User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1086 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    Masterpiece of gaming that is a joy to play from start till the end. Stunning visuals, brilliant human and animal AI and brilliant engine performance are only a few of the games qualities that makes it deserving of a 10/10.
  2. Dec 17, 2012
    9
    Far Cry 3 is one of the highlights of 2012, an open world FPS with solid shooting mechanics, awesome action set pieces and memorable characters all brought together to make a brilliant game. Story wise, you play Jason Brody a 20 something American adrenaline junky who is on holiday with his friends and brothers, enjoying the clubs, the booze and thrill seeking high life of someone broughtFar Cry 3 is one of the highlights of 2012, an open world FPS with solid shooting mechanics, awesome action set pieces and memorable characters all brought together to make a brilliant game. Story wise, you play Jason Brody a 20 something American adrenaline junky who is on holiday with his friends and brothers, enjoying the clubs, the booze and thrill seeking high life of someone brought up in a wealthy family. As the game starts, Jason and his companions are kidnapped by the brilliantly psychotic Vaas, who intends to hold them to ransom and then sell them as human slaves. Jason manages to escape but his brother Grant is killed in the process, after a hectic escape sequence Jason wakes up in the presence of the Rakyat people, the native inhabitants of Rook Island who are fighting a losing battle against Vaas, the mercenaries he controls and their equally as insane leader Hoyt. Jason must follow the path of the warrior in order to rescue his friends and lead the Rakyat people in the fight against the mercenary invaders. The Single player is brilliant, a lush tropical island with plenty of amazing places and hidden collectibles to find. Along the way you will unlock new weapons, meet larger than life characters and learn new skills symbolized by the TaTau on Jason's arm, which grows more detailed with each new skill learned. I can't fault the single player, the co-op is a nice addition which while it does feel less attention has been made there, is still a very enjoyable experience. The multiplayer is par for the course, its got some unique ideas but mostly feels the same as other FPS games out there. The map editor is diverse and gives you a lot of creative options, one of the reasons the standard maps are so few is the expectation for the community to create the maps they want to play. This is a VAST improvement over the frustrating experience that was Far Cry 2. A definite purchase recommendation. Expand
  3. Dec 17, 2012
    3
    Very upset with UBISOFT. The only reason I purchased this game was to publish maps using the map editor. I wasn't going to get it until I found out that you could place weapons and vehicles on user created maps. Great, I thought. Only problem is you can't publish the map if these exist on your map. What a joke. Why even have that ability to put them on the map if you can't upload it forVery upset with UBISOFT. The only reason I purchased this game was to publish maps using the map editor. I wasn't going to get it until I found out that you could place weapons and vehicles on user created maps. Great, I thought. Only problem is you can't publish the map if these exist on your map. What a joke. Why even have that ability to put them on the map if you can't upload it for playing with friends.

    Gameplay on user created maps do not count towards leveling up or unlocking items anyway, so what's the big deal about not letting us have them?

    UBISOFT ruined Far Cry when they got it from Cryteck. They ruined Ghost Recon. I was going to get Rainbow6, but now I doubt it.
    Expand
  4. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    Obviously, this is definitely a paradigm of FPS sandbox game! Well-design character personality, multiple weapons and quests, richness collectible elements and a good-simulating tropical island style. But there is still some weak point of this game: loading time too long, bored background music (and sometimes it could be cutting off suddenly due to unknown reason) and a bad aim system.Obviously, this is definitely a paradigm of FPS sandbox game! Well-design character personality, multiple weapons and quests, richness collectible elements and a good-simulating tropical island style. But there is still some weak point of this game: loading time too long, bored background music (and sometimes it could be cutting off suddenly due to unknown reason) and a bad aim system. The enemies' AI is fine, but the same AI express a terrible performance in our allies. Overall, I think this game can satisfied most sandbox game fans, but a little disappointed to hardcore FPS gamer. Expand
  5. Dec 16, 2012
    0
    Many people might love Far Cry 3, but I give it a 6 out of 10 because it had many things I don't like in an open world game: there aren't much activities or minigames around, there is poker, knife throwing and racing for what you can do anytime, the rest of the activities (like bounty hunting, "path of the hunter", etc) are finite, once you complete them you can't redo them. I'm not sayingMany people might love Far Cry 3, but I give it a 6 out of 10 because it had many things I don't like in an open world game: there aren't much activities or minigames around, there is poker, knife throwing and racing for what you can do anytime, the rest of the activities (like bounty hunting, "path of the hunter", etc) are finite, once you complete them you can't redo them. I'm not saying they should make a replay option, I'm saying that the AI should be able to generate randomly these activities and create infinite possibilities to them. The story is great, but I think the creators of this game focused too much on it, but alright, it's better to have a good story than a bad story. And although I disliked the main character, the villains are outstanding. Gameplay is great, but it's a shame you can only spend your money in guns or maps. Another thing that let me down was the fact that it's pretty fun killing pirates around and you don't want them to disappear once you take an outpost. Not to mention you need to play the story to unlock most of the recipes and skills (90% of skills and 60% of recipes). Side quests are just bad and for the record, you race against a clock on the racing activity, not against other NPCs. So considering it is an open world game and the side quests and activites to do to enjoy freedom are bad despite the awesome story, I give that rating to this game, it's just a decent game for me. But still, my gaming taste is a bit different, so I think FC3 might be great game for average gamers and fps fans although I give it a 6/10. Expand
  6. Dec 16, 2012
    9
    An outstanding game! All I can say is that this game was thoroughly enjoyable, and was able to keep me addicted and interested throughout. Yes, I can agree it has minor flaws, but the overall game mechanics, feel and story outweigh all of them. Easily one of my GoTY, and I would easily recommend this to any avid gamer who is looking for a game to bash during Christmas, you will not beAn outstanding game! All I can say is that this game was thoroughly enjoyable, and was able to keep me addicted and interested throughout. Yes, I can agree it has minor flaws, but the overall game mechanics, feel and story outweigh all of them. Easily one of my GoTY, and I would easily recommend this to any avid gamer who is looking for a game to bash during Christmas, you will not be disappointed.

    Single player: 9/10
    Multi-player: 6/10
    Expand
  7. Dec 15, 2012
    10
    and here we have it, to be honest, Far Cry 2 was a good game, but not quite my cup of tea, it just didn't seem that interesting, and Far Cry 1 I never played it. But I knew what they were all about.
    So my review goes like this: I'm a huge Assassin's Creed fan, and I've been waiting for AC3 for a while, but when it came out, the game was a huge mess. And Far Cry 3 had been delayed. AC3 had
    and here we have it, to be honest, Far Cry 2 was a good game, but not quite my cup of tea, it just didn't seem that interesting, and Far Cry 1 I never played it. But I knew what they were all about.
    So my review goes like this: I'm a huge Assassin's Creed fan, and I've been waiting for AC3 for a while, but when it came out, the game was a huge mess. And Far Cry 3 had been delayed. AC3 had so many missions, hunting side stuff, challenges, but yet, none gave you anything worth it, the only fun I had was combat and Naval Missions. The game broke my heart.

