User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 822 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 822
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 19, 2010
    7
    This games title is misleading, it should have been called Fallout 3: New Vegas. If you didn't follow the dev cycle of New Vegas you might not have know that this game uses the same engine that powered Fallout 3 (also Oblivion, both by Bethesda); that means that game mechanics, quest structures, color palette (apocalyptic brown), AI, game assets, shoddy character animations, HUD and UI andThis games title is misleading, it should have been called Fallout 3: New Vegas. If you didn't follow the dev cycle of New Vegas you might not have know that this game uses the same engine that powered Fallout 3 (also Oblivion, both by Bethesda); that means that game mechanics, quest structures, color palette (apocalyptic brown), AI, game assets, shoddy character animations, HUD and UI and even V.A.T.S. is all the same as Fallout 3. That being said, if you're a fan of Fallout 3, you'll definitely not want to miss New Vegas. However; unfortunately Obsidian Entertainment's envision of the Fallout Universe is not quite as polished in its implementation, as its predecessor. There are bugs, AI glitches such as NPCs and creatures spawning under terrain, clipping problems such objects that occupy the same space and clip through each other and look sloppy, textures not loading or not visible (such as your gun and arm, which happens randomly), areas where your character will get stuck and force a mandatory reload to proceed, and these are just to name a few of the problems on the Xbox360 version - problems with the NPC AI being the biggest detractor. Another negative aspect of the game is that, unlike Fallout 3, most areas in the wasteland lack the polish of 'The Strip' (the strip is a sight to see) and feel drab or boring in comparison. Also another area I felt was lacking was the voice acting, you can really tell that Obsidian skimped in this area, overall the Voice acting is just horrible compared to F3 - I'm talking about monotonous dialogue and tons of different NPCs who use the same Voice Actor with little to no distinction between them. Despite the games obvious flaws there is much to like (especially if you liked F3), a whole new (long) story line, another large sandbox wasteland to explore with numerous quests (a lot of quests with multiple outcomes, and ways to complete them), countless NPCs (the story writers for this game is exceptional), Vying factions which fight for territory- the NCR, Great Khans, Powder Gangers, The Legionaries, Mr. House, Fiends, and more, some of which you can join and become apart of. There are tons of references to the original Fallout games, lots of new creatures (several of which return from early Fallout games like the Gecko), new weapons, new perks, new recipies can be made on a campfire or a workbench now, and you can use a reloading bench to recycle ammo, or convert ammo types. There are also A LOT of minor tweaks and welcome additions to the Fallout 3 formula, such as new interface and commands for companions, gambling, weapon mods, all the weapons now have iron sights in first person (bravo), weapon repair kits, a new hardcore mode where you have to monitor food, water, and sleep- are just a few of the additions. The writing and dialog in the game has a more mature nature and emphasis on dark humor this time, and the quests are never repetitive, they are exciting and quite amusing at times: definitely the best part about New Vegas. This is another extremely long single player experience and will most likely take people over 100 hours to see everything in the game, not to mention the immense replay value this time around because of the many different vying factions, the quests with multiple outcomes, and different paths to follow all make New Vegas a great value to any fan of Fallout 3 or fallout in general- I just wish that there wasn't so many problems, and that the game used a new engine as the elder scrolls 4 engine is really starting to look dated. If it wasn't for the large amount of content and re-playability I would not consider this to be a stand alone game, rather an expansion pack for fallout 3. Fix the bugs Obsidian, and I would rate the game a 8 or 9/10 as I'm a huge fan of Fallout 3. Expand
  2. Feb 15, 2011
    7
