User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 272 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 272

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 1, 2013
    10
    somethin that not too many folks will talk about is the music. the music really did it for me. i was laughing or grinning through the entire game because the music turned the game from a sort of funny 80s knockoff to a 100% funny 80s knockoff. you have to play it to understand.
  2. May 28, 2013
    10
    I can't give this game less than 10/10. I had SO MUCH FUN, literally laughing all the time. It's the perfect trip back to the 80's. Over the top action and pure fun. The gameplay is solid and I find no reason to compare it to Far Cry 3, this game stands on its on merits. No overly complex plot and the cutscenes are hilarious and beautiful in 16-bit glory. The music is SO AWESOME and I can't stop talking about this game. A little short, around 8 hours to complete everything including achievements but that's allright for $15. I had more fun with this than most $60 titles. Best game since Skyrim. Expand
  3. May 9, 2013
    10
    Everyone should do themselves a favor and buy the game, especially if you have any memory of the 80's and 90's. It was funny, the soundtrack is AMAZING, and the gameplay handles exactly how you think controlling a cyborg would feel. On top of that, if you did play Far Cry 3, then this is a must buy as well, because in a way it expands upon some of the limitations you faced because you were human. You run faster, swim faster, take no fall damage....Pretty much feels like a vacation after playing Far Cry 3 (I loved that game as well BTW). It all just flows together really well. Expand
  4. May 27, 2013
    10
    One of the most just sheer FUN shooters I have played in a long time. Well done to the people behind this game. I would love too see this as a stand alone, EXACTLY the same thing but MORE!

    Well done!
  5. May 3, 2013
    10
    This game is fun and entertaining, it takes me back to the 80's cyberpunk era and make me wanna kill cyborgs and shoot with laser guns, this is a must have for anyone who like cyberpunk things!
  6. May 11, 2013
    10
    OMG! Best add on ever. I loved every second of this game. Well worth the money and I cant wait for more. If you from old school gaming, you will be in heaven.
  7. May 8, 2013
    10
    A $15 open world 80s cyber action game starring Michael Biehn! What's not to love here? Blood Dragon is not just good for a DLC but a fantastic, fully realized game in its own right and one of the most entertaining first person shooters of this generation. I've been rocking Blood Dragon every day since it came out and have to stop for a second and appreciate it when a DLC does something this mind boggling unique rather than the usual cash grab offerings of new maps or a few more hours of the same levels in an epilogue or prequel. The last time a DLC title this ambitious was attempted happened was Undead Nightmare and with the (hopeful) success of this rad new beast I hope these kinds of re-purposed games become more common. Making an entirely new game from ashes of an enjoyable older game is a great way to test out new ideas. It breeds innovation and, in this case, DRAGONS! Expand
  8. May 1, 2013
    10
    I will admit i am a little biased as i grew up on action films from the 80's and 90's but this game is great. If your a fan of the old style action movies this is the game for you. It has everything the hit and miss one liner's, a great soundtrack, explosions, big guns, ridiculous plots, all in all its a great game. The gameplay is great, and while it uses the same engine as farcry 3 the game has a much different feel to it. Got to say this game is pure cheese and man is it worth the fifteen dollars. It takes away the crafting farcry 3 had for the most part and hunting is mostly just for fun now but the game is still great. You start out with some abilities that you wouldn't have in farcry 3 and the leveling system is now linear you gain a certain bonus at a certain level but for me that wasn't a bother. I don't know what made Ubisoft make this game but i am so glad they did! Expand
  9. May 7, 2013
    10
    Finally someone at Ubisoft gets the Idea. This is more than a fan service cause this could be a legit franchise. I'm sick and tired of the same US vs European/Middle East/Asian military BS or Space Super Soldier who I thought was dead but was miraculously alive pfffff
  10. May 3, 2013
    10
    Absolute perfect 10 game. Had me rolling laughing and enjoying every bit of it. I think growing up in the age to truly understand the references throughout the senses i appreciate the humor, but also always wanting to interact with a Snake Pliskin type character really immersed me thoroughly in the world. Also the value in such a cheap price point really solidified a 10 score. Keep up the good work. Expand
  11. May 5, 2013
    10
    please do yourself a favor and buy this game. i played part of farcry 2 and hated it. i played part of farcry 3 and loved the gameplay part but couldnt stand the story. this is perfect. the story in farcry 3 tried to be serious but just got cheesy with all the be one with the forest, path of the warrior blah blah. this game dosent take itself seriously and is better for it. cant reccomend enough!
