User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1119 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    I love the intro to the game. I love the open world, I love the huge selection of weapons, the various techniques used to get through missions, like opening tiger cages, sneaking around or just balls to the wall Rambo style. I love how everything in the environment explodes in fires when a car explodes, a flame thrower is used or whatever. I love hunting all the animals and using theirI love the intro to the game. I love the open world, I love the huge selection of weapons, the various techniques used to get through missions, like opening tiger cages, sneaking around or just balls to the wall Rambo style. I love how everything in the environment explodes in fires when a car explodes, a flame thrower is used or whatever. I love hunting all the animals and using their skin to craft new items like wallets or ammo holsters which enable you to carry more money and ammo. I love the story and all the crazy vehicles you have at your disposal. The graphics aren't top notch, but it still manages to take your breath away and look extraordinary. I highly recommend anyone and everyone to buy this game as it's now became one of my favorite games. I wouldn't be surprised if Far Cry 3 won game of the year cause it sure as hell deserves it. Collapse
  2. Dec 5, 2012
    9
    A near perfect open world gaming experience. With the expection of minor flaws, all the parts needed to make this a great game are present. Story is usually a component of games that most often leaves me uninspired, and therefore my expectation are kept low. In the case of Far Cry 3, the charater animations, voice performances, and dialogue are quite good making it a pleasure toA near perfect open world gaming experience. With the expection of minor flaws, all the parts needed to make this a great game are present. Story is usually a component of games that most often leaves me uninspired, and therefore my expectation are kept low. In the case of Far Cry 3, the charater animations, voice performances, and dialogue are quite good making it a pleasure to follow the narrative. The meat and potatoes however is always the core gameplay, and here Ubisoft has delivered nicely. Here you have a huge, dense open world, unique objectives to tackle through a variety of optional means, and an enemy AI that for the most part is adequately adaptive and aggresive. I have found, early on in the game at least, that the standard frontal assault on a well defended position is likely to get you killed. It's usually a better idea to employ a bit of steath assasination to thin the ranks before openly engaging. Driving physics are good but somewhat of a challenge from first person perspective. I personally would have preferred a third person view to allow better situational awareness. Graphical presentation is good, not great. Draw distance is generally terrific but geometry and textures leave something to be desired, on the 360 version at least. It's worth noting that not withstanding the huge world, and large numbers of sophisticated AI, there is virtually no loading in contrast to a game like Skyrim. With that said, this is still a beautiful game visually and does not detract from the gameplay experiance one bit, IMO. Expand
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    This game is out right phenomenal. Everything from the graphics, (minor screen tear on Xbox but not too bad) voice acting, gameplay, and for how long it is, its one of the best campaigns I've ever played in a game and that's saying something. 30 hour campaign? Yes please! All this and I didn't even mention the beefy multiplayer mode, coop, and it even has a damn map editor! You can makeThis game is out right phenomenal. Everything from the graphics, (minor screen tear on Xbox but not too bad) voice acting, gameplay, and for how long it is, its one of the best campaigns I've ever played in a game and that's saying something. 30 hour campaign? Yes please! All this and I didn't even mention the beefy multiplayer mode, coop, and it even has a damn map editor! You can make maps and host games on them as well. All this for just 60$? Hell yeah! Ubisoft has really out done themselves. GOTY in my opinion. I also forgot to mention that Vaas is one of the best villains in gaming! Get this now and support this excellent game! Expand
  4. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Far Cry 3 is probably the best sandbox shooter and a lovable alternative to those who do not like Borderlands. There is so much to do in this game and makes it very much worth the money. Ubisoft Montreal have fixed all the game ruining glitches that have come from Far Cry 2. But when creating a massive world, it can't be perfect so there are still a few glitches here and there, but in myFar Cry 3 is probably the best sandbox shooter and a lovable alternative to those who do not like Borderlands. There is so much to do in this game and makes it very much worth the money. Ubisoft Montreal have fixed all the game ruining glitches that have come from Far Cry 2. But when creating a massive world, it can't be perfect so there are still a few glitches here and there, but in my experience I have seen nothing so far that has made me unable to complete a mission or side mission. This is an amazing experience and is very enjoyable challenge for people who like to run and gun and the people who love stealth games. Expand
  5. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3 is a game intent on giving the player a lot of freedom, whilst offering a lot of personality. The stealth is expertly implemented, so you know when to hide and what will get you caught. There is also great strategy, especially when attacking the numerous outposts scattered around the island. The story starts off a bit cliche, with a group of teenagers having their paradise turnedFar Cry 3 is a game intent on giving the player a lot of freedom, whilst offering a lot of personality. The stealth is expertly implemented, so you know when to hide and what will get you caught. There is also great strategy, especially when attacking the numerous outposts scattered around the island. The story starts off a bit cliche, with a group of teenagers having their paradise turned upside down, but after meeting Dennis and the primary antagonist Vaas, you will understand how different a beast FC3 is. With its veluptuous landscapes and verdant vistas, Far Cry 3 is a hot prospect, that you should happily sink hours of enjoyment out of. Expand
  6. Dec 10, 2012
    9
    Near perfection...so far this game takes me back to the very first in the series which was and still is my favorite but for different reasons. The story in the campaign is so fantastic in this game and the characters you meet are amazing. The voice acting is incredible and you really care about saving your friends and trying to get off this island hell you find yourself trapped in. TheNear perfection...so far this game takes me back to the very first in the series which was and still is my favorite but for different reasons. The story in the campaign is so fantastic in this game and the characters you meet are amazing. The voice acting is incredible and you really care about saving your friends and trying to get off this island hell you find yourself trapped in. The visuals are truly gorgeous and I have never seen water that looks so fantastic and real. There is plenty to do other than push the story along even though it does get a bit repetitive. The MP is fun but a tad unbalanced from what i have played so far....for me the campaign is where this game really shines. If you are a fan of the series or have never played them before this is a great jump off point for anyone, make sure to check this game out, it is well worth it! Expand
  7. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    I wasn't too sure whether to buy this game as never really been a fan of any of the Far Cry games. But one of my friends persuaded me to pop out and get it.