    I will say that I feel it was an intelligent move for them to call this Fallout: New Vegas and not Fallout 4, mainly because it's extremely similar to Fallout 3, with even the graphics being the same. The engine clearly shows its age in this one, sharing the same old outdated graphics as Fallout 3, as well as mechanics and its own fair share of glitches. Yes, there are a decent chunk ofI will say that I feel it was an intelligent move for them to call this Fallout: New Vegas and not Fallout 4, mainly because it's extremely similar to Fallout 3, with even the graphics being the same. The engine clearly shows its age in this one, sharing the same old outdated graphics as Fallout 3, as well as mechanics and its own fair share of glitches. Yes, there are a decent chunk of glitches, but none of them are game breaking. They mainly consist of people floating on occasion as well as items vanishing. And of course, the rare but inevitable game crash that seems to plague the Gamebryo engine. By installing the game onto your hard drive, you definitely cut down on some of the glitches, as well as graphic tearing, which seems to persist throughout the game. To move on, the storyline on New Vegas is relatively weak, in my opinion. Never once did I honestly care too much about what was going on in the world, nor did I care about which side that I took. The side quests in the game are about as decent as you would expect, some of them being cliche and pointless, while others are quite a lot of fun. As mentioned earlier, the graphics are subpar for this day and age, and the sound quality is average. Even though you can aim down your sights on most of the guns, this new mechanic is essentially worthless, considering there's no aim assist, making it virtually impossible to hit enemies where you want to. Since this is the case, it still forces you to use VATS most of the time, like in Fallout 3, which is definitely something I didn't enjoy. Even though the actual world map is supposedly equivalent to Fallout 3's, I feel that it's not nearly as big. All of the locations are in the center of the map, and it will not let you explore any of the corners of the map, which make up at least a third of it. Mountains block your path when you try and leave, and the locations are so tightly clustered that it doesn't feel as realistic as Fallout 3 did. It says that it has more locations than Fallout 3; what they don't mention, is that a third of these locations literally consist of half of a burned down shack with one metal box inside that contains a stimpack and a cot. There are hardly any details for many locations, giving you in actuality less places to explore. The factions have very little meaning, other than restricting what clothing you wear, as well as which enemies shoot you on sight. If you steal from or kill any faction members than your reputation with them goes down, which is still essentially pointless. It's kind of difficult to get on a faction's good side (i.e. Powder Gangers) when they shoot you on sight before you even have a chance to interact with them. Weapon modding is slightly absurd: you have a choice of a few mods to insert into your weapon, but the mods aren't anything exciting. Crafting items is also bland, resulting in either new ammunition of breaking it down. The difficulty is embarassing at times. On the standard difficulty, you will usually kill enemy monsters in a few hits. But then, you'll encounter random monsters that suddenly see a huge difficulty spike, where they'll annihiliate you in three hits. Overall, the game is still pieced together well, and despite all of its flaws, it definitely provides an entertaining predecessor if you enjoyed Fallout 3. It doesn't surpass it in any way, rather, it seems a step back, but if you loved Fallout 3 and need more, than this is the game for you. Recommended to fans of the series and RPG's, but I can't recommend to FPS lovers. Expand
  3. Nov 1, 2010
    7
    Fallout:NV does not offer much difference from Fallout 3. The main difference is the setting. I really liked Fallout 3 and as far as gameplay goes this is pretty much the same.
    The main problem with the game are the glitches. Wow. Often times objects flicker or turn green for no reason. There are other visual glitches as well. Most negative things I have read about the game center on the
    Fallout:NV does not offer much difference from Fallout 3. The main difference is the setting. I really liked Fallout 3 and as far as gameplay goes this is pretty much the same.
    The main problem with the game are the glitches. Wow. Often times objects flicker or turn green for no reason. There are other visual glitches as well. Most negative things I have read about the game center on the bugs and glitches and rightly so. I especially don't understand how a console game can be released with this many problems. I understand PC versions to an extent due to the massive variety of hardware and software platforms that must be supported. However, a console like the Xbox360 is basically the same hardware regardless of model. If you liked Fallout 3 consider this a big expansion pack and you will probably be satisfied.
    Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2010
    7
    the game is somewhat decent now after multiple patches although you still can't use the autosave feature. if you're new to Fallout it'll be effin amazing for you. But for those of us who were privileged enough to play Fallout 3 in all of its glory then New Vegas is a cheap rip-off that should've stayed in the able hands of Bethesda and far away from the short-bus that is Obsidian
  5. Nov 28, 2010
    7
    I love this game so far. It does alot of things better than Fallout 3, such as more weapons, different ammo types/weapon mods, more enemies, alot more than there was in Fallout 3.

    I could have given this game a perfect rating, had Bethesda and Obsidian revamped the game engine. It still suffers from Fallout 3's plethora of PS3-crashing, progress-losing game glitches. This is such a big
    I love this game so far. It does alot of things better than Fallout 3, such as more weapons, different ammo types/weapon mods, more enemies, alot more than there was in Fallout 3.

    I could have given this game a perfect rating, had Bethesda and Obsidian revamped the game engine. It still suffers from Fallout 3's plethora of PS3-crashing, progress-losing game glitches. This is such a big problem with the engine, I find it difficult to believe that the game producers were unaware of the previous game's flaws such as to not rectify them in New Vegas. To me, it comes as a slap in the face. I can't tell you how frustrated I feel when I get an average of 3-5 glitches per hour in various locations and situations throughout the game. I could be buying something from a merchant and in the middle of buying something, the game crashes. Or I could be in the middle of V.A.T.S., the game crashes.... or I could be just simply walking along doing absolutely f*cking nothing... the game crashes. It's a shame these people call themselves game designers.

    Also, we are in the year 2010 and 1080p graphics have been around for... how long? Why is it we are still using outdated 720p graphics here?
    Expand
  6. Feb 25, 2011
    7
    Let me start by saying that I had been debating about purchasing this game for months I finally bought it and have been playing it for a few days now and I enjoy it, but not as much as I could be.

    I am a fan and somewhat of a connoisseur of role-play and shooter games and I must say that though it's no where near as inventive nor as awe-inspiring as its' predecessor, Fallout: New Vegas is
    Let me start by saying that I had been debating about purchasing this game for months I finally bought it and have been playing it for a few days now and I enjoy it, but not as much as I could be.

    I am a fan and somewhat of a connoisseur of role-play and shooter games and I must say that though it's no where near as inventive nor as awe-inspiring as its' predecessor, Fallout: New Vegas is turning into a rather enjoyable experience. I am currently 21 hours into the game have experienced minimal frame-rate issues (even with large gunfights, and explosions) the load times are sometimes long (7-12 seconds) but not enough to seriously hamper a play session. However, there will need to be some serious retooling of the combat mechanics. There have been many instances of glitches in VATS, many instances with the hit detection while looking through iron sights, and far to many clipping issues. I find that saving often is my only defence against this but problems like these should not happen this often even in a game this big.

    Aside from the technical aspects of the game, the world that your player inhabits seems more "real" at least in terms of my opinion. Fallout 3 was more of an "Ideal Apocalyptic Experience" where your character was more of a bad ass or a saviour of mankind travelling around the capitol wasteland doing what ever you damn well pleased. (That was great fun, don't get me wrong) Fallout: New Vegas gives a more authentic experience in a sense that the world is scraping by, just barely making it. You begin the game with little more than nothing and until you can reach the higher levels you will, most likely, be scavenging for everything from food to guns and what ever else just to stay alive. The desert is barren and lifeless and seems to go on forever, and I personally enjoy that aspect of the game. Everything about it breathes the real sense that the world we know today has been wiped off the earth (with the exception of Vegas of course.) I know many donâ
    Expand
  7. May 6, 2011
    7