    But here we have a little bit of what AC3 has, except it MAKES SENSE here, rewarding loot, experience points that actually mean something, hunting is actually needed and fun, the driving is a bit clunky, yes. But overall I'd say this is a GOTY contender, for me
    Expand
  8. Dec 15, 2012
    7
    Summary good game, good plot and ending delivery not so great nut otherwise a great game. Well I expected more towards the end and it didn't deliver. Though do not get me wrong I enjoyed my time I just expected it to be more pyshcological. The alternative endings didn't deliver as well, but I mean hey it was a good game and I had a good ride. I expected to track down the person who set usSummary good game, good plot and ending delivery not so great nut otherwise a great game. Well I expected more towards the end and it didn't deliver. Though do not get me wrong I enjoyed my time I just expected it to be more pyshcological. The alternative endings didn't deliver as well, but I mean hey it was a good game and I had a good ride. I expected to track down the person who set us up or sent us to the island in the first place. But this didn't occur. Good selections of weapons and good progression there was a point though where I asked myself why wasn't I playing on the hardest difficulty. Expand
  9. Dec 14, 2012
    9
    The game is so fun, it could be the game of the year for me. But it isn't, for a one clearly understandable mistake. Matchmaking. The matchmaking is so fudged up, you barely can join a game and have fun, and if you manage to join, there's a 30% chance of getting the message "Migration of Host in progress" and then you mostly lose connection to host. But let's go back to singleplayer. YouThe game is so fun, it could be the game of the year for me. But it isn't, for a one clearly understandable mistake. Matchmaking. The matchmaking is so fudged up, you barely can join a game and have fun, and if you manage to join, there's a 30% chance of getting the message "Migration of Host in progress" and then you mostly lose connection to host. But let's go back to singleplayer. You start off as a teenager when you get captured and you need to save your friends. The story isn't the greatest, but the gameplay covers any possible aspect of the game and you feel like you just have to play on and on and on. I recommend this to anyone who likes sandbox games, first-person shooters or even adventure games. Not complaining about the graphics, which are nice, but it looks a bit cartoonish in it's own way. Expand
  10. Dec 14, 2012
    8
    My thoughts are mixed about this game. I bought it the day it came out but when I started playing it i was not sure what to think. The graphics are really stunning. Farcry3 uses the same as battlefield 3 what makes the game feel very real. But frame rate can be very slow sometimes and some glitches can occur. If you like playing games that feel like a real world this is the game for you.My thoughts are mixed about this game. I bought it the day it came out but when I started playing it i was not sure what to think. The graphics are really stunning. Farcry3 uses the same as battlefield 3 what makes the game feel very real. But frame rate can be very slow sometimes and some glitches can occur. If you like playing games that feel like a real world this is the game for you. But if you rely more on multiplayer action then consider buying black ops 2. Expand
  11. M86
    Dec 14, 2012
    9
    Absolutely awsome game, whopping 9/10 and well earned for me, still playing campaign, easily the best game this year, at both ends of extreme from extremely hostile to peacfull tropical landscapes I love how on some occasions the tiger sits with me while scouting outposts I called him Roo, I stay down out his way and never shoot at him on two separate times he helped, taking down vaasAbsolutely awsome game, whopping 9/10 and well earned for me, still playing campaign, easily the best game this year, at both ends of extreme from extremely hostile to peacfull tropical landscapes I love how on some occasions the tiger sits with me while scouting outposts I called him Roo, I stay down out his way and never shoot at him on two separate times he helped, taking down vaas fighters he saved my life and I saved his, I never expected that to happen. Totally wikid Expand
  12. Dec 14, 2012
    6
    WARNING, CRITICISM! If you like this game, do not read. FC2 was adult, realistic, promising. FC3 childish, simplistic. Game has very good stealth system for nonspecialized genre. And bow. Promising features from FC2 (no HUD, no teleporting, gun entropy, realistic look, ingame map, gun cases...) are gone. FC3 - now you can buy every weapon in every savehouse (WTF?), you have no legsWARNING, CRITICISM! If you like this game, do not read. FC2 was adult, realistic, promising. FC3 childish, simplistic. Game has very good stealth system for nonspecialized genre. And bow. Promising features from FC2 (no HUD, no teleporting, gun entropy, realistic look, ingame map, gun cases...) are gone. FC3 - now you can buy every weapon in every savehouse (WTF?), you have no legs (hoverhead), you can teleport, HUD, menu and map are UGLY and for nothing, minimap (oh Lord, I hate minimaps) is almost in centre of screen, your enemies are red, friends are blue (!)... How I can see in FPS through walls without shades or helmet? Fauna is TOO agressive, my enhanced health do not work without medicine, collectibles are shining, you can not holster... If you can evaluate FC2 (I know reception of FC2), game is like parody. I think this is excellent game for average audience. Like Skyrim. This industry listen to average, because average = max money. Hamburger culture... Et tu, Ubisoft? Expand
  13. Dec 13, 2012
    9
    Thank God for Ubisoft Montreal an the Canadians for saving my gaming year. This year was set to be one of the greatest years in gaming ever with so many hotly anticipated AAA titles all releasing in time for Christmas, then many of them turning out to be a disapointment. I personaly had my eye on Hitman Absolution and Far Cry 3, Hitman Absolution turned out to be a huge disapointment asThank God for Ubisoft Montreal an the Canadians for saving my gaming year. This year was set to be one of the greatest years in gaming ever with so many hotly anticipated AAA titles all releasing in time for Christmas, then many of them turning out to be a disapointment. I personaly had my eye on Hitman Absolution and Far Cry 3, Hitman Absolution turned out to be a huge disapointment as it took away all the huge free roam do what you want when you want as you want....but thanks to Far Cry 3 that huge free roam do what you want when you want as you want is all here intact just like it was in Far Cry 2 (which i also loved). Far Cry 3 is VERY ambitious, the map is 10x the size of Far Cry 2 and has 10x as much going on in it. One of the big things you will notice is how many animals this game has , i think it pretty much has every animal in the world in it, all of which look surprisingly good and roam around the living world grazing or being chased an eaten by prey, for instance you will witness tigers, jaguars, bears, komdo dragons etc chasing and eating wild boars, buffalo ,deer etc etc, or see people down by the stream suddenly get attacked an eaten by crocodiles (they all chase and eat you too) or great white sharks will circle an investigate your boat an give it a lil nibble before darting off, or will attack you if in the water. Then there are smaller fish like beautiful coral reef fish to small lake fish all darting around, tiny bugs and birds to parrots to crabs etc etc, the whole island just feels alive like a real island and gives you a sense of paranoia that your being stalked (sometimes you are by a bear or something). You also have to kill and use these animals to make gun holsters, ruck sacks,pouches etc as you progress, more difficult animals make for bigger holsters.pouches etc. Graphically the game looks great but you cant help but feel its trying to scream out "i know i know Im sorry, Im supposed to be next gen, gimmie a break" everything around you looks very well detailed and very close to Far Cry 2's graphics, but then things way way off in the backround like a few mountains look pretty bad, its as if the game is far too big and ambitious for current gen consoles, but on the whole if you liked Far Cry 2's graphics then you will like this, close up its very pretty an very detailed and because the game is so big with so much content you can forgive the few bad parts off in the far backround. It has a great selection of guns that can be bought an modified,from pistols to sniper rifles to rocket launches to bow an arrows, theres a big selection. The cutscenes look beautiful an the story is pretty cool too.It has lots of veichles from cars, boats, jet skis, quad bikes, handgliders, jeeps etc. Ive been playing forrrr aboooout 9 or 10 hours on medium difficulty so far and i dont think ive even scratched the surface of the campaign an only explored about a 1/3 of the map so far. This really is a great an beautiful looking game that will keep you entertained for ages, well worth the full price and gets my vote for game of the year. (Although i havent played Assasins Creed 3 yet as its wrapped up nicely under the tree waiting for Christmas day) having said that im a huge fan of open world sanboxs that i can explore an do as i wish in, so Far Cry 3 will still probably get my game of the year award. Expand
  14. Dec 13, 2012
    6
    This game is a decent shooter, the weapons are satisfying to use and there is some intense shooting, there is option to an stealth aproach and is satisfying to cleanse an outpost of enemies without been seen. However, this game isn't Skyrim tropical island version, if you are expecting deep RPG mechanics and involving side quests you are going to be dissapointed. It is a game about a guyThis game is a decent shooter, the weapons are satisfying to use and there is some intense shooting, there is option to an stealth aproach and is satisfying to cleanse an outpost of enemies without been seen. However, this game isn't Skyrim tropical island version, if you are expecting deep RPG mechanics and involving side quests you are going to be dissapointed. It is a game about a guy with guns that shoot other guys with guns, outside the main storyline, you just kill alot of guys with red shirts for no real reason but only for your amusement, its a Call of Duty on a island, less scripted and with more options. If compared with Call of Duty, its a more complex game, but when compared with other open world games it's a little too shallow. Expand
  15. Dec 13, 2012
    10
    i want to say im surprised alot of ppl did not like this game, it had pluses that the far cry 2 lacked, i loved the colorful graphics, the main character was my only turn off, he coulda been a lil less jock. Voss, Citra, were my favorites the story with them coulda had more of them in it...i like the gun upgrades and no more miss fires or damaged weapons like part 2..Anyway thei want to say im surprised alot of ppl did not like this game, it had pluses that the far cry 2 lacked, i loved the colorful graphics, the main character was my only turn off, he coulda been a lil less jock. Voss, Citra, were my favorites the story with them coulda had more of them in it...i like the gun upgrades and no more miss fires or damaged weapons like part 2..Anyway the hunting,skill points,scenery,ATV, were just greeat things i beat it in a week but i will go through again..it is a good challenge, had me mad a few times to the point where i wanted to put it down but it sucked me back in..i woulda liked to see a dirtbike or motorcycle, the backroads and trails woulda been alot of fun..the maze to find Relics were discouraging..but all in all it was my number one game of this year..it is hard to compare to Hitman, or the soon to be Tomb Raider, and Splinter Cell but i think they will also be a great game..sorry to babble on mostly about useless info, but its opinions not facts..thanks Expand
  16. Dec 12, 2012
    10
    in my opinion far cry 3 is the best shooter i've seen it is better than batlefield 3 and call of duty black ops 2 the reason why is because the graphics are better than black ops 2 and the gameplay is better than battlefield 3
  17. Dec 12, 2012
    7
    Pros: Great story line, lots of side missions, big map to roam
    Cons: Tearing in graphics, horrible driving mechanics, to much crafing/herbing required, main story is too short, enemies too easy to kill. With all the cons of this title i still enjoyed it very much. Side missions make up the bulk of this game. hunting,crafting,herbing is dreadful and made to keep you busy. I skipped
    Pros: Great story line, lots of side missions, big map to roam
    Cons: Tearing in graphics, horrible driving mechanics, to much crafing/herbing required, main story is too short, enemies too easy to kill. With all the cons of this title i still enjoyed it very much. Side missions make up the bulk of this game. hunting,crafting,herbing is dreadful and made to keep you busy. I skipped hunting,herbing,crafting and just played the game with one weapon at a time and was still very easy to beat missions.
    Expand
  18. Dec 12, 2012
    2
    I've heard of Far Cry. Never really played it before this one. So I figure "what the hell," and me and the missus hit up Redbox.

    We get home, throw it in the Xbox, and fire up the rig. The game starts, and ten minutes into it, we are both saying, "What the hell is this mess?" First off, the graphics are less than stellar. Choppy as hell. Looks like individual animations are randomly
    I've heard of Far Cry. Never really played it before this one. So I figure "what the hell," and me and the missus hit up Redbox.

    We get home, throw it in the Xbox, and fire up the rig. The game starts, and ten minutes into it, we are both saying, "What the hell is this mess?" First off, the graphics are less than stellar. Choppy as hell. Looks like individual animations are randomly plopped into the environment instead of integrated. Second, the sound is TERRIBLE. The pirates' voices sound like something from NES days. And we aren't talking bad sound from flat screen speakers. We have a 7.2 surround system and it STILL sounds like ****

    Third, the pop-ups in this game are ridiculous. More often than not, games have useful pop ups on the HUD. Not FC3. The pop ups persist until they are cleared and they take up an unnecessarily large amount of screen space.

    The "crafting" system is mediocre. You think that you'll be building upgraded equipment, better armor, etc. What you're really doing is collecting items of value (skins from various animals, plant leaves (really?)), essentially gathering money to buy a bigger inventory bag or have more space for ammo. Essentially the crafting system is an entire quest system reminiscent of quests from WoW. Uh, no thank you. I can't comment on the Co-op or the multiplayer, because I didn't even want to try that nonsense. Now, I really wanted to like this game. I had read pretty good things about it. But, at the S.O.'s insistence, I rented it first. Thank god for that. $2 instead of $60. This game does have a few nice aspects to it. The game world is literally wide open. Oh, except if you're doing a mission, then you can not go out of the mission area. Seems a little dated to have mission areas or mission boundaries in an open world game but whatever.

