User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1078 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 5, 2014
    9
    Enredo e gráficos e mecânicas são bens trabalhada proporcionando um ótimo jogo.
  2. Jan 6, 2013
    10
    Far Cry 3 is one of the best games of 2012, ill go as far as saying one of the best games this gen in certain areas. You play as Jason Brody, a spoiled rich kid from America who is off partying with his brothers Grant and Riley plus all your friends when you are kidnapped by pirate slavers on the beautiful Rook Island. In an attempt to escape, Grant is shot and killed by the pirates leader Vaas Montenegro and you are left stranded on the island. With the help of the local tribe, The Rakyat and some others willing to stab Vaas and his boss Hoyt in the back and take back the island you embark on a 40+ hour journey of off the rails action as your mind slowly succumbs to insanity.
    You are given a massive playground with the north and south sections of Rook Island with no loading times, hundreds of side missions & activities and a gripping main storyline alongside a robust skills & weapon upgrade system.
    Far Cry 3 is easily one of the best sandbox titles this decade, one of the best shooters and has an excellent but dark and twisted story that isn't afraid to show you what others wouldn't, a must play.
    Expand
  3. Jan 19, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3 completely surprised me, I knew it was gonna be good but I never thought it would be my Game of The Year 2012!!!!! Thought Halo 4 would get GoTY but due to the campaign not been as gripping as other Halo campaigns and Borderlands 2 just passing it out. But enough talking about other games and lets talk about Far Cry 3. The campaign is one the of the best FPS campaigns I have ever played! Doing stuff like burning down a weed farm or hunting sharks or escaping an enemey airfield on a helicopter and many other awesome things. Great story and tons of side missions to keep you playing for hours on end. You also have a CO-OP campaign witch is nothing really interesting, but a little campaign to play with friends is also something to keep you playing this game for longer. Map maker is still fun and new A.Is make to mess around in. Multiplayer is the only thing I have to say they messed up, really outdated, but still good to play but just really outdated multiplayer. Overall, unless Disohnored is perfect (playing it at the momment) Far Cry 3 is my GOTY of 2012. Far Cry 3 9.4/10 Expand
  4. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3 was by far the most exciting game experience of 2012. While other stories like Halo 4 Assassin's Creed 3 had their strengths, Far Cry 3 has the most driven story and villains. Add the great story elements to a fantastic open-world experience that allows you to secure or leave-alone parts of the island, depending on what you would like to do, and you almost have the shooter version of Skyrim. I put roughly 20 hours into the campaign portion, and that's more than any other shooter in recent history. By now, Far Cry 3 is in a bargain bin at GameStop (or elsewhere). The game is worth the original $60 price tag, it's even more-so at reduced prices. If you like shooters with meaningful story, look no further. Expand
  5. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An overall outstanding open world game. Everything seems to work well: The FPS mechanics are solid, the stealth mechanics work surprisingly well, the soundtrack is top-notch, and the graphics are great. The only thing I'm not fond of is the main villain. I loved Vaas, however his boss isn't as interesting as he is. He's just your average jerk drug dealer kinda guy.

    Overall, an excellent game.
    Expand
  6. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    Pure fun. A big open wouold full of great graphics and things to do. Far Cry 2 was terrible and I promised myself not to buy this, but I did. This is soooo much more fun. Everything feels accessible. They don't make the side missions too annoying and as long as you plan properly you will always be rewarded (something EVERY game sould do). Pure fun.
  7. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    It's nothing revolutionary but there is no better way to spend your evenings, or even entire days. A major improvement from Far Cry 2. The stealth, the music, the voice acting, the believable story. Vaas and Hoyt are 2 or the greatest villains in video game history. It's just fun.
  8. Oct 7, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Far Cry 3 is one of the greatest FPS of all time yet sadly falls flat due to a flat plot thats very generic and rather pointless plot or story and the fact that every main character is an excluding Vass who is in my opinion one of the best villains ever to be created, he is the definition of INSANITY.

    Pros:
    -Beautiful Graphics
    -One of the greatest characters of all time, Vass
    -Very enjoyable and fluent gameplay
    -Living breathing island, animals will attack u if they see you
    -AGAIN A LOT AND A LOT OF GODDAMN FUN
    -Physics, amazing physics, burn down the trees, fall damage
    -awesome healing system, basically you can UN dislocate your hand
    -Hunting and skinning animals is very rewarding and makes you feel like a total badass

    Cons:
    -Stupid plot with a very retarded ending, basically kill your friends for no real good reason, just because you can
    -Pretty much every main protagonist and antagonist besides Vass and The crazy drug addict scientist is an including the character you play as making you want the characters to die, also they all just feel so GODDAMN BLAND AND LIFELESS
    -Not enough Vass, only in the game for a very short amount of time
    -After finishing the game their is no new game meaning that the replay value is rather pitiful after taking over all the outposts and collecting all items
    -Skills points are way to easy to get, i played the game of warrior difficulty and found the game to still be way to easy
    -Rubbish coop campaign that feels rushed and is WAY TO GODDAMN DIFFICULT TO PLAY WITH ONLY 2 PLAYERS, which is sad because the story itself is rather badass
    -2 easy to get achievements, ive almost got them all

    Mixed:
    -Multplayer, i had a lot of fun with it yet it feels rather disappointing knowing that the servers are laggy as all hell and it feels like a generic COD like style multiplayer instead of using the amazing environment to create an intressting and different multplayer.