    A decent rpg game, not as good as its predecessor fallout 3. The in game graphics are fantastic, leveling up system is good also the combat system works well. Unfortuneatly like many recent rpg,s the storyline was poor. Towards the end of the game i wasnt sure what i was supposed to be doing, because there where so many side quests and the main theme of the main quest was uninteresting.A decent rpg game, not as good as its predecessor fallout 3. The in game graphics are fantastic, leveling up system is good also the combat system works well. Unfortuneatly like many recent rpg,s the storyline was poor. Towards the end of the game i wasnt sure what i was supposed to be doing, because there where so many side quests and the main theme of the main quest was uninteresting. All in all a decent game just wish the main storyline could have been better. Expand
  8. Jul 21, 2011
    7
    This is not the sequel that Fallout 3 deserved. Other than the fact that it is pretty massive, the game itself still feels like an add-on, and in many ways the price reflects this - out for less than a year and you can already pick it up for a tenner. A number of people have picked up on the bugs, which yes, are relatively frequent (Missing "Companions", graphics flickering, pop-up,This is not the sequel that Fallout 3 deserved. Other than the fact that it is pretty massive, the game itself still feels like an add-on, and in many ways the price reflects this - out for less than a year and you can already pick it up for a tenner. A number of people have picked up on the bugs, which yes, are relatively frequent (Missing "Companions", graphics flickering, pop-up, etc), but that isn't the worst part. What I find so annoying is that the missions this time around are very repetitive. It's a case of "go here, talk to person A, who tells you to find person B, who says to go back to A, then C, and back to B, etc etc etc..." It just seems that the missions lack the flair that Fallout 3 had. And on top of that, although some of the scenery graphics are amazing, most of them still drag out when you have to walk miles to your next point-of-interest and there is nothing on the way to distract you from the monotony of the desert. There's some nice touches, but nowhere near enough for what I expected. Expand
  9. Nov 20, 2011
    7
    Very fun game. with tons of side quests, and adventures, and items, this game has me playing for longer than I imagined. recommend it, but still needs improvement.
  10. Nov 26, 2011
    7
    an okay game after a while,not as good as fallout 3,dlc's are a waste of money,enemies are insanely hard at the beginning when your stuck with a gun as powerful as a bb gun until you can afford up to 20,000 caps for a good gun.
  11. Jan 13, 2012
    7
    The more I play New Vegas ,my first Fallout game, the more I become addicted to it. Yes it does feature quite a few bugs, glitches, and lag but they never really effected that much (and I have played it for 30 hours) besides in a few moments. It is rather repetitive though and the story isnt interesting at all (for the main quest missions or side mission). Still, I would recommend thisThe more I play New Vegas ,my first Fallout game, the more I become addicted to it. Yes it does feature quite a few bugs, glitches, and lag but they never really effected that much (and I have played it for 30 hours) besides in a few moments. It is rather repetitive though and the story isnt interesting at all (for the main quest missions or side mission). Still, I would recommend this game because I enjoyed it a lot (which is a rare occurance now a days). Expand
  12. Feb 19, 2012
    7
    Graphics: I'm not complaining about them, but the texture could use some work.
    Storyline: Was a bit dissapointing, but i still enjoyed it.
    Gameplay: Would've been perfect if not for a few nasty bugs. Likes: I liked the V.A.Ts system, really unique idea. I also liked the weapons, clothing and factions on it, AND the multiple factions you can join. Dislikes: I didn't really like the
    Graphics: I'm not complaining about them, but the texture could use some work.
    Storyline: Was a bit dissapointing, but i still enjoyed it.
    Gameplay: Would've been perfect if not for a few nasty bugs.
    Likes: I liked the V.A.Ts system, really unique idea. I also liked the weapons, clothing and factions on it, AND the multiple factions you can join.
    Dislikes: I didn't really like the locations, but i guess they were OK.
    So this recieves a 7 from me, since my saves get corrupted and becuase of high level enemies attacking me when i was still at a low level.
    Expand
  13. Mar 6, 2012
    7
    A bit mixed between this and Fallout 3. I absolutely loved reputation system, the location, and the gameplay. My problems involved awful game breaking glitches (I couldn't play the game for 1.5 months), a lackluster main plot, and faction crossover problems. Overall it improved in many areas and stepped back in many others. Would be a 9 if not for the glitches.
