User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 605 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 605

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 9, 2014
    9
    Fallout: New Vegas can be an incredible RPG if you only play it right. To start off I'd like to say that this is a really great game. The setting is amazing with you being in post-apocalyptic Nevada, with tons of places like abandoned shacks, towns, and the centerpiece, New Vegas. One of my favourite things Fallout: New Vegas has is Hardcore Mode. In this mode the player actually needs to eat, sleep, drink water, and just be a little more cautious around the wasteland. I love this gameplay because it actually feels a lot more like a survival game. Another thing I love is that there are tons of quests, but it's bittersweet. The creators wanted to put in tons of quests so the player will have lots to do and more places to explore, but this game is extremely buggy, so you have to be really careful on which quests you do because doing a quest or talking to someone can result in failing quests that you didn't even know existed; quest order is the key. The other complaint I have is that the graphics are not updated at all compared to Fallout 3. There's a two year difference between them so the graphics should have been upgraded somewhat. This game isn't bad, it can be really fun. It just gets frustrating and confusing when trying to complete quests. Expand
  2. Aug 1, 2014
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ok, I love Fallout 3. I'm addicted to it, but after playing the tutorial 4 times and having someone in the first city clip through the ground there is no hope for this game at all. Everytime said person catches me stealing when no one is around and I end up having to kill the quest givers. Game is highly unplayable due to glitches Expand
  3. May 12, 2014
    6
    Several years after it has been released, I found the game to still have some bug issues, but nothing game breaking to keep you from playing it. I didn't get into Fallout 3 because the game was so boring as it was not on the interactive level of Bethesda's TES, nor was it on that level of graphics and artstyle. Fallout New Vegas is just the same as Fallout 3 in these regards. And unlike, TES series, you don't level up in this game as you spend more time doing certain attributes. You have to wait until you get enough XP and then put points into those skills. Also, it's not an easily traverseable area to roam in. This sandbox seems to be more restrictive in roaming as you find yourself having to traverse a U shaped map with small corridors along the sides. I just couldn't get excited about playing this game as it takes forever to level up and, just like Fallout 3, I felt like the loneliest person in the world. Ho hum, guess I'll be heading back out collecting bottle caps and ashtrays. Maybe kill a stray mutant, or two along the way. Expand
  4. Apr 24, 2014
    10
    this game is the perfect example of how quality content outweighs any problems with bugs/graphics. Yes the game is very buggy but being regular on the saving is an easy way past this problem but those bugs can be easily overlooked when you see the imagination that has gone into this game, it is a must play of the generation. Now a lot of people rate this game higher than it's predecessor and I do feel the characters have had the most attention but I feel the restriction at the start of the game (not being able to head north) makes the game feel a bit linear (reason it misses out on game of the year) and although side quests and locations are dotted along the path to New Vegas the game just doesn't have the sense of freedom that Fallout 3 had. All this being said it is still a top notch videogame and all the other stuff you loved from Fallout 3 is still here (like the crazy huge and imaginative arsenal available). I believe New Vegas should be mentioned among the elite of this generation. Expand
  5. Apr 22, 2014
    7
    I can remember my excitement when I was in 8th grade and saw the first trailer. I probably didn't shut up about the game for three days. The second it went up for pre-order I had my mom rush me to the nearest Gamestop to reserve the collectors edition. The game released three days before my birthday which i share with the anniversary of the nuclear war. As being the huge fan boy i am I had to own it along with my fallout 3 collectors edition (which im proud to be a owner of). Now its been years since it released, but i need to give my truthful opinion. When i first played I was obsessed playing nothing different for a month straight. Now my love has turned bitter as i begin to resent this game. BETHESDA WHAT DID YOU DO! First of all karma is pointless, just forget it exist it has ZERO impact on the game it;s just there to say hey you haven't stole anything. I heard zero comments from people about how i was a messiah. It's replaced by faction which was kinda cool i guess. The second thing that annoys me the brother hood of steel is a second faction. Why i love them and they always play the major role, but not this time. You can either choose the Caeser Legion, NCR, Mr. House, or yourself. Caeser Legion, are based of the Roman empire, they are made of conquered tribes and are evil and enslave people. I don't like them, i prefer to be a hero. NCR or the New California Republic are an attempt to recreate the old world. They may seem perfect, but they have their skeletons in the closet (but so does the U.S. government). And Mr. house, he just wants to protect the strip from the invading factions and stay independent. Finally work for yourself, no one bosses you around you choose who lives and who dies. In the end this game doesn't live up to it's old counter parts it's not awful, neither is it perfect. I would say pick it up it is cheap and i wont lie i have over 1000 hours in it (i love this series too much). Expand
  6. Mar 13, 2014
    9
    Easily my favorite game of all time along with Fallout 3!!!Provided me with hours and hours of immersive enjoyment. I just can't give it a 10 though because of all the glitches but everyone should try this game!It may take a while to get into it but once you do you can't put down the controller down!
  7. Mar 12, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this is the best first person shooter ever.With a abundance of melee,laser,bullet and explosive weapons you will beready to take on the whole wasteland.lets clear the air about something new vegas is alot better than fallout 3,although the story is'nt as good as fallout 3 the gameplay is ecxellent.only disapointing thing about the game is the constantly crawling along at super low speeds and only being to carry almost the essentials.but its still a great game with a variety of enemies from ghouls all the way to "demons".well done Bethesda Expand
  8. Mar 2, 2014
    8
    Firstly if your expecting a fps, this is not it, but a RPG that is pretty stellar.

    Pros:
    Choices. They matter, want to kill the deuchebag main character? You can, want to kill strippers for some reason, you can. Heaps of factions to choose from all with interesting back stories. Different endings that are summed up well.
    Level tree. Diverse and you max out everything skill by the end.

    Content. A good 35hr game with lots of quests and interesting discoveries in the this open world.

    Cons:
    Gameplay. Feels sluggish and out dating, and relies on stats rather then skill.
    Animations. Out dated, bad facial animations, awkward time stopping conversations.
    Expand
  9. Feb 27, 2014
    8
    The sequel to the award winning fallout 3. Is a good title. It incorporates lost of mechanics, and features form Fallout 3. Not to mention they both run on the same engine. Many people criticize it for not adding much new, but why broke what aint fixed. Fallout 3, takes the superb mechanics and features from Fallout 3, and fixes the annoying stuff and adds minor but fun and helpful improvements. These include Much better crafting interactions, new perks, a light crafting system, a better variety of weapons, and of corse since it is vegas: gambling. Overall a great return to the fallout universe. It may not provide any innovation, and is just shy of greatness because of technical glitches and bugs, but It's great to return to the universe of fallout with a new story and cast of characters. Expand
  10. Feb 15, 2014
    1
    Didnt like the game strange controlls, the character couldnt move and shoot slow, too much walking, bad gameplay, too hard enemies, overall feels like an unfinished game.
  11. Feb 6, 2014
    8
    Review 1 2/6/14
    Fallout: New Vegas is one of the best games I own. It has a beautiful wasteland full of treasure and danger. Powerful factions with varying ideals, advanced weaponry and armor, wacky and vicious enemies, and a few funny moments for some comic relief. What else could you want? Sadly, there are a few flaws. People don't really seem to express their emotions in their face the
    same way their voice does. Even after several years, there are still a few glitches and bugs that can be frustrating at times. But there are improvements over Fallout 3. You can have more control over your companions and they won't die. Your actions truly have an impact on the wasteland, and your choices affect how factions see you. For example, killing the leader of a faction will definitely anger them, and giving supplies to another faction will make them like you. Also, factions don't seem to be clearly "good" or "evil" and karma is not as significant. While I have not played the DLC, I have looked them up and they are a lot more closely tied to the main storyline. And Hardcore mode adds a new survival aspect where companions can die, and you need food, water, and sleep, and ammo has weight. If you are a true Fallout fan, or can tolerate an occasional glitch, then I highly recommend this. Expand
  12. Jan 20, 2014
    7
    Pros: This game is very open ended and has tons of replay value.