    Overall:
    I really enjoyed Far Cry 3, even if the game had a lot of cons i still very much enjoyed the game because its just so beautiful and you can see so much hard work went into creating the single player experience that all the rushed add on editions feel as if they are easily forgotten
    Expand
  9. Aug 6, 2014
    10
    Far cry 3’s engaging introduction instantly inflicts emotion and realism towards the player. The captured pirate and wildlife infested island remains mysterious on its back roads, as Jason Brody, the main protagonist must discover. Although the overwhelming size of the island and customizations, it’s a gamers ever wanted playground. The supporting cast in which the story revolves around are BEYOND amazingly good. The excellent script and creative characters, leaves this game as a remember-able experience. Some of the best unpredictable exploration and free-form open world games sense fallout, which uses its strength of crazy ambition to remain as one of the most appealing and historical mentioned games to date. Expand
  10. Nov 2, 2013
    9
    [9.2] What Far Cry 3 lacks in story quality makes up for so much in the game. It has incredibly beautiful environments with great graphics to support it, very smooth stealth and combat systems, fun activities, and endless amount of exploration, as well as a multiplayer, which may be basic, but works great with Far Cry mechanics. The co-op is also a great way to pass time, and the map editor is the best I've seen in any game, including Halo. There are very few, extremely minor flaws in the game, including occasional glitches, which are often quite funny, and poor writing, which is also often funny. It is the perfect open world experience, with plenty of other elements to satisfy almost any player. Expand
  11. May 14, 2013
    9
    The best game of 2012, yeah just like that, the question is why the hell it wasn't even a contender ta VGA's, probably because vga is full of crap! PS Just what the did to Deus Ex Human Revolution
  12. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    An amazing game.I loved the story,freedom and weapons especially,as well as the wing suit/parachute.Though the side missions are mainly dull,the activities such as racing,knife throwing,shooting,poker and hunting missions are all fantastic.There are a few major flaws though.Context sensitivity,mainly healing, is poor throughout and the odd mission glitches out randomly and your syringes are mostly useless,Medicine and Hunters Instinct being the major ones and the occasional Deep Dive and Invincibilty coming in handy.The two major islands are quite different with the first a true jungle and second being far more open.Also the game isn't as long as you'd initially believe with a completion rate of exactly 90% after 28 hours during my first playthrough on medium.Hard is slightly tougher but not impossible.The main story actually blew me away in several trippy parts and was most enjoyable.All in all a really,really great game,despite some big annoyances.9.5/10 Expand
  13. Apr 12, 2013
    10
    So here's the thing. I've just created this account on metacritic with the sole purpose of telling you all how absolutely epic, farcry 3 is. I've played games my entire existence from mario, to resident evil to portal to gears of war etc. but nothing comes even close to this game. From start to finish, the game is completely flawless. Not one bug, not one stupid bit, not one moment of frustration, just pure entertainment value from a absolutely incredible game. For me this has to be the greatest game of all time. I'm on my 6th play through of it and I am still enjoying it, and I never usually go back and play games. All I'm saying is, Vass is a cult legend of gaming. This game is epic. Expand
  14. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    A game to dive into, experiment and explore. Easily one of the best shooters ever, better even than the original Far Cry. Story and setting are incredible, gameplay is king.
  15. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3 is a game intent on giving the player a lot of freedom, whilst offering a lot of personality. The stealth is expertly implemented, so you know when to hide and what will get you caught. There is also great strategy, especially when attacking the numerous outposts scattered around the island. The story starts off a bit cliche, with a group of teenagers having their paradise turned upside down, but after meeting Dennis and the primary antagonist Vaas, you will understand how different a beast FC3 is. With its veluptuous landscapes and verdant vistas, Far Cry 3 is a hot prospect, that you should happily sink hours of enjoyment out of. Expand
  16. Feb 24, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3 is one of those games that nearly defies description. Most of the time, when a game tries to reach this wide, it ends up trying too hard and failing at some part of it. The gameplay suffers, the engine lags, the AI is brain-dead, or something else is, if not wrong, just not right. Amazingly FC3 reached for the stars...and caught one. The game revolves around a main character who isn't a hero; he's a spoiled chump who, caught in extraordinary circumstances, metamorphoses into a killing machine dedicated to saving his friends and family from a group of psychotic pirates. So, let's look at some components. Graphics are among the best you'll find on a console, with lush jungles complete with real-time shadows (which are subject to a bit of a dithering problem, but not too awful) and detailed props. Textures are high enough resolution that it never breaks the illusion. The AI is generally intelligent, and adequately inventive to keep you on your toes in a tactical situation. Skills are varied and powerful, making a real impact on the game. Perhaps one of the best components of the game is the weapon modification system, enabling you to tune just about every weapon to your play style. The icing on the cake is a dynamic fire system pirates taking cover in tall grass are no problem, just start a fire and let it flush them out. Controls are solid, both on foot and in vehicles, without any of the annoying twitchiness that can wreck a game. Best yet, the control schema is ergonomic and trying to get something done doesn't interfere with playing the game (who wants to do the inventory hunt under fire?). Missions are varied, interesting, and generally well written. But FC3 really stands out in its writing. This game has one of video gaming's best-ever villains in a psychotic pirate named Vaas. Michael Mando brings vocal life to the insane pirate warlord, creating a character that is, without doubt, one of the best, most engaging villains that has ever appeared in a video game. The entire game is tailored as a major mind-bender, and Vaas rounds out the disconcerting world with his incredibly bent view of the world a view he shares frequently with the player. The writing also extends into philosophical grounds, as the main character's friends react to his transformation from party-hard Beverly Hills to a flint-edged warrior. One would expect, then, the sandbox world implementation to suffer, but it doesn't; there are random events aplenty, and crafting will keep you busy for hours. So why not a 10? Crafting improvements to your gear is effectively over less than halfway through the game, leaving the second half a little too static. Skills top out by the time you're two-thirds of the way through the game, so the only thing left is buying better weapons, but that runs out soon thereafter. The game has the gas to go the distance; it just doesn't quite have the tools and toys to keep itself fresh for the entire time. But don't misunderstand; Far Cry 3 is one of the absolute top-shelf best FPS/RPG hybrids ever made. Game designers and publishers should nail a copy of this to their walls so that they remember what they should be aiming for. Recommended without hesitation, it's a well-earned 9 for Far Cry 3. Expand
  17. Rem
    Nov 7, 2013
    9
    "Did I ever tell you the definition of insanity?" says Vaas Montenegro, the main antagonist of Far Cry 3. I can surely answer that, Far Cry 3 has gotten me insane, but usually because it's just so damn fun. What Far Cry 3 does isn't entirely original, but boy is it ever so polished. The main surprise in this game is the story. Not only is it leaps and bounds above its predecessors, its among the best of 2012. The story, while not consistent, is presented very well with cinematic voice acting and graphics. Rook Island is a beautiful place to explore ranging from jungle to ruin. The fun thing is how it all blends into a cohesive experience. However once you finish the game, there isn't much else to do which is Far Cry 3's greatest flaw. Despite so, it remembers that it is a game and it remembers that is a great game. Expand
  18. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    One of the best open-world games ever made. A truly epic sandbox a great dynamic environment some of the best voice acting and some truly memorable characters deep customisation great graphics the gameplay is top-notch and feels great and the missions all have different events unlike GTA the controls are excellent too a must have
  19. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    one of the best games of 2012 is Far Cry 3.This is an amazing game very addictive and fun to play.From the start the storyline is done perfectly as you get deeper into the game it becomes very addictive.From the amazing graphics to the smooth gameplay and the easy controls this game is truly one of the best first person shooter's I have ever played.Even if you are new to the first person shooters you will find the controls very easy to learn.Though this game is a bit difficult all this means is you have to think what to do next on how to accomplish your mission.Far Cry 3 is an amazing game and as you play the game you know the creators took their time making this game and at the end they produced on of 2012 best games.If you love first person shooter's then I strongly recommend this and if you still not convinced just read the other reviews and if you're still not convinced look at the reviews from the critics.Forget the negative reviews those people just don't know what a good game is.Far Cry 3 is by far the best and most addictive and fun filled open world game I have played in a while.It is the type of game that keeps you hooked to your TV screen for hours on end and when you go to sleep you even dream of the game.Thank you Ubisoft for making such amazing and highly addictive games. Expand
  20. Mar 2, 2014
    9
    I've been dying for this game to come out, watched every video, read all the news and rumours, and then when it came out, I skipped my exams, went home and played it for a good three hours straight. And now that I finished it. Here is my "opinon"

    Story: this game focuses on insanity. And while leaving some plot holes, it makes you think is it bad story telling or is Jason Brody insane?
    And a lot of the stuff could be a fragment of his diritating mind?, but from what I gathered it's a great story that keeps you guessing, and while having two okay endings.. It's still pretty unique and covered the insanity tale well. The cast of this game is well done, from spies, to Australians to Germans, to Americans, all is AAA voiced acted. Everyone sounds authentic. The animals sound terrifyingly satisfying. The guns sound different and all the brushes and wildlife sound authentic.

    Graphics: being a console, it has it's pop ins and some screen tearing but overall looks great with a nice sense of cell shade. The fire is the best I've seen, especially when coming from the flamethrower. The rain is all well and good, but sometimes storms appear out of the blue, not in a realistic way, the waters look nice but could of used more splashes when swimming fast, again it is consoles.

    Gameplay: very diverse, stealth works well, and guns blazing is great also, lots of weapons (43) and attachments to buy etc, 85% of this game you choose ur style some missions would require a specific approach.

    Overall it is a reveloutionary single player FPS and it destroys it completion I'm the single player experience, I'm a offline gamer (a rare dying breed) to do everything it take about 35 to 50 hrs, you get ur money's worth, go and buy it now.
    Expand
  21. Dec 15, 2012
    10
    and here we have it, to be honest, Far Cry 2 was a good game, but not quite my cup of tea, it just didn't seem that interesting, and Far Cry 1 I never played it. But I knew what they were all about.
    So my review goes like this: I'm a huge Assassin's Creed fan, and I've been waiting for AC3 for a while, but when it came out, the game was a huge mess. And Far Cry 3 had been delayed. AC3 had
    so many missions, hunting side stuff, challenges, but yet, none gave you anything worth it, the only fun I had was combat and Naval Missions. The game broke my heart.

