User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1087 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 13, 2012
    10
    i want to say im surprised alot of ppl did not like this game, it had pluses that the far cry 2 lacked, i loved the colorful graphics, the main character was my only turn off, he coulda been a lil less jock. Voss, Citra, were my favorites the story with them coulda had more of them in it...i like the gun upgrades and no more miss fires or damaged weapons like part 2..Anyway thei want to say im surprised alot of ppl did not like this game, it had pluses that the far cry 2 lacked, i loved the colorful graphics, the main character was my only turn off, he coulda been a lil less jock. Voss, Citra, were my favorites the story with them coulda had more of them in it...i like the gun upgrades and no more miss fires or damaged weapons like part 2..Anyway the hunting,skill points,scenery,ATV, were just greeat things i beat it in a week but i will go through again..it is a good challenge, had me mad a few times to the point where i wanted to put it down but it sucked me back in..i woulda liked to see a dirtbike or motorcycle, the backroads and trails woulda been alot of fun..the maze to find Relics were discouraging..but all in all it was my number one game of this year..it is hard to compare to Hitman, or the soon to be Tomb Raider, and Splinter Cell but i think they will also be a great game..sorry to babble on mostly about useless info, but its opinions not facts..thanks Expand
  2. M86
    Dec 14, 2012
    9
    Absolutely awsome game, whopping 9/10 and well earned for me, still playing campaign, easily the best game this year, at both ends of extreme from extremely hostile to peacfull tropical landscapes I love how on some occasions the tiger sits with me while scouting outposts I called him Roo, I stay down out his way and never shoot at him on two separate times he helped, taking down vaasAbsolutely awsome game, whopping 9/10 and well earned for me, still playing campaign, easily the best game this year, at both ends of extreme from extremely hostile to peacfull tropical landscapes I love how on some occasions the tiger sits with me while scouting outposts I called him Roo, I stay down out his way and never shoot at him on two separate times he helped, taking down vaas fighters he saved my life and I saved his, I never expected that to happen. Totally wikid Expand
  3. Dec 14, 2012
    9
    The game is so fun, it could be the game of the year for me. But it isn't, for a one clearly understandable mistake. Matchmaking. The matchmaking is so fudged up, you barely can join a game and have fun, and if you manage to join, there's a 30% chance of getting the message "Migration of Host in progress" and then you mostly lose connection to host. But let's go back to singleplayer. YouThe game is so fun, it could be the game of the year for me. But it isn't, for a one clearly understandable mistake. Matchmaking. The matchmaking is so fudged up, you barely can join a game and have fun, and if you manage to join, there's a 30% chance of getting the message "Migration of Host in progress" and then you mostly lose connection to host. But let's go back to singleplayer. You start off as a teenager when you get captured and you need to save your friends. The story isn't the greatest, but the gameplay covers any possible aspect of the game and you feel like you just have to play on and on and on. I recommend this to anyone who likes sandbox games, first-person shooters or even adventure games. Not complaining about the graphics, which are nice, but it looks a bit cartoonish in it's own way. Expand
  4. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    Obviously, this is definitely a paradigm of FPS sandbox game! Well-design character personality, multiple weapons and quests, richness collectible elements and a good-simulating tropical island style. But there is still some weak point of this game: loading time too long, bored background music (and sometimes it could be cutting off suddenly due to unknown reason) and a bad aim system.Obviously, this is definitely a paradigm of FPS sandbox game! Well-design character personality, multiple weapons and quests, richness collectible elements and a good-simulating tropical island style. But there is still some weak point of this game: loading time too long, bored background music (and sometimes it could be cutting off suddenly due to unknown reason) and a bad aim system. The enemies' AI is fine, but the same AI express a terrible performance in our allies. Overall, I think this game can satisfied most sandbox game fans, but a little disappointed to hardcore FPS gamer. Expand
  5. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    10/10. Farcry 3 sets new heights for the franchise and is in my opinion the best game of 2012. Ubisoft delayed the game to perfect it and the game is just that, the game is without flaws such as glitches, lag or other disruptions. Farcry 3's story is detailed and engaging as you will lose yourself in the story of Jason Brody and begin to feel connected to the games main character. The best10/10. Farcry 3 sets new heights for the franchise and is in my opinion the best game of 2012. Ubisoft delayed the game to perfect it and the game is just that, the game is without flaws such as glitches, lag or other disruptions. Farcry 3's story is detailed and engaging as you will lose yourself in the story of Jason Brody and begin to feel connected to the games main character. The best aspect of the game is the single-player but the fantastic Co-Op separate story and competitive multi-player are also very good reasons why you should buy this fantastic game! Farcry 3 is a game that you could sink more than 50 HOURS into! Ubisoft are rapidly becoming one of the biggest publishers in the gaming industry! Expand
