Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. 90
    Far Cry 3's deep open world experience filled with its cast of unforgettably insane characters, entertaining storyline, vibrant visuals and varied gameplay make it one of the best open world games to touch down in 2012.
  2. 90
    By far one of the most impressive games of this console generation.
  3. Dec 5, 2012
    96
    Despite being a fan of the franchise, I am still surprised by just how good Far Cry 3 is. It looks the part, has great varied game play, an interesting story and hours of fun for your hard earned cash. If you are looking for another game to add to the Christmas list you can't go wrong with Far Cry 3. After the wait and worry, Ubisoft have produced an undoubted contender for game of the year.
  4. Nov 21, 2012
    100
    Far Cry 3 is all the best things about open-world gaming. It's a glorious anecdote factory, where you manufacture brilliant new memories every time you wake up in a safehouse and head out into the jungle. It's an astonishing technical achievement, as comfortable revealing incredible landscapes over the brow of a hill as it is when the setting sun winks at you through a canopy, or when the heavens open as you stalk wildlife through the trees and long grass. And it always lets you play, but it also controls the tempo - sometimes a little heavy-handedly, but always with good intentions.
  5. Nov 21, 2012
    90
    A beautiful and engaging game that mixes storytelling and gamesmanship with great success. All of the bad parts of Far Cry 2 has been polished away, without losing the parts that made it so addictive. Sadly the story gets a tad bit to exploitative and the plot's sense of urgency gets lost in an open world setting.
  6. Dec 5, 2012
    100
    Aside from the occasional texture glitch or stray enemy phasing into a rock (a problem easily solved with well-placed explosives), Far Cry 3 is a technically brilliant and expertly balanced gameplay experience that offers an immense amount of content and a high degree of polish. At the time of writing I have put nearly 60 hours into it across two playthroughs, and will probably play it a third time on PC later on. I suggest you do the same.
  7. Nov 21, 2012
    90
    After two remarkable but uneven offerings, Far Cry finally pulls everything together in the third installment. The diverse open-world action, compelling story, and an alluring environment that begs exploration are all high water marks for the series. This is an island adventure all shooter fans should experience.
  8. Dec 18, 2012
    92
    The story doesn't quite live up to the prologue and multiplayer feels tacked on, but otherwise Far Cry 3 is a sensational sandbox shooter that's a far cry better than Far Cry 2 (cue slow clap).
  9. Jan 13, 2013
    98
    What is insanity? Anyone who has yet to experience the thrill that Far Cry 3 has to provide.
  10. Dec 28, 2012
    94
    Far Cry 3 is a very impressive game, one of the best of 2012, and will certainly make the list of most memorable games that I've played on the Xbox 360.
  11. Dec 3, 2012
    89
    Far Cry 3 executes beautifully on its promises, rolling together a massive open world, excellent stealth, smartly designed RPG elements, and tense gunfights into one smooth whole. The multiplayer fails to distinguish itself in any meaningful way, and a slightly smarter A.I. would've been nice, but those are the only things robbing Ubisoft of an uncontested victory.
  12. Dec 1, 2012
    90
    This is an ambitious and finely tuned adventure that gets better and better as you play.
  13. Nov 30, 2012
    100
    Far Cry 3 is not only one of the games of this year, it is one of the games of this generation. There was nothing about it that ever came close to ruining the fun, it is a true sandbox experience and all the faults from the previous games have been ironed out. Simply put, you must buy this now!
  14. Dec 3, 2012
    91
    Drawing from open-world standard-bearers like Red Dead Redemption, Just Cause 2, and Skyrim have allowed Ubisoft to craft an open-world FPS that really follows the classic open-world template, and is easily the best Far Cry-branded game I've ever played.
  15. Dec 4, 2012
    100
    If the story had made good on the strength of its initial premise, Far Cry 3 would have been shoo-in for best game of the year. As it stands, it's still the most fun I've had in an open world in ages, a game that plays so well and looks so good, I wish every other piece of it reached the same high bar. But you should play it anyway.
  16. Nov 26, 2012
    100
    Every so often, a game comes along which is so irresistible that it leaves you wondering whether sequelitis might actually be a good thing. Far Cry 3 being a classic example.
  17. Nov 21, 2012
    90
    The allure of Far Cry has always been the open-ended tactical choices available during each encounter, and the variety of ways you could take down targets. With dynamic variables like aggressive wildlife and roaming pirates, your stealth and aggro options open up more than ever.
  18. Dec 4, 2012
    90
    It has excellent, explicit design layered on top of system-based chaos – which is a fancy way of saying that just about everything in Far Cry 3 feels like a reward.
  19. Nov 29, 2012
    88
    Far Cry 3 is perhaps one of the best first-person sandboxes. Big, diverse, beautiful and fun. Dementia has the same importance as weapons, with many parts of RPG and stealth shooter. Multiplayer modes, great plot and good graphics performance.
  20. Nov 21, 2012
    90
    Easily the best Far Cry game so far, with a near perfect mix of open world exploration, action, impressively ambitious storytelling, and one of gaming's best villains.
  21. Nov 21, 2012
    93
    Far Cry 3 is a highly satisfying and content-rich experience with great characters, superb locations and where freedom and player choice reign supreme. Ubisoft could have done something more on the plot side, but it's undoubtedly a very fascinating and sometimes surprising game.