    I'm glad that I did as it is an epic game. you don't have to follow the missions, only doing them when you want to. And you can spend hours hunting animals or taking over camps.
  8. Apr 8, 2013
    9
    Did I ever tell you what the definition of insanity is? It's playing the same game over and over again thinking "This time, it's gonna be less fun than the last time." That is crazy. This one time, this guy told me he liked the game, and I thought he was bullsh*tting me, so boom, I shot him. Did I ever tell you what the definition of insanity is?
  9. Jan 19, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3 completely surprised me, I knew it was gonna be good but I never thought it would be my Game of The Year 2012!!!!! Thought Halo 4 would get GoTY but due to the campaign not been as gripping as other Halo campaigns and Borderlands 2 just passing it out. But enough talking about other games and lets talk about Far Cry 3. The campaign is one the of the best FPS campaigns I haveFar Cry 3 completely surprised me, I knew it was gonna be good but I never thought it would be my Game of The Year 2012!!!!! Thought Halo 4 would get GoTY but due to the campaign not been as gripping as other Halo campaigns and Borderlands 2 just passing it out. But enough talking about other games and lets talk about Far Cry 3. The campaign is one the of the best FPS campaigns I have ever played! Doing stuff like burning down a weed farm or hunting sharks or escaping an enemey airfield on a helicopter and many other awesome things. Great story and tons of side missions to keep you playing for hours on end. You also have a CO-OP campaign witch is nothing really interesting, but a little campaign to play with friends is also something to keep you playing this game for longer. Map maker is still fun and new A.Is make to mess around in. Multiplayer is the only thing I have to say they messed up, really outdated, but still good to play but just really outdated multiplayer. Overall, unless Disohnored is perfect (playing it at the momment) Far Cry 3 is my GOTY of 2012. Far Cry 3 9.4/10 Expand
  10. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    While I was hesitant at first to try the third installation in a franchise that I've yet to know or care, after carefully inspecting professional and honest reviews on this game, the hype of this game being "skyrim-with-guns" made me want to put my feet into the unknown territory of Far Cry 3. I couldn't have made a better choice in my life. Let's start from when you start the game. I amWhile I was hesitant at first to try the third installation in a franchise that I've yet to know or care, after carefully inspecting professional and honest reviews on this game, the hype of this game being "skyrim-with-guns" made me want to put my feet into the unknown territory of Far Cry 3. I couldn't have made a better choice in my life. Let's start from when you start the game. I am quite piqued at the conceptualism of Duality and Insanity voiced through the visuals of the main screen even, and also works beneficially for accessing your menu with ease. But, the one thing that did annoy me the most about this game was not necessarily about the content itself but Ubisoft's constant plea for it's almost unnecessary online pass. While you could play multiplayer without installing this pass up to Level 15, the whole reward on your hand for doing so isn't that significant. Likely, all you'll ever get is 4 achievement challenges which if completed will give you so to say "points" that you can use to download only 4 unlockables, almost all of which could've been in the final game to begin with. Nevertheless, at least it didn't necessarily force you to keep paying with real money, rather than just your dedication to the game itself. But overall, this Uplay is just another hub to bring more uneccessary adverts and lock the customer in a very unfriendly commitment to a company which seems to lie more than what their customer would. Anyhow, back to the game. The singleplayer as a whole is quite astounding, with real and round character development, combined with an engaging environment and tons of activities to do in this game. while you play as a seemingly spoiled college frat boy, you actually almost immediately get past his stereotypes and see the real human in him, and you can see him slowly develop from a person who only knew the life of luxury to a hard-boiled survivalist, something that a lot of games have trouble these days topping off. Jason Brody has morals, and is not a airhead as I thought I'd come to expect. The gameplay itself is also nice, where you can constantly have yourself engaging in a lot of dynamic battles between pirates, hostile animals and maybe even your friends. I do have to say right out the bat that in the singleplayer mode this game provides one of the best pyrotechnics I have ever seen (you can even hear the trees crackle as they burn and the fire spread!). There are a whole assortment of weapons and traps to choose from, varying between out in the open to overall stealthy, and the stealth mode in this game also has a big improvement, with individual enemy indicators rather than universal ones found in Skyrim or Fallout. Skinning animals actually comes to use, as you can use the skins to increase the capacity of ammo, how many weapons you can hold, or aid of the matter. There are internet challenges you can engage in around the singleplayer world, where you can compete with your friends to have your name stamped on a bright red rock as the champion of said challenge. Skills not only diversified but having these skills adds tattoos to your arm, and you can see how detailed your arm will become after amassing a large amount of skills. You can also gain signature weapons from completing other challenges, like collecting relics or lost letters, and there is also a radio tower part of gameplay that works not unlike the Assassin's Creed towers, where you can reveal the map and have certain guns be free for purchase (not the attachments, however). Now, I