User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 322 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 322

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 20, 2018
    2
    Cela pouvait paraître une bonne idée de prendre une petite partie de Far Cry 3 et d'en faire un hommage-pastiche aux films et séries B des années 80, une sorte de défouloir bas du front mais assumé... Seulement voilà, l'humour débilos des développeurs canadiens d'Ubisoft craint sévèrement et se signale davantage par sa stupidité que ses bons mots ou clins d'oeil -lourdement appuyésCela pouvait paraître une bonne idée de prendre une petite partie de Far Cry 3 et d'en faire un hommage-pastiche aux films et séries B des années 80, une sorte de défouloir bas du front mais assumé... Seulement voilà, l'humour débilos des développeurs canadiens d'Ubisoft craint sévèrement et se signale davantage par sa stupidité que ses bons mots ou clins d'oeil -lourdement appuyés d'ailleurs.

    Tout dans ce "Blood Dragon" est extrêmement balourd en fait y compris les mécaniques du bon gameplay de FC3 qui se retrouvent dégradées ici bien qu'encore valables, Dieu merci. Pourtant, on a droit à une bonne VF, une vraie VF contrairement à la VQ du jeu principal mais tellement beauf que ça fait peine à entendre.

    Mais en vérité, ce n'est certainement pas le plus gros problème de cet avatar Far Cry -en dehors de son mauvais goût omniprésent bien sûr. Son plus gros problème, son putain d'énorme problème, c'est ce parti pris graphique -je n'oserais pas dire artistique, car ça n'a rien d'artistique-, à savoir ces graphismes qui font mal aux yeux : couleurs criardes, ciel tramé, effets fluos, halos agressifs et nuit perpétuelle.

    ça file une putain de migraine en moins de temps qu'il ne faut pour le dire ! il n'était pas nécessaire de transformer cette petite partie de FC3 en drag-queen à guirlandes clignotantes épileptogènes pour faire "style années 80" : c'est complètement ridicule et ça rend le jeu très pénible à jouer. La musique Bontempi est presque aussi pénible à cet égard mais je suppose que c'était intentionnel...

    Dommage, car Blood truc tourne sensiblement mieux sur la 360 que FC3. Toujours est-il que ce mauvais délire est fortement déconseillé à moins d'être déjà défoncé à je ne sais quels produits stupéfiants : vous ne verrez en effet plus la différence...
    Expand
  2. Jul 18, 2017
    6
    Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon is a game that let me down. I loved Far Cry 3 and 4, so when this game was available via Games With Gold, I was pumped. What I got, however, was a game that was trying too hard to be funny. The graphics have an interesting shade to them, but they also make it very difficult to see where to go. The shooting is still great, though, thankfully.
  3. Apr 21, 2017
    8
    Although I prefer bloody headshots to alien blood or cyborg goo, I still enjoyed every bullet. This game has a ton of stuff to do and cool upgrades that help in a monumental way sometimes (silencers). The 'dragons' are kinda ehhh in my opinion since they don't really do much unless required in the story or missions. I'm amazed I enjoyed this so much since I was never a huge fan of theAlthough I prefer bloody headshots to alien blood or cyborg goo, I still enjoyed every bullet. This game has a ton of stuff to do and cool upgrades that help in a monumental way sometimes (silencers). The 'dragons' are kinda ehhh in my opinion since they don't really do much unless required in the story or missions. I'm amazed I enjoyed this so much since I was never a huge fan of the other Far Cry games, but this one I found pretty fun for a knock-off type of game. Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2016
    9
    Going back to the future with neon, and guns.

    Presentation: 10/10 You are Rex Power Colt, cyber commando and veteran of Vietnam War II. You are the ultimate badass and it's your job to liberate an island from the control of rogue soldier Colonel Sloan before he carries out his plan for world domination. If that sounds like something you would read on the back of a cheesy 80's action
    Going back to the future with neon, and guns.

    Presentation: 10/10 You are Rex Power Colt, cyber commando and veteran of Vietnam War II. You are the ultimate badass and it's your job to liberate an island from the control of rogue soldier Colonel Sloan before he carries out his plan for world domination. If that sounds like something you would read on the back of a cheesy 80's action movie VHS sleeve that's because Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon is exactly that. An R-rated, interactive 80's action movie. An excellent adventure with countless nods to all things 80's action that shouldn't be missed by anyone with a soft spot for that particular by-gone era of action entertainment.