    But here we have a little bit of what AC3 has, except it MAKES SENSE here, rewarding loot, experience points that actually mean something, hunting is actually needed and fun, the driving is a bit clunky, yes. But overall I'd say this is a GOTY contender, for me
    Expand
  22. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    The thing I found most crazy about this game was that it wasn't even on my radar as being even a semi interesting game until a week before it came out. I remember seeing it during E3 and maybe Gamescom and it showing poorly; subjective of course, but the topless woman seen mixed with Ubisoft's MC did it no favors. So that compounded with an hour long crap experience with Far Cry 2 I had written this one off. Well Giant Bomb had a quick look and I figured that wouldn't hurt and within about 10 minutes I was convinced that I would like this game. So, two days after it comes out I decide I need to have it and pop it in and get going. I remember being totally lost in the first few minutes of 2 and wasn't sure how I was going to tackle this new one. Luckily it sort of eases you into the open island and gives you the basic knowledge of survival (read: crafting). So after about two to three hours I feel like I am blowing through it way to quick and having too much fun and decide I need to pace myself. I found myself thinking about the game while I wasn't playing. Thoughts such as "What things do I need to do next, get materials for crafting? What do I want to craft next? Should I continue with the story or go get more radio towers? What skills should I invest in?". It was wild that I cared this much about a game outside of playing it and then it dawned on me that the last time this happened was Skyrim. I've been somewhat disappointed since Skyrim that nothing has really grabbed me as well and tricked me into throwing 86 hours of my life into it over the course of 4 weeks. Well, Far Cry 3 came to the rescue and scratched that itch. I always liked the aura of Skyrim but never was really motivated to go find cool site seeing locations. With Far Cry 3 I was always wanting to see what was on the other side of the hill and see how far I could see and generally just view this paradise that I was tromping through. The best part was definitely the exploring and being able to scale massive mountains, hang glide [spoiler] wingsuit [/spoiler] for what felt like miles was totally exhilarating. One bit I was surprised by was the driving. They tackled that aspect extremely well so that it doesn't feel like a clunky part of the game you want to avoid and compromise with walking. Jumping in a jeep and bouncing around as you roared through the jungle dodging trees and aiming for enemies felt exactly like I would have imagined it. So that was the upside of Far Cry 3, but unfortunately there were some downsides too. Remember how I was hooked? Well that continued through the first half of the game and a little bit into the second half but eventually the story slows down and doesn't feel as irrational as some of the missions in the first half. There was also a skills tree which I hardly used at all and felt it had little effect on my play through. It was only towards that end that I realized I had all these upgrades available to me and with them I didn't feel like I could accomplish anything more efficiently. While some may argue that certain characters were weak in this game (especially the main) I found it also had some great characters: Vaas and Sam Becker being my favorites. I don't really know who the right crowd for this game is as I didn't think it was myself going in, but I can say I got my brother who normally has zero interest in games to play it and beat it before me. So my recommendation is that if you are interested in the slightest bit, you need to sit down and play 2-3 hours and you will understand what I am talking about. Expand
  23. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    When I first looked at this game,I thought it would be decent.But after really fun combat,Great story and lots of exploring,it was way better than I expected.
  24. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    I admit, I am a fan of the African Savannah and of civil war, weapons dealers, and blood diamonds. So when I heard Far Cry was going back to the tropics, I was a little skeptical. Far Cry 3 turned out to be a big step up from its predecessor (not including the general increase in visual quality that most sequels receive). While Far Cry 2 was focused more on the realism and survival aspect, Far Cry 3 provides us with a world just about as beautiful as it is massive. With radio towers, exploration not only is a tourist attraction, it's an objective. Honestly, I will always miss carrying around my GPS and map, searching for blood diamonds, and taking malaria pills (perhaps not that last one), Far Cry 3 provides a more convenient atmosphere more geared towards a thrilling experience. And, a little tangent: Vaas is fricken' awesome. Expand
  25. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers. The allure of Far Cry has always been the open-ended tactical choices available during each encounter, and the variety of ways you could take down targets. With dynamic variables like aggressive wildlife and roaming pirates, your stealth and aggro options open up more than ever. Collapse
  26. May 3, 2013
    9
    One of the best games released in 2012, It's perfect in every way, The Xbox 360 version has some framerate and FOV issues, Making the PC version superior(As always).
  27. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    While I was hesitant at first to try the third installation in a franchise that I've yet to know or care, after carefully inspecting professional and honest reviews on this game, the hype of this game being "skyrim-with-guns" made me want to put my feet into the unknown territory of Far Cry 3. I couldn't have made a better choice in my life. Let's start from when you start the game. I am quite piqued at the conceptualism of Duality and Insanity voiced through the visuals of the main screen even, and also works beneficially for accessing your menu with ease. But, the one thing that did annoy me the most about this game was not necessarily about the content itself but Ubisoft's constant plea for it's almost unnecessary online pass. While you could play multiplayer without installing this pass up to Level 15, the whole reward on your hand for doing so isn't that significant. Likely, all you'll ever get is 4 achievement challenges which if completed will give you so to say "points" that you can use to download only 4 unlockables, almost all of which could've been in the final game to begin with. Nevertheless, at least it didn't necessarily force you to keep paying with real money, rather than just your dedication to the game itself. But overall, this Uplay is just another hub to bring more uneccessary adverts and lock the customer in a very unfriendly commitment to a company which seems to lie more than what their customer would. Anyhow, back to the game. The singleplayer as a whole is quite astounding, with real and round character development, combined with an engaging environment and tons of activities to do in this game. while you play as a seemingly spoiled college frat boy, you actually almost immediately get past his stereotypes and see the real human in him, and you can see him slowly develop from a person who only knew the life of luxury to a hard-boiled survivalist, something that a lot of games have trouble these days topping off. Jason Brody has morals, and is not a airhead as I thought I'd come to expect. The gameplay itself is also nice, where you can constantly have yourself engaging in a lot of dynamic battles between pirates, hostile animals and maybe even your friends. I do have to say right out the bat that in the singleplayer mode this game provides one of the best pyrotechnics I have ever seen (you can even hear the trees crackle as they burn and the fire spread!). There are a whole assortment of weapons and traps to choose from, varying between out in the open to overall stealthy, and the stealth mode in this game also has a big improvement, with individual enemy indicators rather than universal ones found in Skyrim or Fallout. Skinning animals actually comes to use, as you can use the skins to increase the capacity of ammo, how many weapons you can hold, or aid of the matter. There are internet challenges you can engage in around the singleplayer world, where you can compete with your friends to have your name stamped on a bright red rock as the champion of said challenge. Skills not only diversified but having these skills adds tattoos to your arm, and you can see how detailed your arm will become after amassing a large amount of skills. You can also gain signature weapons from completing other challenges, like collecting relics or lost letters, and there is also a radio tower part of gameplay that works not unlike the Assassin's Creed towers, where you can reveal the map and have certain guns be free for purchase (not the attachments, however). Now, I would say that the singleplayer on it's own would be enough to get this game immediately, but this game is so much more give than take. There is a co-op mode (although it's more of a big shooting gallery with pyrotechnics), a multiplayer mode (with loadouts that you can use in co-op as well) and even a map editor, which allows for much more replayability with the multiplayer even after reaching the highest rank (and you will get there fast, believe me.) There is a decoding system that allows you to get certain camoflauge that also serve to provide some certain attributes to your weapons, and urges you to keep playing as theses decoders are "decoding". Other than the blatant ad spam that is the Uplay system, with a facebook like dashboard that puts a status of you every time you either get top score on a match or complete a challenge, to which people can "like" them. I don't really see the point of this at all as it doesn't serve any purpose to popularize yourself or having any control over what status' should be shown, much less even make your own. But, apart from that, This game is wholly wonderful and you will spend oodles of hours playing player made maps, or making your own, and especially getting some singleplayer in. Hear that, Battlefield 3? This is how you make multiplayer AND singleplayer just as good. Expand
  28. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    Unlike most of the boring and generic FPS out there, this game lets you roam far and wide, wherever the hell you want. It's more like borderlands 2 than any other FPS I can think of. Even a little similar to assassin's creed. Definitely has an RPG element to it, but don't go thinking you're buying final fantasy. It's a bloody, gory and brutal FPS to the core! Just don't expect run and gun, but also not exactly stealth either. I guess it's pretty unique! Expand
  29. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    fc2 was a piece of trash but THIS GAME IS NOT. I don't know how they went from making GAME OF THE GARBAGE (GOTG) to GAME OF THE YEAR (GOTY). Seriously this is the best shooter I've played on 360 probably even in my entire life! Freaking ridiciulous action, the A.I. Is SMOOTH and unpredictable. The graphics are MOUTH WATERING. You won't believe your eyes. Even the plot is super good. F****** amazing game. Expand
  30. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    I love the intro to the game. I love the open world, I love the huge selection of weapons, the various techniques used to get through missions, like opening tiger cages, sneaking around or just balls to the wall Rambo style. I love how everything in the environment explodes in fires when a car explodes, a flame thrower is used or whatever. I love hunting all the animals and using their skin to craft new items like wallets or ammo holsters which enable you to carry more money and ammo. I love the story and all the crazy vehicles you have at your disposal. The graphics aren't top notch, but it still manages to take your breath away and look extraordinary. I highly recommend anyone and everyone to buy this game as it's now became one of my favorite games. I wouldn't be surprised if Far Cry 3 won game of the year cause it sure as hell deserves it. Expand
  31. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the best FPS I've played in a long time. Although I'm not all about the island or frontier feel to it, the sheer amount of variable tactics involved in this game makes it really fun to play. Stealth, equipment upgrades, and everything else make this a high quality game. The voice acting as well made it more fun to follow the story (which I typically just skip over to get to the gameplay). The only thing I didn't like (and typically NEVER DO) is the plot device involving hallucinations, dreams, or varied states of altered mindframes. Expand
  32. Sep 20, 2013
    9
    This is easily one of the best 2012 first-person shooters I've played. Exploring a large island while undertaking different missions and activities spells hours of fun. Unlocking weapons, getting upgrades, expanding territory and exploring the island leads to a lot of replayability. It's no slouch in the graphics department. While it's not the best-looking game on the 360, it's pretty close. The only downsides are the multiplayer and co-op, both of which aren't very spectacular (and don't justify an extra $10 if you buy the game used). Regardless, this is an amazing game that first-person shooter fans of every stripe should try. Expand
  33. Nov 12, 2014
    10
    As a long-time fan of the FPS and open world genres, this is the game I've been waiting for for years. I enjoyed the first two games in the series but this is the first one two really live up to its potential. Unlike most shooters where you start off as a badass, in this game you start out as a normal 20-something kid that more or less resembles the target audience of the game itself. As you begin to explore the world of the game, your character begins a descent into madness that turns him into a viscous killing machine. This journey into darkness makes the game one of the most immersive shooters of all time. While the campaign is certainly a blast, it's the element of non-linear exploration that make this game truly epic. The exploration occurs by climbing up radio towers and liberating enemy bases. You can take down these outposts stealthily without firing a single shot or storm the front gate, flamethrower a-blazing. I spent many a late night telling myself "okay, take over ONE more base and I'm going to bed" and then summarily ignoring my own orders. The game also includes the most impressive array of realistic weaponry I've seen in a shooter, bolstered by the intriguing "hunting and crafting" system which I thought would be annoying but turned out quite fun. The relatively easy to use map editor also adds greatly to the replay value. My main complaint is that the multiplayer is extremely lacking. I would have LOVED a split-screen option that would have allowed a buddy to drop into my single-player campaign and start raising hell with me. Hopefully this will be remedied with the sequel coming out next week (!!!!!). Expand
  34. Aug 31, 2014
    9
    This is a genuinely excellent game. It's rich in almost everything, the tropical island environment, the gunplay, the rpg elements, the detail in everything. it's a fantastic campaign that is great even when you play it over and over. However, the multiplayer is pretty bad but i'm willing to overlook that.
  35. Dec 10, 2012
    9
    Near perfection...so far this game takes me back to the very first in the series which was and still is my favorite but for different reasons. The story in the campaign is so fantastic in this game and the characters you meet are amazing. The voice acting is incredible and you really care about saving your friends and trying to get off this island hell you find yourself trapped in. The visuals are truly gorgeous and I have never seen water that looks so fantastic and real. There is plenty to do other than push the story along even though it does get a bit repetitive. The MP is fun but a tad unbalanced from what i have played so far....for me the campaign is where this game really shines. If you are a fan of the series or have never played them before this is a great jump off point for anyone, make sure to check this game out, it is well worth it! Expand
  36. Dec 21, 2012
    9
    One of the best open world shooters released, the graphics, gameplay, sound, environments, characters and scale of the game create a gorgeous atmosphere and a simply amazing gaming experience, there is barely anything wrong with FarCry 3 other then the occasional slight glitch in either graphics or animation which don't really bother much considering most games which aren't open world have more of them Expand
  37. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    Maybe I'm a bit of a psychopath: the violence in this game is hands down my favorite aspect. None of the leading FPS out there are this brutal. You can see from the video episodes they were leading up to it. Far more brutal than the previous games. Almost as bad as survival horror but not quite. Awesome gaming violence!
  38. Dec 23, 2012
    9
    The first Far Cry was too little too late for XBOX owners, and as good as it was, missed the point of the PC original. The second Far Cry was a great game on paper, but beset with a legion of issues, some ill-thought-out and some stupidly implemented, that led to frustration for myself and many. This time however, third time lucky is the charm!! Ubisoft implement a very slim but smart plot to a virtual sandbox for an FPS, but before you groan about the well-worn genres, the whole thing is kept alive by intelligent implementation, and a huge amount of fun!! The graphics aren't faultless but they do the job well, and the sound is storming, with a massive hole-peppered wall of eerie fx and music. Don't buy Far Cry 3 because you want another shooter; buy it because you want to play something compelling, but a lot of fun. Expand
  39. Dec 8, 2012
    9
    If you compare this game to Skyrim, you're going to have a bad time. FC3 is great for what it is: an open-world FPS that allows you to play at your own pace. With beautiful environments, fun and rewarding game-play, and relatively interesting characters you'll find it easy to lose yourself for hours on end in Rook Island.
  40. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    I'm really surprised how much i enjoyed play this game. Based on the first two games review I didn't expect it to be great, but it did look cool so I picked it up. And it did not disappoint, there was so much to do, the island looked great, the story was insane it was a surprise hit for me.
  41. Jan 29, 2013
    10
    Amazing, literally amazing. The missions are so much fun, I mean there are some straight forward, kinda meh missions but there soem absolutely bonkers missions which don't even feel like a first person shooter but more of a japanese insanity game. seriously though, this game is my favourite game of 2011 - 2013. it is absolutely beautiful, the graphics, the story, it's so compelling and you really become jason, the protagonist. he slowly becomes more insane and more hungry to just kill, you get that same feeling as you get more skills, especially takedowns, they inspire my bloodlust in the game. A MUST BUY. Expand
  42. Nov 28, 2013
    9
    Positives:
    -Open world allows for good pacing when it comes to action. Also, it is in the jungle and you can hunt wildlife.
    -Go in guns-a-blazing or stealthily. Pick people off from long range or go up close!
    -RPG elements such as upgrading equipment and gaining new skills as you progress.
    -Likable archnemesis in Vaas and a few interesting characters though nobody is really fleshed out
    including yourself.
    CONS
    -Story line is blockbuster action esque (meaning it's kinda lame but nobody really cares). Your character goes from being an everyday American wus like you and me to a bad ass warrior who kills 100s of people.
    -Dubstep
    Expand
  43. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    Nice graphics, imaginative story, good gameplay, open world.
    Unfortunately, it is difficult in many parts of the game. For example, to be shooting at the enemy, and they are coming from the three, and even a man must also be protected. I found there forever. But really, it's a very good game.
  44. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    If you can get past the ample screen tearing and poor framerate, Far Cry 3 is or is one of the best games of the year. The gunplay is some of the best I've experienced all gen. Finally a game where the enemies aren't all bullet sponges. People without armor are finished in 2-3 shots while the heavily armored guys require a couple of clips ( or better yet, a couple grenade arrows). The action and animation make you forget about visuals allowing for an incredibly immersive experience and the gameplay doesn't get stale due to the myriad of combat strategies and the visceral gunplay which benefits greatly from realistic enemy health amounts. I almost didn't buy it because I'm a total graphics whore but I love the game, it's the quintessential triumph of gameplay over graphics. If you have a PC that can handle it, get it on that instead but I'm loving it on 360 despite the very overly stressed engine. Lastly, the pacing stinks - I have no idea how the main character becomes Rambo after never firing a gun prior. Notwithstanding, the voice acting and interesting characters (aside from the boring protagonist) make for an entertaining SP campaign. Expand
  45. Dec 25, 2012
    9
    Game of the Year-material without a doubt. The game's storyline is good, but it's probably not what you'll buy the game for: you buy the game for the tropical islands it is set on, in which you can do whatever you want; wanna go fight some bad guys? Go ahead. Want to fly around the islands in a wingsuit? You can do that. Want to enjoy a beautiful sunset on one of the beaches? Go right ahead. Combat is a blast, and caters to pretty much any playstyle. Voice acting and character animation are top notch. Only a few things hold the game back from a full 10/10: at times, the framerate drops quite drastically, and minor glitches tend to show up at times (though they aren't gamebreaking). Long story short, if you enjoy adventure games and/or FPS games, this is your game. Buy it, you won't regret it/ Expand
  46. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    Having never played a Far Cry game before, I decided to try this one, not expecting to be as blown away as I was. Far cry 3 is no doubt one of the best games I've played in years. The graphics are stunning and the visual animations are fantastic. The sound effects are also varied and very realistic. The huge far cry world is completely immersive, and when paired with an intense story line, creates an unmissable experience. Expand
  47. May 18, 2013
    10
    This is now my favorite all-time game! Half-life 2 was previously my 1st person favorite. Then Call of Duty. Then Battlefield Bad Company. Then Bioshock 1, 2, Infinite. (I probably missed a few amongst my collection skyrim, etc...) but Far Cry 3 did EVERYTHING right! I hated Far Cry 1 and 2 because you either spent all your time looking for a gas mask or spent hours mudainly walking from one location to another hoping to find a vehicle somewhere. If you hated these elements with previous Far Cry 1 and 2, but liked the atmosphere of exploring an island, you'll really, really enjoy Far Cry 3. The nice overhead map lets you quickly travel from place to place plus there are vehicles, jet-skies, hand-gliders all over the place where you can choose how to specifically approach each mission/bad guy camp (usually involving capturing an enemy encampment using a different set of strategies/weapons). You can go in guns blazing or secretly snipe or hand take down each enemy. Just toss a rock to then sneak up behind them. There's plenty of encampments so you'll get your chance to try another strategy again. Then there's the really neat way you upgrade your guns and medicine. To build bigger ammo type pouches to carry more ammo, you hunt certain animals in one of the best hunting type games around. Animals will charge you and protect their kind. Or you may see a Cheetah chasing a deer for easy pick off. There's snakes, there's sharks, there's dogs, buffalo, deer komodo dragons, etc... each one's hide improving what you can carry. another big plus is that you can still run just as fast regardless of what you carry. i hate it when games only allow you to run a short distance fast or slower with more gear. Climbing the towers to make new areas visible was a brilliant design move. Each tower in itself is a challenge to climb and one wrong step sends you tumbling to your death. The scenery alone is unbelievable and you really get a sense of vertigo (not recommended for those afraid of heights!). The graphics are top notch to make you feel like you are right there! The plot is basically you, a weak, non-fighter type of guy must take on the role of rescuing your friends forcing you to learn new skills along the way. It's not the best plot but one you'll remember. Don't expect to fight any huge monsters in Far Cry 3 but you can expect a clever AI which tries to surround you, outflank you, or run for cover. I actually enjoy Far Cry 3 over Bioshock Infinite! I've been playing it non-stop for a week now. There's so much to do and so much to see that any minor, minor, minor glitches can easily be overlooked. It's a near perfect game in my books short only to actually being on the island. It's an experience I'll always remember (like fighting the war of the world aliens in Half-Life 2). What I think I like the most about Far Cry 3 is that you approach each situation differently so strategy Is a big factor. Strategy and the type of weapon you use are important. I haven't even mentioned the dream sequences which you'll have to see for yourself. The only mission i really didn't want to do was burn up all the bad guys pot plant fields (for personal reasons). I was reluctant to dish out the $60 for Far Cry 3 given all the things I didn't like about 1 and 2 but they did everything right with Far Cry 3 and I couldn't be happier about spending the dough! Money well spent. I didn't try the multi-player but I think Far Cry 3 is one of the best single-player 1st person shooter/adventure games currently on the market. Expand
  48. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    After playing this for over 25 hours now, I can honestly say this is probably my favorite game of all time. I have never played any of the Far Crys before this one, but I will be picking up 2 after I am done with this. I don't expect 2 to be as good as 3 but if it's half as good it should still be a great game. This is most definately a must buy. GOTY
  49. May 15, 2014
    9
    A 9 or a 10. That's what this game deserves! One of the best fps games out there! I hated the second one so the third... I wasnt convince... got it for 20$ at walmart and god dam*** it's worth it !! so engaging in every details... so many ways of getting job done. so many side tasks.

