User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1088 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    I love the intro to the game. I love the open world, I love the huge selection of weapons, the various techniques used to get through missions, like opening tiger cages, sneaking around or just balls to the wall Rambo style. I love how everything in the environment explodes in fires when a car explodes, a flame thrower is used or whatever. I love hunting all the animals and using theirI love the intro to the game. I love the open world, I love the huge selection of weapons, the various techniques used to get through missions, like opening tiger cages, sneaking around or just balls to the wall Rambo style. I love how everything in the environment explodes in fires when a car explodes, a flame thrower is used or whatever. I love hunting all the animals and using their skin to craft new items like wallets or ammo holsters which enable you to carry more money and ammo. I love the story and all the crazy vehicles you have at your disposal. The graphics aren't top notch, but it still manages to take your breath away and look extraordinary. I highly recommend anyone and everyone to buy this game as it's now became one of my favorite games. I wouldn't be surprised if Far Cry 3 won game of the year cause it sure as hell deserves it. Expand
  2. Dec 5, 2012
    9
    A near perfect open world gaming experience. With the expection of minor flaws, all the parts needed to make this a great game are present. Story is usually a component of games that most often leaves me uninspired, and therefore my expectation are kept low. In the case of Far Cry 3, the charater animations, voice performances, and dialogue are quite good making it a pleasure toA near perfect open world gaming experience. With the expection of minor flaws, all the parts needed to make this a great game are present. Story is usually a component of games that most often leaves me uninspired, and therefore my expectation are kept low. In the case of Far Cry 3, the charater animations, voice performances, and dialogue are quite good making it a pleasure to follow the narrative. The meat and potatoes however is always the core gameplay, and here Ubisoft has delivered nicely. Here you have a huge, dense open world, unique objectives to tackle through a variety of optional means, and an enemy AI that for the most part is adequately adaptive and aggresive. I have found, early on in the game at least, that the standard frontal assault on a well defended position is likely to get you killed. It's usually a better idea to employ a bit of steath assasination to thin the ranks before openly engaging. Driving physics are good but somewhat of a challenge from first person perspective. I personally would have preferred a third person view to allow better situational awareness. Graphical presentation is good, not great. Draw distance is generally terrific but geometry and textures leave something to be desired, on the 360 version at least. It's worth noting that not withstanding the huge world, and large numbers of sophisticated AI, there is virtually no loading in contrast to a game like Skyrim. With that said, this is still a beautiful game visually and does not detract from the gameplay experiance one bit, IMO. Expand
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    This game is out right phenomenal. Everything from the graphics, (minor screen tear on Xbox but not too bad) voice acting, gameplay, and for how long it is, its one of the best campaigns I've ever played in a game and that's saying something. 30 hour campaign? Yes please! All this and I didn't even mention the beefy multiplayer mode, coop, and it even has a damn map editor! You can makeThis game is out right phenomenal. Everything from the graphics, (minor screen tear on Xbox but not too bad) voice acting, gameplay, and for how long it is, its one of the best campaigns I've ever played in a game and that's saying something. 30 hour campaign? Yes please! All this and I didn't even mention the beefy multiplayer mode, coop, and it even has a damn map editor! You can make maps and host games on them as well. All this for just 60$? Hell yeah! Ubisoft has really out done themselves. GOTY in my opinion. I also forgot to mention that Vaas is one of the best villains in gaming! Get this now and support this excellent game! Expand
  4. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Far Cry 3 is probably the best sandbox shooter and a lovable alternative to those who do not like Borderlands. There is so much to do in this game and makes it very much worth the money. Ubisoft Montreal have fixed all the game ruining glitches that have come from Far Cry 2. But when creating a massive world, it can't be perfect so there are still a few glitches here and there, but in myFar Cry 3 is probably the best sandbox shooter and a lovable alternative to those who do not like Borderlands. There is so much to do in this game and makes it very much worth the money. Ubisoft Montreal have fixed all the game ruining glitches that have come from Far Cry 2. But when creating a massive world, it can't be perfect so there are still a few glitches here and there, but in my experience I have seen nothing so far that has made me unable to complete a mission or side mission. This is an amazing experience and is very enjoyable challenge for people who like to run and gun and the people who love stealth games. Expand