    Gameplay: 9/10 The controls are standard. If you have played Far Cry 3 or any modern shooters you should feel right at home. The bulk of the game is free-roaming a huge island, liberating garrisons, releasing hostages, and hunting animals while slowly gaining skills and weapon upgrades that make you more powerful. By the end of the game you are the "ultimate badass" and nearly invincible as long as you aren't too wreckless. This may break the game for some but being the so over powered in a sandbox is something lacking in today's world that strives for the hyper-realistic experience. A few old-school cheat codes would have been welcome.

    Graphics: 8/10 Blood Dragon is a solid game. Despite constant flashes of neon, lasers, and explosions, all going on at once I never experienced a dip in frame-rate. Speaking of neon, the game is filled with it and it brings a unique, electric feel to the game. It's constantly night due to the fact that "the apocalypse has had an apocalypse" so the world of Blood Dragon has a constant dust cloud to keep the sun out. This is all for the better though. It allows for some of the coolest fire fights I've ever seen in a video game. When the action heats up with lasers and explosions contrasting the dark red sky makes for a sight unique to Blood Dragon and one not to miss.

    Sound: 10/10 From Rocky, to Rambo, to Blade Runner, to Terminator all these classics are represented in the soundtrack and they only add to the feeling that you are participating in the plot an 80's action movie. The soudtrack is awesome! The voice acting is great too. The quality is what you would expect but the script is what stands out. Rex Power Colt could easily be the new king of one-liners. I know he's at least giving Duke Nukem a run for his money. I dare you not to at least smile, if not laugh out loud multiple times during the story. It's cheesy good humor.

    Value: 6/10 If you are a fan of the 80's action scene then you won't feel the $15 price tag. It's a fair price for the quality of the game your getting. If you aren't a fan, then pass for now. I think everyone should experience this game but all but die hard fans of the subject material should wait for a price drop. It's a short experience, but open-ended, you can't miss any achievements and to 100% the entire game can take just under 6 hours if you rush it. I urge you not to though. This is a game I suggest either crawling through to soak in all the 80's nostalgia it has to offer or replaying a few times to replay the games best parts. With this much service to fun-loving fans of all things 80's this game is about as good as it gets. By the time you hit 100% you'll have seen all Blood Dragon has to offer. A multiplayer or co-op option would have been nice, but maybe just a longer story and more things to do or unlock would have sufficed.

    For some, the best way to describe this game would be to say it's Far Cry 3, scaled down, reskinned, then turned up to 11. Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon is a simple, stupid, shallow good time. It's not out to impress anyone with technical prowess, deep story, or innovative gameplay. All of these things come naturally enough for Blood Dragon. In an industry that has been spoiled with oscar worthy stories destined to sit on the same shelf as bargain bin shovelware, all for the same $60 asking price, Blood Dragon is one of the most pleasant surprises in a long time. Ubisoft has proved all that is old and boring can be new and exciting again. Here's to hoping development on Blood Dragon 2: Back for Blood gets underway in the near future.

