User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1087 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    I love the intro to the game. I love the open world, I love the huge selection of weapons, the various techniques used to get through missions, like opening tiger cages, sneaking around or just balls to the wall Rambo style. I love how everything in the environment explodes in fires when a car explodes, a flame thrower is used or whatever. I love hunting all the animals and using theirI love the intro to the game. I love the open world, I love the huge selection of weapons, the various techniques used to get through missions, like opening tiger cages, sneaking around or just balls to the wall Rambo style. I love how everything in the environment explodes in fires when a car explodes, a flame thrower is used or whatever. I love hunting all the animals and using their skin to craft new items like wallets or ammo holsters which enable you to carry more money and ammo. I love the story and all the crazy vehicles you have at your disposal. The graphics aren't top notch, but it still manages to take your breath away and look extraordinary. I highly recommend anyone and everyone to buy this game as it's now became one of my favorite games. I wouldn't be surprised if Far Cry 3 won game of the year cause it sure as hell deserves it. Expand
  2. Dec 5, 2012
    9
    A near perfect open world gaming experience. With the expection of minor flaws, all the parts needed to make this a great game are present. Story is usually a component of games that most often leaves me uninspired, and therefore my expectation are kept low. In the case of Far Cry 3, the charater animations, voice performances, and dialogue are quite good making it a pleasure toA near perfect open world gaming experience. With the expection of minor flaws, all the parts needed to make this a great game are present. Story is usually a component of games that most often leaves me uninspired, and therefore my expectation are kept low. In the case of Far Cry 3, the charater animations, voice performances, and dialogue are quite good making it a pleasure to follow the narrative. The meat and potatoes however is always the core gameplay, and here Ubisoft has delivered nicely. Here you have a huge, dense open world, unique objectives to tackle through a variety of optional means, and an enemy AI that for the most part is adequately adaptive and aggresive. I have found, early on in the game at least, that the standard frontal assault on a well defended position is likely to get you killed. It's usually a better idea to employ a bit of steath assasination to thin the ranks before openly engaging. Driving physics are good but somewhat of a challenge from first person perspective. I personally would have preferred a third person view to allow better situational awareness. Graphical presentation is good, not great. Draw distance is generally terrific but geometry and textures leave something to be desired, on the 360 version at least. It's worth noting that not withstanding the huge world, and large numbers of sophisticated AI, there is virtually no loading in contrast to a game like Skyrim. With that said, this is still a beautiful game visually and does not detract from the gameplay experiance one bit, IMO. Expand
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    This game is out right phenomenal. Everything from the graphics, (minor screen tear on Xbox but not too bad) voice acting, gameplay, and for how long it is, its one of the best campaigns I've ever played in a game and that's saying something. 30 hour campaign? Yes please! All this and I didn't even mention the beefy multiplayer mode, coop, and it even has a damn map editor! You can makeThis game is out right phenomenal. Everything from the graphics, (minor screen tear on Xbox but not too bad) voice acting, gameplay, and for how long it is, its one of the best campaigns I've ever played in a game and that's saying something. 30 hour campaign? Yes please! All this and I didn't even mention the beefy multiplayer mode, coop, and it even has a damn map editor! You can make maps and host games on them as well. All this for just 60$? Hell yeah! Ubisoft has really out done themselves. GOTY in my opinion. I also forgot to mention that Vaas is one of the best villains in gaming! Get this now and support this excellent game! Expand
  4. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Far Cry 3 is probably the best sandbox shooter and a lovable alternative to those who do not like Borderlands. There is so much to do in this game and makes it very much worth the money. Ubisoft Montreal have fixed all the game ruining glitches that have come from Far Cry 2. But when creating a massive world, it can't be perfect so there are still a few glitches here and there, but in myFar Cry 3 is probably the best sandbox shooter and a lovable alternative to those who do not like Borderlands. There is so much to do in this game and makes it very much worth the money. Ubisoft Montreal have fixed all the game ruining glitches that have come from Far Cry 2. But when creating a massive world, it can't be perfect so there are still a few glitches here and there, but in my experience I have seen nothing so far that has made me unable to complete a mission or side mission. This is an amazing experience and is very enjoyable challenge for people who like to run and gun and the people who love stealth games. Expand
  5. Dec 6, 2012
    9
    Solid shooting mechanics, a surprising attention put towards narrative (to which it mostly hits home) and a large, densely populated world with a lot of interesting, worthwhile, and, most importantly, fun content to take part in.