    *Minor Spoiler****** The sequence when the main character gets high off of the shrooms is fairly entertaining.

    Overall, this game lacks a lot of features we have all taken for granted. Do yourself a favor and rent it before you decide to buy, or at the most buy a used copy.
    Expand
  19. Dec 11, 2012
    9
    This game is very entertaining every minute of gameplay. There is always something interesting to do. It has that unique Far Cry feel and won't disappoint fans. The developer has addressed a few of the complaints from Far Cry 2 and added extra features like crafting. Really reminds me of the original.
  20. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    I played Borderlands 2 and had hours of fun, Halo 4 came out and wowed with it's graphics, now we have Far Cry 3 and at the end of the year no doubt. I have been following this since it was announced and I pre-ordered, mind you I don't typically do that.

    I have spent 20+ hours with this done some story missions and climbed about 10 radio towers, there is just so much packed into this
    I played Borderlands 2 and had hours of fun, Halo 4 came out and wowed with it's graphics, now we have Far Cry 3 and at the end of the year no doubt. I have been following this since it was announced and I pre-ordered, mind you I don't typically do that.

    I have spent 20+ hours with this done some story missions and climbed about 10 radio towers, there is just so much packed into this game. It took a little bit to get used to, as the game doesn't hold your hands, it gives you the basics and leaves you to your own devices.

    Once I got the hang of how the whole thing works I was hunting and crafting to make my hunter more efficient. Vaas is an excellent villain one of the best I've seen in a while. What I love most about this game is the randomness. Yesterday for the heck of it I decided to run into the jungle ran into a rare tiger, fought with him, killed him, then stumbled across a motorboat and drove it down a waterfall.

    Started an enemy base on fire that spread into the forest animals scattering everywhere. Then I came across a cave and the game cycle entered night, cave was kind of creepy, then I heard the sounds of something in there, found some good loot, then a bear comes out from deep within the cave and kills me.

    This was just 20 minutes of messing around, its easy to loose yourself for hours playing this game. There's just fun around every corner and the encounters are always random and different. I'm very impressed with the amount of constantly random content in this game.

    This is my first Far Cry game, the cons always outweighed the pros to me but this one is way different and I'm happy to close off the year with this gem of a game.

    Pros:
    -Graphics
    -Gameplay
    -Story
    -Randomness
    -Openworld
    -Vehicles

    Cons:
    -Some missions when your near the mission area and try to wander the game warns you "Leaving mission area turn back or fail the mission" this sucks cause the other day I found a rare animal and hunted them, once I skinned the animal I failed and had to restart at the last checkpoint and lost my rare animal skin.
    -I would say the checkpoint system and the inability to save in mission is a setback.
    -Also, you can't change active quest or turn off active quest in game i.e. Skyrim, Borderlands 2.

    Other than those minor gripes this is BY FAR my Game of the Year!!!
    Expand
  21. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    Unlike most of the boring and generic FPS out there, this game lets you roam far and wide, wherever the hell you want. It's more like borderlands 2 than any other FPS I can think of. Even a little similar to assassin's creed. Definitely has an RPG element to it, but don't go thinking you're buying final fantasy. It's a bloody, gory and brutal FPS to the core! Just don't expect run and gun,Unlike most of the boring and generic FPS out there, this game lets you roam far and wide, wherever the hell you want. It's more like borderlands 2 than any other FPS I can think of. Even a little similar to assassin's creed. Definitely has an RPG element to it, but don't go thinking you're buying final fantasy. It's a bloody, gory and brutal FPS to the core! Just don't expect run and gun, but also not exactly stealth either. I guess it's pretty unique! Expand
  22. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    fc2 was a piece of trash but THIS GAME IS NOT. I don't know how they went from making GAME OF THE GARBAGE (GOTG) to GAME OF THE YEAR (GOTY). Seriously this is the best shooter I've played on 360 probably even in my entire life! Freaking ridiciulous action, the A.I. Is SMOOTH and unpredictable. The graphics are MOUTH WATERING. You won't believe your eyes. Even the plot is super good.fc2 was a piece of trash but THIS GAME IS NOT. I don't know how they went from making GAME OF THE GARBAGE (GOTG) to GAME OF THE YEAR (GOTY). Seriously this is the best shooter I've played on 360 probably even in my entire life! Freaking ridiciulous action, the A.I. Is SMOOTH and unpredictable. The graphics are MOUTH WATERING. You won't believe your eyes. Even the plot is super good. F****** amazing game. Expand
  23. Dec 11, 2012
    8
    Actually,this is an really AWESOME sandbox shooting game for those players who is new to the Far Cry series...but for the FANS...there is some TINY---VERY TINY disappointment in this game...especially...those total Far Cry 2 fans..... First of all, there's NO GUN JAMMING in this game...many people may ask "Isn't that nice ?"...Well, for those FPS player who wants to have a smoothlyActually,this is an really AWESOME sandbox shooting game for those players who is new to the Far Cry series...but for the FANS...there is some TINY---VERY TINY disappointment in this game...especially...those total Far Cry 2 fans..... First of all, there's NO GUN JAMMING in this game...many people may ask "Isn't that nice ?"...Well, for those FPS player who wants to have a smoothly gunfight like the COD..."YES.".....but for those FC2 fans...that was really unacceptable...cuz it's fun and it's realistic for those hardcore FPS players....i know that sometime the mechanism is quite frustrating,but it is its feature---FUN and DANGEROUS, isn't it ? Second,the MONEY....yeh...i know that earning money fast isn't bad...but in Far Cry 3 ....it's just too damn fast !!! It just makes all this survival feeling game become tooo EASY for those hardcore FPS player or those who struggle finding diamonds in FC 2....(and yes, prefer the diamonds in FC 2) Third,there is no SLEEPING SYSTEM in these game..so..if you want to have a night walk of stealthy killing...you have to wait----till the sun set......and that's really damn long... And last, the HEALING SYSTEM is really really worse than FC2...it's just too "easy" for me---a FC2 player. So,if you are new to these kind of game....i highly recommend it ........it's a must buy for sure..........but for those FC2 fans...i think they should think twice whether you are ready to let go those fun experience and accept those new things... Still, i'll give this game a 8.3/10 for bringing soo much fun to me. Expand
  24. Dec 10, 2012
    9
    Near perfection...so far this game takes me back to the very first in the series which was and still is my favorite but for different reasons. The story in the campaign is so fantastic in this game and the characters you meet are amazing. The voice acting is incredible and you really care about saving your friends and trying to get off this island hell you find yourself trapped in. TheNear perfection...so far this game takes me back to the very first in the series which was and still is my favorite but for different reasons. The story in the campaign is so fantastic in this game and the characters you meet are amazing. The voice acting is incredible and you really care about saving your friends and trying to get off this island hell you find yourself trapped in. The visuals are truly gorgeous and I have never seen water that looks so fantastic and real. There is plenty to do other than push the story along even though it does get a bit repetitive. The MP is fun but a tad unbalanced from what i have played so far....for me the campaign is where this game really shines. If you are a fan of the series or have never played them before this is a great jump off point for anyone, make sure to check this game out, it is well worth it! Expand
  25. Dec 10, 2012
    9
    Possible Game of the Year material. I play a lot of games. I can't say I played them all though, so instead of saying that this IS game of the year material I'll say it
  26. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    Maybe I'm a bit of a psychopath: the violence in this game is hands down my favorite aspect. None of the leading FPS out there are this brutal. You can see from the video episodes they were leading up to it. Far more brutal than the previous games. Almost as bad as survival horror but not quite. Awesome gaming violence!
  27. Dec 10, 2012
    7
    UPDATE: after playing this game some more, my original score of 7 seems a little generous. I would like to make some complaints starting with the graphics. The frame rate is quite bad for starters. Also, as you approach some objects in the game world you'll notice they kind of ''de-rez'' and reappear for some odd reason. Like a lamp or piece of equipment on the ground. WTF is up withUPDATE: after playing this game some more, my original score of 7 seems a little generous. I would like to make some complaints starting with the graphics. The frame rate is quite bad for starters. Also, as you approach some objects in the game world you'll notice they kind of ''de-rez'' and reappear for some odd reason. Like a lamp or piece of equipment on the ground. WTF is up with that? Getting a close up kill or searching a body reveals horrible textures and the see through effect. Oh yeah, the water is horrible too. It barely moves no matter if you're looking at it from the ground or swimming on the surface. Hardly any animations. Now if water didn't play such a large part in the game environment I would forgive this but for taking place on a huge group of islands you can't help but notice how bad it looks every time you play. Bioshock from 5 years back has water that looks lightyears ahead of FC3. The animals are cool but their sounds get annoying really fast. If there's a big group of them together it sounds ridiculous. The enemy chatter is repetitious, all you hear from them is complaints of the heat and getting VD. Hate to continue the negatives here but there are many. The menu system is poorly designed and convoluted. The game is constantly throwing messages at you on screen which is distracting. Compared to FC2, FC3 has made some improvements. No more respawning enemies and easier fast travel to name a couple. Overall, it just feels rehashed and tired to me though. I actually prefer FC2 overall I think...call me crazy I know. Expand
  28. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    Without a doubt one of my favorite games I've ever played, and what I mean by that is it ranks up there with Twisted Metal and Crash Bandicoot on my child-like list of favorites. Hunting and skinning exotic wildlife for wallets and pouches should not be this fun. It's lush, harsh, at times unforgiving, and if you use anything other than the bow and arrow I personally think you're playingWithout a doubt one of my favorite games I've ever played, and what I mean by that is it ranks up there with Twisted Metal and Crash Bandicoot on my child-like list of favorites. Hunting and skinning exotic wildlife for wallets and pouches should not be this fun. It's lush, harsh, at times unforgiving, and if you use anything other than the bow and arrow I personally think you're playing the game wrong. Burning out a hostile camp with fire arrows, ambushing a convoy with the explosive arrows, and silently taking out your enemies from the bushes is all so rewarding. The recurve bow and the red long barrel .44 are the only weapons I've spent my in-game on. Painting them and using them exclusively gives me this weird sense of signature ownership. My favorite thing about Far Car 3, however, is how it presents itself. It was obviously made by dedicated people who most likely love this game more than we possibly could, and it pays off. Expand
  29. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    Miles better than Far Cry 2 overall, now you don't have to drive tediously to your next objective and enemies doesn't pop out of nowhere harassing you while driving. Hunting for upgrades is a real nice touch to the game as well as the leveling system
  30. Dec 9, 2012
    10
    Oh God..... I LOVE this game!! THE best sandpit experience ever and major contender for game of the year. The freedom to follow the story campaign and divert to side missions, or just explore is brilliant. Just to go hunting and stumble upon hidden caves, (full of goodies and collectables) or jump off a mountain in a hang glider and choose any destination to land is freedom afforded byOh God..... I LOVE this game!! THE best sandpit experience ever and major contender for game of the year. The freedom to follow the story campaign and divert to side missions, or just explore is brilliant. Just to go hunting and stumble upon hidden caves, (full of goodies and collectables) or jump off a mountain in a hang glider and choose any destination to land is freedom afforded by very few games. And trouble is never far away whether you are free roaming or questing, be it human or wild beast. Simply.............. AWESOME !!!! Expand
  31. Dec 9, 2012
    1
    Read Charlius 2's review (5 rating) and he hit the nail on the head with the myriad problems with this game, especially the graphics on the 360. As soon as I got a headache the third straight time I played it I sold it back to GameStop. I mean, c'mon, there is NO excuse for the FPS. The people at GS told me that the problem is due to the sheer amount of stuff happening on screen, and IRead Charlius 2's review (5 rating) and he hit the nail on the head with the myriad problems with this game, especially the graphics on the 360. As soon as I got a headache the third straight time I played it I sold it back to GameStop. I mean, c'mon, there is NO excuse for the FPS. The people at GS told me that the problem is due to the sheer amount of stuff happening on screen, and I thought to myself, are you kidding me, there's hardly anything happening except shrubbery (and boy, I love a good quest to go and get me some shrubs). Also, I have to say, those damn messages that keep appearing every time you successfully take a dump are annoying as cuss. Anyways, I can't believe this game has received universal acclaim for the XBOX despite being trite and boring as cuss. Do yourself a favor and rent before you buy. Also do yourself a favor and play Alan Wake and see what a little real creativity can do to gaming. Expand
  32. Dec 9, 2012
    9
    It's like minecraft, but... Farcry. Farcraft.

