User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 290 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 290

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    It might not have loads of serious story arcs and character development the great visual style the really good humour the 80s homages the gameplay the graphics has a great style the animals it is just SO MUCH FUN
  2. May 2, 2013
    10
    this game is a straight up love letter to the 80s. Even though I was born in the early 90s i really really enjoyed everything this game had to offer from its 80s style low res cutscenes to the scanlines and neon lights of the openworld. Even the menus in game are oldschool stylized. Ubisoft did an incredible job on this game. You play as Rex power colt a badass mark IV commando who isthis game is a straight up love letter to the 80s. Even though I was born in the early 90s i really really enjoyed everything this game had to offer from its 80s style low res cutscenes to the scanlines and neon lights of the openworld. Even the menus in game are oldschool stylized. Ubisoft did an incredible job on this game. You play as Rex power colt a badass mark IV commando who is tasked with saving the world, getting the girl, and firing off one liners like a chaingun. it is a total overhaul of the far cry 3 engine which feels the same as far cry 3 but different at the same time. the awesome healing animations, looting, openworld, animals to hunt, etc are all still here but they are totally different and very much well fit the feel of the game. oh its also funny too. i dont say this much about games but i was laughing pretty much all the while i was playing it. the cheesy oneliners colt says are hilarious even today. my favorite is the tutorial, which i wont spoil, but rex gets pretty pissed like most do during the tutorials. its pretty funny. most people didnt want this dlc/standalone. most people wanted a dlc of vaas, but im glad ubisoft made this. they put alot of heart into this and it shows, This game is a rare gem that we dont see much of these days and at its low price of $15 dollars with all this content is an absolute steal. And that dudes and dudettes is pretty cool. Expand
  3. May 1, 2013
    9
    Phenomenal, just about the most 80s you could ever get. The aesthetics of Far Cry 3 are intact, but the guns, and how you play around in your environment are what make the game special. This game will make you laugh, 80s references galore, and you play as Rex Power Colt, who has a flair for stringing together obscenities and making the best/worst one liners ever. If you enjoyed Far Cry,Phenomenal, just about the most 80s you could ever get. The aesthetics of Far Cry 3 are intact, but the guns, and how you play around in your environment are what make the game special. This game will make you laugh, 80s references galore, and you play as Rex Power Colt, who has a flair for stringing together obscenities and making the best/worst one liners ever. If you enjoyed Far Cry, that justifies buying blood dragon, if you enjoy an 80s feel that serves as an excellent parody, and sudo-tribute, you're gonna have a great time too. Don't expect an elaborate story, and while there are a good few missions even after you complete the main story, there isn't a whole lot of depth here. But for the sum of it's parts Far Cry 3 Blood Dragon is enjoyable from beginning to end, and will keep you grinning with it's pop culture, and it's abundant over the top awesomeness. Expand
  4. May 3, 2013
    10
    Absolute perfect 10 game. Had me rolling laughing and enjoying every bit of it. I think growing up in the age to truly understand the references throughout the senses i appreciate the humor, but also always wanting to interact with a Snake Pliskin type character really immersed me thoroughly in the world. Also the value in such a cheap price point really solidified a 10 score. Keep up theAbsolute perfect 10 game. Had me rolling laughing and enjoying every bit of it. I think growing up in the age to truly understand the references throughout the senses i appreciate the humor, but also always wanting to interact with a Snake Pliskin type character really immersed me thoroughly in the world. Also the value in such a cheap price point really solidified a 10 score. Keep up the good work. Expand
  5. May 1, 2013
    10
    somethin that not too many folks will talk about is the music. the music really did it for me. i was laughing or grinning through the entire game because the music turned the game from a sort of funny 80s knockoff to a 100% funny 80s knockoff. you have to play it to understand.
