Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Apr 30, 2013
    70
    This isn’t Far Cry 3 at its best mechanically, but it’s definitely the game at its most charismatic. Because as a bunch of well-worn VHS tapes at Ubisoft Montreal undoubtedly prove, the ’80s knew how to do personality.
  2. 70
    Blood Dragon becomes too easy too soon, thanks in part to the steady stream of health-bar upgrades and damage-reduction bonuses you’ll unlock as you tear through 30 experience-based levels of personal progression. By the end you’re practically unstoppable, so you’ll almost certainly overcome all seven story missions, and complete every optional hunting excursion and hostage rescue, in under five hours.
  3. Apr 30, 2013
    70
    It's slightly disappointing, but I found myself returning to Blood Dragon after I'd finished it. The compulsive appeal of the parent game carries over, and it's nice to play a sci-fi shooter that's not trying to tell a so-called 'epic' story. Here you shoot people, a lot, and for most of its short running time that's good fun.
  4. Apr 30, 2013
    70
    The result of all this is a deep and well crafted premise in a somewhat shallow game. Blood Dragon is well made, and thoroughly entertaining to lovers of the eighties, but in many ways, it becomes a victim of its own success -- the core ideas are so fun, so lavishly crafted, one aches to see them in a game equal to their quality.
  5. May 8, 2013
    70
    The feeling is that Blood Dragon is a straight-to-VHS sequel that occasionally manages to top its blockbuster equivalent due in large part to a sharp wit and an enthusiastic execution on a popular nostalgia.
  6. Apr 30, 2013
    60
    It’s great value for money, as a sort of mini-Far Cry 3, but those that have played the original are likely to find it a rather weak sauce substitute and those that haven’t may just wonder what all the fuss was about.
  7. 70
    That Ubisoft saw fit to make a shooter for laughs is enormously commendable, and a step that we hope others will follow. But its commitment to dumbing down means that this is a pure-bred B-game rather than all-star A-lister.
  8. May 1, 2013
    65
    Blood Dragon perfectly captures the essence of '80s action kitsch, but it's often at odds with the gameplay.
  9. Apr 30, 2013
    60
    If Far Cry 3 was the dinner entree when it released last year, then Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon is an ice cream sundae on top of a slice of chocolate cake for dessert. It goes a bit farther than it needs to for some of its parody, but the game's core is as strong as ever wrapped in a love letter to the '80s vision of cool.
  10. Apr 25, 2013
    70
    The 80s aesthetic is great and the fun here is guaranteed. If you lived through this particular decade you will definitely appreciate Ubisoft's latest.
  11. May 1, 2013
    70
    This lightweight canapé with a taste of the 80s B action movies aesthetics will keep you busy, laughing.
  12. 70
    Blood Dragon succeeds because of its unhinged insanity and thoroughly executed style. Scratch those things away, and you’re left with a shooter that’s only slightly above average.
  13. Apr 30, 2013
    60
    In Blood Dragon the risk-taking, while welcome, is arguably in the wrong place. After 60 minutes' play, the joke wears away to near invisibility, and all that's left are the familiar systems that underpin the game. These remain enjoyable and, after the slow start, most players will be compelled to push through to the end. But there's an undeniable thinness here, the sense of a mild joke that's been eked out for too long, that can't fully wrap around the heft of the underlying game onto which it's been grafted.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 294 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 70
  2. Negative: 2 out of 70
  1. May 1, 2013
    10
    Well, the game is funny and the gameplay excellent. Best weapons ever and the story line dumb as hell. I see a lot people complaining aboutWell, the game is funny and the gameplay excellent. Best weapons ever and the story line dumb as hell. I see a lot people complaining about the game deepness, duration, etc in front of FC3. Hey guy this is a 15$ title! 1/4 of FC3 price. Just be logic. It definitely worth more than 15$. Full Review »
  2. May 3, 2013
    10
    Absolute perfect 10 game. Had me rolling laughing and enjoying every bit of it. I think growing up in the age to truly understand theAbsolute perfect 10 game. Had me rolling laughing and enjoying every bit of it. I think growing up in the age to truly understand the references throughout the senses i appreciate the humor, but also always wanting to interact with a Snake Pliskin type character really immersed me thoroughly in the world. Also the value in such a cheap price point really solidified a 10 score. Keep up the good work. Full Review »
  3. May 1, 2013
    10
    somethin that not too many folks will talk about is the music. the music really did it for me. i was laughing or grinning through the entiresomethin that not too many folks will talk about is the music. the music really did it for me. i was laughing or grinning through the entire game because the music turned the game from a sort of funny 80s knockoff to a 100% funny 80s knockoff. you have to play it to understand. Full Review »