  5. Dec 22, 2012
    4
    This game is dreadful. One big fetch quest from start to finish, without little in the way of variance. Locations are all almost the same consisting of revealing an area by climbing a radio tower, then liberating it by clearing 2 enemy bases in that zone. They are all similar little in the way of difference. Once cleared there will be a wanted quest, and or a hunter quest, possibly aThis game is dreadful. One big fetch quest from start to finish, without little in the way of variance. Locations are all almost the same consisting of revealing an area by climbing a radio tower, then liberating it by clearing 2 enemy bases in that zone. They are all similar little in the way of difference. Once cleared there will be a wanted quest, and or a hunter quest, possibly a villagers quest, and hospital supply quest, repeating in these identically for 18 or so zones. While picking up endless collectibles to whittle the time away. The main story is un-thrilling lacking in much personality, solved by going in with guns blazing or climb, swim to escape. The AI are unintilligent always speaking the same with the same accent in every location, while getting themselves stuck constantly and die so easily on every difficulty. This game blatantly condones drug missuse everything is injected and is from a syringe. While you also slaugther endangered animals to make into bags. Money caps and cannot be collected until a bigger wallet is made, meaning hunting some rare endangered animal and skinning to craft into a larger wallet. You simply cannot pick up more cash prior. The mini game of Texas holdem poker is played entirely wrong. Every time you win a hand even after the table has folded your winning hand is shown. The format of the winning hand is shown by combining the cards with the decks cards leaving you to figured out what your opponents had. Vechiles drive like tanks, often getting stuck on terrain, while mostly it is quicker to run. There are little differences between the various gun types they all handle as easily as an another resulting in the enemy dead very quickly on which ever diffculty played. Once dead you respawn easily there are no penalties.

    A massively disappointingly game where you literally repeating the same thing over on one big fetch quest. Its playtime comes from chasing collectibles. You would really have to be somekind of stoner to find any enjoyment out of this game as it is boring beyond all imagination.
    Expand
  6. Dec 7, 2012
    5
    Plastic paradise anyone? i ll keep this simple.. Graphically its a mess on the xbox 360 it haslow frame rates that make you dizzy, the environment has this sickly cheap plastic sheen, the water effects are appalling, in some parts the water looks more solid than land sometimes it doesnt even move! The whole game with the exception of taking out posts has a been there done that feel forPlastic paradise anyone? i ll keep this simple.. Graphically its a mess on the xbox 360 it haslow frame rates that make you dizzy, the environment has this sickly cheap plastic sheen, the water effects are appalling, in some parts the water looks more solid than land sometimes it doesnt even move! The whole game with the exception of taking out posts has a been there done that feel for example hunting, picking flowers, crafting etc etc..its dull dull dull d d d dull Driving physics in all vehicles are terrible, theres constant information popping up on screen an oddly placed mini map which you cant turn off.. i could go on and on and on and i havnt even got to the story
    In the end the bad far out way the good. Its a far cry from the only FAR CRY.
    This has just too many hallmarks of triple A mediocrity. something for the masses = Far cry 3.
    Expand
  7. Dec 6, 2012
    9
    Solid shooting mechanics, a surprising attention put towards narrative (to which it mostly hits home) and a large, densely populated world with a lot of interesting, worthwhile, and, most importantly, fun content to take part in.

    Up to even a few weeks before launch, Far Cry 3 was not exactly a game that was high on my list. While I thoroughly enjoyed Far Cry: Instincts Predator when it
    Solid shooting mechanics, a surprising attention put towards narrative (to which it mostly hits home) and a large, densely populated world with a lot of interesting, worthwhile, and, most importantly, fun content to take part in.

    Up to even a few weeks before launch, Far Cry 3 was not exactly a game that was high on my list. While I thoroughly enjoyed Far Cry: Instincts Predator when it released on the 360 a fair few years back, it's follow-up (by name alone), Far Cry 2, did little to impress me and much to annoy me. As for Far Cry 3, it is certainly very comparable to the experience found in Far Cry 2, except now with the lack of questionable game mechanics, annoying traveling (it is there, just handled far better this time around) and infuriating ai. Ultimately, Far Cry 3 is essentially Far Cry 2, simply executed far better this time around. If you saw the promise of the series' prior release, but were let down with the end product, it might be worth your time checking this one out. For me, this is certainly a strong contender for my personal game of the year. It's an extremely solid game that seems to have hit, and properly, all of the goals it set to make.