    Cons: The story just isn't quite as good as Fallout 3. There are a few weird glitches too.

    Overall, this is a really fun game that is definitely worth playing (at least once).
  13. Jan 17, 2014
    7
    In the latest installment of the famed Fallout series, you take the persona as the "courier" who was shot and was brung to a doctor's home and healed. You then go on a mission to find the missing package and who shot you, changing the fate of the Nevada wasteland forever. As a Fallout game, we can expect comedic, yet deep storyline. The gameplay is addicting so enough to satisfy even the pickiest player. Yet, the game falls for some outdated graphics and confusing objectives. Plus, don't even think about the AI being well made. Overall, this game is worth playing-if you can get over the graphics and AI. Expand
  14. Dec 8, 2013
    9
    Can not even begin to describe the amount of fun i've had with this game. I now have all dlc& Have never spent more time or on a game since Red Dead Redmp.
    (WHICH IS STILL MY ONLY 10 RATING I EVER GAVE)

    I cannot seem to find where you can see your total hours but i'd bet it would be in the 20-25 hour range and im still loving it. wish you could go back though and restart with all ur
    perks and choose different outcomes you did not do first go round. If your an RPG fan and loved games like skyrim you will love this huge free roam with multiple dlc expansions to keep that level cap rising and keep you wanting more! Expand
  15. Nov 28, 2013
    8
    Fantastic game. From what I've heard from everyone, its a decrease in quality from Fallout 3, but I personally haven't played Fallout 3. This is a great game to introduce you into the Fallout series, as it's incredibly playable but also gives room for improvement in other games. It's kinda glitchy and the graphics aren't necessarily the best, but the gameplay is fantastic and so is the customization. Expand
  16. Nov 23, 2013
    9
    Fallout: New Vegas was, for the most part, a great game. One of my favorites. The only problems I had with this game, is how long the loading screens lasted when going through doors, or fast travelling. Other than that, the story line was stellar, and very enjoyable.
  17. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    this was at one point the best game ever made, it sold 5 million copies in 20 days and was praised for its amazing and entertaining gameplay, playing 200+ hours was very entertaining.
  18. Nov 3, 2013
    6
    It kills me to say this it really does... I love this game! I love it! My genre that has always provided me with the most amazing gameplay is open world RPGs like Fallout. Bio-Ware and Bethesda are my go to open world RPG games. While hesitant to try out Fallout due to the fact that it has guns and I thought it was a typical FPS, the world of Fallout 3 and everything about it just hit home in a place where other games failed. There is a reason Fallout 3 is so high on the list of the greatest games of all time, it deserves to be there. Considering the footsteps New Vegas had to follow, I'd say its not a bad game. But I can't help but hate this game because I love it, don't worry I'll explain... I love this game! But the game won't let me play it! I haven't beat it yet, its 11/3/2013 and I haven't beaten it yet! First character completely corrupted save file, second character stuck at a part where every time I go through a certain door the game froze (going back to old saves didn't work cause its part of the story and this was the ONLY door in the room), now my last attempt my 3rd character and I can't load it. I don't know why, I am stuck in the infinite loop of loading screens. No matter what save file, no matter how many times I clear cache or delete the patch, INFINITE loading screen! For all saves!

    I love this game, I do! In some aspects it doesn't live up to Fallout 3 but in other aspects it excels where Fallout 3 didn't. It is a proper sequel with a great story, fun missions, plenty of places to explore, interesting characters, no hand holding, customizable guns gear skills and a highly detailed fully interactive world (detailed as in what is in it not the graphics). I always looked at Crysis 3 and CoD and said... you don't need graphics for a great game all you need a great game and Fallout 3 was my proof. I wish New Vegas could be added in there too.

    My only problem with this game are the bugs and glitches. Had they been funny or random stupid glitches that don't really mess up anything than it would be different. But bugs and glitches that destroy the game, crash constantly erasing progress, cause major save file corruption, break immersion and forces players to stop playing is really bad.

    Again... I love this game. I do, I would say its a great game.... if I could beat it finally. I am writing this right now staring at the infinite loading screen again cause I want to keep playing. But its hard to do that when the game won't let me.
    Expand
  19. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    This is one of my all time favorite games. I LOVED Fallout 3 and this only made the series better. I cannot understand why people don't like this game because they "basically made an expansion to Fallout 3." If you make the perfect game, Fallout 3, then why would you mess that up? This is a better, updated version of Fallout 3. The story-line is fantastic and the new weapon mods you can make, along with all of the chems, only makes for an even better experience. If you liked Fallout 3, then you will love this game. Expand
  20. Oct 19, 2013
    9
    A buggy masterpiece. Fallout: New Vegas is an almost perfect RPG/FPS held back by also being completely broken at times. Obsidian are masters of writing and storytelling but are also masters of releasing buggy/broken games. I highly suggest that they hire better programmers but keep the writing staff. What makes New Vegas great is its open ended nature. There are many different ways to play this game and all are as valid as the other. In terms of gameplay New Vegas is a direct copy of Fallout 3 but with slight improvements, this isn't a bad thing although shooting and inventory management aren't what make this game great.

    There is so much to do in this game that it well justifies the price, There are many different ways to act out the main story and there are heaps of side quests as well to do, or you could just turn go wandering in the wasteland and see what you can find. Player involvement and immersion in this game are rivalled by few.

    Final Thoughts: I love this game and you will too if you give it a chance.
    Expand
  21. Sep 11, 2013
    9
    Fallout New Vegas is a wonderful addition to the Fallout game series with alot more potential with the past game of Fallout 3. Fallout New Vegas takes you through the beautiful wasteland of the Mojave Desert. You take place as a courier who first tries to get revenge and get your package back for a delivery to the mysterious character known as "Mr. House". little do you know that you know there were a few factions fighting for the fresh water of Hoover Dam. Legion, led by Caesar, also a group of slavers from the east. NCR, An army from the west who's natural enemy is Legion. And then you also have yes man who is just an idiotic robot who wants you to rule the wastes yourself. This game is beautiful although it has crashed a few times on my xbox. The characters are fun to talk to and the companions are revamped and are amazing to have around with their random lines and great combat help. Character creation feels more of an RPG on how you are gonna play the game with what you will mainly use. This is one of my favorite games to play with so much to do in the wastes. You should definately get this if you haven't already Expand
  22. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    I'm sick and tired of people downing this game! it is one of the best games i have played. the storyline, the survival and the action is brilliant. People are complaining about bugs. That is because it is a fairly old game so it will have a few bugs. But my xbox has never crashed on me while playing fallout new vegas. I feel the same about fallout 3. But I want Bethesda to add more to the game. Maybe a zombie survival or increase survival. Like you get hot or cold. But is the best RPG for a post-apocalyptic game. Expand
  23. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    Shares my top spot of best game ever with Fallout 3. Simply amazing. Great character development, great story, many ways to play, post apocalyptic world etc. Can't hope for much more. Load times are long, yes. Some bugs exist, yes. Who cares when the game is simply brilliant.
  24. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fallout New Vegas is a improvement on Fallout 3 on a couple of levels it has improved crafting, iron sights, armour has a bigger variety, the weapons are the same. The location is perfect for the Fallout universe. It shows more Vaults such as Vault 34 and Vault 22. The companion wheel is a welcome feature combat is very good. Also the character customisation is a massive improvement on Fallout 3. All in all Fallout New Vegas is a big improvement on Fallout 3. Expand
  25. Aug 6, 2013
    8
    my review of the sequel of one of the best RPG's i have played. ever.

