User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 636 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 636

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 6, 2014
    8
    Review 1 2/6/14
    Fallout: New Vegas is one of the best games I own. It has a beautiful wasteland full of treasure and danger. Powerful factions with varying ideals, advanced weaponry and armor, wacky and vicious enemies, and a few funny moments for some comic relief. What else could you want? Sadly, there are a few flaws. People don't really seem to express their emotions in their face the
    Review 1 2/6/14
    Fallout: New Vegas is one of the best games I own. It has a beautiful wasteland full of treasure and danger. Powerful factions with varying ideals, advanced weaponry and armor, wacky and vicious enemies, and a few funny moments for some comic relief. What else could you want? Sadly, there are a few flaws. People don't really seem to express their emotions in their face the same way their voice does. Even after several years, there are still a few glitches and bugs that can be frustrating at times. But there are improvements over Fallout 3. You can have more control over your companions and they won't die. Your actions truly have an impact on the wasteland, and your choices affect how factions see you. For example, killing the leader of a faction will definitely anger them, and giving supplies to another faction will make them like you. Also, factions don't seem to be clearly "good" or "evil" and karma is not as significant. While I have not played the DLC, I have looked them up and they are a lot more closely tied to the main storyline. And Hardcore mode adds a new survival aspect where companions can die, and you need food, water, and sleep, and ammo has weight. If you are a true Fallout fan, or can tolerate an occasional glitch, then I highly recommend this.
    Expand
  2. Mar 12, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this is the best first person shooter ever.With a abundance of melee,laser,bullet and explosive weapons you will beready to take on the whole wasteland.lets clear the air about something new vegas is alot better than fallout 3,although the story is'nt as good as fallout 3 the gameplay is ecxellent.only disapointing thing about the game is the constantly crawling along at super low speeds and only being to carry almost the essentials.but its still a great game with a variety of enemies from ghouls all the way to "demons".well done Bethesda Expand
  3. Mar 13, 2014
    9
    Easily my favorite game of all time along with Fallout 3!!!Provided me with hours and hours of immersive enjoyment. I just can't give it a 10 though because of all the glitches but everyone should try this game!It may take a while to get into it but once you do you can't put down the controller down!
  4. Aug 1, 2014
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ok, I love Fallout 3. I'm addicted to it, but after playing the tutorial 4 times and having someone in the first city clip through the ground there is no hope for this game at all. Everytime said person catches me stealing when no one is around and I end up having to kill the quest givers. Game is highly unplayable due to glitches Expand
  5. Apr 22, 2014
    7
    I can remember my excitement when I was in 8th grade and saw the first trailer. I probably didn't shut up about the game for three days. The second it went up for pre-order I had my mom rush me to the nearest Gamestop to reserve the collectors edition. The game released three days before my birthday which i share with the anniversary of the nuclear war. As being the huge fan boy i am I hadI can remember my excitement when I was in 8th grade and saw the first trailer. I probably didn't shut up about the game for three days. The second it went up for pre-order I had my mom rush me to the nearest Gamestop to reserve the collectors edition. The game released three days before my birthday which i share with the anniversary of the nuclear war. As being the huge fan boy i am I had to own it along with my fallout 3 collectors edition (which im proud to be a owner of). Now its been years since it released, but i need to give my truthful opinion. When i first played I was obsessed playing nothing different for a month straight. Now my love has turned bitter as i begin to resent this game. BETHESDA WHAT DID YOU DO! First of all karma is pointless, just forget it exist it has ZERO impact on the game it;s just there to say hey you haven't stole anything. I heard zero comments from people about how i was a messiah. It's replaced by faction which was kinda cool i guess. The second thing that annoys me the brother hood of steel is a second faction. Why i love them and they always play the major role, but not this time. You can either choose the Caeser Legion, NCR, Mr. House, or yourself. Caeser Legion, are based of the Roman empire, they are made of conquered tribes and are evil and enslave people. I don't like them, i prefer to be a hero. NCR or the New California Republic are an attempt to recreate the old world. They may seem perfect, but they have their skeletons in the closet (but so does the U.S. government). And Mr. house, he just wants to protect the strip from the invading factions and stay independent. Finally work for yourself, no one bosses you around you choose who lives and who dies. In the end this game doesn't live up to it's old counter parts it's not awful, neither is it perfect. I would say pick it up it is cheap and i wont lie i have over 1000 hours in it (i love this series too much). Expand
  6. Nov 9, 2014
    10
    Fallout: New Vegas is an amazing and exhilarating RPG. To start off, the atmosphere and setting are truly breathtaking. The game takes place in Nevada that has places like Las Vegas (New Vegas) and the Hoover Dam. Besides there being major landmarks, there are tons, and I mean tons of places to explore that are all equally worth exploring. The story is also great. The main quests are funFallout: New Vegas is an amazing and exhilarating RPG. To start off, the atmosphere and setting are truly breathtaking. The game takes place in Nevada that has places like Las Vegas (New Vegas) and the Hoover Dam. Besides there being major landmarks, there are tons, and I mean tons of places to explore that are all equally worth exploring. The story is also great. The main quests are fun and interesting, and there are choices that the player needs to make that'll affect the main questline and ending so choose wisely. There are tons of side quests to do in this game too, which are all great in there own way. The only complaint I have about some quests is that they conflict with each other; if I complete one quest, then I may not be allowed to do another, or I complete a quest and I automatically fail a quest I never even knew about. The gameplay itself is absolutely fantastic. There are tons of guns and armor to use, the leveling system is really good and there's hardcore mode. In this mode, the player needs to actually drink water, eat food, sleep to survive, and be more cautious of the environment overall, it's an incredible feature that adds to the game. The biggest complaint I have about this game is the bugs and glitches. V.A.T.S. (combat system that freezes time to allow you to attack your enemy) doesn't always work and my character stands there and does nothing, enemies spawn out of nowhere, and objects disappear and fall through the floor. Also, my game will frequently crash and saves become corrupt, which is really frustrating. Another minor thing is that the graphics aren't improved at all compared to Fallout 3. It's been two years, so I would think the developers would improve the graphics. Fallout: New Vegas is an amazing RPG, but its technical flaws make it frustrating to play at times. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Feb 11, 2011
    70
    Until Fallout: New Vegas gets a major patch that fixes the problems, it can only be recommended to gamers who have a high threshold for frustration.
  2. Jan 19, 2011
    88
    If you didn't enjoy Fallout 3 or are not a fan of RPGs in general, then you'll probably disagree with me. Everyone else should seriously consider taking a road trip to New Vegas.
  3. Jan 16, 2011
    85
    The technology of the newest part of the fallout series is over aged and besides the hardcore mode and the reputation-system, the new features of New Vegas are manageable. But altogether, New Vegas is a successful new part and not just an add-on, with more than 100 hours of gaming, an interesting story and a new setting to explore.