  6. Dec 18, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I give this game a 10/10 because well it's a perfect first person shooter. To start this review off, The intro was amazing. I actually thought it was happening until I see that I am locked in a cage having the intro played on the phone by Vaas, the main villain. The story goes as you , Jason Brody, are trapped on an island with your two brothers and your friends. During the game, you come across tigers, lions, practically any animal you can think of. You can skin the animals and make new pouches or sell the skin to get new weapons. There are many weapons in Far Cry 3 , Even a flamethrower ! The games missions are fun and invigorating. Sometimes you will have to press buttons during cut scenes to get away from pirates , the main enemy. The game , aside from main missions, has side quests and other fun activities you can do. for example, you can go hunt animals or pirates and get XP from it. the game also has a skill tree you can use to get upgrades for your character. The map is not fully unlocked once you get in the game , you must activate radio towers (18) of them to unlock more areas of the map. there is also 38 enemy camps you can take over and have fast travel locations. Overall, this game is fun, exciting, and fairly easy. I would recommend this to anyone who likes FPS RPG games. 10/10 Expand
  7. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very good game, I played for several hours and this game deserves a score of 10, this time to the game's nailed in adventure challenges.Are to be congratulated. Expand
  8. Jan 1, 2013
    9
    A simply brilliant game. Fantastic shooting, good graphics and an enjoyable story. The co-op mode is good fun too, the best compliment I can give this game is that it is fun to play and does not become a chore at any point. A big improvement on Far Cry 2.
  9. Dec 25, 2012
    9
    People spend a ton of time comparing FC3 to other games that they lose sight of what it really is. Don't bother asking, "Is it really like Skyrim with guns?" or, "Is it really an FPS Red Dead Redemption or Just Cause?" because it's not. I started into this game with those expectations, and while they work in the simplest of simple terms, Far Cry 3 is a surprisingly unique experience thatPeople spend a ton of time comparing FC3 to other games that they lose sight of what it really is. Don't bother asking, "Is it really like Skyrim with guns?" or, "Is it really an FPS Red Dead Redemption or Just Cause?" because it's not. I started into this game with those expectations, and while they work in the simplest of simple terms, Far Cry 3 is a surprisingly unique experience that is worth picking up for fans of FPS and RPGs alike.
    The story sounds pretty cookie-cutter, but gets very unique very quickly. During a vacation, something goes wrong and you and your friends are captives of a band of pirates led by a complete psychopath. You escape, and are loose on a jungle island tasked with finding your friends. There are influences from lots of big-name games present, such as climbing radio towers to un-fuzz the map or branching skill trees that give you new abilities. These influences come together to create an excellent and immersive experience.
    The story is about the only thing set in stone. Like in Far Cry 2, you can approach any mission the way you want to. You can go in guns blazing, sneak in with silenced weapons (that actually do damage this time) or bust out the knife and start cutting people down with the newly added (and stylish) hand-to-hand takedowns that get progressively better as you upgrade them. As far as free will goes, Far Cry 3 is just like its predecessor. That's where it ends, though. I could rattle on for ages about all the individual ways FC3 is better than FC2, but I'll keep it simple and trim it to one word: polish. I might be alone in this, but FC2 just seemed like a rush job. The story made no sense, stealth was damn near impossible with the crappy weapons, and everything felt like it wasn't finished. The developers heard every single complaint with FC2 and fixed in in FC3. No more fighting through the same outpost 238 times an hour. No more incoherent storyline. No more gun jams. And no more starting a new game every time you finish one.
    Overall, I can find almost nothing wrong with Far Cry 3 other than its somewhat goofy vehicle physics and annoying animal combat. The game excels in just about everything it seeks to do, and is one of the best single-player experiences out there. After you beat the story, there isn't much to do other than wandering around, and even then you stumble on little challenges or puzzles to complete. There's also a multiplayer option, though it is neither bad nor particularly interesting. It has all the standard expectations: leveling, co-op, deathmatch, domination modes etc. There's nothing new about it, but multiplayer isn't what Far Cry is about anyway. It's about a single-player experience that obliterates any online gaming, and no shooter does it better than Far Cry 3.