    SINGLE PLAYER (STORY)- 8/10. very good story, but falls just short of fallout 3. lots of interesting side missions, too.
    GRAPHICS- 9.25/10. similar presentation to fallout 3, with some new visuals. character animations are still poorly animated, but not as bad.
    SOUND- 9/10. stellar score with great voice acting.

    GAMEPLAY- 8/10. combat is similar to fallout 3, but with new weapons and skills. still as glitchy as fallout 3, and in fact i had more freezes on this than i did in fallout 3.
    FUN FACTOR: 8.5/10 a good story with fun combat. you will throw a lot of time into this game, most likely.
    OVERALL: 8/10
    Expand
  26. Aug 5, 2013
    9
    Fallout New Vegas was a great game, the architecture was neat, the enemies were fun, you're inclined to talk to the interesting characters, and the guns were awesome. It's a really good game, I've been playing a long time, and I could almost say it deserves a solid 10. But the setbacks are only minor so I can't put it lower that a 9. The main setback is that the Mojave doesn't seem like a nuclear apocalypse happened, it simply looks like just a crummy area. The other thing is oddly enough, New Vegas. Now New Vegas looks amazing and I know that, but the problem is it draws attention away from everything else and makes it seem less exciting. Other than that, its an amazing game, and you shouldn't pass it up. Expand
  27. Jul 14, 2013
    0
    Like all fallout games new Vegas is fun to play and has an intriguing story all while being one of the best post apocalyptic games out there. while not as good s fallout 3 new vegas is defiantly a great game.
  28. Jun 14, 2013
    7
    Not that bad pretty badass but compared to the masterpiece RPG FPS named fallout 3, it to me is very lack laster and took me about 1 year to get back into the game, Great game, just not as good as fallout 3
  29. Jun 3, 2013
    10
    It's basically more Fallout 3, which I don't mind one bit, as Fallout 3 is my favorite game of all time. Where it lacks in story, it makes up in other innovations like customized weapons and ammo. The hunger aspect is also interesting, though I didn't use it too much. Definitely worth picking up if you like Fallout.
  30. May 30, 2013
    6
    Same game as Fallout 3, except you can aim down your sights, minor gun customization and a few new guns. It's not bad, but it's not real innovative. Still had a lot of fun on it, but I have to rate it so poorly because of the same game engine and mechanics. Overall, it still provided me around 100 hours of game play, so it is still worth your time.
  31. May 7, 2013
    6
    It is a OK game. After two years of FO3, this game just not that improved. Actually IMO, this game is a stepback compared to FO3. Less interesting characters/enemies/stories/missions/places, same combat/conversations/gameplay. No three dog.....
  32. Apr 28, 2013
    9
    Life is coming back to the world with plants that are growing slowly, but danger still lurks and wants to eat the out of you. I spent hundred of hours trying to find all of the best weapons and make my character the best way I wanted, though some people complained about bugs and glitches, I have nothing to complain because I had none or barely any to ruin my experience. I never crashed as well. The story is worth to play on all sides to see the results of the choices you make throughout your many many walkthroughs on different characters. This game is a kick in the head and will make you stirring in the game for hours of adventure and looting. Expand
  33. Mar 16, 2013
    7
    Fallout: New Vegas is a solid game in the Fallout franchise that provides hours of single player content, There are few games out there that could match the amount of content you can find in Fallout 3 and New Vegas, Whilst this game is good it has a lot of bugs that bring down the overall experience dramatically, I have never experienced so many game bugs from a single game and as a huge fan of Fallout 3, I was very disappointed by it, the game is great if you can get past the bugs, but if you can't then you might want to consider looking elsewhere. But from a content level this game can give you hundreds of hours playtime. Expand
  34. Mar 10, 2013
    8
    This game decides whether or not you are a tolerant and patient gamer. People who can't stand the glitches and bugs let that anger cloud their judgement of the game as a whole. It might not be revolutionary, comparing it to its predecessor, but who cares. It has some great improvements over Fallout 3, and there is NO way this is a step back. The glitches and bugs have over the years (through several patches) become nothing but minor details that you can be lucky to completely avoid in a playthrough. If you can enjoy a flawed game, then there is a ridiculous amount of hours to spend in this game, and a true completionist might even hit three digits of hours of playing time. No matter how you correspond with a laggy and at times really slow game, the player still might find themself shaking their head over the technical errors here and there, some of which might actually break a main quest for you, making you unable to finish the storyline the way you wanted. Then again, any real Fallout fan would know how important it is to save your game every 30 minutes of a Fallout game. When users give this game a rating of 0 because they can't look past a few techical errors and they forgot to save for two hours when they die, that doesn't make the game worthy of the lowest score possible. Fallout: New Vegas (with all the DLC included) can be bought these days for less than $20, it's worth it, believe me. Expand
  35. Feb 17, 2013
    9
    This game is really good considering that it's the first Fallout game I've ever played. The story is okay but it's a good choice that you get to support factions you like end have different endings. Graphics are good and gameplay is good. I finished this game several times and I still continue playing it now just to get the achievements and look for things I missed.
  36. Feb 15, 2013
    4
    I REALLY enjoyed Fallout 3 GOTY. Played through all the DLC, found the story engaging, the enemies interesting, and the progression of the story fun. Inventory management was a bit of a beast, but all things considered, among the top 10% of RPGs I've played. So I should love New Vegas, right? That's what I thought. It has been a chore to play. It all stems from the lack of connection I feel to the lead character. In FO3 we're born, we have a childhood, we're searching for our father, always one step behind. This story opens up with our lead guy being shot and left for dead, then revived by a guy who doesn't really like us...nor dislike us, and a town that is as ambivalent. Hoping to chase down the killers, as you're in the middle of a civil war, just doesn't create the same connection as FO3. My biggest complaint is level progression and mission management. It seems like about 2/3rds of the time, I'm underleveled for my current mission. Whether it's because I need to hack a computer above my science level, or pick a lock that is too hard for my character, it's just a roadblock and senseless push to fight the same enemies over and over again, to grind it out. To make matters worse, the loading screens are everywhere. At some point I started avoided going in to buildings, so I wouldn't have to wait 30 seconds to load, just to find out there was nothing of interest. Fetch quest "quick teleport" here, then there, then there, then back to the mission, and you've spent almost 2 minutes in loading time, 10 minutes of gameplay. That's not good.

    Throw in the constant need to drink from your canteen, find scarce ammo, repair clothes and guns...playing this game is a job. I already have a job, so my relaxing hobby of videogames, isn't where I hope to spend more time working.

    Lastly...if I wanted to read as much as this game requires, I would sit down with an epic novel. Hack a computer, then read 8 pages of small green text. Have a conversation, read 20 conversation branches that repeat over and over again. I LOVE the Mass Effect trilogy, and people bash that for all the conversations, but at least they are visually appealing, and I feel like there is a reason to have them. In FO:NV...it's just one chore to the next. Just a very disappointing game, in a franchise I have enjoyed. I have not finished this game, but I've invested over 30 hours, and as someone who hates abandoning a game part way through, I would be stunned if anything happens in the next 5 hours, to grab my attention enough to care to finish it. On the positive side, I did not encounter more than 1 or 2 game-killing glitches in my 30 hours of play. Perhaps patches resolved those major concerns from early gamers.
    Expand
  37. Feb 15, 2013
    9
    I'll be honest: I much preferred this game than Fallout 3. New Vegas adds everything that Fallout 3 was missing. It made the gameplay more fun, and the environment more visually pleasing. The story isn't as good as Fallout 3's, BUT, it does add more narrative choice that lacked in FO3. While the initial bugs were annoying ,the patches have since made them almost obsolete. Overall: While it can be a bit quirky at times. New Vegas really does deliver a strong new slice of the Fallout universe. A great game that all should play. Expand
  38. Feb 6, 2013
    9
    Fallout New Vegas has a lot to live up to. Fallout 3 was a fantastic game. How could it's sequel possibly compare? Thankfully, New Vegas is an excellent title. It may not feel quite as fresh as Fallout 3, but it's still an amazing game. Weapon mods allow increased flexibility with your armament, allowing you to attach scopes, extended mags, stocks, etc. Hardcore mode is a nice addition that forces management of your hunger, hydration, and sleep levels, in addition to more realistic healing and inventory systems. The storyline is less personal than Fallout 3, but it's branching approach allows more player freedom. The game is still fairly glitchy, and isn't a radical improvement over Fallout 3, but it's still an excellent title, and well worth your money. Expand
  39. Jan 12, 2013
    5
    New Vegas is a great game, but it just freezes constantly. I'm running the game on a brand new 360, with the game installed to the harddrive, yet it still freezes every twenty minutes. Don't get this unless you like having to replay sections over and over agian due to bugs.
  40. Dec 27, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think I may have rated this game better had I not been comparing it to Fallout 3, which I played before New Vegas. Here are the pros and cons of this game: Pro- Tons of areas to explore, lots of quests, you get two companions, ability to achieve at least three possibly more different endings. Cons- i.) Cinematic kill sequences were BORING- lots of blood but... nothing uber-realistic like Fallout 3 ii.) weapons suck- you have to be practically on top of something to get a direct hit even with sneak attack and guns, explosives, energy maxed iii.) reward for hardcore mode is LAME, iv.) did not really get into my head and test my moral compass like Fallout 3- tried but did not suceed, v.) one of the buggiest games I have ever played- frequently froze, got stuck in rocks, or graphics were screwy especially for cinematic cut scenes, vi) ending was terrible *******spoiler*********** I think if you get to take over a territory you should have some kind of ability to play around in said taken over land post-takeover but the game just ends. Overall, a decent game but not nearly as good as Fallout 3. Expand
  41. Dec 25, 2012
    8
    Fallout New Vegas is a great game and even better with all the DLC's with it. But out of all of Bethesdas RPGs I have playing it was the worst one(but still is a great game). You have more options witch always leads to some people liking you and some people hating you, witch was one of the few things interested me about Fallout NV. Shops now have more money as the game goes on witch is a huge difference witch was one thing I did not like about Fallout 3. You can also get bad-ass weapon scopes and stuff like that(at the gun runners arsenal) Fallout 3 has many reasons why it dominates New Vegas but NV is still a great game(really recommend getting the Ultamite Edition) Fallout: New Vegas 8.7/10 Expand
  42. Dec 15, 2012
    8
    From stepping into unknown territory with Fallout 3, Fallout: New Vegas makes a stronger foundation for the fallout franchise and improves upon the technical issues with Fallout 3. You can now aim down the sights of most weapons (some unique energy guns you can't), you can repair weapons to 100% without needing a 100 repair skill, but repair now comes into play with breaking down and creating your own ammunition and arms. The Workshop table now has a more intricate tablet of items to create, compared to the simple icons from Fallout 3. HardCore mode provides more RPG elements to the whole fallout experience, making water, food and sleep much more necessary than optional at best. Unfortunately, now you can only get a perk point every other level, but the cap has been increased to 30 and each DLC provides level caps of 5 rather than the 1 in Fallout 3. the environment in the Mojave "Wasteland" is still interesting, with it's own blend of colorful characters and landscapes. The Story of this game is also strong, but doesn't really put much enthusiasm to the whole "Fallout" feel. Even with the Hardcore mode enabled, I feel i have a much easier walk in the park playing through this game than Fallout 3 normally, and that didn't have hardcore mode in the first place. I know that coincidentally Mr. House was able to salvage most of the Mojave Desert through his means of defense, but that doesn't build upon the whole idealism of a Post-Apocalyptic Wasteland if there is a organized government developing through most of the area. It just feels like Oblivion if I was thrown into a desert. Although, with it's weaknesses there comes strengths. You get to traverse through the strip, gambling, having sex with hookers, and helping Mr. House enforce his rule around the Mojave. Plants of plenty will grow around in the wasteland, allowing you to scavenge for them to keep yourself healthy from dehydration or starvation. New Vegas provides more choices with what factions you work with, depending on if you want to help Mr. House, Yes Man, the NCR or the Legion. How you feel this new wiped country should be governed depends on you. While on a combat scale, it has improved, with improved skill sets, and more to choose from, Fallout: New Vegas doesn't quite compliment a whole "Fallout" feel, it does improve much upon from the original game, at least, original on a new console. Expand
  43. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    Very similar to fallout 3 but still brilliant, odd glitches and bugs. Same graphics same gameplay would definitely recommend if a fan of fallout 3. I sympathize with people
  44. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    One of my favourite games. Despite all it's problems, the sheer enjoyment that I got (and continue to have) from this game score it a 9/10.
    Obviously it loses a point because of the countless errors that can be stumbled upon, but I don't judge a game based on that. I judge games on how much I liked them.
    And I loved FO:NV!
  45. Sep 29, 2012
    9
    Despite what others say about the game being buggy and crash-prone, I still find the game greatly enjoyable. Even with people saying at they are still using the same engine, it is still an engine that allows us to play great fun games. I definitely reckon this is a game worth buying.
  46. Sep 17, 2012
    9
    I bought this game and played it a few months after it came out, so I guess they fixed all of the bugs by then. I loved it, I did a few playthroughs, and spent over 100 hours playing it.

    The best way to describe it would be it's Fallout 3, except less gritty and much more lively of a world.
  47. Sep 11, 2012
    9
    This game is very similar in a lot of aspects, whether it be game-play mechanics, graphics and so on, however it's also a lot different. The leveling system, the abundance of side quests, hardcore mode, and the implementation of gambling make it a unique and worthwhile experience. Granted, it did not exceed our expectations set forth by it predecessor (Fallout 3), it is worth buying for the experience and the continued fun and frolic of simple playing Fallout in general. Also, if you're thinking of buying the game, it's in your advantage to pay the extra money and buy the "Ultimate Edition" with the DLCs and Gun Runner's Arsenal. Dead Money and Lonesome Road are some of the best DLCs the Fallout series, and Bethesda for the matter has to offer. Expand
  48. Aug 23, 2012
    6
    The game is *good* but is nothing new, still feels like I playing The Elder Scrolls III with better graphics and with guns. Bethesda needs to move on, to a more up to date format. Starting to feel like a over kill. Using the same format for 10 years is a bit to much.

    I think is sad when you get a game, and you can predict 95% of the game before you star playing. And more sad when you
    find out that your predictions were spot on. Expand
  49. Aug 9, 2012
    7
    This one is considerably worse than the original Fallout 3. The story and the world are much weaker. But still, for fans of Fallout this is a worthy title.
  50. Aug 6, 2012
    7
    Fun, large world, but lacking in new material. Most of the quests were a "Go from X and Get Y", which felt almost half-assed. It feels more like a DLC then a different game. The hardcore mode was a great addition though.
  51. Jul 11, 2012
    8
    This is Fallout 3 for Fallout 2 lovers. The bad part is, the story is quite dull and never really interests the player, nor can the player connect emotionally to it as in Fallout 3. This game is about world-discovery. There is so much to do (as in all Fallout games) and every skill has more of an effect on your play-through. For example, I find myself getting bonus XP and more out of missions and conversations due to a skill. This applies to ALL skills. Not just your speech skill. If you loved just wandering Capital Wasteland and being a badass, Fallout: New Vegas is the game for you.

