Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 41 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Lonesome Road, available in July, brings the courier's story full circle when you are contacted by the original Courier Six, a man by the name of Ulysses who refused to deliver the Platinum Chip at the start of New Vegas. In his transmission, Ulysses promises the answer as to why, but only if you take one last job –a job that leads you into the depths of the hurricane-swept canyons of the Divide, a landscape torn apart by earthquakes and violent storms. The road to the Divide is a long and treacherous one, and of the few to ever walk the road, none have ever returned. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Jan 23, 2012
    85
    After meeting Ulysses and bringing Lonesome Road to a close, I had nothing but admiration for the mysterious, exciting, brutal and beautiful trek I took through the ravaged remnants of the Divide. I greatly appreciated the change of pace and shift in tone away from the core content, and the events which transpired were a great way to cap off a massive, top-tier RPG like New Vegas.
  2. Sep 22, 2011
    75
    Overall Lonesome Road is a fairly standard romp through the world of Fallout, but I can't help but expect more out of the game's supposed final expansion. While the experience overall is enjoyable, other than the very end; after everything is said and done and your choice is made, there isn't anything truly exciting on offer on this DLC.
  3. Oct 6, 2011
    70
    Lonesome Road delivers on every level but creates more questions than it answers. For the fan, Lonesome Road offers a nice story line that will last for up to eight hours. It's just too linear, making it less enjoyable then some of the other downloadable content that's available for New Vegas.
  4. Oct 17, 2011
    65
    A smattering of memorable moments keep Fallout: New Vegas' final add-on from getting stuck in a morass of redundant dialogue.
  5. Oct 5, 2011
    60
    Viewed and played as a single chapter in the game's main story-arc, Lonesome Road is fairly enjoyable, but its blandness, lack of new enemies and uninspiring quests let it down.
  6. Oct 11, 2011
    52
    Lonesome Road seems appropriate only for the fans of the brand. Poor plot, repetitive gameplay and some technical issues don't make it a good bargain.
  7. A big disappointment. [Christmas 2011, p.113]

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    Best Fallout DLC I have EVER played, including the Fallout 3 DLC. Great storyline, great location, great characters and great weapon additions. Definitely worth the 800MSP for at least ten-twenty hours of gameplay. Collapse
  2. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    Excellent DLC. Great end to the FO:NV series. I couldn't ask for more from a DLC. Weapons & armor are great, as is the general atmosphere. The spoilers here are too heavy to discuss, but they do make an impact. Expand
  3. Feb 28, 2013
    9
    This turned out to be my favourite DLC, even though it's the shortest of the Add-on packs. It's very focused, so don’t expect many side quests to pop up during your travel through the Divide. The Divide itself is pretty cool, and it has a nice back story. There are also some cool new weapons and armours included, like the Arc wielder, the Red Glare (Divide signature weapon), and the Riot Gear armour (Special NCR Ranger armour). The story was also very good, so overall it’s a very good DLC pack, which I really enjoyed. Expand
  4. Oct 23, 2011
    8
    Although this DLC seems a little over worked at, it turned out to be a well rounded finish to the story of the Courier and the mysterious Courier-6. With new items, new quests, new locations and a nice finish to the continuing mystery surrounding the main character, the Courier, it will be placed on my list as a better than average DLC. If you really find yourself into the lore of Fallout, want some new places to go because the desert of the Mojave is getting boring or simply shoot stuff then this is the additional content for you! I also found myself going back to this additional content every now and then to do some hunting of the extremely dangerous monsters and it was great fun! Expand
  5. Nov 14, 2011
    7
    One of the best DLC's for Fallout New Vegas. The DLC adds a full games worth of content, it is also one of the most challenging DLC's I've played so far. Unlike the rest of the DLC's Lonesome Road is linear, but you can leave and come back at any time you want.