    Expand
  10. Dec 26, 2012
    9
    Far Cry 3 is one of the greats of 2012. Has a great mix of combat, stealth, and exploration. Only bad thing would have to be story for me. I mean, I guess I liked how you were just some random person caught up in crap events and learned to survive and all, but most of the story did not appeal much to me.
  11. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    The most beautiful world you could possible be stranded in, The story line was amazing and the side quests as well. I give this game a 10 for its amazing work on keeping the gamer fully engaged in a world filled with nature and wilderness. The characters were really well done and loved how unique each one was, i tip my hat to you Ubisoft, thank you for making such a great game!
  12. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The allure of Far Cry has always been the open-ended tactical choices available during each encounter, and the variety of ways you could take down targets. With dynamic variables like aggressive wildlife and roaming pirates, your stealth and aggro options open up more than ever. Expand
  13. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    Far Cry 3 happens to be one of my favourite games of 2012. The game combines the best aspects of its sequels whilst adding more creating an epic and imaginative world for you to roam around in and explore. The campaign has a dark and twisted storyline that keeps you coming back for more and additionally creating a very atmospheric scenario for the player.
  14. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3 is awesome, and in my opinion easily game of the year. There is so much to do in this game, so ill start with the singleplayer. You are Jason Brody, an over privileged kid, when you and your friends are captured by crazy, slave trading pirates you have to escape and find a way to rescue your friends and escape the island. The story is excellent with Vaas being one of the bestFar Cry 3 is awesome, and in my opinion easily game of the year. There is so much to do in this game, so ill start with the singleplayer. You are Jason Brody, an over privileged kid, when you and your friends are captured by crazy, slave trading pirates you have to escape and find a way to rescue your friends and escape the island. The story is excellent with Vaas being one of the best video game villains in recent memory. That's not to say it doesn't have its shortcomings, at time the narrative can become a bit cliche, and slow, but that is my only gripe. apart from the main quest there are radio towers, which once climbed reveal areas of the map, grant you free weapons and reveal all the enemies forts in the area. Once you clear an enemy fort, you gain access to side missions in that region, as well as a fast travel point. This is a great system where one thing leads to another and you can easily waste hours just screwing around. on top of that there is hunting, which is very fun to do, you have animals ranging from tapirs to tigers, deer to crocodiles and even sharks! Hunting also has a purpose as you hunt for animal skins to upgrade your equipment, like your rucksack, wallet and weapon holster. The open world is a large, beautiful, tropical island, filled with ruins caves and wildlife, the gameplay is solid, and takes a page out of RPG's where as you level up you can spend skill points to further customize your play style, my only problem with this is that it is possible to get every skill, i wish it was a little more specialized so if i wanted to be a ninja, i would have to play like one. Overall the single player is not one to be missed and easily the best experience of the year. Muliplayer however, while not fantastic is not bad. It is a typical FPS style multiplayer, build a class, unlock as you progress etc. My favourite game mode was firestorm, where you have to simultaneously ignite your oppositions barrels. Fire then spreads throughout the map cutting off certain routes. It is a fun and interesting game mode to play, and i recommend you give it a go. Then there is even Coop, which is fun and takes place 6 months prior to the singleplayer. Overall the Coop is a solid addition, which can be a bit tedious if you have less than 3 players. Then you have the map editor, which is awesome, the options are extremely robust, and you can create almost anything you can imagine. My only gripe being the controls being a little difficult at times to use. (But that's consoles for ya!). Overall Far Cry is an amazing game, i couldn't give it more praise, a few hiccups sadly prevent me from giving it the 10, but however this is easily the best game released this year, and i recommend it to anyone and everyone. Expand
  15. Nov 28, 2013
    9
    Positives:
    -Open world allows for good pacing when it comes to action. Also, it is in the jungle and you can hunt wildlife.
    -Go in guns-a-blazing or stealthily. Pick people off from long range or go up close! -RPG elements such as upgrading equipment and gaining new skills as you progress. -Likable archnemesis in Vaas and a few interesting characters though nobody is really fleshed out
    Positives:
    -Open world allows for good pacing when it comes to action. Also, it is in the jungle and you can hunt wildlife.
