• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Apr 12, 2011
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. 80
    Perfect if you can't afford a real dragon. [June 2011, p.103]
  2. May 3, 2011
    75
    Loads of customization options paired with the leveling up system means you or your little one will spend plenty of hours toying around with the cuties.
  3. Dec 12, 2011
    70
    There's just not quite enough variety to hold my (or my son's) interest, and the occasional collision/gesture detection snafu doesn't help matters either.
  4. Aug 2, 2011
    70
    Fantastic Pets is similar to Kinectimals but allows you to create your own pets by choosing body parts (legs, wings, tails etc.). In addition you can see them running around your room, but these Augmented Reality elements are rather weak as the real world appears very dark on screen. Still I can see a big group of 3-, 5- or 7-year-olds that will enjoy this game. [August 2011, p.73]
  5. May 6, 2011
    70
    Combining the gameplay design of classic pet games, like Nintendogs, EyePet and Kinectimals, THQ's addition to the genre is quite the cocktail! Even if it falls a bit short of the aforementioned games, it still manages to deliver hours of fun to young gamers.
  6. Apr 25, 2011
    70
    Essentially a mini-game compilation at heart, comparisons to Kinectimals are unjust, and Fantastic Pets is a fun and entertaining experience for the younger generation. Those expecting anything more will be disappointed, but taken for what it is, a cute, light-hearted and easy to play venture, it certainly achieves what it set out to. The kids will love it, and the parents will welcome the distraction! It won't last forever, kids tend to get bored easily, but while it does they'll certainly enjoy grooming their created pets and interacting with them in magical ways. While a little unoriginal and nothing mind blowing, its got more than enough charm to provide hours of childlike fun for any younger gamer out there.
  7. More immersive than Kinectimals, with more freedom - but shabby around the edges. [June 2011, p.101]
  8. 65
    For that reason alone, we'd say this game makes a great distraction for younger kids(especially since you can share the mini-game fun with any friend who wants to jump in), but the young at heart will likely need something more. [June 2011, p.85]
  9. May 20, 2011
    50
    Very obviously inferior to the competition in every way. [Issue#72, p.88]
  10. May 4, 2011
    50
    What's there is decent enough for the genre and certainly as technically accomplished as any Kinect title aimed at kids would ever need to be, but without any strong hooks to keep people coming back it could well end up as just another fad - much like the majority of other content for the all-seeing camera.
  11. Apr 22, 2011
    40
    The only originality in Fantastic Pets is its dragons and its unicorns. Despite its augmented reality function, this game is less interesting than Kinectimals because of its poor gameplay and its not so lovable cartoon creatures.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. May 16, 2012
    7
    Great game for Kinect. Fantastic Pets is an amazing example of great games for kids, that be funny and don't are stupid. The gameplay is funny, the graphics good. Good game for kids. Full Review »
  2. Jun 18, 2011
    7
    When I announced I was going to buy an Xbox 360, my wife said I needed to also get the kinect for the kids to play with (sighs), specifically, the cute Kinectimals with the tiger on the box cover. I looked at som Kinectimal reviews and most said the game was limited and recommended the Fantastic Pets game instead. At the Game Stop the sales clerk agreed that the Fantastic Pets offered more than Kinectimals. What it offered more was different type of animals rather than just wild cats. You can have lizards, dogs, ponies and (house) cats. Then you can further customize those creatures into some pretty cool (Fantastic) hybrids. I definitely recommend this game if your kid is +6 because your kids need to be able to read and understand voice prompting in order to play this game....or you could stand close by to jump in the screen to help them. I can say easily that the Kinect detection is a lot smoother than anything I've played on a Wii so you don't have to flay your arms around too much. The bad for this game is that you can only have one pet on the screen at a time and when your kids want to play together in co-op there is a lot of fighting and bickering about which pet to have, who shouldn't hog all the pets attention, the lack of respect for personal space, and all those other things that only parents who have had to travel in a car for more than a couple of hours with their children can understand. So in that regards, I encourage you to have your kids stay away from playing co-op. Full Review »
  3. Apr 12, 2011
    8
    Hello!
    My 3 year old has played through the first 40 minutes of Fantastic Pets. This alone should shed some light on this Kinect title. In
    addition to being monumentally forgiving I find the software to recognize a smaller living space as well as a mildly challenging platform for adults and kids alike. The picture in picture (PIP) feature is really great for young ones who enjoy seeing themselves on camera. Detection is very good and the "campaign" is versatile. It's a little too early to tell how this will play out, however there is not much info about this title. I am an avid gamer with 140 xbox360 titles in my portfolio and so far this has provided my child with the entertainment level that rivals Kinect Sports and the user friendliness that comes with it. We have Kinectimals, which looks better, but is less forgiving on gestures and living space. I am sure most folks don't live in a bowling alley so living space is very important. I will include additional note as we go. Happy gaming! Full Review »