    I give it an 9/10.
    Expand
  5. Feb 14, 2016
    8
    Far Cry 3 Blood Dragon is an absolute laugh to play through, the story is bonkers, characters crack hilarious one-liners, set in a crazy sci-fi universe during a nuclear war. The gameplay has been tweaked from Far Cry 3, you sprint faster, have overpowered and ridiculous weapons. And cutscenes are cartoon style, rather than animated. This game is not DLC, but a separate standalone game.Far Cry 3 Blood Dragon is an absolute laugh to play through, the story is bonkers, characters crack hilarious one-liners, set in a crazy sci-fi universe during a nuclear war. The gameplay has been tweaked from Far Cry 3, you sprint faster, have overpowered and ridiculous weapons. And cutscenes are cartoon style, rather than animated. This game is not DLC, but a separate standalone game. Buy Blood Dragon if you loved Far Cry 3. Expand
  6. Nov 13, 2015
    9
    Far cry 3 blood dragon is a very good work with new ideas and creativity OMFG is **** awesome dragons throwing lasers .
    In my opinion is a masterpiece of the video games industry
  7. May 23, 2015
    8
    "Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon" is an homage/parody of 80's Hollywood sci-fi flicks. Everything from "The Terminator" to "Robocop" are referenced throughout in a tongue-in-cheek way. There are even jabs at non sci-fi movies from the era such as Stallone's "Cobra". The synthesizer soundtrack, VHS-style "tracking" bar and the title's font all combine to make a direct throwback to the "Decade of"Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon" is an homage/parody of 80's Hollywood sci-fi flicks. Everything from "The Terminator" to "Robocop" are referenced throughout in a tongue-in-cheek way. There are even jabs at non sci-fi movies from the era such as Stallone's "Cobra". The synthesizer soundtrack, VHS-style "tracking" bar and the title's font all combine to make a direct throwback to the "Decade of Excess". You play as Rex Colt (voiced by Michael "Kyle Reese" Biehn), a cyborg soldier who is recruited to take down his former superior who is now a rogue Colonel that wants to destroy the world. The game plays just like "Far Cry 3" but with a short campaign, only three different side-missions and only one vehicle to mount. Oh, and the blood dragons, which can be avoided or used as allies. You can hunt animals, rescue captured scientists, take down outposts or find three types of collectibles (VHS tapes, TV's and Letters). However, there are is no skill tree in "Blood Dragon". You earn experience points as you progress in the game which automatically levels you up. This stand alone DLC is about $5 too much (it costs 15 dollars), but it is a lot of fun, especially if you're a child of the 80's. So if you like "Far Cry 3" and 80's Hollywood action flicks as well as their cheap knock offs, then "Blood Dragon" should belong in your library. Expand
  8. Aug 31, 2014
    8
    Blood Dragon is one of the better pieces of downloadable content on the marketplace. It does not require Far Cry 3 to play, its fun on its own merit, and its an all around good buy. However its not perfect. The story while fun and giving the bombastic energy of cyborgs ripping out artificial hearts out of other cyborgs (literally this happens in the game and its awesome) and the thrillsBlood Dragon is one of the better pieces of downloadable content on the marketplace. It does not require Far Cry 3 to play, its fun on its own merit, and its an all around good buy. However its not perfect. The story while fun and giving the bombastic energy of cyborgs ripping out artificial hearts out of other cyborgs (literally this happens in the game and its awesome) and the thrills that have only been seen in the classic 80's action movies that its mimicking but it is also a copy of those same cliches that we've seen in those movies time and time again. Thankfully the story isn't very long and like Far Cry 3 you are free to roam the map after the campaign is complete to do the side missions and take over enemy outposts. But it also has the same problems that Far Cry 3 had like incomplete multiplayer and a few lags and freezes every now and then. It's worth the ten or fifteen bucks for the purchase. Expand
  9. Jun 29, 2014
    7
    Given the critical success of the excellent Far Cry 3 it would have been easy for Ubisoft to have just released bog standard DLC that just added a few more missions or enemies. Instead they have taken the brave decision to set everything in a cheesy 80's action movie vision of the future (The future being 2007 by the way) and it mostly pays off. From the neon drenched landscape to theGiven the critical success of the excellent Far Cry 3 it would have been easy for Ubisoft to have just released bog standard DLC that just added a few more missions or enemies. Instead they have taken the brave decision to set everything in a cheesy 80's action movie vision of the future (The future being 2007 by the way) and it mostly pays off. From the neon drenched landscape to the obligatory training montage, set to Kevin Chalfant's 'Hold On To The Vision', the commitment to the genre is superb creating one of the funniest gaming experiences I can recall.

    The gameplay itself is, for the most part at least, still pretty similar to Far Cry 3 with players being able to use a mix of stealth (including the takedown moves) and firepower to take control of garrisons and complete sidequests (which I quickly found became repetitive) that include rescuing hostages and hunting certain animal species. The most significant edition to the combat is the Blood Dragon itself. These large creatures are encountered during a number of missions, as well as being found around the island, and react mostly to sound. Like other predators they can be dangerous but they can also be lured towards enemies and quickly turn the tide of a battle in your favour.

    On the negative side the main story is quite short even for a £10 download (although this does thankfully mean there aren't any of the boring missions encountered in Far Cry 3 where you had to follow or protect someone) and the constant darkness of the surrounding landscape doesn't look as impressive as the sun soaked island of the main game. Things like turret missions are also clichéd whether you point it out yourself or not.