would say that the singleplayer on it's own would be enough to get this game immediately, but this game is so much more give than take. There is a co-op mode (although it's more of a big shooting gallery with pyrotechnics), a multiplayer mode (with loadouts that you can use in co-op as well) and even a map editor, which allows for much more replayability with the multiplayer even after reaching the highest rank (and you will get there fast, believe me.) There is a decoding system that allows you to get certain camoflauge that also serve to provide some certain attributes to your weapons, and urges you to keep playing as theses decoders are "decoding". Other than the blatant ad spam that is the Uplay system, with a facebook like dashboard that puts a status of you every time you either get top score on a match or complete a challenge, to which people can "like" them. I don't really see the point of this at all as it doesn't serve any purpose to popularize yourself or having any control over what status' should be shown, much less even make your own. But, apart from that, This game is wholly wonderful and you will spend oodles of hours playing player made maps, or making your own, and especially getting some singleplayer in. Hear that, Battlefield 3? This is how you make multiplayer AND singleplayer just as good. Expand
  11. Dec 9, 2012
    9
    After finally finishing the campaign, I can safely give Far Cry 3 a 9 out of 10. The story is easy to follow but still engaging. There are some emotional moments here and there, but that is not the moral of the story, the point of this game is survival. You hunt animals and people, try to save your captured friends, drive, glide, parkour, kill, dive, explore, and the list goes on andAfter finally finishing the campaign, I can safely give Far Cry 3 a 9 out of 10. The story is easy to follow but still engaging. There are some emotional moments here and there, but that is not the moral of the story, the point of this game is survival. You hunt animals and people, try to save your captured friends, drive, glide, parkour, kill, dive, explore, and the list goes on and on. The side missions are short but sweet, and most have them have a funny ending to them. Crafting is an important element to the game. You must hunt for game and collect herbs to craft materials and tools such as wallets, ammo pouches, and medicine. You can play the game however you want. You have the choice to take down the bad guys using stealth, brute frontal assault, or a mixture of both! There are some problems with the game that forces me to give this game only a 9 out of 10. First, the glitches are abundant in this game. There is one glitch where the shadow of your gun is permanently stuck on the ground and will follow you until you exit the game and come back. Enemies will sometimes see you through walls and trees, but you can't see them. This will cause them to ring the alarm, which will call for reinforcements. (Reinforcements are a pain in the A** to deal with) Those are the only problems I have with the game, but the rest is pure awesomeness. This game is a must buy game. This is a definite nominee for GOTY. Expand
  12. Dec 13, 2012
    9
    Thank God for Ubisoft Montreal an the Canadians for saving my gaming year. This year was set to be one of the greatest years in gaming ever with so many hotly anticipated AAA titles all releasing in time for Christmas, then many of them turning out to be a disapointment. I personaly had my eye on Hitman Absolution and Far Cry 3, Hitman Absolution turned out to be a huge disapointment asThank God for Ubisoft Montreal an the Canadians for saving my gaming year. This year was set to be one of the greatest years in gaming ever with so many hotly anticipated AAA titles all releasing in time for Christmas, then many of them turning out to be a disapointment. I personaly had my eye on Hitman Absolution and Far Cry 3, Hitman Absolution turned out to be a huge disapointment as it took away all the huge free roam do what you want when you want as you want....but thanks to Far Cry 3 that huge free roam do what you want when you want as you want is all here intact just like it was in Far Cry 2 (which i also loved). Far Cry 3 is VERY ambitious, the map is 10x the size of Far Cry 2 and has 10x as much going on in it. One of the big things you will notice is how many animals this game has , i think it pretty much has every animal in the world in it, all of which look surprisingly good and roam around the living world grazing or being chased an eaten by prey, for instance you will witness tigers, jaguars, bears, komdo dragons etc chasing and eating wild boars, buffalo ,deer etc etc, or see people down by the stream suddenly get attacked an eaten by crocodiles (they all chase and eat you too) or great white sharks will circle an investigate your boat an give it a lil nibble before darting off, or will attack you if in the water. Then there are smaller fish like beautiful coral reef fish to small lake fish all darting around, tiny bugs and birds to parrots to crabs etc etc, the whole island just feels alive like a real island and gives you a sense of paranoia that your being stalked (sometimes you are by a bear or something). You also have to kill and use these animals to make gun holsters, ruck sacks,pouches etc as you progress, more difficult animals make for bigger holsters.pouches etc. Graphically the game looks great but you cant help but feel its trying to scream out "i know i know Im sorry, Im supposed to be next gen, gimmie a break" everything around you looks very well detailed and very close to Far Cry 2's graphics, but then things way way off in the backround like a few mountains look pretty bad, its as if the game is far too big and ambitious for current gen consoles, but on the whole if you liked Far Cry 2's graphics then you will like this, close up its very pretty an very detailed and because the game is so big with so much content you can forgive the few bad parts off in the far backround. It has a great selection of guns that can be bought an modified,from pistols to sniper rifles to rocket launches to bow an arrows, theres a big selection. The cutscenes look beautiful an the story is pretty cool too.It has lots of veichles from cars, boats, jet skis, quad bikes, handgliders, jeeps etc. Ive been playing forrrr aboooout 9 or 10 hours on medium difficulty so far and i dont think ive even scratched the surface of the campaign an only explored about a 1/3 of the map so far. This really is a great an beautiful looking game that will keep you entertained for ages, well worth the full price and gets my vote for game of the year. (Although i havent played Assasins Creed 3 yet as its wrapped up nicely under the tree waiting for Christmas day) having said that im a huge fan of open world sanboxs that i can explore an do as i wish in, so Far Cry 3 will still probably get my game of the year award. Expand
