Fallout: New Vegas Xbox 360

Fallout: New Vegas Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 788 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest game in the post-nuclear RPG series is being developed by many members of the Fallout 1 and 2 team at Obsidian Entertainment using the Fallout 3 engine.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Oct 20, 2010
    100
    The map, though similar-sized to Fallout 3's, seems more jam-packed than ever – New Vegas is less a sandbox game than whole beach to play around in.
  2. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    Obsidian has created a totally compelling world and its frustrations pale into insignificance compared to the immersive, obsessive experience on offer. Just like the scorched scenery that provides its epic backdrop, New Vegas is huge and sprawling, sometimes gaudy, even downright ugly at times – but always effortlessly, shamelessly entertaining.
  3. Dec 19, 2010
    90
    You can beat the entire main story of Fallout: New Vegas in less than 20 hours, but that would be giving the game short shrift. It is really about savoring every little detail and side quest until you've seen everything there is to see.
  4. Oct 21, 2010
    85
    New Vegas is like a Huge DLC, an enormous add-on. But the formula is still fresh and deep.
  5. Oct 27, 2010
    83
    Fallout: New Vegas is an epic journey that matches the magnitude of Fallout 3.
  6. Oct 21, 2010
    80
    And so it is Fallout: New Vegas is both playable and enjoyable. It's variable too - Hardcore mode, playing a super dumb character, ramping up your charisma and speech from the beginning - all of these will result in a vastly different experience when you play the game.
  7. Oct 22, 2010
    60
    Creatively, New Vegas gets almost everything right. Mechanically and technically, it's a tragedy. So, it's a simultaneously rewarding and frustrating game, the gulf between what it is and what it could be a sizeable stretch indeed.

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 220
  1. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    Simply an excellent addition to the Fallout canon. An imaginative and extremely crafted story, numerous and refreshingly enjoyable side questsSimply an excellent addition to the Fallout canon. An imaginative and extremely crafted story, numerous and refreshingly enjoyable side quests and engaging and thoughtful characters. This game will appeal to fans of Fallout 3 primarily, yet occasional references to previous games in the series to keep die-hard fans happy. By allowing Obsidian to create this game, it allows them to strike a near perfect balance of the complete Fallout experience. Many hours of mine have already been sunk into this game, and if you are looking for a thought-provoking enthralling video game adventure then look no more. This might sound sycophantic and gushing, yet this game really has brought a smile to my face. Roll on Fallout 4! Collapse
  2. Apr 24, 2014
    10
    this game is the perfect example of how quality content outweighs any problems with bugs/graphics. Yes the game is very buggy but beingthis game is the perfect example of how quality content outweighs any problems with bugs/graphics. Yes the game is very buggy but being regular on the saving is an easy way past this problem but those bugs can be easily overlooked when you see the imagination that has gone into this game, it is a must play of the generation. Now a lot of people rate this game higher than it's predecessor and I do feel the characters have had the most attention but I feel the restriction at the start of the game (not being able to head north) makes the game feel a bit linear (reason it misses out on game of the year) and although side quests and locations are dotted along the path to New Vegas the game just doesn't have the sense of freedom that Fallout 3 had. All this being said it is still a top notch videogame and all the other stuff you loved from Fallout 3 is still here (like the crazy huge and imaginative arsenal available). I believe New Vegas should be mentioned among the elite of this generation. Expand
  3. Oct 27, 2010
    9
    I am disgusted by the things I see written by users on this site. Everyone feels the need to compare this game to Fallout 3, when a betterI am disgusted by the things I see written by users on this site. Everyone feels the need to compare this game to Fallout 3, when a better comparison would be to compare it to the first two games of this juggernaut franchise. Scoring a game low simply because it was developed on a broken engine that is a updated version of another engine that is nearly 10 years old is absolutely ludicrous. Games have bugs. Period. No one scored Modern Warfare 2 ridiculously low when it was released even though people could fly across the map and stab you, or because people could use infinite care packages to gain the upper hand. To top it all off, that game was released by the evil empire of the industry, Activision, who are notorious at allowing buggy games through, with no intention of fixing them. Instead people reserve their hatred for one of the smaller "big" companies in the industry, because fanboys seem to dominate this rather elite "thing of ours." So let's look at the facts shall we... Fallout 3 was released in 2008 with almost all of the same glitches and bugs present in FO:NV. And they all got fixed. The problem isn't the game, it is the engine. A weak engine allows bugs to slip through. At least Bethesda gave us another game while we waited for the id Tech 5 engine to be tweaked for the eventual development and release of Fallout 4. So rather than becoming so tied up with graphics, bugs that will take mere months to correct, or any other petty crap that childish fanboys can dream up, lets look at the real meat and potatoes...the game itself. Fallout 3 was good. Fallout: New Vegas is a masterpiece. In Fallout 3 we were treated with a beautifully horrific wonderland to explore, but we got that at the expense of the story. Fallout: NV returns us to the original world of Fallout by bringing in the storytellers of the first two arcs. In New Vegas I have met characters that I actually care about. Like Heck Gunderson, who has lost his son and wants nothing more than to find him. Or Chief Hanlon, a NCR Ranger who is a masterful storyteller in his own right. Even the evil and absolutely terrifying Legate Lanius, a monster, but a monster you care about. These people, and the day-to-day struggle for survival they are embroiled in, create a storyline that rivals some of the most story driven games on the market today. But even storylines aren't everything, and in this respect FO:NV shines as well. From a re-imagined leveling system to the crafting of healing items and ammo, this games allows for a player's creativity to take them through the adventure, and not the game's development and design. Even the difficulty of the game has been improved with harder enemies and the all-new Hardcore Mode...a first for the industry. Hardcore Mode in itself creates a completely different game for players to experience. Even if a person wants to attack the tech side of this game, I would simply retort with a bevy of moments that this game severely outshines it's predecessor. Like when you walk up over a hill and are greeted with the first sight of New Vegas shining across a nighttime wasteland. Or when you watch the sunset from deep inside the canyons of the Colorado River. Or when you first lay your eyes upon the monstrosity of the Hoover Dam. Or even when you first walk into the slums of Freeside and you hear the low murmur of partying, gambling, and the inhabitants of yet another slum. As a designer myself I want to point your attention to a fellow designer, one of the minds behind the amazing Gears Of War games, Cliff Blezinski..."Games are created by humans, and no human is infallible. Bugs get through, but they can be fixed. What counts at the end of the day is whether or not the game in itself is good. Remember there is always a patch, but there isn't a patch for a bad game." So rather than trying to burn a wonderful world and it developers and designers, grow up and see what is really there. While this game isn't perfect (and no game you ever play will be), it is more deserving than most. A solid 9 out of 10. Expand
  4. May 6, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is basically Fallout 3, but with more content. Here's my review:

