Far Cry 2 Xbox 360

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 291 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 68 out of 291
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 7, 2013
    3
    Where to start?
    - The graphics are poor and its hard to see enemies and getting surrounded happens often
    -Way too many spawned enemy vehicles and enemies that's repetitive and slows down mission progress -Vehicles drive weird and break down all the time making you want to walk but that's even more boring -There isn't anything to ACTUALLY DO in the world so the sandbox thing is kind
    Where to start?
    - The graphics are poor and its hard to see enemies and getting surrounded happens often
    -Way too many spawned enemy vehicles and enemies that's repetitive and slows down mission progress
    -Vehicles drive weird and break down all the time making you want to walk but that's even more boring
    -There isn't anything to ACTUALLY DO in the world so the sandbox thing is kind of pointless
    -It isn't even sandbox really cause places are closed off and exploration is discouraged as you can't choose a quest; its deceptively linear
    - Even if you wanted to to explore, you CANT, because of the ridiculous amount of angry enemies that spawn at a god awful rate discussed earlier

    I guess the one pro I would give it is the weapons, upgrading of weapons, and the natural deterioration of weapons (although also unrealistically quick in falling apart)

    Avoid this
    Expand
  2. CiaranG
    Jun 29, 2009
    4
    Only good things I can think of about the game are the realistic graphics, the fantastic map editor and the fun online play. Unfortunately, the single-player mode is seriously flawed in various ways. One of the most annoying things about this game is that every single human being in the game that isn't white or living in a town is out to kill you, almost like zombies. On sight of Only good things I can think of about the game are the realistic graphics, the fantastic map editor and the fun online play. Unfortunately, the single-player mode is seriously flawed in various ways. One of the most annoying things about this game is that every single human being in the game that isn't white or living in a town is out to kill you, almost like zombies. On sight of you, even from a distance they make it their mission to follow you and kill you. This poses problems, especially when you are in a mission or when you are trying to get from one place to the next. It seems that everyday civilians have completely vanished off the face of the Earth in this game and have been replaced by blood-thirsty savages. The game had the potential to tell a story of a practically lawless land and the corrupt arms dealers that make huge profits by having people kill each other, but it is ruined by flawed gameplay. The driving physics are poor and the incredible environments are ruined by a lack of things to actually do apart from going on missions that involve killing people and collecting diamonds! A frustrating game - not worth getting. Expand
  3. DominicL
    Jan 6, 2009
    1
    This game .. sucked.. lol. Well the first Farcry was good but Farcry 2 was one of the worst games i've ever played. The AI is terrible but the graphics are good. I mean what happened to our mini map?? It's like a gigantic map you need to hold with two hands!! It was not worth buying and i shall never buy another Farcry game until i know it's good.
  4. RowanF
    May 31, 2009
    2
    Tf and Anthony, you could not be more right. This game is terrible, a ptitful attempt to live up to the brilliance of Far Cry 1. The gameplay is absolutely shit: the stealth/guerilla warfare aspect that made Far Cry one so unbelievably fun to play has been completely removed, instead leaving a mindless 'charge in there and shoot em to bits' style of gameplay, not at all helped Tf and Anthony, you could not be more right. This game is terrible, a ptitful attempt to live up to the brilliance of Far Cry 1. The gameplay is absolutely shit: the stealth/guerilla warfare aspect that made Far Cry one so unbelievably fun to play has been completely removed, instead leaving a mindless 'charge in there and shoot em to bits' style of gameplay, not at all helped by a series of near-braindead two dimensional