Fallout: New Vegas Xbox 360

Fallout: New Vegas Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 745 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest game in the post-nuclear RPG series is being developed by many members of the Fallout 1 and 2 team at Obsidian Entertainment using the Fallout 3 engine.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Oct 20, 2010
    100
    The map, though similar-sized to Fallout 3's, seems more jam-packed than ever – New Vegas is less a sandbox game than whole beach to play around in.
  2. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    Obsidian has created a totally compelling world and its frustrations pale into insignificance compared to the immersive, obsessive experience on offer. Just like the scorched scenery that provides its epic backdrop, New Vegas is huge and sprawling, sometimes gaudy, even downright ugly at times – but always effortlessly, shamelessly entertaining.
  3. Dec 19, 2010
    90
    You can beat the entire main story of Fallout: New Vegas in less than 20 hours, but that would be giving the game short shrift. It is really about savoring every little detail and side quest until you've seen everything there is to see.
  4. Oct 21, 2010
    85
    New Vegas is like a Huge DLC, an enormous add-on. But the formula is still fresh and deep.
  5. Oct 27, 2010
    83
    Fallout: New Vegas is an epic journey that matches the magnitude of Fallout 3.
  6. Oct 21, 2010
    80
    And so it is Fallout: New Vegas is both playable and enjoyable. It's variable too - Hardcore mode, playing a super dumb character, ramping up your charisma and speech from the beginning - all of these will result in a vastly different experience when you play the game.
  7. Oct 22, 2010
    60
    Creatively, New Vegas gets almost everything right. Mechanically and technically, it's a tragedy. So, it's a simultaneously rewarding and frustrating game, the gulf between what it is and what it could be a sizeable stretch indeed.

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 214
  1. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    Simply an excellent addition to the Fallout canon. An imaginative and extremely crafted story, numerous and refreshingly enjoyable side questsSimply an excellent addition to the Fallout canon. An imaginative and extremely crafted story, numerous and refreshingly enjoyable side quests and engaging and thoughtful characters. This game will appeal to fans of Fallout 3 primarily, yet occasional references to previous games in the series to keep die-hard fans happy. By allowing Obsidian to create this game, it allows them to strike a near perfect balance of the complete Fallout experience. Many hours of mine have already been sunk into this game, and if you are looking for a thought-provoking enthralling video game adventure then look no more. This might sound sycophantic and gushing, yet this game really has brought a smile to my face. Roll on Fallout 4! Expand
  2. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    This is one of my all time favorite games. I LOVED Fallout 3 and this only made the series better. I cannot understand why people don't likeThis is one of my all time favorite games. I LOVED Fallout 3 and this only made the series better. I cannot understand why people don't like this game because they "basically made an expansion to Fallout 3." If you make the perfect game, Fallout 3, then why would you mess that up? This is a better, updated version of Fallout 3. The story-line is fantastic and the new weapon mods you can make, along with all of the chems, only makes for an even better experience. If you liked Fallout 3, then you will love this game. Expand
  3. Oct 26, 2010
    9
    I love this game! I cant stop playing it. Ive gone to bed way too late every night since its come out.
    More quests, customizable weapons,
    I love this game! I cant stop playing it. Ive gone to bed way too late every night since its come out.
    More quests, customizable weapons, and a western sort of feel to the game too. More of an interesting story line for sure! Graphics are the same as Fallout 3, though, there is a lot more depth & many improvements to the game.

    I seriously recommend that you try playing it on Hardcore. It adds even more to the game ;-)

    Only a few glitches, like fire ants walking around with their thorax' in the ground. Rad Scorpions get stuck on a rock and also walk around with their heads underground. But most of the time its all good.
    Expand
  4. Dec 19, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I can't give this game a 10 just because of the epic bar they set with Fallout 3. However, in terms of pure bang for your buck you can't really beat the Fallout series, and Las Vegas, just like D.C., delivers. Overall, the story is fairly intersting, even though it was odd not to have the main character based out of one of the Vaults in the area.

    It should be noted however that the glitches in the game can get really bad, so you should save often. There are also other little things that are very annoying like way to many load points for a game not as diverse as it's predecessor in terms of terrain. Further, it's really annoying not to be able to fast travel to any location on the Strip itself.

    Overall, a very solid effort and I more than got my money's worth out of the game. I don't know what the next in the series is, but I really hope they do something more in line with the size and scope of the original Fallout 3.
    Expand
  5. Dec 18, 2010
    8
    "Fallout: New Vegas" was addicting and engrossing. Those qualities themselves are enough of a justification for an "8" rating. Obsidian"Fallout: New Vegas" was addicting and engrossing. Those qualities themselves are enough of a justification for an "8" rating. Obsidian Entertainment (formerly Black Isle Studios) developed the first two Fallout games, so blending Bethseda's "Fallout 3" style made the storyline refreshing and even somewhat deeper, as opposed to making just another clone "Fallout 3".

    Sadly, numerous bugs and glitches hinder the gameplay at times, and although many have been patched across consoles and the PC, it's not acceptable to release a game so unpolished. Defensibly, the world is huge, and it's a massive game...but this kind of buggy release should never become a precedent in the industry. I also personally believe that the engine the game uses (a heavily modified version from "Fallout 3") is outdated, and should die a fiery death in lieu of new updated version.

    Ultimately, the game is well worth the money spent on it, and whether your patrolling the wastelands for the first time or a hardened Fallout veteran...this game is badass, and I can't wait for the DLC.
    Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2011
    7
    Very fun game. with tons of side quests, and adventures, and items, this game has me playing for longer than I imagined. recommend it, butVery fun game. with tons of side quests, and adventures, and items, this game has me playing for longer than I imagined. recommend it, but still needs improvement. Expand
  7. Jul 14, 2013
    0
    Like all fallout games new Vegas is fun to play and has an intriguing story all while being one of the best post apocalyptic games out there.Like all fallout games new Vegas is fun to play and has an intriguing story all while being one of the best post apocalyptic games out there. while not as good s fallout 3 new vegas is defiantly a great game. Expand

See all 214 User Reviews