User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1046 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 12, 2014
    8
    Returning to the island paradise setting of the original Far Cry 3 is, for me at least, the best in the series by far. Having seen family members and friends captured by the psychotic pirate Vaas following an adventure holiday Jason sets out to get them back. Starting as a neutral figure, afraid to even fire a gun at first, he is quickly transformed by his experiences as the game progresses until pretty soon all manner of options are available to the player to best defeat their enemies.

    Truth be told the actual story missions, while usually passable, are far from the most interesting aspect of the game. All too often they fall back on video game clichés with the use of QTE’s and escort missions being particularly irritating. What truly makes Far Cry 3 the game it is, is the fantastic open world that allows for all manner of unique, and totally unscripted, events. Talk to anyone that has played the game and they will tell you of events that only they will have experienced. Fortunately the actual gameplay mechanics are also very good with weapons having a real sense of weight to them as well as the welcome freedom to choose from going in all guns blazing to taking a more stealthy approach thanks to the use of 'Takedown' moves that can be unlocked.

    All in all this one comes highly recommended.
    Expand
  2. Mar 11, 2013
    7
    A really great game. Beautiful visuals, fun combat mechanics, a huge map to explore, interesting and very detailed characters. BUT, all the beauty aside, it is nothing more than a collection of fetch quests and scavenger hunting. Once the novelty wears off you realize just how repetitive it is. Overall: a great game that could have used a bit more variety in activities, when considering how big the map is. Expand
  3. Jan 5, 2014
    9
    Enredo e gráficos e mecânicas são bens trabalhada proporcionando um ótimo jogo.
  4. Jan 6, 2013
    10
    Far Cry 3 is one of the best games of 2012, ill go as far as saying one of the best games this gen in certain areas. You play as Jason Brody, a spoiled rich kid from America who is off partying with his brothers Grant and Riley plus all your friends when you are kidnapped by pirate slavers on the beautiful Rook Island. In an attempt to escape, Grant is shot and killed by the pirates leader Vaas Montenegro and you are left stranded on the island. With the help of the local tribe, The Rakyat and some others willing to stab Vaas and his boss Hoyt in the back and take back the island you embark on a 40+ hour journey of off the rails action as your mind slowly succumbs to insanity.
    You are given a massive playground with the north and south sections of Rook Island with no loading times, hundreds of side missions & activities and a gripping main storyline alongside a robust skills & weapon upgrade system.
    Far Cry 3 is easily one of the best sandbox titles this decade, one of the best shooters and has an excellent but dark and twisted story that isn't afraid to show you what others wouldn't, a must play.
    Expand
  5. Jan 19, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3 completely surprised me, I knew it was gonna be good but I never thought it would be my Game of The Year 2012!!!!! Thought Halo 4 would get GoTY but due to the campaign not been as gripping as other Halo campaigns and Borderlands 2 just passing it out. But enough talking about other games and lets talk about Far Cry 3. The campaign is one the of the best FPS campaigns I have ever played! Doing stuff like burning down a weed farm or hunting sharks or escaping an enemey airfield on a helicopter and many other awesome things. Great story and tons of side missions to keep you playing for hours on end. You also have a CO-OP campaign witch is nothing really interesting, but a little campaign to play with friends is also something to keep you playing this game for longer. Map maker is still fun and new A.Is make to mess around in. Multiplayer is the only thing I have to say they messed up, really outdated, but still good to play but just really outdated multiplayer. Overall, unless Disohnored is perfect (playing it at the momment) Far Cry 3 is my GOTY of 2012. Far Cry 3 9.4/10 Expand
  6. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3 was by far the most exciting game experience of 2012. While other stories like Halo 4 Assassin's Creed 3 had their strengths, Far Cry 3 has the most driven story and villains. Add the great story elements to a fantastic open-world experience that allows you to secure or leave-alone parts of the island, depending on what you would like to do, and you almost have the shooter version of Skyrim. I put roughly 20 hours into the campaign portion, and that's more than any other shooter in recent history. By now, Far Cry 3 is in a bargain bin at GameStop (or elsewhere). The game is worth the original $60 price tag, it's even more-so at reduced prices. If you like shooters with meaningful story, look no further. Expand
  7. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An overall outstanding open world game. Everything seems to work well: The FPS mechanics are solid, the stealth mechanics work surprisingly well, the soundtrack is top-notch, and the graphics are great. The only thing I'm not fond of is the main villain. I loved Vaas, however his boss isn't as interesting as he is. He's just your average jerk drug dealer kinda guy.

    Overall, an excellent game.
    Expand
  8. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    Pure fun. A big open wouold full of great graphics and things to do. Far Cry 2 was terrible and I promised myself not to buy this, but I did. This is soooo much more fun. Everything feels accessible. They don't make the side missions too annoying and as long as you plan properly you will always be rewarded (something EVERY game sould do). Pure fun.
  9. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    It's nothing revolutionary but there is no better way to spend your evenings, or even entire days. A major improvement from Far Cry 2. The stealth, the music, the voice acting, the believable story. Vaas and Hoyt are 2 or the greatest villains in video game history. It's just fun.
  10. Oct 7, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Far Cry 3 is one of the greatest FPS of all time yet sadly falls flat due to a flat plot thats very generic and rather pointless plot or story and the fact that every main character is an excluding Vass who is in my opinion one of the best villains ever to be created, he is the definition of INSANITY.

    Pros:
    -Beautiful Graphics
    -One of the greatest characters of all time, Vass
    -Very enjoyable and fluent gameplay
    -Living breathing island, animals will attack u if they see you
    -AGAIN A LOT AND A LOT OF GODDAMN FUN
    -Physics, amazing physics, burn down the trees, fall damage
    -awesome healing system, basically you can UN dislocate your hand
    -Hunting and skinning animals is very rewarding and makes you feel like a total badass

    Cons:
    -Stupid plot with a very retarded ending, basically kill your friends for no real good reason, just because you can
    -Pretty much every main protagonist and antagonist besides Vass and The crazy drug addict scientist is an including the character you play as making you want the characters to die, also they all just feel so GODDAMN BLAND AND LIFELESS
    -Not enough Vass, only in the game for a very short amount of time
    -After finishing the game their is no new game meaning that the replay value is rather pitiful after taking over all the outposts and collecting all items
    -Skills points are way to easy to get, i played the game of warrior difficulty and found the game to still be way to easy
    -Rubbish coop campaign that feels rushed and is WAY TO GODDAMN DIFFICULT TO PLAY WITH ONLY 2 PLAYERS, which is sad because the story itself is rather badass
    -2 easy to get achievements, ive almost got them all

    Mixed:
    -Multplayer, i had a lot of fun with it yet it feels rather disappointing knowing that the servers are laggy as all hell and it feels like a generic COD like style multiplayer instead of using the amazing environment to create an intressting and different multplayer.