AI's. The scenery and buildings at first appear to be lucoius and incredibly realistic, up until the point where you realise that there are about four different buildings and locations in the entire game which have been copy/pasted six hundred million times. It amuses me that the devs claim that this game is all about 'realism', well lets see, how realistic is it to have any guns you buy mysteriously appear in evry other gunshop in africa, which by the way are all identical? One of the worst parts of the game is the 'non linearity'. Far Cry 1 nailed non linearity perfectly, it made it a fun and awsome game aspect by letting you choose which way you completed your missions, whether it be by charging in there all guns blazing, taking out the enemies one by one without them noticing, or blowing them to bits with a jeep-mounted rocket launcher. Far Cry 2, however has managed to get COMPLETELY the wrong end of the stick. Instead of letting you choose how you do your missions, it makes them almost completely linear. Their substiute for this is to let you choose which missions you do. Instead of giving a feel of non-linearity, this simply makes it feel like a linear plot that is sepreated into tiny repetitive chunks, puncutated by dreadfuly boring and horribly repetitive driving sections. This idea of getting to choose which missions you do is also completely flawed by the fact that every single mission is exactly the fucking same, but with a slightly different backstory. That's right, if you get this game, your mission variation will range from 'go here and blow up this oil tanker; to 'go here and blow up this generator', and in between missions you will have to spend nearly twenty minutes driving there and back, being pursued by an unending amount of jeeps, which for some reason are all identical and don't require any keys to start. All things considered, I think that the main problem with the game is that it's dull. In Far Cry 1 you tore through a tropical island, fighting off mutants, finidng experimental weapons, destroying underground labratories, wheres in Far Cry 2 you spend your time killing the same uninteresting enemies in the same uninteresting missions in the same uninteresting locations. Ok, so all of this is very realistic, which is supposed to be the main selling point of the game, but what Ubisoft need to realise is one simple fact: Reality is dull. That's why we play videogames. Expand
  5. Anthony
    Nov 27, 2008
    0
    This game is the biggest fucking waste of an amazing series idea. A tuned up version of far cry 1 would be better then this pile of shit. The A.I is retarded, the graphics look pretty amazing until you start seeing the same design over and over, trees start too look the same, rocks, cars, buildings. I mean for such a shitty game you would figure they would produce something great in these This game is the biggest fucking waste of an amazing series idea. A tuned up version of far cry 1 would be better then this pile of shit. The A.I is retarded, the graphics look pretty amazing until you start seeing the same design over and over, trees start too look the same, rocks, cars, buildings. I mean for such a shitty game you would figure they would produce something great in these categories. The controls are appalling, extremely clunky, after playing #1 i found it impossible to accept the fact that they would produce #2 with anything less but they did alot less. The multiplayer was a neat idea though i love the twist they put on team death match can't get enough of the same....NOT! Terrible, farcry did not need multiplayer the first one had it but it was terrible, because they focused on the main game and if every stupid generic pile of shit gaming today didn't need that farcry 2 could have been much more epic, co-op is where its at, if farcry 2 had been co-op i am sure alot of its other countless flaws could have been lessened to a countable amount but no, they took an amazing game and decided too make a few extra dollars off a good name with a bad game! Expand
  6. TF.
    Oct 29, 2008
    3
