Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Oct 20, 2010
    100
    The map, though similar-sized to Fallout 3's, seems more jam-packed than ever – New Vegas is less a sandbox game than whole beach to play around in.
  2. Oct 22, 2010
    95
    Fallout: New Vegas, looks and plays exactly the same as Fallout 3. But the additions that Obsidian have made push the survival angle even further to provide a much more immersive and authentic experience, and just like its predecessor New Vegas proves to be a role-playing masterpiece.
  3. 95
    If you never quite "got" Fallout 3, New Vegas won't be the epiphany that shows you what you've been missing. But for anyone who adored the frantic post-apocalyptic, choose-your-own-path vibe of Bethesda's original sprawling stunner, this trip to the sin-soaked West is one hell of a kickass homecoming.
  4. Oct 27, 2010
    93
    Apparently clocking in at around 60 hours and with DLC promised, this is a gargantuan slice of epic adventure that will keep you well and truly immersed for weeks to come – you can bet your bottom bottle-cap on it.
  5. Oct 20, 2010
    93
    Maybe we could have waited for some new features from Obsidian, apart for the scenario change and some new improvements in gameplay. But you could also ask why change something that works so well. The recommendation is clear: If you liked Fallout 3, don't hesitate in getting New Vegas.
  6. Dec 19, 2010
    91
    Plenty of side quests.
  7. Dec 13, 2010
    91
    Fallout New Vegas is a fantastic game that in its vast, interesting, flavour-filled world has something for everyone.
  8. Jan 11, 2011
    90
    Fallout: New Vegas marries the best of Bethesda's open world tradition with Obsidian's excellent storytelling, writing and quest design. This is a huge and addictive role-playing game with an enormous amount of content and options for the player.
  9. Ballsier, brassier and better than anyone could have expected - including Obsidian. [Issue#98, p.82]
  10. Dec 19, 2010
    90
    You can beat the entire main story of Fallout: New Vegas in less than 20 hours, but that would be giving the game short shrift. It is really about savoring every little detail and side quest until you've seen everything there is to see.
  11. Dec 19, 2010
    90
    From the warring factions you can align with to the companions you can recruit, no adventure will ever be the same the numerous times you play through.
  12. Dec 13, 2010
    90
    Fallout: New Vegas is deeply immersive, hugely engaging and brimming with character and atmosphere. [Issue#65, p.78]
  13. Dec 13, 2010
    90
    Old tech, but this funnier, flashier, flesh-out Fallout made us re-embrace the wasteland. [Issue#232, p.68]
  14. Oct 26, 2010
    90
    The world is huge and meticulously detailed, the mechanics are captivating, and for all the bugs the rewards of persistence are considerable.
  15. Oct 26, 2010
    90
    This is a game with plenty to recommend it, and even if a lot of its best aspects are holdovers from its predecessor, the game's engrossing new story, gargantuan new map and plethora of new quests combine to form an experience that will appeal to most core gamers.
  16. Oct 25, 2010
    90
    Ultimately, whether or not you enjoy Fallout: New Vegas depends on your tolerance for handling bugs. Personally, I didn't find them distracting enough to ruin the experience for me, and a few crashes over the course of 80+ hours felt like a small price to pay for one of my favorite games of the year.
  17. Oct 25, 2010
    90
    But this is one instance where, despite the glitches, I genuinely didn't care. New Vegas is just way too much fun. It's got everything in a game that I love, from a huge open world to explore, interesting characters to meet, challenging critters to fight, an awesome environment, great soundtrack and bloody mayhem.
  18. 90
    Not really a major leap forward over Fallout 3, but certainly not just more of the same either. The variety of missions and random tasks will keep you entertained for hours and the few new additions serve to provide a welcome distraction in terms of crafting, gambling and reputation management. Jump in, but make sure you come up for air now and again.
  19. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    Obsidian has created a totally compelling world and its frustrations pale into insignificance compared to the immersive, obsessive experience on offer. Just like the scorched scenery that provides its epic backdrop, New Vegas is huge and sprawling, sometimes gaudy, even downright ugly at times – but always effortlessly, shamelessly entertaining.
  20. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    If we had played Fallout 3 and New Vegas once each and were offered the chance to play one of them for a second time, after much deliberation we'd choose New Vegas. There can be no more telling indicator of a job well done.