    Expand
  8. Dec 24, 2012
    6
    An island sandbox with elements of Assassin's Creed (climbing tall phallus shaped objects), Red Dead Redemption (hunting), and World of Warcraft (terrible skill tree). First, the worst part of the game is the addition by duck tape of a bare bones RPG skill tree. The skill tree, by the end of the game will feel like it was a cocoon wrapped around you preventing you from playing how youAn island sandbox with elements of Assassin's Creed (climbing tall phallus shaped objects), Red Dead Redemption (hunting), and World of Warcraft (terrible skill tree). First, the worst part of the game is the addition by duck tape of a bare bones RPG skill tree. The skill tree, by the end of the game will feel like it was a cocoon wrapped around you preventing you from playing how you should have played from the first minute on. The best part of the game is that it it is easily the most responsive shooter I have ever played. When playing you will feel like you are in more control of Brody than any game character you have played. Every shot you miss, you will never feel like it is lag. The game is so responsive, you will unconsciously take responsibility for ever mistep you make.

    I score it down because, like Darksiders 2, Far Cry 3 should have been in development for another 3 to 6 months. In short, the first half of the game is brilliant, while the latter half plays like a pc tech demo.
    Expand
  9. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    The game is simply amazing. You really get into that big and beautiful jungle full of wildlife and hostality. It has been a while since I played a good but at the same time big game as this one. All the features are great and even though the storyline is very good you can have much fun doing other things beside the main plot. Also the crafting system is great, in my opinion not too muchThe game is simply amazing. You really get into that big and beautiful jungle full of wildlife and hostality. It has been a while since I played a good but at the same time big game as this one. All the features are great and even though the storyline is very good you can have much fun doing other things beside the main plot. Also the crafting system is great, in my opinion not too much complicated and perfectly balanced with the game itself. The multiplayer I just managed to try it out and it looks good but since there are not so many players yet there has been a rather big difference between those who already tried it out and those who are new. Even though that my video card is not the recommended one I can enjoy the game with the most things set on high and that makes me even more happy. Expand
  10. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    one of the best games of 2012 is Far Cry 3.This is an amazing game very addictive and fun to play.From the start the storyline is done perfectly as you get deeper into the game it becomes very addictive.From the amazing graphics to the smooth gameplay and the easy controls this game is truly one of the best first person shooter's I have ever played.Even if you are new to the first personone of the best games of 2012 is Far Cry 3.This is an amazing game very addictive and fun to play.From the start the storyline is done perfectly as you get deeper into the game it becomes very addictive.From the amazing graphics to the smooth gameplay and the easy controls this game is truly one of the best first person shooter's I have ever played.Even if you are new to the first person shooters you will find the controls very easy to learn.Though this game is a bit difficult all this means is you have to think what to do next on how to accomplish your mission.Far Cry 3 is an amazing game and as you play the game you know the creators took their time making this game and at the end they produced on of 2012 best games.If you love first person shooter's then I strongly recommend this and if you still not convinced just read the other reviews and if you're still not convinced look at the reviews from the critics.Forget the negative reviews those people just don't know what a good game is.Far Cry 3 is by far the best and most addictive and fun filled open world game I have played in a while.It is the type of game that keeps you hooked to your TV screen for hours on end and when you go to sleep you even dream of the game.Thank you Ubisoft for making such amazing and highly addictive games. Expand
  11. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    An amazing game.I loved the story,freedom and weapons especially,as well as the wing suit/parachute.Though the side missions are mainly dull,the activities such as racing,knife throwing,shooting,poker and hunting missions are all fantastic.There are a few major flaws though.Context sensitivity,mainly healing, is poor throughout and the odd mission glitches out randomly and your syringesAn amazing game.I loved the story,freedom and weapons especially,as well as the wing suit/parachute.Though the side missions are mainly dull,the activities such as racing,knife throwing,shooting,poker and hunting missions are all fantastic.There are a few major flaws though.Context sensitivity,mainly healing, is poor throughout and the odd mission glitches out randomly and your syringes are mostly useless,Medicine and Hunters Instinct being the major ones and the occasional Deep Dive and Invincibilty coming in handy.The two major islands are quite different with the first a true jungle and second being far more open.Also the game isn't as long as you'd initially believe with a completion rate of exactly 90% after 28 hours during my first playthrough on medium.Hard is slightly tougher but not impossible.The main story actually blew me away in several trippy parts and was most enjoyable.All in all a really,really great game,despite some big annoyances.9.5/10 Expand