    Overall:
    I really enjoyed Far Cry 3, even if the game had a lot of cons i still very much enjoyed the game because its just so beautiful and you can see so much hard work went into creating the single player experience that all the rushed add on editions feel as if they are easily forgotten
    Expand
  11. Nov 2, 2013
    9
    [9.2] What Far Cry 3 lacks in story quality makes up for so much in the game. It has incredibly beautiful environments with great graphics to support it, very smooth stealth and combat systems, fun activities, and endless amount of exploration, as well as a multiplayer, which may be basic, but works great with Far Cry mechanics. The co-op is also a great way to pass time, and the map editor is the best I've seen in any game, including Halo. There are very few, extremely minor flaws in the game, including occasional glitches, which are often quite funny, and poor writing, which is also often funny. It is the perfect open world experience, with plenty of other elements to satisfy almost any player. Expand
  12. May 14, 2013
    9
    The best game of 2012, yeah just like that, the question is why the hell it wasn't even a contender ta VGA's, probably because vga is full of crap! PS Just what the did to Deus Ex Human Revolution
  13. Aug 6, 2014
    10
    Far cry 3’s engaging introduction instantly inflicts emotion and realism towards the player. The captured pirate and wildlife infested island remains mysterious on its back roads, as Jason Brody, the main protagonist must discover. Although the overwhelming size of the island and customizations, it’s a gamers ever wanted playground. The supporting cast in which the story revolves around are BEYOND amazingly good. The excellent script and creative characters, leaves this game as a remember-able experience. Some of the best unpredictable exploration and free-form open world games sense fallout, which uses its strength of crazy ambition to remain as one of the most appealing and historical mentioned games to date. Expand
  14. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    An amazing game.I loved the story,freedom and weapons especially,as well as the wing suit/parachute.Though the side missions are mainly dull,the activities such as racing,knife throwing,shooting,poker and hunting missions are all fantastic.There are a few major flaws though.Context sensitivity,mainly healing, is poor throughout and the odd mission glitches out randomly and your syringes are mostly useless,Medicine and Hunters Instinct being the major ones and the occasional Deep Dive and Invincibilty coming in handy.The two major islands are quite different with the first a true jungle and second being far more open.Also the game isn't as long as you'd initially believe with a completion rate of exactly 90% after 28 hours during my first playthrough on medium.Hard is slightly tougher but not impossible.The main story actually blew me away in several trippy parts and was most enjoyable.All in all a really,really great game,despite some big annoyances.9.5/10 Expand
  15. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    A game to dive into, experiment and explore. Easily one of the best shooters ever, better even than the original Far Cry. Story and setting are incredible, gameplay is king.
  16. Apr 12, 2013
    10
    So here's the thing. I've just created this account on metacritic with the sole purpose of telling you all how absolutely epic, farcry 3 is. I've played games my entire existence from mario, to resident evil to portal to gears of war etc. but nothing comes even close to this game. From start to finish, the game is completely flawless. Not one bug, not one stupid bit, not one moment of frustration, just pure entertainment value from a absolutely incredible game. For me this has to be the greatest game of all time. I'm on my 6th play through of it and I am still enjoying it, and I never usually go back and play games. All I'm saying is, Vass is a cult legend of gaming. This game is epic. Expand
  17. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3 is a game intent on giving the player a lot of freedom, whilst offering a lot of personality. The stealth is expertly implemented, so you know when to hide and what will get you caught. There is also great strategy, especially when attacking the numerous outposts scattered around the island. The story starts off a bit cliche, with a group of teenagers having their paradise turned upside down, but after meeting Dennis and the primary antagonist Vaas, you will understand how different a beast FC3 is. With its veluptuous landscapes and verdant vistas, Far Cry 3 is a hot prospect, that you should happily sink hours of enjoyment out of. Expand
  18. Feb 24, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3 is one of those games that nearly defies description. Most of the time, when a game tries to reach this wide, it ends up trying too hard and failing at some part of it. The gameplay suffers, the engine lags, the AI is brain-dead, or something else is, if not wrong, just not right. Amazingly FC3 reached for the stars...and caught one. The game revolves around a main character who isn't a hero; he's a spoiled chump who, caught in extraordinary circumstances, metamorphoses into a killing machine dedicated to saving his friends and family from a group of psychotic pirates. So, let's look at some components. Graphics are among the best you'll find on a console, with lush jungles complete with real-time shadows (which are subject to a bit of a dithering problem, but not too awful) and detailed props. Textures are high enough resolution that it never breaks the illusion. The AI is generally intelligent, and adequately inventive to keep you on your toes in a tactical situation. Skills are varied and powerful, making a real impact on the game. Perhaps one of the best components of the game is the weapon modification system, enabling you to tune just about every weapon to your play style. The icing on the cake is a dynamic fire system pirates taking cover in tall grass are no problem, just start a fire and let it flush them out. Controls are solid, both on foot and in vehicles, without any of the annoying twitchiness that can wreck a game. Best yet, the control schema is ergonomic and trying to get something done doesn't interfere with playing the game (who wants to do the inventory hunt under fire?). Missions are varied, interesting, and generally well written. But FC3 really stands out in its writing. This game has one of video gaming's best-ever villains in a psychotic pirate named Vaas. Michael Mando brings vocal life to the insane pirate warlord, creating a character that is, without doubt, one of the best, most engaging villains that has ever appeared in a video game. The entire game is tailored as a major mind-bender, and Vaas rounds out the disconcerting world with his incredibly bent view of the world a view he shares frequently with the player. The writing also extends into philosophical grounds, as the main character's friends react to his transformation from party-hard Beverly Hills to a flint-edged warrior. One would expect, then, the sandbox world implementation to suffer, but it doesn't; there are random events aplenty, and crafting will keep you busy for hours. So why not a 10? Crafting improvements to your gear is effectively over less than halfway through the game, leaving the second half a little too static. Skills top out by the time you're two-thirds of the way through the game, so the only thing left is buying better weapons, but that runs out soon thereafter. The game has the gas to go the distance; it just doesn't quite have the tools and toys to keep itself fresh for the entire time. But don't misunderstand; Far Cry 3 is one of the absolute top-shelf best FPS/RPG hybrids ever made. Game designers and publishers should nail a copy of this to their walls so that they remember what they should be aiming for. Recommended without hesitation, it's a well-earned 9 for Far Cry 3. Expand
  19. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    One of the best open-world games ever made. A truly epic sandbox a great dynamic environment some of the best voice acting and some truly memorable characters deep customisation great graphics the gameplay is top-notch and feels great and the missions all have different events unlike GTA the controls are excellent too a must have
  20. Feb 2, 2013
    8
    Far Cry 3 is a great game, but its flaws keep it from being an amazing game. The story definitely could be better but the gameplay is superb. The game will captivate you for around 5 or 6 hours in but after that, things fall apart in a not so great finale.
  21. Feb 17, 2014
    8
    Far Cry 3 is the best game ever for about five to ten hours, then starting forest fires with a flamethrower and blowing up a animals with an RPG just kind of gets old. I like the story and the setting. The landscape looks great and its really cool that the box art is actually a real spot in the game (try to find it!). The weapon selection and upgrades are nice. I liked how you had to work to open up the map and aim to make targets show up. I felt cheated every time I died due to the game breaking it's own rules. The enemies are a little funny at first, but they only said a few lines, so I got pretty tired of them fast. I spent over 50 hours in the game because I went after absolutely everything, and I can say that there is no reward in getting every piece of loot, so resist being a completionist. The driving should really have been third-person because walking everywhere got very tedious. My car would either explode or get stuck on a twig within 20 seconds of getting in it. The choices of the open world made the game open-ended for different styles of play. For example, I took an outpost with only two bears when I could have used bullets or bombs or arrows. Overall, this title is a good open world game with so much to do and good memories to have, but little short on the story mode and gets slightly repetitive. Expand
  22. Rem
    Nov 7, 2013
    9
    "Did I ever tell you the definition of insanity?" says Vaas Montenegro, the main antagonist of Far Cry 3. I can surely answer that, Far Cry 3 has gotten me insane, but usually because it's just so damn fun. What Far Cry 3 does isn't entirely original, but boy is it ever so polished. The main surprise in this game is the story. Not only is it leaps and bounds above its predecessors, its among the best of 2012. The story, while not consistent, is presented very well with cinematic voice acting and graphics. Rook Island is a beautiful place to explore ranging from jungle to ruin. The fun thing is how it all blends into a cohesive experience. However once you finish the game, there isn't much else to do which is Far Cry 3's greatest flaw. Despite so, it remembers that it is a game and it remembers that is a great game. Expand
  23. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    one of the best games of 2012 is Far Cry 3.This is an amazing game very addictive and fun to play.From the start the storyline is done perfectly as you get deeper into the game it becomes very addictive.From the amazing graphics to the smooth gameplay and the easy controls this game is truly one of the best first person shooter's I have ever played.Even if you are new to the first person shooters you will find the controls very easy to learn.Though this game is a bit difficult all this means is you have to think what to do next on how to accomplish your mission.Far Cry 3 is an amazing game and as you play the game you know the creators took their time making this game and at the end they produced on of 2012 best games.If you love first person shooter's then I strongly recommend this and if you still not convinced just read the other reviews and if you're still not convinced look at the reviews from the critics.Forget the negative reviews those people just don't know what a good game is.Far Cry 3 is by far the best and most addictive and fun filled open world game I have played in a while.It is the type of game that keeps you hooked to your TV screen for hours on end and when you go to sleep you even dream of the game.Thank you Ubisoft for making such amazing and highly addictive games. Expand
  24. Mar 2, 2014
    9
    I've been dying for this game to come out, watched every video, read all the news and rumours, and then when it came out, I skipped my exams, went home and played it for a good three hours straight. And now that I finished it. Here is my "opinon"

    Story: this game focuses on insanity. And while leaving some plot holes, it makes you think is it bad story telling or is Jason Brody insane?
    And a lot of the stuff could be a fragment of his diritating mind?, but from what I gathered it's a great story that keeps you guessing, and while having two okay endings.. It's still pretty unique and covered the insanity tale well. The cast of this game is well done, from spies, to Australians to Germans, to Americans, all is AAA voiced acted. Everyone sounds authentic. The animals sound terrifyingly satisfying. The guns sound different and all the brushes and wildlife sound authentic.

    Graphics: being a console, it has it's pop ins and some screen tearing but overall looks great with a nice sense of cell shade. The fire is the best I've seen, especially when coming from the flamethrower. The rain is all well and good, but sometimes storms appear out of the blue, not in a realistic way, the waters look nice but could of used more splashes when swimming fast, again it is consoles.

    Gameplay: very diverse, stealth works well, and guns blazing is great also, lots of weapons (43) and attachments to buy etc, 85% of this game you choose ur style some missions would require a specific approach.

    Overall it is a reveloutionary single player FPS and it destroys it completion I'm the single player experience, I'm a offline gamer (a rare dying breed) to do everything it take about 35 to 50 hrs, you get ur money's worth, go and buy it now.
    Expand
  25. Dec 15, 2012
    10
    and here we have it, to be honest, Far Cry 2 was a good game, but not quite my cup of tea, it just didn't seem that interesting, and Far Cry 1 I never played it. But I knew what they were all about.
    So my review goes like this: I'm a huge Assassin's Creed fan, and I've been waiting for AC3 for a while, but when it came out, the game was a huge mess. And Far Cry 3 had been delayed. AC3 had
    so many missions, hunting side stuff, challenges, but yet, none gave you anything worth it, the only fun I had was combat and Naval Missions. The game broke my heart.