  6. May 28, 2013
    10
    I can't give this game less than 10/10. I had SO MUCH FUN, literally laughing all the time. It's the perfect trip back to the 80's. Over the top action and pure fun. The gameplay is solid and I find no reason to compare it to Far Cry 3, this game stands on its on merits. No overly complex plot and the cutscenes are hilarious and beautiful in 16-bit glory. The music is SO AWESOME and II can't give this game less than 10/10. I had SO MUCH FUN, literally laughing all the time. It's the perfect trip back to the 80's. Over the top action and pure fun. The gameplay is solid and I find no reason to compare it to Far Cry 3, this game stands on its on merits. No overly complex plot and the cutscenes are hilarious and beautiful in 16-bit glory. The music is SO AWESOME and I can't stop talking about this game. A little short, around 8 hours to complete everything including achievements but that's allright for $15. I had more fun with this than most $60 titles. Best game since Skyrim. Expand
  7. May 8, 2013
    10
    A $15 open world 80s cyber action game starring Michael Biehn! What's not to love here? Blood Dragon is not just good for a DLC but a fantastic, fully realized game in its own right and one of the most entertaining first person shooters of this generation. I've been rocking Blood Dragon every day since it came out and have to stop for a second and appreciate it when a DLC does somethingA $15 open world 80s cyber action game starring Michael Biehn! What's not to love here? Blood Dragon is not just good for a DLC but a fantastic, fully realized game in its own right and one of the most entertaining first person shooters of this generation. I've been rocking Blood Dragon every day since it came out and have to stop for a second and appreciate it when a DLC does something this mind boggling unique rather than the usual cash grab offerings of new maps or a few more hours of the same levels in an epilogue or prequel. The last time a DLC title this ambitious was attempted happened was Undead Nightmare and with the (hopeful) success of this rad new beast I hope these kinds of re-purposed games become more common. Making an entirely new game from ashes of an enjoyable older game is a great way to test out new ideas. It breeds innovation and, in this case, DRAGONS! Expand
  8. May 23, 2013
    9
    this game is epic. blood dragons weapons humor 8 bit cut scenes list could go forever this game is da bomb its little short but hay its stll better than re6
  9. Jun 23, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon is a very over the top game. It has absolutely nothing to do with Far Cry 3, but it doesn't matter... this game is still great. The weapons are amazing, the story and delivery of dialogue from Rex Power Colt is cheesy, with a 80's "futuristic" style. The game is very short though, it only took about 4 hours to beat... so I would suggest that people wait for it to goFar Cry 3: Blood Dragon is a very over the top game. It has absolutely nothing to do with Far Cry 3, but it doesn't matter... this game is still great. The weapons are amazing, the story and delivery of dialogue from Rex Power Colt is cheesy, with a 80's "futuristic" style. The game is very short though, it only took about 4 hours to beat... so I would suggest that people wait for it to go on sale before they get it if they're looking for something really long. Expand
  10. Jul 20, 2013
    9
    This game is a $15 investment to relive the nostalgia we so desperately didn't want to relive. Blood Dragon captures the 80's perfectly and plays just as greatly as Far Cry 3 did. Though it was a bit short and there's not as much replay value after it's done as there was in FC3, it is still a hilarious little standalone expansion everyone should be getting.
  11. May 7, 2013
    10
    Finally someone at Ubisoft gets the Idea. This is more than a fan service cause this could be a legit franchise. I'm sick and tired of the same US vs European/Middle East/Asian military BS or Space Super Soldier who I thought was dead but was miraculously alive pfffff
  12. May 3, 2013
    10
    Brilliant game, worth all 1200 microsoft points. The game is a beautiful look at and 80's arcade game with nowadays graphics (except the nostalgic cut-scenes which are hilarious). I does justice to old 80's arcade games by being over the top and with brilliant and hilarious dialogue. The gameplay is the same as far cry 3 which means it is brilliant and easy to get into if you have playedBrilliant game, worth all 1200 microsoft points. The game is a beautiful look at and 80's arcade game with nowadays graphics (except the nostalgic cut-scenes which are hilarious). I does justice to old 80's arcade games by being over the top and with brilliant and hilarious dialogue. The gameplay is the same as far cry 3 which means it is brilliant and easy to get into if you have played far cry 3 or not. Michael Biehn is great as Rex Colt and there are a lot of references to the 80's in general (I loved the VHS collectibles). 10/10 Expand
  13. May 1, 2013
    10
    I will admit i am a little biased as i grew up on action films from the 80's and 90's but this game is great. If your a fan of the old style action movies this is the game for you. It has everything the hit and miss one liner's, a great soundtrack, explosions, big guns, ridiculous plots, all in all its a great game. The gameplay is great, and while it uses the same engine as farcry 3 theI will admit i am a little biased as i grew up on action films from the 80's and 90's but this game is great. If your a fan of the old style action movies this is the game for you. It has everything the hit and miss one liner's, a great soundtrack, explosions, big guns, ridiculous plots, all in all its a great game. The gameplay is great, and while it uses the same engine as farcry 3 the game has a much different feel to it. Got to say this game is pure cheese and man is it worth the fifteen dollars. It takes away the crafting farcry 3 had for the most part and hunting is mostly just for fun now but the game is still great. You start out with some abilities that you wouldn't have in farcry 3 and the leveling system is now linear you gain a certain bonus at a certain level but for me that wasn't a bother. I don't know what made Ubisoft make this game but i am so glad they did! Expand
  14. May 1, 2013
    10
    Well, the game is funny and the gameplay excellent. Best weapons ever and the story line dumb as hell. I see a lot people complaining about the game deepness, duration, etc in front of FC3. Hey guy this is a 15$ title! 1/4 of FC3 price. Just be logic. It definitely worth more than 15$.