  13. Dec 8, 2012
    9
    Far Cry 3 is probably my favourite game of 2012. I stopped short of giving it a ten due to some technical issues on 360, and some minor annoyances. Far Cry 3 gives you an intelligent story that points out glorifying violence is insane, not a good thing. It gives you all kinds of interesting characters, but one of them dies way too prematurely. The gameplay is fantastic, giving you allFar Cry 3 is probably my favourite game of 2012. I stopped short of giving it a ten due to some technical issues on 360, and some minor annoyances. Far Cry 3 gives you an intelligent story that points out glorifying violence is insane, not a good thing. It gives you all kinds of interesting characters, but one of them dies way too prematurely. The gameplay is fantastic, giving you all sorts of ways to approach outposts. And light RPG elements give Brody a sense of progression. This choice is taken away during the story missions, which are often more linear and scripted about things. But that doesn't feel like a negative because they are so well designed. The soundtrack is outstanding. Exciting during fights, tense during stealth, and sad when it needs to be. On the downsides, things will get a little repetitive if you try to 100% it. The only way to interact with the world is to shoot it or stab it. So I would recommending wrapping up once you've had your fill, and not forcing yourself to do everything. Weapon wise, you have a nice range of choices but starts to feels a little stunted for a game this huge. On 360, there's annoying framerate issues when things get really busy, and pop-in. Water textures are also a little bizarre. I think these are small issues when taken in the context of a wider game which provides so much fun and choice. Where other shooters are slowly chipping away at what players can choose to do, FC3 hands it back to the player in a crazy and interesting world with an intriguing story and great soundtrack. Expand
  14. Dec 25, 2012
    9
    People spend a ton of time comparing FC3 to other games that they lose sight of what it really is. Don't bother asking, "Is it really like Skyrim with guns?" or, "Is it really an FPS Red Dead Redemption or Just Cause?" because it's not. I started into this game with those expectations, and while they work in the simplest of simple terms, Far Cry 3 is a surprisingly unique experience thatPeople spend a ton of time comparing FC3 to other games that they lose sight of what it really is. Don't bother asking, "Is it really like Skyrim with guns?" or, "Is it really an FPS Red Dead Redemption or Just Cause?" because it's not. I started into this game with those expectations, and while they work in the simplest of simple terms, Far Cry 3 is a surprisingly unique experience that is worth picking up for fans of FPS and RPGs alike.
    The story sounds pretty cookie-cutter, but gets very unique very quickly. During a vacation, something goes wrong and you and your friends are captives of a band of pirates led by a complete psychopath. You escape, and are loose on a jungle island tasked with finding your friends. There are influences from lots of big-name games present, such as climbing radio towers to un-fuzz the map or branching skill trees that give you new abilities. These influences come together to create an excellent and immersive experience.
    The story is about the only thing set in stone. Like in Far Cry 2, you can approach any mission the way you want to. You can go in guns blazing, sneak in with silenced weapons (that actually do damage this time) or bust out the knife and start cutting people down with the newly added (and stylish) hand-to-hand takedowns that get progressively better as you upgrade them. As far as free will goes, Far Cry 3 is just like its predecessor. That's where it ends, though. I could rattle on for ages about all the individual ways FC3 is better than FC2, but I'll keep it simple and trim it to one word: polish. I might be alone in this, but FC2 just seemed like a rush job. The story made no sense, stealth was damn near impossible with the crappy weapons, and everything felt like it wasn't finished. The developers heard every single complaint with FC2 and fixed in in FC3. No more fighting through the same outpost 238 times an hour. No more incoherent storyline. No more gun jams. And no more starting a new game every time you finish one.
    Overall, I can find almost nothing wrong with Far Cry 3 other than its somewhat goofy vehicle physics and annoying animal combat. The game excels in just about everything it seeks to do, and is one of the best single-player experiences out there. After you beat the story, there isn't much to do other than wandering around, and even then you stumble on little challenges or puzzles to complete. There's also a multiplayer option, though it is neither bad nor particularly interesting. It has all the standard expectations: leveling, co-op, deathmatch, domination modes etc. There's nothing new about it, but multiplayer isn't what Far Cry is about anyway. It's about a single-player experience that obliterates any online gaming, and no shooter does it better than Far Cry 3.