  14. Mar 7, 2012
    7
    Fallout Las Vegas is good game about las vegas. You play as man who go to las vegas to get drunk, gamble, and sex, but then gangsters shoot you in head. When you wake up you are halliucinations that it is future where there was nucleare bomb. even though it was future world there were also romans there but maybe that is because you are dreaming. i like how you can kill anyone in las vegasFallout Las Vegas is good game about las vegas. You play as man who go to las vegas to get drunk, gamble, and sex, but then gangsters shoot you in head. When you wake up you are halliucinations that it is future where there was nucleare bomb. even though it was future world there were also romans there but maybe that is because you are dreaming. i like how you can kill anyone in las vegas even julius caesar (so you are like Brutal). one thing i did not like was you never find out if man wake up from dream or not. also when you try to go to las vegas at start of game you are killed by flies and monster from aliens. This was overall fun game 7/10 Expand
  15. May 15, 2012
    7
    I loved Fallout 3, so I was mildly disappointed with New Vegas. It's not nearly as good as Fo3, but it's still a fun game to play. The story is very interesting, with so many different ways to go that I could spent countless hours going down each possible story arc. There are many more quests (marked and unmarked) than Fo3, and the weapons are just as interesting and fun to use as theyI loved Fallout 3, so I was mildly disappointed with New Vegas. It's not nearly as good as Fo3, but it's still a fun game to play. The story is very interesting, with so many different ways to go that I could spent countless hours going down each possible story arc. There are many more quests (marked and unmarked) than Fo3, and the weapons are just as interesting and fun to use as they were before. The gameplay is much more balanced as well; in Fallout 3, I found that I felt like a powerhouse and I had few troubles with enemies, even on the hardest difficulties. In Fo: NV, I actually have had trouble with some of the various baddies in the Wasteland. Unfortunately, this game is also pretty buggy. Patches have been released that have fixed a lot of the bugs, but they're still there. I haven't tried the DLC yet, so I can't say much on that part.

    Overall, Fo:NV is a good game, and I do recommend it. However, Fo3 is a much better choice, so pick that up first!
    Expand
  16. Aug 6, 2012
    7
    Fun, large world, but lacking in new material. Most of the quests were a "Go from X and Get Y", which felt almost half-assed. It feels more like a DLC then a different game. The hardcore mode was a great addition though.
  17. Aug 9, 2012
    7
    This one is considerably worse than the original Fallout 3. The story and the world are much weaker. But still, for fans of Fallout this is a worthy title.
  18. Jun 14, 2013
    7
    Not that bad pretty badass but compared to the masterpiece RPG FPS named fallout 3, it to me is very lack laster and took me about 1 year to get back into the game, Great game, just not as good as fallout 3
  19. Mar 16, 2013
    7
    Fallout: New Vegas is a solid game in the Fallout franchise that provides hours of single player content, There are few games out there that could match the amount of content you can find in Fallout 3 and New Vegas, Whilst this game is good it has a lot of bugs that bring down the overall experience dramatically, I have never experienced so many game bugs from a single game and as a hugeFallout: New Vegas is a solid game in the Fallout franchise that provides hours of single player content, There are few games out there that could match the amount of content you can find in Fallout 3 and New Vegas, Whilst this game is good it has a lot of bugs that bring down the overall experience dramatically, I have never experienced so many game bugs from a single game and as a huge fan of Fallout 3, I was very disappointed by it, the game is great if you can get past the bugs, but if you can't then you might want to consider looking elsewhere. But from a content level this game can give you hundreds of hours playtime. Expand
  20. Jan 17, 2014
    7
    In the latest installment of the famed Fallout series, you take the persona as the "courier" who was shot and was brung to a doctor's home and healed. You then go on a mission to find the missing package and who shot you, changing the fate of the Nevada wasteland forever. As a Fallout game, we can expect comedic, yet deep storyline. The gameplay is addicting so enough to satisfy even theIn the latest installment of the famed Fallout series, you take the persona as the "courier" who was shot and was brung to a doctor's home and healed. You then go on a mission to find the missing package and who shot you, changing the fate of the Nevada wasteland forever. As a Fallout game, we can expect comedic, yet deep storyline. The gameplay is addicting so enough to satisfy even the pickiest player. Yet, the game falls for some outdated graphics and confusing objectives. Plus, don't even think about the AI being well made. Overall, this game is worth playing-if you can get over the graphics and AI. Expand
  21. Jan 20, 2014
    7
    Pros: This game is very open ended and has tons of replay value.