    Up to even a few weeks before launch, Far Cry 3 was not exactly a game that was high on my list. While I thoroughly enjoyed Far Cry: Instincts Predator when it
    Solid shooting mechanics, a surprising attention put towards narrative (to which it mostly hits home) and a large, densely populated world with a lot of interesting, worthwhile, and, most importantly, fun content to take part in.

    Up to even a few weeks before launch, Far Cry 3 was not exactly a game that was high on my list. While I thoroughly enjoyed Far Cry: Instincts Predator when it released on the 360 a fair few years back, it's follow-up (by name alone), Far Cry 2, did little to impress me and much to annoy me. As for Far Cry 3, it is certainly very comparable to the experience found in Far Cry 2, except now with the lack of questionable game mechanics, annoying traveling (it is there, just handled far better this time around) and infuriating ai. Ultimately, Far Cry 3 is essentially Far Cry 2, simply executed far better this time around. If you saw the promise of the series' prior release, but were let down with the end product, it might be worth your time checking this one out. For me, this is certainly a strong contender for my personal game of the year. It's an extremely solid game that seems to have hit, and properly, all of the goals it set to make.
    Expand
  6. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    The game is simply amazing. You really get into that big and beautiful jungle full of wildlife and hostality. It has been a while since I played a good but at the same time big game as this one. All the features are great and even though the storyline is very good you can have much fun doing other things beside the main plot. Also the crafting system is great, in my opinion not too muchThe game is simply amazing. You really get into that big and beautiful jungle full of wildlife and hostality. It has been a while since I played a good but at the same time big game as this one. All the features are great and even though the storyline is very good you can have much fun doing other things beside the main plot. Also the crafting system is great, in my opinion not too much complicated and perfectly balanced with the game itself. The multiplayer I just managed to try it out and it looks good but since there are not so many players yet there has been a rather big difference between those who already tried it out and those who are new. Even though that my video card is not the recommended one I can enjoy the game with the most things set on high and that makes me even more happy. Expand
  7. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    one of the best games of 2012 is Far Cry 3.This is an amazing game very addictive and fun to play.From the start the storyline is done perfectly as you get deeper into the game it becomes very addictive.From the amazing graphics to the smooth gameplay and the easy controls this game is truly one of the best first person shooter's I have ever played.Even if you are new to the first personone of the best games of 2012 is Far Cry 3.This is an amazing game very addictive and fun to play.From the start the storyline is done perfectly as you get deeper into the game it becomes very addictive.From the amazing graphics to the smooth gameplay and the easy controls this game is truly one of the best first person shooter's I have ever played.Even if you are new to the first person shooters you will find the controls very easy to learn.Though this game is a bit difficult all this means is you have to think what to do next on how to accomplish your mission.Far Cry 3 is an amazing game and as you play the game you know the creators took their time making this game and at the end they produced on of 2012 best games.If you love first person shooter's then I strongly recommend this and if you still not convinced just read the other reviews and if you're still not convinced look at the reviews from the critics.Forget the negative reviews those people just don't know what a good game is.Far Cry 3 is by far the best and most addictive and fun filled open world game I have played in a while.It is the type of game that keeps you hooked to your TV screen for hours on end and when you go to sleep you even dream of the game.Thank you Ubisoft for making such amazing and highly addictive games. Expand
  8. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    An amazing game.I loved the story,freedom and weapons especially,as well as the wing suit/parachute.Though the side missions are mainly dull,the activities such as racing,knife throwing,shooting,poker and hunting missions are all fantastic.There are a few major flaws though.Context sensitivity,mainly healing, is poor throughout and the odd mission glitches out randomly and your syringesAn amazing game.I loved the story,freedom and weapons especially,as well as the wing suit/parachute.Though the side missions are mainly dull,the activities such as racing,knife throwing,shooting,poker and hunting missions are all fantastic.There are a few major flaws though.Context sensitivity,mainly healing, is poor throughout and the odd mission glitches out randomly and your syringes are mostly useless,Medicine and Hunters Instinct being the major ones and the occasional Deep Dive and Invincibilty coming in handy.The two major islands are quite different with the first a true jungle and second being far more open.Also the game isn't as long as you'd initially believe with a completion rate of exactly 90% after 28 hours during my first playthrough on medium.Hard is slightly tougher but not impossible.The main story actually blew me away in several trippy parts and was most enjoyable.All in all a really,really great game,despite some big annoyances.9.5/10 Expand
  9. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    A truly excellent game. I like RPGs but for me they are sometimes too daunting. For example, Fallout and Skyrim are great games but there is such a vast amount to do it is off-putting. Far Cry 3 has found the perfect balance, offering a challenge yet not overwhelming the gamer with too much to do, not knowing where to start. The missions offer great variety and are cinematic andA truly excellent game. I like RPGs but for me they are sometimes too daunting. For example, Fallout and Skyrim are great games but there is such a vast amount to do it is off-putting. Far Cry 3 has found the perfect balance, offering a challenge yet not overwhelming the gamer with too much to do, not knowing where to start. The missions offer great variety and are cinematic and exciting. The side missions are slightly repetitive but this is compensated for by the various approaches available to tackle a mission, for example go all out guns blazing or go for stealth. Overall, Far Cry 3 doesn't take itself too seriously and puts fun back into RPGs. Expand
  10. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    This is hands down one of the best open world games I have ever played. They get so much right and only minor details can be listed in the cons for this game. The story, the voice acting, the gameplay. They knock everything out of the park. This is the best FarCry game to date, and one of the best FPS titles of the year.
  11. Dec 15, 2012
    10
    and here we have it, to be honest, Far Cry 2 was a good game, but not quite my cup of tea, it just didn't seem that interesting, and Far Cry 1 I never played it. But I knew what they were all about.
    So my review goes like this: I'm a huge Assassin's Creed fan, and I've been waiting for AC3 for a while, but when it came out, the game was a huge mess. And Far Cry 3 had been delayed. AC3 had
    and here we have it, to be honest, Far Cry 2 was a good game, but not quite my cup of tea, it just didn't seem that interesting, and Far Cry 1 I never played it. But I knew what they were all about.
    So my review goes like this: I'm a huge Assassin's Creed fan, and I've been waiting for AC3 for a while, but when it came out, the game was a huge mess. And Far Cry 3 had been delayed. AC3 had so many missions, hunting side stuff, challenges, but yet, none gave you anything worth it, the only fun I had was combat and Naval Missions. The game broke my heart.