    Expand
  15. Feb 24, 2013
    9
    Grade: high end of 8.5, singelplayer 10,Multiplayer 7. Gameplay (reviewed on normal diff): Singleplayer;starts a little slow and easy makeing it a little boring but after an hour or so gets addictive,fun,and hard to put down. It is a real treat and lots of content, will have you jumping back like a scary movie at many differnt turns, a true open world (U do not have to turn on radio towersGrade: high end of 8.5, singelplayer 10,Multiplayer 7. Gameplay (reviewed on normal diff): Singleplayer;starts a little slow and easy makeing it a little boring but after an hour or so gets addictive,fun,and hard to put down. It is a real treat and lots of content, will have you jumping back like a scary movie at many differnt turns, a true open world (U do not have to turn on radio towers or use fast travel its up to U,some parts of missions do make you stay on mission track for a small time). Autosave is execuded near perfect, best I have seen in most games. Fast travel is great (did get glitch stuck around 4 times during game and fast travel set me free). Mini games are plentiful and chalenging but with the exception of trials there is no score traking I found (did I beat this min game alreay on hardest dif and what was my time? glitch if you drive to race mini vehicle to get there will be gone win or lose you may be walking). Controls are superb. Exploring; caves, underwater wreckage, WWII bunkers, Jungles filled with wild animals could not ask for more.multiplayer; nothing special and co-op is fun and would bring my multiplayer score up if it was not so buggy to point of needing an emrgency patch. Graphics: Amazing waxy look like a bannana plant is that real or fake love em, Water is flat at time ocean is more like the gulf,but this game has the bext underwater,scare the hell out of yaand makes you fill like you are swimming graphics I have ever seen. sky; lighting is gorgeouse, but no moving cloudes(there are formation change from night to day smart), rain is superb. sound: Great music, main charecter is disapointing, why do we have to sound like a puss, when all the other charecters are so tough love em all. Effects are all superb. Menu: skill tree takes away from open world do to fact item locks are implemended till finishing some missions one point I had 4 skills to spend over 4000xp and no unloked skills available to choose,there is no real path ut is more an xp store, like the Idea and earning skills(which realy as great skills to learn) but the tree wass poorly designed. Letters, Loot,and relics; have funny descrips with the excepiton of relics which seemed to be unfinshed(find a relic menu has you look at it no description after 120 times going in menu to remove notification gets annoying). Encycopedia;is hilarious and a pleaure to few from animals,guns,people,and vehicles, grade A+. Get this game if you loved Far Cry 2 or are new to liberating 3rd world countries. Expand
  16. Apr 12, 2013
    10
    So here's the thing. I've just created this account on metacritic with the sole purpose of telling you all how absolutely epic, farcry 3 is. I've played games my entire existence from mario, to resident evil to portal to gears of war etc. but nothing comes even close to this game. From start to finish, the game is completely flawless. Not one bug, not one stupid bit, not one moment ofSo here's the thing. I've just created this account on metacritic with the sole purpose of telling you all how absolutely epic, farcry 3 is. I've played games my entire existence from mario, to resident evil to portal to gears of war etc. but nothing comes even close to this game. From start to finish, the game is completely flawless. Not one bug, not one stupid bit, not one moment of frustration, just pure entertainment value from a absolutely incredible game. For me this has to be the greatest game of all time. I'm on my 6th play through of it and I am still enjoying it, and I never usually go back and play games. All I'm saying is, Vass is a cult legend of gaming. This game is epic. Expand
  17. Dec 6, 2012
    9
    Solid shooting mechanics, a surprising attention put towards narrative (to which it mostly hits home) and a large, densely populated world with a lot of interesting, worthwhile, and, most importantly, fun content to take part in.

    Up to even a few weeks before launch, Far Cry 3 was not exactly a game that was high on my list. While I thoroughly enjoyed Far Cry: Instincts Predator when it
    Solid shooting mechanics, a surprising attention put towards narrative (to which it mostly hits home) and a large, densely populated world with a lot of interesting, worthwhile, and, most importantly, fun content to take part in.

    Up to even a few weeks before launch, Far Cry 3 was not exactly a game that was high on my list. While I thoroughly enjoyed Far Cry: Instincts Predator when it released on the 360 a fair few years back, it's follow-up (by name alone), Far Cry 2, did little to impress me and much to annoy me. As for Far Cry 3, it is certainly very comparable to the experience found in Far Cry 2, except now with the lack of questionable game mechanics, annoying traveling (it is there, just handled far better this time around) and infuriating ai. Ultimately, Far Cry 3 is essentially Far Cry 2, simply executed far better this time around. If you saw the promise of the series' prior release, but were let down with the end product, it might be worth your time checking this one out. For me, this is certainly a strong contender for my personal game of the year. It's an extremely solid game that seems to have hit, and properly, all of the goals it set to make.