    BUY IT IF YOU DONT HAVE IT
  50. Dec 13, 2012
    9
    Thank God for Ubisoft Montreal an the Canadians for saving my gaming year. This year was set to be one of the greatest years in gaming ever with so many hotly anticipated AAA titles all releasing in time for Christmas, then many of them turning out to be a disapointment. I personaly had my eye on Hitman Absolution and Far Cry 3, Hitman Absolution turned out to be a huge disapointment as it took away all the huge free roam do what you want when you want as you want....but thanks to Far Cry 3 that huge free roam do what you want when you want as you want is all here intact just like it was in Far Cry 2 (which i also loved). Far Cry 3 is VERY ambitious, the map is 10x the size of Far Cry 2 and has 10x as much going on in it. One of the big things you will notice is how many animals this game has , i think it pretty much has every animal in the world in it, all of which look surprisingly good and roam around the living world grazing or being chased an eaten by prey, for instance you will witness tigers, jaguars, bears, komdo dragons etc chasing and eating wild boars, buffalo ,deer etc etc, or see people down by the stream suddenly get attacked an eaten by crocodiles (they all chase and eat you too) or great white sharks will circle an investigate your boat an give it a lil nibble before darting off, or will attack you if in the water. Then there are smaller fish like beautiful coral reef fish to small lake fish all darting around, tiny bugs and birds to parrots to crabs etc etc, the whole island just feels alive like a real island and gives you a sense of paranoia that your being stalked (sometimes you are by a bear or something). You also have to kill and use these animals to make gun holsters, ruck sacks,pouches etc as you progress, more difficult animals make for bigger holsters.pouches etc. Graphically the game looks great but you cant help but feel its trying to scream out "i know i know Im sorry, Im supposed to be next gen, gimmie a break" everything around you looks very well detailed and very close to Far Cry 2's graphics, but then things way way off in the backround like a few mountains look pretty bad, its as if the game is far too big and ambitious for current gen consoles, but on the whole if you liked Far Cry 2's graphics then you will like this, close up its very pretty an very detailed and because the game is so big with so much content you can forgive the few bad parts off in the far backround. It has a great selection of guns that can be bought an modified,from pistols to sniper rifles to rocket launches to bow an arrows, theres a big selection. The cutscenes look beautiful an the story is pretty cool too.It has lots of veichles from cars, boats, jet skis, quad bikes, handgliders, jeeps etc. Ive been playing forrrr aboooout 9 or 10 hours on medium difficulty so far and i dont think ive even scratched the surface of the campaign an only explored about a 1/3 of the map so far. This really is a great an beautiful looking game that will keep you entertained for ages, well worth the full price and gets my vote for game of the year. (Although i havent played Assasins Creed 3 yet as its wrapped up nicely under the tree waiting for Christmas day) having said that im a huge fan of open world sanboxs that i can explore an do as i wish in, so Far Cry 3 will still probably get my game of the year award. Expand
  51. Dec 26, 2012
    9
    Far Cry 3 is one of the greats of 2012. Has a great mix of combat, stealth, and exploration. Only bad thing would have to be story for me. I mean, I guess I liked how you were just some random person caught up in crap events and learned to survive and all, but most of the story did not appeal much to me.
  52. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    This is hands down one of the best open world games I have ever played. They get so much right and only minor details can be listed in the cons for this game. The story, the voice acting, the gameplay. They knock everything out of the park. This is the best FarCry game to date, and one of the best FPS titles of the year.
  53. Jan 7, 2013
    10
    Usually G4TV's reviews feel almost like they were paid off by the company, but they are so spot on it's sick. This game is incredible. That's the only word that can describe it. The most captivating game I've ever played. I loved Far Cry 1 and 2, but this is a game you get your money's worth 10 fold. Don't think twice about it... besides possibly Bioshock and Watch Dogs, game of the year.
  54. Jul 7, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A great game with a nice open world to explore with a bunch of different collectibles to find and collect. The story isn't all that great, but the gameplay and missions make up for it greatly. It's really fun to play and the graphics are really good. However, there are quite a few bugs that I experienced with this game while playing. The characters are also really great, Vas is one of my favorite villains in a video game. Expand
  55. Jan 26, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Far Cry 3 is such a good game, even if theres a not so good end, because of his grat gameplay, bloody story, and an amazing open world game, i recomended Expand
  56. May 9, 2013
    9
    Fantastic game, absolutely loving it without a doubt. I'll be honest, when I heard about it initially, I wasn't too keen on getting it due to Far Cry 2 being so terrible and frustrating. However, I did decide to rent the game and upon playing it for quite some time, I felt like an idiot for not buying it sooner.