    But here we have a little bit of what AC3 has, except it MAKES SENSE here, rewarding loot, experience points that actually mean something, hunting is actually needed and fun, the driving is a bit clunky, yes. But overall I'd say this is a GOTY contender, for me
    Expand
  26. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    The thing I found most crazy about this game was that it wasn't even on my radar as being even a semi interesting game until a week before it came out. I remember seeing it during E3 and maybe Gamescom and it showing poorly; subjective of course, but the topless woman seen mixed with Ubisoft's MC did it no favors. So that compounded with an hour long crap experience with Far Cry 2 I had written this one off. Well Giant Bomb had a quick look and I figured that wouldn't hurt and within about 10 minutes I was convinced that I would like this game. So, two days after it comes out I decide I need to have it and pop it in and get going. I remember being totally lost in the first few minutes of 2 and wasn't sure how I was going to tackle this new one. Luckily it sort of eases you into the open island and gives you the basic knowledge of survival (read: crafting). So after about two to three hours I feel like I am blowing through it way to quick and having too much fun and decide I need to pace myself. I found myself thinking about the game while I wasn't playing. Thoughts such as "What things do I need to do next, get materials for crafting? What do I want to craft next? Should I continue with the story or go get more radio towers? What skills should I invest in?". It was wild that I cared this much about a game outside of playing it and then it dawned on me that the last time this happened was Skyrim. I've been somewhat disappointed since Skyrim that nothing has really grabbed me as well and tricked me into throwing 86 hours of my life into it over the course of 4 weeks. Well, Far Cry 3 came to the rescue and scratched that itch. I always liked the aura of Skyrim but never was really motivated to go find cool site seeing locations. With Far Cry 3 I was always wanting to see what was on the other side of the hill and see how far I could see and generally just view this paradise that I was tromping through. The best part was definitely the exploring and being able to scale massive mountains, hang glide [spoiler] wingsuit [/spoiler] for what felt like miles was totally exhilarating. One bit I was surprised by was the driving. They tackled that aspect extremely well so that it doesn't feel like a clunky part of the game you want to avoid and compromise with walking. Jumping in a jeep and bouncing around as you roared through the jungle dodging trees and aiming for enemies felt exactly like I would have imagined it. So that was the upside of Far Cry 3, but unfortunately there were some downsides too. Remember how I was hooked? Well that continued through the first half of the game and a little bit into the second half but eventually the story slows down and doesn't feel as irrational as some of the missions in the first half. There was also a skills tree which I hardly used at all and felt it had little effect on my play through. It was only towards that end that I realized I had all these upgrades available to me and with them I didn't feel like I could accomplish anything more efficiently. While some may argue that certain characters were weak in this game (especially the main) I found it also had some great characters: Vaas and Sam Becker being my favorites. I don't really know who the right crowd for this game is as I didn't think it was myself going in, but I can say I got my brother who normally has zero interest in games to play it and beat it before me. So my recommendation is that if you are interested in the slightest bit, you need to sit down and play 2-3 hours and you will understand what I am talking about. Expand
  27. Dec 15, 2012
    7
    Summary good game, good plot and ending delivery not so great nut otherwise a great game. Well I expected more towards the end and it didn't deliver. Though do not get me wrong I enjoyed my time I just expected it to be more pyshcological. The alternative endings didn't deliver as well, but I mean hey it was a good game and I had a good ride. I expected to track down the person who set us up or sent us to the island in the first place. But this didn't occur. Good selections of weapons and good progression there was a point though where I asked myself why wasn't I playing on the hardest difficulty. Expand
  28. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    When I first looked at this game,I thought it would be decent.But after really fun combat,Great story and lots of exploring,it was way better than I expected.
  29. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    I admit, I am a fan of the African Savannah and of civil war, weapons dealers, and blood diamonds. So when I heard Far Cry was going back to the tropics, I was a little skeptical. Far Cry 3 turned out to be a big step up from its predecessor (not including the general increase in visual quality that most sequels receive). While Far Cry 2 was focused more on the realism and survival aspect, Far Cry 3 provides us with a world just about as beautiful as it is massive. With radio towers, exploration not only is a tourist attraction, it's an objective. Honestly, I will always miss carrying around my GPS and map, searching for blood diamonds, and taking malaria pills (perhaps not that last one), Far Cry 3 provides a more convenient atmosphere more geared towards a thrilling experience. And, a little tangent: Vaas is fricken' awesome. Expand
  30. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The allure of Far Cry has always been the open-ended tactical choices available during each encounter, and the variety of ways you could take down targets. With dynamic variables like aggressive wildlife and roaming pirates, your stealth and aggro options open up more than ever. Expand
  31. Jan 2, 2013
    8
    A fantastic open world FPS set on a tropical island with some decent RPG elements. What more could people want ...... wait there's more. You can punch sharks in the face!....... This time we do not need a bigger boat (see what I did there).

    The graphics on this game are beautiful some of the best I've seen on console, heck they might even rival those seen in GTA 4 and Crysis 2. The
    animals, trees and setting things on fire is pretty decent. Gameplay wise it's your standard first person shooter/RPG but it's actually fun (Unlike some other shooters .... yes you know who you are!). I really love setting things on fire, but the recent update has broken the fire spread .... seriously I used to be able to cause massive forest fires and now I can only set a small patch of grass on fire.

    Audio wise ..... main characters are fine but enemies sound very poor, like they were recorded back in the early 90's.