    You've got to be kidding me with these scores. This is a massive dissapointment as far as I am concerned. Sure the game looks great, but enemy AI is purely ridiculous. Enemies do two things, stand in place in plain view and shoot at you, or, run straight at youfull speed. come on. This is a major step back from the clever and natural feel of FarCry One ( among my top favorites of You've got to be kidding me with these scores. This is a massive dissapointment as far as I am concerned. Sure the game looks great, but enemy AI is purely ridiculous. Enemies do two things, stand in place in plain view and shoot at you, or, run straight at youfull speed. come on. This is a major step back from the clever and natural feel of FarCry One ( among my top favorites of games). Beyond this, the game is a repetitive and un orchestrated series of repeat events...collect a diamond out a of breifcase out in the wilderness(why???) followed by take over a checkpoint 52 of ') from 2 lame guards and a jeep with a machine gun on it.( repeat, repeat, repeat.) no thanks. I've lost interest after 2 days....maybe 4-5 hours of gameplay. Expand
  7. OveratedGame
    Dec 2, 2009
    1
    Let me sum up this game for you: Get a mission (choose from up to 4 variations!), spend 25 minutes driving (with one of the most boring driving sequences in any game), shoot the same people the same way for 5 minutes (YOU WANT STEALTH?! FUCK YOU. RUN AND GUN FAGGOT), spend another 25 minutes driving back, rinse and repeat. Oh and don't forget the LOL FIRE gimmick. This one game Let me sum up this game for you: Get a mission (choose from up to 4 variations!), spend 25 minutes driving (with one of the most boring driving sequences in any game), shoot the same people the same way for 5 minutes (YOU WANT STEALTH?! FUCK YOU. RUN AND GUN FAGGOT), spend another 25 minutes driving back, rinse and repeat. Oh and don't forget the LOL FIRE gimmick. This one game pretty much cemented in my mind the fact that high acclaim reviewers accept large bags of money from publishers. As is the case with Ubisoft and any reviewer that gave this game above 60%. I wanted to stay naive and believe that all reviewers had sense and some degree of taste, but Far Cry 2 reviews ruined that for me. tl;dr Please, do not buy this game. There are so many better options than this shit. Not even Steam's CRAZY $10 sale price (a few days ago) should be enough to persuade you to actually purchase this. Don't tolerate this kind of half-assry. If you absolutely have to play this, pirate it. Then again, it's not even worth the bandwith so don't. Anyone who praises this game doesn't know what a good game is. One of the most overrated games of the last five years. For a more in depth review check Rowan's comment. Expand
  8. Sep 24, 2011
    4
    A good game that could be a masterpiece. But it didn't. One of the things I hated is that half of the game is just driving. Driving, driving and guess what...driving. The maps are huge and you can explore them just to collect diamonds in order to buy guns.
  9. Mar 9, 2013
    4
    Far Cry 2 was so close to being a good game but then went and implemented something that ruined it, much like modern day Sonic console games. Far Cry 2's visuals )at the time) are some of the generation's best, the unnamed African setting is gorgeous and a joy to explore, the map editor for Multiplayer is superb, if not flawless. It looks like this game is destined to be a classic...butFar Cry 2 was so close to being a good game but then went and implemented something that ruined it, much like modern day Sonic console games. Far Cry 2's visuals )at the time) are some of the generation's best, the unnamed African setting is gorgeous and a joy to explore, the map editor for Multiplayer is superb, if not flawless. It looks like this game is destined to be a classic...but not so fast. While the multiplayer aspect is safe, the single player sadly isn't. Weapons jam consistently and during gunfights; this is incredibly aggravating and unnecessary. Cars damage far too easily and constantly require repair, enemies somehow see you wherever you are and seemingly always do more damage to you than you do to them. Repetition is another thing, the storyline is too scared to vary things, even just a little. Every time you start a mission objective, you get a call from an ally to complete a separate objective and get rewarded, rinse and repeat. The game feels rushed as a result and lacks tuning. Sure it does have the basis of a great quality game but that's as far as it goes unfortunately.