    If you're not familiar with dumb 80's action movies you could probably knock a mark or two from the overall score but for anyone over the age of thirty this comes recommended as a good piece of over the top entertainment.
    Expand
  10. Feb 15, 2014
    8
    Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon has almost nothing to do with Far Cry 3 story wise. It is set in a neon future were a rogue General has taken over an island and you must stop him. You play as Rex Power Colt, a cyborg tasks to take down this threat. The story is basic but the writing and characters are hilarious and make fun of action game troughs. The game play is very similar to Far Cry 3, youFar Cry 3: Blood Dragon has almost nothing to do with Far Cry 3 story wise. It is set in a neon future were a rogue General has taken over an island and you must stop him. You play as Rex Power Colt, a cyborg tasks to take down this threat. The story is basic but the writing and characters are hilarious and make fun of action game troughs. The game play is very similar to Far Cry 3, you liberate garrisons and complete missions. The open world is actually quite large and filled with stuff to do. The weapons are unique and varied enough to keep combat interesting. The game's length feels just right for its DLC, downloadable price. Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon is a cool, hilarious, and fun add on to Far Cry 3 and is a prime example of how to do a franchise spin off well. Expand
  11. Dec 12, 2013
    9
    This game is pure, refined 80s awesomeness. I never even played the original Far Cry 3, but picked this game up on Xbox Live for $4. What a value! Hilarious dialogue, awesome game play, dragons with lasers coming out of their eyes. Plus the cheese-tastic cut scenes are just awesome. The main missions don't take very long to complete (and what an awesome finish to the main campaign), butThis game is pure, refined 80s awesomeness. I never even played the original Far Cry 3, but picked this game up on Xbox Live for $4. What a value! Hilarious dialogue, awesome game play, dragons with lasers coming out of their eyes. Plus the cheese-tastic cut scenes are just awesome. The main missions don't take very long to complete (and what an awesome finish to the main campaign), but now I want to go back to the world powered -up and blow up. I would give it a 10, but hell this ain't Red Dead Redemption (lacks depth). Highly recommended. Expand
  12. Dec 10, 2013
    7
    Love the story 2 this game and the amazing 80s references with some of the greatest video game humor of all time, Far Cry 3 Blood Dragon suffers from being WAYYYYY 2 short, I really, really, really started 2 get into the game and having blast, yet before i knew it the game was over and i had a frowny face.

    7/10, also the closing song is absolutely chessey as also really funny, "FRIENDS
    Love the story 2 this game and the amazing 80s references with some of the greatest video game humor of all time, Far Cry 3 Blood Dragon suffers from being WAYYYYY 2 short, I really, really, really started 2 get into the game and having blast, yet before i knew it the game was over and i had a frowny face.