  12. Dec 4, 2012
    6
    Far Cry 3 is a game I coul'd wait for but when it came out it was quite disappointing. Graphics are ok but not adequate for a game in 2012 which calls itself "best game of the year". The story was ok and provides you also a lot of open world sandbox gameplay. You can (almost) everytime do what you want to do. Mapping is nicely dont except some border which are pretty annoying - you can'tFar Cry 3 is a game I coul'd wait for but when it came out it was quite disappointing. Graphics are ok but not adequate for a game in 2012 which calls itself "best game of the year". The story was ok and provides you also a lot of open world sandbox gameplay. You can (almost) everytime do what you want to do. Mapping is nicely dont except some border which are pretty annoying - you can't go over them so you have to jump (even if it's only a cm) -> alerts the enemies. The AI is not the best but they're ok. The singleplayer offered me about 10 hours individual gameplay (story) + a lot of additional time to explore, capture checkpoints, doing nice missions, unlocking perks. Rating for the singleplayer ~8/10
    The multiplayer is UNPLAYABLE!!! Matchmaking does not work, lobbys are bugged %95 and does not start the game. It's not only me - everybody is having these problems and it is a shame they released such a buggy product. When it works the multiplayer is quite laggy -> not really fun. They provided some unique features for example the "killcam" or the dicision if you as a winner execute or exempt the loser. But all in all it's just a ~2/10
    A few years ago it would have been a great game but in 2012 it lacks of quality - and it's a SHAME to release such a buggy game!
    Expand
  13. Jan 12, 2013
    6
    Although the graphics are nice, they seem too fake. The sound quality is pretty bad, especially for the islanders - they all sound 'tinny'. The fighting as alright with a fine ability to do it stealthily, although it's nothing special. The story is pretty obvious, plus having mission areas is annoying. As different as the environment is to most games, it gets repetitive soon and theAlthough the graphics are nice, they seem too fake. The sound quality is pretty bad, especially for the islanders - they all sound 'tinny'. The fighting as alright with a fine ability to do it stealthily, although it's nothing special. The story is pretty obvious, plus having mission areas is annoying. As different as the environment is to most games, it gets repetitive soon and the overall game just doesn't have enough to do in it to make you want to keep playing. Expand
  14. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    A truly excellent game. I like RPGs but for me they are sometimes too daunting. For example, Fallout and Skyrim are great games but there is such a vast amount to do it is off-putting. Far Cry 3 has found the perfect balance, offering a challenge yet not overwhelming the gamer with too much to do, not knowing where to start. The missions offer great variety and are cinematic andA truly excellent game. I like RPGs but for me they are sometimes too daunting. For example, Fallout and Skyrim are great games but there is such a vast amount to do it is off-putting. Far Cry 3 has found the perfect balance, offering a challenge yet not overwhelming the gamer with too much to do, not knowing where to start. The missions offer great variety and are cinematic and exciting. The side missions are slightly repetitive but this is compensated for by the various approaches available to tackle a mission, for example go all out guns blazing or go for stealth. Overall, Far Cry 3 doesn't take itself too seriously and puts fun back into RPGs. Expand
  15. Dec 7, 2012
    6
    I am not enjoying this game at all. it is as dull as dishwater. there is no tension in the game. the big anoying shadow around the grsphics. the water looks very poor. for me this shows how out of date the current xbox is. the sound is terrible. the main badie is annoying and hamy. the side missions boring. attack one outpost and the map becomes easy. AAA it may be but i get noI am not enjoying this game at all. it is as dull as dishwater. there is no tension in the game. the big anoying shadow around the grsphics. the water looks very poor. for me this shows how out of date the current xbox is. the sound is terrible. the main badie is annoying and hamy. the side missions boring. attack one outpost and the map becomes easy. AAA it may be but i get no feeling/tension/feedback from the game. the original farcry is still the best by a country mile. i give this six. Expand
  16. Dec 4, 2012
    8
    Keep in mind that these are only initial impressions from the first 6 or so hours of gameplay. Overall, I'm impressed with this game! It's gorgeous, and the sound design is pretty good. I refuse to critique a story until I've finished the game, but so far it has me hooked. I did suffer from a few performance issues with the game, and odd glitches here and there (this is almost aKeep in mind that these are only initial impressions from the first 6 or so hours of gameplay. Overall, I'm impressed with this game! It's gorgeous, and the sound design is pretty good. I refuse to critique a story until I've finished the game, but so far it has me hooked. I did suffer from a few performance issues with the game, and odd glitches here and there (this is almost a standard in any sandbox game it seems). There are a few issues with AI I've noticed.... they can either be really dumb or downright cheap (spot me from 300 yards away when I'm not moving and hidden by underbrush???) But overall it's a great sandbox experience! I recommend this to both FPS and openworld Sandbox fans. Expand
  17. Jan 11, 2013
    3
    I am disappointed. This is not a very good shooter and has too many cut scenes. It is a sorry followup to far cry 2, which , at least, had good scenery. The AI is bad, the missions are, for the most part, corny and it is NOT a true open world game. Your world is limited to a very narrow area around the current mission and overall not a very fun game. You are very limited in your ability toI am disappointed. This is not a very good shooter and has too many cut scenes. It is a sorry followup to far cry 2, which , at least, had good scenery. The AI is bad, the missions are, for the most part, corny and it is NOT a true open world game. Your world is limited to a very narrow area around the current mission and overall not a very fun game. You are very limited in your ability to explore at your leisure. If you enjoy a very scripted storyline and a confining world..you maybe could get some enjoyment out of it. Expand
  18. Dec 10, 2012
    7
    UPDATE: after playing this game some more, my original score of 7 seems a little generous. I would like to make some complaints starting with the graphics. The frame rate is quite bad for starters. Also, as you approach some objects in the game world you'll notice they kind of ''de-rez'' and reappear for some odd reason. Like a lamp or piece of equipment on the ground. WTF is up withUPDATE: after playing this game some more, my original score of 7 seems a little generous. I would like to make some complaints starting with the graphics. The frame rate is quite bad for starters. Also, as you approach some objects in the game world you'll notice they kind of ''de-rez'' and reappear for some odd reason. Like a lamp or piece of equipment on the ground. WTF is up with that? Getting a close up kill or searching a body reveals horrible textures and the see through effect. Oh yeah, the water is horrible too. It barely moves no matter if you're looking at it from the ground or swimming on the surface. Hardly any animations. Now if water didn't play such a large part in the game environment I would forgive this but for taking place on a huge group of islands you can't help but notice how bad it looks every time you play. Bioshock from 5 years back has water that looks lightyears ahead of FC3. The animals are cool but their sounds get annoying really fast. If there's a big group of them together it sounds ridiculous. The enemy chatter is repetitious, all you hear from them is complaints of the heat and getting VD. Hate to continue the negatives here but there are many. The menu system is poorly designed and convoluted. The game is constantly throwing messages at you on screen which is distracting. Compared to FC2, FC3 has made some improvements. No more respawning enemies and easier fast travel to name a couple. Overall, it just feels rehashed and tired to me though. I actually prefer FC2 overall I think...call me crazy I know. Expand
  19. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    This is hands down one of the best open world games I have ever played. They get so much right and only minor details can be listed in the cons for this game. The story, the voice acting, the gameplay. They knock everything out of the park. This is the best FarCry game to date, and one of the best FPS titles of the year.
  20. Dec 9, 2012
    1
    Read Charlius 2's review (5 rating) and he hit the nail on the head with the myriad problems with this game, especially the graphics on the 360. As soon as I got a headache the third straight time I played it I sold it back to GameStop. I mean, c'mon, there is NO excuse for the FPS. The people at GS told me that the problem is due to the sheer amount of stuff happening on screen, and IRead Charlius 2's review (5 rating) and he hit the nail on the head with the myriad problems with this game, especially the graphics on the 360. As soon as I got a headache the third straight time I played it I sold it back to GameStop. I mean, c'mon, there is NO excuse for the FPS. The people at GS told me that the problem is due to the sheer amount of stuff happening on screen, and I thought to myself, are you kidding me, there's hardly anything happening except shrubbery (and boy, I love a good quest to go and get me some shrubs). Also, I have to say, those damn messages that keep appearing every time you successfully take a dump are annoying as cuss. Anyways, I can't believe this game has received universal acclaim for the XBOX despite being trite and boring as cuss. Do yourself a favor and rent before you buy. Also do yourself a favor and play Alan Wake and see what a little real creativity can do to gaming. Expand
  21. Dec 15, 2012
    10
    and here we have it, to be honest, Far Cry 2 was a good game, but not quite my cup of tea, it just didn't seem that interesting, and Far Cry 1 I never played it. But I knew what they were all about.