    Graphics: 9/10
    Gameplay: 5/10
    Features: 8/10

    Far Cry 2 tries too hard to be realistic and it suffers as a result (so will the player). Foundations of a truly fantastic game remain only foundations thanks to poorly implemented gameplay mechanics.
    Expand
  10. Feb 25, 2013
    0
    Absolute rubbish.
    There are more bugs than you can imagine.
    Every enemy has the skills of a Champion Marksman and can see you from five miles away.
    How this game every got to see the light of day amazes me.
  11. Aug 9, 2013
    1
    far cry 3 came out, now this game is suddenly 10/10?

    this is a poorly made game, immersive ideas, on a low scale. fixing your car every 5minutes becuase it got shot at ISNT immersive, its ANNOYING, checkpoints that no matter how badly destroyed, houses blown fire everywhere, they come back 100% in 5 minutes. who wants to travel 30 minutes for 5 minutes of shooting? they had all
    far cry 3 came out, now this game is suddenly 10/10?

    this is a poorly made game, immersive ideas, on a low scale. fixing your car every 5minutes becuase it got shot at ISNT immersive, its ANNOYING, checkpoints that no matter how badly destroyed, houses blown fire everywhere, they come back 100% in 5 minutes. who wants to travel 30 minutes for 5 minutes of shooting?

    they had all this ambition in the game early, then the got tired of making it i guess and there like whatever this is the final cut. now do you want a game that was slacked off half way in development, or a masterpeace such as fallout 3 and new vegas with great ly implemented mechnanics such as proper weapon condition. guns in real life dont sudddenly becomse rusty and blow up after 20-30 reload,

    i give the game a 1 being nice
    Expand
  12. Jun 11, 2013
    3
    I only played this game from single player campaign perspective but throughout my experience I can only really say a few positive things, the visuals were beautiful arid landscapes which made you feel thirsty, gore soaked instances of ripping shrapnel from your own body. In terms of game play I absolutely hated this game, the quick travel mechanics almost useless leaving you to spend moreI only played this game from single player campaign perspective but throughout my experience I can only really say a few positive things, the visuals were beautiful arid landscapes which made you feel thirsty, gore soaked instances of ripping shrapnel from your own body. In terms of game play I absolutely hated this game, the quick travel mechanics almost useless leaving you to spend more time travelling to and from locations then actually engaging in any meaningful game play or plot development, enemies seem to randomly spawn and relentlessly pursue you which wasn't so bad.. the first 100 times. Gameplay and objectives were woefully repetitive and whilst I was initially excited I found myself rapidly bored and aggravated after time and time again spending so much time travelling to a destination only to have enemies randomly spawn behind me, some how know exactly where you are even if you use your knife and cause you to re-spawn somewhere so you can enjoy more mindless travelling. Expand
  13. Jan 19, 2014
    1
    This game scores a 1 for having nice fire mechanics that looked pretty otherwise this game is a massive misuse of a brand name and cannot be compared to the original. The game mechanics don't really work, the game is brown and void of any character/characters and it's incredibly boring. A waste of time and money.
  14. DanW
    Jun 27, 2009
    3
    I got this cheap this week for 9 quid, severely disappointed. The only thing it's got going for it is the environment/graphics, everything else is totally flawed. the mission structure just grates, its a case of wondering round through the jungle to get to the mission, fair enough if the wondering didn't last the best part of 15 minutes. along the way you encounter swathes of I got this cheap this week for 9 quid, severely disappointed. The only thing it's got going for it is the environment/graphics, everything else is totally flawed. the mission structure just grates, its a case of wondering round through the jungle to get to the mission, fair enough if the wondering didn't last the best part of 15 minutes. along