User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 282 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 282

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 29, 2014
    7
    Given the critical success of the excellent Far Cry 3 it would have been easy for Ubisoft to have just released bog standard DLC that just added a few more missions or enemies. Instead they have taken the brave decision to set everything in a cheesy 80's action movie vision of the future (The future being 2007 by the way) and it mostly pays off. From the neon drenched landscape to the obligatory training montage, set to Kevin Chalfant's 'Hold On To The Vision', the commitment to the genre is superb creating one of the funniest gaming experiences I can recall.

    The gameplay itself is, for the most part at least, still pretty similar to Far Cry 3 with players being able to use a mix of stealth (including the takedown moves) and firepower to take control of garrisons and complete sidequests (which I quickly found became repetitive) that include rescuing hostages and hunting certain animal species. The most significant edition to the combat is the Blood Dragon itself. These large creatures are encountered during a number of missions, as well as being found around the island, and react mostly to sound. Like other predators they can be dangerous but they can also be lured towards enemies and quickly turn the tide of a battle in your favour.

    On the negative side the main story is quite short even for a £10 download (although this does thankfully mean there aren't any of the boring missions encountered in Far Cry 3 where you had to follow or protect someone) and the constant darkness of the surrounding landscape doesn't look as impressive as the sun soaked island of the main game. Things like turret missions are also clichéd whether you point it out yourself or not.

    If you're not familiar with dumb 80's action movies you could probably knock a mark or two from the overall score but for anyone over the age of thirty this comes recommended as a good piece of over the top entertainment.
    Expand
  2. May 8, 2013
    8
    Far Cry 3 Blood Dragon is an amazing standalone expansion pack to the amazing FC3. The story follows Rex Power Colt, a cyber-commando in a 80's action movie style 2007 where the world has been torn apart by nuclear war and the world is filled with neon and lasers.
    Though the story isn't that good it is a classic 80's action film plotline and one that is highly enjoyable for high octane
    thrills and crude humour.
    The game plays mostly like FC3 too, just a little stripped down making the game feel a lot smaller than it actually is.
    With a campaign of about 3 hours and about 6 hours for the 100% Far Cry 3 Blood Dragon is worth that £10, I highly anticipate a sequel, just perhaps a bit longer and more fleshed out.
    Expand
  3. Dec 10, 2013
    7
    Love the story 2 this game and the amazing 80s references with some of the greatest video game humor of all time, Far Cry 3 Blood Dragon suffers from being WAYYYYY 2 short, I really, really, really started 2 get into the game and having blast, yet before i knew it the game was over and i had a frowny face.

    7/10, also the closing song is absolutely chessey as also really funny, "FRIENDS
    2 THE END YEAHHHH" Expand
  4. Jun 11, 2013
    8
    Name two of the greatest things a man can do... 1: Laugh. 2: shooting neon colored dragons in the face with a assortment of weapons. Thankfully, Blood Dragon allows you to do both. A LOT.

    I was in stitches for pretty much all of this game, the references are hilarious. Not to forget that this is essentially just an add on for Farcry 3, so the satisfying combat and free roaming as we
    grew to love is still there, but with a massive twist of course. Well worth the money. Expand
  5. Jun 23, 2013
    8
    It seems as though Mass Effect: Citadel might have started something. For those who didn't take a look at that one, it was a lighthearted, essentially just-for-fun romp full of laughs and moments to remember just for the sheer hilarity. Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon was made apparently for the same reasons. So let's take a look at it. Summarizing the game is relatively easy: take every single 1980s action movie between grades A+ and D-, pull all of the one-liners, dialogue tropes, and situation comedy, and blend them together while mixing in the Far Cry 3 engine and design, then retro it back to 80's video game design norms and you get...Blood Dragon. If this sounds critical, it's not meant to: the game is meant to just be plain fun, and it lives up to it. If you were a fan of movies like Robocop, Outland, and a whole slew of movies too bad to remember (mainly because they were bad movies, not in spite of it), then Blood Dragon was made for you: it'll take you on a trip down that memory lane and keep you in stitches every step of the way. The game developers also deserve congratulations because they didn't go too far, and it would've been so easy. While the cinematics harken back to 1980s game animations, the game itself uses the graphics engine and mechanics of Far Cry 3, so all of that polished smoothness doesn't go to waste. It's not perfect, though. First, the game's color palette gets tiring fast; everything is in a red overcast, just like innumerable 80's postapocalyptic films, but for a game designed to last several hours, you're likely to end up with retina fatigue. The other hitch for Blood Dragon is uneven pacing and difficulty. The difficulty pendulum swings rapidly and often without warning, which can saddle players with a situation harder than expected. But given the superhero mechanics at work in the game, this is usually only a temporary setback. Overall, Blood Dragon is everything you remember and love about 80s sci-fi action films: over the top everything, a wisecracking hero, implausible technologies, way too much neon, and plots that don't get a lot of explanation...but don't really need it anyway. A well-enjoyed 8 to Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon, a trip down memory lane...with lasers...and dinosaurs. Expand
  6. May 6, 2013
    7
    Great XBLA title. One of the finest. Although, not on par with Far Cry 3.