    I'm going to take a dig at a few people writing reviews complaining about
    the graphics for a start, people have stated that "for a 2012 game it's graphically terrible". What? Graphically, I think the game does pretty well, if you want to see terrible graphics? Head on over to whatever game shop you like and buy The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct. Now THAT game is beyond awful when it comes to graphics.

    Anyway, Far Cry 3 A very sound storyline. Not a lot of games have well scripted voiced storylines nowadays but this game does it pretty well. It's interesting too, and the villian is pretty awesome. Hunting, now that is something that I like. Love the feel of being in the wilderness with a bow, picking off animals and then skinning them to help me craft materials that benefit my gameplay. There are a good amount of things to do, meh they can be repetitive but what game isn't nowadays? Customization is decent, the scenery is nice to look at and the game has quite a lot to offer especially for an FPS.

    I'd recommend this game to all of my friends, and especially people I don't know. Buy it, rent it You'll enjoy it.
    Expand
  57. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    Brilliant open world game with so much to see and do. I love games that allow me to explore go anywhere do anything as i wish, and Far Cry 3 allows me to do that and so much more. A few of the missions in the campaign are a little poo, but the rest is just fantastic. Can't wait for Far Cry 4 on next gen.
  58. Dec 17, 2012
    9
    Far Cry 3 is one of the highlights of 2012, an open world FPS with solid shooting mechanics, awesome action set pieces and memorable characters all brought together to make a brilliant game. Story wise, you play Jason Brody a 20 something American adrenaline junky who is on holiday with his friends and brothers, enjoying the clubs, the booze and thrill seeking high life of someone brought up in a wealthy family. As the game starts, Jason and his companions are kidnapped by the brilliantly psychotic Vaas, who intends to hold them to ransom and then sell them as human slaves. Jason manages to escape but his brother Grant is killed in the process, after a hectic escape sequence Jason wakes up in the presence of the Rakyat people, the native inhabitants of Rook Island who are fighting a losing battle against Vaas, the mercenaries he controls and their equally as insane leader Hoyt. Jason must follow the path of the warrior in order to rescue his friends and lead the Rakyat people in the fight against the mercenary invaders. The Single player is brilliant, a lush tropical island with plenty of amazing places and hidden collectibles to find. Along the way you will unlock new weapons, meet larger than life characters and learn new skills symbolized by the TaTau on Jason's arm, which grows more detailed with each new skill learned. I can't fault the single player, the co-op is a nice addition which while it does feel less attention has been made there, is still a very enjoyable experience. The multiplayer is par for the course, its got some unique ideas but mostly feels the same as other FPS games out there. The map editor is diverse and gives you a lot of creative options, one of the reasons the standard maps are so few is the expectation for the community to create the maps they want to play. This is a VAST improvement over the frustrating experience that was Far Cry 2. A definite purchase recommendation. Expand
  59. Dec 9, 2012
    9
    It's like minecraft, but... Farcry. Farcraft.

    Oh, and the story is twisted, engrossing, and savagely entertaining. Shameless. SO SO SO SO SO SO GOOD
  60. Jan 15, 2014
    9
    The overall graphics, level design, face renderings, character voices and animations are all incredible. The detail is staggering when stopping to take a look at just about anything. I didn't experience a single crash which is uncommon with games this size and speaks to the overall quality of the development. The game started a little slow for me since the player must craft certain important items from animal hides you laboriously hunt (or hunt you), and I also spent most of the time in the bushes with a crossbow throwing endless rocks to manipulate the pirates for stealthy take downs. But later, the game did speed up after the tedious starting items and story elements were completed, and it felt more like an FPS and less like Thief. The skill tree is helpful and not too obnoxiously big or complicated. Movements are fluid and precise. I didn't care for the single save, forced crafting on most items, repetitive engagements with Vaas (definition of insanity?), and monotonous side quests (which you start to feel towards the end). I didn't play FC1 or 2, but this was on sale for $14.99 and though I'd give it a try. I'm glad I did, it's truly an elite game. Be patient with it, the rewards are big. Expand
  61. May 27, 2014
    9
    Loved the environment, the graphics, gameplay and story. All of them very very good. Vaas is a great character man... One of the bests. Besides being easy, it's fun and immersive. Waiting for Far Cry 4!!
  62. Apr 8, 2013
    9
    Did I ever tell you what the definition of insanity is? It's playing the same game over and over again thinking "This time, it's gonna be less fun than the last time." That is crazy. This one time, this guy told me he liked the game, and I thought he was bullsh*tting me, so boom, I shot him. Did I ever tell you what the definition of insanity is?
  63. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    Miles better than Far Cry 2 overall, now you don't have to drive tediously to your next objective and enemies doesn't pop out of nowhere harassing you while driving. Hunting for upgrades is a real nice touch to the game as well as the leveling system
  64. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    First off this game is perfect, now that I have said that, I would like to say I did not like Far Cry 2, the main problem was the malaria, breakable weapons and all around boring to the core, well with this game they have not just fixed these problems but added a lot of great things to it. The first thing I would like to talk about the game is the hunting mechanics because this is my favourite part of the game, hands down. I love the way hunting is done, from the rewards that come with skinning an animal to unpredictable animal encounters. What made it great was having the bow because this weapon is probably one of the best weapons I have ever used, great for taking out animals as well as using it to stealthily kill everyone in a camp without being detected. Everything else is great about the game too, the characters are fun and interesting, especially Vaas and the gameplay is fun too. The missions are fun to play and there are plenty of replay value, from side missions to capturing bases. I've gone on too long with this review but I wanted to tell how amazed I was at the game and how fun and big it was, also the map is probably the one of the biggest ones I've seen in a game. Bottom line the game has great gameplay, great characters, great story, great replay value and, of course, a great hunting system. 10/10 (BTW did I mention I love the hunting system?) Expand
  65. Jul 30, 2013
    9
    This is a good game that deserves it's score if you buy this game the odds are you will have a good time playing it even though some parts of the game are difficult and will get you annoyed you will eventually overcome them which in away is good because every game needs a little bit of challenge.
  66. Sep 9, 2014
    9
    Far Cry 3 is one of the best games I had the opportunity to play, the graphics were great for its time, the game has an amazing campaign, is sensational! Venture to say that is the best game from Ubisoft
  67. May 22, 2013
    9
    This is the first game I have ever pre-ordered, so that in itself should give you an overview of the game.
    In fact, given the open world, animals, RPG elements and one mission in particular which involves blowing up stuff to "Make it Bun 'Dem" I would love to give this 10. However, the final act of the plot, which felt last-minute and pointless (though at points engaging and awesome),
    really deflated my opinion of the campaign. Do not let this stop you though, its an amazing open world, with lots of stuff to do, whether it be hunting, challenges, or simply pissing off pirates GTA style. Expand
  68. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    I counted the other day that I've completed at least 22 Xbox games' single player campaigns and also played many other games I haven't bothered finishing Far Cry 3 is in the top 3 games I have played It's an open world FPS and will take up a lot of your time very good value for money Great main story with a vast amount of other content including taking out military bases by stealh or all guns blazing