    As in Fallout 3, there are many minor bugs (a floating rock here or there, a radscorpion stuck with its feet in the dirt, etc.), but no game-breakers and nothing that will make you put your controller down.
    Expand
  52. Jul 1, 2012
    9
    Got this on the PC brought it for the 360 for personal reasons so as to not hog all the time on the family PC. Looks and plays the same as the PC version, but without the modding option that just takes the edge off replay value.
  53. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    First, I would like to state that my review concerns the latest, fully patched, version of the game, not the game as it was right after release. That being said I would like start with the game's flaws, as even this game is not perfect. The graphics speaks for itself I think - Bethesda's old engine just cannot dream to be on par with latest productions, but graphics is not what this game is about. Apart from that there are some glitches that may occasionally resurface like character ending up stuck in some invisible force field, items and critters not spawning correctly in some areas (re-loading the location usually helps), script triggers not working properly at times, rather long load times. All those may be annoying but are not able to really spoil the fun. What we got from Obsidian is nothing less but a true blood Fallout RPG, for the first time since 1998 and Fallout 2. Not only is it a rightful continuation to the franchise, but also a grand improvement comparing to painfully simplistic Fallout 3. The main plot is pretty simple, like in all Fallout games, but this time the player has a truly extraordinary control over the outcome of the story. Each and every choice influences the Mojave Desert area in some way. Completing quests may not have consequences immediately but later in the game our previous decisions may prove crucial. Aside from the main storyline there are at dozens of side quests - some of them longer, some shorter - all well-designed and interesting. In FNV there are many old-new features. Old because they were present in the original Fallouts 1 & 2, new because they were drastically simplified or totally omitted in F3. Some of these are: Levelable companions with interesting backgrounds and a "companion wheel" to control their behaviour. Traits are back! Reputation and fraction system. Maintenance bar for weapons and armours as well as minimal requirements to use weapons. Various ammunition types. Multitude of new, useful and interesting perks. Last but not least: Hardcore mode - a nightmare of Fallout 3 fans (or rather - of Fallout 3's simplicity fans). In this optional difficulty level, some of Bethesda's simplifications, like instantly-healing stimpacks or weightless ammo, vanish and the game itself gets a survival aspect, never present before, PC needs to sleep, eat and hydrate regularily - I strongly recommend ticking it on. One more thing - world map. The area in NV is a bit smaller than that presented in F3 but is more densely packed with locations and monster encounters - what should be a good news to those bored with running through a nearly empty, nearly critterless desert of Capital Wasteland. Overall - the game has some minor flaws but they should not interfere with experiencing one of the best RPGs ever created by man. The game (without dlcs) has a gemetime potential of even 100+ hours if you want to discover every location and do every quest. Moreover, if you want to exploit every possibility and gain every achievement you will want to start over and take a different path, siding with other factions and completing quests in alternative ways. Objectively, my score should be 9,5, because of the flaws, but I give it 10 as in reality it does not deserve less. Buy and play. Amen. Expand
  54. Jun 17, 2012
    8
    "War, war never changes." This time around Obsidian tries their hand in the Post Apocalyptic RPG. The story is not as gripping as Fallout 3 and the Broken Steel DLC. They make the wasteland a little more "lively" but it still keeps the unforgiving Wasteland feel. The new Factions like the Legion, they feel a slight bit generic in the beginning, but the story does keep it's head on it's shoulders. The DLC like Lonesome Road do show what happens in the more unknown part of the USA. Though others like Old World Blues feel a bit out of place but it's humor does patch it up a bit. Expand
  55. May 22, 2012
    0
    This game was released BROKEN, and with ample time to fix it with patches it is still unacceptably BROKEN.
    The only reason the critics gave it a higher score is that there's practically no such thing as "game criticism". The only reason fans give it a higher score is that they are willing to tolerate the bugs and glitches and CRASHES because they love the franchise. This game is not the
    franchise itself, and it is far, far, far more BROKEN than Fallout 3, which had only the occasional glitch. It is not my Xbox, my Xbox is fine. I do blame Microsoft for one thing, though: not revoking Bethesda's and Obsidian's license to publish on the Xbox. Expand
  56. May 15, 2012
    7
    I loved Fallout 3, so I was mildly disappointed with New Vegas. It's not nearly as good as Fo3, but it's still a fun game to play. The story is very interesting, with so many different ways to go that I could spent countless hours going down each possible story arc. There are many more quests (marked and unmarked) than Fo3, and the weapons are just as interesting and fun to use as they were before. The gameplay is much more balanced as well; in Fallout 3, I found that I felt like a powerhouse and I had few troubles with enemies, even on the hardest difficulties. In Fo: NV, I actually have had trouble with some of the various baddies in the Wasteland. Unfortunately, this game is also pretty buggy. Patches have been released that have fixed a lot of the bugs, but they're still there. I haven't tried the DLC yet, so I can't say much on that part.

    Overall, Fo:NV is a good game, and I do recommend it. However, Fo3 is a much better choice, so pick that up first!
    Expand
  57. May 5, 2012
    9
    Despite the shared Fallout title and environment, New Vegas and Fallout 3 play with completely different storytelling and feel. Where 3 feels empty and bleak, (not a bad thing), Vegas feels packed and alive. This game is about rebuilding and advancing as a race, where 3 was all about surviving day to day. The role the character takes in New Vegas feels much more significant, and complicated. Graphics still suffer from bugging issues, though this could be Bethesda's slogan already. The music and ambiance is a copy from 3, which is a very good thing. Weapon complexity and mechanics are vastly improved, from scopes that actually shoot where you point, to modifiable weapons and ammo. The shooter aspect of Vegas is much improved over three and makes for much more rewarding running and gunning. The dense nature of the world, compared fallout 3, is less rewarding on the exploration side, as you can get in A LOT of trouble early on in the game. Exploring comes with the much larger amount of missions. This makes the game feel more structured and restricted than Fallout 3, which for this type of game, is a minus for me. Overall, still an excellent, much longer experience than Fallout 3 that feels highly rewarding, though not without it's faults. BUGS! Expand
  58. May 2, 2012
    8
    In my opinion, Fallout: New Vegas is vastly superior to it's predecessor; Fallout 3

    There are more quests, more locations, more interesting things to do. I particualrly enjoy playing 'Caravan' a card game.. within the game. Yes.

    The story is more engaging, though it starts to lose my interest near the end, probably because of my incessant combing of the wasteland for stuff to do, to the
    point of needless inventory management and tedious leveling. I'm not sure if I can fault the game for that however.

    The DLC for NV is a bit of a different matter. I really only enjoyed 'Old World Blues' (At the time of this wrigting I have not played 'The Lonesome Road') The other two, 'Dead Money' and 'Honest Hearts' were... pointless really. They felt like needlessly padded sub-quests.. The initial 'oh wow this is new' wears off quickly.

    I highly suggest 'Modding' this game for full enjoyment. There is a huge community of modders over at newvegasnexus with plenty of great content.
    Expand
  59. Apr 8, 2012
    8
    a solid game that offers alot of fun. if you were a fan of fallout 3 then you will like this game. that being said i feel that fallout 3 is still the better game. in fallout 3 i wanted to explore every inch of the wasteland and do everything possible. yet in new vegas i found myself less willing to just explore. still the game is a solid entry into the series.
    watch out for
    deathclaws.....they are not screwing around in this game, this time around. Expand
  60. Mar 23, 2012
    9
    Between Fallout 3 and New Vegas, I find New Vegas to be the more entertaining game. New Vegas has many more quests, factions you can interact with and that excellent Fallout style world to explore. Companions have much more life in this game, the main quest can end many different ways, and you can blow all your caps at the casinos. The atmosphere doesn't feel as apocalyptic, the beginning of the game is mostly linear, and Cazadores will give you nightmares. The game adds a "hard" mode which requires you to keep track of your hunger, thirst, and sleep. It makes for a fun challenge if you're the type of person who prefers a difficult game. The game has many great things about it. However, it also suffers from many problems. The game is still on Gamebryo, and so suffers from the engine's problems. Textures might not render properly, graphics can clip, things like that. The game has an extremely annoying tendency to freeze on loading screens, forcing you to restart and lose progress (save often) and there are many game-breaking bugs just waiting to be found. If you're willing to wade through the mess of bugs (and it can be extremely difficult to ignore them) New Vegas is an excellent game, with a lot of story to fill up your time and keep you waiting for Fallout: 4.
    True Score: 8.6, rounded up to 9.
    Expand
  61. Mar 19, 2012
    8
    I loved this game. I loved this game before a lot of bugs were fixed. I loved this game even while I raged after it froze my Xbox, or after a quest NPC randomly fell through the earth, or when the Strip's gate randomly locked again. That says a lot to the quality of the story and RP elements of the game. Every DLC is worth more than charged (though I didn't enjoy Dead Money all that much), and the bugs seem to have been ironed out. Just going by the number of playthroughs and the number of hours I put into Fallout: NV, I have to give it a high rating. Expand
  62. Mar 19, 2012
    4
    I just got the Ultimate Edition, which fixes a few of the more glaring problems with this game (at least now I can actually finish it) but I have to say that FO3 still beats it by a mile. I was originally worried that handing the project to Obsidian might be a bit problematic, but OMG! My original purchase was a complete waste of $60. The game was simply unfinished. I don't mean it was unfinished in an Alpha Protocol sort of way, I mean that this game was so technically inept that it was off the charts. The glitches that the game contained have been well documented by now, so I won't belabor them other than to say that both Bethesda and Obsidian should be ashamed of themselves.