    Great atmosphere and lots of goodies for the guys grown up with Terminator, Robocop, Rocky and other 80's films. The dialogues and the whole concept is pretty fun, as are the missions. This is one of the most creative gaming efforts as far as story concept is concerned.

    On the downside, the technical aspect of
    this title isn't on par with Far Cry 3, as the neon pink/green lights are quite monotonous throughout the game. The 8-bit cut-scenes feel like "the size of the game is limited so... there you go" and while some of them (training montage, sex scene) are quite fun, most of them are boring.

    The whole game feels like Far Cry 3 with a new skin. Totally new skin. But it plays exactly like Far Cry 3. You free the garrisons, you go hunting with a specific weapon and you stealth kill groups of enemies. So if you are into Far Cry 3, you'll probably enjoy having some of that. The garrisons are more heavily populated (about ten enemies as opposed to five in FC3) and the new weapons feel fresh.

    The best part of this game are the 80's details... Many of them and the action packed main missions. It's more of FC3... with a twist. An unexpected one.
    Expand
  7. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    It might not have loads of serious story arcs and character development the great visual style the really good humour the 80s homages the gameplay the graphics has a great style the animals it is just SO MUCH FUN
  8. May 2, 2013
    10
    this game is a straight up love letter to the 80s. Even though I was born in the early 90s i really really enjoyed everything this game had to offer from its 80s style low res cutscenes to the scanlines and neon lights of the openworld. Even the menus in game are oldschool stylized. Ubisoft did an incredible job on this game. You play as Rex power colt a badass mark IV commando who is tasked with saving the world, getting the girl, and firing off one liners like a chaingun. it is a total overhaul of the far cry 3 engine which feels the same as far cry 3 but different at the same time. the awesome healing animations, looting, openworld, animals to hunt, etc are all still here but they are totally different and very much well fit the feel of the game. oh its also funny too. i dont say this much about games but i was laughing pretty much all the while i was playing it. the cheesy oneliners colt says are hilarious even today. my favorite is the tutorial, which i wont spoil, but rex gets pretty pissed like most do during the tutorials. its pretty funny. most people didnt want this dlc/standalone. most people wanted a dlc of vaas, but im glad ubisoft made this. they put alot of heart into this and it shows, This game is a rare gem that we dont see much of these days and at its low price of $15 dollars with all this content is an absolute steal. And that dudes and dudettes is pretty cool. Expand
  9. May 1, 2013
    9
    Phenomenal, just about the most 80s you could ever get. The aesthetics of Far Cry 3 are intact, but the guns, and how you play around in your environment are what make the game special. This game will make you laugh, 80s references galore, and you play as Rex Power Colt, who has a flair for stringing together obscenities and making the best/worst one liners ever. If you enjoyed Far Cry, that justifies buying blood dragon, if you enjoy an 80s feel that serves as an excellent parody, and sudo-tribute, you're gonna have a great time too. Don't expect an elaborate story, and while there are a good few missions even after you complete the main story, there isn't a whole lot of depth here. But for the sum of it's parts Far Cry 3 Blood Dragon is enjoyable from beginning to end, and will keep you grinning with it's pop culture, and it's abundant over the top awesomeness. Expand
  10. Jul 5, 2013
    8
    I recommend you play this before you play the original Far Cry 3 to see if you would like it.But,the game is really funny,good story and is a lot of fun to play!
  11. May 3, 2013
    10
    Absolute perfect 10 game. Had me rolling laughing and enjoying every bit of it. I think growing up in the age to truly understand the references throughout the senses i appreciate the humor, but also always wanting to interact with a Snake Pliskin type character really immersed me thoroughly in the world. Also the value in such a cheap price point really solidified a 10 score. Keep up the good work. Expand
  12. Feb 15, 2014
    8
    Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon has almost nothing to do with Far Cry 3 story wise. It is set in a neon future were a rogue General has taken over an island and you must stop him. You play as Rex Power Colt, a cyborg tasks to take down this threat. The story is basic but the writing and characters are hilarious and make fun of action game troughs. The game play is very similar to Far Cry 3, you liberate garrisons and complete missions. The open world is actually quite large and filled with stuff to do. The weapons are unique and varied enough to keep combat interesting. The game's length feels just right for its DLC, downloadable price. Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon is a cool, hilarious, and fun add on to Far Cry 3 and is a prime example of how to do a franchise spin off well. Expand