    -Go in guns-a-blazing or stealthily. Pick people off from long range or go up close!
    -RPG elements such as upgrading equipment and gaining new skills as you progress.
    -Likable archnemesis in Vaas and a few interesting characters though nobody is really fleshed out including yourself.
    CONS
    -Story line is blockbuster action esque (meaning it's kinda lame but nobody really cares). Your character goes from being an everyday American wus like you and me to a bad ass warrior who kills 100s of people.
    -Dubstep
    Expand
  16. Jan 9, 2013
    9
    I really enjoyed playing through this game. While the story was weak it was presented so well I didn't care.
    My gripes were all small ones, such as the sliding hills, slow response to the heal button at times, tiny things like that.
  17. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    Best game in the series !! What a surprise ! I couldnt stop playing this game . I am an assasins creed fan and the similarities between these two game is unreal but it works and it realy is brilliant . Biggest surprise of 2012 and most overlooked !
  18. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    I can think of only one thing about this game that I would change, and it's not a game breaker, it's being able to store your looted items (and in all honesty I may have just missed a place where you can do this).

    Farcry 3 has me absolutely hooked. I cant turn on my Xbox now without sticking the disc in and going on an adventure. Whether it;s carrying on with the brilliantly written
    I can think of only one thing about this game that I would change, and it's not a game breaker, it's being able to store your looted items (and in all honesty I may have just missed a place where you can do this).

    Farcry 3 has me absolutely hooked. I cant turn on my Xbox now without sticking the disc in and going on an adventure. Whether it;s carrying on with the brilliantly written story or side quests, or just liberating a camp or two this game has me in its clutches.

    - Great visuals. The graphics themselves are lovely and the small touches like the fact that if you sprint and jump into water, you end up diving, healing yourself with no meds still makes me cringe.
    - The vehicles work well too. With a good variation and great driving mechanics
    - a good selection of weapons, and they're upgradeable
    - the story line has me gripped, a tense thrill ride with more ups and downs than you can count
    - The hunting is great fun, as are all of the side quests and little bits to do here and there

    Whoever you are, and whatever you are into. Buy this. Buy it, treasure it and never let it out of your sight.

    The only downside to this is that other games that I was really enjoying are now going to be nowhere near as good... which will be a shame.... If I ever get back to playing them....
    Expand
  19. Jan 18, 2013
    10
    One of the best games of 2012 . Farcry 3 has improved quite a bit well at least i thought it did. It was really really fun. The Environment was beautiful and the storyline was amazing. It has everything u would want in a open world game. I would seriosuly recommend this game for gamers who love open world games.
  20. Jan 22, 2013
    9
    Farcry 3 is almost the best game ever. the reason for 'almost' is for all the bugs and glitches(like disapearing characters, dying from the wingsuit when your like 3 feet in the air).
  21. Jan 26, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Far Cry 3 is such a good game, even if theres a not so good end, because of his grat gameplay, bloody story, and an amazing open world game, i recomended Expand
  22. Nov 2, 2013
    9
    [9.2] What Far Cry 3 lacks in story quality makes up for so much in the game. It has incredibly beautiful environments with great graphics to support it, very smooth stealth and combat systems, fun activities, and endless amount of exploration, as well as a multiplayer, which may be basic, but works great with Far Cry mechanics. The co-op is also a great way to pass time, and the map[9.2] What Far Cry 3 lacks in story quality makes up for so much in the game. It has incredibly beautiful environments with great graphics to support it, very smooth stealth and combat systems, fun activities, and endless amount of exploration, as well as a multiplayer, which may be basic, but works great with Far Cry mechanics. The co-op is also a great way to pass time, and the map editor is the best I've seen in any game, including Halo. There are very few, extremely minor flaws in the game, including occasional glitches, which are often quite funny, and poor writing, which is also often funny. It is the perfect open world experience, with plenty of other elements to satisfy almost any player. Expand
  23. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    GAME OF THE YEAR 2012 this game is amazing great graphics great game play great story and the best video game villain ever this game is amazing every one should play it a ton of content and amazing characters get this game
  24. Feb 7, 2013
    9
