Fallout: New Vegas Xbox 360

Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 652 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest game in the post-nuclear RPG series is being developed by many members of the Fallout 1 and 2 team at Obsidian Entertainment using the Fallout 3 engine.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Oct 20, 2010
    100
    The map, though similar-sized to Fallout 3's, seems more jam-packed than ever – New Vegas is less a sandbox game than whole beach to play around in.
  2. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    Obsidian has created a totally compelling world and its frustrations pale into insignificance compared to the immersive, obsessive experience on offer. Just like the scorched scenery that provides its epic backdrop, New Vegas is huge and sprawling, sometimes gaudy, even downright ugly at times – but always effortlessly, shamelessly entertaining.
  3. Dec 19, 2010
    90
    You can beat the entire main story of Fallout: New Vegas in less than 20 hours, but that would be giving the game short shrift. It is really about savoring every little detail and side quest until you've seen everything there is to see.
  4. Oct 21, 2010
    85
    New Vegas is like a Huge DLC, an enormous add-on. But the formula is still fresh and deep.
  5. Oct 27, 2010
    83
    Fallout: New Vegas is an epic journey that matches the magnitude of Fallout 3.
  6. Oct 21, 2010
    80
    And so it is Fallout: New Vegas is both playable and enjoyable. It's variable too - Hardcore mode, playing a super dumb character, ramping up your charisma and speech from the beginning - all of these will result in a vastly different experience when you play the game.
  7. Oct 22, 2010
    60
    Creatively, New Vegas gets almost everything right. Mechanically and technically, it's a tragedy. So, it's a simultaneously rewarding and frustrating game, the gulf between what it is and what it could be a sizeable stretch indeed.

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 210
  1. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    Simply an excellent addition to the Fallout canon. An imaginative and extremely crafted story, numerous and refreshingly enjoyable side questsSimply an excellent addition to the Fallout canon. An imaginative and extremely crafted story, numerous and refreshingly enjoyable side quests and engaging and thoughtful characters. This game will appeal to fans of Fallout 3 primarily, yet occasional references to previous games in the series to keep die-hard fans happy. By allowing Obsidian to create this game, it allows them to strike a near perfect balance of the complete Fallout experience. Many hours of mine have already been sunk into this game, and if you are looking for a thought-provoking enthralling video game adventure then look no more. This might sound sycophantic and gushing, yet this game really has brought a smile to my face. Roll on Fallout 4! Expand
  2. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    Very similar to fallout 3 but still brilliant, odd glitches and bugs. Same graphics same gameplay would definitely recommend if a fan ofVery similar to fallout 3 but still brilliant, odd glitches and bugs. Same graphics same gameplay would definitely recommend if a fan of fallout 3. I sympathize with people Expand
  3. Oct 23, 2010
    9
    Its basically fallout 3. It has bugs but a few save files fix that. The RPG mechanics are solid as ever, although if your not thinking veryIts basically fallout 3. It has bugs but a few save files fix that. The RPG mechanics are solid as ever, although if your not thinking very hard about the your characters future in the game then you could get very frustrated and stuck...but a couple save files, and saving every 15 minutes, eliminates those pesky moments. This game is a great RPG and I have been fully engaged into this game from the moment I put the game in. I highly recommend this game to any fallout or RPG fanatic, but for those who enjoy skillful shooting you should look elsewhere. Expand
  4. Dec 21, 2010
    8
    It seems as thought you can classify a game in the game that tries to do everything but fails or succeeds Fallout New Vegas is the one that isIt seems as thought you can classify a game in the game that tries to do everything but fails or succeeds Fallout New Vegas is the one that is in the middle. I loved Fallout 3 and the series but it seems as this is very forced, let me explain V.A.T.S is the same so is the graphics gun ideas are recycled karma same quest same type (go find this etc...) the largest change I saw was the greater amount of guns the rest a very "predictable". Bethesda is trying to hard to add to perfection (fallout 3) but you cant add to perfection. Expand
  5. Dec 18, 2010
    8
    "Fallout: New Vegas" was addicting and engrossing. Those qualities themselves are enough of a justification for an "8" rating. Obsidian"Fallout: New Vegas" was addicting and engrossing. Those qualities themselves are enough of a justification for an "8" rating. Obsidian Entertainment (formerly Black Isle Studios) developed the first two Fallout games, so blending Bethseda's "Fallout 3" style made the storyline refreshing and even somewhat deeper, as opposed to making just another clone "Fallout 3".