    Cons: The story just isn't quite as good as Fallout 3. There are a few weird glitches too.

    Overall, this is a really fun game that is definitely worth playing (at least once).
  22. Apr 22, 2014
    7
    I can remember my excitement when I was in 8th grade and saw the first trailer. I probably didn't shut up about the game for three days. The second it went up for pre-order I had my mom rush me to the nearest Gamestop to reserve the collectors edition. The game released three days before my birthday which i share with the anniversary of the nuclear war. As being the huge fan boy i am I hadI can remember my excitement when I was in 8th grade and saw the first trailer. I probably didn't shut up about the game for three days. The second it went up for pre-order I had my mom rush me to the nearest Gamestop to reserve the collectors edition. The game released three days before my birthday which i share with the anniversary of the nuclear war. As being the huge fan boy i am I had to own it along with my fallout 3 collectors edition (which im proud to be a owner of). Now its been years since it released, but i need to give my truthful opinion. When i first played I was obsessed playing nothing different for a month straight. Now my love has turned bitter as i begin to resent this game. BETHESDA WHAT DID YOU DO! First of all karma is pointless, just forget it exist it has ZERO impact on the game it;s just there to say hey you haven't stole anything. I heard zero comments from people about how i was a messiah. It's replaced by faction which was kinda cool i guess. The second thing that annoys me the brother hood of steel is a second faction. Why i love them and they always play the major role, but not this time. You can either choose the Caeser Legion, NCR, Mr. House, or yourself. Caeser Legion, are based of the Roman empire, they are made of conquered tribes and are evil and enslave people. I don't like them, i prefer to be a hero. NCR or the New California Republic are an attempt to recreate the old world. They may seem perfect, but they have their skeletons in the closet (but so does the U.S. government). And Mr. house, he just wants to protect the strip from the invading factions and stay independent. Finally work for yourself, no one bosses you around you choose who lives and who dies. In the end this game doesn't live up to it's old counter parts it's not awful, neither is it perfect. I would say pick it up it is cheap and i wont lie i have over 1000 hours in it (i love this series too much). Expand
  23. May 12, 2014
    7
    Several years after it has been released, I found the game to still have some bug issues, but nothing game breaking to keep you from playing it. I didn't get into Fallout 3 because the game was so boring as it was not on the interactive level of Bethesda's TES, nor was it on that level of graphics and artstyle. Fallout New Vegas is just the same as Fallout 3 in these regards. AndSeveral years after it has been released, I found the game to still have some bug issues, but nothing game breaking to keep you from playing it. I didn't get into Fallout 3 because the game was so boring as it was not on the interactive level of Bethesda's TES, nor was it on that level of graphics and artstyle. Fallout New Vegas is just the same as Fallout 3 in these regards. And unlike, TES series, you don't level up in this game as you spend more time doing certain attributes. You have to wait until you get enough XP and then put points into those skills. Also, it's not an easily traverseable area to roam in. This sandbox seems to be more restrictive in roaming as you find yourself having to traverse a U shaped map with small corridors along the sides. I just couldn't get excited about playing this game as it takes forever to level up and, just like Fallout 3, I felt like the loneliest person in the world. Ho hum, guess I'll be heading back out collecting bottle caps and ashtrays. Maybe kill a stray mutant, or two along the way. Expand
  24. Jun 30, 2015
    7
    Fallout: New Vegas has always been what I call "an apocalyptic disasterpiece". It's a ridiculously glitchy game with a good story, awesome factions and a hardcore mode that everyone should experience (drink, eat, sleep, or die). It definitely wasn't as good as 3 due to the size reduction and the horrible glitches, but it was still an enjoyable game throughout...when it worked. I might playFallout: New Vegas has always been what I call "an apocalyptic disasterpiece". It's a ridiculously glitchy game with a good story, awesome factions and a hardcore mode that everyone should experience (drink, eat, sleep, or die). It definitely wasn't as good as 3 due to the size reduction and the horrible glitches, but it was still an enjoyable game throughout...when it worked. I might play more of this game up until the release of Fallout 4. I can't wait! Expand
  25. Nov 10, 2015
    7
    Not exactly what I would expect from the Fallout franchise. While I liked the added perks crafting and companion Veronica, everything else about this game was bland to me. The environment and story was atrocious as far as I was concerned. Nothing particularly memorable about it at all.