    But here we have a little bit of what AC3 has, except it MAKES SENSE here, rewarding loot, experience points that actually mean something, hunting is actually needed and fun, the driving is a bit clunky, yes. But overall I'd say this is a GOTY contender, for me
    Expand
  12. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Many aspects of Far Cry 3 take credit for the undeniable perfection of the game. 1. Visually we are presented to a world with an immense feeling of variety and depth, so far unmatched. The jungle of Rook Islands is first-of-a-kind creation in gaming history, only rivaled by Skyrim (mod'ed) imo. 2. Far Cry 3 is stuffed with amazing characters that keeps getting more crazy as the gameMany aspects of Far Cry 3 take credit for the undeniable perfection of the game. 1. Visually we are presented to a world with an immense feeling of variety and depth, so far unmatched. The jungle of Rook Islands is first-of-a-kind creation in gaming history, only rivaled by Skyrim (mod'ed) imo. 2. Far Cry 3 is stuffed with amazing characters that keeps getting more crazy as the game progresses, but above all stands Vaas: so crazy, so funny, so scary, so ambivalent, FC3 has gotten its own Dark Knight Joker. 3. The synthesis of camera, music, sounds, visuals and continuity when we explore the Rook Islands is everything Far Cry 2 didnt have, especially the continuity. We would perform the same identical actions over n over n over again, the definition of insanity... In FC3 we do the exact same things over n over n over again, but because the game in visuals and experience is so tasty, u feel like u could go on forever liberating outposts and rerouting radio-towers. 4. Our main character, Jason. Finally a game that shows interest in the fact that killing does change you. Jason goes through a psychological development that I personally haven't seen the likes of ever, this is also why Vaas is so important, there is such a strong relation between him and Jason that grows as Jason keeps rampaging. All these games about killing, shooting, murdering, never have I seen any sign of these actions affecting the main characters. A unique touch to FC3 without doubt, and it succeeds without doubt. I would keep praising this game in all eternity, but these aspects are more that enough for a 10.
    Buy it n enjoy it, definitely worth it.
    Expand
  13. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    this game is great and far cry 3 is big sand box You can kill animals whenever you want Far Cry 3 is all the best things about open-world gaming. It's a glorious anecdote factory, where you manufacture brilliant new memories every time you wake up in a safehouse and head out into the jungle d it always lets you play, but it also controls the tempo - sometimes a little heavy-handedly, butthis game is great and far cry 3 is big sand box You can kill animals whenever you want Far Cry 3 is all the best things about open-world gaming. It's a glorious anecdote factory, where you manufacture brilliant new memories every time you wake up in a safehouse and head out into the jungle d it always lets you play, but it also controls the tempo - sometimes a little heavy-handedly, but always with good intentionsou have a fully featured single-player game that lasts upward of 35 hours or more, depending on how much you want to do. Kills earn you experience, Corpses and chests can be looted for cash and saleable items; you then buy new weapons and maps and to replenish ammo at safe houses. Out in the wild, you collect plant life of various kinds so that you can fill syringes with meds that heal you, make you less vulnerable, or enhance your senses. Expand
  14. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    It's not often that a game gets to me (or a 9 either) but when you wake up and the first thing that pops into your head is how you are going to get rid of that troublesome sniper or whether you should go Tapir hunting or not is a sign that it's gotten under my skin. The wow factor is there, the world feels wide open and begs to be explored. The wildlife is amazingly well done, forgetIt's not often that a game gets to me (or a 9 either) but when you wake up and the first thing that pops into your head is how you are going to get rid of that troublesome sniper or whether you should go Tapir hunting or not is a sign that it's gotten under my skin. The wow factor is there, the world feels wide open and begs to be explored. The wildlife is amazingly well done, forget running up to animals and dropping them, the deer are shy and bound away at the slightest sound, you have to stalk these babies, sometimes you'll end up being the hunted and get taken out by something you didn't even see sneaking up on you.The game world is changing and dynamic, you have to think about you actions and run and gun will sometimes work but more often than not you'll end up dead. The story, it's a long time since I was into a story in a game, Far Cry 3s plot is well done and the main villain is superbly scripted and acted. Of course it's not all a walk in the park there are some things that grate a bot and lessen the fluidity of the game, the menu/skills system is a bit clunky and takes some getting used to, the enemy AI is good but the difficulty setting should be ramped up