    Where do i start off with this spectacular game??? First off, the graphics are the greatest I have ever seen on a console based game! The surrounding area on the massive open world maps really makes you feel like you are in the game as yourself. The story is one of the best told stories ever with all the turns and suprises. The Far Cry franchise has really over done itself and madeWhere do i start off with this spectacular game??? First off, the graphics are the greatest I have ever seen on a console based game! The surrounding area on the massive open world maps really makes you feel like you are in the game as yourself. The story is one of the best told stories ever with all the turns and suprises. The Far Cry franchise has really over done itself and made major improvements from game to game. The more you play it, the more it pulls you in. The online is the only reason why the game has not been rated as a 10. The gameplay could have been faster and smoother but thats not really a major part of the game. The game was made for the story. Overall, one of the bes games i have ever played in my life! Expand
  25. Feb 10, 2013
    9
    Having played several other of the Far cry titles, it's clear that they have learnt a lot. While the past games had a lot of positive points, they had a lot of negative features which put a lot of people off, e.g. the heavy handed game play. However in Far cry 3 they have addressed almost all the issues and have created one of the best campaigns I've played to date. The characters, cutHaving played several other of the Far cry titles, it's clear that they have learnt a lot. While the past games had a lot of positive points, they had a lot of negative features which put a lot of people off, e.g. the heavy handed game play. However in Far cry 3 they have addressed almost all the issues and have created one of the best campaigns I've played to date. The characters, cut scenes and voice acting, (especially Vaas) are unexpectedly amazing thus creating a very strong story. There are also top notch hunting mechanics linking to a well designed crafting system, and with a bunch side quests and activities, sure to give you your moneys worth in the campaign alone. On top of all this though you have a good multi player with a surprisingly good level progression and unlock system and it kept me entertained right to the max level of 75. There is also a co-op mode which is quite generic but is refreshingly difficult and there is a more than decent amount of content. Finally you have the map editor. It gives you the tools to make some truly amazing looking map even if the controls are difficult on xbox and PS3. However, on the negative side while you can place vehicles down, don't expect to be able to use that map on multi player, even private matches. The same story is for placeable AI as neither can be used in multi player. In my opinion this is a huge wasted opportunity to create some unique online mechanics, e.g. example an online game mode with AI pirates and hostile wildlife, (assuming the engine could handle it). Overall a great game and definitely worth your money. Expand
  26. Feb 13, 2013
    9
    Amazing game, it takes me back to the original Far Cry with the beautiful tropical island surrounds. After the let down that was Far Cry 2, this reinvigorates the series. While it definitely isn't perfect, its one of favourites for 2012 releases.
  27. Feb 15, 2013
    9
    This game is going to have to be a favorite for me. The graphics are beautiful, good story, and there is just so much to do. So many side missions to play and unlock. Over 30 animals to hunt! This game deserves a 10 but I rated 9 because there could've been a little more to it. The multiplayer is kinda worthless and not worth paying 10 bucks to play (Yes you have to pay for multiplayerThis game is going to have to be a favorite for me. The graphics are beautiful, good story, and there is just so much to do. So many side missions to play and unlock. Over 30 animals to hunt! This game deserves a 10 but I rated 9 because there could've been a little more to it. The multiplayer is kinda worthless and not worth paying 10 bucks to play (Yes you have to pay for multiplayer after you payed for the game...) So don't get it used! If I had know the multiplayer was terrible i wouldn't of gotten it. People are barely ever on and it takes forever to get into a game. The CO-OP is ok but could've been better. But other than that this game surely is amazing! Expand
  28. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    Nice graphics, imaginative story, good gameplay, open world.
    Unfortunately, it is difficult in many parts of the game. For example, to be shooting at the enemy, and they are coming from the three, and even a man must also be protected. I found there forever. But really, it's a very good game.
  29. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An overall outstanding open world game. Everything seems to work well: The FPS mechanics are solid, the stealth mechanics work surprisingly well, the soundtrack is top-notch, and the graphics are great. The only thing I'm not fond of is the main villain. I loved Vaas, however his boss isn't as interesting as he is. He's just your average jerk drug dealer kinda guy.

    Overall, an excellent game.