    A good leveling up system and much more to keep you busy

    I know everyone is entitled to their own opinion but I can't understand the few negative reviews on this site

    If you buy one FPS this generation make it this one
    Expand
  69. Apr 24, 2013
    9
    Farcry 3 is a amazing experience and probably one of best games of 2012. The story of Farcry 3 is amazing and Jason main protagonist grows as he is on the island. While the real star of the game is probably Vaas who is one of the main villians the game. The voice acting and the way he acts in the game really makes the player want to kill him. Furthermore, the gameplay of Farcry 3 is also amazing with a variety of ways a player can complete the game. You can complete the game stealthy or run and gun throughout the game. In addition, there are many weapons that a player can choose from which can help you be stealthy or help you mow down you enemies. Also the what makes this game different from other games is that you can also hunt animals. There are also many skills that a players changes the pace based on what players choose. Hunting animals actually have a impact on the game and you can create different things from materials found from animals. Even after you complete the game there are many things such as side quests to finish. Another addition the developers added was mulitplayer which wasn't even necessary but a welcome addition. Overall, the game is great with additional content the will make the game last. Expand
  70. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3 is the shooter 95% of FPS fans want. Why? Adrenaline.
    Set in two tropical islands in the middle of the Pacific Ocean, the player plays as Jason, an unfortunate young man who’s had the bad luck to go on a vacation with a group of friends to an island infested with drug/human traffickers. What transpires from there is for the player to find out. And oh, is it a hell of a trip.

    Far Cry 3 is an open world first person shooter; this isn’t a game like call of duty, where the player is expected to walk from point A to B without the freedom to choose how, but a game where the player is given complete freedom over how they want to progress. If thorough, halfway through the game the player will find him/herself as a complete badass without feeling too overpowered. The game does an excellent job providing a leveling system that is neat and well rewarding. It’s fun to see what new skills can be unlocked with every new level achieved through experience points, and ultimately putting them to the test.
    Gameplay shines in Far Cry 3. Throughout the game, the player unlocks and has several skills to take advantage either in the environment or during combat. It is ever so fun to sneak behind an enemy, impale him, quickly getting his knife with the other hand, and throwing it to the closest enemy AI, all silently. Guns are varied and so are customizations. Depending on the style of the player, one could either go loud or be a tactical stealthy assassin. The latter proves to be super fun as it provides such a level of adrenaline that is rarely present in a lot of games within the same genre. True, one can feel as a predator, but the enemy AI is smart; they will react to loud noises, sound alarms, and be aggressive. So the hunter will feel hunted as well during missions. Animals also roam around the islands and nearby waters, providing ingredients that can be key to the player’s progress. If the player wants to carry more guns, they will have to hunt down certain animals to build a larger bag. Vehicles are common, and it’s fun to drive them around. Soundtrack is fun, reaching such heights during certain segments of the game that make some missions feel so fun and exciting. A very convenient fast travel system is also present in the game for those who don’t want to spend too much time walking around from mission to mission.
    Far Cry 3’s campaign is for the most part very good. It can become a little dull during the last fourth of the game, but never enough to lose the immersive feeling. Overall it is a fantastic story full of exciting, very well acted characters that only pull the player further into the story. Ending can be a bit cliché, but it’s nothing that breaks the experience. It’s still satisfactory.
    Visuals are outstanding. The jungle environment, mountains, hills, lakes and oceans are beautifully portrayed. It truly feels like one is out in the jungle.
    Far Cry 3 is a satisfactory, thrilling, adrenaline-filled video game that makes the player feel like a badass. There is no shortage of action and adventure.
    Expand
  71. Dec 20, 2012
    9
    farcry 3 has possibly the coolest ending to a computer game of all time I actually laughed out loud at how it got me seriously seriously amazing imo The most engrossing and exhilarating game I have played since half life 2. I have never had so many adrenaline rushes from a single player game while at the same time being so immersed and committed to a protagonist yes it's a bit cheesy in places and occasionally a bro fest but the transformation of you and the psychological elements make it a game I will never forget
    not to mention the fact that half way through you gain the ability to FLY
    not actually a spoiler
    Expand
  72. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    This game is out right phenomenal. Everything from the graphics, (minor screen tear on Xbox but not too bad) voice acting, gameplay, and for how long it is, its one of the best campaigns I've ever played in a game and that's saying something. 30 hour campaign? Yes please! All this and I didn't even mention the beefy multiplayer mode, coop, and it even has a damn map editor! You can make maps and host games on them as well. All this for just 60$? Hell yeah! Ubisoft has really out done themselves. GOTY in my opinion. I also forgot to mention that Vaas is one of the best villains in gaming! Get this now and support this excellent game! Expand
  73. Dec 6, 2012
    9
    Solid shooting mechanics, a surprising attention put towards narrative (to which it mostly hits home) and a large, densely populated world with a lot of interesting, worthwhile, and, most importantly, fun content to take part in.

    Up to even a few weeks before launch, Far Cry 3 was not exactly a game that was high on my list. While I thoroughly enjoyed Far Cry: Instincts Predator when it
    released on the 360 a fair few years back, it's follow-up (by name alone), Far Cry 2, did little to impress me and much to annoy me. As for Far Cry 3, it is certainly very comparable to the experience found in Far Cry 2, except now with the lack of questionable game mechanics, annoying traveling (it is there, just handled far better this time around) and infuriating ai. Ultimately, Far Cry 3 is essentially Far Cry 2, simply executed far better this time around. If you saw the promise of the series' prior release, but were let down with the end product, it might be worth your time checking this one out. For me, this is certainly a strong contender for my personal game of the year. It's an extremely solid game that seems to have hit, and properly, all of the goals it set to make. Expand
  74. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    this game is great and far cry 3 is big sand box You can kill animals whenever you want Far Cry 3 is all the best things about open-world gaming. It's a glorious anecdote factory, where you manufacture brilliant new memories every time you wake up in a safehouse and head out into the jungle d it always lets you play, but it also controls the tempo - sometimes a little heavy-handedly, but always with good intentionsou have a fully featured single-player game that lasts upward of 35 hours or more, depending on how much you want to do. Kills earn you experience, Corpses and chests can be looted for cash and saleable items; you then buy new weapons and maps and to replenish ammo at safe houses. Out in the wild, you collect plant life of various kinds so that you can fill syringes with meds that heal you, make you less vulnerable, or enhance your senses. Expand
  75. Jul 4, 2014
    10
    I have never had an issue really with someone disliking or hating a game i loved, difference of opinion is all well and good.....until this game. How could a game be done more perfect than this one in 2012? It nailed EVERYTHING, so why list it? I will say this: I have been looking for a FPS campaign that would blow me away in 2014 that i could get engulfed in like i did Arkham City (obviously different genre but still) and this was it. Do yourself a humongous favor and play it. sidenote: one of the best and coolest intros to a game to date. Expand
  76. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Absolutely in love with this game. A huge, beautiful and great, living world with many of things to do besides the very well executed missions. While Ubisoft tried to make their previous installment Far Cry 2 immersive it almost went controversy and a little too realistic. Jamming guns, a lack of hud mode and an overall lack of gameplay features drive you away from the experience. In Far Cry 3, things have changed. With the new introduced RPG elements, abilities to craft and the ability to use stealth against your enemies, it actually became lots of fun to travel instead of frustrating. Far Cry 3 offers us what the openworld genre is supposed to offer, while the previous installment was good, it lacked many things that other openworld games had to offer. Besides the addictive singleplayer campaign, there's also a little uninspired, but yet so fun multiplayer with a huge map editor, allowing the people who love to be creative almost unlimited hours of fun. The 6 hour Coop is pretty interesting also, but i personally see much more potential in the Map editors sandbox mode, allowing you to put AI in your maps. Imagine if Ubisoft skipped this whole coop and made it possible for the player to create their OWN coop, each with it's own map and objective. This way, the AI that Ubisoft introduced us would be where it really belongs. Now Far Cry 3 isn't flawless, but offers so much fun and an almost unlimited amount of replay value, making it my personal Game Of The Year 2012. Expand
  77. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    I played Borderlands 2 and had hours of fun, Halo 4 came out and wowed with it's graphics, now we have Far Cry 3 and at the end of the year no doubt. I have been following this since it was announced and I pre-ordered, mind you I don't typically do that.