the way you encounter swathes of guys with guns and in jeeps. this makes driving virtually impossible as you get 100m down the road and get ambushed by another gang of non-descript enemies. this would almost be tolerable if 1. your gun didnt jam every few minutes leaving you to be mullered and killed, 2. the stupid malaria gimmick didnt kick in making it impossible to focus for a few seconds and 3. the driving controls were actually any good. they aren't they are absoloutley dire. so you get killed and you'd think you'd be respawned in a reasonable place right? wrong. you have to restart from the last save point and hence go through the rigmorall of chancing it past the same baddies which endlessly respawn in the same places. the mission structure itself is also boring as hell, it's kill these guys or blow up that truck or collect this item. THAT'S IT! all in all this game is severely flawed in so many ways it is totally unplayable. how anyone could stick with it enough to completion is beyond me. it's not even worth a fiver second hand, seriously save your blood pressure and never play this. God knows how it averaged 85% on metacritic, I'd rate this at 30% at best. sure it's pretty and technically an acheivement, but where's the fun? GAMES ARE MEANT TO BE FUN, that's why we play them! Expand
  15. Simon
    Jan 11, 2009
    2
    Just another game that, amidst the hype-machines demands for realism and gimmicky gameplay elements, has completely lost sight of the fact that games are meant to be fun. It takes a very warped perspective to think that people will find having to take virtual malaria medication every 35 minutes, for example. Don't waste your time or money on this cynical rubbish.
  16. JustinE
    Jan 21, 2009
    3
    First of all, this game sucks. Who ever said it is better than CoD:4 is unbelievably stupid. The only reason why this game gets a 3 rather than a 0 is because the graphics are damn nice, and some of the best I have seen. The map is also hugely big. But the enemy AI is stupid, 12 bullets to kill 1 guy is retarded and the missions are very repetitive. Not to mention you have to drive for 20 First of all, this game sucks. Who ever said it is better than CoD:4 is unbelievably stupid. The only reason why this game gets a 3 rather than a 0 is because the graphics are damn nice, and some of the best I have seen. The map is also hugely big. But the enemy AI is stupid, 12 bullets to kill 1 guy is retarded and the missions are very repetitive. Not to mention you have to drive for 20 minutes to do each mission, BORING! I really wanted to like this game because it looks so good, but it is just awful. DO NOT BUY!! Expand
  17. jaked
    Jun 27, 2009
    4
    The essence of Far Cry 2 is in no way distilled from the original game, Im unsure if its the political message they are attempting to get across or that someone decided that killing the same 3-4 guys over and over again is a great idea. The missions as listed below are stale and repetitive, none of them stand out as being unique imaginative or able to carry interest. The overall story is The essence of Far Cry 2 is in no way distilled from the original game, Im unsure if its the political message they are attempting to get across or that someone decided that killing the same 3-4 guys over and over again is a great idea. The missions as listed below are stale and repetitive, none of them stand out as being unique imaginative or able to carry interest. The overall story is not impressive and fails to inspire me to continue playing to 'find out what happens'. The driving in this game is TEDIOUS no jumps, no tricks, no radio, this wouldnt be so bad except you are going to be doing an awful lot of it. Id rate this game a 3 except i hear it has great player made content, it is technically proficient but has lost its soul, and lost touch for what is fun and exciting and decide to follow a path of drudgery and tedium. Even at 15$ i feel ripped off. Expand
  18. DenizY
    Nov 16, 2008
    3
    Do yourself a favor and get Fallout 3. Sure this game looks nice, but it's boring and repetitive. Find a diamond, take a checkpoint, do the exact same story line mission. There is no substance to this game... a very big disappointment - had high hopes for this game.