  22. 90
    Far Cry 3 isn't too much of a departure, once you actually get to grips with the landscape that stretches behind that fidgety, histrionic exterior. It is, however, handily the best game in the series so far, and deserves to hold its head high among this winter's noisy crowd of sandbox offerings. If madness is repetition, this is one reworking of a formula I don't mind losing my mind to.
  23. Dec 12, 2012
    89
    With freedom comes great responsibility. With a lush world for free-roaming and with freedom to execute your objectives Far Cry 3 delivers. The story missions and characters are not of the same standard but are also not a big annoyance. [Dec 2012]
  24. Nov 29, 2012
    100
    While Vaas is one of the best video game baddies in some time, with fabulous dialogue performed with unsettling verve, he is not the star. The island that lies behind him is...Rook Island is a magnificent creation.
  25. Mar 6, 2013
    90
    Almost everything about Far Cry 3 speaks to the game’s skilled, confident and tightly interwoven design, and players are free to seek their specific flavour of gratification and victory as Jason becomes the most dangerous animal on the island.
  26. Nov 21, 2012
    90
    Frenetic, wild, interesting, deep, full of content... the list goes on and on. It's one the best first-person sandbox ever made, and we only hope there's a bright future waiting for this IP.
  27. Nov 21, 2012
    90
    Far Cry 3 shines in its campaign, which is more layered and compelling than any game proffering a power trip through escapist ultraviolence has any right to be.
  28. Nov 21, 2012
    90
    Packed with content, visually stunning and simply fun to play, it's difficult to find fault with Far Cry 3. Once you step into Jason's shoes, the urge to explore takes over, and you'll find yourself wasting hours wandering the island and trying to complete "just one more objective." Don't say we didn't warn you.
  29. Nov 26, 2012
    93
    Brilliant. The last big release of the year, Far Cry 3 may well top them all. Almost unfalteringly entertaining, it's a game that will have you coming back for more long after the credits have rolled, in order to seek out every nook, cranny and secret of the game's tropical island. Chuck in a decent multiplayer suite, a fun co-op mode and staggeringly impressive map editor and you've got a winner. A must buy.
  30. Dec 5, 2012
    95
    Far Cry 3 was a shock all around. After being cold on the second game and only mildly excited about the original, I wasn't expecting groundbreaking. FC3 obliterated my expectations and is easily in my top-tier of 2012 games. I can see myself sinking hours into the campaign, and I am stoked to see what people concoct with the map editor over time. If you like FPS games in general, you owe it to yourself to pick up FC3. The game exceeds all expectations and is quickly becoming one I can't stop thinking about when real life takes me away from Rook Island.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1086 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 277
  1. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    I love the intro to the game. I love the open world, I love the huge selection of weapons, the various techniques used to get throughI love the intro to the game. I love the open world, I love the huge selection of weapons, the various techniques used to get through missions, like opening tiger cages, sneaking around or just balls to the wall Rambo style. I love how everything in the environment explodes in fires when a car explodes, a flame thrower is used or whatever. I love hunting all the animals and using their skin to craft new items like wallets or ammo holsters which enable you to carry more money and ammo. I love the story and all the crazy vehicles you have at your disposal. The graphics aren't top notch, but it still manages to take your breath away and look extraordinary. I highly recommend anyone and everyone to buy this game as it's now became one of my favorite games. I wouldn't be surprised if Far Cry 3 won game of the year cause it sure as hell deserves it. Full Review »
  2. Dec 5, 2012
    9
    A near perfect open world gaming experience. With the expection of minor flaws, all the parts needed to make this a great game are present.A near perfect open world gaming experience. With the expection of minor flaws, all the parts needed to make this a great game are present. Story is usually a component of games that most often leaves me uninspired, and therefore my expectation are kept low. In the case of Far Cry 3, the charater animations, voice performances, and dialogue are quite good making it a pleasure to follow the narrative. The meat and potatoes however is always the core gameplay, and here Ubisoft has delivered nicely. Here you have a huge, dense open world, unique objectives to tackle through a variety of optional means, and an enemy AI that for the most part is adequately adaptive and aggresive. I have found, early on in the game at least, that the standard frontal assault on a well defended position is likely to get you killed. It's usually a better idea to employ a bit of steath assasination to thin the ranks before openly engaging. Driving physics are good but somewhat of a challenge from first person perspective. I personally would have preferred a third person view to allow better situational awareness. Graphical presentation is good, not great. Draw distance is generally terrific but geometry and textures leave something to be desired, on the 360 version at least. It's worth noting that not withstanding the huge world, and large numbers of sophisticated AI, there is virtually no loading in contrast to a game like Skyrim. With that said, this is still a beautiful game visually and does not detract from the gameplay experiance one bit, IMO. Full Review »
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    This game is out right phenomenal. Everything from the graphics, (minor screen tear on Xbox but not too bad) voice acting, gameplay, and forThis game is out right phenomenal. Everything from the graphics, (minor screen tear on Xbox but not too bad) voice acting, gameplay, and for how long it is, its one of the best campaigns I've ever played in a game and that's saying something. 30 hour campaign? Yes please! All this and I didn't even mention the beefy multiplayer mode, coop, and it even has a damn map editor! You can make maps and host games on them as well. All this for just 60$? Hell yeah! Ubisoft has really out done themselves. GOTY in my opinion. I also forgot to mention that Vaas is one of the best villains in gaming! Get this now and support this excellent game! Full Review »