User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 70
  2. Negative: 7 out of 70

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 30, 2011
    6
    The content I have waited for so long for is finally out, but it does not seem like the time was well spent. It starts by trying to give you a story or reason as to why you should travel to this land, and, as with all things in a wasteland, that falls to pieces. Then you meet "The burned man" in a very anticlimactic way. You just sort of meet him. Its not this epic encounter I was hopingThe content I have waited for so long for is finally out, but it does not seem like the time was well spent. It starts by trying to give you a story or reason as to why you should travel to this land, and, as with all things in a wasteland, that falls to pieces. Then you meet "The burned man" in a very anticlimactic way. You just sort of meet him. Its not this epic encounter I was hoping for with a man, much like that legate, in the Grand Canyon, and, in a way, this meeting represents the whole of Honest Hearts. There are things you think would be more fulfilling then they are. Zion is a huge addition, but there is no incentive to explore, especially when most places are caves or campsites because any new weapons are on enemies you will find just doing the story, and there are few new items of interest. The story is also kind of boring. As with everything in Fallout, there is a choice at the end, but the possible plans at the end seem so different tactically that it surprised me that any set up I did before hand applied to both, and that when I was pushed to make a decision I could say I wasn't ready, save, and play both possibilities very easily. In the end, it seemed like there was plenty of room for more content, and those big moments Fallout has done so well, but they did not take them. For an add on that took this long, it felt rushed. Expand
  2. Jun 1, 2011
    6
    Honest Hearts introduces a pretty cool new area with a few worthwhile areas to explore but suffers from lackluster characters and a boring, uninspired story. Outside of a few decent weapons, perks, the increased level cap and some new enemies to fight, there is not much in this DLC pack that the average Fallout player will be interested in. -------The story is easily the weakest part ofHonest Hearts introduces a pretty cool new area with a few worthwhile areas to explore but suffers from lackluster characters and a boring, uninspired story. Outside of a few decent weapons, perks, the increased level cap and some new enemies to fight, there is not much in this DLC pack that the average Fallout player will be interested in. -------The story is easily the weakest part of this expansion. It consists of you getting stranded in Zion National Park in Utah and helping out the local tribes in order to return to the Mojave. While at first I was interested in this DLC because it included the Burned Man, they totally dropped the ball in including anything interesting or worthwhile surrounding his history and his background. Zion itself is the strongest part of this DLC. Zion is a unique area and quite large, though many of its locations are nothing more than barren campsites. For the dedicated explorer, there are terminals spread across several caves (I have not found all of them) telling the story of a survivor in Zion which is pretty interesting. There are a few new weapons, some of which may be as good or better than what you can find in the Mojave and Honest Hearts also sees the return of the Yao Guai. Expand
  3. May 18, 2011
    5
    Too short, too boring sums up what I think of Honest Hearts. Maybe four short main quest, all of them fetch until the final showdown. The scenery is nice, and the new outfits and weapons are cool, it's the thin story that lets this dlc down.
  4. Sep 16, 2011
    5
    I found this DLC a waste of time. The only benefit I found was levelling my character up a bit more but it added nothing to my game play experience. The creatures and people were repetitive and the scenery all seemed the same.
  5. May 27, 2011
    7
    I'd heard a lot about Dead Money being frustrating and all, so I decided not to buy it. But I heard that the second piece of DLC for New Vegas would be pretty good, so I decided to buy it. And yes, the reviewers are correct in the sense that the story is weak and the companions are repetitive. However, it has a few decent side quests and there are some neat combat sections. Plus, the newI'd heard a lot about Dead Money being frustrating and all, so I decided not to buy it. But I heard that the second piece of DLC for New Vegas would be pretty good, so I decided to buy it. And yes, the reviewers are correct in the sense that the story is weak and the companions are repetitive. However, it has a few decent side quests and there are some neat combat sections. Plus, the new .45 weapons are nice and chunky. After the ending you may be left with just wilderness and all the named characters gone, but If you're a hardcore Fallout fan looking for another four or five hours to add onto your experience, I reccomend that you buy this. Expand
  6. Sep 19, 2011
    6