  12. May 3, 2013
    10
    Brilliant game, worth all 1200 microsoft points. The game is a beautiful look at and 80's arcade game with nowadays graphics (except the nostalgic cut-scenes which are hilarious). I does justice to old 80's arcade games by being over the top and with brilliant and hilarious dialogue. The gameplay is the same as far cry 3 which means it is brilliant and easy to get into if you have played far cry 3 or not. Michael Biehn is great as Rex Colt and there are a lot of references to the 80's in general (I loved the VHS collectibles). 10/10 Expand
  13. May 1, 2013
    10
    Lasers, 80s keyboard music, 80s references, 80s one liners, dinosaurs, and Nes style cinematics! Entirely awesome new map complete with multiple garrisons and new campaign to blast through. Worth every penny!
  14. May 1, 2013
    10
    Well, the game is funny and the gameplay excellent. Best weapons ever and the story line dumb as hell. I see a lot people complaining about the game deepness, duration, etc in front of FC3. Hey guy this is a 15$ title! 1/4 of FC3 price. Just be logic. It definitely worth more than 15$.
  15. May 13, 2013
    10
    Great game, seriously, this generation needs more games like this.

    Yeah its a shooter, but the sense of humor gets you every time, and the music THAT.AWESOME.MUSIC
  16. May 2, 2013
    10
    this game is a straight up love letter to the 80s. Even though I was born in the early 90s i really really enjoyed everything this game had to offer from its 80s style low res cutscenes to the scanlines and neon lights of the openworld. Even the menus in game are oldschool stylized. Ubisoft did an incredible job on this game. You play as Rex power colt a badass mark IV commando who is tasked with saving the world, getting the girl, and firing off one liners like a chaingun. it is a total overhaul of the far cry 3 engine which feels the same as far cry 3 but different at the same time. the awesome healing animations, looting, openworld, animals to hunt, etc are all still here but they are totally different and very much well fit the feel of the game. oh its also funny too. i dont say this much about games but i was laughing pretty much all the while i was playing it. the cheesy oneliners colt says are hilarious even today. my favorite is the tutorial, which i wont spoil, but rex gets pretty pissed like most do during the tutorials. its pretty funny. most people didnt want this dlc/standalone. most people wanted a dlc of vaas, but im glad ubisoft made this. they put alot of heart into this and it shows, This game is a rare gem that we dont see much of these days and at its low price of $15 dollars with all this content is an absolute steal. And that dudes and dudettes is pretty cool. Expand
  17. May 4, 2013
    10
    GAME OF THE YEAR even better then the original FAR CRY 3 :D
    and if u saw the ending then i RLY hope its gona be Blood Dragon 2
  18. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    It might not have loads of serious story arcs and character development the great visual style the really good humour the 80s homages the gameplay the graphics has a great style the animals it is just SO MUCH FUN
  19. May 2, 2013
    10
    What can I say about this game. Friends through eternity, loyalty, honesty we'll stay together through think or thin. Were on top because we play to win, make you dreams come true..
  20. May 8, 2013
    10
    This game is a love letter to the action movies of the 80s and while there will be plenty of young people who won't understand or see the humour and references in it, I and my generation will and therefore I will forever be thankful for everyone at Ubisoft Montreal for developing this title and also for Ubisoft to decide to publish it. In this age of game-development issues, studios closing left and right and disney owning lucas it is very refreshing to see someone having the balls (or ovaries) to just go for it.
    We should all praise them for it even if some of us are too young to appreciate such a title.
    Expand
  21. May 2, 2013
    10
    The makers of Far Cry 3 have made an amazing spinoff/parody in this epic 80's scifi action packed thrill ride. Blood Dragon puts you in the shoes of Rex Power Cult voiced by Michael Biehn who played in hit 80's movies such as Aliens, Terminator and Navy Seals. The game is full of color and 80's humor and one liners. This game has to be the best arcade game so far in my opinion. The thing that really cought my attention was the 80's like soundtrack, which btw I loved so much that I picked it up off iTunes. The game is a MUST by for $15 bucks you Cannot I repeat Cannot go wrong. Expand
  22. May 2, 2013
    10
    If you like pop culture,fun, and have $15 then Buy this game.
