User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 576 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 576

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 5, 2011
    10
    After 2 years without a new fallout game you expect something new right? Well you get a new City and a bunch of new quests but really there wasn't any big improvments from fallout 3. If you haven't played and of the fallouts i say go pick up fallout 3 because its a better game and you get it for about 30$ less
  2. Oct 21, 2010
    10
    Fallout: New Vegas is a massive step forward for the Fallout series. I've clocked 6 hours now and haven't even seen the Vegas Strip, and that's not a complaint. It's almost identical to Fallout 3 graphic-wise, suffers the same glitches here and there, and shares extremely similar mechanics. But in no way is it merely an expansion of Fallout 3. It's a totally new game and feels like one from the start. The customisation is more in-depth than I imagined. You're now able to customise your weapons from adding scopes and silencers, down to what type of bullet it fires. There's no feeling of monotony or boredom anymore and the game is even more challenging (hardcore mode aside). You now have almost full control over the story, with most quests forking into several routes, letting you make important decisions for yourself. That said, it's a Fallout game, it's for the fans. If you did not like Fallout 3, there's no way you'll like New Vegas. If you haven't played a Fallout game though, this is one that would be too big a shame to miss. 10/10 Expand
  3. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    Fallout New Vegas is a truley outstanding game and in my oppinion, it's everything you liked about Fallout 3, but somehow manages to step it up to the next level. Everything Obsedian decided to change from the former title is for the better. The ability to play in real time alone is enouph to make me like this game more than FO3. They have added COD like iron sights to most of the guns and also the awsome vats animations when you kill someone happen in real time as well. Vats is still here and better than ever with more real looking animations that never get old. Weopon Mods, Companion Wheel, and double the weopons from FO3, they've got my money! Expand
  4. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    After the game forced me to restart my system 3 times in as many hours I figured I would be in for a rough ride (and a possible red ring). I didn't experience any crashes during the next 5 hours of play though which gives me hope. There are however some other serious pathfinding glitches for monsters and NPCs. One of which allowed me to complete an upper level quest (that involved killing 3 super mutants at the same time) at level 3. The introduction of the hardcore mode makes up some of the technical issues though. I'm actually having a lot of fun, as much as when I played Fallout 3, which is what I wanted but didn't really expect. Expand
  5. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    Simply an excellent addition to the Fallout canon. An imaginative and extremely crafted story, numerous and refreshingly enjoyable side quests and engaging and thoughtful characters. This game will appeal to fans of Fallout 3 primarily, yet occasional references to previous games in the series to keep die-hard fans happy. By allowing Obsidian to create this game, it allows them to strike a near perfect balance of the complete Fallout experience. Many hours of mine have already been sunk into this game, and if you are looking for a thought-provoking enthralling video game adventure then look no more. This might sound sycophantic and gushing, yet this game really has brought a smile to my face. Roll on Fallout 4! Expand
  6. Oct 25, 2010
    10
    I just want to add that the recent update seems to of got rid of the crashing problem. Well... It seems to for me as it hasn't crashed on me yet! :)
  7. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    A marvelous addition to the Fallout franchise. Even if the bugs prohibit some players to enjoy the game to it's fullest. They are a minor inconvenience to an otherwise excellent game. The story is compelling, the graphics still hold up to today's standards. Overall, an excellent and a must buy game.
  8. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    Fallout: New Vegas has taken everything that worked well from Fallout 3 and expanded on it. The world is massive, beautiful, immersing, and jam packed full of content, quests, factions and unique characters. Iron Sights, Hardcore Mode, Weapon Mods, Factions, and countless other new features make this game a vast improvement for the franchise. The choppy framerate was easily fixed with a quick file patch, and I am sure Bethesda will be releasing some official version of the fix in the near future. Expand
  9. Oct 24, 2010
    10