    The game that was trapped inside that horrible technical presentation wasn't half bad, and I have zero sympathy for those who complain that the graphics were dated. The Gamebryo engine is what it is, and anyone who played and enjoyed FO3 should have known what he would be getting. The problem wasn't with any of Obisdian's concepts, it was with the presentation, and I simply could not at any point set those deficits aside and actually enjoy the game. I do, however, greatly resent having to buy a game twice in order to get any part of the experience promised. Come the release of the next installment of the franchise, If Obsidian has anything to do with it, I'll likely give it a pass.
    Expand
  63. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    Best game of 2010. Excellent work. A good story. Great ending. Excellent replayability. I'm a fan of the second part. New Vegas did not disappoint me. I do not understand people who give low scores. The creators have made a masterpiece.
  64. Mar 14, 2012
    9
    This game offers little mechanical difference from it's predecessor Fallout 3; it's uniqueness comes in it's environment. Obsidian (who contain many former Black Isle employees, developers of Fallout 1 & 2) has crafted a unique environment that will please many players. My favourite part was J.E. Sawyer's inclusion of black humor and numerous easter eggs that make exploring the wasteland fun. DLC's are average, but this is a review of the core game only. -1 for motion capture and faces as well as some minor glitches that have since been patched. Expand
  65. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    The sheer amount of content in the fallout games is what I really like. With many good games today I find myself being saddened that the fun came to an end in a day or two. With new vegas you'll be playing constantly and continue to find new things to do and keep entertained day in and day out.. It is funny how I always considered bethesda as like the worst game creators I knew, but that was before I discovered games like oblivion, skyrim, fallout 3, and new vegas. I cannot wait for the next fallout game to hit shelves. I hope it doesn't end soon. Expand
  66. Mar 7, 2012
    7
    Fallout Las Vegas is good game about las vegas. You play as man who go to las vegas to get drunk, gamble, and sex, but then gangsters shoot you in head. When you wake up you are halliucinations that it is future where there was nucleare bomb. even though it was future world there were also romans there but maybe that is because you are dreaming. i like how you can kill anyone in las vegas even julius caesar (so you are like Brutal). one thing i did not like was you never find out if man wake up from dream or not. also when you try to go to las vegas at start of game you are killed by flies and monster from aliens. This was overall fun game 7/10 Expand
  67. Mar 6, 2012
    7
    A bit mixed between this and Fallout 3. I absolutely loved reputation system, the location, and the gameplay. My problems involved awful game breaking glitches (I couldn't play the game for 1.5 months), a lackluster main plot, and faction crossover problems. Overall it improved in many areas and stepped back in many others. Would be a 9 if not for the glitches.
  68. Mar 5, 2012
    5
    I was highly anticipating this release, but as soon as I got the game, I realized Bethesda had started neglecting it as soon as I started and saw they had the same wind up NPCs that do the same thing over and over and over. Then, I see they use some of the same, low quality textures that they used on their other games. I like the gameplay, and the story line was pretty good, but it just wasn't worth it. I start a new game, but every time I end up with the same stuff, same perks and everything. Just the same old T-51b with a unique gauss rifle. I loved the customizations, until I realized there were little to none for energy weapons, and the basically do nothing. Oh boy! My plasma rifle bullet travels faster. Oh boy! I have a scope and my beam splits for the laser rifle. Nope, the were pretty dumb and useless. Bethesda is just getting too lazy. It really is unacceptable. They should've had more customizations than you could count, and added customizations for armor. I have to get the disgrace for clothing, rusted over, mis colored, mismatched, T-51b power armor that looks like they pulled it out of a dumpster and dragged it through a septic tank, They should've let you do stuff with your armor. Aside from all that, I start out the game, and realize they didn't update the game play, and that they had the same boring compass, same dumb old pip boy, same crappy starting weapons with a tutorial that's better left uncompleted, and a story line that could use improvement. I find it even worse that you STILL start out in a crappy vault suit and everything. They didn't even change the skills system to make it better or anything. They just took fallout 3, changed the map, added a few things, and called it good. Bethesda is just starting to make me sick. They have all of us, their supporting fans who gave their games the hype and praise that they needed to be epic games, and Bethesda just puts us on their doorstep and slams the door. Come on guys! You can't just ignore all the obvious defects! Take down the ratings, and maybe Bethesda will think its time to do something. Expand
  69. Mar 4, 2012
    6
    Fallout New Vegas, better know as Fallot 3 part 2. New Vegas wasnt the fallout sequel that I was expecting it feeled amost exactly as fallout 3, the gameplay was the same that in fallout 3, well they added new things but overwall it didnt change much. The world was really unrealistic for fallout, in 3 the world really feeled that had experincied a nuclear catastrophe but in new vegas there are cities and places that are intact like the Vegas Strip or Hoover Dam. The gambling at casionos is one of the games inovative aspects but it wasnt good the main game was something called caravan in wich yo can gain more caps but the game is difficult to understand unless you look it up online and sometimes you win other game currency besides cap: legion coins and NCR dollars but I never have use these two currencies to buy anything. the only good new aspect was being able to customize your wepons as well the new waepons they addes like the antimateriel rifle and the YCS/168. In conclusion Fallout NV is an "OK" game, the exploration is interesting and also exploring the wastland but the factor that completly kills this game are the bugs and glitches there are more than in F3 and there are more annoying and some of them can completly ruin your game. Expand
  70. Mar 2, 2012
    9
    Let me start by saying this game has never been glitchy or buggy in my time playing with it, it has never crashed, broken or stop working. Most peopleseem to have different stories to mine but after 42 hours of gameplay fallout has yet agian captured my heart and imagination. Fallout 3 in my opinion was a better game due to a larger world, more quests and generally more populated environment.I'll start with the bad points; some of the quests are very dull and long, they aren't very exciting at some points but in contrast some are fun, interesting and replayable. Another poor mention is no sprint button and being 'overcucumbered' at very annoying times, this can lead to frustration and boredom. Also unlike fallout 3 some of the quests are very obscure and this causes people to use the wiki for almost everything which can ruin the story, remember to use it in moderation. And the final bad thing is probably, the wasteland can get very lonely and unless you have online so you can talk to your friends, it can get boring and like me i abandoned it for a while and couldn't get back into the story etc so i had to start again. The good things are the combat has been improved marginally with the inclusion of ironsights and guns feel heaftier and more accurate. Another thing is the huge amount of things to do if you can find them, there are mini objectives such as finding all the snowglobes, mini nukes etc, this for me was very fun and helped me expore the world in full, i probably would never have found some of the locations Also you may feel compelled by a longer and stronger storyline this time round with the main aim at the end obviously Vegas. Some momens of pure brilliance occur in the game and suprisingly obsidian really did deliver a very Fallouty sort of game, the sub developers really did capture the magic of the Fallout universe. Expand
  71. Feb 19, 2012
    7
    Graphics: I'm not complaining about them, but the texture could use some work.
    Storyline: Was a bit dissapointing, but i still enjoyed it.
    Gameplay: Would've been perfect if not for a few nasty bugs.
    Likes: I liked the V.A.Ts system, really unique idea. I also liked the weapons, clothing and factions on it, AND the multiple factions you can join.
    Dislikes: I didn't really like the
    locations, but i guess they were OK.
    So this recieves a 7 from me, since my saves get corrupted and becuase of high level enemies attacking me when i was still at a low level.
    Expand
  72. Feb 14, 2012
    8
    Just as good as fallout 3 if not better. i played through this game on release so it was very buggy and glitchy and froze my xbox completly random all over the place. even so i played it through and enjoyed almost every second of it. if this game would have been working properly on release i would have giving it a solid 10 but the fact that it was very broken i must give it an 8
  73. Feb 13, 2012
    10
    Best game ever. When I bought this game, I knew that it was going to be very simular to Fallout 3. But I didn't knew that it was going to be much more funnier to play, that it had a much more better story, a nicer location and, the most important, that it was much more addictive. Since the release date, I played it evry day again and again. It is such a deep experience,totally worth the buying. I would even buy it forthe double ammount of money. All the DLC were great, especcialy Honest Hearts and Old Wotld Blues. Expand
  74. Feb 11, 2012
    8