    So my review goes like this: I'm a huge Assassin's Creed fan, and I've been waiting for AC3 for a while, but when it came out, the game was a huge mess. And Far Cry 3 had been delayed. AC3 had
    and here we have it, to be honest, Far Cry 2 was a good game, but not quite my cup of tea, it just didn't seem that interesting, and Far Cry 1 I never played it. But I knew what they were all about.
    So my review goes like this: I'm a huge Assassin's Creed fan, and I've been waiting for AC3 for a while, but when it came out, the game was a huge mess. And Far Cry 3 had been delayed. AC3 had so many missions, hunting side stuff, challenges, but yet, none gave you anything worth it, the only fun I had was combat and Naval Missions. The game broke my heart.

    But here we have a little bit of what AC3 has, except it MAKES SENSE here, rewarding loot, experience points that actually mean something, hunting is actually needed and fun, the driving is a bit clunky, yes. But overall I'd say this is a GOTY contender, for me
    Expand
  22. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Many aspects of Far Cry 3 take credit for the undeniable perfection of the game. 1. Visually we are presented to a world with an immense feeling of variety and depth, so far unmatched. The jungle of Rook Islands is first-of-a-kind creation in gaming history, only rivaled by Skyrim (mod'ed) imo. 2. Far Cry 3 is stuffed with amazing characters that keeps getting more crazy as the gameMany aspects of Far Cry 3 take credit for the undeniable perfection of the game. 1. Visually we are presented to a world with an immense feeling of variety and depth, so far unmatched. The jungle of Rook Islands is first-of-a-kind creation in gaming history, only rivaled by Skyrim (mod'ed) imo. 2. Far Cry 3 is stuffed with amazing characters that keeps getting more crazy as the game progresses, but above all stands Vaas: so crazy, so funny, so scary, so ambivalent, FC3 has gotten its own Dark Knight Joker. 3. The synthesis of camera, music, sounds, visuals and continuity when we explore the Rook Islands is everything Far Cry 2 didnt have, especially the continuity. We would perform the same identical actions over n over n over again, the definition of insanity... In FC3 we do the exact same things over n over n over again, but because the game in visuals and experience is so tasty, u feel like u could go on forever liberating outposts and rerouting radio-towers. 4. Our main character, Jason. Finally a game that shows interest in the fact that killing does change you. Jason goes through a psychological development that I personally haven't seen the likes of ever, this is also why Vaas is so important, there is such a strong relation between him and Jason that grows as Jason keeps rampaging. All these games about killing, shooting, murdering, never have I seen any sign of these actions affecting the main characters. A unique touch to FC3 without doubt, and it succeeds without doubt. I would keep praising this game in all eternity, but these aspects are more that enough for a 10.
    Buy it n enjoy it, definitely worth it.
    Expand
  23. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    this game is great and far cry 3 is big sand box You can kill animals whenever you want Far Cry 3 is all the best things about open-world gaming. It's a glorious anecdote factory, where you manufacture brilliant new memories every time you wake up in a safehouse and head out into the jungle d it always lets you play, but it also controls the tempo - sometimes a little heavy-handedly, butthis game is great and far cry 3 is big sand box You can kill animals whenever you want Far Cry 3 is all the best things about open-world gaming. It's a glorious anecdote factory, where you manufacture brilliant new memories every time you wake up in a safehouse and head out into the jungle d it always lets you play, but it also controls the tempo - sometimes a little heavy-handedly, but always with good intentionsou have a fully featured single-player game that lasts upward of 35 hours or more, depending on how much you want to do. Kills earn you experience, Corpses and chests can be looted for cash and saleable items; you then buy new weapons and maps and to replenish ammo at safe houses. Out in the wild, you collect plant life of various kinds so that you can fill syringes with meds that heal you, make you less vulnerable, or enhance your senses. Expand
  24. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    It's not often that a game gets to me (or a 9 either) but when you wake up and the first thing that pops into your head is how you are going to get rid of that troublesome sniper or whether you should go Tapir hunting or not is a sign that it's gotten under my skin. The wow factor is there, the world feels wide open and begs to be explored. The wildlife is amazingly well done, forgetIt's not often that a game gets to me (or a 9 either) but when you wake up and the first thing that pops into your head is how you are going to get rid of that troublesome sniper or whether you should go Tapir hunting or not is a sign that it's gotten under my skin. The wow factor is there, the world feels wide open and begs to be explored. The wildlife is amazingly well done, forget running up to animals and dropping them, the deer are shy and bound away at the slightest sound, you have to stalk these babies, sometimes you'll end up being the hunted