Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 28
  2. Negative: 18 out of 28
Buy On
  1. Dec 14, 2012
    65
    As an exercise in fan service, Back to the Multiverse hits a lot of notes that fans of the series will recognize and appreciate. It's certainly offensive, but so is the source material, so that shouldn't be a surprise. As a game, it's a very average third person shooter that doesn't do anything special, but doesn't do anything horrible either.
  2. Nov 28, 2012
    60
    This is an episode of the show merged with an average third-person shooter. There's a lot to enjoy, but none of it will knock your socks off.
  3. Nov 23, 2012
    60
    On one hand the game makes me laugh a couple of times, on the other hand it feels like an ancient beast from the 90's - it even lacks online multiplayer. If you already enjoy Family Guy, you will probably have a good time with this game; if you don't you most likely won't.
  4. Dec 6, 2012
    58
    Two worlds collide: On one side you get loads of bizarre enemies and hair-raising ideas. On the other you get frustrated by old-fashioned mission design, poor AI and boring gunfights. Like Stewie says: "Again! Again! I love repetition!"
  5. Games Master UK
    Jan 16, 2013
    56
    Funny but mediocre shooter that a mother (or a hardcore fan) couldn't love. [Feb 2013, p.78]
  6. Dec 6, 2012
    56
    While it's not broken, Back to the Multiverse, is very limited and uninspired.
  7. Dec 4, 2012
    55
    A solid comedic core cannot save what becomes tedious gameplay as you move through the 10 different dimensions of the Multiverse. Throw in the mind-boggling lack of online multiplayer for a suite that clearly could have benefited from it, and Family Guy: Back to the Multiverse should only appeal to fanatics of the FOX animated sitcom.
  8. Dec 2, 2012
    55
    Archaic third person shooter based on MacFarlane characters. Aiming is weak, pale graphics and wounding vulgarity make for an average-at-best package. Result is for show hardcore fans only.
  9. Dec 17, 2012
    50
    Repetitive, boring and quickly tiring: a lazy tie-in with almost no value even to the animated series lovers.
  10. Dec 10, 2012
    50
    The only adjective to describe Family Guy: Back to the Multiverse is absolutely mediocre.
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Negative: 7 out of 17
  1. Dec 3, 2012
    1
    I myself love Family Guy so I came into this challenge wishing for the best. Needless to say I was given the exact opposite. The game is aI myself love Family Guy so I came into this challenge wishing for the best. Needless to say I was given the exact opposite. The game is a terrible mix of unrelenting, repetitive game play that at times makes you want to punch your controller. And generally, punching your controller actually helps just as much as trying to play the game. Its a terrible mess of polygons slapped together to make a branded piece of merchandise that falls flat before you even know what hit you. You could either buy this game, or kick a baby. The later making more sense. Full Review »
  2. Nov 22, 2012
    1
    You know the game is garbage the second you put the disk inside your console. Anything that you dreamed this game will be like will not beYou know the game is garbage the second you put the disk inside your console. Anything that you dreamed this game will be like will not be found. There's a reason they didn't have any demos or show any videos of the game before it's release. Gameplay is atrocious and comedy is non existent. Save your money! Full Review »
  3. Nov 22, 2012
    7
    This game is fun. There is lots to do and some replayablility with some very well hidden secondary goals. The controls work great and theThis game is fun. There is lots to do and some replayablility with some very well hidden secondary goals. The controls work great and the game really captures the show with lots of humor, I laughed out loud a lot. It is not a great game but it is certainly not as bad as the critics are saying. I think the developers did a pretty good job of giving fans a Family Guy game and I am not disappointed at all. Not a masterpiece but a very fun game to play, much more fun than Assassins Creed 3. Full Review »