    Oh, and the story is twisted, engrossing, and savagely entertaining. Shameless. SO SO SO SO SO SO GOOD
  33. Dec 9, 2012
    9
    After finally finishing the campaign, I can safely give Far Cry 3 a 9 out of 10. The story is easy to follow but still engaging. There are some emotional moments here and there, but that is not the moral of the story, the point of this game is survival. You hunt animals and people, try to save your captured friends, drive, glide, parkour, kill, dive, explore, and the list goes on andAfter finally finishing the campaign, I can safely give Far Cry 3 a 9 out of 10. The story is easy to follow but still engaging. There are some emotional moments here and there, but that is not the moral of the story, the point of this game is survival. You hunt animals and people, try to save your captured friends, drive, glide, parkour, kill, dive, explore, and the list goes on and on. The side missions are short but sweet, and most have them have a funny ending to them. Crafting is an important element to the game. You must hunt for game and collect herbs to craft materials and tools such as wallets, ammo pouches, and medicine. You can play the game however you want. You have the choice to take down the bad guys using stealth, brute frontal assault, or a mixture of both! There are some problems with the game that forces me to give this game only a 9 out of 10. First, the glitches are abundant in this game. There is one glitch where the shadow of your gun is permanently stuck on the ground and will follow you until you exit the game and come back. Enemies will sometimes see you through walls and trees, but you can't see them. This will cause them to ring the alarm, which will call for reinforcements. (Reinforcements are a pain in the A** to deal with) Those are the only problems I have with the game, but the rest is pure awesomeness. This game is a must buy game. This is a definite nominee for GOTY. Expand
  34. Dec 9, 2012
    2
    I went into Far Cry 3 with high hopes. I was let down very quickly. From the start you are thrust into the story with nothing leading up to it. From there, you are presented with clunky, choppy, BORING gameplay. The story is good and the visuals and scale are amazing, but these things do not make up for the severe lack of things to do in the game outside of the main quest. You have variousI went into Far Cry 3 with high hopes. I was let down very quickly. From the start you are thrust into the story with nothing leading up to it. From there, you are presented with clunky, choppy, BORING gameplay. The story is good and the visuals and scale are amazing, but these things do not make up for the severe lack of things to do in the game outside of the main quest. You have various side-quests but none of them are any fun. They boil down to "go here, kill this" or "Find 2 of these, bring them back." The gunplay is awful; no gun feels like it has any weight to it and they all sound the same, as if the developers copy and pasted the same sounds into each assault rifle. The number of guns you have to choose from is a joke also, not until the last few hours of the game do you actually get more to choose from but none are any good and they all sound the same. This game is riddled with bugs and glitches. Everything from floating enemies to animals that teleport all over the place, it seems as if this game could have spent a little more time in development. Anyone thinking of buying this game...DON'T. This is a solid rental at best. The game has 0 replayability. I regret buying this disaster of a game. Expand
  35. Dec 8, 2012
    8
    Full play-through review. The story in Far Cry 3 is epic and one of its bright spots. Most shooters have a lame to semi lame story that feel like they are there just to connect one level to another, but with FC3 the story drives the action forward. I don't want to give anything away, but at the end of the game you have a hard choice to make, and the reason the choice is hard is because youFull play-through review. The story in Far Cry 3 is epic and one of its bright spots. Most shooters have a lame to semi lame story that feel like they are there just to connect one level to another, but with FC3 the story drives the action forward. I don't want to give anything away, but at the end of the game you have a hard choice to make, and the reason the choice is hard is because you have become attached to the characters and the different sides... this is testament to the great voice acting and spot on animations. I actually cared what happened. Graphically the game is beautiful and adds to the immersion. The combat is a lot of fun... personally I like the sniping and stealth aspect which works very well. I was worried about the predators like the leopards. I wondered if they would pounce out of every other bush. I am happy to report that run-ins happen, but the encounters are random and do not happen all that often. The autonomous A.I. makes for some interesting and random action. For example, one fight I was trying to move into position to knife kill a target when some friendlies in a boat caught the attention of my prey, thus giving me the distraction to go in for the kill. My main gripe with FC3 is in the middle of the game, before you are allowed to go to the second island, you have to do a series of main missions that are a grind at best and really annoying at worst. One mission has you doing a kill free corridor stealth run, another starts you out with only a knife and a set area that you are confined to, while another has you defending a position while a friendly AI does a repair... and failing the mission five times because he keeps getting shot from multiple angles. These quests were stripped of the very thing that makes the Far Cry series so great... choice. Also some of the real time events were just frustrating... and if you do not hit the right button at the right time you have to start over and do it again. But despite some major mid game annoyances and a couple of the more challenging real time events, the rest of the game is amazing... albeit a bit busy. I did not do the hunting, racing, collecting items (unless I ran across them) I stayed to the main and side stories and the outposts, assassinations and towers. Expand
  36. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    For the 60 dollars you have one of the most enjoyable games of the year!!! Well worth the money I've spent 30 hours looking for relics, hunting and doing missions and only maybe opened about half the map. Im guessing 60 hours of gameplay!! Thats getting my moneys worth!!!
  37. Dec 8, 2012
    9
    Far Cry 3 is probably my favourite game of 2012. I stopped short of giving it a ten due to some technical issues on 360, and some minor annoyances. Far Cry 3 gives you an intelligent story that points out glorifying violence is insane, not a good thing. It gives you all kinds of interesting characters, but one of them dies way too prematurely. The gameplay is fantastic, giving you allFar Cry 3 is probably my favourite game of 2012. I stopped short of giving it a ten due to some technical issues on 360, and some minor annoyances. Far Cry 3 gives you an intelligent story that points out glorifying violence is insane, not a good thing. It gives you all kinds of interesting characters, but one of them dies way too prematurely. The gameplay is fantastic, giving you all sorts of ways to approach outposts. And light RPG elements give Brody a sense of progression. This choice is taken away during the story missions, which are often more linear and scripted about things. But that doesn't feel like a negative because they are so well designed. The soundtrack is outstanding. Exciting during fights, tense during stealth, and sad when it needs to be. On the downsides, things will get a little repetitive if you try to 100% it. The only way to interact with the world is to shoot it or stab it. So I would recommending wrapping up once you've had your fill, and not forcing yourself to do everything. Weapon wise, you have a nice range of choices but starts to feels a little stunted for a game this huge. On 360, there's annoying framerate issues when things get really busy, and pop-in. Water textures are also a little bizarre. I think these are small issues when taken in the context of a wider game which provides so much fun and choice. Where other shooters are slowly chipping away at what players can choose to do, FC3 hands it back to the player in a crazy and interesting world with an intriguing story and great soundtrack. Expand
  38. Dec 8, 2012
    9
    If you compare this game to Skyrim, you're going to have a bad time. FC3 is great for what it is: an open-world FPS that allows you to play at your own pace. With beautiful environments, fun and rewarding game-play, and relatively interesting characters you'll find it easy to lose yourself for hours on end in Rook Island.
  39. Dec 7, 2012
    6
    I am not enjoying this game at all. it is as dull as dishwater. there is no tension in the game. the big anoying shadow around the grsphics. the water looks very poor. for me this shows how out of date the current xbox is. the sound is terrible. the main badie is annoying and hamy. the side missions boring. attack one outpost and the map becomes easy. AAA it may be but i get noI am not enjoying this game at all. it is as dull as dishwater. there is no tension in the game. the big anoying shadow around the grsphics. the water looks very poor. for me this shows how out of date the current xbox is. the sound is terrible. the main badie is annoying and hamy. the side missions boring. attack one outpost and the map becomes easy. AAA it may be but i get no feeling/tension/feedback from the game. the original farcry is still the best by a country mile. i give this six. Expand
  40. Dec 7, 2012
    5
    Plastic paradise anyone? i ll keep this simple.. Graphically its a mess on the xbox 360 it haslow frame rates that make you dizzy, the environment has this sickly cheap plastic sheen, the water effects are appalling, in some parts the water looks more solid than land sometimes it doesnt even move! The whole game with the exception of taking out posts has a been there done that feel forPlastic paradise anyone? i ll keep this simple.. Graphically its a mess on the xbox 360 it haslow frame rates that make you dizzy, the environment has this sickly cheap plastic sheen, the water effects are appalling, in some parts the water looks more solid than land sometimes it doesnt even move! The whole game with the exception of taking out posts has a been there done that feel for example hunting, picking flowers, crafting etc etc..its dull dull dull d d d dull Driving physics in all vehicles are terrible, theres constant information popping up on screen an oddly placed mini map which you cant turn off.. i could go on and on and on and i havnt even got to the story
    In the end the bad far out way the good. Its a far cry from the only FAR CRY.
    This has just too many hallmarks of triple A mediocrity. something for the masses = Far cry 3.
    Expand
  41. Dec 7, 2012
    10
    Incredible game, graphics are superb, open word exploration is fantasic (hunting and outposts) and the FPS aspect of it is brilliant. You can customize your weapons by adding red dot sights, change the colour etc. The skill system is brilliant with some epic abilities such as throwing knife take down and death from above. The story is WOW. The main characters are so well acted and theIncredible game, graphics are superb, open word exploration is fantasic (hunting and outposts) and the FPS aspect of it is brilliant. You can customize your weapons by adding red dot sights, change the colour etc. The skill system is brilliant with some epic abilities such as throwing knife take down and death from above. The story is WOW. The main characters are so well acted and the dialogue is some of the best I've ever seen, if not the best. Also the main villains, especially Vaas is phenomenal !
    BUY IT NOW!
    Expand
  42. Dec 7, 2012
    10
    What a fanatastic game... Totally stoked! played it on a whole weekend and it din't get boring for a single second. Even if the Multiplayer seems to be a little unecessary, the singleplayer convinces with a captivating storyline and the craziest characters I've ever seen (apart from borderlands...). In my opinion the Game of the Year 2012!
  43. Dec 6, 2012
    9
    I don't know why people are saying that the graphics are terrible, I love the graphics, but though there are bugs I don't care I can look past that, and people saying that it's to easy there is a thing called change difficulty. That is why I play on the hardest difficulty so I fell more challenged so I am going to have to give this game a 9 out of 10 because of a couple bugs
  44. Dec 6, 2012
    7
    Really, the single player element of this game is top notch. This game contains everything from your level progression and gaining fun new abilities to racing, and not to mention it's got a pretty solid shooter mechanic going for it. The biggest problem I've run into is in its actually-very-awesome multi-player. The lobby system is junk, so don't expect to play with your friend's party. IfReally, the single player element of this game is top notch. This game contains everything from your level progression and gaining fun new abilities to racing, and not to mention it's got a pretty solid shooter mechanic going for it. The biggest problem I've run into is in its actually-very-awesome multi-player. The lobby system is junk, so don't expect to play with your friend's party. If that wasn't bad enough, you will rarely find a game where you're starting with more than the bare minimum. So, overall, the game is awesome - and the multiplayer doesn't ruin that experience, but this could be GOTY material if the multiplayer lobby would have what should be one of the key details for any multiplayer game in this day and age. Expand
  45. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    I love the intro to the game. I love the open world, I love the huge selection of weapons, the various techniques used to get through missions, like opening tiger cages, sneaking around or just balls to the wall Rambo style. I love how everything in the environment explodes in fires when a car explodes, a flame thrower is used or whatever. I love hunting all the animals and using theirI love the intro to the game. I love the open world, I love the huge selection of weapons, the various techniques used to get through missions, like opening tiger cages, sneaking around or just balls to the wall Rambo style. I love how everything in the environment explodes in fires when a car explodes, a flame thrower is used or whatever. I love hunting all the animals and using their skin to craft new items like wallets or ammo holsters which enable you to carry more money and ammo. I love the story and all the crazy vehicles you have at your disposal. The graphics aren't top notch, but it still manages to take your breath away and look extraordinary. I highly recommend anyone and everyone to buy this game as it's now became one of my favorite games. I wouldn't be surprised if Far Cry 3 won game of the year cause it sure as hell deserves it. Expand
  46. Dec 6, 2012
    9
    Solid shooting mechanics, a surprising attention put towards narrative (to which it mostly hits home) and a large, densely populated world with a lot of interesting, worthwhile, and, most importantly, fun content to take part in.

