Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 625 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest game in the post-nuclear RPG series is being developed by many members of the Fallout 1 and 2 team at Obsidian Entertainment using the Fallout 3 engine.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Oct 20, 2010
    100
    The map, though similar-sized to Fallout 3's, seems more jam-packed than ever – New Vegas is less a sandbox game than whole beach to play around in.
  2. 90
    Fallout: New Vegas does betray the age of its engine every now and then, but it also shows why it has aged so well, powering the same tasty mix of great gameplay, endless side-quests and a world to get lost in.
  3. Dec 19, 2010
    90
    From the warring factions you can align with to the companions you can recruit, no adventure will ever be the same the numerous times you play through.
  4. Oct 21, 2010
    85
    New Vegas is like a Huge DLC, an enormous add-on. But the formula is still fresh and deep.
  5. Oct 27, 2010
    83
    Fallout: New Vegas is an epic journey that matches the magnitude of Fallout 3.
  6. Oct 21, 2010
    80
    And so it is Fallout: New Vegas is both playable and enjoyable. It's variable too - Hardcore mode, playing a super dumb character, ramping up your charisma and speech from the beginning - all of these will result in a vastly different experience when you play the game.
  7. Oct 22, 2010
    60
    Creatively, New Vegas gets almost everything right. Mechanically and technically, it's a tragedy. So, it's a simultaneously rewarding and frustrating game, the gulf between what it is and what it could be a sizeable stretch indeed.

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 210
  1. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    Simply an excellent addition to the Fallout canon. An imaginative and extremely crafted story, numerous and refreshingly enjoyable side questsSimply an excellent addition to the Fallout canon. An imaginative and extremely crafted story, numerous and refreshingly enjoyable side quests and engaging and thoughtful characters. This game will appeal to fans of Fallout 3 primarily, yet occasional references to previous games in the series to keep die-hard fans happy. By allowing Obsidian to create this game, it allows them to strike a near perfect balance of the complete Fallout experience. Many hours of mine have already been sunk into this game, and if you are looking for a thought-provoking enthralling video game adventure then look no more. This might sound sycophantic and gushing, yet this game really has brought a smile to my face. Roll on Fallout 4! Expand
  2. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    Very similar to fallout 3 but still brilliant, odd glitches and bugs. Same graphics same gameplay would definitely recommend if a fan ofVery similar to fallout 3 but still brilliant, odd glitches and bugs. Same graphics same gameplay would definitely recommend if a fan of fallout 3. I sympathize with people Expand
  3. Oct 24, 2010
    9
    Before I say my thoughts on the game, I have to say that I'm appalled at the way you people are reviewing it. Saying "Oh, I love this gameBefore I say my thoughts on the game, I have to say that I'm appalled at the way you people are reviewing it. Saying "Oh, I love this game but its really buggy" and then giving it a 0? That rating to me makes no sense at all....you can't give a 0 to a game you love. Or saying "I refuse to buy this game" and giving it a 1? IF YOU HAVEN'T PLAYED THE GAME DON"T REVIEW IT! You people are tarnishing the score for this game by giving it crazy low ratings over one or two negatives while neglecting all of the positives.

    Review:
    I'm about 10 hours into the game and so far I love it. Fallout 3 is my favorite game, so New Vegas has a lot to live up to for me...but so far it's doing it. Unlike Fallout 3 where you really had to go looking for side quests, New Vegas is jam packed with various things to do. I've barely traveled at all, still near the first town, played for 10 hours, and have only done 1 main quest so far. The new iron sights mechanic is excellent, as is the fact that critical strikes are played in slo-mo even if not in VATS. Caravan (the original card game within New Vegas) was hard to understand at first, but once I got the hang of it it's super fun...and a great way to make some extra caps. As far as the bugs...it has frozen on me once, but besides that I've gotten zero. I know that a lot of people are having different experiences, but come on people...there's a patch coming out soon anyways. Just save often and stop your **** because they're working on a fix.

    In conclusion, this game has a lot to live up to in order to be on the level of Fallout 3, but so far it seems to be doing just that. The bugs aren't EVEN CLOSE to a game changer. Get this game, you'll love it.
    Expand
  4. Dec 21, 2010
    8
    It seems as thought you can classify a game in the game that tries to do everything but fails or succeeds Fallout New Vegas is the one that isIt seems as thought you can classify a game in the game that tries to do everything but fails or succeeds Fallout New Vegas is the one that is in the middle. I loved Fallout 3 and the series but it seems as this is very forced, let me explain V.A.T.S is the same so is the graphics gun ideas are recycled karma same quest same type (go find this etc...) the largest change I saw was the greater amount of guns the rest a very "predictable". Bethesda is trying to hard to add to perfection (fallout 3) but you cant add to perfection. Expand
  5. Dec 17, 2010
    8
    A new fallout, a new experience? Well... yes and no. It feels the same as the previous installment, but better and improved. It has more toA new fallout, a new experience? Well... yes and no. It feels the same as the previous installment, but better and improved. It has more to offer and it will take you several playthroughs to see and experience everything.