    Expand
  18. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    The game is simply amazing. You really get into that big and beautiful jungle full of wildlife and hostality. It has been a while since I played a good but at the same time big game as this one. All the features are great and even though the storyline is very good you can have much fun doing other things beside the main plot. Also the crafting system is great, in my opinion not too muchThe game is simply amazing. You really get into that big and beautiful jungle full of wildlife and hostality. It has been a while since I played a good but at the same time big game as this one. All the features are great and even though the storyline is very good you can have much fun doing other things beside the main plot. Also the crafting system is great, in my opinion not too much complicated and perfectly balanced with the game itself. The multiplayer I just managed to try it out and it looks good but since there are not so many players yet there has been a rather big difference between those who already tried it out and those who are new. Even though that my video card is not the recommended one I can enjoy the game with the most things set on high and that makes me even more happy. Expand
  19. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    one of the best games of 2012 is Far Cry 3.This is an amazing game very addictive and fun to play.From the start the storyline is done perfectly as you get deeper into the game it becomes very addictive.From the amazing graphics to the smooth gameplay and the easy controls this game is truly one of the best first person shooter's I have ever played.Even if you are new to the first personone of the best games of 2012 is Far Cry 3.This is an amazing game very addictive and fun to play.From the start the storyline is done perfectly as you get deeper into the game it becomes very addictive.From the amazing graphics to the smooth gameplay and the easy controls this game is truly one of the best first person shooter's I have ever played.Even if you are new to the first person shooters you will find the controls very easy to learn.Though this game is a bit difficult all this means is you have to think what to do next on how to accomplish your mission.Far Cry 3 is an amazing game and as you play the game you know the creators took their time making this game and at the end they produced on of 2012 best games.If you love first person shooter's then I strongly recommend this and if you still not convinced just read the other reviews and if you're still not convinced look at the reviews from the critics.Forget the negative reviews those people just don't know what a good game is.Far Cry 3 is by far the best and most addictive and fun filled open world game I have played in a while.It is the type of game that keeps you hooked to your TV screen for hours on end and when you go to sleep you even dream of the game.Thank you Ubisoft for making such amazing and highly addictive games. Expand
  20. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    A truly excellent game. I like RPGs but for me they are sometimes too daunting. For example, Fallout and Skyrim are great games but there is such a vast amount to do it is off-putting. Far Cry 3 has found the perfect balance, offering a challenge yet not overwhelming the gamer with too much to do, not knowing where to start. The missions offer great variety and are cinematic andA truly excellent game. I like RPGs but for me they are sometimes too daunting. For example, Fallout and Skyrim are great games but there is such a vast amount to do it is off-putting. Far Cry 3 has found the perfect balance, offering a challenge yet not overwhelming the gamer with too much to do, not knowing where to start. The missions offer great variety and are cinematic and exciting. The side missions are slightly repetitive but this is compensated for by the various approaches available to tackle a mission, for example go all out guns blazing or go for stealth. Overall, Far Cry 3 doesn't take itself too seriously and puts fun back into RPGs. Expand
  21. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    This is hands down one of the best open world games I have ever played. They get so much right and only minor details can be listed in the cons for this game. The story, the voice acting, the gameplay. They knock everything out of the park. This is the best FarCry game to date, and one of the best FPS titles of the year.
  22. Dec 15, 2012
    10
    and here we have it, to be honest, Far Cry 2 was a good game, but not quite my cup of tea, it just didn't seem that interesting, and Far Cry 1 I never played it. But I knew what they were all about.
    So my review goes like this: I'm a huge Assassin's Creed fan, and I've been waiting for AC3 for a while, but when it came out, the game was a huge mess. And Far Cry 3 had been delayed. AC3 had
    and here we have it, to be honest, Far Cry 2 was a good game, but not quite my cup of tea, it just didn't seem that interesting, and Far Cry 1 I never played it. But I knew what they were all about.
    So my review goes like this: I'm a huge Assassin's Creed fan, and I've been waiting for AC3 for a while, but when it came out, the game was a huge mess. And Far Cry 3 had been delayed. AC3 had so many missions, hunting side stuff, challenges, but yet, none gave you anything worth it, the only fun I had was combat and Naval Missions. The game broke my heart.