    Also after you complete the game, there is no New Game+ mode which also hampered the score a little bit. If/when they solve some of the issues then this game would get a 10 from me. Far Cry 3 is the only game where you can do stupid **** and get away with it. PARENTS! Do not let your kids play this game there are a few ........ adult (and very nice) scenes in the game.
    Expand
  32. Dec 17, 2012
    7
    Worth it or not I still deciding on that one. So far as graphics look, vegetation and dirt looks like crap fire and water look great so do skin textures the weapons look amazing and the mechanics are great. On a more negative note this game has been glitching/artifact really bad and if you don't check to see if you have all the download files in place it will crash and often. This game is a 9/10 but with the **** and poor support for fixing it I'm giving it a 7/10 Expand
  33. Jun 20, 2013
    8
    Far Cry 3 is a fantastic open world game. It is easily one of the best games released from 2012. It has characters that are relate-able and have more depth than you would think at first glance. The setting of the island was awesome and is very expansive. The villain Vaas is also amazing, mostly because of his psychotic behavior. I did have a problem with the sheer difficulty in this game. If you don't unlock at least 3 weapons you are going to die a lot.. There are also too many collectibles. I would have been fine with just relics, but they had to have much more than that. It does add more hours to the game, but it seems kind of pointless. I loved Far Cry 3 and love the different play-styles available. Expand
  34. Jan 31, 2013
    7
    Great game. It has some drawbacks though. The menu UI is not user friendly enough. The amount of bugs I've encountered have cost me a few hours of gameplay to have to be repeated. There is way to much busywork and not enough story. The co-op is fun and mp is adequate. Graphically and physxs are spot on what is right with this game.
  35. May 3, 2013
    9
    One of the best games released in 2012, It's perfect in every way, The Xbox 360 version has some framerate and FOV issues, Making the PC version superior(As always).
  36. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    Unlike most of the boring and generic FPS out there, this game lets you roam far and wide, wherever the hell you want. It's more like borderlands 2 than any other FPS I can think of. Even a little similar to assassin's creed. Definitely has an RPG element to it, but don't go thinking you're buying final fantasy. It's a bloody, gory and brutal FPS to the core! Just don't expect run and gun, but also not exactly stealth either. I guess it's pretty unique! Expand
  37. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    While I was hesitant at first to try the third installation in a franchise that I've yet to know or care, after carefully inspecting professional and honest reviews on this game, the hype of this game being "skyrim-with-guns" made me want to put my feet into the unknown territory of Far Cry 3. I couldn't have made a better choice in my life. Let's start from when you start the game. I am quite piqued at the conceptualism of Duality and Insanity voiced through the visuals of the main screen even, and also works beneficially for accessing your menu with ease. But, the one thing that did annoy me the most about this game was not necessarily about the content itself but Ubisoft's constant plea for it's almost unnecessary online pass. While you could play multiplayer without installing this pass up to Level 15, the whole reward on your hand for doing so isn't that significant. Likely, all you'll ever get is 4 achievement challenges which if completed will give you so to say "points" that you can use to download only 4 unlockables, almost all of which could've been in the final game to begin with. Nevertheless, at least it didn't necessarily force you to keep paying with real money, rather than just your dedication to the game itself. But overall, this Uplay is just another hub to bring more uneccessary adverts and lock the customer in a very unfriendly commitment to a company which seems to lie more than what their customer would. Anyhow, back to the game. The singleplayer as a whole is quite astounding, with real and round character development, combined with an engaging environment and tons of activities to do in this game. while you play as a seemingly spoiled college frat boy, you actually almost immediately get past his stereotypes and see the real human in him, and you can see him slowly develop from a person who only knew the life of luxury to a hard-boiled survivalist, something that a lot of games have trouble these days topping off. Jason Brody has morals, and is not a airhead as I thought I'd come to expect. The gameplay itself is also nice, where you can constantly have yourself engaging in a lot of dynamic battles between pirates, hostile animals and maybe even your friends. I do have to say right out the bat that in the singleplayer mode this game provides one of the best pyrotechnics I have ever seen (you can even hear the trees crackle as they burn and the fire spread!). There are a whole assortment of weapons and traps to choose from, varying between out in the open to overall stealthy, and the stealth mode in this game also has a big improvement, with individual enemy indicators rather than universal ones found in Skyrim or Fallout. Skinning animals actually comes to use, as you can use the skins to increase the capacity of ammo, how many weapons you can hold, or aid of the matter. There are internet challenges you can engage in around the singleplayer world, where you can compete with your friends to have your name stamped on a bright red rock as the champion of said challenge. Skills not only diversified but having these skills adds tattoos to your arm, and you can see how detailed your arm will become after amassing a large amount of skills. You can also gain signature weapons from completing other challenges, like collecting relics or lost letters, and there is also a radio tower part of gameplay that works not unlike the Assassin's Creed towers, where you can reveal the map and have certain guns be free for purchase (not the attachments, however). Now, I would say that the singleplayer on it's own would be enough to get this game immediately, but this game is so much more give than take. There is a co-op mode (although it's more of a big shooting gallery with pyrotechnics), a multiplayer mode (with loadouts that you can use in co-op as well) and even a map editor, which allows for much more replayability with the multiplayer even after reaching the highest rank (and you will get there fast, believe me.) There is a decoding system that allows you to get certain camoflauge that also serve to provide some certain attributes to your weapons, and urges you to keep playing as theses decoders are "decoding". Other than the blatant ad spam that is the Uplay system, with a facebook like dashboard that puts a status of you every time you either get top score on a match or complete a challenge, to which people can "like" them. I don't really see the point of this at all as it doesn't serve any purpose to popularize yourself or having any control over what status' should be shown, much less even make your own. But, apart from that, This game is wholly wonderful and you will spend oodles of hours playing player made maps, or making your own, and especially getting some singleplayer in. Hear that, Battlefield 3? This is how you make multiplayer AND singleplayer just as good. Expand
  38. Apr 26, 2013
    8
    Far Cry 3 is an 8 or 9 out of 10. Its so close to being perfect but has a few minor let downs.
    Graphically the game is good. Enemies, landscape and animal etc all look good and bring the island to life. The small issue i had was with distances. Alot of the time the game struggled to display things far in the distance and they occassionally just appear from nowhere. You would spot a huge
    mountain in the distance but the game does not think so. to be fair I looked past this, it did not take away from the game but was a slight niggle. I was a bit unsure of the human enemy AI. It was not bad but it was not great either but when you think of the size of the game world plus the fact that animals in the game are pretty impressively written and add some real tension again this can partially be looked past. I found the story really really engaging until one moment happened. From here the story is not bad but noticably takes a dip (You will know the moment when you play).
    I would say this was in my top 10 games of 2012 and would recommend anyone to play it. you can waste hours just hunting animals!. Don't be put off by anything bad written about it as the game is EPIC. Its just not perfect but when you play it you will see past the same niggles I did.
    Expand
  39. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    I love the intro to the game. I love the open world, I love the huge selection of weapons, the various techniques used to get through missions, like opening tiger cages, sneaking around or just balls to the wall Rambo style. I love how everything in the environment explodes in fires when a car explodes, a flame thrower is used or whatever. I love hunting all the animals and using their skin to craft new items like wallets or ammo holsters which enable you to carry more money and ammo. I love the story and all the crazy vehicles you have at your disposal. The graphics aren't top notch, but it still manages to take your breath away and look extraordinary. I highly recommend anyone and everyone to buy this game as it's now became one of my favorite games. I wouldn't be surprised if Far Cry 3 won game of the year cause it sure as hell deserves it. Expand
  40. Mar 13, 2013
    8
    Overall, its a great FPS, but it does have some flaws. First, the characters is lacking in any personality whatsoever, with the exception of Vaas. Second the driving is very hit or miss, but usually I think its very pointless, like the horses in Skyrim. I mean you can fast travel, and I prefer walking. Its more of an experience. And finally, the thing that really bothers me is whether it was being a serious or humorous game, or both; and if they're trying to do both they don't pull it off well, like in Majora's Mask and Portal 2. With that said though, it's still a great game. The upgrade system is simple to use, there's a lot to do, and its very addicting. Its not the best game of 2012, but it's still a worthy purchase. Expand
  41. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    fc2 was a piece of trash but THIS GAME IS NOT. I don't know how they went from making GAME OF THE GARBAGE (GOTG) to GAME OF THE YEAR (GOTY). Seriously this is the best shooter I've played on 360 probably even in my entire life! Freaking ridiciulous action, the A.I. Is SMOOTH and unpredictable. The graphics are MOUTH WATERING. You won't believe your eyes. Even the plot is super good. F****** amazing game. Expand
  42. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the best FPS I've played in a long time. Although I'm not all about the island or frontier feel to it, the sheer amount of variable tactics involved in this game makes it really fun to play. Stealth, equipment upgrades, and everything else make this a high quality game. The voice acting as well made it more fun to follow the story (which I typically just skip over to get to the gameplay). The only thing I didn't like (and typically NEVER DO) is the plot device involving hallucinations, dreams, or varied states of altered mindframes. Expand
  43. Sep 20, 2013
    9
    This is easily one of the best 2012 first-person shooters I've played. Exploring a large island while undertaking different missions and activities spells hours of fun. Unlocking weapons, getting upgrades, expanding territory and exploring the island leads to a lot of replayability. It's no slouch in the graphics department. While it's not the best-looking game on the 360, it's pretty close. The only downsides are the multiplayer and co-op, both of which aren't very spectacular (and don't justify an extra $10 if you buy the game used). Regardless, this is an amazing game that first-person shooter fans of every stripe should try. Expand
  44. Sep 16, 2013
    6
    A mediocre addition to the Far Cry series. It lacks the simplicity, intensity and rawness of the previous two games. It also lacks the maturity of Far Cry 2. In further comparison to FC2 the damage physics are not as realistic, the weather effects are minimal, the AI are significantly dumber, the day/night cycle is not convincing, and the setting is unoriginal (basically Far Cry 1 with better polish). To me Far Cry 3 was designed to please those people who play whatever fps is trending at the moment rather than true fans of the Far Cry series. As such the game is destined to be remembered for two things only, occasional animal attacks and Vaas. The rest is forgettable. It is too superficial and too easy. I also don't like playing a spoiled and dumb frat-boy in my shooters. Expand
  45. Dec 21, 2012
    9
    One of the best open world shooters released, the graphics, gameplay, sound, environments, characters and scale of the game create a gorgeous atmosphere and a simply amazing gaming experience, there is barely anything wrong with FarCry 3 other then the occasional slight glitch in either graphics or animation which don't really bother much considering most games which aren't open world have more of them Expand
  46. Dec 10, 2012
    9
    Near perfection...so far this game takes me back to the very first in the series which was and still is my favorite but for different reasons. The story in the campaign is so fantastic in this game and the characters you meet are amazing. The voice acting is incredible and you really care about saving your friends and trying to get off this island hell you find yourself trapped in. The visuals are truly gorgeous and I have never seen water that looks so fantastic and real. There is plenty to do other than push the story along even though it does get a bit repetitive. The MP is fun but a tad unbalanced from what i have played so far....for me the campaign is where this game really shines. If you are a fan of the series or have never played them before this is a great jump off point for anyone, make sure to check this game out, it is well worth it! Expand
  47. Dec 4, 2012
    8
    Keep in mind that these are only initial impressions from the first 6 or so hours of gameplay. Overall, I'm impressed with this game! It's gorgeous, and the sound design is pretty good. I refuse to critique a story until I've finished the game, but so far it has me hooked. I did suffer from a few performance issues with the game, and odd glitches here and there (this is almost a standard in any sandbox game it seems). There are a few issues with AI I've noticed.... they can either be really dumb or downright cheap (spot me from 300 yards away when I'm not moving and hidden by underbrush???) But overall it's a great sandbox experience! I recommend this to both FPS and openworld Sandbox fans. Expand
  48. May 15, 2013
    7
    Short answer: This is a fun game, and will become more fun as more people buy it and begin to play online.

    Long Answer: There are a few negatives. The biggest thing is they tried to copy COD (understandable) in a few areas, such as the dogs jumping on you and etc. IMO, I came to this game to get away from COD. You can still knife people through gunfire in this game which is a big
    reason people get angry at the other shooters. Another downside is the lack of multiplayer games and game-types; it is easy to get bored with the small maps and even smaller teams. The killcam is excessive and horrible, and the final cutscenes when you lose a map make you want to rage-quit (it's bad enough that new players have to try and level up against people who have all unlocks). Finally, the damage is so unrealistic, and this is coming from someone who plays COD and BF. STK in this game is excessively high. Expand
  49. Dec 22, 2012
    4
    This game is dreadful. One big fetch quest from start to finish, without little in the way of variance. Locations are all almost the same consisting of revealing an area by climbing a radio tower, then liberating it by clearing 2 enemy bases in that zone. They are all similar little in the way of difference. Once cleared there will be a wanted quest, and or a hunter quest, possibly a villagers quest, and hospital supply quest, repeating in these identically for 18 or so zones. While picking up endless collectibles to whittle the time away. The main story is un-thrilling lacking in much personality, solved by going in with guns blazing or climb, swim to escape. The AI are unintilligent always speaking the same with the same accent in every location, while getting themselves stuck constantly and die so easily on every difficulty. This game blatantly condones drug missuse everything is injected and is from a syringe. While you also slaugther endangered animals to make into bags. Money caps and cannot be collected until a bigger wallet is made, meaning hunting some rare endangered animal and skinning to craft into a larger wallet. You simply cannot pick up more cash prior. The mini game of Texas holdem poker is played entirely wrong. Every time you win a hand even after the table has folded your winning hand is shown. The format of the winning hand is shown by combining the cards with the decks cards leaving you to figured out what your opponents had. Vechiles drive like tanks, often getting stuck on terrain, while mostly it is quicker to run. There are little differences between the various gun types they all handle as easily as an another resulting in the enemy dead very quickly on which ever diffculty played. Once dead you respawn easily there are no penalties.