    Good:

    - Lots of quests, weapons, and armor

    - Hardcore mode adds a different experience

    - Great voice acting

    - The different factions in the game add a nice twist

    - Large world with many different places

    Cons

    - Story not as good as Fallout 3

    - Looks like Fallout 3 without a lot of improvements (texture and model wise)

    - Quite a few bugs and glitches that hampers the game horrendously

    - The Strip is SEVERELY disappointing
    Expand
  5. Dec 18, 2010
    8
    "Fallout: New Vegas" was addicting and engrossing. Those qualities themselves are enough of a justification for an "8" rating. Obsidian"Fallout: New Vegas" was addicting and engrossing. Those qualities themselves are enough of a justification for an "8" rating. Obsidian Entertainment (formerly Black Isle Studios) developed the first two Fallout games, so blending Bethseda's "Fallout 3" style made the storyline refreshing and even somewhat deeper, as opposed to making just another clone "Fallout 3".

    Sadly, numerous bugs and glitches hinder the gameplay at times, and although many have been patched across consoles and the PC, it's not acceptable to release a game so unpolished. Defensibly, the world is huge, and it's a massive game...but this kind of buggy release should never become a precedent in the industry. I also personally believe that the engine the game uses (a heavily modified version from "Fallout 3") is outdated, and should die a fiery death in lieu of new updated version.

    Ultimately, the game is well worth the money spent on it, and whether your patrolling the wastelands for the first time or a hardened Fallout veteran...this game is badass, and I can't wait for the DLC.
    Expand
  6. Jan 13, 2012
    7
    The more I play New Vegas ,my first Fallout game, the more I become addicted to it. Yes it does feature quite a few bugs, glitches, and lagThe more I play New Vegas ,my first Fallout game, the more I become addicted to it. Yes it does feature quite a few bugs, glitches, and lag but they never really effected that much (and I have played it for 30 hours) besides in a few moments. It is rather repetitive though and the story isnt interesting at all (for the main quest missions or side mission). Still, I would recommend this game because I enjoyed it a lot (which is a rare occurance now a days). Expand
  7. Jul 14, 2013
    0
    Like all fallout games new Vegas is fun to play and has an intriguing story all while being one of the best post apocalyptic games out there.Like all fallout games new Vegas is fun to play and has an intriguing story all while being one of the best post apocalyptic games out there. while not as good s fallout 3 new vegas is defiantly a great game. Expand

See all 220 User Reviews