    But here we have a little bit of what AC3 has, except it MAKES SENSE here, rewarding loot, experience points that actually mean something, hunting is actually needed and fun, the driving is a bit clunky, yes. But overall I'd say this is a GOTY contender, for me
    Expand
  23. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    An amazing game.I loved the story,freedom and weapons especially,as well as the wing suit/parachute.Though the side missions are mainly dull,the activities such as racing,knife throwing,shooting,poker and hunting missions are all fantastic.There are a few major flaws though.Context sensitivity,mainly healing, is poor throughout and the odd mission glitches out randomly and your syringesAn amazing game.I loved the story,freedom and weapons especially,as well as the wing suit/parachute.Though the side missions are mainly dull,the activities such as racing,knife throwing,shooting,poker and hunting missions are all fantastic.There are a few major flaws though.Context sensitivity,mainly healing, is poor throughout and the odd mission glitches out randomly and your syringes are mostly useless,Medicine and Hunters Instinct being the major ones and the occasional Deep Dive and Invincibilty coming in handy.The two major islands are quite different with the first a true jungle and second being far more open.Also the game isn't as long as you'd initially believe with a completion rate of exactly 90% after 28 hours during my first playthrough on medium.Hard is slightly tougher but not impossible.The main story actually blew me away in several trippy parts and was most enjoyable.All in all a really,really great game,despite some big annoyances.9.5/10 Expand
  24. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Many aspects of Far Cry 3 take credit for the undeniable perfection of the game. 1. Visually we are presented to a world with an immense feeling of variety and depth, so far unmatched. The jungle of Rook Islands is first-of-a-kind creation in gaming history, only rivaled by Skyrim (mod'ed) imo. 2. Far Cry 3 is stuffed with amazing characters that keeps getting more crazy as the gameMany aspects of Far Cry 3 take credit for the undeniable perfection of the game. 1. Visually we are presented to a world with an immense feeling of variety and depth, so far unmatched. The jungle of Rook Islands is first-of-a-kind creation in gaming history, only rivaled by Skyrim (mod'ed) imo. 2. Far Cry 3 is stuffed with amazing characters that keeps getting more crazy as the game progresses, but above all stands Vaas: so crazy, so funny, so scary, so ambivalent, FC3 has gotten its own Dark Knight Joker. 3. The synthesis of camera, music, sounds, visuals and continuity when we explore the Rook Islands is everything Far Cry 2 didnt have, especially the continuity. We would perform the same identical actions over n over n over again, the definition of insanity... In FC3 we do the exact same things over n over n over again, but because the game in visuals and experience is so tasty, u feel like u could go on forever liberating outposts and rerouting radio-towers. 4. Our main character, Jason. Finally a game that shows interest in the fact that killing does change you. Jason goes through a psychological development that I personally haven't seen the likes of ever, this is also why Vaas is so important, there is such a strong relation between him and Jason that grows as Jason keeps rampaging. All these games about killing, shooting, murdering, never have I seen any sign of these actions affecting the main characters. A unique touch to FC3 without doubt, and it succeeds without doubt. I would keep praising this game in all eternity, but these aspects are more that enough for a 10.
    Buy it n enjoy it, definitely worth it.
    Expand
  25. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    this game is great and far cry 3 is big sand box You can kill animals whenever you want Far Cry 3 is all the best things about open-world gaming. It's a glorious anecdote factory, where you manufacture brilliant new memories every time you wake up in a safehouse and head out into the jungle d it always lets you play, but it also controls the tempo - sometimes a little heavy-handedly, butthis game is great and far cry 3 is big sand box You can kill animals whenever you want Far Cry 3 is all the best things about open-world gaming. It's a glorious anecdote factory, where you manufacture brilliant new memories every time you wake up in a safehouse and head out into the jungle d it always lets you play, but it also controls the tempo - sometimes a little heavy-handedly, but always with good intentionsou have a fully featured single-player game that lasts upward of 35 hours or more, depending on how much you want to do. Kills earn you experience, Corpses and chests can be looted for cash and saleable items; you then buy new weapons and maps and to replenish ammo at safe houses. Out in the wild, you collect plant life of various kinds so that you can fill syringes with meds that heal you, make you less vulnerable, or enhance your senses. Expand
  26. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    It's not often that a game gets to me (or a 9 either) but when you wake up and the first thing that pops into your head is how you are going to get rid of that troublesome sniper or whether you should go Tapir hunting or not is a sign that it's gotten under my skin. The wow factor is there, the world feels wide open and begs to be explored. The wildlife is amazingly well done, forgetIt's not often that a game gets to me (or a 9 either) but when you wake up and the first thing that pops into your head is how you are going to get rid of that troublesome sniper or whether you should go Tapir hunting or not is a sign that it's gotten under my skin. The wow factor is there, the world feels wide open and begs to be explored. The wildlife is amazingly well done, forget running up to animals and dropping them, the deer are shy and bound away at the slightest sound, you have to stalk these babies, sometimes you'll end up being the hunted and get taken out by something you didn't even see sneaking up on you.The game world is changing and dynamic, you have to think about you actions and run and gun will sometimes work but more often than not you'll end up dead. The story, it's a long time since I was into a story in a game, Far Cry 3s plot is well done and the main villain is superbly scripted and acted. Of course it's not all a walk in the park there are some things that grate a bot and lessen the fluidity of the game, the menu/skills system is a bit clunky and takes some getting used to, the enemy AI is good but the difficulty setting should be ramped up to hardest to be more of a challenge, Multiplayer matches: takes ages to find a game but once you're in....it's pretty damn good, pitched just this side of hardcore, bullets deal heavy damage and good weapon moddeling, some good maps in there and a map editor that'll give people the chance to throw their own creations out there and no rip off rent a sever fees.. Total respect to Ubisoft for getting this game out there, when you see what can be done on one disc and with the aging 360 it makes you wonder why we bother developing new consoles instead of putting the talent into designing the games themselves. Far Cry 3 is what gaming should be, a sense of freedom and possibilities. Anyone one who thinks recycled rehashed cash cows like MW3 and Blops2 are good, try this you'll be blown away. Get it. P.S. Watch out for those pesky tigers Expand