    although there is a few annoying bugs this game is still awesome game im loving it.loads of graphic violence beuitfully crafted map heaps of quirky characters and loads more.and once the serious bugs a fixed everyone will enjoy it
  10. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    Why do i get the feeling i just paid $100 dollars to run Beta for a large gaming production? I paid this money so that i can put a disk in my PC load on a game and float away in an imaginary world, instead im stuck patching this, installing a lost .dll file, changing a wordpad doc while clapping my heads and spinning around backwards saying i got suckered by a large game production company. EPIC FAIL. As much as i still want to play a finished version of this game, me and all of those having these problems shouldt be put through this.. i didint pay 'Beth' money so that i can read up forums and fix the game myself!! Expand
  11. Oct 28, 2010
    10
    I have just over eight hours into this game and have found everything that I loved about Fallout 3 is still included in FO:NV. Some new strategies and aspects to the game that expand the previous ways to do the game. I have not had a single instance of a bug or of any weird happenings since beginning the game.
  12. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    Great game. I have had very few glitches, so i cannot comment on those. The game has new editions to it to keep it fresh, and i've found it highly entertaining. Choices and their related consequences have a large role in the game, so multiple playthroughs is a definite option. I recommend it.
  13. Oct 30, 2010
    10
    This game really captured the essence of Vegas and held my interest for hours on end. It has a wide variety of options and side-quests and you can also decide the outcome of the game. Though there are some bugs that will probably be fixed by updates it does not take the addictiveness away from this thrilling game. I would suggest this game to anyone who loves expansive worlds where there is always something to do. I also suggest buying it on Xbox 360 because an exclusive DLC (downloadable content) is coming out on Xbox only. Expand
  14. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    This has got to be my favourite current gen game to be honest. Sure, its true what everyone is saying about the bugs and freezes, its ridden with the damn things, but just like its predecessor this game is so addictive. It's impossible to put it down once you start playing. The immersion and atmosphere levels are through the roof. And "Hardcore" mode is the best challenging inducing feature set ive seen since I played System Shock 2 all those years ago. The sheer depth and intelligence of the entire game is just... wow! I cant even describe it. I love this game soOOoo much. Thank you Bethesda and Obsidian. Thank you very much. Expand
  15. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    I just passed the 100 hour mark and I'm not even half way through this incredible game. Anyone who rates this lower than a 9.5 is an uncultured philistine. Obsidian deserves the eternal gratitude of the gaming community for actually managing to evolve the Fallout formula, while most other big franchises are devolving into crap (Grand Theft Auto, Fable, Castlevania, Resident Evil, Street Fighter, Final Fantasy, etc.). Sure, it has crashed on me a few times but I never lose more than a few minutes. I would wait for a patch to fix the bugs if i could stop playing. The overall score HAS to be a 10! Expand
  16. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    at first i thought this game was pretty much gonna be an add on to fallout 3 there is many more unique weapons and its is a must buy. its has its ups and downs but there are about at least 3 downs but many more ups to make up for it
  17. Jan 3, 2011
    10
    What a wonderful game! I just saw that I played 35 hours in the save feature and am no way near the end, probably half way through at this stage. I have noticed a few minor bugs, but cannot agree with the negative reviews, the bugs don't impact my enjoyment of the game. Sure, if you like COD, then this might not be your game but if you like your FPS-RPG, it is a fantastic game. Should you up get the "Animal Perk" to keep the death claws at bay or better upgrade your VATS accuracy? If those questions get your gaming juices flowing, then this is your game. The game is better than Fallout Out 3 (although it is obviously an extension, not really a new game), as the hardcore mode is great, also it feels like the Speech, Science and other skills are more powerful this time round. The different factions are just fascinating to explore and I just recently stumbled across the Brotherhood of Steel. Love it! Expand
  18. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    Fallout: New Vegas effectively captures the soul of the original games in making a dynamic choice-driven world. I can only speak for people similar to myself, but I would strongly recommend this to fans of the original.

