Fallout: New Vegas Xbox 360

Fallout: New Vegas Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 776 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest game in the post-nuclear RPG series is being developed by many members of the Fallout 1 and 2 team at Obsidian Entertainment using the Fallout 3 engine.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Oct 20, 2010
    100
    The map, though similar-sized to Fallout 3's, seems more jam-packed than ever – New Vegas is less a sandbox game than whole beach to play around in.
  2. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    Obsidian has created a totally compelling world and its frustrations pale into insignificance compared to the immersive, obsessive experience on offer. Just like the scorched scenery that provides its epic backdrop, New Vegas is huge and sprawling, sometimes gaudy, even downright ugly at times – but always effortlessly, shamelessly entertaining.
  3. Dec 19, 2010
    90
    You can beat the entire main story of Fallout: New Vegas in less than 20 hours, but that would be giving the game short shrift. It is really about savoring every little detail and side quest until you've seen everything there is to see.
  4. Oct 21, 2010
    85
    New Vegas is like a Huge DLC, an enormous add-on. But the formula is still fresh and deep.
  5. Oct 27, 2010
    83
    Fallout: New Vegas is an epic journey that matches the magnitude of Fallout 3.
  6. Oct 21, 2010
    80
    And so it is Fallout: New Vegas is both playable and enjoyable. It's variable too - Hardcore mode, playing a super dumb character, ramping up your charisma and speech from the beginning - all of these will result in a vastly different experience when you play the game.
  7. Oct 22, 2010
    60
    Creatively, New Vegas gets almost everything right. Mechanically and technically, it's a tragedy. So, it's a simultaneously rewarding and frustrating game, the gulf between what it is and what it could be a sizeable stretch indeed.

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 218
  1. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    Simply an excellent addition to the Fallout canon. An imaginative and extremely crafted story, numerous and refreshingly enjoyable side questsSimply an excellent addition to the Fallout canon. An imaginative and extremely crafted story, numerous and refreshingly enjoyable side quests and engaging and thoughtful characters. This game will appeal to fans of Fallout 3 primarily, yet occasional references to previous games in the series to keep die-hard fans happy. By allowing Obsidian to create this game, it allows them to strike a near perfect balance of the complete Fallout experience. Many hours of mine have already been sunk into this game, and if you are looking for a thought-provoking enthralling video game adventure then look no more. This might sound sycophantic and gushing, yet this game really has brought a smile to my face. Roll on Fallout 4! Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    this was at one point the best game ever made, it sold 5 million copies in 20 days and was praised for its amazing and entertaining gameplay,this was at one point the best game ever made, it sold 5 million copies in 20 days and was praised for its amazing and entertaining gameplay, playing 200+ hours was very entertaining. Expand
  3. Oct 26, 2010
    9
    I love this game! I cant stop playing it. Ive gone to bed way too late every night since its come out.
    More quests, customizable weapons,
    I love this game! I cant stop playing it. Ive gone to bed way too late every night since its come out.
    More quests, customizable weapons, and a western sort of feel to the game too. More of an interesting story line for sure! Graphics are the same as Fallout 3, though, there is a lot more depth & many improvements to the game.

    I seriously recommend that you try playing it on Hardcore. It adds even more to the game ;-)

    Only a few glitches, like fire ants walking around with their thorax' in the ground. Rad Scorpions get stuck on a rock and also walk around with their heads underground. But most of the time its all good.
    Expand
  4. Mar 9, 2011
    8
    As a huge Fallout 3 fan this was one of my most anticipated games of 2010 I have to admit I was slightly disappointed with this game, don'tAs a huge Fallout 3 fan this was one of my most anticipated games of 2010 I have to admit I was slightly disappointed with this game, don't get me wrong it's still a great experience and adds tons of new features that set it apart from Fallout 3, but for every good thing it has there's a set back that follows, the graphics can range from great to down right ugly, the sound is fantastic with great voice acting, sound effects, and soundtrack, the new features like fraction reputation and weapon mods work fantastic, but others like iron sights don't, and other great changes like tons of new weapons, enemies, and distractions like gambling will make you drool, and the sheer size of the map and all of the new locations will have people who want to 100% this busy for countless hours as will the multiple ways the story will play out, now for the main downsides, quests aren't as satisfying to complete, while there are many locations there mostly just one room buildings with little to no loot that aren't fun to explore, the number off bugs and glitches has greatly increased, and it's just not as fun as Fallout 3 was, I gave almost 300 hours of my life to that game and still find fun in going back to it, and I'm not even 90 hours into this one and I'm already putting it down to play other games, even though it's not as good I still recommend this to hardcore fans like myself, just don't expect it to be better or even as good. Expand
  5. Jan 10, 2011
    8
    Good game even though all the bugs,glitches,freezes,ect ,that haunt this game I still enjoyed the VATS system and good story.but ObsidianGood game even though all the bugs,glitches,freezes,ect ,that haunt this game I still enjoyed the VATS system and good story.but Obsidian really needs to fix this game and do a better job on Testing it before it comes out because this game needs fixing. Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2011
    7
    Very fun game. with tons of side quests, and adventures, and items, this game has me playing for longer than I imagined. recommend it, butVery fun game. with tons of side quests, and adventures, and items, this game has me playing for longer than I imagined. recommend it, but still needs improvement. Expand
  7. Jul 14, 2013
    0
    Like all fallout games new Vegas is fun to play and has an intriguing story all while being one of the best post apocalyptic games out there.Like all fallout games new Vegas is fun to play and has an intriguing story all while being one of the best post apocalyptic games out there. while not as good s fallout 3 new vegas is defiantly a great game. Expand

See all 218 User Reviews