to hardest to be more of a challenge, Multiplayer matches: takes ages to find a game but once you're in....it's pretty damn good, pitched just this side of hardcore, bullets deal heavy damage and good weapon moddeling, some good maps in there and a map editor that'll give people the chance to throw their own creations out there and no rip off rent a sever fees.. Total respect to Ubisoft for getting this game out there, when you see what can be done on one disc and with the aging 360 it makes you wonder why we bother developing new consoles instead of putting the talent into designing the games themselves. Far Cry 3 is what gaming should be, a sense of freedom and possibilities. Anyone one who thinks recycled rehashed cash cows like MW3 and Blops2 are good, try this you'll be blown away. Get it. P.S. Watch out for those pesky tigers Expand
  15. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    I've played every big game this year and this by far beats them all. amazing graphics solid game play, amazing fps, this game has something for everyone. best part for me is about to snipe in to an enemy camp and suddenly your hear a growl behind you turn around and theres a lion ready to pounce and kill you!!! cant praise this game enough the story plus side missions is well over 35hr+I've played every big game this year and this by far beats them all. amazing graphics solid game play, amazing fps, this game has something for everyone. best part for me is about to snipe in to an enemy camp and suddenly your hear a growl behind you turn around and theres a lion ready to pounce and kill you!!! cant praise this game enough the story plus side missions is well over 35hr+ game play even just free roaming has you constantly battling with the jungle. this by far is GOTY by far best far cry to date and probably best game i've ever played. Expand
  16. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    I rarely write reviews on ths site since its full of hate and contradiction,but when games like Far Cry 3 come along i cant help it but share my thoughts.This is a beautiful game,and im not talkin about the graphics.After finishing it i felt empty,thats how good it is.The story gets u hooked nearly all the time u play,but the thing i admired most about this game was the level design.I wasI rarely write reviews on ths site since its full of hate and contradiction,but when games like Far Cry 3 come along i cant help it but share my thoughts.This is a beautiful game,and im not talkin about the graphics.After finishing it i felt empty,thats how good it is.The story gets u hooked nearly all the time u play,but the thing i admired most about this game was the level design.I was surprised by this game in many ways.When u see the trailers it looks like just another COD,but hunting a shark in FC3 is more suspenfull then the last COD game itself!!The missions were a strong point of this game cause they always mix shooting,climbing,stealth and exploring in marvelous ways....The only negative thing about this game could be some screen tearing and an isolated case when a glitch occurs.The sound is fantastic,guns ,animals,enemy's feel real and the voice acting is top notch.The main character is believeable and his actions affect him in every step of your journey.The villains were very well writen especially Vass and Buck.I've played all big games this year and this is my best game shoulder to shoulder with Dishonored.I dont care about MP so if u want a rly strong SP experience try this game out.Cheers Expand
  17. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Absolutely in love with this game. A huge, beautiful and great, living world with many of things to do besides the very well executed missions. While Ubisoft tried to make their previous installment Far Cry 2 immersive it almost went controversy and a little too realistic. Jamming guns, a lack of hud mode and an overall lack of gameplay features drive you away from the experience. In FarAbsolutely in love with this game. A huge, beautiful and great, living world with many of things to do besides the very well executed missions. While Ubisoft tried to make their previous installment Far Cry 2 immersive it almost went controversy and a little too realistic. Jamming guns, a lack of hud mode and an overall lack of gameplay features drive you away from the experience. In Far Cry 3, things have changed. With the new introduced RPG elements, abilities to craft and the ability to use stealth against your enemies, it actually became lots of fun to travel instead of frustrating. Far Cry 3 offers us what the openworld genre is supposed to offer, while the previous installment was good, it lacked many things that other openworld games had to offer. Besides the addictive singleplayer campaign, there's also a little uninspired, but yet so fun multiplayer with a huge map editor, allowing the people who love to be creative almost unlimited hours of fun. The 6 hour Coop is pretty interesting also, but i personally see much more potential in the Map editors sandbox mode, allowing you to put AI in your maps. Imagine if Ubisoft skipped this whole coop and made it possible for the player to create their OWN coop, each with it's own map and objective. This way, the AI that Ubisoft introduced us would be where it really belongs. Now Far Cry 3 isn't flawless, but offers so much fun and an almost unlimited amount of replay value, making it my personal Game Of The Year 2012. Expand