    What did the game do particularly well?
    -complex choices with in-game consequences -non-linear quests with multiple solutions
    -I loved the old west cowboy aesthetic

    -better developed companions
    -the Mojave fits together much better than the capital wasteland, ie. factional conflict is explained
    -interesting crafting skills
    -the game forces you to make tradeoffs in character design, and as you level allowing for a diversity of different kinds of characters to build

    What was less good?
    -Apparently the game is buggy. I haven't experienced this, but if you play nonstop for a few hours load-times go up. Then again, if you are playing for a few hours, I'd say that is a sign of a good game.
    -The voice acting is better than Fallout 3 and Morrowind, but still not up to par with Bioware's RPG's.
    Expand
  19. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    Picked this up for £10 a week ago in Sainsbury's and what a bargain. While the game eschews the starker, slightly more realistic tone of its predecessor, it falls comfortably into the lore established by the older Fallout titles.

    The game has also benefitted considerably from updates since launch and many of the glitches and bugs that put me off in reviews at the time of
    release have been sorted out.

    The game hides the clunkier aspects of RPG-dom well, but still gives you enormous freedom in how you approach your quests and the gore is just hilarous.

    A really interesting world to explore and very compelling gameplay. Obsidian knocked it out of the park, IMO. New DLC is out today too, so get on board!
    Expand
  20. Aug 16, 2011
    10
    I know a lot of people dont like this game, but I consider it one of the best games of all time! I Played Fallout 2 and this game made me remember a lot of things of f fallout 2.
  21. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    EASY FIX
    xbox360 Fallout New Vegas has many same troubles that have a easy fix. Game was very laggy for play and it took long to load game area. FIX: Get rid of 90% - 99% of YOUR game Saves. Thia also works with many other games on xbox360 Game now runs smooth and no crashes or laggy play.
  22. Apr 16, 2011
    10
    I adore this game. After sinking many fun-filled hours into Fallout 3, I was very excited about New Vegas. The formula is still pretty much the same: wander a wasteland taking on side quests and tracking down and purchasing items which are managed by your Pip-Boy, while killing monsters using the VATS targetting system, all in 2008 graphics which have aged quite well.
    Sure, things are
    pretty much the same, but anyone who gets p*ssed off by that is missing the point of the game. The Mojave Wasteland is tremendous fun to explore, bound with constant surprises. As an example, I once came out of an abandoned robotics store to be greeted by three wild grannies straight out of Monty Python! The game is truly brilliant, and the excellent additions of the factions and reputations system is a very welcome one. There are also quite a few subtle touches too, such as being able to craft ammunition. The graphics may be old, but I have never had so much fun with Fallout. Expand
  23. May 19, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Simply a stunning game, although with no major additions to Fallout New Vegas, it offers 150+ more quests, a new giant world to explore , a new rich quest-line with multiple endings, and much more. And for only $30 it's well worth the money. Expand
  24. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    Fallout New Vegas Is my favorite game of all time. It's basically fallout 3 with a better story and more toys. This game is the ultimate nerdgasm. The guns... there are some guns in this game... And the characters... and the plot once you get over the start, when you finally start to understand... best game ever.
  25. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    Is this game flawed? Yes. Is it ambitious? Yes. Is it fun to play? Yes. I loved this game from start to finish. A large play area and aa well-written and involving story have kept me playing for hours. I agree that a game with so many bugs on release shouldn't really receive a perfect 10. These have been fixed through a series of updates now though and the game is fantastic to play. Many people gave ME2 10's despite its flaws and lack of a decent plot or any rpg elements, despite being marketed as an rpg. How that was rewarded for false advertising is beyond me. Want an RPG with guns and depth, buy this. Want a shooter pretending to be an rpg? Buy me2 Expand
  26. Feb 13, 2012
    10
    Best game ever. When I bought this game, I knew that it was going to be very simular to Fallout 3. But I didn't knew that it was going to be much more funnier to play, that it had a much more better story, a nicer location and, the most important, that it was much more addictive. Since the release date, I played it evry day again and again. It is such a deep experience,totally worth the buying. I would even buy it forthe double ammount of money. All the DLC were great, especcialy Honest Hearts and Old Wotld Blues. Expand
