honestly say WOW. Every aspect of this game is superb. Concept, Graphics, Sound, Gameplay, Technical, Story, everything totally kicks @ss. Truly has it earned Game of the Year in my eyes. Bethesda, you've done it again! Expand
  71. [Anonymous]
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    Great graphics, intense and almsot non-stop combat system, and if you get the "bloody mess" perk, lol. Prepare for some hilerious V.A.T.S. moments, especially when it traces your bullets all the way to the enemy's skull and then proceeds to split it into a billion little pieces. Brutal, and incredibly satisfying.
  72. DavidD
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    Simply an amazing gaming experience that captivates and immerses you into another time and place.
  73. WilliamH
    Dec 3, 2009
    10
    From the deep atmospheric elements to the expansive world to the massive customization, this game is something everyone needs to try at least once.
  74. noahanderson
    Jan 27, 2009
    10
    this is my favorite game for any platform i have put in over 100 hours and if you buy the guide it helps you through thick and thin while you shoot your way to where you need to go and the thing that throws it past a 10 is VATS it will blow your mind this is a must get game no matter who you are you will continuosly play it until you beat it
  75. CassK
    Mar 26, 2009
    10
    I personally loved the game. I read some other reviews from other people and I agree with most, but yet the ones who rate 0 and such and complain about traveling, well don't you think it would get rather boring just being able to go every where right away? Ever hear about a challenge? Or how the scenery was 'boring' well um its an apocalyptic WASTELAND after being fucking I personally loved the game. I read some other reviews from other people and I agree with most, but yet the ones who rate 0 and such and complain about traveling, well don't you think it would get rather boring just being able to go every where right away? Ever hear about a challenge? Or how the scenery was 'boring' well um its an apocalyptic WASTELAND after being fucking nuked. I'm sure the world would look similar to that so I applaud the scenery because its how it would really look. So but all in all, I enjoyed the graphics actually some glitches yes, not everything is perfect. I like VATS because I'm not much into shooters myself since I have slow reaction time so it helps me. and I love RPGs and this is one of the best I've ever played. Oh and I love the dog you find at the scrapyard dog meat. Expand
  76. Gary
    Mar 26, 2009
    10
    Probably one of the best games I have ever played, overall. There are a few little bugs but they are so slight compared to all the great things about this game. I think the best part about this game is the rich atmosphere, environment, and aesthetic. The gameplay and combat are good and the quests are fun and varied. The actual story part of the game probably only makes up 20% of all that Probably one of the best games I have ever played, overall. There are a few little bugs but they are so slight compared to all the great things about this game. I think the best part about this game is the rich atmosphere, environment, and aesthetic. The gameplay and combat are good and the quests are fun and varied. The actual story part of the game probably only makes up 20% of all that this game has to offer so you get your money's worth. I think everyone needs to at least try this game. Expand
  77. BrandonF
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    I wish I could reply to comments given by people, reply to opinions offered after only a few hours of gameplay into a game which is at least 30-40 hours long without downloadable content if you soak in the ride. The graphics are stunning, like another said, the load times are so short for a game of this size. People, you can't be looking for smooth walking or physics abiding I wish I could reply to comments given by people, reply to opinions offered after only a few hours of gameplay into a game which is at least 30-40 hours long without downloadable content if you soak in the ride. The graphics are stunning, like another said, the load times are so short for a game of this size. People, you can't be looking for smooth walking or physics abiding crouching, that's not what this game is about, if you want a stunning visual FPS play Bioshock (highly recommended), but Fallout 3 is by no means a bad game, it is easily one of the best games on the Xbox 360 and wasn't ported so should be just as great on the PC. If you haven't played the game in its entirety you are doing yourself a disservice and if you haven't played it and score it low you are doing others a disservice by spooning them your ignorant opinions. If you have played it and scored it low that's your call. I however; love this game. It has its flaws and you really have to immerse yourself in the game to get everything out of it. The first time I played i HATED it, couldn't stand the story and the difficulty, but give it time and it'll court you like a 16th century prince. Expand
  78. DouglasM.
    Nov 15, 2008
    10
    Although a little disappointed in the ending this game is amazing, immersable, and and absolute joy to play and even an somewhat disappointing ending wont keep me from playing this game for a long time.