  26. Feb 9, 2016
    7
    Fallout New Vegas is a blatant rip-off of Fallout 3. It uses the exact same engine, has the exact same gameplay, the only difference is that there is a new open world to explore, and that isn't enough reason to make you pay 60$ full price. New Vegas would work as an expansion, or DLC, for 15$ or 10$, but not in the way that it's being sold here. Buy Fallout 4, or Skyrim, or Witcher 3, butFallout New Vegas is a blatant rip-off of Fallout 3. It uses the exact same engine, has the exact same gameplay, the only difference is that there is a new open world to explore, and that isn't enough reason to make you pay 60$ full price. New Vegas would work as an expansion, or DLC, for 15$ or 10$, but not in the way that it's being sold here. Buy Fallout 4, or Skyrim, or Witcher 3, but don't buy this, you will regret it. Expand
  27. Apr 13, 2017
    7
    It's ok. Gameplay mostly lets this game down. What I mean by gameplay is mostly the healing system. It introduces a new regeneration healing system and this makes eating and using health items very confusing. Of course (as in any Fallout), the map and story is amazing. If you are planning on this being your first Fallout, you might get turned off from the series. In conclusion, I recommendIt's ok. Gameplay mostly lets this game down. What I mean by gameplay is mostly the healing system. It introduces a new regeneration healing system and this makes eating and using health items very confusing. Of course (as in any Fallout), the map and story is amazing. If you are planning on this being your first Fallout, you might get turned off from the series. In conclusion, I recommend this game for Fallout fans and not newbies. Expand
  28. Oct 19, 2010
    6
    "Fallout: New Vegas" is a glitchy and kitschy variation on the Fallout tradition. The bugginess of the game exceeds any I have played for the XBOX 360- with frequent crashes, clipping plane problems and enemy AI failures. Nevertheless, it IS more time in Bethesda's inspired 3d-version of the Fallout game series- and for that reason it at least deserves your consideration. It must be"Fallout: New Vegas" is a glitchy and kitschy variation on the Fallout tradition. The bugginess of the game exceeds any I have played for the XBOX 360- with frequent crashes, clipping plane problems and enemy AI failures. Nevertheless, it IS more time in Bethesda's inspired 3d-version of the Fallout game series- and for that reason it at least deserves your consideration. It must be said- many hours into the game- that I have yet to encounter a moment as awe-inspired as that first time you exited Vault 101 in "Fallout 3"- met by endless vista of ruined civilization. "Fallout 3" created such an all-encompassing vision of a ruined Capitol city that it remains, several years on, one of the most memorable moments in modern gaming- and I'd be lying if I didn't admit I've hoped "New Vegas" might have similar moments. A dozen hours or more into the game, I continue to feel as if I'm wandering around inside a gigantic, somewhat middling bit of "Fallout 3" DLC... Here's to hoping things improve as the story unfolds. Expand
  29. Oct 21, 2010
    6
    After spending 100 to 150 hours behind Fallout 3 and its related downloadable content, I was extremely excited for Fallout New Vegas. My excitement was short lived, however, once I loaded up the game and realized very little has changed between the two. Many existing aspects of Fallout 3 were simply copied and pasted into this title including, but not limited to, GUI, player models &After spending 100 to 150 hours behind Fallout 3 and its related downloadable content, I was extremely excited for Fallout New Vegas. My excitement was short lived, however, once I loaded up the game and realized very little has changed between the two. Many existing aspects of Fallout 3 were simply copied and pasted into this title including, but not limited to, GUI, player models & textures, terrain models and textures, and even the ambient location, day and night music. While some may say the overall familiarity is a strength, I disagree and see it as somewhat of a weakness. There is a difference between a warm blanket and a used blanket that is too small to use and Fallout New Vegas is turning out to be the latter.