    7/10, also the closing song is absolutely chessey as also really funny, "FRIENDS 2 THE END YEAHHHH"
    Expand
  13. Oct 29, 2013
    8
    This game is great top to bottom. All of the artwork adds a great immersive feeling as it makes you feel part of the cyber universe. With all of the references from various internet trends, which I counted 14, this game is funny, sad and even a little romantic all at the same time.The only thing missing from this game is a longer campaign. Because once you beat the game and capture all ofThis game is great top to bottom. All of the artwork adds a great immersive feeling as it makes you feel part of the cyber universe. With all of the references from various internet trends, which I counted 14, this game is funny, sad and even a little romantic all at the same time.The only thing missing from this game is a longer campaign. Because once you beat the game and capture all of the outposts, there is really nothing to do except kill blood dragons. But this game is definitely worth buying if you are a fan of the Far Cry series. Expand
  14. Oct 3, 2013
    9
    I feel safe saying this game is worth more than its 15$ price. The storyline is surprisingly deep, and the characters are memorable. The 80s cyborg style goes all out, but doesn't go over the top to affect the gameplay. My only complaint is how quickly I was able to beat it, but those hours were enjoyable. I hope Ubisoft works off of this idea, and makes a full-fledged retail game, with co-op.
  15. Sep 20, 2013
    8
    This was unexpected for an expansion pack, if you could call it that. Not only is it an XBLA title, but other than the game engine and mechanics, this shares little in common with the base game. With it's satire of 80s pop culture, crazy enemies and animals, and synth soundtrack (provided by Power Glove), you'd think this is a completely different game. Everything that made the originalThis was unexpected for an expansion pack, if you could call it that. Not only is it an XBLA title, but other than the game engine and mechanics, this shares little in common with the base game. With it's satire of 80s pop culture, crazy enemies and animals, and synth soundtrack (provided by Power Glove), you'd think this is a completely different game. Everything that made the original Far Cry 3 a great game (unlockable weapons and upgrades, exotic wildlife, wide open world, etc.) are present here, mixed with pop culture references, 80s sci-fi flair and cheesy one-liners by Kyle Reese himself, Michael Beihn. Of course, being an XBLA game, it's fairly short and really easy compared to the original game. NO multiplayer either, but given how unspectacular the original's was, that's probably for the best. A pretty fun and funny take on Far Cry 3, and a recommended download. Expand
  16. Aug 4, 2013
    8
    pure dumb fun doesn't take itself seriously and is full of good laughs with the same high quality combat and exploration that far cry 3 offered also the soundtrack is incredible
  17. Jul 21, 2013
    4
    Really should have read the reviews here first. Far Cry 3 was an amazing game. Where this DLC is not a bad shooter and is fairly humorous, why in the world, other than to suck people in, does it have the Far Cry 3 name attached to it?? That normally indicates it's a follow-on from the original....this has NOTHING to do with the original. After reading some of the reviews I get theReally should have read the reviews here first. Far Cry 3 was an amazing game. Where this DLC is not a bad shooter and is fairly humorous, why in the world, other than to suck people in, does it have the Far Cry 3 name attached to it?? That normally indicates it's a follow-on from the original....this has NOTHING to do with the original. After reading some of the reviews I get the impression that some people consider it appropriate as it uses the same engine. If that's what makes something a DLC, why wasn't Far Cry 3 a DLC called Assassin's Creed 4!!! Ridiculous garbage....not the game, which isn't horribel, but the money grab here. Expand
  18. Jul 20, 2013
    9
    This game is a $15 investment to relive the nostalgia we so desperately didn't want to relive. Blood Dragon captures the 80's perfectly and plays just as greatly as Far Cry 3 did. Though it was a bit short and there's not as much replay value after it's done as there was in FC3, it is still a hilarious little standalone expansion everyone should be getting.
  19. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    It might not have loads of serious story arcs and character development the great visual style the really good humour the 80s homages the gameplay the graphics has a great style the animals it is just SO MUCH FUN
  20. Jul 9, 2013
    9
    If you are only playing this for 5 minutes you will love that game. Its funny, full of creative ideas and with a great old retro charm. A unique game for everybody who really enjoys computer games.
  21. Jul 5, 2013
    8
    I recommend you play this before you play the original Far Cry 3 to see if you would like it.But,the game is really funny,good story and is a lot of fun to play!
  22. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    This is probably the best DLC ever produced for a videogame. It could be a game by itself! Amazing how they not only added loads of hours worth of good gameplay, but also created a unique setting with a unique story that makes it so much different than the original FC3. Unbelievable production value.
  23. Jun 27, 2013
    8
    One word description FUN. Goofy plot full of fun 80's nostalgia balances the humor without trying too hard. This title is full of over the top action reminiscent of 80's favs such as Predator, Commando, and Terminator. The graphics are just as great as Far Cry was and they've added gore! Soundtrack consists of awesome synths and even a cut from cult classic flick Miami Connection. If yourOne word description FUN. Goofy plot full of fun 80's nostalgia balances the humor without trying too hard. This title is full of over the top action reminiscent of 80's favs such as Predator, Commando, and Terminator. The graphics are just as great as Far Cry was and they've added gore! Soundtrack consists of awesome synths and even a cut from cult classic flick Miami Connection. If your a fan of cheesy 80's action check this out, if not, you won't get it. Expand
  24. Jun 26, 2013
    0
    Easy, boring, unfunny, and wretchedly ugly (accomplished by making it permanently pitch black out and throwing a hideous dark reddish purple haze over what was once the gorgeous FC3). Everything about this screams cheap cash-in the only new model is the blood dragon, which wouldn't look out of place on the N64, everything else is hastily retextured or not at all, the bargain bin voiceEasy, boring, unfunny, and wretchedly ugly (accomplished by making it permanently pitch black out and throwing a hideous dark reddish purple haze over what was once the gorgeous FC3). Everything about this screams cheap cash-in the only new model is the blood dragon, which wouldn't look out of place on the N64, everything else is hastily retextured or not at all, the bargain bin voice acting attempts (sounds like Michael Biehn just read down a list of a few dozen phrases in a 10 minutes take with no direction). The writing features an ambiguously consensual 'no means yes?' sex scene that might be most catastrophic failure of taste I've ever seen in a game outside of Japan. All of the weird interface from FC3 is still here too, unpatched, and the game will acknowledge that it sucks while mocking you for getting frustrated.