  79. SeanAndersen
    Nov 28, 2008
    10
    Nothing short of amazing, the world is so vast and so elaborate with minute details. This game is a must buy for so many different video game players. Will easily hold your interest for 100+ hours. Their does seem to be a few glitches here and there, but nothing game breaking that could hurt the score. The biggest downfall of this game is likely that it is so good it might make youNothing short of amazing, the world is so vast and so elaborate with minute details. This game is a must buy for so many different video game players. Will easily hold your interest for 100+ hours. Their does seem to be a few glitches here and there, but nothing game breaking that could hurt the score. The biggest downfall of this game is likely that it is so good it might make you late to work. Expand
  80. GaryR.
    Dec 14, 2008
    10
    A true masterpiece. I've never played the previous Fallout games, so I can't say whether this game has stayed true to the series. For me, this game is rock solid. I have put in over 50 hours and continue to be amazed at the level of detail this game has. Anyone that gives it a low score probably just doesn't like games like this....or is an idiot. This is an amazing game!
  81. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    Fallout 3 masterfully creates a parallel universe for players to explore and lose dozens of hours in. No other game of this console generation comes close to offering the amount of content, freedom of choice, and level of immersion that can be found here.
  82. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    An excellent game in the development of weapons and skills
    But the only problem is walking! Hero does not walk never walk normally!
    The story is great grandfather and so many weapons and too many drugs and beam in some cases not be a good situation
    For the transmission of a new era needs for a long time.
    by / adil khojah saudi arabia jeddah city
  83. Oct 8, 2010
    10
    Loved this game. preordered it and awaited its arrival. loved it straight away. i've replayed it more than oblivion, i find it easier to take off from where i left it than oblivion where i feel i have to start a new character. rather than fast travel i wish there was the option of some sort of vehicle to pilot but i guess the terrain in the game would not be able to support this. i likeLoved this game. preordered it and awaited its arrival. loved it straight away. i've replayed it more than oblivion, i find it easier to take off from where i left it than oblivion where i feel i have to start a new character. rather than fast travel i wish there was the option of some sort of vehicle to pilot but i guess the terrain in the game would not be able to support this. i like the fact you can spend hours walking. see things in the distance and travel towards them and the level of if i can say "realism" in that travel from A to B of the obstacles you might encounter in between. Expand
  84. Sep 9, 2010
    10
    A wonderfully immersive game. If you're looking for an escape from reality for a good month or so pick this game up. Sometimes while playing I became sidetracked from where I intended to go and ended up exploring a random building for hours without realizing how much time went by. The introduction of the VATS allows the player to get much more use and variation from the many differentA wonderfully immersive game. If you're looking for an escape from reality for a good month or so pick this game up. Sometimes while playing I became sidetracked from where I intended to go and ended up exploring a random building for hours without realizing how much time went by. The introduction of the VATS allows the player to get much more use and variation from the many different weapons in the game, increasing the depth of the story and the fallout world. The character development will be different for those (like myself) who played the game after all the DLC came out. I was able to level up my character evenly although it is possible to level up first as a stealthy sniper or a brutal close range melee fighter (to name just two) before leveling other attributes. Much like life, everything in this game decays over time. You will always have to fix your equipment and sometimes your companions will die and not come back. My advice is to just sit back and let the game take you where it wants to go. Expand
  85. Sep 29, 2010
    10
    Epic classic game the likes of which has yet to be betterd.I have played through this game several times and thoroughly enjoyed every play-through.All in all I,d recommend this great game to anyone.
  86. Sep 16, 2010
    10
    First of all, does this game deserve a 10? No, but it deserves a 9.5 to me, and that rounds to 10. Why?

    Gameplay - 10 Truly immerses you into the post apocalyptic environment. You feel like you can't do anything because you lack resources. Story is great, as are side quests. Playability - 9 Controls are nice, but not quite FPS material. They seem a bit jerky and you find yourself relying
    First of all, does this game deserve a 10? No, but it deserves a 9.5 to me, and that rounds to 10. Why?

    Gameplay - 10
    Truly immerses you into the post apocalyptic environment. You feel like you can't do anything because you lack resources. Story is great, as are side quests.
    Playability - 9
    Controls are nice, but not quite FPS material. They seem a bit jerky and you find yourself relying on VATS more than you should. Difficulty isn't bad on normal. Difficult enemies can be quite difficult if not handled correctly, easy enemies can be dangerous if you aren't paying attention.
    Replayability - 10
    I have put more time into this game than any other. Once as an evil character and as a good character. It is really fun, even after you have beaten it. Especially if you have some expansions.

    If you find this game boring, you most likely need to let it grow on you. I have a brother who quit this game, but then came back in a year for no particular reason and "fell in love with it". My friend did the same thing. They didn't understand the whole, conserving resources concept and couldn't sustain enough resources to be able to leave Megaton. So they grew tired of lacking ammo and health and then quit. Now they both have completed the game (Took them twice as long as me, but that is what happens when you need to get over that learning curve and steer away from FPS's like CoD.). Play a real game like this instead of games for the simple minded like CoD or Halo and you might just never turn back.