and get taken out by something you didn't even see sneaking up on you.The game world is changing and dynamic, you have to think about you actions and run and gun will sometimes work but more often than not you'll end up dead. The story, it's a long time since I was into a story in a game, Far Cry 3s plot is well done and the main villain is superbly scripted and acted. Of course it's not all a walk in the park there are some things that grate a bot and lessen the fluidity of the game, the menu/skills system is a bit clunky and takes some getting used to, the enemy AI is good but the difficulty setting should be ramped up to hardest to be more of a challenge, Multiplayer matches: takes ages to find a game but once you're in....it's pretty damn good, pitched just this side of hardcore, bullets deal heavy damage and good weapon moddeling, some good maps in there and a map editor that'll give people the chance to throw their own creations out there and no rip off rent a sever fees.. Total respect to Ubisoft for getting this game out there, when you see what can be done on one disc and with the aging 360 it makes you wonder why we bother developing new consoles instead of putting the talent into designing the games themselves. Far Cry 3 is what gaming should be, a sense of freedom and possibilities. Anyone one who thinks recycled rehashed cash cows like MW3 and Blops2 are good, try this you'll be blown away. Get it. P.S. Watch out for those pesky tigers Expand
  25. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    I've played every big game this year and this by far beats them all. amazing graphics solid game play, amazing fps, this game has something for everyone. best part for me is about to snipe in to an enemy camp and suddenly your hear a growl behind you turn around and theres a lion ready to pounce and kill you!!! cant praise this game enough the story plus side missions is well over 35hr+I've played every big game this year and this by far beats them all. amazing graphics solid game play, amazing fps, this game has something for everyone. best part for me is about to snipe in to an enemy camp and suddenly your hear a growl behind you turn around and theres a lion ready to pounce and kill you!!! cant praise this game enough the story plus side missions is well over 35hr+ game play even just free roaming has you constantly battling with the jungle. this by far is GOTY by far best far cry to date and probably best game i've ever played. Expand
  26. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    I rarely write reviews on ths site since its full of hate and contradiction,but when games like Far Cry 3 come along i cant help it but share my thoughts.This is a beautiful game,and im not talkin about the graphics.After finishing it i felt empty,thats how good it is.The story gets u hooked nearly all the time u play,but the thing i admired most about this game was the level design.I wasI rarely write reviews on ths site since its full of hate and contradiction,but when games like Far Cry 3 come along i cant help it but share my thoughts.This is a beautiful game,and im not talkin about the graphics.After finishing it i felt empty,thats how good it is.The story gets u hooked nearly all the time u play,but the thing i admired most about this game was the level design.I was surprised by this game in many ways.When u see the trailers it looks like just another COD,but hunting a shark in FC3 is more suspenfull then the last COD game itself!!The missions were a strong point of this game cause they always mix shooting,climbing,stealth and exploring in marvelous ways....The only negative thing about this game could be some screen tearing and an isolated case when a glitch occurs.The sound is fantastic,guns ,animals,enemy's feel real and the voice acting is top notch.The main character is believeable and his actions affect him in every step of your journey.The villains were very well writen especially Vass and Buck.I've played all big games this year and this is my best game shoulder to shoulder with Dishonored.I dont care about MP so if u want a rly strong SP experience try this game out.Cheers Expand
  27. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Absolutely in love with this game. A huge, beautiful and great, living world with many of things to do besides the very well executed missions. While Ubisoft tried to make their previous installment Far Cry 2 immersive it almost went controversy and a little too realistic. Jamming guns, a lack of hud mode and an overall lack of gameplay features drive you away from the experience. In FarAbsolutely in love with this game. A huge, beautiful and great, living world with many of things to do besides the very well executed missions. While Ubisoft tried to make their previous installment Far Cry 2 immersive it almost went controversy and a little too realistic. Jamming guns, a lack of hud mode and an overall lack of gameplay features drive you away from the experience. In Far Cry 3, things have changed. With the new introduced RPG elements, abilities to craft and the ability to use stealth against your enemies, it actually became lots of fun to travel instead of frustrating. Far Cry 3 offers us what the openworld genre is supposed to offer, while the previous installment was good, it lacked many things that other openworld games had to offer. Besides the addictive singleplayer campaign, there's also a little uninspired, but yet so fun multiplayer with a huge map editor, allowing the people who love to be creative almost unlimited hours of fun. The 6 hour Coop is pretty interesting also, but i personally see much more potential in the Map editors sandbox mode, allowing you to put AI in your maps. Imagine if Ubisoft skipped this whole coop and made it possible for the player to create their OWN coop, each with it's own map and objective. This way, the AI that Ubisoft introduced us would be where it really belongs. Now Far Cry 3 isn't flawless, but offers so much fun and an almost unlimited amount of replay value, making it my personal Game Of The Year 2012. Expand