    ---
    The modified Elder Scrolls engine is starting to severely show its age and bugs that were a part of that engine in Fallout 3 can still be found in Fallout New Vegas. New Vegas has it's own share of entirely new bugs as well which affect the game across all three platforms. Sometimes you may go hours without noticing any of them and sometimes they may be so severe that they prevent being able to play entirely. Mobs regularly fall through the terrain texture or freeze in place, doing nothing. Sometimes the game doesn't open up content-sensitive doors or areas during a quest arc until manually reloading the game. Frame rate stutters and entire game lockups happen with alarming frequency and on PC, bad DirectX calls can crash the entire game.
    ---
    The voice acting is terrible and it's apparent they used the same small band of people to do all the voices except for major characters who got star treatment and the radio is disappointing, again, unfortunately, with the same old boring tracks on each station with the same old boring announcements by the "DJs" (sorry Mr. Newton, even Mr. Vegas can't save these stations, but at least there's no "Three Dog AHOOOOOOOOOO" this time).
    ---
    This isn't to say the game is all bad. The new crafting mechanics are well implemented, as are the changes to ammo varieties. The story writing is top notch and the various currencies add a lot of flavor. If, of course, you can play the game long enough without it crashing.
    ---
    Overall, I think the game is getting far too much praise for the title name alone and nostalgia for the previous version. Fallout New Vegas does very little different, or even better than, its predecessor and the repeat gamebreaking bugs make the game difficult to enjoy while playing. As I previously alluded to, when playing New Vegas, I feel like I'm trying to use a 5 year old blanket that I've outgrown: I know it could be warm and great, but it's a struggle to use.
    Expand
  30. Oct 23, 2010
    6
    alright so i bought this game thinking i would be playing a brand new, bug/glitch free fallout. WRONG. right off the bat this game is filled with glitches out the wahzoo. besides that, every mission pretty much gives you the option to go against other missions, without the player fully knowing, and allowing them to ruin their game most times. yeah we get it that the game wants the playeralright so i bought this game thinking i would be playing a brand new, bug/glitch free fallout. WRONG. right off the bat this game is filled with glitches out the wahzoo. besides that, every mission pretty much gives you the option to go against other missions, without the player fully knowing, and allowing them to ruin their game most times. yeah we get it that the game wants the player to have a choice but to an extent. i feel like there is no one set path to follow and its very confusing to play. when i start a mission i have to think "will this make everyone in the game pissed at me or will i lose missions." i feel like this game was rushed to get out and there should have been more work put into this. it shows minimal improvement from the previous game and that came out 2 years ago. its very frustrating to play and i certainly wouldn't have minded waiting another 2 or 3 months for this game to be released if i knew it need so much work to be done to it. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Feb 11, 2011
    70
    Until Fallout: New Vegas gets a major patch that fixes the problems, it can only be recommended to gamers who have a high threshold for frustration.
  2. Jan 19, 2011
    88
    If you didn't enjoy Fallout 3 or are not a fan of RPGs in general, then you'll probably disagree with me. Everyone else should seriously consider taking a road trip to New Vegas.
  3. Jan 16, 2011
    85
    The technology of the newest part of the fallout series is over aged and besides the hardcore mode and the reputation-system, the new features of New Vegas are manageable. But altogether, New Vegas is a successful new part and not just an add-on, with more than 100 hours of gaming, an interesting story and a new setting to explore.