  18. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    So I have played around 10 hours and to me this is my game of the year. The campaign absorbed me into Rook island and the performances from the characters is phenomenal. Vaas is the perfect villian and Jason with his innocent tone changed throughout the campaign provides an amazing experience. The game is far improved since Far Cry 2 but there are a still few enemy glitches and some verySo I have played around 10 hours and to me this is my game of the year. The campaign absorbed me into Rook island and the performances from the characters is phenomenal. Vaas is the perfect villian and Jason with his innocent tone changed throughout the campaign provides an amazing experience. The game is far improved since Far Cry 2 but there are a still few enemy glitches and some very minor screen tearing but that doesn't deter you from what is an amazing game. The multiplayer is kind of basic but once people start creating maps I believe that will help it feel unique and fun. The map editor is amazing and gives you more tools than ever and the level of creativity and detail you can create is immense. The graphics are very good for these old consoles, the mechanics are well done, and the replayibility to me is limitless. Overall this is one of my favorite games this gen. Expand
  19. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    When you first look at the game through trailers, gameplayy footage etc. you would think "oh no, this game is just another Call of Duty" but when you actually play the game your mind will be blown away and you will think differently. This is definitely one of Xbox 360's strongest games, it features everything such as exploring, realistic driving, leveling uo, intense graphics and gunWhen you first look at the game through trailers, gameplayy footage etc. you would think "oh no, this game is just another Call of Duty" but when you actually play the game your mind will be blown away and you will think differently. This is definitely one of Xbox 360's strongest games, it features everything such as exploring, realistic driving, leveling uo, intense graphics and gun fights and many more. One of the biggest strenghts of this game is the voice actors and characters, The second to last antagonist, Vass, is one of this game stongest character. He is featured at the front of the games case and is one of the greatest villains in a long time. The protaganist, Jason Brody, starts on the island very scared, he has never held a gun in his life but as the game progresses he loses himself to the jungle and becomes highly skilled in killing. Overall, this game is amazing and is definitely worth a checkout. I'm going to give this game a perfect 10. Expand
  20. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Best game I've played this year. I enjoyed the story so much. The game was very intense at some moments. Multiplayer wasn't the best, but I didn't like it anyway this game is so worth buying for the single player. This is like the only game I've played in a long while where it has changed over the years. Everything in it is so addicting. I loved environment and scenery. The editor was oneBest game I've played this year. I enjoyed the story so much. The game was very intense at some moments. Multiplayer wasn't the best, but I didn't like it anyway this game is so worth buying for the single player. This is like the only game I've played in a long while where it has changed over the years. Everything in it is so addicting. I loved environment and scenery. The editor was one of the best features in the game i have to admit. BEST F****ING GAME I'VE PLAYED! Expand
  21. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    This game is the best game i played this year. The gameplay is just phenomenal. Id say it coul be a better stealth game overall than dishonored or hitman, better action game than halo4. The guns and shooting feels tight, so many things to do ranging from hunting, crafting, clearing outposts, heck i even had more fun playing far cry than skyrim, me3, halo4, dishonored or hitman. The senseThis game is the best game i played this year. The gameplay is just phenomenal. Id say it coul be a better stealth game overall than dishonored or hitman, better action game than halo4. The guns and shooting feels tight, so many things to do ranging from hunting, crafting, clearing outposts, heck i even had more fun playing far cry than skyrim, me3, halo4, dishonored or hitman. The sense of place is Just as cool. Graphics look amazing, i didnt know the xbox 360 could pull of the graphics. Wow i just cant say enough about this game. Its just like a great experience that you never want to end. Expand
  22. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    The trailers all said Far Cry 3 is "like Skyrim with guns." Understand that when I say this is untrue, I mean it in a good way. This game, like Far Cry 2, has its own identity, and it is amazing. Perfect for sandbox fans, Far Cry 3 has the crazy fun of Just Cause 2 with the refined gameplay of a modern FPS and a better story than you'll find in either..