  28. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    So I have played around 10 hours and to me this is my game of the year. The campaign absorbed me into Rook island and the performances from the characters is phenomenal. Vaas is the perfect villian and Jason with his innocent tone changed throughout the campaign provides an amazing experience. The game is far improved since Far Cry 2 but there are a still few enemy glitches and some verySo I have played around 10 hours and to me this is my game of the year. The campaign absorbed me into Rook island and the performances from the characters is phenomenal. Vaas is the perfect villian and Jason with his innocent tone changed throughout the campaign provides an amazing experience. The game is far improved since Far Cry 2 but there are a still few enemy glitches and some very minor screen tearing but that doesn't deter you from what is an amazing game. The multiplayer is kind of basic but once people start creating maps I believe that will help it feel unique and fun. The map editor is amazing and gives you more tools than ever and the level of creativity and detail you can create is immense. The graphics are very good for these old consoles, the mechanics are well done, and the replayibility to me is limitless. Overall this is one of my favorite games this gen. Expand
  29. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    When you first look at the game through trailers, gameplayy footage etc. you would think "oh no, this game is just another Call of Duty" but when you actually play the game your mind will be blown away and you will think differently. This is definitely one of Xbox 360's strongest games, it features everything such as exploring, realistic driving, leveling uo, intense graphics and gunWhen you first look at the game through trailers, gameplayy footage etc. you would think "oh no, this game is just another Call of Duty" but when you actually play the game your mind will be blown away and you will think differently. This is definitely one of Xbox 360's strongest games, it features everything such as exploring, realistic driving, leveling uo, intense graphics and gun fights and many more. One of the biggest strenghts of this game is the voice actors and characters, The second to last antagonist, Vass, is one of this game stongest character. He is featured at the front of the games case and is one of the greatest villains in a long time. The protaganist, Jason Brody, starts on the island very scared, he has never held a gun in his life but as the game progresses he loses himself to the jungle and becomes highly skilled in killing. Overall, this game is amazing and is definitely worth a checkout. I'm going to give this game a perfect 10. Expand
  30. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Best game I've played this year. I enjoyed the story so much. The game was very intense at some moments. Multiplayer wasn't the best, but I didn't like it anyway this game is so worth buying for the single player. This is like the only game I've played in a long while where it has changed over the years. Everything in it is so addicting. I loved environment and scenery. The editor was oneBest game I've played this year. I enjoyed the story so much. The game was very intense at some moments. Multiplayer wasn't the best, but I didn't like it anyway this game is so worth buying for the single player. This is like the only game I've played in a long while where it has changed over the years. Everything in it is so addicting. I loved environment and scenery. The editor was one of the best features in the game i have to admit. BEST F****ING GAME I'VE PLAYED! Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Apr 8, 2013
    80
    Far Cry 3 reaches for greatness, but falls short at merely being really fun. It has a few hiccups here and there and the story is very thin, but the exploration and combat really shine. It's a worthy addition to any collection.
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    90
    Almost everything about Far Cry 3 speaks to the game’s skilled, confident and tightly interwoven design, and players are free to seek their specific flavour of gratification and victory as Jason becomes the most dangerous animal on the island.
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    80
    The freeform combat, gorgeous locations, and excellent multiplayer are strong, and Far Cry 3 does a fantastic job of putting the player in the middle of a lawless, chaotic world and letting them get up to whatever they please. Yes, video games are capable of achieving much more than Far Cry 3 does, but it makes a persuasive argument that there's nothing wrong with a guilty pleasure now and again—especially when it's as slickly presented as this is.