  21. 90
    Fallout: New Vegas does betray the age of its engine every now and then, but it also shows why it has aged so well, powering the same tasty mix of great gameplay, endless side-quests and a world to get lost in.
  22. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    Despite the numerous bugs, New Vegas is a magnificent RPG, one that stands head and shoulders above its predecessor. More importantly, it's also the game that Fallout fans have been waiting for.
  23. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    With a hugely expanded perk system, new traits you can use to give your character both an advantage and a disadvantage, warring factions to join or make enemies out of, plenty of new features to dig into, and better dialogue, Fallout: New Vegas is better than Fallout 3 in many ways.
  24. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    The experience of New Vegas is sublime and so incredibly big that the ratio between getting annoyed by freezes and getting excited by the game's wonderfully engaging world firmly favors a positive outlook. Very few games could be good enough to make up for serious technical errors. In fact, I could count them on one hand...New Vegas is good enough, though.
  25. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    It's a game we've been wanting to play for more than a decade, a real modern re-imagining of the Fallout series, complete with that deliciously black humour. But it's also more of the same, aesthetically and technically identical to Fallout 3, wonky facial animation and all.
  26. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    One of the best games of the year and a very long and compelling experience. Too bad for some nasty bugs, that we hope will be fixed soon.
  27. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    This laundry list of complaints might seem like a game breaker, but that I could suffer through them repeatedly during my marathon New Vegas weekend and still walk away feeling not only satisfied but hungry for more says something about the power of the formula that Bethesda has crafted.
  28. Oct 20, 2010
    89
    With a major improved control scheme, the introduction of Hardcore Mode, beautifully detailed environments and national landmarks, Fallout: New Vegas is the real Entertainment Capital of the World.
  29. Jan 19, 2011
    88
    If you didn't enjoy Fallout 3 or are not a fan of RPGs in general, then you'll probably disagree with me. Everyone else should seriously consider taking a road trip to New Vegas.
  30. Oct 20, 2010
    88
    The Mojave wasteland is packed with memorable locations and characters and is a worthy followup to Fallout 3. I just expected more from New Vegas but in the end it all feels like a giant expansion upon the premise laid out two years ago.
  31. Oct 20, 2010
    88
    Another great postatomic RPG, so similar to its predecessor that it shares the same technical problems. Nonetheless, those who loved the Wasteland will find a lot of great gameplay and fun in New Vegas.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 575 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 204
  1. Oct 22, 2010
    4
    When I read a lot of the reviews given here I'm really reminded of the movie Idiocracy. Especially read the review from Guardian. How is it possible to detail such flaws in a game and also score 100%? Really I think that speaks volumes about the average gamer and the industry. Ok, I'd really love a sports car but if the wipers were where the licensce plate was and the side mirrors were on top of the hood and one door was a different color I wouldn't give it a 100% pass and i wouldn't be saying ah don't worry it will be getting fixed later, the company will look after it sometime way off in the future. Look if a game is broke or buggy then you take off some points. Just because you loved Fallout 3, great, go rate that game. This one is buggy and broken and deserves severe reductions. So what if Bethesda says they are going to fix it. It isn't fixed yet. When it is you can adjust your reviews. Broke is broke. This game is a mess that isn't ready to be released and these companies are taking far too many liberties with their gamers who support their wages and companies. Send your message to these software companies that we are not putting up with this anymore. Please click yes to my review so Bethesda starts getting the message that the well is about to dry up and they better get their act together. Full Review »
  2. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    Simply an excellent addition to the Fallout canon. An imaginative and extremely crafted story, numerous and refreshingly enjoyable side quests and engaging and thoughtful characters. This game will appeal to fans of Fallout 3 primarily, yet occasional references to previous games in the series to keep die-hard fans happy. By allowing Obsidian to create this game, it allows them to strike a near perfect balance of the complete Fallout experience. Many hours of mine have already been sunk into this game, and if you are looking for a thought-provoking enthralling video game adventure then look no more. This might sound sycophantic and gushing, yet this game really has brought a smile to my face. Roll on Fallout 4! Full Review »
  3. Oct 25, 2010
    10
    I just want to add that the recent update seems to of got rid of the crashing problem. Well... It seems to for me as it hasn't crashed on me yet! :)