    Visuals: 9 Gameplay: 9.5 Story:
    The trailers all said Far Cry 3 is "like Skyrim with guns." Understand that when I say this is untrue, I mean it in a good way. This game, like Far Cry 2, has its own identity, and it is amazing. Perfect for sandbox fans, Far Cry 3 has the crazy fun of Just Cause 2 with the refined gameplay of a modern FPS and a better story than you'll find in either..

    Visuals: 9
    Gameplay: 9.5
    Story: 8.5
    Variety: 10

    I'd give it an overall 9.5, but if it's 9 or 10 I'd round it up to 10.
    Collapse
  23. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Phenomenal game. Rarely do I spend time writing reviews, but this one deserves it.

    A brief personal purchase history from the last 6 months: Borderlands 2, Halo 4, Dishonored, Black Ops 2. Far Cry 3 is more *fun* than any of these other games, and has more single player content than all except Borderlands 2. Personally I've grown bored of the sameness in Borderlands, whereas Far Cry
    Phenomenal game. Rarely do I spend time writing reviews, but this one deserves it.

    A brief personal purchase history from the last 6 months: Borderlands 2, Halo 4, Dishonored, Black Ops 2.

    Far Cry 3 is more *fun* than any of these other games, and has more single player content than all except Borderlands 2. Personally I've grown bored of the sameness in Borderlands, whereas Far Cry 3 feels like a breath of fresh air. Realistic graphics and weaponry and excellent AI are such a pleasant thing to experience.

    I'll list the few negatives first, then the positives to leave you on a high as is befitting the game :-)

    Negatives:

    * There's only one save game per playthrough. You can have up to 3 playthroughs. I find this annoying and unnecessary - if you want to get certain more predictable parts of the game out of the way to unlock more skills and weaponry, then make a memorable save from which you can start replaying to enjoy the carnage when you're at your most powerful, the only way is to backup your single save game to a memory stick. Not the end of the world, but it seems a shame.

    * Early in my first playthrough I saved/quit just as I was throwing a molotov. Following this my player has had a molotov bottle sticking out of his right hand, permanently! This was very annoying, especially when holding the bow undrawn since his right hand is close to his face then and it was huge! But this is a bug that a patch will sort out I'm sure, and it hasn't happened on my second playthrough.

    Positives (there are many!):

    Graphically it is excellent - sometimes breathtaking, most of the time simply up there with the best. I wouldn't go as far as saying it's the best looking console game ever (indeed, many people say that about Halo 4 which simply isn't true. Look at Killzone 3 or Mass Effect 3!). However the environments look impressively realistic, as do the animals. The people look very good at the distance you typically see them, though the consoles are getting old enough now for texture detail to disappoint in most games. It's fair to say the amount of foliage you see in this game along with some truly amazing effects such as dynamic fire and water make it one of the best looking Xbox games. Though when you're driving in your car it doesn't look better than GTA 4 did from the same perspective all those years ago.

    Gameplay - brilliant. If you like sandbox games and enjoyed the stealth vs action choice of Dishonored you will love this game. As with Dishonored you can play as fast-with-action or slow-with-cunning as you like. There are some awesomely kickass kill moves you can gain through unlocked skills, plus the controls are top notch for movement across terrain and general FPS'ing.

    Story - the story is engaging and exciting because of the crazy characters you meet, how well defined each is, how different they are from one another, and the award-worthy performances of the real-world actors playing them.

    Value for money - I played for 20-25 hours to complete about 60-70% of the game. I've done everything except mission boards (you'll understand from other reviews or playing it yourself). And it's the first game this year besides Dishonored that I've wanted to go back and play again, just to do things differently the second time around. There are 38 outposts in the game, each is akin to a mini Dishonored mission where you have varying enemies in different patrolling patterns amongst different building configurations. You can eliminate them as you please: run and gun, death by stealth, environment kills (e.g. set fire to surrounding grassland and watch it spread to their buildings!) and animal assassinations (shoot cages to let loose tigers, bears etc. or entice animals to the enemy's location).