  15. May 4, 2013
    10
    I'm not sure why this game wasn't a DLC attached to Far Cry 3, but as a person that enjoyed Farcry 3 immensely, this game was a perfect 10 for me. The achievements are all off-line (which is important to me) and it's fun from start to finish. I'm not a cut scene lover, and the option to skip every cut scene is available. The leveling and unlocking system is fun and fast, and the onlyI'm not sure why this game wasn't a DLC attached to Far Cry 3, but as a person that enjoyed Farcry 3 immensely, this game was a perfect 10 for me. The achievements are all off-line (which is important to me) and it's fun from start to finish. I'm not a cut scene lover, and the option to skip every cut scene is available. The leveling and unlocking system is fun and fast, and the only complaint I have is 'not long enough!' but for the money, it's a perfect game. Expand
  16. May 9, 2013
    10
    Everyone should do themselves a favor and buy the game, especially if you have any memory of the 80's and 90's. It was funny, the soundtrack is AMAZING, and the gameplay handles exactly how you think controlling a cyborg would feel. On top of that, if you did play Far Cry 3, then this is a must buy as well, because in a way it expands upon some of the limitations you faced because you wereEveryone should do themselves a favor and buy the game, especially if you have any memory of the 80's and 90's. It was funny, the soundtrack is AMAZING, and the gameplay handles exactly how you think controlling a cyborg would feel. On top of that, if you did play Far Cry 3, then this is a must buy as well, because in a way it expands upon some of the limitations you faced because you were human. You run faster, swim faster, take no fall damage....Pretty much feels like a vacation after playing Far Cry 3 (I loved that game as well BTW). It all just flows together really well. Expand
  17. May 3, 2013
    10
    This game is fun and entertaining, it takes me back to the 80's cyberpunk era and make me wanna kill cyborgs and shoot with laser guns, this is a must have for anyone who like cyberpunk things!
  18. May 1, 2013
    9
    First off, official Xbox uk magazine!!! These redcoat ALWAYS lowball kickass games. The EGM review is spot-on...great visuals, hilarious dialogue, über ass-kicking, & just tons of fun to play. Rex Power Colt for President!!!!!! :D
  19. May 4, 2013
    9
    I have never played a game that has so many puns and jokes in it but still matches that with riveting gameplay and a classic 80's Sci-Fi storyline. This game has billions of references to 80's action and Sci-Fi movies. I personally think that FC3 Blood dragon is an infusion of the Far cry 3 engine with Halo graphics and artstyle turned up to 100. In my opinion this game is better than theI have never played a game that has so many puns and jokes in it but still matches that with riveting gameplay and a classic 80's Sci-Fi storyline. This game has billions of references to 80's action and Sci-Fi movies. I personally think that FC3 Blood dragon is an infusion of the Far cry 3 engine with Halo graphics and artstyle turned up to 100. In my opinion this game is better than the original Far Cry 3 simply because it is more unique and exciting. The only problem i have with this game is that it doesn't have any multiplayer or a seperate co-op campaign like Far Cry 3 which is understandable since it is a downloadable game but i think they should make this into a full game with multiplayer and a seperate co-op campaign. Overall a very unique, exciting and well made game. Solid 9/10! Expand
  20. May 5, 2013
    10
    I have just finished this game. Took me about 6 hours to do most of the games stuff- including side missions. This was so fun. Some of the funniest and most entertaining moments I've had in a video video game for quite some time. So glad you don't need FarCry 3 proper, this has nothing to do with FC3 and that's a good thing. This game is to use proper 80's slang. The Voice acting in thisI have just finished this game. Took me about 6 hours to do most of the games stuff- including side missions. This was so fun. Some of the funniest and most entertaining moments I've had in a video video game for quite some time. So glad you don't need FarCry 3 proper, this has nothing to do with FC3 and that's a good thing. This game is to use proper 80's slang. The Voice acting in this game is outstanding- Biehn being awesome. The graphics are outstanding (360 version) and the gunplay is fun and immersive. For 15 bones this is quite the deal. Buy it. Play it. Love it. 10/10 Expand
  21. Oct 3, 2013
    9
    I feel safe saying this game is worth more than its 15$ price. The storyline is surprisingly deep, and the characters are memorable. The 80s cyborg style goes all out, but doesn't go over the top to affect the gameplay. My only complaint is how quickly I was able to beat it, but those hours were enjoyable. I hope Ubisoft works off of this idea, and makes a full-fledged retail game, with co-op.
