Family Guy: Back to the Multiverse Image
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 50 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Family Guy: Back to the Multiverse introduces an all-new original story written and voiced by Family Guy talent and influenced by the famous Family Guy season eight episode, Road to the Multiverse, where Stewie and Brian travel on an out-of-this-world journey through Quahog’s bizarreFamily Guy: Back to the Multiverse introduces an all-new original story written and voiced by Family Guy talent and influenced by the famous Family Guy season eight episode, Road to the Multiverse, where Stewie and Brian travel on an out-of-this-world journey through Quahog’s bizarre parallel universes. Gamers travel through all-new settings on a mission to save Quahog and stop the destructive schemes of Bertram, Stewie’s nemesis. Playing as either Stewie or Brian, each equipped with unique special weapons and abilities, gamers encounter an array of Family Guy characters, references and jokes. Additionally, fans can share this hilarious experience and invite friends and family to jump into the wild Family Guy world through drop-in/drop-out co-op multiplayer mode and competitive multiplayer challenges. [Activision] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 28
  2. Negative: 18 out of 28
  1. Dec 14, 2012
    65
    As an exercise in fan service, Back to the Multiverse hits a lot of notes that fans of the series will recognize and appreciate. It's certainly offensive, but so is the source material, so that shouldn't be a surprise. As a game, it's a very average third person shooter that doesn't do anything special, but doesn't do anything horrible either.
  2. Dec 6, 2012
    58
    Two worlds collide: On one side you get loads of bizarre enemies and hair-raising ideas. On the other you get frustrated by old-fashioned mission design, poor AI and boring gunfights. Like Stewie says: "Again! Again! I love repetition!"
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    55
    A solid comedic core cannot save what becomes tedious gameplay as you move through the 10 different dimensions of the Multiverse. Throw in the mind-boggling lack of online multiplayer for a suite that clearly could have benefited from it, and Family Guy: Back to the Multiverse should only appeal to fanatics of the FOX animated sitcom.
  4. Dec 4, 2012
    40
    Macfarlane is a man of many talents. Understanding what makes a videogame great is not one of them, unfortunately.
  5. Nov 28, 2012
    38
    The game isn't funny, and that's inexcusable.
  6. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Jan 19, 2013
    30
    Appalling levels, terrible writing, repetitive gags and weak shooting mechanics make for one of the least enjoyable experiences of 2012. Be smart and avoid at all costs. [Issue#93, p.82]
  7. Nov 20, 2012
    20
    Crude, archaic, sloppy, and unfunny, but I don't want the show to be blamed for any of it -- not because I wish to defend Family Guy, but because by blaming the show, we let this game get away with being the invidious dross it is.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Negative: 7 out of 17
  1. Jul 17, 2015
    10
    Family Guy: Back To The Multiverse it's one of the best games on PS3 adn XBOX 360. With a cameo of Joyce Kinney, my favourite character,Family Guy: Back To The Multiverse it's one of the best games on PS3 adn XBOX 360. With a cameo of Joyce Kinney, my favourite character, during the opening of the game. I hope that Joyce Kinney will live forever! Expand
  2. May 18, 2015
    8
    If you're looking for a game that is just fun, then this is your pick. Family Guy Back to the Multiverse, is a great game. It's hilarious,If you're looking for a game that is just fun, then this is your pick. Family Guy Back to the Multiverse, is a great game. It's hilarious, yes, but the gameplay is so fun and somewhat challenging. Don't think because the setting isn't serious that the gameplay will be lacking, because it's exceptional. The multiplayer is extremely fun, not to mention the challenge mode which is extremely challenging. The game has a very solid story, especially for a comedy. There are 10 levels if I remember correctly, but these levels are packed with action that is so great. The weapons are fantastic and sometimes hilarious. I believe that the game devotes it's self so much that it forgets comedy as a main aspect. Don't get me wrong, it's still very hilarious, just not as crazy as you might expect. Still funnier than the Cleveland Show. This is a game that is hated on a lot, but I've found it to be really fun and am considering buying it for my PS3. That's saying a lot since it is a linear game. Expand
  3. Nov 22, 2012
    7
    This game is fun. There is lots to do and some replayablility with some very well hidden secondary goals. The controls work great and theThis game is fun. There is lots to do and some replayablility with some very well hidden secondary goals. The controls work great and the game really captures the show with lots of humor, I laughed out loud a lot. It is not a great game but it is certainly not as bad as the critics are saying. I think the developers did a pretty good job of giving fans a Family Guy game and I am not disappointed at all. Not a masterpiece but a very fun game to play, much more fun than Assassins Creed 3. Expand
  4. Nov 22, 2012
    5
    Before a get started I just want to say that I am a HUGE Family Guy fan since 1999 to today.

    Family Guy: Back to the Multiverse... this
    Before a get started I just want to say that I am a HUGE Family Guy fan since 1999 to today.

    Family Guy: Back to the Multiverse... this game kinda came out of left field, I only knew about it a couple months before it came out, but I know alot of people who still don't know about it know and its already out.

    This game isnt broken, but it not good. The singleplayer is at times fun and funny but really short and really repetitive, not to mention respective, and the last boos battle is really quit frustrating. The controls arent really that bad, I'd even go as far as to say that their good, you'll need to put your sensitivity to at least 9 though. The game has drop in drop out co-op, and multiplayer , kinda. Theirs no online play what so ever, so is it 2012 or 1999, but maybe you can play with bots, the answer is no, so the sucks. I would have gave this game a six but with no online its a 5.
    Expand
  5. Jun 5, 2016
    4
    I had some initial impression that this game would be well-made and fun to play, and soon found out that it's reminiscent of the old clunkyI had some initial impression that this game would be well-made and fun to play, and soon found out that it's reminiscent of the old clunky platform shooters you might play on a PS1 regarding its mechanics and design and cutscenes voice and animation, aside from the graphic work itself.. anyway, the game had some funny jokes, and then some boring jokes, but has very basic and unexciting play mechanics.. I made myself play through it just because it was ok and I wanted to finish it but it was hard to get really into it. I guess people who would enjoy the gameplay would be kids and casual gamers. Something I was happy to play alone but wouldn't want to do multiplayer with anyone. Expand
  6. Jan 4, 2014
    4
    Family Guy Back To The Multiverse- one of the funniest bad games. The game is broken and very small but the gags are there and that makes itFamily Guy Back To The Multiverse- one of the funniest bad games. The game is broken and very small but the gags are there and that makes it playable. For the fans it's nothing new- Stewie and Brian go full on violent on the bad santa and his elves. Well to me- it's hilarious because- IAM a family guy fan. Seriously guys, this game's machanics and pace is so bad but it's so good. Back to the multiverse is a very mediocre and broken third person shooter with a well writing and some laughs. This is a rent only for family guy fans. Expand
  7. Sep 12, 2013
    0
    Dreadful, the whole title is a lie, for there is almost NO multiverse aspect in this game, you only visit the locations you see in the olderDreadful, the whole title is a lie, for there is almost NO multiverse aspect in this game, you only visit the locations you see in the older episodes of the show. This is a dreadful game as far as AI and gameplay is concerned. A awful TPS with copy and paste mission objectives stay away from this game. Do not buy this game avoid it like the plague. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews