Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 40 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Family Guy: Back to the Multiverse introduces an all-new original story written and voiced by Family Guy talent and influenced by the famous Family Guy season eight episode, Road to the Multiverse, where Stewie and Brian travel on an out-of-this-world journey through Quahog’s bizarre parallel universes. Gamers travel through all-new settings on a mission to save Quahog and stop the destructive schemes of Bertram, Stewie’s nemesis. Playing as either Stewie or Brian, each equipped with unique special weapons and abilities, gamers encounter an array of Family Guy characters, references and jokes. Additionally, fans can share this hilarious experience and invite friends and family to jump into the wild Family Guy world through drop-in/drop-out co-op multiplayer mode and competitive multiplayer challenges. [Activision] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 28
  2. Negative: 18 out of 28
  1. Dec 14, 2012
    65
    As an exercise in fan service, Back to the Multiverse hits a lot of notes that fans of the series will recognize and appreciate. It's certainly offensive, but so is the source material, so that shouldn't be a surprise. As a game, it's a very average third person shooter that doesn't do anything special, but doesn't do anything horrible either.
  2. Dec 6, 2012
    58
    Two worlds collide: On one side you get loads of bizarre enemies and hair-raising ideas. On the other you get frustrated by old-fashioned mission design, poor AI and boring gunfights. Like Stewie says: "Again! Again! I love repetition!"
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    55
    A solid comedic core cannot save what becomes tedious gameplay as you move through the 10 different dimensions of the Multiverse. Throw in the mind-boggling lack of online multiplayer for a suite that clearly could have benefited from it, and Family Guy: Back to the Multiverse should only appeal to fanatics of the FOX animated sitcom.
  4. Dec 4, 2012
    40
    Macfarlane is a man of many talents. Understanding what makes a videogame great is not one of them, unfortunately.
  5. Nov 28, 2012
    38
    The game isn't funny, and that's inexcusable.
  6. Jan 19, 2013
    30
    Appalling levels, terrible writing, repetitive gags and weak shooting mechanics make for one of the least enjoyable experiences of 2012. Be smart and avoid at all costs. [Issue#93, p.82]
  7. Nov 20, 2012
    20
    Crude, archaic, sloppy, and unfunny, but I don't want the show to be blamed for any of it -- not because I wish to defend Family Guy, but because by blaming the show, we let this game get away with being the invidious dross it is.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 5 out of 12
  1. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    I don't understand why everybody is hating this game! I think that this game is awesome. Well yeah, it is pretty short game but the challenges aren't so easy and if you are trying to get 100% from this game, it's gona take a while. The game should have been a little more hard but it's pretty funny and Family Guy like so I think that it's okay. The universes they traveled could been more like the ones that were in the episode but now they were references to some other episodes witch is pretty awesome if you are a fan. The thing that this game is missing the most is the online multiplayer cause it's just pretty boring if you are trying to get those achievements. I gave this game 9 because this game should have a better grade
    and it's very entertaining.
    Expand
  2. Dec 5, 2012
    8
    As a massive family guy fan I was looking forward to this game, I knew it wasn't going to be a game which would rival Halo 4 or Mass Effect so wasn't expecting much!!

    Is a very fun game, I guess if your not a fan of the programme the game would come across as pretty poor! but I'm not a fan of Friends the TV programme, so I wouldn't go out and buy a game based on it! (that would be shocking)

    The levels are quite fun to play and the sound bites are all fun also! some are repeated now and again, but its not a big budget game, so what you expect?
    Isn't the longest of games, but the multiplayer is quite fun also, is only local, but all fun with some mates!

    If your a Family guy fan, I would recommend buying for a laugh, price tag is maybe quite high at the moment, but is good for a laugh, just don't expect a Mass Effect or Halo 4 is all!
    Expand
  3. Nov 22, 2012
    7
    This game is fun. There is lots to do and some replayablility with some very well hidden secondary goals. The controls work great and the game really captures the show with lots of humor, I laughed out loud a lot. It is not a great game but it is certainly not as bad as the critics are saying. I think the developers did a pretty good job of giving fans a Family Guy game and I am not disappointed at all. Not a masterpiece but a very fun game to play, much more fun than Assassins Creed 3. Expand
  4. Nov 22, 2012
    5
    Before a get started I just want to say that I am a HUGE Family Guy fan since 1999 to today.

    Family Guy: Back to the Multiverse... this
    game kinda came out of left field, I only knew about it a couple months before it came out, but I know alot of people who still don't know about it know and its already out.

    This game isnt broken, but it not good. The singleplayer is at times fun and funny but really short and really repetitive, not to mention respective, and the last boos battle is really quit frustrating. The controls arent really that bad, I'd even go as far as to say that their good, you'll need to put your sensitivity to at least 9 though. The game has drop in drop out co-op, and multiplayer , kinda. Theirs no online play what so ever, so is it 2012 or 1999, but maybe you can play with bots, the answer is no, so the sucks. I would have gave this game a six but with no online its a 5.
    Expand
  5. Jan 4, 2014
    4
    Family Guy Back To The Multiverse- one of the funniest bad games. The game is broken and very small but the gags are there and that makes it playable. For the fans it's nothing new- Stewie and Brian go full on violent on the bad santa and his elves. Well to me- it's hilarious because- IAM a family guy fan. Seriously guys, this game's machanics and pace is so bad but it's so good. Back to the multiverse is a very mediocre and broken third person shooter with a well writing and some laughs. This is a rent only for family guy fans. Expand
  6. Jan 26, 2013
    2
    Games based on TV series tend to be at risk of not feeling authentic enough to sit alongside the established universes that they offer. Back to the Multiverse decides to throw away the challenge of making a compelling game to sit alongside the TV series and instead gives us two discerning fingers right up the jaxie. The main problem is the game is roughly 4-6 hours of constant shooting, constant enemy respawning and alas constant boredom. Dialogue is recycled in a nonsensical manner from the TV show for instance Brian will belt out that he needs a midget with some gin to be in business- with zero relevance to what is going on. There are challenges to take on, a local multiplayer option and a seemingly impressive array of collectibles. But all of this doesn't make up for a shoddy, half arsed lazy cash in. Just watch Family Guy on DVD, at least you will get original concepts and ideas as well as shed loads of crass humour. Pick this up and bird won't be the word- but turd will. Expand
  7. Sep 12, 2013
    0
    Dreadful, the whole title is a lie, for there is almost NO multiverse aspect in this game, you only visit the locations you see in the older episodes of the show. This is a dreadful game as far as AI and gameplay is concerned. A awful TPS with copy and paste mission objectives stay away from this game. Do not buy this game avoid it like the plague. Collapse

See all 12 User Reviews