    Although maybe lacking some of the atmosphere and general wasteland feel that made Fallout 3 so immersive, Fallout New Vegas more than makes up for it in both content and charm. Exploring the practically untouched [by the nuclear war] areas of New Vegas and the surrounding desert is great fun and absolutely packed full of interesting stories and NPCs. Every place you find has a back story and most likely an actual quest tied to it. The world of New Vegas is smaller than that of Fallout 3, but has more locations to explore and more life to it, which seems fitting due to the setting and perfectly complements the barron wastelands of Fallout 3 by offering the player a different slice of a post-apocalyptic world. The introduction of factions is very much welcomed and your alliance with each one has major implications on the world and the story, allowing for multiple play throughs with different endings. Gunplay has been tightened and now has iron sights for easier aiming. However, this does make VATS mode a little bit useless now as aiming is so much more accurate. I experienced zero bugs that affected the game in any major way (once had a flying dog, but that was just hilarious) so I was overall pleased with the quality. The music and sound effects are fitting and really flesh out the world. Companions are much improved over Fallout 3 with the companion wheel, where in you can select many different orders for your companion to carry out on the fly. The game also comes with a Survival/hardcore mode where you have to constantly eat/drink/sleep to function. This is a fantastic addition and implemented brilliantly, adding a real feeling of desperation as you scavenge through old convenience stores for some canned food and bottles of water. The levelling system is solid and has a vast number of perks for you to choose from cannibalism to be able to tame wild animals. I do realise that some people had some horrid bugs with this game (save game corruption etc) but I experienced close to zero bugs after spending a good 200 hours exploring the entire landscape and doing every mission available, so any bugs present will be variable between copies. Anyway, highly recommend for lovers of RPGs and Sandbox titles. Expand
  75. Feb 5, 2012
    8
    An excellent RPG, but suffers a few drawbacks. There is a ton to do in New Vegas. There are plenty of factions full of quests for you to do, all of which have rewards through rep with the factions, weapons, caps, etc. The map is full of locations to explore, but unfortunately so many of them are meaningless. The biggest flaw to New Vegas is definitely the glitches. Though most are patched now, when New Vegas first came out, the game was full of broken quests, freezing (most commonly in loading screens), REALLY slow loading screens, etc. Although it is a great game, the developers did a poor job of cleaning up all of the bugs in their game. I still thoroughly enjoyed my experience with New Vegas though, despite the flaws. Expand
  76. Jan 28, 2012
    9
    this is the first fallout game i bought and i love it. my friend told me it was skyrim with guns so i bought it. to all of you wondering what fallout is its basically skyrim with guns. it does have alot of glitches but i still love it it has GREAT gameplay i highly reccomend
  77. Jan 25, 2012
    9
    This was the first Bethesda game I had ever played. And I am impressed. This game is everything I love. Complete random enemies, an engaging plot, but best of all , the ability to do whatever I want when I want to. Exploration is the best thing about this game, as there are so many locations to loot and explore. You can make a whole business out of looting, and you can spend hours just wandering into the wasteland, looking for signs of human habitation, and running into dangerous creatures who are fun to take on. But just because you can do that, doesn' t mean that the main quest is boring at all. Oh no, even though I just only got into New Vegas, it has a very interesting path of moving you from location to location and the whole story of the NCR vs Legion is awesome too, as you have the ability to choose a side. All in all this is definitely worth your money. I only decline from giving it a perfect ten because of problems with the save system. save often because its possible a save might become corrupted. Expand
  78. Jan 13, 2012
    7
    The more I play New Vegas ,my first Fallout game, the more I become addicted to it. Yes it does feature quite a few bugs, glitches, and lag but they never really effected that much (and I have played it for 30 hours) besides in a few moments. It is rather repetitive though and the story isnt interesting at all (for the main quest missions or side mission). Still, I would recommend this game because I enjoyed it a lot (which is a rare occurance now a days). Expand
  79. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    Is this game flawed? Yes. Is it ambitious? Yes. Is it fun to play? Yes. I loved this game from start to finish. A large play area and aa well-written and involving story have kept me playing for hours. I agree that a game with so many bugs on release shouldn't really receive a perfect 10. These have been fixed through a series of updates now though and the game is fantastic to play. Many people gave ME2 10's despite its flaws and lack of a decent plot or any rpg elements, despite being marketed as an rpg. How that was rewarded for false advertising is beyond me. Want an RPG with guns and depth, buy this. Want a shooter pretending to be an rpg? Buy me2 Expand
  80. Nov 26, 2011
    7
    an okay game after a while,not as good as fallout 3,dlc's are a waste of money,enemies are insanely hard at the beginning when your stuck with a gun as powerful as a bb gun until you can afford up to 20,000 caps for a good gun.
  81. Nov 20, 2011
    7
    Very fun game. with tons of side quests, and adventures, and items, this game has me playing for longer than I imagined. recommend it, but still needs improvement.
  82. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Do not listen to the nay sayers of Fallout: New Vegas. This game is truly remarkable. The vast open wasteland filled with hundreds of quests, NPC's, ridiculous weapons and crazy wildlife is not only genius but significantly important in lasting appeal. The game has plenty for you to keep coming back to and with the addition of DLC the abundance of Fallout fun gets even bigger. You will never get tired of walking the watsteland and discovering abandoned homes and facilities, caves and canyons or even populated communities with each individual to their own story. If you love an open world game this is for you. Fallout 3 players will enjoy this considerably and Elder Scroll fans should use New Vegas as a highly respectable filler until they get their hands on Skyrim. Note the game does encounter a few bugs and graphics are not up there with majority of most games these days but don't worry, you won't be focusing on that when you witness your own execution. Expand
  83. Nov 17, 2011
    2
    A terrible addition to the fallout series. A disgrace in comparison to 3. The gameplay is similar but the setting and missions are just rubbish. It fails to live up to it's predecessor and smashed my hopes. This game is awful and there is little fun to be had playing it.
  84. Nov 17, 2011
    2
    for what was a very creative and fun game series, fallout NV and 3 set an all time low. Sure, fallout 3 and NV pulled the series to 3d and open, and i admit it was kind of fun, but that fun was ruined by the major bugs, freezes, glitches and crashes i experienced on my copy. it happened on my PC,ps3 and 360 copies so its not my system. This is a very crap game that does not deserve a sequel. If 4 gets made, it must not be developed by obsidian and not use that crap gamebryo engine. I cant even tell you how bad the DLC makes it. Its unplayable after 3 hours gameplay. its like it purposly freezes to tick you off! Expand
  85. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    Improves on fallout 3 in many areas of game-play, the story is still fun and creative and like all Bethesda games there is plenty to do. Minor issues include the invisible walls in mountainous areas and the lack of improvement in textures from Fallout 3. However these issues in no way ruin what is a fantastic game.
  86. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Although with many glitches, is still a great game. This game is the same as fallout 3, it is like a map pack for 3 and could be a DLC but they have added some things like aim down sights which is nice. I enjoyed this game but I hope future fallout games are more different.
  87. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    was hypo, I absolutley loved it, I played on it for hours at a time and got so far into the storyline. Let me just say, the game is worth about Ã
  88. Oct 7, 2011
    9
    A good game [period] The storyline is great, it provides RPG elements that aren't really difficult to understand, a huge world to explore, loads of enemies to shoot / beat / blow up / poison / whatever. Though it's extremely glitched, but I don't think that counts too much. It also has the downfall of being overwhelmed by too many quests at the same time, or too many enemies at the same time. But get a companion (or solo if you prefer) and just pick one, you'll have a good time no matter what. The final flaw I'd like to mention is how depressing it can get, you look out at the half-dead world and...you just kinda get sad, but it also adds to the story, that again: the world is half-dead. Expand
  89. Oct 3, 2011
    5
    ahh f*** this game. I mean its allright but still SSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTIIIIIIIIIIIPPPPPPPPPPPPIIIIIIIDDDDDDDDDDDD!
    Look at the price. $8 75, ahh f*** it don't buy it. Fallout 3 is way better.
  90. Sep 24, 2011
    8
    While Fallout 3 had the novelty New Vegas has the polished finish that was lacking the the first game. It feels huge and will take hours and hours if you want to visit all the areas in the game. I like the faction interaction while does make you feel like decisions actually impact the game and the companions are more varied and have more depth. A good step in the Fallout franchise.....roll on the next episode. Expand
  91. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    Picked this up for £10 a week ago in Sainsbury's and what a bargain. While the game eschews the starker, slightly more realistic tone of its predecessor, it falls comfortably into the lore established by the older Fallout titles.

    The game has also benefitted considerably from updates since launch and many of the glitches and bugs that put me off in reviews at the time of
    release have been sorted out.

    The game hides the clunkier aspects of RPG-dom well, but still gives you enormous freedom in how you approach your quests and the gore is just hilarous.

    A really interesting world to explore and very compelling gameplay. Obsidian knocked it out of the park, IMO. New DLC is out today too, so get on board!
    Expand
  92. Aug 31, 2011
    3
    Fallout 3 is my favorite game of all time. I played it for all it was worth, got every trophy etc.. I anticipated Fallout New Vegas like it was Christmas. Wow was I disappointed--enraged in fact. I couldn't progress in the main story because of a game crashing glitch so I explored the rest of the wasteland--and ran into more game ending glitches. I returned to the game after patches were released and new content put up for sale. The sucker that I am I bought all the add-ons. And guess what? The game still has game ending bugs. I beat the game but at the end I was happy to be done with it. I didn't care that I hadn't seen most of the game world, or gotten snow globes and trophies. I was just happy I didn't have to sit through any more game ending glitches. There should have been a recall on this game. Bethesda and Obsidian should be ashamed. Expand
  93. Aug 16, 2011
    10
    I know a lot of people dont like this game, but I consider it one of the best games of all time! I Played Fallout 2 and this game made me remember a lot of things of f fallout 2.
  94. Aug 3, 2011
    9
    Great game. It takes the best elements from Fallout 3 and improves upon them. The various quests and factions are superb, and even the ending is great. Hardly anything about this game can be criticized in earnest. I can't wait to see what the next Fallout is like.
  95. Jul 21, 2011
    8
    Not perfect, but still one of the most engrossing games I've played in quite a while. The story and script are top notch, as is the voice acting (which is always nice to find out in a game). The lack of an option to carry on playing once the game is finished is quite annoying, but I suppose that being this way at least allows the story to carry the game and leaves you hungry for more. Some of the physics need working on (characters falling through scenery etc) but on the whole the visuals are good. Not quite as epic as when you first step out of the sewers in Oblivion, but still pretty sweet. Not sure I'd like to play another post-apocalyptic Fallout game, though. Maybe they should set the next one several hundred years after the events of New Vegas when mankind has recovered somewhat, or at least try something new. Expand
  96. Jul 21, 2011
    7
    This is not the sequel that Fallout 3 deserved. Other than the fact that it is pretty massive, the game itself still feels like an add-on, and in many ways the price reflects this - out for less than a year and you can already pick it up for a tenner. A number of people have picked up on the bugs, which yes, are relatively frequent (Missing "Companions", graphics flickering, pop-up, etc), but that isn't the worst part. What I find so annoying is that the missions this time around are very repetitive. It's a case of "go here, talk to person A, who tells you to find person B, who says to go back to A, then C, and back to B, etc etc etc..." It just seems that the missions lack the flair that Fallout 3 had. And on top of that, although some of the scenery graphics are amazing, most of them still drag out when you have to walk miles to your next point-of-interest and there is nothing on the way to distract you from the monotony of the desert. There's some nice touches, but nowhere near enough for what I expected. Expand
  97. Jul 14, 2011
    2
    If you like broken betas and no support from a team that is to busy making DLC to fix the problems with this pile of "bugs", them it is a must have! And do not think that is expansion pack for fallout 3 innovates in any way from its great predecessor. Don´t waste your time and money on this, wait for Deus EX: HR instead.
  98. Jul 7, 2011
    1
    Too many bugs and glitches and save files can be corrupt. The only good part of this game is an open world where you can explore for a lot of hours. Fallout 3 was way better than New Vegas.
  99. Jul 4, 2011
    6
    While Fallout New Vegas was good in the sense that it was a build on the Fallout 2, it had several issues. First of all, glitches. God I hate glitches as most gamers probably do. There was literally a point in the game (attempting to re-enter the strip) where I had to look up how to get access back to the strip due to a commonly known glitch. Characters melted into walls, screen cutting, etc.etc. This game apparently was not Q&A'd enough before it was put out.

    Secondly, the content felt as though it was just a massive expansion pack of the original Fallout 2. Nothing really new under the sun except for the fact that it included various ammo upgrades that really didn't add anything. And good gravy, enough with the Deathclaws!

    Overall, worth a playthrough. Played it through once, probably will never touch it again.
    Expand
  100. Jul 4, 2011
    9
    In my opinion, this game is one of the best open world games you could find. The Mojave wasteland is full of locations that are fun to explore, and enemies to shoot. The main quest is also filled with many decisions that effect the outcome of the game. You will probably not dislike much with this game, (except for the many glitches). So if you are looking for a game to buy, I suggest you get this one. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Feb 11, 2011
    70
    Until Fallout: New Vegas gets a major patch that fixes the problems, it can only be recommended to gamers who have a high threshold for frustration.
  2. Jan 19, 2011
    88
    If you didn't enjoy Fallout 3 or are not a fan of RPGs in general, then you'll probably disagree with me. Everyone else should seriously consider taking a road trip to New Vegas.
  3. Jan 16, 2011
    85
    The technology of the newest part of the fallout series is over aged and besides the hardcore mode and the reputation-system, the new features of New Vegas are manageable. But altogether, New Vegas is a successful new part and not just an add-on, with more than 100 hours of gaming, an interesting story and a new setting to explore.