    A massively disappointingly game where you literally repeating the same thing over on one big fetch quest. Its playtime comes from chasing collectibles. You would really have to be somekind of stoner to find any enjoyment out of this game as it is boring beyond all imagination.
    Expand
  50. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    Maybe I'm a bit of a psychopath: the violence in this game is hands down my favorite aspect. None of the leading FPS out there are this brutal. You can see from the video episodes they were leading up to it. Far more brutal than the previous games. Almost as bad as survival horror but not quite. Awesome gaming violence!
  51. Dec 21, 2012
    7
    Far cry 3 drops you into a beautiful open world full of wildlife, pirates, and mercenaries. the game is very colorful and you will find yourself lost looking at the beauty of the game, under the ocean, on a cliffside and on sandy beaches. the single player was pretty well don, offering around 20 hours of gameplay it is short, but if you go collecting the collectibles and doing the side mission it can extend a bit longer.

    where the single player is so good, the rest of the game lacks, which is sad because the multiplayer in the game is some of the best this gen, simple and elegant the vs mode puts 2 teams vs each other in one of a few game modes including team deathmatch, transmission ( sort of like headquarters) domination, and a mode called firestorm.
    the multiplayer is pretty simple, there is a form of killsteaks that hark back to the COD4 days, there is nothing extraordinarily powerful and things like "scouts" don't last very long the best part about the streaks in this game is you don't lose it when u die. Camping has been a minimum since I got the game.

    now for the issues with the game. lets start with the obvious, bugs in single player are game breaking. unlike most games, you cannot save in more then 1 file, so if your file gets a bug no reloading to last save, some bugs include the inability to use your camera ( can't progress in the game). The multiplayer matchmaking is CRAP, there is no party system, it's hard to play with friends. it's frustrating that in this day in age a game is released without a way to play with friends easily.

    map editor- the map editor was the sole reason farcry 2 was worth it, player made maps were amazing and better then the developer made maps...the map editor in farcry 3 no longer allows vehicles, ammo, or AI. there used to be race maps and many other kind of maps in far cry 2, but they are now impossible.

    co-op, it's an ok mode but not free roam at all, the only real complaint is that it isn't as good as it should have been...

    if ubisoft fixes the multiplayer and map editor this game would be amazing.... but sadly, the best features of the series are not present in the newest game
    that said, far cry 3 is the best shooter this year..
    Expand
  52. Dec 8, 2012
    9
    If you compare this game to Skyrim, you're going to have a bad time. FC3 is great for what it is: an open-world FPS that allows you to play at your own pace. With beautiful environments, fun and rewarding game-play, and relatively interesting characters you'll find it easy to lose yourself for hours on end in Rook Island.
  53. May 24, 2014
    7
    Far Cry 3 is like a bag of those chemically over saturated sweets that come in many different shapes and sizes but ultimately all taste the same. The experience is satisfying but after the deeds are done, there is little to go back to, especially since the main quest tree is so short that you are better off carrying out side missions in tandem with the story.

    The voice acting is strong
    but the plot and especially the script are terrible. The characters are all caricatures and the protagonist is definitely not someone you can sympathize with. Whiny and always overreacting. Admittedly Jason Brody is up creek and I would definitely have emptied my bowels countless times, were I in the same position. Brody is sadly insfufferable. Perhaps it was a conscious decision for the emotional scope to be so on-the-nose but above all the plot is centred around the dehumanisation of the protagonist... That's serious b! Sadly, you might as well have had high school drama students try and re-enact The Pianist. This is a big deal since FC3 is not Serious Sam. It's not a random guy who goes and pillages space-monkeys but a fragile boy who turns into a ruthless beast. The plot is supposedly central and is meant to grip you, yet it merely gropes you and hides.

    Most importantly the shooting mechanics are solid and naturally the source of all things fun. The game is EXTREMELY easy even on the hardest difficulty and beyond. You can hunt animals too RD: Redemption style although I always felt guilty killing the bears and big cats.

    Far Cry 2 is a bad apple for many players but it's odd qualities made it challenging and above all made you think about how you were going to survive. FC3 bears no resemblance to FC2 whatsoever but it would have been nice to see some of the nihilistic and unsettling atmosphere of FC2 back around in this release.

    The murdering is great fun, the world is big and bright but upon completion it felt like wasted time.
    Expand
  54. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    I'm really surprised how much i enjoyed play this game. Based on the first two games review I didn't expect it to be great, but it did look cool so I picked it up. And it did not disappoint, there was so much to do, the island looked great, the story was insane it was a surprise hit for me.
  55. Dec 23, 2012
    9
    The first Far Cry was too little too late for XBOX owners, and as good as it was, missed the point of the PC original. The second Far Cry was a great game on paper, but beset with a legion of issues, some ill-thought-out and some stupidly implemented, that led to frustration for myself and many. This time however, third time lucky is the charm!! Ubisoft implement a very slim but smart plot to a virtual sandbox for an FPS, but before you groan about the well-worn genres, the whole thing is kept alive by intelligent implementation, and a huge amount of fun!! The graphics aren't faultless but they do the job well, and the sound is storming, with a massive hole-peppered wall of eerie fx and music. Don't buy Far Cry 3 because you want another shooter; buy it because you want to play something compelling, but a lot of fun. Expand
  56. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    Nice graphics, imaginative story, good gameplay, open world.
    Unfortunately, it is difficult in many parts of the game. For example, to be shooting at the enemy, and they are coming from the three, and even a man must also be protected. I found there forever. But really, it's a very good game.
  57. Jan 6, 2014
    6
    Positives: Good production value, loved the open world aspect, variety of weapons and tools.

    Negatives: Excessively repetitive, graphics for most secondary NPCs and textures were very sub par, main voice actor was not very strong.

    If you play games to get achievements then Far Cry 3 is your game....lots of hide and go seek achievements: find these relics (they all look the same),
    find these memory cards, kill this animal, kill this person (they all look the same), take over this base (it looks just like the last base you took over), unlock these weapons we stole from Call of Duty, etc, etc. The game got very boring to me other than 3 or 4 really fun sequences in the main story in between hours of doing the same thing over and over and over.

    I was really hoping for a better game based on the reviews. However, I like games with good story telling and more variety and this game simple didn't have enough of that to justify a better score...however it did hold enough of my interest to play it until the end, which obviously means I still enjoyed it to some degree.
    Expand
  58. Jan 29, 2013
    10
    Amazing, literally amazing. The missions are so much fun, I mean there are some straight forward, kinda meh missions but there soem absolutely bonkers missions which don't even feel like a first person shooter but more of a japanese insanity game. seriously though, this game is my favourite game of 2011 - 2013. it is absolutely beautiful, the graphics, the story, it's so compelling and you really become jason, the protagonist. he slowly becomes more insane and more hungry to just kill, you get that same feeling as you get more skills, especially takedowns, they inspire my bloodlust in the game. A MUST BUY. Expand
  59. Feb 26, 2013
    8
    Far cry 3 was an interesting game, mixing exploration, fps and a few rpg elements together to form something which played out rather well. A decent story, good re playability and a rather amazing island to explore make farcry 3 an experience you should definitely check out
  60. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    If you can get past the ample screen tearing and poor framerate, Far Cry 3 is or is one of the best games of the year. The gunplay is some of the best I've experienced all gen. Finally a game where the enemies aren't all bullet sponges. People without armor are finished in 2-3 shots while the heavily armored guys require a couple of clips ( or better yet, a couple grenade arrows). The action and animation make you forget about visuals allowing for an incredibly immersive experience and the gameplay doesn't get stale due to the myriad of combat strategies and the visceral gunplay which benefits greatly from realistic enemy health amounts. I almost didn't buy it because I'm a total graphics whore but I love the game, it's the quintessential triumph of gameplay over graphics. If you have a PC that can handle it, get it on that instead but I'm loving it on 360 despite the very overly stressed engine. Lastly, the pacing stinks - I have no idea how the main character becomes Rambo after never firing a gun prior. Notwithstanding, the voice acting and interesting characters (aside from the boring protagonist) make for an entertaining SP campaign. Expand
  61. Jan 17, 2013
    7
    Story, gameplay and associated mechanics are good, gunplay is very solid. It should have been a classic, however, I refuse to believe that these professional reviewers have touched the console versions to give it such high praise. The immersion is often ruined by the persistent screentearing and framerate drops. The XBOX is simply not capable of handling it properly. The environments don't look polished enough either. A pity, as there's obviously a great game struggling to get out - get it on PC Expand
  62. Dec 16, 2012
    0
    Many people might love Far Cry 3, but I give it a 6 out of 10 because it had many things I don't like in an open world game: there aren't much activities or minigames around, there is poker, knife throwing and racing for what you can do anytime, the rest of the activities (like bounty hunting, "path of the hunter", etc) are finite, once you complete them you can't redo them. I'm not saying they should make a replay option, I'm saying that the AI should be able to generate randomly these activities and create infinite possibilities to them. The story is great, but I think the creators of this game focused too much on it, but alright, it's better to have a good story than a bad story. And although I disliked the main character, the villains are outstanding. Gameplay is great, but it's a shame you can only spend your money in guns or maps. Another thing that let me down was the fact that it's pretty fun killing pirates around and you don't want them to disappear once you take an outpost. Not to mention you need to play the story to unlock most of the recipes and skills (90% of skills and 60% of recipes). Side quests are just bad and for the record, you race against a clock on the racing activity, not against other NPCs. So considering it is an open world game and the side quests and activites to do to enjoy freedom are bad despite the awesome story, I give that rating to this game, it's just a decent game for me. But still, my gaming taste is a bit different, so I think FC3 might be great game for average gamers and fps fans although I give it a 6/10. Expand
  63. Nov 28, 2013
    9
    Positives:
    -Open world allows for good pacing when it comes to action. Also, it is in the jungle and you can hunt wildlife.
    -Go in guns-a-blazing or stealthily. Pick people off from long range or go up close!
    -RPG elements such as upgrading equipment and gaining new skills as you progress.
    -Likable archnemesis in Vaas and a few interesting characters though nobody is really fleshed out
    including yourself.
    CONS
    -Story line is blockbuster action esque (meaning it's kinda lame but nobody really cares). Your character goes from being an everyday American wus like you and me to a bad ass warrior who kills 100s of people.
    -Dubstep
    Expand
  64. Jun 19, 2013
    8
    Far Cry 3 is an awesome game experience, as it boasts an unusual yet amazing gameplay. Stealth is a major factor and makes you feel like a ninja. The interface is easy to explore and the open world is beautiful, original, and humongous. The campaign is outstanding on all levels.

    The multiplayer is the low side to this game, as not many people play it and it truly isn't all that
    entertaining. It is not awful, but it isn't good.

    The co-op campaign is pretty fun, and each mission is extremely long (good or bad? You decide).

    There is little replay value, but admittely, it takes forever to finish all 100% of the game.