    The new weapons are very good, and my only concern is the high cost of purchasing these weapons.
    Expand
  6. Oct 3, 2011
    6
    Well what can I say other than what a disappointment. The first thing I can say about this DLC is that its frustrating, boring, and not too rewarding. This game does deliver more fallout gameplay. Good or bad, i'm a sucker for it. The three things I appreciate in this DLC are again the 5 additional levels that by the time i'm complete my courier will feel more like a god than a mailman. The additional weapons are also very cool, not a ton useful as I found myself using mostly my .50 cal, Tommy Gun, and Alien Blaster to plow through the hordes of annoying Tunnelers and Deathclaws. This game also brought forth ED-E or well a different one though, he was in the trailers. He is probably the most memorable character in the whole Fallout NV game, let alone the DLC. He spits out dialogue and boops and bleeps that strangely create a relationship. Ulysses is one annoying guy, the guy sounds like he has lung cancer and has a tremendous amount of dialogue that I have to bear through. This DLC is harder than Dead Money at certain parts. I played through Dead Money on Normal and only died 3 times, I played Lonesome road on Normal and have died close to 20 times. The developers also though hey lets piss on all of our fans and just throw handfuls of Deathclaws everywhere, not smart. The environments vary from boring walks on the "lonesome" highway, to interesting firefights in crashed skyscrapers, to wishy washy battles in bombed out towns. However i really felt at times that I was playing a poor version of Fallout 3 with an orange haze over everything. All in all the gameplay is there, its solid too. The story and new environments aren't. Sad to see this game go out on such a low note. Should have ended with Old World Blues. Guess we'll have to wait and see what's in store for us in the next Fallout, if there is one. 6/10 Expand
  7. Dec 5, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you enjoyed the previous DLC's for Fallout: New Vegas then you might find Lonesome Road to be a disappointment. First off, your reason to even venture The Divide is to find a guy you've never met, so you can answer for something that you (the player) never did. Lonesome Road tries to crowbar in a backstory for the player's character, The Courier, so he/she has a reason to meet with Ulysses, the main antagonist of Lonesome Road. Ulysses was the courier that left you with the job of bringing the Platinum Chip to Mr. House, something the player is aware of during the main quest, but this has very little to do with Ulysses's plans.

    Ulysses blames The Courier for accidentally bringing a device to The Divide, back when it was a supposed prosperous society. The device held launch codes that remotely detonated dormant warheads that laid underground throughout and brought devastation to The Divide. All of this, however, was unbeknownst to The Courier and to the player. This falls flat because of it, and throughout the DLC you'll be questioning why you're even continuing (other than the fact that you purchased it). The only upside to playing this DLC is ED-E. No, not your robot companion from the main game, technically. While it does seem to be the same robot, it is also a different one, sort of. This isn't explained well enough through dialogue but it boils down to this: same software, different hardware. Throughout your travels ED-E will occasionally play a recording of Dr. Whitley, his creator which gives you some insight into ED-E's history up to the point you encounter him at Primm (if you even do). The audio recordings are fun and interesting to listen to and ED-E does have a lot more personality here than in the main game. Unfortunately, this the only personality you'll get from any NPC in this DLC.

    It doesn't help that Ulysses is also **** crazy. When you first encounter him, or at least his voice via ED-E, he talks in vagueness and obscurity which is somewhat intriguing. However, a few conversations later you'll realize that Ulysses only talks vaguely and has very little to actually say. This was a major detachment from the game for me, as his dialogue became long and monotonous- it went nowhere. Even after meeting him face to face, his dialogue still felt padded as if whoever wrote his dialogue had to meet a quota of a certain number of pages of dialogue. And I still didn't even know why I made the trip!

    The ending doesn't offer much in the way of satisfaction, other than choosing to bomb either NCR, Legion or both, there's not really much payoff for what was a terrible build up anyway. The ending video leaves you questioning your entire journey through The Divide- whether or not you should have made it. While most of the ending was blabbering dribble like the rest of it, there was a small, tiny sliver of what it might have all meant. It shown a different light on the line that Fallout is known for- War. War never changes. But men can change. While I think this would have been a decent wrap up and end to the DLC, they never truly got the point across. Unfortunately, the only thing that needs to change, is their writing. Other than a few new weapons, an increased level cap and a couple Perks, this DLC offers very little to those who have the other story-based DLC's. Approach with caution.
    Expand

See all 21 User Reviews