    Honest Hearts is an add-on of thoroughly middling quality, mostly due to length. I beat the entire DLC in one sitting, after getting home from work (I checked with the wiki, and I did in fact complete all non-mutually exclusive quests, not just the main storyline). While the change of setting is nice, most of the environment looks like it was made using old assets from Elder Scrolls IV:Honest Hearts is an add-on of thoroughly middling quality, mostly due to length. I beat the entire DLC in one sitting, after getting home from work (I checked with the wiki, and I did in fact complete all non-mutually exclusive quests, not just the main storyline). While the change of setting is nice, most of the environment looks like it was made using old assets from Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion, and the required mountain climbing is frequently tedious. The three new companions introduced constitute fully half of of the DLC's characters of consequence, and their Companion Perks are forgettable. The only compelling character in the DLC is on screen for perhaps 30 minutes. Many of the quests simply start in sequence, making your character's motivation for completing them unclear. The so-called final battle of the DLC mostly consists of running across the length of the map with fast travel disabled, killing small pockets NPCs that never present much of a threat. Adding to this, only two of the characters in the entire DLC have any sort of personality, the rest being generic tribals. While there is good loot to be had (especially for character who wish to focus on Light Armor), loot alone makes for a grind, not a fun experience, as anyone who played Fallout 3's Operation Anchorage can attest. If you only want one or two New Vegas DLCs, I would recommend against Honest Hearts. Expand
  7. Jul 23, 2011
    7
    Beautiful expansive vistas are somewhat dimmed by an uninspired storyline. The landscape in this expansion is gorgeous and like wandering through a national geographic documentary on the desert. Rich oranges and reds for the sandy landscape, a starry sky that goes on forever, and weather effects that aren't present in the regular game. The downside of all the nature of course is that theBeautiful expansive vistas are somewhat dimmed by an uninspired storyline. The landscape in this expansion is gorgeous and like wandering through a national geographic documentary on the desert. Rich oranges and reds for the sandy landscape, a starry sky that goes on forever, and weather effects that aren't present in the regular game. The downside of all the nature of course is that the interiors are less than interesting and are mostly caves, and there is only so much you can do with caves. The storyline wasn't bad, but it wasn't good either and I couldn't help but think a western theme would have suited it better than a native one. So be prepared for an enjoyable game, but alas, not an exciting one. Expand
  8. Oct 23, 2011
    7
    Though the changing weather and story might be a little bit interesting, over time you realize that Zion is kind of a boring place. Still worth getting though.
  9. Aug 29, 2011
    5
    Honestly, I thought this DLC was boring. There's so much empty space and hardly any NPC interaction that you find yourself with a lack of interest. While Dead Money had it's flaws, at the end of the DLC, I thought the storyline, characters and setting were evocative and compelling. Honest Hearts doesn't feel like that, it feels empty and slow, but with a huge map and beautiful sceneryHonestly, I thought this DLC was boring. There's so much empty space and hardly any NPC interaction that you find yourself with a lack of interest. While Dead Money had it's flaws, at the end of the DLC, I thought the storyline, characters and setting were evocative and compelling. Honest Hearts doesn't feel like that, it feels empty and slow, but with a huge map and beautiful scenery (which is not like the Fallout universe at all). They could have done so much more to make this DLC worthwhile. I'd only recommend buying this if it happens to go on sale on Steam. Expand
  10. Oct 3, 2011
    7
    I played this when it came out. This DLC is decent, not good, not bad, but decent. I give it props for actually making an environment that I wanted to explore (Dead Money obviously didn't do that). The story while its a bit quirky and cliche it satisfies me at the moment. The one thing that I just love about the game is the new weapons. The M1911 and Tommy Gun are weapons you will useI played this when it came out. This DLC is decent, not good, not bad, but decent. I give it props for actually making an environment that I wanted to explore (Dead Money obviously didn't do that). The story while its a bit quirky and cliche it satisfies me at the moment. The one thing that I just love about the game is the new weapons. The M1911 and Tommy Gun are weapons you will use throughout the rest of your time in Fallout New Vegas. I was very happy with that. The things I weren't happy with was the very short campaign. I blew through it on Normal in just over 4 hours (I explored and completed all side quests as well). The ending was very reminiscent of New Vegas's ending, but like I said it satisfies me. The game could have gone into depth with some of the character though, I was really never attached to anyone or anything (except the Yao Guai, they were awesome in F3 and they're awesome in FNV). All in all this DLC is in the middle. 7/10 Collapse
  11. Jan 19, 2012
    6
    It was ok. The plot isnt interesting and I ignored it most of the time because of that. For 800 MS points, You get about 4-5 hours of gameplay, which isnt bad. I also didnt like how your companions were super powered, It took all of the challenge from the combat.