    Summary:

    I'd describe FC3 both graphically and in terms of gameplay as half first person Just Cause 2, half Dishonored. It has amazing stealth skills you can learn (e.g. assassinate a guy, whip the pin out of his grenade and kick him away!) plus some great FPS action with tight controls in a visual busy jungle environment.

    For me it's game of the year. I feel bad for Dishonored, because that was a phenomenal game but just a bit too short for my liking. FC3 is a bit more fun because it gives you more content and some brilliant vehicles and environment mechanics like realistic spreading fire that really up the ante.

    Buy it. Buy it now.
    Expand
  24. Dec 7, 2012
    10
    Incredible game, graphics are superb, open word exploration is fantasic (hunting and outposts) and the FPS aspect of it is brilliant. You can customize your weapons by adding red dot sights, change the colour etc. The skill system is brilliant with some epic abilities such as throwing knife take down and death from above. The story is WOW. The main characters are so well acted and theIncredible game, graphics are superb, open word exploration is fantasic (hunting and outposts) and the FPS aspect of it is brilliant. You can customize your weapons by adding red dot sights, change the colour etc. The skill system is brilliant with some epic abilities such as throwing knife take down and death from above. The story is WOW. The main characters are so well acted and the dialogue is some of the best I've ever seen, if not the best. Also the main villains, especially Vaas is phenomenal !
    BUY IT NOW!
    Expand
  25. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    This is the best FPS game in a long time, hell it's one of the best game of ths generation. There is so much content in the game, and it is all quality content. The main campaign last around 12 hours if you rush it, but I spent over 25 hours on the single player and I still have stuff to do. The co-op campaign is much shorter at around 4 hours, but it's still a lot of fun and worth a playThis is the best FPS game in a long time, hell it's one of the best game of ths generation. There is so much content in the game, and it is all quality content. The main campaign last around 12 hours if you rush it, but I spent over 25 hours on the single player and I still have stuff to do. The co-op campaign is much shorter at around 4 hours, but it's still a lot of fun and worth a play through. I am also pleasently surprised by the online multiplayer as well, it feels and plays great, there are lots of unlockables, challenges, tattoo editor and also a fantastic map editor. The map editor is AMAZING, and I have already played on some great user created maps, it just a shame that you can't do multiplayer with vehicles, which was a big feature of previous Far Cry games, and they are needed because the map size you are given is huge. (HINT HINT NUDGE NUDGE UBISOFT)
    In short this game is a masterpiece, great story which had me confused, but in a good way, it fitted the games insanity theme, good online with massive potential in the map editor, there is a tons of content in this game. Buy it.
    Expand
  26. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    A perfect combination of the beauty of the first game, with the sandbox of the second. This game feels a lot more like FC2, with checkpoints, various side missions, only carrying 4 guns, etc, but all of the annoying flaws of FC 2 have been ironed out. No more malaria; no restrictions on which 4 guns you carry, no gun degradation, no re-spawning checkpoints. Just a beautiful island, lots ofA perfect combination of the beauty of the first game, with the sandbox of the second. This game feels a lot more like FC2, with checkpoints, various side missions, only carrying 4 guns, etc, but all of the annoying flaws of FC 2 have been ironed out. No more malaria; no restrictions on which 4 guns you carry, no gun degradation, no re-spawning checkpoints. Just a beautiful island, lots of enemies (wait till a crocodile catches you off guard!), and complete freedom to play how you like. If you have any imagination, and want to play games your own way, buy it. Magnificent! Expand
  27. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Best game of this year, nuff said. And no, I'm not a fanboy. What can I say, it's a truly epic game with a great and intense story that is both dark and engagingly emotional. The graphics on consoles and on PC are both superb and one of the best looking game of this generation. Brian Tyler is the composer of the game's soundtrack, and to be honest, it's eargasmic. I love the soundtracks aBest game of this year, nuff said. And no, I'm not a fanboy. What can I say, it's a truly epic game with a great and intense story that is both dark and engagingly emotional. The graphics on consoles and on PC are both superb and one of the best looking game of this generation. Brian Tyler is the composer of the game's soundtrack, and to be honest, it's eargasmic. I love the soundtracks a lot and it also fits well with every scene. The gameplay is smooth compared to Far Cry 2. There's a lot of content and the map editor has seen some huge improvements! Expand
  28. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    First off, to address another review below: Did you just seriously say "Graphics are ok but not adequate for a game in 2012"?? You do realize you're reviewing a game for a console that is over seven years old, right? Don't hate the game, hate the outdated console that runs the game. Now, that being said, Far Cry 3 is an extremely ambitious title. You can see from the start that the devsFirst off, to address another review below: Did you just seriously say "Graphics are ok but not adequate for a game in 2012"?? You do realize you're reviewing a game for a console that is over seven years old, right? Don't hate the game, hate the outdated console that runs the game. Now, that being said, Far Cry 3 is an extremely ambitious title. You can see from the start that the devs put their back into this one, taking what wasn't great in FC2 out, and adding in... Well... Rook Island. Skyrim with guns? Not quite. A well-versed all around great shooter, RPG, stealth, sandbox game? Definitely. Multiplayer leaves something to be desired however, with a co-op 'campaign' that makes you go "Meh" and a flawed matchmaking system. However, the potential of the map editor (Like FC2) is obvious, but without a backing Ubisoft, the feature may go unnoticed by most due to its less than stellar matchmaking which will hopefully be addressed in a future patch. Definitely worth your time. Pick it up. Expand
  29. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3 is a game intent on giving the player a lot of freedom, whilst offering a lot of personality. The stealth is expertly implemented, so you know when to hide and what will get you caught. There is also great strategy, especially when attacking the numerous outposts scattered around the island. The story starts off a bit cliche, with a group of teenagers having their paradise turnedFar Cry 3 is a game intent on giving the player a lot of freedom, whilst offering a lot of personality. The stealth is expertly implemented, so you know when to hide and what will get you caught. There is also great strategy, especially when attacking the numerous outposts scattered around the island. The story starts off a bit cliche, with a group of teenagers having their paradise turned upside down, but after meeting Dennis and the primary antagonist Vaas, you will understand how different a beast FC3 is. With its veluptuous landscapes and verdant vistas, Far Cry 3 is a hot prospect, that you should happily sink hours of enjoyment out of. Expand
  30. Dec 10, 2012
    9
    Near perfection...so far this game takes me back to the very first in the series which was and still is my favorite but for different reasons. The story in the campaign is so fantastic in this game and the characters you meet are amazing. The voice acting is incredible and you really care about saving your friends and trying to get off this island hell you find yourself trapped in. TheNear perfection...so far this game takes me back to the very first in the series which was and still is my favorite but for different reasons. The story in the campaign is so fantastic in this game and the characters you meet are amazing. The voice acting is incredible and you really care about saving your friends and trying to get off this island hell you find yourself trapped in. The visuals are truly gorgeous and I have never seen water that looks so fantastic and real. There is plenty to do other than push the story along even though it does get a bit repetitive. The MP is fun but a tad unbalanced from what i have played so far....for me the campaign is where this game really shines. If you are a fan of the series or have never played them before this is a great jump off point for anyone, make sure to check this game out, it is well worth it! Expand
  31. Dec 4, 2012
    0
    The trailers all said Far Cry 3 is "like Skyrim with guns." Understand that when I say this is untrue, I mean it in a good way. This game, like Far Cry 2, has its own identity, and it is amazing. Perfect for sandbox fans, Far Cry 3 has the crazy fun of Just Cause 2 with the refined gameplay of a modern FPS and a better story than you'll find in either..