    Up to even a few weeks before launch, Far Cry 3 was not exactly a game that was high on my list. While I thoroughly enjoyed Far Cry: Instincts Predator when it
    Solid shooting mechanics, a surprising attention put towards narrative (to which it mostly hits home) and a large, densely populated world with a lot of interesting, worthwhile, and, most importantly, fun content to take part in.

    Up to even a few weeks before launch, Far Cry 3 was not exactly a game that was high on my list. While I thoroughly enjoyed Far Cry: Instincts Predator when it released on the 360 a fair few years back, it's follow-up (by name alone), Far Cry 2, did little to impress me and much to annoy me. As for Far Cry 3, it is certainly very comparable to the experience found in Far Cry 2, except now with the lack of questionable game mechanics, annoying traveling (it is there, just handled far better this time around) and infuriating ai. Ultimately, Far Cry 3 is essentially Far Cry 2, simply executed far better this time around. If you saw the promise of the series' prior release, but were let down with the end product, it might be worth your time checking this one out. For me, this is certainly a strong contender for my personal game of the year. It's an extremely solid game that seems to have hit, and properly, all of the goals it set to make.
    Expand
  47. Dec 6, 2012
    9
    huge world,alike assassins`creed,variety in weapons,active nature,middle enemy AI(SMART predator-animals/stupid non-dangerous animals),strong story with strong SIDE-CHARACTERS,sometimes saves system make you angry,VAAS is so lovely.
    when you play "farcry3",first thing you like is you(only you:the gamer);the game respect you and your thinking,make you happy every ways you play.the gameplay
    huge world,alike assassins`creed,variety in weapons,active nature,middle enemy AI(SMART predator-animals/stupid non-dangerous animals),strong story with strong SIDE-CHARACTERS,sometimes saves system make you angry,VAAS is so lovely.
    when you play "farcry3",first thing you like is you(only you:the gamer);the game respect you and your thinking,make you happy every ways you play.the gameplay is fun and make you to move fast/slow,hunt,hid&seek,adventure and watching the beautiful island.
    story start with a "cliche" but at it is only at beginning furthermore "farcry" serie is based on gun-play or man-hunting.
    map of the game is huge and accessible in most places,graphic elements are good not high(water is solid sometimes,cars at distances are like cubes,textures appear right front of your eyes...) but colors are so alive and lovely.
    missions are base on you skills and learn you how to use them.guns are most times helpful but shotguns are over-powered in enemy hands.the hunting is fun for upgrades and money but gamers must be cautious about predators.music is the only weak spot of the game,it is dizzy and out most of the times.
    Expand
  48. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    one of the best games of 2012 is Far Cry 3.This is an amazing game very addictive and fun to play.From the start the storyline is done perfectly as you get deeper into the game it becomes very addictive.From the amazing graphics to the smooth gameplay and the easy controls this game is truly one of the best first person shooter's I have ever played.Even if you are new to the first personone of the best games of 2012 is Far Cry 3.This is an amazing game very addictive and fun to play.From the start the storyline is done perfectly as you get deeper into the game it becomes very addictive.From the amazing graphics to the smooth gameplay and the easy controls this game is truly one of the best first person shooter's I have ever played.Even if you are new to the first person shooters you will find the controls very easy to learn.Though this game is a bit difficult all this means is you have to think what to do next on how to accomplish your mission.Far Cry 3 is an amazing game and as you play the game you know the creators took their time making this game and at the end they produced on of 2012 best games.If you love first person shooter's then I strongly recommend this and if you still not convinced just read the other reviews and if you're still not convinced look at the reviews from the critics.Forget the negative reviews those people just don't know what a good game is.Far Cry 3 is by far the best and most addictive and fun filled open world game I have played in a while.It is the type of game that keeps you hooked to your TV screen for hours on end and when you go to sleep you even dream of the game.Thank you Ubisoft for making such amazing and highly addictive games. Expand
  49. Dec 5, 2012
    9
    A near perfect open world gaming experience. With the expection of minor flaws, all the parts needed to make this a great game are present. Story is usually a component of games that most often leaves me uninspired, and therefore my expectation are kept low. In the case of Far Cry 3, the charater animations, voice performances, and dialogue are quite good making it a pleasure toA near perfect open world gaming experience. With the expection of minor flaws, all the parts needed to make this a great game are present. Story is usually a component of games that most often leaves me uninspired, and therefore my expectation are kept low. In the case of Far Cry 3, the charater animations, voice performances, and dialogue are quite good making it a pleasure to follow the narrative. The meat and potatoes however is always the core gameplay, and here Ubisoft has delivered nicely. Here you have a huge, dense open world, unique objectives to tackle through a variety of optional means, and an enemy AI that for the most part is adequately adaptive and aggresive. I have found, early on in the game at least, that the standard frontal assault on a well defended position is likely to get you killed. It's usually a better idea to employ a bit of steath assasination to thin the ranks before openly engaging. Driving physics are good but somewhat of a challenge from first person perspective. I personally would have preferred a third person view to allow better situational awareness. Graphical presentation is good, not great. Draw distance is generally terrific but geometry and textures leave something to be desired, on the 360 version at least. It's worth noting that not withstanding the huge world, and large numbers of sophisticated AI, there is virtually no loading in contrast to a game like Skyrim. With that said, this is still a beautiful game visually and does not detract from the gameplay experiance one bit, IMO. Expand
  50. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    This is hands down one of the best open world games I have ever played. They get so much right and only minor details can be listed in the cons for this game. The story, the voice acting, the gameplay. They knock everything out of the park. This is the best FarCry game to date, and one of the best FPS titles of the year.
  51. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    This game is the best game i played this year. The gameplay is just phenomenal. Id say it coul be a better stealth game overall than dishonored or hitman, better action game than halo4. The guns and shooting feels tight, so many things to do ranging from hunting, crafting, clearing outposts, heck i even had more fun playing far cry than skyrim, me3, halo4, dishonored or hitman. The senseThis game is the best game i played this year. The gameplay is just phenomenal. Id say it coul be a better stealth game overall than dishonored or hitman, better action game than halo4. The guns and shooting feels tight, so many things to do ranging from hunting, crafting, clearing outposts, heck i even had more fun playing far cry than skyrim, me3, halo4, dishonored or hitman. The sense of place is Just as cool. Graphics look amazing, i didnt know the xbox 360 could pull of the graphics. Wow i just cant say enough about this game. Its just like a great experience that you never want to end. Expand
  52. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    The trailers all said Far Cry 3 is "like Skyrim with guns." Understand that when I say this is untrue, I mean it in a good way. This game, like Far Cry 2, has its own identity, and it is amazing. Perfect for sandbox fans, Far Cry 3 has the crazy fun of Just Cause 2 with the refined gameplay of a modern FPS and a better story than you'll find in either..

