Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. 72
    Although you can't go back to Sierra Madre after you have completed it once, the campaign length is decent and it's certainly worth it the first time through.
  2. Jan 31, 2011
    70
    Dead Money has clearly been made for New Vegas veterans, it offers great longevity and ask you to forgive its trial and error structure. If you are a veteran and you like to try and fail, you should give this DLC a try.
  3. Jan 23, 2011
    70
    Dead Money is a good DLC that expands the New Vegas experience. It has great dialogs and a great script, but its difficulty is completely unbalanced.
  4. Jan 18, 2011
    70
    The RPG aspect is so dominant that we forgive the technical issues and the lack of artistic ambition […] Deep but ugly, the sign of games that last.
  5. 70
    The visuals get older by the day, and the dialog doesn't match the quality from the main game. But if you liked New Vegas, you're bound to enjoy Dead Money as well. The story is quite good, and there's enough new ideas here to make the overall experience feel satisfyingly different from your previous escapades in the Nevada desert.
  6. Dec 29, 2010
    70
    Dead Money proves to be a worthy DLC that will surely keep fans busy for a few hours, but if you're not among them the excessive routine of the adventure, especially in the first few hours, might lead to some disappointment.
  7. Dec 24, 2010
    70
    While Dead Money justifies its 800 Microsoft Point price tag in terms of quantity, the quality isn't quite there.
  8. Dec 22, 2010
    70
    Ultimately, while Dead Money is a pretty fun affair, it doesn't really have the "wow" factor a few of the DLC packs did in Fallout 3. While the three hours it took to complete is on the longer side for downloadable content, I'm not really sure Dead Money is worth the full $10 asking price.
  9. Jan 13, 2011
    67
    It's not a terrible deal at around five hours for 10 bucks, but you'll certainly come away hoping that the next New Vegas expansion tries a little harder to temper its idiosyncrasies.
  10. Jan 4, 2011
    65
    Trial-and-error frustrations diminish the impact of this add-on's great characters and dialogue.
  11. Dec 23, 2010
    65
    With a level cap raise and an interesting (but at times tedious) 4 to 6-hour quest line, this add-on can be worth the money if you're into survival horror.
  12. Jan 12, 2011
    60
    For all its Bioshock-inspired environments Dead Money falls short delivering on its premise. At 800 points for an eight-hour adventure it's certainly value for money but when the quantity far outweighs the quality then this is one adventure you can miss.
  13. Jan 10, 2011
    60
    I'm curious if Obsidian led off with their weakest Fallout Vegas add-on pack as the repetitive, frustrating gameplay emphasizes the weaker elements of Fallout: New Vegas and seems even more buggy than the actual game. Raising the level cap by 5 does help extend the life of the first game though, even if the add-on pack is on the average side.
  14. 60
    A much more ambitious slice of downloadable content than many, but in the end one that fails to take advantage of its own, or the main game's, best features.
  15. Jan 28, 2011
    50
    Some pretty bad bugs cropped up and the collar is really annoying at times. I did like the characters in the game and the story isn't too bad as well. It's better than Mothership Zeta for Fallout 3, but those that played that know it's not saying much.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 30
  2. Negative: 8 out of 30
  1. Dec 30, 2010
    4
    Huge Fallout 3 and F:NV fan here, and I have to say that for the first time, playing this game felt like a chore. Dreary, unattractiveHuge Fallout 3 and F:NV fan here, and I have to say that for the first time, playing this game felt like a chore. Dreary, unattractive settings, repetitive gameplay, and a difficulty curve that just gets stupidly hard and frustrating. Most of the devices designed to build tension - the poisonous fog, the stupid beeping collars - are just irritating. Full Review »
  2. Dec 26, 2010
    7
    Dead money is a tough quest thatâ
  3. Jan 9, 2011
    4
    While I truly love Fallout New Vegas, I'd recommend taking a pass on this expansion. The setting/technology is interesting, the story behindWhile I truly love Fallout New Vegas, I'd recommend taking a pass on this expansion. The setting/technology is interesting, the story behind everything is compelling ( and tragic ) and your temporary companions have good back-stories and voice acting. The rest of the game is a void of tedious suckage scrambling around a bleak resort designed for agoraphobics reminiscent of the subways you had to traverse in the previous Fallout 3. This actually could have been an excellent expansion, but my guess is that during development there were complaints that people were completing it too quickly. It was obviously too late to make extra content, so instead they introduced no less than seven plot elements designed specifically to slow your progress to a crawl. Those extra hours of gameplay they've stretched in are not enjoyable ones. Be prepared to reload often due to your untimely death happening with alarming frequency. And while there were new weapons and gear, none of it was as good as the stuff I already had from playing the regular game. At most, it provides extra money - but that was never a problem in New Vegas either. The new perks went unused as well. Full Review »