    Overall 8

    Campaign 10
    Multiplayer 6
    Co-Op Campaign 7
    Replay Value 3
    Expand
  65. Jan 15, 2014
    5
    The story is unique. It includes survival and action/adventure. However, I just wish there were more story missions. There's lots of things to do. I got tired of Far Cry 3 one time. Coop is terrible because it seems like I could never get to the last mission. People kept quitting the game and then I had to start over. I'm not complaining. Vaas is the main character because Rook Island is his home, and it shows Vaas on the front cover. Overall, Far Cry 3 is average. Expand
  66. Dec 25, 2012
    9
    Game of the Year-material without a doubt. The game's storyline is good, but it's probably not what you'll buy the game for: you buy the game for the tropical islands it is set on, in which you can do whatever you want; wanna go fight some bad guys? Go ahead. Want to fly around the islands in a wingsuit? You can do that. Want to enjoy a beautiful sunset on one of the beaches? Go right ahead. Combat is a blast, and caters to pretty much any playstyle. Voice acting and character animation are top notch. Only a few things hold the game back from a full 10/10: at times, the framerate drops quite drastically, and minor glitches tend to show up at times (though they aren't gamebreaking). Long story short, if you enjoy adventure games and/or FPS games, this is your game. Buy it, you won't regret it/ Expand
  67. Dec 18, 2012
    8
    1. Story line: Far Cry 3 has been by far the best FPS game I have played this year. The story line was pretty well written; while it felt a bit rushed and leaves more questions than answers though, it
  68. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    Having never played a Far Cry game before, I decided to try this one, not expecting to be as blown away as I was. Far cry 3 is no doubt one of the best games I've played in years. The graphics are stunning and the visual animations are fantastic. The sound effects are also varied and very realistic. The huge far cry world is completely immersive, and when paired with an intense story line, creates an unmissable experience. Expand
  69. May 18, 2013
    10
    This is now my favorite all-time game! Half-life 2 was previously my 1st person favorite. Then Call of Duty. Then Battlefield Bad Company. Then Bioshock 1, 2, Infinite. (I probably missed a few amongst my collection skyrim, etc...) but Far Cry 3 did EVERYTHING right! I hated Far Cry 1 and 2 because you either spent all your time looking for a gas mask or spent hours mudainly walking from one location to another hoping to find a vehicle somewhere. If you hated these elements with previous Far Cry 1 and 2, but liked the atmosphere of exploring an island, you'll really, really enjoy Far Cry 3. The nice overhead map lets you quickly travel from place to place plus there are vehicles, jet-skies, hand-gliders all over the place where you can choose how to specifically approach each mission/bad guy camp (usually involving capturing an enemy encampment using a different set of strategies/weapons). You can go in guns blazing or secretly snipe or hand take down each enemy. Just toss a rock to then sneak up behind them. There's plenty of encampments so you'll get your chance to try another strategy again. Then there's the really neat way you upgrade your guns and medicine. To build bigger ammo type pouches to carry more ammo, you hunt certain animals in one of the best hunting type games around. Animals will charge you and protect their kind. Or you may see a Cheetah chasing a deer for easy pick off. There's snakes, there's sharks, there's dogs, buffalo, deer komodo dragons, etc... each one's hide improving what you can carry. another big plus is that you can still run just as fast regardless of what you carry. i hate it when games only allow you to run a short distance fast or slower with more gear. Climbing the towers to make new areas visible was a brilliant design move. Each tower in itself is a challenge to climb and one wrong step sends you tumbling to your death. The scenery alone is unbelievable and you really get a sense of vertigo (not recommended for those afraid of heights!). The graphics are top notch to make you feel like you are right there! The plot is basically you, a weak, non-fighter type of guy must take on the role of rescuing your friends forcing you to learn new skills along the way. It's not the best plot but one you'll remember. Don't expect to fight any huge monsters in Far Cry 3 but you can expect a clever AI which tries to surround you, outflank you, or run for cover. I actually enjoy Far Cry 3 over Bioshock Infinite! I've been playing it non-stop for a week now. There's so much to do and so much to see that any minor, minor, minor glitches can easily be overlooked. It's a near perfect game in my books short only to actually being on the island. It's an experience I'll always remember (like fighting the war of the world aliens in Half-Life 2). What I think I like the most about Far Cry 3 is that you approach each situation differently so strategy Is a big factor. Strategy and the type of weapon you use are important. I haven't even mentioned the dream sequences which you'll have to see for yourself. The only mission i really didn't want to do was burn up all the bad guys pot plant fields (for personal reasons). I was reluctant to dish out the $60 for Far Cry 3 given all the things I didn't like about 1 and 2 but they did everything right with Far Cry 3 and I couldn't be happier about spending the dough! Money well spent. I didn't try the multi-player but I think Far Cry 3 is one of the best single-player 1st person shooter/adventure games currently on the market. Expand
  70. Apr 6, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Before I start this out, I have to say: Vaas is a mother******* badass! He is the most menacing and psychopathic villain I've ever come across, he's deranged and creepy, yet still unpredictable because of his calm attitude. But then.... BAM! He backlashes while Jason Brody is soiling himself. He is so good and so developed that you'll wish he was in more of the game. It was a total disappointment when I had to kill him half-way through the game and we encounter the other villain: Hoyt, who I totally forgot about and is not as memorable as Vaas. There are also genuine moments in this game where I was like "OMG! I did not expect that to happen!" It's also interesting with all the subtle details of the story: The character's bickering over how they're going to get off the island and then Jason's build-up as a character when he gradually starts to like killing people. He even begins to enjoy this so much that instead of leaving with the others, he chooses to stay on the island just to kill Hoyt. A testament to how motivated he has become. Despite all this I didn't know what to make of the ending option where you kill your friends and have sex with Citra. What's the point of that? You already had sex with her earlier in the game anyway. I'd rather he escaped off the island with his friends. Both options leave hardly anything of an impact on me.

    The gameplay is diversified, allowing you to select your own options of whether you want to go in stealthily or guns-blazing. This adds variety to the game and allows you to play how you want to play. Vehicles have this free-flowing feel to them, while also reacting to uneven terrain which gives them a realistic feel. The whole island is vibrant and enriched with detail, it is interesting to explore, especially with the gliders and air-wings at your disposal. Wildlife further solidifies it as a living, breathing island and they're not too many of them so they never become an annoyance. Skinning animals to sell in shops in exchange for resources like superior guns and equipment is well worth doing, especially when going on a rampage. You earn experience points by doing side-missions, getting collectables, outposts, main missions etc. These help upgrade your skills and there are some pretty unique things to unlock here. The side missions are fun aswell, some keeping with the theme of massacring everybody that's near you, traversing the island in an efficient time by vehicle, stealth takedowns, helping random strangers out. The last is clearly the worst as I had no reason to care about the inexplicable dilemmas they got themselves into, whereas the rest focused on what the game was about and I loved it for that. The mini-games are a fun diversion but they could of implemented them better. Poker was just mediocre. See "Red Dead Redemption" to know how to make a real poker mini-game.

    The co-op is nothing special as it just feels like a severely watered-down version of singleplayer. Needless to say, I didn't care for it much. The multiplayer is nothing note-worthy either, it's essentially a COD clone but atleast it's functional which is more than I can say for a lot of other games. The Collectables have detail surrounding them, from what the guy who wrote it was doing in a past life or what it is about. It adds more depth to them but they're still not all that interesting and a chore to collect, I may add. Last final gripe I have is with the over-usage of quick-time events for boss battles. It's extremely lazy, they already a cool concept with the all drugs thing but it wasn't really expanded that much and they missed a massive opportunity for some incredibly creative battles. Overall, Far Cry 3 despite its flaws is an unforgettable experience and should not be overlooked.
    Expand
  71. May 15, 2014
    9
    A 9 or a 10. That's what this game deserves! One of the best fps games out there! I hated the second one so the third... I wasnt convince... got it for 20$ at walmart and god dam*** it's worth it !! so engaging in every details... so many ways of getting job done. so many side tasks.