    Visuals: 9 Gameplay: 9.5 Story:
    The trailers all said Far Cry 3 is "like Skyrim with guns." Understand that when I say this is untrue, I mean it in a good way. This game, like Far Cry 2, has its own identity, and it is amazing. Perfect for sandbox fans, Far Cry 3 has the crazy fun of Just Cause 2 with the refined gameplay of a modern FPS and a better story than you'll find in either..

    Visuals: 9
    Gameplay: 9.5
    Story: 8.5
    Variety: 10

    I'd give it an overall 9.5, but if it's 9 or 10 I'd round it up to 10.
    Expand
  53. Dec 4, 2012
    8
    This is an ambitious wonderful game,everything in the reviews stands. Have played only 10 hours but cannot play any more....why??...screen tear(360). I play on a large screen tv settings optimised so most games look really goood! Farcry 3 looks really good , except screen tear, straight through the centre almost constantly..even looking up down left or right . Have never seen anythingThis is an ambitious wonderful game,everything in the reviews stands. Have played only 10 hours but cannot play any more....why??...screen tear(360). I play on a large screen tv settings optimised so most games look really goood! Farcry 3 looks really good , except screen tear, straight through the centre almost constantly..even looking up down left or right . Have never seen anything tear this bad, i thought saints row (1&3) were bad for this! On smaller screens not so noticeable. Great game-please ubisoft fix this pleeeeeaase! Expand
  54. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    I rarely write reviews on ths site since its full of hate and contradiction,but when games like Far Cry 3 come along i cant help it but share my thoughts.This is a beautiful game,and im not talkin about the graphics.After finishing it i felt empty,thats how good it is.The story gets u hooked nearly all the time u play,but the thing i admired most about this game was the level design.I wasI rarely write reviews on ths site since its full of hate and contradiction,but when games like Far Cry 3 come along i cant help it but share my thoughts.This is a beautiful game,and im not talkin about the graphics.After finishing it i felt empty,thats how good it is.The story gets u hooked nearly all the time u play,but the thing i admired most about this game was the level design.I was surprised by this game in many ways.When u see the trailers it looks like just another COD,but hunting a shark in FC3 is more suspenfull then the last COD game itself!!The missions were a strong point of this game cause they always mix shooting,climbing,stealth and exploring in marvelous ways....The only negative thing about this game could be some screen tearing and an isolated case when a glitch occurs.The sound is fantastic,guns ,animals,enemy's feel real and the voice acting is top notch.The main character is believeable and his actions affect him in every step of your journey.The villains were very well writen especially Vass and Buck.I've played all big games this year and this is my best game shoulder to shoulder with Dishonored.I dont care about MP so if u want a rly strong SP experience try this game out.Cheers Expand
  55. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    So I have played around 10 hours and to me this is my game of the year. The campaign absorbed me into Rook island and the performances from the characters is phenomenal. Vaas is the perfect villian and Jason with his innocent tone changed throughout the campaign provides an amazing experience. The game is far improved since Far Cry 2 but there are a still few enemy glitches and some verySo I have played around 10 hours and to me this is my game of the year. The campaign absorbed me into Rook island and the performances from the characters is phenomenal. Vaas is the perfect villian and Jason with his innocent tone changed throughout the campaign provides an amazing experience. The game is far improved since Far Cry 2 but there are a still few enemy glitches and some very minor screen tearing but that doesn't deter you from what is an amazing game. The multiplayer is kind of basic but once people start creating maps I believe that will help it feel unique and fun. The map editor is amazing and gives you more tools than ever and the level of creativity and detail you can create is immense. The graphics are very good for these old consoles, the mechanics are well done, and the replayibility to me is limitless. Overall this is one of my favorite games this gen. Expand
  56. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    When you first look at the game through trailers, gameplayy footage etc. you would think "oh no, this game is just another Call of Duty" but when you actually play the game your mind will be blown away and you will think differently. This is definitely one of Xbox 360's strongest games, it features everything such as exploring, realistic driving, leveling uo, intense graphics and gunWhen you first look at the game through trailers, gameplayy footage etc. you would think "oh no, this game is just another Call of Duty" but when you actually play the game your mind will be blown away and you will think differently. This is definitely one of Xbox 360's strongest games, it features everything such as exploring, realistic driving, leveling uo, intense graphics and gun fights and many more. One of the biggest strenghts of this game is the voice actors and characters, The second to last antagonist, Vass, is one of this game stongest character. He is featured at the front of the games case and is one of the greatest villains in a long time. The protaganist, Jason Brody, starts on the island very scared, he has never held a gun in his life but as the game progresses he loses himself to the jungle and becomes highly skilled in killing. Overall, this game is amazing and is definitely worth a checkout. I'm going to give this game a perfect 10. Expand
  57. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    this game is great and far cry 3 is big sand box You can kill animals whenever you want Far Cry 3 is all the best things about open-world gaming. It's a glorious anecdote factory, where you manufacture brilliant new memories every time you wake up in a safehouse and head out into the jungle d it always lets you play, but it also controls the tempo - sometimes a little heavy-handedly, butthis game is great and far cry 3 is big sand box You can kill animals whenever you want Far Cry 3 is all the best things about open-world gaming. It's a glorious anecdote factory, where you manufacture brilliant new memories every time you wake up in a safehouse and head out into the jungle d it always lets you play, but it also controls the tempo - sometimes a little heavy-handedly, but always with good intentionsou have a fully featured single-player game that lasts upward of 35 hours or more, depending on how much you want to do. Kills earn you experience, Corpses and chests can be looted for cash and saleable items; you then buy new weapons and maps and to replenish ammo at safe houses. Out in the wild, you collect plant life of various kinds so that you can fill syringes with meds that heal you, make you less vulnerable, or enhance your senses. Expand
  58. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Absolutely in love with this game. A huge, beautiful and great, living world with many of things to do besides the very well executed missions. While Ubisoft tried to make their previous installment Far Cry 2 immersive it almost went controversy and a little too realistic. Jamming guns, a lack of hud mode and an overall lack of gameplay features drive you away from the experience. In FarAbsolutely in love with this game. A huge, beautiful and great, living world with many of things to do besides the very well executed missions. While Ubisoft tried to make their previous installment Far Cry 2 immersive it almost went controversy and a little too realistic. Jamming guns, a lack of hud mode and an overall lack of gameplay features drive you away from the experience. In Far Cry 3, things have changed. With the new introduced RPG elements, abilities to craft and the ability to use stealth against your enemies, it actually became lots of fun to travel instead of frustrating. Far Cry 3 offers us what the openworld genre is supposed to offer, while the previous installment was good, it lacked many things that other openworld games had to offer. Besides the addictive singleplayer campaign, there's also a little uninspired, but yet so fun multiplayer with a huge map editor, allowing the people who love to be creative almost unlimited hours of fun. The 6 hour Coop is pretty interesting also, but i personally see much more potential in the Map editors sandbox mode, allowing you to put AI in your maps. Imagine if Ubisoft skipped this whole coop and made it possible for the player to create their OWN coop, each with it's own map and objective. This way, the AI that Ubisoft introduced us would be where it really belongs. Now Far Cry 3 isn't flawless, but offers so much fun and an almost unlimited amount of replay value, making it my personal Game Of The Year 2012. Expand
  59. Dec 4, 2012
    8
    Keep in mind that these are only initial impressions from the first 6 or so hours of gameplay. Overall, I'm impressed with this game! It's gorgeous, and the sound design is pretty good. I refuse to critique a story until I've finished the game, but so far it has me hooked. I did suffer from a few performance issues with the game, and odd glitches here and there (this is almost aKeep in mind that these are only initial impressions from the first 6 or so hours of gameplay. Overall, I'm impressed with this game! It's gorgeous, and the sound design is pretty good. I refuse to critique a story until I've finished the game, but so far it has me hooked. I did suffer from a few performance issues with the game, and odd glitches here and there (this is almost a standard in any sandbox game it seems). There are a few issues with AI I've noticed.... they can either be really dumb or downright cheap (spot me from 300 yards away when I'm not moving and hidden by underbrush???) But overall it's a great sandbox experience! I recommend this to both FPS and openworld Sandbox fans. Expand
  60. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    This game is out right phenomenal. Everything from the graphics, (minor screen tear on Xbox but not too bad) voice acting, gameplay, and for how long it is, its one of the best campaigns I've ever played in a game and that's saying something. 30 hour campaign? Yes please! All this and I didn't even mention the beefy multiplayer mode, coop, and it even has a damn map editor! You can makeThis game is out right phenomenal. Everything from the graphics, (minor screen tear on Xbox but not too bad) voice acting, gameplay, and for how long it is, its one of the best campaigns I've ever played in a game and that's saying something. 30 hour campaign? Yes please! All this and I didn't even mention the beefy multiplayer mode, coop, and it even has a damn map editor! You can make maps and host games on them as well. All this for just 60$? Hell yeah! Ubisoft has really out done themselves. GOTY in my opinion. I also forgot to mention that Vaas is one of the best villains in gaming! Get this now and support this excellent game! Collapse
  61. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Phenomenal game. Rarely do I spend time writing reviews, but this one deserves it.