    Expand
  87. Sep 20, 2010
    10
    I felt a sense of accomplishment. But then again I don't feel the need for a "100% completion score." It can be done without much hassle, though. Very fun game - I really liked Oblivion and I loved playing Fallout and Fallout 2 as a kid so that engine with that story was nice. Can't wait for New Vegas.
  88. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    Best fallout ever made so far.Fallout 3 has allot of great dlc,and the graphics and story are superb.if you love rpg's and fps's you'll feel right at home with fallout 3.
  89. Oct 16, 2010
    10
    This game was amazing. There is just so many things to do in Fallout 3. I have personally already played this game, and all the DLC:s through many times, and I still love them.Fallout 3 may actually be my favorite game of all time.If you own an Xbox 360,PS3 or a good PC,you must buy this game.
  90. Nov 5, 2010
    10
    This game is amazing. The world is huge and there is so much to do. I felt like the world was really alive and truly felt like I was in a post-apocalyptic DC. The graphics are great and the music is great. There are some very memorable characters found in Fallout world and overall the story is very good. And the gameplay is great! It is so much fun to explore the wasteland. Do notThis game is amazing. The world is huge and there is so much to do. I felt like the world was really alive and truly felt like I was in a post-apocalyptic DC. The graphics are great and the music is great. There are some very memorable characters found in Fallout world and overall the story is very good. And the gameplay is great! It is so much fun to explore the wasteland. Do not miss this game! Expand
  91. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = This game has frozen on me a total of 36 times, but you know what?? Despite all of it's issues it still manages to be one of the best games ever made!! Excellent atmosphere, amazing design.
  92. Jul 12, 2011
    10
    Ok. This game is AWSOME! Yes, the game has it flaws. Many of them too. Damn many. But that cant drag the game down. It is just too good. Yes, it is like it was made to be buggy. Yes, the thing that you cant chose how the ending shall be is also very bad. Ad that you cant support the bad guys in an winning way. But it cant drag it down. It is just too good. First time you play the game, youOk. This game is AWSOME! Yes, the game has it flaws. Many of them too. Damn many. But that cant drag the game down. It is just too good. Yes, it is like it was made to be buggy. Yes, the thing that you cant chose how the ending shall be is also very bad. Ad that you cant support the bad guys in an winning way. But it cant drag it down. It is just too good. First time you play the game, you will play it without thinking about how long you have played. And neither will you the 4 next times. The game has still very many flaws, but it is not bug enough to destroy for it. It is the best game i have played. Not my favorite game, but the best still. That is with the Broken Steel pack. Without it is kinda a downturn at the end. But still, it deserves a Expand
  93. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    First off the other people saying the game has a short plot it is true, but the purpose of the game are also the side quest which are extremely interesting. Your not just supposed to fly through the campaign in 6 hours, do side quest and make the game last for weeks, savoring the true greatness of fallout. There is no other game like it and it is defenitely one of my favorite games I haveFirst off the other people saying the game has a short plot it is true, but the purpose of the game are also the side quest which are extremely interesting. Your not just supposed to fly through the campaign in 6 hours, do side quest and make the game last for weeks, savoring the true greatness of fallout. There is no other game like it and it is defenitely one of my favorite games I have owned, which is over 150 games. Expand
  94. Jan 22, 2011
    10
    I love this game. Love it. Just my favorite game of ALL time. Well besides Black Ops & Reach. Please do yourself a giant favor and go pick this game up. The mechanics are just wonderful, the game play is addictive, but the graphics need a little work, but I don't give damn. I love it!
  95. Feb 4, 2011
    10
    Fallout 3 is one of the best experiences I have ever had with a video game, the graphics are AMAZING and still highly impressive even by todays standards, voice acting is top notch, and sound effects and music are outstanding, the quests are amazing, this game has stolen over 200 hours of my life and I still want more, my only complaints are that it has some bugs and glitches, but in theFallout 3 is one of the best experiences I have ever had with a video game, the graphics are AMAZING and still highly impressive even by todays standards, voice acting is top notch, and sound effects and music are outstanding, the quests are amazing, this game has stolen over 200 hours of my life and I still want more, my only complaints are that it has some bugs and glitches, but in the end they don't hinder the experience at all, I highly recommend this game to any and all gamers, it is an adventure that must be experienced by everyone. Expand
  96. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    perfect. the perfect game really.

    anyone who says it's too short, should go play pac man. the point of the game and it's ilk is exploration.

    I still play.