    I have spent 20+ hours with this done some story missions and climbed about 10 radio towers, there is just so much packed into this
    game. It took a little bit to get used to, as the game doesn't hold your hands, it gives you the basics and leaves you to your own devices.

    Once I got the hang of how the whole thing works I was hunting and crafting to make my hunter more efficient. Vaas is an excellent villain one of the best I've seen in a while. What I love most about this game is the randomness. Yesterday for the heck of it I decided to run into the jungle ran into a rare tiger, fought with him, killed him, then stumbled across a motorboat and drove it down a waterfall.

    Started an enemy base on fire that spread into the forest animals scattering everywhere. Then I came across a cave and the game cycle entered night, cave was kind of creepy, then I heard the sounds of something in there, found some good loot, then a bear comes out from deep within the cave and kills me.

    This was just 20 minutes of messing around, its easy to loose yourself for hours playing this game. There's just fun around every corner and the encounters are always random and different. I'm very impressed with the amount of constantly random content in this game.

    This is my first Far Cry game, the cons always outweighed the pros to me but this one is way different and I'm happy to close off the year with this gem of a game.

    Pros:
    -Graphics
    -Gameplay
    -Story
    -Randomness
    -Openworld
    -Vehicles

    Cons:
    -Some missions when your near the mission area and try to wander the game warns you "Leaving mission area turn back or fail the mission" this sucks cause the other day I found a rare animal and hunted them, once I skinned the animal I failed and had to restart at the last checkpoint and lost my rare animal skin.
    -I would say the checkpoint system and the inability to save in mission is a setback.
    -Also, you can't change active quest or turn off active quest in game i.e. Skyrim, Borderlands 2.

    Other than those minor gripes this is BY FAR my Game of the Year!!!
    Expand
  78. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    Simply put, Far Cry 3 is my favorite first person shooter of all time. I love this game. Graphics are beautiful, with lots of attention to detail put into making the island really look alive. The story is also very strong as well, with outstanding characters and great progression. But what really makes this my favorite shooter of all time is the gameplay and the gameplay mechanics. Getting experience for shooting other pirates and soldiers on the island is fun, and you gradually feel your character become a powerful warrior. This is due to an extremely well done perk unlock system. Whenever you gain enough experience, you are able to unlock another perk. This allows you to perform deadly new attacks, help you survive longer, or be more stealthy. No matter how you choose to play the game, it all feels great. Being stealthy is almost too satisfying, as you quickly and quietly leap out from a hiding place to kill an enemy before going back into hiding. Guns blazing is also very satisfying, as the guns feel powerful and deadly. Far cry 3 is one of those games that I played for hours and hours and never touched the story, but did the side missions instead. It was a game that I simply could not put down. It is an experience that really sticks out in my mind as one of the best games released in a long time. If you are a fan of shooters, RPGs, or open world games, you owe it to yourself to go buy this game. The sheer enjoyment of this game is enough to warrant a perfect score, and the great graphics, story, and character development really make Far Cry 3 an unforgettable experience. Expand
  79. Jan 30, 2013
    10
    As an "older" gamer with young kids, it's not often I'm interested enough to actually play through an entire game. But Far Cry 3 has the right mix of interesting storyline, good gameplay, satisfying item development, enjoyable skill trees, and enough detail to keep me coming back for more. As others have said there are many enjoyable options to approaching any battle situation, from close-quarters stealth takedowns, to sniping from afar, to the balls-to-the-wall guns blazing approach. I would give this game 9.5 overall, which rounds up to 10 in my opinion. Definitely one of the best games of 2012, not to be missed and well worth the investment. Expand
  80. Dec 6, 2012
    9
    huge world,alike assassins`creed,variety in weapons,active nature,middle enemy AI(SMART predator-animals/stupid non-dangerous animals),strong story with strong SIDE-CHARACTERS,sometimes saves system make you angry,VAAS is so lovely.
    when you play "farcry3",first thing you like is you(only you:the gamer);the game respect you and your thinking,make you happy every ways you play.the gameplay
    is fun and make you to move fast/slow,hunt,hid&seek,adventure and watching the beautiful island.
    story start with a "cliche" but at it is only at beginning furthermore "farcry" serie is based on gun-play or man-hunting.
    map of the game is huge and accessible in most places,graphic elements are good not high(water is solid sometimes,cars at distances are like cubes,textures appear right front of your eyes...) but colors are so alive and lovely.
    missions are base on you skills and learn you how to use them.guns are most times helpful but shotguns are over-powered in enemy hands.the hunting is fun for upgrades and money but gamers must be cautious about predators.music is the only weak spot of the game,it is dizzy and out most of the times.
    Expand
  81. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    So I have played around 10 hours and to me this is my game of the year. The campaign absorbed me into Rook island and the performances from the characters is phenomenal. Vaas is the perfect villian and Jason with his innocent tone changed throughout the campaign provides an amazing experience. The game is far improved since Far Cry 2 but there are a still few enemy glitches and some very minor screen tearing but that doesn't deter you from what is an amazing game. The multiplayer is kind of basic but once people start creating maps I believe that will help it feel unique and fun. The map editor is amazing and gives you more tools than ever and the level of creativity and detail you can create is immense. The graphics are very good for these old consoles, the mechanics are well done, and the replayibility to me is limitless. Overall this is one of my favorite games this gen. Expand
  82. Jan 13, 2013
    9
    This game is fantastic, with a top notch story, over the top surreal characters that are also enhance with a superb voice casting. With a beautiful landscape and abundance of wildlife you really feel that, you in a vast, wild, untamed land with unexpected encounters. The quests can be rather monotonous at times especially with picking up and delivering items but that being said it is worth a buy. Oh and the mutliplayer and Co op is also excellent. Expand
  83. Dec 29, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game was a splendid experience. The gameplay is fun and immersive, everything can be going right while you're setting some wild pig on fire, then out of nowhere a lion is mauling you in the face, and some pirates decide to throw bullets and an rpg-7 at you. The locale and graphics are stunning, enough to keep you simply looking around for hours, much like Skyrim.