    BUY IT IF YOU DONT HAVE IT
  72. Jul 27, 2014
    8
    Good game. The story is great, Jason Brody is an interesting and compelling character, Vaas' character is only surpassed by The Joker the the Batman: Arkham series IMO. He's interesting, unpredictable, bad-ass and INSANE. There's lots of things to do in the story mode, Side-quests, Mini-games, Hunting, Assassination, Exploring and just plain annihilating the pirates! Crafting and the Ta-tau add an interesting twist on leveling up, and the take-downs leave you feeling bad-ass. Now i normally dont like Quick-Time-Events (QTE's) in games, but FarCry 3 does them very well. They are well co-coordinated and they do not feel like a last second addition as the did in Halo 4, overall the QTE's are very satisfying, you'll know what i mean when you play FC3. Expand
  73. Dec 26, 2012
    9
    Far Cry 3 is one of the greats of 2012. Has a great mix of combat, stealth, and exploration. Only bad thing would have to be story for me. I mean, I guess I liked how you were just some random person caught up in crap events and learned to survive and all, but most of the story did not appeal much to me.
  74. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    This is hands down one of the best open world games I have ever played. They get so much right and only minor details can be listed in the cons for this game. The story, the voice acting, the gameplay. They knock everything out of the park. This is the best FarCry game to date, and one of the best FPS titles of the year.
  75. Jan 7, 2013
    10
    Usually G4TV's reviews feel almost like they were paid off by the company, but they are so spot on it's sick. This game is incredible. That's the only word that can describe it. The most captivating game I've ever played. I loved Far Cry 1 and 2, but this is a game you get your money's worth 10 fold. Don't think twice about it... besides possibly Bioshock and Watch Dogs, game of the year.
  76. Jul 7, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A great game with a nice open world to explore with a bunch of different collectibles to find and collect. The story isn't all that great, but the gameplay and missions make up for it greatly. It's really fun to play and the graphics are really good. However, there are quite a few bugs that I experienced with this game while playing. The characters are also really great, Vas is one of my favorite villains in a video game. Expand
  77. Jan 26, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Far Cry 3 is such a good game, even if theres a not so good end, because of his grat gameplay, bloody story, and an amazing open world game, i recomended Expand
  78. Jul 25, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this game was amazing. the graphics, world, exploration, gameplay, and variety were all superb. however, the story had many problems. the game was supposed to be a satire, about an american rich, white teen who dreams of killing. so he conjures up this fantasy about some island whose natives are being attacked by evil pirates and they desperately need his help to defend themselves. so he dreams of rescuing everybody, killing vaas and hoyt, and becoming king of the warriors. at the end, when citra kills you, she is basically like "take that, you misogynist, racist dude!" that's the deal with the alice in wonderland quotes, you being called snow white by the locals, and the story so heavily revolving around dreams. Expand
  79. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    Brilliant open world game with so much to see and do. I love games that allow me to explore go anywhere do anything as i wish, and Far Cry 3 allows me to do that and so much more. A few of the missions in the campaign are a little poo, but the rest is just fantastic. Can't wait for Far Cry 4 on next gen.
  80. Dec 17, 2012
    9
    Far Cry 3 is one of the highlights of 2012, an open world FPS with solid shooting mechanics, awesome action set pieces and memorable characters all brought together to make a brilliant game. Story wise, you play Jason Brody a 20 something American adrenaline junky who is on holiday with his friends and brothers, enjoying the clubs, the booze and thrill seeking high life of someone brought up in a wealthy family. As the game starts, Jason and his companions are kidnapped by the brilliantly psychotic Vaas, who intends to hold them to ransom and then sell them as human slaves. Jason manages to escape but his brother Grant is killed in the process, after a hectic escape sequence Jason wakes up in the presence of the Rakyat people, the native inhabitants of Rook Island who are fighting a losing battle against Vaas, the mercenaries he controls and their equally as insane leader Hoyt. Jason must follow the path of the warrior in order to rescue his friends and lead the Rakyat people in the fight against the mercenary invaders. The Single player is brilliant, a lush tropical island with plenty of amazing places and hidden collectibles to find. Along the way you will unlock new weapons, meet larger than life characters and learn new skills symbolized by the TaTau on Jason's arm, which grows more detailed with each new skill learned. I can't fault the single player, the co-op is a nice addition which while it does feel less attention has been made there, is still a very enjoyable experience. The multiplayer is par for the course, its got some unique ideas but mostly feels the same as other FPS games out there. The map editor is diverse and gives you a lot of creative options, one of the reasons the standard maps are so few is the expectation for the community to create the maps they want to play. This is a VAST improvement over the frustrating experience that was Far Cry 2. A definite purchase recommendation. Expand
  81. Dec 9, 2012
    9
    It's like minecraft, but... Farcry. Farcraft.

    Oh, and the story is twisted, engrossing, and savagely entertaining. Shameless. SO SO SO SO SO SO GOOD
  82. Dec 13, 2012
    9
    Thank God for Ubisoft Montreal an the Canadians for saving my gaming year. This year was set to be one of the greatest years in gaming ever with so many hotly anticipated AAA titles all releasing in time for Christmas, then many of them turning out to be a disapointment. I personaly had my eye on Hitman Absolution and Far Cry 3, Hitman Absolution turned out to be a huge disapointment as it took away all the huge free roam do what you want when you want as you want....but thanks to Far Cry 3 that huge free roam do what you want when you want as you want is all here intact just like it was in Far Cry 2 (which i also loved). Far Cry 3 is VERY ambitious, the map is 10x the size of Far Cry 2 and has 10x as much going on in it. One of the big things you will notice is how many animals this game has , i think it pretty much has every animal in the world in it, all of which look surprisingly good and roam around the living world grazing or being chased an eaten by prey, for instance you will witness tigers, jaguars, bears, komdo dragons etc chasing and eating wild boars, buffalo ,deer etc etc, or see people down by the stream suddenly get attacked an eaten by crocodiles (they all chase and eat you too) or great white sharks will circle an investigate your boat an give it a lil nibble before darting off, or will attack you if in the water. Then there are smaller fish like beautiful coral reef fish to small lake fish all darting around, tiny bugs and birds to parrots to crabs etc etc, the whole island just feels alive like a real island and gives you a sense of paranoia that your being stalked (sometimes you are by a bear or something). You also have to kill and use these animals to make gun holsters, ruck sacks,pouches etc as you progress, more difficult animals make for bigger holsters.pouches etc. Graphically the game looks great but you cant help but feel its trying to scream out "i know i know Im sorry, Im supposed to be next gen, gimmie a break" everything around you looks very well detailed and very close to Far Cry 2's graphics, but then things way way off in the backround like a few mountains look pretty bad, its as if the game is far too big and ambitious for current gen consoles, but on the whole if you liked Far Cry 2's graphics then you will like this, close up its very pretty an very detailed and because the game is so big with so much content you can forgive the few bad parts off in the far backround. It has a great selection of guns that can be bought an modified,from pistols to sniper rifles to rocket launches to bow an arrows, theres a big selection. The cutscenes look beautiful an the story is pretty cool too.It has lots of veichles from cars, boats, jet skis, quad bikes, handgliders, jeeps etc. Ive been playing forrrr aboooout 9 or 10 hours on medium difficulty so far and i dont think ive even scratched the surface of the campaign an only explored about a 1/3 of the map so far. This really is a great an beautiful looking game that will keep you entertained for ages, well worth the full price and gets my vote for game of the year. (Although i havent played Assasins Creed 3 yet as its wrapped up nicely under the tree waiting for Christmas day) having said that im a huge fan of open world sanboxs that i can explore an do as i wish in, so Far Cry 3 will still probably get my game of the year award. Expand
  83. May 9, 2013
    9
    Fantastic game, absolutely loving it without a doubt. I'll be honest, when I heard about it initially, I wasn't too keen on getting it due to Far Cry 2 being so terrible and frustrating. However, I did decide to rent the game and upon playing it for quite some time, I felt like an idiot for not buying it sooner.

    I'm going to take a dig at a few people writing reviews complaining about
    the graphics for a start, people have stated that "for a 2012 game it's graphically terrible". What? Graphically, I think the game does pretty well, if you want to see terrible graphics? Head on over to whatever game shop you like and buy The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct. Now THAT game is beyond awful when it comes to graphics.

    Anyway, Far Cry 3 A very sound storyline. Not a lot of games have well scripted voiced storylines nowadays but this game does it pretty well. It's interesting too, and the villian is pretty awesome. Hunting, now that is something that I like. Love the feel of being in the wilderness with a bow, picking off animals and then skinning them to help me craft materials that benefit my gameplay. There are a good amount of things to do, meh they can be repetitive but what game isn't nowadays? Customization is decent, the scenery is nice to look at and the game has quite a lot to offer especially for an FPS.