  97. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    This game is NOT an FPS. When going into you need to realize that Fallout has a long and great history and that its history is Turn Based play. This is where VATS comes in. They have created a great mix of the old Turn Based style play with the speed of FPS. The game has great visuals, a large and diverse environment that will always be giving you something to do. There is no shortage ofThis game is NOT an FPS. When going into you need to realize that Fallout has a long and great history and that its history is Turn Based play. This is where VATS comes in. They have created a great mix of the old Turn Based style play with the speed of FPS. The game has great visuals, a large and diverse environment that will always be giving you something to do. There is no shortage of side quests to keep you busy and you will probably beat the game without exploring 75% of what the game has to offer. I recommend at least getting Brotherhood of Steel DLC as it really opens the game up (literally) and adds a lot of great features. (Best to get the GOTY version) Expand
  98. Mar 6, 2011
    10
    Yes some of the character animation isn't great - human anyway - but switching to first person view helps.
    This games has offered me more hours of entertainment than any other, and that includes some of the big titles from 2010. The open ended exploration coupled with the enemy AI make this game so exciting to play: enemies will not simply wait for you - they will come after you. There is
    Yes some of the character animation isn't great - human anyway - but switching to first person view helps.
    This games has offered me more hours of entertainment than any other, and that includes some of the big titles from 2010. The open ended exploration coupled with the enemy AI make this game so exciting to play: enemies will not simply wait for you - they will come after you. There is also great variety in the gameplay, so many ways to kill or be killed.
    Expand
  99. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    A surreal and immersive post-apocalyptic experience. Everything about this game is excellent, from the story to the interface to the controls to the gameplay to the graphics. It is fun, challenging, rewarding and interesting. The world map is large and not easily traversed, but the sense of accomplishment you get from venturing further and further into the Wasteland is very satisfying.A surreal and immersive post-apocalyptic experience. Everything about this game is excellent, from the story to the interface to the controls to the gameplay to the graphics. It is fun, challenging, rewarding and interesting. The world map is large and not easily traversed, but the sense of accomplishment you get from venturing further and further into the Wasteland is very satisfying. While being completely open-ended, there is enough direction to keep you on the right track, along with enough distraction to keep your mindlessly entertained when you don't feel like doing anything in particular. Fallout 3 is very similar to Oblivion (because it runs on the same engine), but with a number of extra elements that make certain aspects of it far more entertaining. Combat in Fallout is a lot of fun, although aiming can be difficult, so you will almost certainly become reliant on the V.A.T.S. turn-based aiming system. Inventory is a similar to Oblivion, in that you don't mind it until you are overburdened. Then, you hate it. Dialogue is somewhat force and stilted, but generally entertaining and varied. The level system is FAR superior to Oblivion's skill use-based system, with actual experience points gained from completing mission and killing enemies determining when you level. The real appeal of Fallout 3, though, is that you can just play and play in whatever fashion you want, for hours and hours, in a fascinating, detailed and somewhat frightening world. Expand
  100. Oct 10, 2011
    10
    What ever your opinion on Fallout games before this, you need to rethink your ideas. If you thought oblivion was good (or bad) there is no denying this is an excellent game. If your not sure whether to but this game, let me put it to you this way WWW.AMAZON.COM, £15, thats it for a thirty hour game and five peices of DLC worth 800msp each. Although it can be frustrating atWhat ever your opinion on Fallout games before this, you need to rethink your ideas. If you thought oblivion was good (or bad) there is no denying this is an excellent game. If your not sure whether to but this game, let me put it to you this way WWW.AMAZON.COM, £15, thats it for a thirty hour game and five peices of DLC worth 800msp each. Although it can be frustrating at times and sometimes youll want to puch your console for megafailing at killing a deathclaw and i can tell you before you do something you may regret SAVE, i can tell you how much i've wanted to kill everyone in the game but to do that would be foolish,not if you had a save before though... either way this game is unquestionably good and for everyone ou there, all you have to do is install and no more bugs/glitches!!! FALOUT FTW!!! Expand
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 84 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 84
  2. Negative: 0 out of 84
  1. Fallout 3 is an experience in itself, and while it may not offer as much replay value as Oblivion, it’s so much more then an “Oblivion with guns”.
  2. 90
    From the hollow wind blowing down through subway tunnels, to the radioactive dust clouds swirling throughout the wasteland, up to the buzzards circling the encampment where the bodies of 30 slave traders lie; Fallout 3 is as much a game as it is a training sim for the coming apocalypse.
  3. In fact, Fallout 3 is leaner and meaner than Bethesda's previous efforts, less expansive but more intense, while still offering immense replay value and quite a few thrills along the way.