    This game would be worth a 10 if the story didn't fall flat on it's face after a certain event. Play it and you'll know what I mean.
    Expand
  84. Dec 9, 2012
    9
    After finally finishing the campaign, I can safely give Far Cry 3 a 9 out of 10. The story is easy to follow but still engaging. There are some emotional moments here and there, but that is not the moral of the story, the point of this game is survival. You hunt animals and people, try to save your captured friends, drive, glide, parkour, kill, dive, explore, and the list goes on and on. The side missions are short but sweet, and most have them have a funny ending to them. Crafting is an important element to the game. You must hunt for game and collect herbs to craft materials and tools such as wallets, ammo pouches, and medicine. You can play the game however you want. You have the choice to take down the bad guys using stealth, brute frontal assault, or a mixture of both! There are some problems with the game that forces me to give this game only a 9 out of 10. First, the glitches are abundant in this game. There is one glitch where the shadow of your gun is permanently stuck on the ground and will follow you until you exit the game and come back. Enemies will sometimes see you through walls and trees, but you can't see them. This will cause them to ring the alarm, which will call for reinforcements. (Reinforcements are a pain in the A** to deal with) Those are the only problems I have with the game, but the rest is pure awesomeness. This game is a must buy game. This is a definite nominee for GOTY. Expand
  85. Feb 25, 2013
    9
    Excellent game The game Far Cry 2 should 've been.
    It takes the best elements from Red Dead Redemption, GTA and Far Cry and melds them together into a wonderfully enjoyable romp through the Jungles, roads and seas. Plenty of bad guys, animals and missions to keep you interested. Also the combat is very good, they must 've sacked the guys from Far Cry 2 and employed some competent
    programmers Well done! Expand
  86. Dec 10, 2012
    9
    Possible Game of the Year material. I play a lot of games. I can't say I played them all though, so instead of saying that this IS game of the year material I'll say it
  87. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    This is the best FPS game in a long time, hell it's one of the best game of ths generation. There is so much content in the game, and it is all quality content. The main campaign last around 12 hours if you rush it, but I spent over 25 hours on the single player and I still have stuff to do. The co-op campaign is much shorter at around 4 hours, but it's still a lot of fun and worth a play through. I am also pleasently surprised by the online multiplayer as well, it feels and plays great, there are lots of unlockables, challenges, tattoo editor and also a fantastic map editor. The map editor is AMAZING, and I have already played on some great user created maps, it just a shame that you can't do multiplayer with vehicles, which was a big feature of previous Far Cry games, and they are needed because the map size you are given is huge. (HINT HINT NUDGE NUDGE UBISOFT)
    In short this game is a masterpiece, great story which had me confused, but in a good way, it fitted the games insanity theme, good online with massive potential in the map editor, there is a tons of content in this game. Buy it.
    Expand
  88. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3 is awesome, and in my opinion easily game of the year. There is so much to do in this game, so ill start with the singleplayer. You are Jason Brody, an over privileged kid, when you and your friends are captured by crazy, slave trading pirates you have to escape and find a way to rescue your friends and escape the island. The story is excellent with Vaas being one of the best video game villains in recent memory. That's not to say it doesn't have its shortcomings, at time the narrative can become a bit cliche, and slow, but that is my only gripe. apart from the main quest there are radio towers, which once climbed reveal areas of the map, grant you free weapons and reveal all the enemies forts in the area. Once you clear an enemy fort, you gain access to side missions in that region, as well as a fast travel point. This is a great system where one thing leads to another and you can easily waste hours just screwing around. on top of that there is hunting, which is very fun to do, you have animals ranging from tapirs to tigers, deer to crocodiles and even sharks! Hunting also has a purpose as you hunt for animal skins to upgrade your equipment, like your rucksack, wallet and weapon holster. The open world is a large, beautiful, tropical island, filled with ruins caves and wildlife, the gameplay is solid, and takes a page out of RPG's where as you level up you can spend skill points to further customize your play style, my only problem with this is that it is possible to get every skill, i wish it was a little more specialized so if i wanted to be a ninja, i would have to play like one. Overall the single player is not one to be missed and easily the best experience of the year. Muliplayer however, while not fantastic is not bad. It is a typical FPS style multiplayer, build a class, unlock as you progress etc. My favourite game mode was firestorm, where you have to simultaneously ignite your oppositions barrels. Fire then spreads throughout the map cutting off certain routes. It is a fun and interesting game mode to play, and i recommend you give it a go. Then there is even Coop, which is fun and takes place 6 months prior to the singleplayer. Overall the Coop is a solid addition, which can be a bit tedious if you have less than 3 players. Then you have the map editor, which is awesome, the options are extremely robust, and you can create almost anything you can imagine. My only gripe being the controls being a little difficult at times to use. (But that's consoles for ya!). Overall Far Cry is an amazing game, i couldn't give it more praise, a few hiccups sadly prevent me from giving it the 10, but however this is easily the best game released this year, and i recommend it to anyone and everyone. Expand
  89. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    GAME OF THE YEAR 2012 this game is amazing great graphics great game play great story and the best video game villain ever this game is amazing every one should play it a ton of content and amazing characters get this game
  90. Feb 15, 2013
    9
    This game is going to have to be a favorite for me. The graphics are beautiful, good story, and there is just so much to do. So many side missions to play and unlock. Over 30 animals to hunt! This game deserves a 10 but I rated 9 because there could've been a little more to it. The multiplayer is kinda worthless and not worth paying 10 bucks to play (Yes you have to pay for multiplayer after you payed for the game...) So don't get it used! If I had know the multiplayer was terrible i wouldn't of gotten it. People are barely ever on and it takes forever to get into a game. The CO-OP is ok but could've been better. But other than that this game surely is amazing! Expand
  91. Oct 4, 2013
    9
    Far cry 3 is the best game in the franchise. It puts you in a lush amazing world were you have to ability to explore different islands do side quests and just blow up! it lets you choose how to do a mission, from stealth to total guns blazing. getting new tattoos so you have new you could say powers to help you survive the island. oh and the new enemy voss is dun perfectly never have I ever been so immersed in a game. and it comes with a full length multiplayer, and a co-op campaign and map editor. now the map editor is clearly made and designed for pc because it is extremely hard to use on the Xbox. You can also download other maps that people made and play them with friends or random people in a death match or strategic match. Now for some of the games faults. First for some reason the game wouldn't save at sometimes. and my game occasionally froze and I had to restart my Xbox witch I didn't enjoy. also some random frame rate issues. and once you beat the game it just feels like a big open world but that's it there is nothing left to do and it gets kind of boring. but I love this game no matter what so I give it a 9/10 I would given it higher but its to late. Also guys check out my new youtube chanel AverageGamerReviews2 and subscribe because I will be bringing you all the news and reviews of the games coming out 3013-2014 Expand
  92. Aug 19, 2013
    9
    This game was a splendid experience. The gameplay is fun and immersive, everything can be going right while you're setting some wild pig on fire, then out of nowhere a lion is mauling you in the face, and some pirates decide to throw bullets and an rpg-7 at you. The locale and graphics are stunning, enough to keep you simply looking around for hours, much like Skyrim.

    This game would be
    worth a 10 if the story didn't fall flat on it's face after a certain event. Play it and you'll know what I mean. Expand
  93. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    I really don't have much to rag on for Far Cry III. This game has it all. Here's some of Far Cry III's biggest strengths:
    -Top quality voice acting & character animations
    -High quality story
    -Great combat (if you use it right. You can either just go in guns blazing or try for more stealth-based combat. I opt for the latter which has made my gameplaying experience SO much better!)
    -The
    best villain I've ever played against: Vaas.
    -An open, lush environment
    -A pretty cool RPG-esque level up system.

    Now, you may have heard this game is Skyrim with guns. As awesome as the game is, it'd be a lie to say that it's anything like the Elder Scrolls. NPC interaction is pretty limited, sidequests are really basic and you don't level up in nearly as much detail as Skyrim. That being said, I still loved the game. Buy it now!
    Expand
  94. May 26, 2014
    10
    I loved this game as much as GTA V. Awesome story and awesome open world. Great graphics. It took an entire summer (playing evry day) to complete every single mission and to find the treasures. I lost so many hours doing nothing and having fun with animals and exploring the islands! Try to approach the situation like 'murika, throwing grenades and burning people with a flamethrower or try with stealth, letting tigers to kill enemies or killing them from behind. And the boss battle, skrillex soundtrack, all the moments that you will remember are too much to not play this game. Expand
  95. Jan 7, 2013
    9
    Nearly perfect. While a few quests can be a bit samey and some of the side quests seem really pointless, the rest of the game is excellent. Has a great story with excellent characters and a bit of a disturbing look into the what can happen to someone's mind under the right circumstances.
  96. Jan 27, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3 was one of the best games of 2012 hands down. Great characters, awesome graphics and killer gameplay. The story left a little bit to be desired, but still phenomenal.
  97. Dec 17, 2012
    9
    I found this to be a very good game. I enjoyed the story a great deal and let myself become attached to the characters I interacted with (as you should to really enjoy good games). Action was fun.

    Cons: AI cant see you in broad daylight 20 feet away when crouched. Enemies have the skyrim complex and one you hide again they stop looking within a few seconds. Sometimes. Sometimes they
    check your last location. Even on hard I never really needed to use cover much and that was just with a bow. I really enjoyed this game and felt it was worth 50 bucks, something I rarely say. Idk about the multi or co-op yet. Expand
  98. Feb 7, 2013
    10
    Amazing game gorgeous graphics amazing weapons and all round fun. The game has one heck of a storyline that made me cry. The guns are great, the bow is one the best with the wind drop. The action is incredible. This is hands down the best game of 2012 well done ubisoft
  99. Dec 9, 2012
    10
    Oh God..... I LOVE this game!! THE best sandpit experience ever and major contender for game of the year. The freedom to follow the story campaign and divert to side missions, or just explore is brilliant. Just to go hunting and stumble upon hidden caves, (full of goodies and collectables) or jump off a mountain in a hang glider and choose any destination to land is freedom afforded by very few games. And trouble is never far away whether you are free roaming or questing, be it human or wild beast. Simply.............. AWESOME !!!! Expand
  100. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    This game is the best game i played this year. The gameplay is just phenomenal. Id say it coul be a better stealth game overall than dishonored or hitman, better action game than halo4. The guns and shooting feels tight, so many things to do ranging from hunting, crafting, clearing outposts, heck i even had more fun playing far cry than skyrim, me3, halo4, dishonored or hitman. The sense of place is Just as cool. Graphics look amazing, i didnt know the xbox 360 could pull of the graphics. Wow i just cant say enough about this game. Its just like a great experience that you never want to end. Expand
  101. Dec 28, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers. The allure of Far Cry has always been the open-ended tactical choices available during each encounter, and the variety of ways you could take down targets. With dynamic variables like aggressive wildlife and roaming pirates, your stealth and aggro options open up more than ever. Collapse
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Apr 8, 2013
    80
    Far Cry 3 reaches for greatness, but falls short at merely being really fun. It has a few hiccups here and there and the story is very thin, but the exploration and combat really shine. It's a worthy addition to any collection.
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    90
    Almost everything about Far Cry 3 speaks to the game’s skilled, confident and tightly interwoven design, and players are free to seek their specific flavour of gratification and victory as Jason becomes the most dangerous animal on the island.
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    80
    The freeform combat, gorgeous locations, and excellent multiplayer are strong, and Far Cry 3 does a fantastic job of putting the player in the middle of a lawless, chaotic world and letting them get up to whatever they please. Yes, video games are capable of achieving much more than Far Cry 3 does, but it makes a persuasive argument that there's nothing wrong with a guilty pleasure now and again—especially when it's as slickly presented as this is.