Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 635 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest game in the post-nuclear RPG series is being developed by many members of the Fallout 1 and 2 team at Obsidian Entertainment using the Fallout 3 engine.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Oct 20, 2010
    100
    The map, though similar-sized to Fallout 3's, seems more jam-packed than ever – New Vegas is less a sandbox game than whole beach to play around in.
  2. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    Obsidian has created a totally compelling world and its frustrations pale into insignificance compared to the immersive, obsessive experience on offer. Just like the scorched scenery that provides its epic backdrop, New Vegas is huge and sprawling, sometimes gaudy, even downright ugly at times – but always effortlessly, shamelessly entertaining.
  3. Dec 19, 2010
    90
    You can beat the entire main story of Fallout: New Vegas in less than 20 hours, but that would be giving the game short shrift. It is really about savoring every little detail and side quest until you've seen everything there is to see.
  4. Oct 21, 2010
    85
    New Vegas is like a Huge DLC, an enormous add-on. But the formula is still fresh and deep.
  5. Oct 27, 2010
    83
    Fallout: New Vegas is an epic journey that matches the magnitude of Fallout 3.
  6. Oct 21, 2010
    80
    And so it is Fallout: New Vegas is both playable and enjoyable. It's variable too - Hardcore mode, playing a super dumb character, ramping up your charisma and speech from the beginning - all of these will result in a vastly different experience when you play the game.
  7. Oct 22, 2010
    60
    Creatively, New Vegas gets almost everything right. Mechanically and technically, it's a tragedy. So, it's a simultaneously rewarding and frustrating game, the gulf between what it is and what it could be a sizeable stretch indeed.

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 208
  1. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    Simply an excellent addition to the Fallout canon. An imaginative and extremely crafted story, numerous and refreshingly enjoyable side questsSimply an excellent addition to the Fallout canon. An imaginative and extremely crafted story, numerous and refreshingly enjoyable side quests and engaging and thoughtful characters. This game will appeal to fans of Fallout 3 primarily, yet occasional references to previous games in the series to keep die-hard fans happy. By allowing Obsidian to create this game, it allows them to strike a near perfect balance of the complete Fallout experience. Many hours of mine have already been sunk into this game, and if you are looking for a thought-provoking enthralling video game adventure then look no more. This might sound sycophantic and gushing, yet this game really has brought a smile to my face. Roll on Fallout 4! Expand
  2. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    I'm sick and tired of people downing this game! it is one of the best games i have played. the storyline, the survival and the action isI'm sick and tired of people downing this game! it is one of the best games i have played. the storyline, the survival and the action is brilliant. People are complaining about bugs. That is because it is a fairly old game so it will have a few bugs. But my xbox has never crashed on me while playing fallout new vegas. I feel the same about fallout 3. But I want Bethesda to add more to the game. Maybe a zombie survival or increase survival. Like you get hot or cold. But is the best RPG for a post-apocalyptic game. Expand
  3. Oct 26, 2010
    9
    I love this game! I cant stop playing it. Ive gone to bed way too late every night since its come out.
    More quests, customizable weapons,
    I love this game! I cant stop playing it. Ive gone to bed way too late every night since its come out.
    More quests, customizable weapons, and a western sort of feel to the game too. More of an interesting story line for sure! Graphics are the same as Fallout 3, though, there is a lot more depth & many improvements to the game.

    I seriously recommend that you try playing it on Hardcore. It adds even more to the game ;-)