  13. May 1, 2013
    10
    somethin that not too many folks will talk about is the music. the music really did it for me. i was laughing or grinning through the entire game because the music turned the game from a sort of funny 80s knockoff to a 100% funny 80s knockoff. you have to play it to understand.
  14. Aug 4, 2013
    8
    pure dumb fun doesn't take itself seriously and is full of good laughs with the same high quality combat and exploration that far cry 3 offered also the soundtrack is incredible
  15. Sep 20, 2013
    8
    This was unexpected for an expansion pack, if you could call it that. Not only is it an XBLA title, but other than the game engine and mechanics, this shares little in common with the base game. With it's satire of 80s pop culture, crazy enemies and animals, and synth soundtrack (provided by Power Glove), you'd think this is a completely different game. Everything that made the original Far Cry 3 a great game (unlockable weapons and upgrades, exotic wildlife, wide open world, etc.) are present here, mixed with pop culture references, 80s sci-fi flair and cheesy one-liners by Kyle Reese himself, Michael Beihn. Of course, being an XBLA game, it's fairly short and really easy compared to the original game. NO multiplayer either, but given how unspectacular the original's was, that's probably for the best. A pretty fun and funny take on Far Cry 3, and a recommended download. Expand
  16. May 28, 2013
    10
    I can't give this game less than 10/10. I had SO MUCH FUN, literally laughing all the time. It's the perfect trip back to the 80's. Over the top action and pure fun. The gameplay is solid and I find no reason to compare it to Far Cry 3, this game stands on its on merits. No overly complex plot and the cutscenes are hilarious and beautiful in 16-bit glory. The music is SO AWESOME and I can't stop talking about this game. A little short, around 8 hours to complete everything including achievements but that's allright for $15. I had more fun with this than most $60 titles. Best game since Skyrim. Expand
  17. May 7, 2013
    8
    If you purchased Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon you are probably in 1 of 2 schools of thought: I love Far Cry 3 so this will be sweet (which it is) or I love 80's action movies/humor (which this has). This add-on (if you would even call it that) to the Far Cry 3 game is one of the best of this generation of games, in short this is what Duke Nukem Forever should have been.
  18. Aug 31, 2014
    8
    Blood Dragon is one of the better pieces of downloadable content on the marketplace. It does not require Far Cry 3 to play, its fun on its own merit, and its an all around good buy. However its not perfect. The story while fun and giving the bombastic energy of cyborgs ripping out artificial hearts out of other cyborgs (literally this happens in the game and its awesome) and the thrills that have only been seen in the classic 80's action movies that its mimicking but it is also a copy of those same cliches that we've seen in those movies time and time again. Thankfully the story isn't very long and like Far Cry 3 you are free to roam the map after the campaign is complete to do the side missions and take over enemy outposts. But it also has the same problems that Far Cry 3 had like incomplete multiplayer and a few lags and freezes every now and then. It's worth the ten or fifteen bucks for the purchase. Expand
  19. May 8, 2013
    10
    A $15 open world 80s cyber action game starring Michael Biehn! What's not to love here? Blood Dragon is not just good for a DLC but a fantastic, fully realized game in its own right and one of the most entertaining first person shooters of this generation. I've been rocking Blood Dragon every day since it came out and have to stop for a second and appreciate it when a DLC does something this mind boggling unique rather than the usual cash grab offerings of new maps or a few more hours of the same levels in an epilogue or prequel. The last time a DLC title this ambitious was attempted happened was Undead Nightmare and with the (hopeful) success of this rad new beast I hope these kinds of re-purposed games become more common. Making an entirely new game from ashes of an enjoyable older game is a great way to test out new ideas. It breeds innovation and, in this case, DRAGONS! Expand
  20. Jun 19, 2013
    7
    Blood Dragon is an entertaining stand alone game, but can be 100% completed pretty quickly. There's nothing to do after that except go blast Blood Dragons with the Killstar. It is an amazingly hilarious game made that perfectly mimics a post apocalyptic game from the 80's. The gameplay is fun, but after leaving the player completely finished, there does not seem to be enough. I found myself wishing for more. It took me only about 5 hours to completely finish everything (all files, all attachments, all garrisons, etc.) and it didn't feel like 15 dollars worth. Enjoy the experience, because it's over pretty quickly. Expand
  21. May 23, 2013
    9