    Even for when this goes under $5, you'll still be giving your money to for a visciously unfun 6 hours.
    Expand
  25. Jun 23, 2013
    8
    It seems as though Mass Effect: Citadel might have started something. For those who didn't take a look at that one, it was a lighthearted, essentially just-for-fun romp full of laughs and moments to remember just for the sheer hilarity. Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon was made apparently for the same reasons. So let's take a look at it. Summarizing the game is relatively easy: take every singleIt seems as though Mass Effect: Citadel might have started something. For those who didn't take a look at that one, it was a lighthearted, essentially just-for-fun romp full of laughs and moments to remember just for the sheer hilarity. Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon was made apparently for the same reasons. So let's take a look at it. Summarizing the game is relatively easy: take every single 1980s action movie between grades A+ and D-, pull all of the one-liners, dialogue tropes, and situation comedy, and blend them together while mixing in the Far Cry 3 engine and design, then retro it back to 80's video game design norms and you get...Blood Dragon. If this sounds critical, it's not meant to: the game is meant to just be plain fun, and it lives up to it. If you were a fan of movies like Robocop, Outland, and a whole slew of movies too bad to remember (mainly because they were bad movies, not in spite of it), then Blood Dragon was made for you: it'll take you on a trip down that memory lane and keep you in stitches every step of the way. The game developers also deserve congratulations because they didn't go too far, and it would've been so easy. While the cinematics harken back to 1980s game animations, the game itself uses the graphics engine and mechanics of Far Cry 3, so all of that polished smoothness doesn't go to waste. It's not perfect, though. First, the game's color palette gets tiring fast; everything is in a red overcast, just like innumerable 80's postapocalyptic films, but for a game designed to last several hours, you're likely to end up with retina fatigue. The other hitch for Blood Dragon is uneven pacing and difficulty. The difficulty pendulum swings rapidly and often without warning, which can saddle players with a situation harder than expected. But given the superhero mechanics at work in the game, this is usually only a temporary setback. Overall, Blood Dragon is everything you remember and love about 80s sci-fi action films: over the top everything, a wisecracking hero, implausible technologies, way too much neon, and plots that don't get a lot of explanation...but don't really need it anyway. A well-enjoyed 8 to Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon, a trip down memory lane...with lasers...and dinosaurs. Expand
  26. Jun 23, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon is a very over the top game. It has absolutely nothing to do with Far Cry 3, but it doesn't matter... this game is still great. The weapons are amazing, the story and delivery of dialogue from Rex Power Colt is cheesy, with a 80's "futuristic" style. The game is very short though, it only took about 4 hours to beat... so I would suggest that people wait for it to goFar Cry 3: Blood Dragon is a very over the top game. It has absolutely nothing to do with Far Cry 3, but it doesn't matter... this game is still great. The weapons are amazing, the story and delivery of dialogue from Rex Power Colt is cheesy, with a 80's "futuristic" style. The game is very short though, it only took about 4 hours to beat... so I would suggest that people wait for it to go on sale before they get it if they're looking for something really long. Expand
  27. Jun 21, 2013
    9
    This expansion is first and foremost FUN AS HELL. They clearly weren't going for the hard hitting and deep story line that they went for with the original but who cares. The fact is even though I was to young to play games when they had those types of "just make it fun" attitudes so I loved the fact that they just seemed to think about how a hyper active 10 year old would make a game.This expansion is first and foremost FUN AS HELL. They clearly weren't going for the hard hitting and deep story line that they went for with the original but who cares. The fact is even though I was to young to play games when they had those types of "just make it fun" attitudes so I loved the fact that they just seemed to think about how a hyper active 10 year old would make a game. "LAZORS, CYBORGS, DRAGONS, PEW PEW PEW." Sure the story isn't very long and the island isn't huge but the truth is your not buying a full priced game here so what do you expect.