  27. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    The sheer amount of content in the fallout games is what I really like. With many good games today I find myself being saddened that the fun came to an end in a day or two. With new vegas you'll be playing constantly and continue to find new things to do and keep entertained day in and day out.. It is funny how I always considered bethesda as like the worst game creators I knew, but that was before I discovered games like oblivion, skyrim, fallout 3, and new vegas. I cannot wait for the next fallout game to hit shelves. I hope it doesn't end soon. Expand
  28. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    Best game of 2010. Excellent work. A good story. Great ending. Excellent replayability. I'm a fan of the second part. New Vegas did not disappoint me. I do not understand people who give low scores. The creators have made a masterpiece.
  29. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    First, I would like to state that my review concerns the latest, fully patched, version of the game, not the game as it was right after release. That being said I would like start with the game's flaws, as even this game is not perfect. The graphics speaks for itself I think - Bethesda's old engine just cannot dream to be on par with latest productions, but graphics is not what this game is about. Apart from that there are some glitches that may occasionally resurface like character ending up stuck in some invisible force field, items and critters not spawning correctly in some areas (re-loading the location usually helps), script triggers not working properly at times, rather long load times. All those may be annoying but are not able to really spoil the fun. What we got from Obsidian is nothing less but a true blood Fallout RPG, for the first time since 1998 and Fallout 2. Not only is it a rightful continuation to the franchise, but also a grand improvement comparing to painfully simplistic Fallout 3. The main plot is pretty simple, like in all Fallout games, but this time the player has a truly extraordinary control over the outcome of the story. Each and every choice influences the Mojave Desert area in some way. Completing quests may not have consequences immediately but later in the game our previous decisions may prove crucial. Aside from the main storyline there are at dozens of side quests - some of them longer, some shorter - all well-designed and interesting. In FNV there are many old-new features. Old because they were present in the original Fallouts 1 & 2, new because they were drastically simplified or totally omitted in F3. Some of these are: Levelable companions with interesting backgrounds and a "companion wheel" to control their behaviour. Traits are back! Reputation and fraction system. Maintenance bar for weapons and armours as well as minimal requirements to use weapons. Various ammunition types. Multitude of new, useful and interesting perks. Last but not least: Hardcore mode - a nightmare of Fallout 3 fans (or rather - of Fallout 3's simplicity fans). In this optional difficulty level, some of Bethesda's simplifications, like instantly-healing stimpacks or weightless ammo, vanish and the game itself gets a survival aspect, never present before, PC needs to sleep, eat and hydrate regularily - I strongly recommend ticking it on. One more thing - world map. The area in NV is a bit smaller than that presented in F3 but is more densely packed with locations and monster encounters - what should be a good news to those bored with running through a nearly empty, nearly critterless desert of Capital Wasteland. Overall - the game has some minor flaws but they should not interfere with experiencing one of the best RPGs ever created by man. The game (without dlcs) has a gemetime potential of even 100+ hours if you want to discover every location and do every quest. Moreover, if you want to exploit every possibility and gain every achievement you will want to start over and take a different path, siding with other factions and completing quests in alternative ways. Objectively, my score should be 9,5, because of the flaws, but I give it 10 as in reality it does not deserve less. Buy and play. Amen. Expand
  30. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    Very similar to fallout 3 but still brilliant, odd glitches and bugs. Same graphics same gameplay would definitely recommend if a fan of fallout 3. I sympathize with people
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Feb 11, 2011
    70
    Until Fallout: New Vegas gets a major patch that fixes the problems, it can only be recommended to gamers who have a high threshold for frustration.
  2. Jan 19, 2011
    88
    If you didn't enjoy Fallout 3 or are not a fan of RPGs in general, then you'll probably disagree with me. Everyone else should seriously consider taking a road trip to New Vegas.
  3. Jan 16, 2011
    85
    The technology of the newest part of the fallout series is over aged and besides the hardcore mode and the reputation-system, the new features of New Vegas are manageable. But altogether, New Vegas is a successful new part and not just an add-on, with more than 100 hours of gaming, an interesting story and a new setting to explore.