    A brief personal purchase history from the last 6 months: Borderlands 2, Halo 4, Dishonored, Black Ops 2. Far Cry 3 is more *fun* than any of these other games, and has more single player content than all except Borderlands 2. Personally I've grown bored of the sameness in Borderlands, whereas Far Cry
    Phenomenal game. Rarely do I spend time writing reviews, but this one deserves it.

    A brief personal purchase history from the last 6 months: Borderlands 2, Halo 4, Dishonored, Black Ops 2.

    Far Cry 3 is more *fun* than any of these other games, and has more single player content than all except Borderlands 2. Personally I've grown bored of the sameness in Borderlands, whereas Far Cry 3 feels like a breath of fresh air. Realistic graphics and weaponry and excellent AI are such a pleasant thing to experience.

    I'll list the few negatives first, then the positives to leave you on a high as is befitting the game :-)

    Negatives:

    * There's only one save game per playthrough. You can have up to 3 playthroughs. I find this annoying and unnecessary - if you want to get certain more predictable parts of the game out of the way to unlock more skills and weaponry, then make a memorable save from which you can start replaying to enjoy the carnage when you're at your most powerful, the only way is to backup your single save game to a memory stick. Not the end of the world, but it seems a shame.

    * Early in my first playthrough I saved/quit just as I was throwing a molotov. Following this my player has had a molotov bottle sticking out of his right hand, permanently! This was very annoying, especially when holding the bow undrawn since his right hand is close to his face then and it was huge! But this is a bug that a patch will sort out I'm sure, and it hasn't happened on my second playthrough.

    Positives (there are many!):

    Graphically it is excellent - sometimes breathtaking, most of the time simply up there with the best. I wouldn't go as far as saying it's the best looking console game ever (indeed, many people say that about Halo 4 which simply isn't true. Look at Killzone 3 or Mass Effect 3!). However the environments look impressively realistic, as do the animals. The people look very good at the distance you typically see them, though the consoles are getting old enough now for texture detail to disappoint in most games. It's fair to say the amount of foliage you see in this game along with some truly amazing effects such as dynamic fire and water make it one of the best looking Xbox games. Though when you're driving in your car it doesn't look better than GTA 4 did from the same perspective all those years ago.

    Gameplay - brilliant. If you like sandbox games and enjoyed the stealth vs action choice of Dishonored you will love this game. As with Dishonored you can play as fast-with-action or slow-with-cunning as you like. There are some awesomely kickass kill moves you can gain through unlocked skills, plus the controls are top notch for movement across terrain and general FPS'ing.

    Story - the story is engaging and exciting because of the crazy characters you meet, how well defined each is, how different they are from one another, and the award-worthy performances of the real-world actors playing them.

    Value for money - I played for 20-25 hours to complete about 60-70% of the game. I've done everything except mission boards (you'll understand from other reviews or playing it yourself). And it's the first game this year besides Dishonored that I've wanted to go back and play again, just to do things differently the second time around. There are 38 outposts in the game, each is akin to a mini Dishonored mission where you have varying enemies in different patrolling patterns amongst different building configurations. You can eliminate them as you please: run and gun, death by stealth, environment kills (e.g. set fire to surrounding grassland and watch it spread to their buildings!) and animal assassinations (shoot cages to let loose tigers, bears etc. or entice animals to the enemy's location).

    Summary:

    I'd describe FC3 both graphically and in terms of gameplay as half first person Just Cause 2, half Dishonored. It has amazing stealth skills you can learn (e.g. assassinate a guy, whip the pin out of his grenade and kick him away!) plus some great FPS action with tight controls in a visual busy jungle environment.

    For me it's game of the year. I feel bad for Dishonored, because that was a phenomenal game but just a bit too short for my liking. FC3 is a bit more fun because it gives you more content and some brilliant vehicles and environment mechanics like realistic spreading fire that really up the ante.