    Style: 10
    Humor: hit and miss cheese
    Gameplay: 9
    Value: 10
    Smoke a joint and enjoy this throwback to when things were less serious.
  23. May 4, 2013
    10
    This game deserves a 10/10. Not because it is perfect, but because takes the far cry 3 experience and fundamentally changes it to be entertaining. DLC is mostly crap nowadays. Get this straight, this is DLC for Far Cry 3. It is great as DLC and it would make a good standalone 60 dollar title as well.
  24. May 4, 2013
    10
    I'm not sure why this game wasn't a DLC attached to Far Cry 3, but as a person that enjoyed Farcry 3 immensely, this game was a perfect 10 for me. The achievements are all off-line (which is important to me) and it's fun from start to finish. I'm not a cut scene lover, and the option to skip every cut scene is available. The leveling and unlocking system is fun and fast, and the only complaint I have is 'not long enough!' but for the money, it's a perfect game. Expand
  25. May 5, 2013
    10
    I have just finished this game. Took me about 6 hours to do most of the games stuff- including side missions. This was so fun. Some of the funniest and most entertaining moments I've had in a video video game for quite some time. So glad you don't need FarCry 3 proper, this has nothing to do with FC3 and that's a good thing. This game is to use proper 80's slang. The Voice acting in this game is outstanding- Biehn being awesome. The graphics are outstanding (360 version) and the gunplay is fun and immersive. For 15 bones this is quite the deal. Buy it. Play it. Love it. 10/10 Expand
  26. May 5, 2013
    10
    Blood Dragon is a chilling tale based in the aftermath of Canada's demise in Cold War 2. The year is 2007 and you play a hero out to secure freedom for the world using futuristic weaponry and one man's unwavering determination.

    Other games should just postpone launch until 2014, this is the GOTY.
  27. May 18, 2013
    10
    Absolute must play for any fan of the genre! Best $15 iv'e spent on a downloadable title EVER! The gameplay and exploration we know and love from FC3, over the top arsenal, and incredible sound design make this one nostalgic romp too good to miss! BUY THIS GAME!!! (If you havent played FC3 this is a great oppurtunity to see if this is your kind of game)
  28. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    Far cry 3 blood dragon is a game that dosent take itself to seriously which is what gives it its charm. The game focuses on making laugh and see the many references in the game like the reloading animation for the shotgun it takes it from terminator and the pistol is from robo cop. The games flashy style and gameplay makes it fun to look at it unless you have a tendency to have epileptic sezuires than this game is great especially for its price. Its way of not giving a amazes me it takes it self as a joke we need for games like this one this game is buy i hope to see more of it in the future. The game gives you a story line and 15 bases to take over and the animals are still in place but with different textures and skin. The game goes down to one thing BUY IT Expand
  29. Jun 23, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon is a very over the top game. It has absolutely nothing to do with Far Cry 3, but it doesn't matter... this game is still great. The weapons are amazing, the story and delivery of dialogue from Rex Power Colt is cheesy, with a 80's "futuristic" style. The game is very short though, it only took about 4 hours to beat... so I would suggest that people wait for it to go on sale before they get it if they're looking for something really long. Expand
  30. May 1, 2013
    9
    Phenomenal, just about the most 80s you could ever get. The aesthetics of Far Cry 3 are intact, but the guns, and how you play around in your environment are what make the game special. This game will make you laugh, 80s references galore, and you play as Rex Power Colt, who has a flair for stringing together obscenities and making the best/worst one liners ever. If you enjoyed Far Cry, that justifies buying blood dragon, if you enjoy an 80s feel that serves as an excellent parody, and sudo-tribute, you're gonna have a great time too. Don't expect an elaborate story, and while there are a good few missions even after you complete the main story, there isn't a whole lot of depth here. But for the sum of it's parts Far Cry 3 Blood Dragon is enjoyable from beginning to end, and will keep you grinning with it's pop culture, and it's abundant over the top awesomeness. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Jun 28, 2013
    80
    It's a meaty, gratifying dose of excess that refuses to pander to subtlety. [Issue#136, p.108]
  2. May 30, 2013
    81
    As if Far Cry 3 was developed by Ocean Software and starred The Terminator. [July 2013, p.76]
  3. May 22, 2013
    90
    Wholly entertaining, Blood Dragon chucks everything we didn't like about Far Cry 3 in the bin and cranks everything else we did like up to 11. Then adds lasers. Solid. [Issue #98, p.72]