    POSITIVE:
    - Voice acting is great
    - Factions are fun to interact with and have reputation with you.
    - Awesome choices that'll impact the world around you.
    - Companions (they also have quests that involves them)

    NEGATIVE:
    - Grafics didn't realy improve over Fallout 3
    - Full of bugs (some of them quest-breaking)
    - Game ends when you finished the main quest.

    So, if you enjoyed Fallout 3, or you're new to the series, it's a journey you want to take.
    Expand
  6. Feb 15, 2011
    7
    I will say that I feel it was an intelligent move for them to call this Fallout: New Vegas and not Fallout 4, mainly because it's extremelyI will say that I feel it was an intelligent move for them to call this Fallout: New Vegas and not Fallout 4, mainly because it's extremely similar to Fallout 3, with even the graphics being the same. The engine clearly shows its age in this one, sharing the same old outdated graphics as Fallout 3, as well as mechanics and its own fair share of glitches. Yes, there are a decent chunk of glitches, but none of them are game breaking. They mainly consist of people floating on occasion as well as items vanishing. And of course, the rare but inevitable game crash that seems to plague the Gamebryo engine. By installing the game onto your hard drive, you definitely cut down on some of the glitches, as well as graphic tearing, which seems to persist throughout the game. To move on, the storyline on New Vegas is relatively weak, in my opinion. Never once did I honestly care too much about what was going on in the world, nor did I care about which side that I took. The side quests in the game are about as decent as you would expect, some of them being cliche and pointless, while others are quite a lot of fun. As mentioned earlier, the graphics are subpar for this day and age, and the sound quality is average. Even though you can aim down your sights on most of the guns, this new mechanic is essentially worthless, considering there's no aim assist, making it virtually impossible to hit enemies where you want to. Since this is the case, it still forces you to use VATS most of the time, like in Fallout 3, which is definitely something I didn't enjoy. Even though the actual world map is supposedly equivalent to Fallout 3's, I feel that it's not nearly as big. All of the locations are in the center of the map, and it will not let you explore any of the corners of the map, which make up at least a third of it. Mountains block your path when you try and leave, and the locations are so tightly clustered that it doesn't feel as realistic as Fallout 3 did. It says that it has more locations than Fallout 3; what they don't mention, is that a third of these locations literally consist of half of a burned down shack with one metal box inside that contains a stimpack and a cot. There are hardly any details for many locations, giving you in actuality less places to explore. The factions have very little meaning, other than restricting what clothing you wear, as well as which enemies shoot you on sight. If you steal from or kill any faction members than your reputation with them goes down, which is still essentially pointless. It's kind of difficult to get on a faction's good side (i.e. Powder Gangers) when they shoot you on sight before you even have a chance to interact with them. Weapon modding is slightly absurd: you have a choice of a few mods to insert into your weapon, but the mods aren't anything exciting. Crafting items is also bland, resulting in either new ammunition of breaking it down. The difficulty is embarassing at times. On the standard difficulty, you will usually kill enemy monsters in a few hits. But then, you'll encounter random monsters that suddenly see a huge difficulty spike, where they'll annihiliate you in three hits. Overall, the game is still pieced together well, and despite all of its flaws, it definitely provides an entertaining predecessor if you enjoyed Fallout 3. It doesn't surpass it in any way, rather, it seems a step back, but if you loved Fallout 3 and need more, than this is the game for you. Recommended to fans of the series and RPG's, but I can't recommend to FPS lovers. Expand
  7. May 22, 2012
    0
    This game was released BROKEN, and with ample time to fix it with patches it is still unacceptably BROKEN.
    The only reason the critics gave it
    This game was released BROKEN, and with ample time to fix it with patches it is still unacceptably BROKEN.
    The only reason the critics gave it a higher score is that there's practically no such thing as "game criticism". The only reason fans give it a higher score is that they are willing to tolerate the bugs and glitches and CRASHES because they love the franchise. This game is not the franchise itself, and it is far, far, far more BROKEN than Fallout 3, which had only the occasional glitch. It is not my Xbox, my Xbox is fine. I do blame Microsoft for one thing, though: not revoking Bethesda's and Obsidian's license to publish on the Xbox.
    Expand

See all 210 User Reviews