    Only a few glitches, like fire ants walking around with their thorax' in the ground. Rad Scorpions get stuck on a rock and also walk around with their heads underground. But most of the time its all good.
    Expand
  4. Mar 9, 2011
    8
    As a huge Fallout 3 fan this was one of my most anticipated games of 2010 I have to admit I was slightly disappointed with this game, don'tAs a huge Fallout 3 fan this was one of my most anticipated games of 2010 I have to admit I was slightly disappointed with this game, don't get me wrong it's still a great experience and adds tons of new features that set it apart from Fallout 3, but for every good thing it has there's a set back that follows, the graphics can range from great to down right ugly, the sound is fantastic with great voice acting, sound effects, and soundtrack, the new features like fraction reputation and weapon mods work fantastic, but others like iron sights don't, and other great changes like tons of new weapons, enemies, and distractions like gambling will make you drool, and the sheer size of the map and all of the new locations will have people who want to 100% this busy for countless hours as will the multiple ways the story will play out, now for the main downsides, quests aren't as satisfying to complete, while there are many locations there mostly just one room buildings with little to no loot that aren't fun to explore, the number off bugs and glitches has greatly increased, and it's just not as fun as Fallout 3 was, I gave almost 300 hours of my life to that game and still find fun in going back to it, and I'm not even 90 hours into this one and I'm already putting it down to play other games, even though it's not as good I still recommend this to hardcore fans like myself, just don't expect it to be better or even as good. Expand
  5. Dec 18, 2010
    8
    "Fallout: New Vegas" was addicting and engrossing. Those qualities themselves are enough of a justification for an "8" rating. Obsidian"Fallout: New Vegas" was addicting and engrossing. Those qualities themselves are enough of a justification for an "8" rating. Obsidian Entertainment (formerly Black Isle Studios) developed the first two Fallout games, so blending Bethseda's "Fallout 3" style made the storyline refreshing and even somewhat deeper, as opposed to making just another clone "Fallout 3".

    Sadly, numerous bugs and glitches hinder the gameplay at times, and although many have been patched across consoles and the PC, it's not acceptable to release a game so unpolished. Defensibly, the world is huge, and it's a massive game...but this kind of buggy release should never become a precedent in the industry. I also personally believe that the engine the game uses (a heavily modified version from "Fallout 3") is outdated, and should die a fiery death in lieu of new updated version.

    Ultimately, the game is well worth the money spent on it, and whether your patrolling the wastelands for the first time or a hardened Fallout veteran...this game is badass, and I can't wait for the DLC.
    Expand
  6. Feb 25, 2011
    7
    Let me start by saying that I had been debating about purchasing this game for months I finally bought it and have been playing it for a fewLet me start by saying that I had been debating about purchasing this game for months I finally bought it and have been playing it for a few days now and I enjoy it, but not as much as I could be.

    I am a fan and somewhat of a connoisseur of role-play and shooter games and I must say that though it's no where near as inventive nor as awe-inspiring as its' predecessor, Fallout: New Vegas is turning into a rather enjoyable experience. I am currently 21 hours into the game have experienced minimal frame-rate issues (even with large gunfights, and explosions) the load times are sometimes long (7-12 seconds) but not enough to seriously hamper a play session. However, there will need to be some serious retooling of the combat mechanics. There have been many instances of glitches in VATS, many instances with the hit detection while looking through iron sights, and far to many clipping issues. I find that saving often is my only defence against this but problems like these should not happen this often even in a game this big.

    Aside from the technical aspects of the game, the world that your player inhabits seems more "real" at least in terms of my opinion. Fallout 3 was more of an "Ideal Apocalyptic Experience" where your character was more of a bad ass or a saviour of mankind travelling around the capitol wasteland doing what ever you damn well pleased. (That was great fun, don't get me wrong) Fallout: New Vegas gives a more authentic experience in a sense that the world is scraping by, just barely making it. You begin the game with little more than nothing and until you can reach the higher levels you will, most likely, be scavenging for everything from food to guns and what ever else just to stay alive. The desert is barren and lifeless and seems to go on forever, and I personally enjoy that aspect of the game. Everything about it breathes the real sense that the world we know today has been wiped off the earth (with the exception of Vegas of course.) I know many donâ
    Expand
  7. May 22, 2012
    0
    This game was released BROKEN, and with ample time to fix it with patches it is still unacceptably BROKEN.
    The only reason the critics gave it
    This game was released BROKEN, and with ample time to fix it with patches it is still unacceptably BROKEN.
    The only reason the critics gave it a higher score is that there's practically no such thing as "game criticism". The only reason fans give it a higher score is that they are willing to tolerate the bugs and glitches and CRASHES because they love the franchise. This game is not the franchise itself, and it is far, far, far more BROKEN than Fallout 3, which had only the occasional glitch. It is not my Xbox, my Xbox is fine. I do blame Microsoft for one thing, though: not revoking Bethesda's and Obsidian's license to publish on the Xbox.
    Expand

See all 208 User Reviews