    Personally my view is this:
    To all who have Far Cry 3 and like it enough buy blood dragon
    To all those who were thinking about buying the full game but didn't want to fork out the full cash, buy blood dragon
    Expand
  28. Jun 19, 2013
    7
    Blood Dragon is an entertaining stand alone game, but can be 100% completed pretty quickly. There's nothing to do after that except go blast Blood Dragons with the Killstar. It is an amazingly hilarious game made that perfectly mimics a post apocalyptic game from the 80's. The gameplay is fun, but after leaving the player completely finished, there does not seem to be enough. I foundBlood Dragon is an entertaining stand alone game, but can be 100% completed pretty quickly. There's nothing to do after that except go blast Blood Dragons with the Killstar. It is an amazingly hilarious game made that perfectly mimics a post apocalyptic game from the 80's. The gameplay is fun, but after leaving the player completely finished, there does not seem to be enough. I found myself wishing for more. It took me only about 5 hours to completely finish everything (all files, all attachments, all garrisons, etc.) and it didn't feel like 15 dollars worth. Enjoy the experience, because it's over pretty quickly. Expand
  29. Jun 11, 2013
    8
    Name two of the greatest things a man can do... 1: Laugh. 2: shooting neon colored dragons in the face with a assortment of weapons. Thankfully, Blood Dragon allows you to do both. A LOT.

    I was in stitches for pretty much all of this game, the references are hilarious. Not to forget that this is essentially just an add on for Farcry 3, so the satisfying combat and free roaming as we
    Name two of the greatest things a man can do... 1: Laugh. 2: shooting neon colored dragons in the face with a assortment of weapons. Thankfully, Blood Dragon allows you to do both. A LOT.

    I was in stitches for pretty much all of this game, the references are hilarious. Not to forget that this is essentially just an add on for Farcry 3, so the satisfying combat and free roaming as we grew to love is still there, but with a massive twist of course. Well worth the money.
    Expand
  30. Jun 11, 2013
    6
    I like over the top madness but for me farcry blood dragon was just to much. Farcry 3 was A great single player game and i had a lot of fun but by the end my interest started to wain. perhaps this was a factor in why I just didn't enjoy blood dragon. It works there's no technical issues i can across but this is just farcry 3 re-skinned with neon lights and cheesy one liners. I'm not evenI like over the top madness but for me farcry blood dragon was just to much. Farcry 3 was A great single player game and i had a lot of fun but by the end my interest started to wain. perhaps this was a factor in why I just didn't enjoy blood dragon. It works there's no technical issues i can across but this is just farcry 3 re-skinned with neon lights and cheesy one liners. I'm not even sure why I didn't enjoy it when i saw the trailers i was like "that looks awesome" but when i finally got round to playing it i just couldn't stand the over the top 80 cliches. And the main character play OMG he did nothing but p**s me off. you will be doing everything that you did in farcry 3 and you will do these things over and over again. Like i said i just don't know what it was about this game that annoyed me so much but i just couldn't get into it so my score is based on my experience of the game from my point of view but from a development point of view it deserves at least a 8. my advice is if you have played farcry 3 and couldn't get enough get this game same if you never played farcry 3. But if you felt a little bored toward the end of farcry don't bother with this one it will leave you with a sour taste in your mouth. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. games(TM)
    Jun 28, 2013
    80
    It's a meaty, gratifying dose of excess that refuses to pander to subtlety. [Issue#136, p.108]
  2. Games Master UK
    May 30, 2013
    81
    As if Far Cry 3 was developed by Ocean Software and starred The Terminator. [July 2013, p.76]
  3. X-ONE Magazine UK
    May 22, 2013
    90
    Wholly entertaining, Blood Dragon chucks everything we didn't like about Far Cry 3 in the bin and cranks everything else we did like up to 11. Then adds lasers. Solid. [Issue #98, p.72]