  22. May 27, 2013
    10
    One of the most just sheer FUN shooters I have played in a long time. Well done to the people behind this game. I would love too see this as a stand alone, EXACTLY the same thing but MORE!

    Well done!
  23. May 11, 2013
    10
    OMG! Best add on ever. I loved every second of this game. Well worth the money and I cant wait for more. If you from old school gaming, you will be in heaven.
  24. May 3, 2013
    9
    great graphics, well done 80s look, a story which is dumb as and very bad jokes. what do you want more? awesome and funny game for low pricing
  25. Dec 12, 2013
    9
    This game is pure, refined 80s awesomeness. I never even played the original Far Cry 3, but picked this game up on Xbox Live for $4. What a value! Hilarious dialogue, awesome game play, dragons with lasers coming out of their eyes. Plus the cheese-tastic cut scenes are just awesome. The main missions don't take very long to complete (and what an awesome finish to the main campaign), butThis game is pure, refined 80s awesomeness. I never even played the original Far Cry 3, but picked this game up on Xbox Live for $4. What a value! Hilarious dialogue, awesome game play, dragons with lasers coming out of their eyes. Plus the cheese-tastic cut scenes are just awesome. The main missions don't take very long to complete (and what an awesome finish to the main campaign), but now I want to go back to the world powered -up and blow up. I would give it a 10, but hell this ain't Red Dead Redemption (lacks depth). Highly recommended. Expand
  26. May 1, 2013
    9
    one of the only games that make you laugh not only with violence but with stupid and brainless quotes
    to. if you know 80s movies etc it wil make you day worth its moneys!!
  27. May 2, 2013
    10
    What can I say about this game. Friends through eternity, loyalty, honesty we'll stay together through think or thin. Were on top because we play to win, make you dreams come true..
  28. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    Far cry 3 blood dragon is a game that dosent take itself to seriously which is what gives it its charm. The game focuses on making laugh and see the many references in the game like the reloading animation for the shotgun it takes it from terminator and the pistol is from robo cop. The games flashy style and gameplay makes it fun to look at it unless you have a tendency to have epilepticFar cry 3 blood dragon is a game that dosent take itself to seriously which is what gives it its charm. The game focuses on making laugh and see the many references in the game like the reloading animation for the shotgun it takes it from terminator and the pistol is from robo cop. The games flashy style and gameplay makes it fun to look at it unless you have a tendency to have epileptic sezuires than this game is great especially for its price. Its way of not giving a amazes me it takes it self as a joke we need for games like this one this game is buy i hope to see more of it in the future. The game gives you a story line and 15 bases to take over and the animals are still in place but with different textures and skin. The game goes down to one thing BUY IT Expand
  29. Jun 21, 2013
    9
    This expansion is first and foremost FUN AS HELL. They clearly weren't going for the hard hitting and deep story line that they went for with the original but who cares. The fact is even though I was to young to play games when they had those types of "just make it fun" attitudes so I loved the fact that they just seemed to think about how a hyper active 10 year old would make a game.This expansion is first and foremost FUN AS HELL. They clearly weren't going for the hard hitting and deep story line that they went for with the original but who cares. The fact is even though I was to young to play games when they had those types of "just make it fun" attitudes so I loved the fact that they just seemed to think about how a hyper active 10 year old would make a game. "LAZORS, CYBORGS, DRAGONS, PEW PEW PEW." Sure the story isn't very long and the island isn't huge but the truth is your not buying a full priced game here so what do you expect.

    Personally my view is this:
    To all who have Far Cry 3 and like it enough buy blood dragon
    To all those who were thinking about buying the full game but didn't want to fork out the full cash, buy blood dragon
    Expand
  30. May 13, 2013
    10
    Great game, seriously, this generation needs more games like this.

    Yeah its a shooter, but the sense of humor gets you every time, and the music THAT.AWESOME.MUSIC
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Jun 28, 2013
    80
    It's a meaty, gratifying dose of excess that refuses to pander to subtlety. [Issue#136, p.108]
  2. May 30, 2013
    81
    As if Far Cry 3 was developed by Ocean Software and starred The Terminator. [July 2013, p.76]
  3. May 22, 2013
    90
    Wholly entertaining, Blood Dragon chucks everything we didn't like about Far Cry 3 in the bin and cranks everything else we did like up to 11. Then adds lasers. Solid. [Issue #98, p.72]