    Expand
  30. Feb 24, 2013
    9
    OUt of every shooter i have every played, none have drawn me in and made me feel for the charactors and the world so much then Far Cry 3. This game is Excellent. The world is beautiful, the voice acting is stellar and the story is fantastic. Jason brody isnt really the most Pleasant protagonist to play as you could say. He is pretty whiney and says things sometimes that bother you. butOUt of every shooter i have every played, none have drawn me in and made me feel for the charactors and the world so much then Far Cry 3. This game is Excellent. The world is beautiful, the voice acting is stellar and the story is fantastic. Jason brody isnt really the most Pleasant protagonist to play as you could say. He is pretty whiney and says things sometimes that bother you. but thats generally only towards the beginning. you really feel for the people in this story and it only gets better and better. I spent (and still spend) most of my time in this game just running around with my recurve bow hunting animals and sniping bandits. This game is huge. Climing up the radiotowers like altier and ezio and synching the world to find optional quests is very entertaining.

    The only downside of this game is the multiplayer. The coop is fun but only for a little while. And its made to be played with 4 people. if you play with 2 you will die, alot. i promise. the competitive multi player is general. and i diddnt relaly find it that fun. the map editrior is awesome! but i wish they had gone to more of a forge mode letting you play with more people and mix ideas. but all in all. BUY far cry 3. its incredible and you will waste your life playing it.
    Expand
  31. Jan 23, 2013
    0
    It really is like Skyrim with guns. While the gunplay isn't as solid as some of the more popular FPSs of today, everything else is. It has all the expected aspects of an open world game, but the modern tropical setting gives it a new punch. I haven't played any of the previous Far Cry games, but Red Dead Redemption with assault weapons sounds just as promising as Far Cry 3 delivers.It really is like Skyrim with guns. While the gunplay isn't as solid as some of the more popular FPSs of today, everything else is. It has all the expected aspects of an open world game, but the modern tropical setting gives it a new punch. I haven't played any of the previous Far Cry games, but Red Dead Redemption with assault weapons sounds just as promising as Far Cry 3 delivers. Graphical prowess is prevalent throughout the game, with every area of the map available without a loading screen, and a new fantastic checkpoint system that merely marks an opaque square on the map that can be seen from any angle and through any mountain. Its remarkably simple, but somehow, and unfortunately, this mechanic is relatively unused. The co-op of Far Cry 3, however, is remarkably unpolished. Much unlike the single player, it is glitch-ridden, and death via moving vehicles or falling through the ground is lasting until a partner reaches a far away checkpoint. The objectives are unforgivingly repetitive, and the difficulty is un-scaling, independent on the number of players. This makes completing any of the 3 hours missions with 2 players on any difficulty above easy a tedious task. The multiplayer is also extremely generic, and isn't even worth touching. Finally, I touch on the single player. The story starts off with you, and your douchebaggy pals, living on the wild side, skydiving and island exploring. Your group is kidnapped, and after you escape, you must rescue your friends. Despite this underwhelming start, Far Cry 3 winds an engaging story told in fantastic ways. Symbolic psychedelic cutscenes are scattered across the game, where you actually take control and traverse these trippy environments to really story twists and hint at future events. This mechanic works really well, and feels unique and original. The loot system, once understood, is complex, and balanced. Animal skins are used to craft equipment and healing syringes, and other equipment is sold for ammo. As areas are unlocked, guns become available for free, and you become more and more powerful. Completing objectives nets you "skill points" that you can use to attain new "skills", like faster reloading and increased health. One of the best skill mechanics allows you to perform certain actions while still sprinting, thus giving you the power to avoid what has been a video game staple. Far Cry 3 could have been a generic open-world FPS, but small details and advanced story telling bring it to a new level. It proves another step in pushing out the stereotypicals (Homefront, ..yeah, mostly Homefront) that are continuously produced and sold in the FPS market. Collapse
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Apr 8, 2013
    80
    Far Cry 3 reaches for greatness, but falls short at merely being really fun. It has a few hiccups here and there and the story is very thin, but the exploration and combat really shine. It's a worthy addition to any collection.
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    90
    Almost everything about Far Cry 3 speaks to the game’s skilled, confident and tightly interwoven design, and players are free to seek their specific flavour of gratification and victory as Jason becomes the most dangerous animal on the island.
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    80
    The freeform combat, gorgeous locations, and excellent multiplayer are strong, and Far Cry 3 does a fantastic job of putting the player in the middle of a lawless, chaotic world and letting them get up to whatever they please. Yes, video games are capable of achieving much more than Far Cry 3 does, but it makes a persuasive argument that there's nothing wrong with a guilty pleasure now and again—especially when it's as slickly presented as this is.