    Visuals: 9 Gameplay: 9.5 Story:
    The trailers all said Far Cry 3 is "like Skyrim with guns." Understand that when I say this is untrue, I mean it in a good way. This game, like Far Cry 2, has its own identity, and it is amazing. Perfect for sandbox fans, Far Cry 3 has the crazy fun of Just Cause 2 with the refined gameplay of a modern FPS and a better story than you'll find in either..

    Visuals: 9
    Gameplay: 9.5
    Story: 8.5
    Variety: 10

    I'd give it an overall 9.5, but if it's 9 or 10 I'd round it up to 10.
    Collapse
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Apr 8, 2013
    80
    Far Cry 3 reaches for greatness, but falls short at merely being really fun. It has a few hiccups here and there and the story is very thin, but the exploration and combat really shine. It's a worthy addition to any collection.
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    90
    Almost everything about Far Cry 3 speaks to the game’s skilled, confident and tightly interwoven design, and players are free to seek their specific flavour of gratification and victory as Jason becomes the most dangerous animal on the island.
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    80
    The freeform combat, gorgeous locations, and excellent multiplayer are strong, and Far Cry 3 does a fantastic job of putting the player in the middle of a lawless, chaotic world and letting them get up to whatever they please. Yes, video games are capable of achieving much more than Far Cry 3 does, but it makes a persuasive argument that there's nothing wrong with a guilty pleasure now and again—especially when it's as slickly presented as this is.