    I'd recommend this game to all of my friends, and especially people I don't know. Buy it, rent it You'll enjoy it.
    Expand
  84. May 27, 2014
    9
    Loved the environment, the graphics, gameplay and story. All of them very very good. Vaas is a great character man... One of the bests. Besides being easy, it's fun and immersive. Waiting for Far Cry 4!!
  85. Aug 31, 2014
    9
    This is a genuinely excellent game. It's rich in almost everything, the tropical island environment, the gunplay, the rpg elements, the detail in everything. it's a fantastic campaign that is great even when you play it over and over. However, the multiplayer is pretty bad but i'm willing to overlook that.
  86. Dec 8, 2012
    8
    Full play-through review. The story in Far Cry 3 is epic and one of its bright spots. Most shooters have a lame to semi lame story that feel like they are there just to connect one level to another, but with FC3 the story drives the action forward. I don't want to give anything away, but at the end of the game you have a hard choice to make, and the reason the choice is hard is because you have become attached to the characters and the different sides... this is testament to the great voice acting and spot on animations. I actually cared what happened. Graphically the game is beautiful and adds to the immersion. The combat is a lot of fun... personally I like the sniping and stealth aspect which works very well. I was worried about the predators like the leopards. I wondered if they would pounce out of every other bush. I am happy to report that run-ins happen, but the encounters are random and do not happen all that often. The autonomous A.I. makes for some interesting and random action. For example, one fight I was trying to move into position to knife kill a target when some friendlies in a boat caught the attention of my prey, thus giving me the distraction to go in for the kill. My main gripe with FC3 is in the middle of the game, before you are allowed to go to the second island, you have to do a series of main missions that are a grind at best and really annoying at worst. One mission has you doing a kill free corridor stealth run, another starts you out with only a knife and a set area that you are confined to, while another has you defending a position while a friendly AI does a repair... and failing the mission five times because he keeps getting shot from multiple angles. These quests were stripped of the very thing that makes the Far Cry series so great... choice. Also some of the real time events were just frustrating... and if you do not hit the right button at the right time you have to start over and do it again. But despite some major mid game annoyances and a couple of the more challenging real time events, the rest of the game is amazing... albeit a bit busy. I did not do the hunting, racing, collecting items (unless I ran across them) I stayed to the main and side stories and the outposts, assassinations and towers. Expand
  87. Apr 8, 2013
    9
    Did I ever tell you what the definition of insanity is? It's playing the same game over and over again thinking "This time, it's gonna be less fun than the last time." That is crazy. This one time, this guy told me he liked the game, and I thought he was bullsh*tting me, so boom, I shot him. Did I ever tell you what the definition of insanity is?
  88. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    Miles better than Far Cry 2 overall, now you don't have to drive tediously to your next objective and enemies doesn't pop out of nowhere harassing you while driving. Hunting for upgrades is a real nice touch to the game as well as the leveling system
  89. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    First off this game is perfect, now that I have said that, I would like to say I did not like Far Cry 2, the main problem was the malaria, breakable weapons and all around boring to the core, well with this game they have not just fixed these problems but added a lot of great things to it. The first thing I would like to talk about the game is the hunting mechanics because this is my favourite part of the game, hands down. I love the way hunting is done, from the rewards that come with skinning an animal to unpredictable animal encounters. What made it great was having the bow because this weapon is probably one of the best weapons I have ever used, great for taking out animals as well as using it to stealthily kill everyone in a camp without being detected. Everything else is great about the game too, the characters are fun and interesting, especially Vaas and the gameplay is fun too. The missions are fun to play and there are plenty of replay value, from side missions to capturing bases. I've gone on too long with this review but I wanted to tell how amazed I was at the game and how fun and big it was, also the map is probably the one of the biggest ones I've seen in a game. Bottom line the game has great gameplay, great characters, great story, great replay value and, of course, a great hunting system. 10/10 (BTW did I mention I love the hunting system?) Expand
  90. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    After playing this for over 25 hours now, I can honestly say this is probably my favorite game of all time. I have never played any of the Far Crys before this one, but I will be picking up 2 after I am done with this. I don't expect 2 to be as good as 3 but if it's half as good it should still be a great game. This is most definately a must buy. GOTY
  91. Dec 11, 2012
    8
    Actually,this is an really AWESOME sandbox shooting game for those players who is new to the Far Cry series...but for the FANS...there is some TINY---VERY TINY disappointment in this game...especially...those total Far Cry 2 fans..... First of all, there's NO GUN JAMMING in this game...many people may ask "Isn't that nice ?"...Well, for those FPS player who wants to have a smoothly gunfight like the COD..."YES.".....but for those FC2 fans...that was really unacceptable...cuz it's fun and it's realistic for those hardcore FPS players....i know that sometime the mechanism is quite frustrating,but it is its feature---FUN and DANGEROUS, isn't it ? Second,the MONEY....yeh...i know that earning money fast isn't bad...but in Far Cry 3 ....it's just too damn fast !!! It just makes all this survival feeling game become tooo EASY for those hardcore FPS player or those who struggle finding diamonds in FC 2....(and yes, prefer the diamonds in FC 2) Third,there is no SLEEPING SYSTEM in these game..so..if you want to have a night walk of stealthy killing...you have to wait----till the sun set......and that's really damn long... And last, the HEALING SYSTEM is really really worse than FC2...it's just too "easy" for me---a FC2 player. So,if you are new to these kind of game....i highly recommend it ........it's a must buy for sure..........but for those FC2 fans...i think they should think twice whether you are ready to let go those fun experience and accept those new things... Still, i'll give this game a 8.3/10 for bringing soo much fun to me. Expand
  92. Jul 30, 2013
    9
    This is a good game that deserves it's score if you buy this game the odds are you will have a good time playing it even though some parts of the game are difficult and will get you annoyed you will eventually overcome them which in away is good because every game needs a little bit of challenge.
  93. Jan 15, 2014
    9
    The overall graphics, level design, face renderings, character voices and animations are all incredible. The detail is staggering when stopping to take a look at just about anything. I didn't experience a single crash which is uncommon with games this size and speaks to the overall quality of the development. The game started a little slow for me since the player must craft certain important items from animal hides you laboriously hunt (or hunt you), and I also spent most of the time in the bushes with a crossbow throwing endless rocks to manipulate the pirates for stealthy take downs. But later, the game did speed up after the tedious starting items and story elements were completed, and it felt more like an FPS and less like Thief. The skill tree is helpful and not too obnoxiously big or complicated. Movements are fluid and precise. I didn't care for the single save, forced crafting on most items, repetitive engagements with Vaas (definition of insanity?), and monotonous side quests (which you start to feel towards the end). I didn't play FC1 or 2, but this was on sale for $14.99 and though I'd give it a try. I'm glad I did, it's truly an elite game. Be patient with it, the rewards are big. Expand
  94. Dec 24, 2012
    6
    An island sandbox with elements of Assassin's Creed (climbing tall phallus shaped objects), Red Dead Redemption (hunting), and World of Warcraft (terrible skill tree). First, the worst part of the game is the addition by duck tape of a bare bones RPG skill tree. The skill tree, by the end of the game will feel like it was a cocoon wrapped around you preventing you from playing how you should have played from the first minute on. The best part of the game is that it it is easily the most responsive shooter I have ever played. When playing you will feel like you are in more control of Brody than any game character you have played. Every shot you miss, you will never feel like it is lag. The game is so responsive, you will unconsciously take responsibility for ever mistep you make.

    I score it down because, like Darksiders 2, Far Cry 3 should have been in development for another 3 to 6 months. In short, the first half of the game is brilliant, while the latter half plays like a pc tech demo.
    Expand
  95. May 22, 2013
    9
    This is the first game I have ever pre-ordered, so that in itself should give you an overview of the game.
    In fact, given the open world, animals, RPG elements and one mission in particular which involves blowing up stuff to "Make it Bun 'Dem" I would love to give this 10. However, the final act of the plot, which felt last-minute and pointless (though at points engaging and awesome),
    really deflated my opinion of the campaign. Do not let this stop you though, its an amazing open world, with lots of stuff to do, whether it be hunting, challenges, or simply pissing off pirates GTA style. Expand
  96. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    I counted the other day that I've completed at least 22 Xbox games' single player campaigns and also played many other games I haven't bothered finishing Far Cry 3 is in the top 3 games I have played It's an open world FPS and will take up a lot of your time very good value for money Great main story with a vast amount of other content including taking out military bases by stealh or all guns blazing

    A good leveling up system and much more to keep you busy

    I know everyone is entitled to their own opinion but I can't understand the few negative reviews on this site

    If you buy one FPS this generation make it this one
    Expand
  97. Dec 14, 2012
    8
    My thoughts are mixed about this game. I bought it the day it came out but when I started playing it i was not sure what to think. The graphics are really stunning. Farcry3 uses the same as battlefield 3 what makes the game feel very real. But frame rate can be very slow sometimes and some glitches can occur. If you like playing games that feel like a real world this is the game for you. But if you rely more on multiplayer action then consider buying black ops 2. Expand
  98. Dec 30, 2013
    8
    I'm totally enjoying playing this game! blowing up the enemy with mines and c4, sniping them from a distance, and I really like using the bow with flame and exploding tips, and the normal arrows are good for taking out guards too.
    I like the way you can knock off enemies using different knife techniques/take downs.
    And those damn guard dogs! :-)
    and here it comes.....the AI is not
    consistent. I find that sometimes I'm next to an enemy and they don't see me, but other times they do. This makes it difficult to predict or how to approach an enemy base camp.
    I don't think I'm going to bother finding all the relics. I'm not sure if there is a point to or if you are awarded with doing so.
    The game is getting a little repetitive, but still fun to play. Graphic are good, I turned the music off so I don't know if it is any good.
    Its not quite a 9 or 10, and a 8 is a bit low so I'd give it a 8.5 (if I had that option)
    Expand
  99. Feb 26, 2013
    8
    Huge beautiful open world with a ton of places to explore but after you explore the thing you need and hunt what you need you will find little reason to go back to side missions. Playing as Jason Brody is a drag. Short easy 1000 Gamerscore for this game with a ton of fun parts though. Have to recommend this game.
  100. Apr 24, 2013
    9
    Farcry 3 is a amazing experience and probably one of best games of 2012. The story of Farcry 3 is amazing and Jason main protagonist grows as he is on the island. While the real star of the game is probably Vaas who is one of the main villians the game. The voice acting and the way he acts in the game really makes the player want to kill him. Furthermore, the gameplay of Farcry 3 is also amazing with a variety of ways a player can complete the game. You can complete the game stealthy or run and gun throughout the game. In addition, there are many weapons that a player can choose from which can help you be stealthy or help you mow down you enemies. Also the what makes this game different from other games is that you can also hunt animals. There are also many skills that a players changes the pace based on what players choose. Hunting animals actually have a impact on the game and you can create different things from materials found from animals. Even after you complete the game there are many things such as side quests to finish. Another addition the developers added was mulitplayer which wasn't even necessary but a welcome addition. Overall, the game is great with additional content the will make the game last. Expand
  101. Dec 20, 2012
    0
    farcry 3 has possibly the coolest ending to a computer game of all time I actually laughed out loud at how it got me seriously seriously amazing imo The most engrossing and exhilarating game I have played since half life 2. I have never had so many adrenaline rushes from a single player game while at the same time being so immersed and committed to a protagonist yes it's a bit cheesy in places and occasionally a bro fest but the transformation of you and the psychological elements make it a game I will never forget
    not to mention the fact that half way through you gain the ability to FLY
    not actually a spoiler
    Collapse
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Apr 8, 2013
    80
    Far Cry 3 reaches for greatness, but falls short at merely being really fun. It has a few hiccups here and there and the story is very thin, but the exploration and combat really shine. It's a worthy addition to any collection.
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    90
    Almost everything about Far Cry 3 speaks to the game’s skilled, confident and tightly interwoven design, and players are free to seek their specific flavour of gratification and victory as Jason becomes the most dangerous animal on the island.
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    80
    The freeform combat, gorgeous locations, and excellent multiplayer are strong, and Far Cry 3 does a fantastic job of putting the player in the middle of a lawless, chaotic world and letting them get up to whatever they please. Yes, video games are capable of achieving much more than Far Cry 3 does, but it makes a persuasive argument that there's nothing wrong with a guilty pleasure now and again—especially when it's as slickly presented as this is.