    this game is epic. blood dragons weapons humor 8 bit cut scenes list could go forever this game is da bomb its little short but hay its stll better than re6
  22. Jun 23, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon is a very over the top game. It has absolutely nothing to do with Far Cry 3, but it doesn't matter... this game is still great. The weapons are amazing, the story and delivery of dialogue from Rex Power Colt is cheesy, with a 80's "futuristic" style. The game is very short though, it only took about 4 hours to beat... so I would suggest that people wait for it to go on sale before they get it if they're looking for something really long. Expand
  23. Jul 20, 2013
    9
    This game is a $15 investment to relive the nostalgia we so desperately didn't want to relive. Blood Dragon captures the 80's perfectly and plays just as greatly as Far Cry 3 did. Though it was a bit short and there's not as much replay value after it's done as there was in FC3, it is still a hilarious little standalone expansion everyone should be getting.
  24. May 7, 2013
    10
    Finally someone at Ubisoft gets the Idea. This is more than a fan service cause this could be a legit franchise. I'm sick and tired of the same US vs European/Middle East/Asian military BS or Space Super Soldier who I thought was dead but was miraculously alive pfffff
  25. May 3, 2013
    10
    Brilliant game, worth all 1200 microsoft points. The game is a beautiful look at and 80's arcade game with nowadays graphics (except the nostalgic cut-scenes which are hilarious). I does justice to old 80's arcade games by being over the top and with brilliant and hilarious dialogue. The gameplay is the same as far cry 3 which means it is brilliant and easy to get into if you have played far cry 3 or not. Michael Biehn is great as Rex Colt and there are a lot of references to the 80's in general (I loved the VHS collectibles). 10/10 Expand
  26. May 12, 2013
    5
    Shallow, vapid experience. Far Cry 3 was great but this game becomes boring after the first twenty minutes or so of repetitive gameplay. Great in short bursts only.
  27. May 1, 2013
    10
    I will admit i am a little biased as i grew up on action films from the 80's and 90's but this game is great. If your a fan of the old style action movies this is the game for you. It has everything the hit and miss one liner's, a great soundtrack, explosions, big guns, ridiculous plots, all in all its a great game. The gameplay is great, and while it uses the same engine as farcry 3 the game has a much different feel to it. Got to say this game is pure cheese and man is it worth the fifteen dollars. It takes away the crafting farcry 3 had for the most part and hunting is mostly just for fun now but the game is still great. You start out with some abilities that you wouldn't have in farcry 3 and the leveling system is now linear you gain a certain bonus at a certain level but for me that wasn't a bother. I don't know what made Ubisoft make this game but i am so glad they did! Expand
  28. Jun 27, 2013
    8
    One word description FUN. Goofy plot full of fun 80's nostalgia balances the humor without trying too hard. This title is full of over the top action reminiscent of 80's favs such as Predator, Commando, and Terminator. The graphics are just as great as Far Cry was and they've added gore! Soundtrack consists of awesome synths and even a cut from cult classic flick Miami Connection. If your a fan of cheesy 80's action check this out, if not, you won't get it. Expand
  29. May 1, 2013
    8
    DO NOT BUY THIS GAME IF YOU WERE NOT BORN IN THE 70'S OR 80'S. You might be able to get by if you were born in the early 90's, but this game makes a ton of references to many 80's action movies. And it is glorious. The FarCry 3 engine feels as great as ever. You start off with a ton of upgrades from the original FarCry 3 (like double jumping takedowns,etc), so right off the bat you feel capable. Throw in 4 extremely powerful weapons and the game does an amazing job of making you feel like a futuristic badass cyborg. The game is extremely corny which in turn makes it extremely funny. I know the game isn't suppose to last too long (from what I've heard, it can take around 6 hours), but in all fairness I paid the same price for Journey. And in both cases, I think both these games are absolutely worth it. Besides, why wouldn't you want to kill a laser eye firing dragon? Expand
  30. May 1, 2013
    10
    Well, the game is funny and the gameplay excellent. Best weapons ever and the story line dumb as hell. I see a lot people complaining about the game deepness, duration, etc in front of FC3. Hey guy this is a 15$ title! 1/4 of FC3 price. Just be logic. It definitely worth more than 15$.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Jun 28, 2013
    80
    It's a meaty, gratifying dose of excess that refuses to pander to subtlety. [Issue#136, p.108]
  2. May 30, 2013
    81
    As if Far Cry 3 was developed by Ocean Software and starred The Terminator. [July 2013, p.76]
  3. May 22, 2013
    90
    Wholly entertaining, Blood Dragon chucks everything we didn't like about Far Cry 3 in the bin and cranks everything else we did like up to 11. Then adds lasers. Solid. [Issue #98, p.72]