    Sadly, numerous bugs and glitches hinder the gameplay at times, and although many have been patched across consoles and the PC, it's not acceptable to release a game so unpolished. Defensibly, the world is huge, and it's a massive game...but this kind of buggy release should never become a precedent in the industry. I also personally believe that the engine the game uses (a heavily modified version from "Fallout 3") is outdated, and should die a fiery death in lieu of new updated version.

    Ultimately, the game is well worth the money spent on it, and whether your patrolling the wastelands for the first time or a hardened Fallout veteran...this game is badass, and I can't wait for the DLC.
    Expand
  6. Feb 15, 2011
    7
    I will say that I feel it was an intelligent move for them to call this Fallout: New Vegas and not Fallout 4, mainly because it's extremelyI will say that I feel it was an intelligent move for them to call this Fallout: New Vegas and not Fallout 4, mainly because it's extremely similar to Fallout 3, with even the graphics being the same. The engine clearly shows its age in this one, sharing the same old outdated graphics as Fallout 3, as well as mechanics and its own fair share of glitches. Yes, there are a decent chunk of glitches, but none of them are game breaking. They mainly consist of people floating on occasion as well as items vanishing. And of course, the rare but inevitable game crash that seems to plague the Gamebryo engine. By installing the game onto your hard drive, you definitely cut down on some of the glitches, as well as graphic tearing, which seems to persist throughout the game. To move on, the storyline on New Vegas is relatively weak, in my opinion. Never once did I honestly care too much about what was going on in the world, nor did I care about which side that I took. The side quests in the game are about as decent as you would expect, some of them being cliche and pointless, while others are quite a lot of fun. As mentioned earlier, the graphics are subpar for this day and age, and the sound quality is average. Even though you can aim down your sights on most of the guns, this new mechanic is essentially worthless, considering there's no aim assist, making it virtually impossible to hit enemies where you want to. Since this is the case, it still forces you to use VATS most of the time, like in Fallout 3, which is definitely something I didn't enjoy. Even though the actual world map is supposedly equivalent to Fallout 3's, I feel that it's not nearly as big. All of the locations are in the center of the map, and it will not let you explore any of the corners of the map, which make up at least a third of it. Mountains block your path when you try and leave, and the locations are so tightly clustered that it doesn't feel as realistic as Fallout 3 did. It says that it has more locations than Fallout 3; what they don't mention, is that a third of these locations literally consist of half of a burned down shack with one metal box inside that contains a stimpack and a cot. There are hardly any details for many locations, giving you in actuality less places to explore. The factions have very little meaning, other than restricting what clothing you wear, as well as which enemies shoot you on sight. If you steal from or kill any faction members than your reputation with them goes down, which is still essentially pointless. It's kind of difficult to get on a faction's good side (i.e. Powder Gangers) when they shoot you on sight before you even have a chance to interact with them. Weapon modding is slightly absurd: you have a choice of a few mods to insert into your weapon, but the mods aren't anything exciting. Crafting items is also bland, resulting in either new ammunition of breaking it down. The difficulty is embarassing at times. On the standard difficulty, you will usually kill enemy monsters in a few hits. But then, you'll encounter random monsters that suddenly see a huge difficulty spike, where they'll annihiliate you in three hits. Overall, the game is still pieced together well, and despite all of its flaws, it definitely provides an entertaining predecessor if you enjoyed Fallout 3. It doesn't surpass it in any way, rather, it seems a step back, but if you loved Fallout 3 and need more, than this is the game for you. Recommended to fans of the series and RPG's, but I can't recommend to FPS lovers. Expand
  7. May 22, 2012
    0
    This game was released BROKEN, and with ample time to fix it with patches it is still unacceptably BROKEN.
    The only reason the critics gave it
    This game was released BROKEN, and with ample time to fix it with patches it is still unacceptably BROKEN.
    The only reason the critics gave it a higher score is that there's practically no such thing as "game criticism". The only reason fans give it a higher score is that they are willing to tolerate the bugs and glitches and CRASHES because they love the franchise. This game is not the franchise itself, and it is far, far, far more BROKEN than Fallout 3, which had only the occasional glitch. It is not my Xbox, my Xbox is fine. I do blame Microsoft for one thing, though: not revoking Bethesda's and Obsidian's license to publish on the Xbox.
    Expand

See all 210 User Reviews