  12. Jun 7, 2012
    7
    I was put of by dead money because of the reviews of it. So I went to honest hearts instead. It was a good dlc but just a good dlc. It had a good story line. The quests were okay in it. A lot of animals are in this from fallout nw like geckos so nothing really new. I leveled up about 5 time in this dlc whith was really good. It was only like 2 hours long so its a very short dlc. Its notI was put of by dead money because of the reviews of it. So I went to honest hearts instead. It was a good dlc but just a good dlc. It had a good story line. The quests were okay in it. A lot of animals are in this from fallout nw like geckos so nothing really new. I leveled up about 5 time in this dlc whith was really good. It was only like 2 hours long so its a very short dlc. Its not as good as most dlc's in fallout but still is worth getting. Falloit New Vegas - Honest Hearts 7.3/10 Expand
  13. Mar 9, 2013
    7
    Honest Hearts was the second DLC that I played after Old World Blues, and being satisfied by the experiences I had playing the first one, I was willing to keep going with Honest Hearts. Unfortunately, I didn't quite feel so excited. Now, the environment in this game is quite wonderful, almost unique in it's own right to the landscape of the mojave wasteland. Unfortunately, the story pushesHonest Hearts was the second DLC that I played after Old World Blues, and being satisfied by the experiences I had playing the first one, I was willing to keep going with Honest Hearts. Unfortunately, I didn't quite feel so excited. Now, the environment in this game is quite wonderful, almost unique in it's own right to the landscape of the mojave wasteland. Unfortunately, the story pushes you into it's main quest so hard that you won't have enough time to smell the roses and look at the eerie canyon levels in the Navarro. And the story I couldn't quite follow either, thinking about it now it all became just thin air for me. While the context of it does follow towards old ways being fought in modern traditions, i.e. native americans using fully automatic assault rifles to defend their villages, and while it is quite interesting to see this change even after the destruction of pre-war society as a whole ,it gets annoying real quick to annihilate these bastards that seem to just pop out of the woodwork. Which also made me more inclined just to get this story done rather than suffer through all their consistent attacks and my consistent inability to sell all of the loot that I got because there is literally only one trader in this entire DLC. The Burned Man is interesting, having been mentioned only briefly in the original game, it was nice to actually meet him face to face. Despite his former duties as legate for the legionaires, I could see a new person in him, someone who'd rather build than destroy from now on. I just wish I could get more out of this game that I would believe could have offered me. AFter destroying the cliched villain (i forgot who he was as well), I suddenly came across the biggest bomb that you could do to make this game even less replayable. I found myself transported straight to the exit, with a chest full of all of the unique loot that either was equipped to unique characters or found on the map. WOW. that was too easy! I mean, I still wanted to give this game a chance, but I guess it decided it'd be better just to get the good stuff and go home. Yet, I still like Honest Hearts for at least being "Honest" about attempting to show us to a new world, but it didn't quite have the "Heart" for me to keep going on. Expand
  14. Nov 3, 2014
    7
    Fallout: New Vegas - Honest Hearts is a solid dlc. The best thing about this dlc is the compelling story. The main character of the story is The Burned Man. He's been mentioned in previous Fallout lore but you actually get to meet him and speak with him. He's one of the few Fallout characters that I love to converse with because he's interesting with an intriguing background. ThroughoutFallout: New Vegas - Honest Hearts is a solid dlc. The best thing about this dlc is the compelling story. The main character of the story is The Burned Man. He's been mentioned in previous Fallout lore but you actually get to meet him and speak with him. He's one of the few Fallout characters that I love to converse with because he's interesting with an intriguing background. Throughout the main questline, your character needs to help a couple small tribes survive and defend against an evil and powerful tribe. In the end you get to decide everyone's fate. The story is great, but I'm not to crazy about setting taking place in some canyons in Utah. I'm also not fond of the tribes because they are more barbaric and stuck in a different time period. This is a good dlc that offers more lore and interesting story to the game but that's about it. Expand
  15. Oct 3, 2011
    0
    I played this when it came out. This DLC is decent, not good, not bad, but decent. I give it props for actually making an environment that I wanted to explore (Dead Money obviously didn't do that). The story while its a bit quirky and cliche it satisfies me at the moment. The one thing that I just love about the game is the new weapons. The M1911 and Tommy Gun are weapons you will useI played this when it came out. This DLC is decent, not good, not bad, but decent. I give it props for actually making an environment that I wanted to explore (Dead Money obviously didn't do that). The story while its a bit quirky and cliche it satisfies me at the moment. The one thing that I just love about the game is the new weapons. The M1911 and Tommy Gun are weapons you will use throughout the rest of your time in Fallout New Vegas. I was very happy with that. The things I weren't happy with was the very short campaign. I blew through it on Normal in just over 4 hours (I explored and completed all side quests as well). The ending was very reminiscent of New Vegas's ending, but like I said it satisfies me. The game could have gone into depth with some of the character though, I was really never attached to anyone or anything (except the Yao Guai, they were awesome in F3 and they're awesome in FNV). All in all this DLC is in the middle. 7/10 Collapse
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Jan 4, 2012
    50
    With more time and attention given to the writing, characters, and quests, it could have been a very special experience. As it stands, it's a forgettable detour through Averagetown that strays from the exceptional content I've come to expect from New Vegas.
  2. Aug 12, 2011
    70
    While the journey into the rocky wild of Utah lacks the cleverness of 'Dead Money' or the excitement of 'New Vegas,' it will still please fans because it simply more Fallout.
  3. Games Master UK
    Jul 8, 2011
    57
    Unspectacular add-on for the rapidly ageing action-RPG. For hardcore fans only. [Aug 2011, p.95]