    Buy it. Buy it now.
    Expand
  62. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    First off, to address another review below: Did you just seriously say "Graphics are ok but not adequate for a game in 2012"?? You do realize you're reviewing a game for a console that is over seven years old, right? Don't hate the game, hate the outdated console that runs the game. Now, that being said, Far Cry 3 is an extremely ambitious title. You can see from the start that the devsFirst off, to address another review below: Did you just seriously say "Graphics are ok but not adequate for a game in 2012"?? You do realize you're reviewing a game for a console that is over seven years old, right? Don't hate the game, hate the outdated console that runs the game. Now, that being said, Far Cry 3 is an extremely ambitious title. You can see from the start that the devs put their back into this one, taking what wasn't great in FC2 out, and adding in... Well... Rook Island. Skyrim with guns? Not quite. A well-versed all around great shooter, RPG, stealth, sandbox game? Definitely. Multiplayer leaves something to be desired however, with a co-op 'campaign' that makes you go "Meh" and a flawed matchmaking system. However, the potential of the map editor (Like FC2) is obvious, but without a backing Ubisoft, the feature may go unnoticed by most due to its less than stellar matchmaking which will hopefully be addressed in a future patch. Definitely worth your time. Pick it up. Expand
  63. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    I've played every big game this year and this by far beats them all. amazing graphics solid game play, amazing fps, this game has something for everyone. best part for me is about to snipe in to an enemy camp and suddenly your hear a growl behind you turn around and theres a lion ready to pounce and kill you!!! cant praise this game enough the story plus side missions is well over 35hr+I've played every big game this year and this by far beats them all. amazing graphics solid game play, amazing fps, this game has something for everyone. best part for me is about to snipe in to an enemy camp and suddenly your hear a growl behind you turn around and theres a lion ready to pounce and kill you!!! cant praise this game enough the story plus side missions is well over 35hr+ game play even just free roaming has you constantly battling with the jungle. this by far is GOTY by far best far cry to date and probably best game i've ever played. Expand
  64. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    This is the best FPS game in a long time, hell it's one of the best game of ths generation. There is so much content in the game, and it is all quality content. The main campaign last around 12 hours if you rush it, but I spent over 25 hours on the single player and I still have stuff to do. The co-op campaign is much shorter at around 4 hours, but it's still a lot of fun and worth a playThis is the best FPS game in a long time, hell it's one of the best game of ths generation. There is so much content in the game, and it is all quality content. The main campaign last around 12 hours if you rush it, but I spent over 25 hours on the single player and I still have stuff to do. The co-op campaign is much shorter at around 4 hours, but it's still a lot of fun and worth a play through. I am also pleasently surprised by the online multiplayer as well, it feels and plays great, there are lots of unlockables, challenges, tattoo editor and also a fantastic map editor. The map editor is AMAZING, and I have already played on some great user created maps, it just a shame that you can't do multiplayer with vehicles, which was a big feature of previous Far Cry games, and they are needed because the map size you are given is huge. (HINT HINT NUDGE NUDGE UBISOFT)
    In short this game is a masterpiece, great story which had me confused, but in a good way, it fitted the games insanity theme, good online with massive potential in the map editor, there is a tons of content in this game. Buy it.
    Expand
  65. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Best game of this year, nuff said. And no, I'm not a fanboy. What can I say, it's a truly epic game with a great and intense story that is both dark and engagingly emotional. The graphics on consoles and on PC are both superb and one of the best looking game of this generation. Brian Tyler is the composer of the game's soundtrack, and to be honest, it's eargasmic. I love the soundtracks aBest game of this year, nuff said. And no, I'm not a fanboy. What can I say, it's a truly epic game with a great and intense story that is both dark and engagingly emotional. The graphics on consoles and on PC are both superb and one of the best looking game of this generation. Brian Tyler is the composer of the game's soundtrack, and to be honest, it's eargasmic. I love the soundtracks a lot and it also fits well with every scene. The gameplay is smooth compared to Far Cry 2. There's a lot of content and the map editor has seen some huge improvements! Expand
  66. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    A perfect combination of the beauty of the first game, with the sandbox of the second. This game feels a lot more like FC2, with checkpoints, various side missions, only carrying 4 guns, etc, but all of the annoying flaws of FC 2 have been ironed out. No more malaria; no restrictions on which 4 guns you carry, no gun degradation, no re-spawning checkpoints. Just a beautiful island, lots ofA perfect combination of the beauty of the first game, with the sandbox of the second. This game feels a lot more like FC2, with checkpoints, various side missions, only carrying 4 guns, etc, but all of the annoying flaws of FC 2 have been ironed out. No more malaria; no restrictions on which 4 guns you carry, no gun degradation, no re-spawning checkpoints. Just a beautiful island, lots of enemies (wait till a crocodile catches you off guard!), and complete freedom to play how you like. If you have any imagination, and want to play games your own way, buy it. Magnificent! Expand
  67. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Best game I've played this year. I enjoyed the story so much. The game was very intense at some moments. Multiplayer wasn't the best, but I didn't like it anyway this game is so worth buying for the single player. This is like the only game I've played in a long while where it has changed over the years. Everything in it is so addicting. I loved environment and scenery. The editor was oneBest game I've played this year. I enjoyed the story so much. The game was very intense at some moments. Multiplayer wasn't the best, but I didn't like it anyway this game is so worth buying for the single player. This is like the only game I've played in a long while where it has changed over the years. Everything in it is so addicting. I loved environment and scenery. The editor was one of the best features in the game i have to admit. BEST F****ING GAME I'VE PLAYED! Expand
  68. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Many aspects of Far Cry 3 take credit for the undeniable perfection of the game. 1. Visually we are presented to a world with an immense feeling of variety and depth, so far unmatched. The jungle of Rook Islands is first-of-a-kind creation in gaming history, only rivaled by Skyrim (mod'ed) imo. 2. Far Cry 3 is stuffed with amazing characters that keeps getting more crazy as the gameMany aspects of Far Cry 3 take credit for the undeniable perfection of the game. 1. Visually we are presented to a world with an immense feeling of variety and depth, so far unmatched. The jungle of Rook Islands is first-of-a-kind creation in gaming history, only rivaled by Skyrim (mod'ed) imo. 2. Far Cry 3 is stuffed with amazing characters that keeps getting more crazy as the game progresses, but above all stands Vaas: so crazy, so funny, so scary, so ambivalent, FC3 has gotten its own Dark Knight Joker. 3. The synthesis of camera, music, sounds, visuals and continuity when we explore the Rook Islands is everything Far Cry 2 didnt have, especially the continuity. We would perform the same identical actions over n over n over again, the definition of insanity... In FC3 we do the exact same things over n over n over again, but because the game in visuals and experience is so tasty, u feel like u could go on forever liberating outposts and rerouting radio-towers. 4. Our main character, Jason. Finally a game that shows interest in the fact that killing does change you. Jason goes through a psychological development that I personally haven't seen the likes of ever, this is also why Vaas is so important, there is such a strong relation between him and Jason that grows as Jason keeps rampaging. All these games about killing, shooting, murdering, never have I seen any sign of these actions affecting the main characters. A unique touch to FC3 without doubt, and it succeeds without doubt. I would keep praising this game in all eternity, but these aspects are more that enough for a 10.
    Buy it n enjoy it, definitely worth it.
    Expand
  69. Dec 4, 2012
    6
    Far Cry 3 is a game I coul'd wait for but when it came out it was quite disappointing. Graphics are ok but not adequate for a game in 2012 which calls itself "best game of the year". The story was ok and provides you also a lot of open world sandbox gameplay. You can (almost) everytime do what you want to do. Mapping is nicely dont except some border which are pretty annoying - you can'tFar Cry 3 is a game I coul'd wait for but when it came out it was quite disappointing. Graphics are ok but not adequate for a game in 2012 which calls itself "best game of the year". The story was ok and provides you also a lot of open world sandbox gameplay. You can (almost) everytime do what you want to do. Mapping is nicely dont except some border which are pretty annoying - you can't go over them so you have to jump (even if it's only a cm) -> alerts the enemies. The AI is not the best but they're ok. The singleplayer offered me about 10 hours individual gameplay (story) + a lot of additional time to explore, capture checkpoints, doing nice missions, unlocking perks. Rating for the singleplayer ~8/10
    The multiplayer is UNPLAYABLE!!! Matchmaking does not work, lobbys are bugged %95 and does not start the game. It's not only me - everybody is having these problems and it is a shame they released such a buggy product. When it works the multiplayer is quite laggy -> not really fun. They provided some unique features for example the "killcam" or the dicision if you as a winner execute or exempt the loser. But all in all it's just a ~2/10
    A few years ago it would have been a great game but in 2012 it lacks of quality - and it's a SHAME to release such a buggy game!
    Expand
  70. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    It's not often that a game gets to me (or a 9 either) but when you wake up and the first thing that pops into your head is how you are going to get rid of that troublesome sniper or whether you should go Tapir hunting or not is a sign that it's gotten under my skin. The wow factor is there, the world feels wide open and begs to be explored. The wildlife is amazingly well done, forgetIt's not often that a game gets to me (or a 9 either) but when you wake up and the first thing that pops into your head is how you are going to get rid of that troublesome sniper or whether you should go Tapir hunting or not is a sign that it's gotten under my skin. The wow factor is there, the world feels wide open and begs to be explored. The wildlife is amazingly well done, forget running up to animals and dropping them, the deer are shy and bound away at the slightest sound, you have to stalk these babies, sometimes you'll end up being the hunted and get taken out by something you didn't even see sneaking up on you.The game world is changing and dynamic, you have to think about you actions and run and gun will sometimes work but more often than not you'll end up dead. The story, it's a long time since I was into a story in a game, Far Cry 3s plot is well done and the main villain is superbly scripted and acted. Of course it's not all a walk in the park there are some things that grate a bot and lessen the fluidity of the game, the menu/skills system is a bit clunky and takes some getting used to, the enemy AI is good but the difficulty setting should be ramped up to hardest to be more of a challenge, Multiplayer matches: takes ages to find a game but once you're in....it's pretty damn good, pitched just this side of hardcore, bullets deal heavy damage and good weapon moddeling, some good maps in there and a map editor that'll give people the chance to throw their own creations out there and no rip off rent a sever fees.. Total respect to Ubisoft for getting this game out there, when you see what can be done on one disc and with the aging 360 it makes you wonder why we bother developing new consoles instead of putting the talent into designing the games themselves. Far Cry 3 is what gaming should be, a sense of freedom and possibilities. Anyone one who thinks recycled rehashed cash cows like MW3 and Blops2 are good, try this you'll be blown away. Get it. P.S. Watch out for those pesky tigers Expand
  71. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    The game is simply amazing. You really get into that big and beautiful jungle full of wildlife and hostality. It has been a while since I played a good but at the same time big game as this one. All the features are great and even though the storyline is very good you can have much fun doing other things beside the main plot. Also the crafting system is great, in my opinion not too muchThe game is simply amazing. You really get into that big and beautiful jungle full of wildlife and hostality. It has been a while since I played a good but at the same time big game as this one. All the features are great and even though the storyline is very good you can have much fun doing other things beside the main plot. Also the crafting system is great, in my opinion not too much complicated and perfectly balanced with the game itself. The multiplayer I just managed to try it out and it looks good but since there are not so many players yet there has been a rather big difference between those who already tried it out and those who are new. Even though that my video card is not the recommended one I can enjoy the game with the most things set on high and that makes me even more happy. Expand
  72. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Far Cry 3 is probably the best sandbox shooter and a lovable alternative to those who do not like Borderlands. There is so much to do in this game and makes it very much worth the money. Ubisoft Montreal have fixed all the game ruining glitches that have come from Far Cry 2. But when creating a massive world, it can't be perfect so there are still a few glitches here and there, but in myFar Cry 3 is probably the best sandbox shooter and a lovable alternative to those who do not like Borderlands. There is so much to do in this game and makes it very much worth the money. Ubisoft Montreal have fixed all the game ruining glitches that have come from Far Cry 2. But when creating a massive world, it can't be perfect so there are still a few glitches here and there, but in my experience I have seen nothing so far that has made me unable to complete a mission or side mission. This is an amazing experience and is very enjoyable challenge for people who like to run and gun and the people who love stealth games. Expand
  73. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    An amazing game.I loved the story,freedom and weapons especially,as well as the wing suit/parachute.Though the side missions are mainly dull,the activities such as racing,knife throwing,shooting,poker and hunting missions are all fantastic.There are a few major flaws though.Context sensitivity,mainly healing, is poor throughout and the odd mission glitches out randomly and your syringesAn amazing game.I loved the story,freedom and weapons especially,as well as the wing suit/parachute.Though the side missions are mainly dull,the activities such as racing,knife throwing,shooting,poker and hunting missions are all fantastic.There are a few major flaws though.Context sensitivity,mainly healing, is poor throughout and the odd mission glitches out randomly and your syringes are mostly useless,Medicine and Hunters Instinct being the major ones and the occasional Deep Dive and Invincibilty coming in handy.The two major islands are quite different with the first a true jungle and second being far more open.Also the game isn't as long as you'd initially believe with a completion rate of exactly 90% after 28 hours during my first playthrough on medium.Hard is slightly tougher but not impossible.The main story actually blew me away in several trippy parts and was most enjoyable.All in all a really,really great game,despite some big annoyances.9.5/10 Expand
  74. Dec 4, 2012
    0
    This game is out right phenomenal. Everything from the graphics, (minor screen tear on Xbox but not too bad) voice acting, gameplay, and for how long it is, its one of the best campaigns I've ever played in a game and that's saying something. 30 hour campaign? Yes please! All this and I didn't even mention the beefy multiplayer mode, coop, and it even has a damn map editor! You can makeThis game is out right phenomenal. Everything from the graphics, (minor screen tear on Xbox but not too bad) voice acting, gameplay, and for how long it is, its one of the best campaigns I've ever played in a game and that's saying something. 30 hour campaign? Yes please! All this and I didn't even mention the beefy multiplayer mode, coop, and it even has a damn map editor! You can make maps and host games on them as well. All this for just 60$? Hell yeah! Ubisoft has really out done themselves. GOTY in my opinion. I also forgot to mention that Vaas is one of the best villains in gaming! Get this now and support this excellent game! Collapse
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Apr 8, 2013
    80
    Far Cry 3 reaches for greatness, but falls short at merely being really fun. It has a few hiccups here and there and the story is very thin, but the exploration and combat really shine. It's a worthy addition to any collection.
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    90
    Almost everything about Far Cry 3 speaks to the game’s skilled, confident and tightly interwoven design, and players are free to seek their specific flavour of gratification and victory as Jason becomes the most dangerous animal on the island.
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    80
    The freeform combat, gorgeous locations, and excellent multiplayer are strong, and Far Cry 3 does a fantastic job of putting the player in the middle of a lawless, chaotic world and letting them get up to whatever they please. Yes, video games are capable of achieving much more than Far Cry 3 does, but it makes a persuasive argument that there's nothing wrong with a guilty pleasure now and again—especially when it's as slickly presented as this is.