    The game world isn't like Crysis, either. The areas are small and you basically have to stick to the roads.
    Do yourself a favor and get Fallout 3. Sure this game looks nice, but it's boring and repetitive. Find a diamond, take a checkpoint, do the exact same story line mission. There is no substance to this game... a very big disappointment - had high hopes for this game.

    The game world isn't like Crysis, either. The areas are small and you basically have to stick to the roads. Lameness amplified.
    Expand
  19. EdwardS
    Nov 19, 2009
    1
    How did this game get so many 100/100 reviews?! The graphics are good, but all the graphics in the world can't make up for the fact that this game sucks! The story is non-existent. The gameplay is repetitive. The enemy AI is ridiculously bad. There's just nothing redeeming here. I bought this game for $20 on sale. It was a rip off.
  20. Apr 24, 2011
    4
    Far Cry 2 is a mixed game; the graphics and setting are superb, no other game set in Africa has done it quite as well as this. But the gameplay and story are tame. You'll get 20 hours out of it, but with a disappointing finale and nothing really noteworthy along the way, there's not much to go back and do again. The fire effects are very fun to play with and the realistic conditions ofFar Cry 2 is a mixed game; the graphics and setting are superb, no other game set in Africa has done it quite as well as this. But the gameplay and story are tame. You'll get 20 hours out of it, but with a disappointing finale and nothing really noteworthy along the way, there's not much to go back and do again. The fire effects are very fun to play with and the realistic conditions of your weapons (some can even break up in your hands) and the gory sequences where you have to pull a bullet out of your leg with pliers are great and unlike anything I've seen before. The online multi-player is alright but nothing special. Overall, I had fun driving around this open world, but when it came to the actual story and gameplay, I was often lost. 2/5, not bad. Expand
  21. Aug 2, 2011
    4
    Despite enjoying a number of sequences, and having a good few hours with it initially, it didn't take long for the veneer to wear off exposing the horrendus design decisions that completely trash the experience. If you're masochistic, well you might find Far Cry 2 suitable for play. If you want a legitimately enjoyable experience, however, steer far clear of this mess.
  22. Jun 29, 2011
    4
    The graphics are beautiful, but that alone can't compensate all the flaws this game has. The missions are boring and repetitive, you'll spend an awful lot of time driving around to reach your goal which is also boring. While driving around you'll also encounter scout posts where you'll be attacked, and the worst is that the enemies respawn there every mission, which makes for a frustratingThe graphics are beautiful, but that alone can't compensate all the flaws this game has. The missions are boring and repetitive, you'll spend an awful lot of time driving around to reach your goal which is also boring. While driving around you'll also encounter scout posts where you'll be attacked, and the worst is that the enemies respawn there every mission, which makes for a frustrating experience.The AI is horrible. they don't take cover or try to flank, the only thing they do is walk straight towards you while shooting at you. The stealth mechanic is broken as once an enemy catches a glance of you all enemies will immediately know the EXACT spot where you are and will continue to follow you around until either you or they are dead. The story is dull and virtually non-existant. The characters are all one-dimensional and the voice acting is atrocious; all characters talk extremely fast and sound emotionless.
    Don't believe the hype and stay away from this game, it truly was a chore to play.
    Expand
  23. Jan 22, 2013
    4
    It's a game I so desperately wanted to like. The storyline and location interested me greatly, the game looks amazing and the idea of playing the game how to want sounded fantastic, however this was the most disappointing game I have ever purchased. In a nutshell it's over repetitive, the stealth mechanics seem to be almost broken, every character outside the safe zones attacks you andIt's a game I so desperately wanted to like. The storyline and location interested me greatly, the game looks amazing and the idea of playing the game how to want sounded fantastic, however this was the most disappointing game I have ever purchased. In a nutshell it's over repetitive, the stealth mechanics seem to be almost broken, every character outside the safe zones attacks you and getting around is just a drag especially when you lose a vehicle. I can see how some people could love this game with so many great ideas, but it just wasn't the game I was expecting. All my complaints have been corrected by Far Cry 3 which is excellent and was the game I think I was expecting from Far Cry 2. Expand
  24. Jan 15, 2013
    3
    Very repetitive and a tease of an open world. Controls are in need of polish and missions are beyond monotonous. I love the shooter genre most and this made me rethink that, I honestly couldn't finish it, there is no reward along the way for chugging through a bad story line thinly veiled behind uninspired game play.
  25. Jun 2, 2015
    0
    this game sucks your walking sick trying to find pills dying and your guns fu#k up all the time every 10 rounds . the ending you kill your self trying to save a place its really stupid there really is no fun playing this game.
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. In order to truly appreciate it, you’ll have to look past all the monotonous traveling and the repetitive missions and get sucked in to the immersive world that Ubisoft Montreal has created.
  2. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    90
    Far Cry 2 is this year's equivalent of Assassin's Creed... when it comes to enveloping the player in exotic sights and sounds, Ubisoft has absolutely nailed it. [Issue # 40]
  3. Games Master UK
    92
    A challenging and technically impresive FPS set in gorgeous but treacherous surroundings...It's one of the most engaging shooters we've played for ages. [Dec 2008, p.67]