  27. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    I've played every big game this year and this by far beats them all. amazing graphics solid game play, amazing fps, this game has something for everyone. best part for me is about to snipe in to an enemy camp and suddenly your hear a growl behind you turn around and theres a lion ready to pounce and kill you!!! cant praise this game enough the story plus side missions is well over 35hr+I've played every big game this year and this by far beats them all. amazing graphics solid game play, amazing fps, this game has something for everyone. best part for me is about to snipe in to an enemy camp and suddenly your hear a growl behind you turn around and theres a lion ready to pounce and kill you!!! cant praise this game enough the story plus side missions is well over 35hr+ game play even just free roaming has you constantly battling with the jungle. this by far is GOTY by far best far cry to date and probably best game i've ever played. Expand
  28. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    I rarely write reviews on ths site since its full of hate and contradiction,but when games like Far Cry 3 come along i cant help it but share my thoughts.This is a beautiful game,and im not talkin about the graphics.After finishing it i felt empty,thats how good it is.The story gets u hooked nearly all the time u play,but the thing i admired most about this game was the level design.I wasI rarely write reviews on ths site since its full of hate and contradiction,but when games like Far Cry 3 come along i cant help it but share my thoughts.This is a beautiful game,and im not talkin about the graphics.After finishing it i felt empty,thats how good it is.The story gets u hooked nearly all the time u play,but the thing i admired most about this game was the level design.I was surprised by this game in many ways.When u see the trailers it looks like just another COD,but hunting a shark in FC3 is more suspenfull then the last COD game itself!!The missions were a strong point of this game cause they always mix shooting,climbing,stealth and exploring in marvelous ways....The only negative thing about this game could be some screen tearing and an isolated case when a glitch occurs.The sound is fantastic,guns ,animals,enemy's feel real and the voice acting is top notch.The main character is believeable and his actions affect him in every step of your journey.The villains were very well writen especially Vass and Buck.I've played all big games this year and this is my best game shoulder to shoulder with Dishonored.I dont care about MP so if u want a rly strong SP experience try this game out.Cheers Expand
  29. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Absolutely in love with this game. A huge, beautiful and great, living world with many of things to do besides the very well executed missions. While Ubisoft tried to make their previous installment Far Cry 2 immersive it almost went controversy and a little too realistic. Jamming guns, a lack of hud mode and an overall lack of gameplay features drive you away from the experience. In FarAbsolutely in love with this game. A huge, beautiful and great, living world with many of things to do besides the very well executed missions. While Ubisoft tried to make their previous installment Far Cry 2 immersive it almost went controversy and a little too realistic. Jamming guns, a lack of hud mode and an overall lack of gameplay features drive you away from the experience. In Far Cry 3, things have changed. With the new introduced RPG elements, abilities to craft and the ability to use stealth against your enemies, it actually became lots of fun to travel instead of frustrating. Far Cry 3 offers us what the openworld genre is supposed to offer, while the previous installment was good, it lacked many things that other openworld games had to offer. Besides the addictive singleplayer campaign, there's also a little uninspired, but yet so fun multiplayer with a huge map editor, allowing the people who love to be creative almost unlimited hours of fun. The 6 hour Coop is pretty interesting also, but i personally see much more potential in the Map editors sandbox mode, allowing you to put AI in your maps. Imagine if Ubisoft skipped this whole coop and made it possible for the player to create their OWN coop, each with it's own map and objective. This way, the AI that Ubisoft introduced us would be where it really belongs. Now Far Cry 3 isn't flawless, but offers so much fun and an almost unlimited amount of replay value, making it my personal Game Of The Year 2012. Expand
  30. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    So I have played around 10 hours and to me this is my game of the year. The campaign absorbed me into Rook island and the performances from the characters is phenomenal. Vaas is the perfect villian and Jason with his innocent tone changed throughout the campaign provides an amazing experience. The game is far improved since Far Cry 2 but there are a still few enemy glitches and some verySo I have played around 10 hours and to me this is my game of the year. The campaign absorbed me into Rook island and the performances from the characters is phenomenal. Vaas is the perfect villian and Jason with his innocent tone changed throughout the campaign provides an amazing experience. The game is far improved since Far Cry 2 but there are a still few enemy glitches and some very minor screen tearing but that doesn't deter you from what is an amazing game. The multiplayer is kind of basic but once people start creating maps I believe that will help it feel unique and fun. The map editor is amazing and gives you more tools than ever and the level of creativity and detail you can create is immense. The graphics are very good for these old consoles, the mechanics are well done, and the replayibility to me is limitless. Overall this is one of my favorite games this gen. Expand
  31. Dec 6, 2012
    0
    I love the intro to the game. I love the open world, I love the huge selection of weapons, the various techniques used to get through missions, like opening tiger cages, sneaking around or just balls to the wall Rambo style. I love how everything in the environment explodes in fires when a car explodes, a flame thrower is used or whatever. I love hunting all the animals and using theirI love the intro to the game. I love the open world, I love the huge selection of weapons, the various techniques used to get through missions, like opening tiger cages, sneaking around or just balls to the wall Rambo style. I love how everything in the environment explodes in fires when a car explodes, a flame thrower is used or whatever. I love hunting all the animals and using their skin to craft new items like wallets or ammo holsters which enable you to carry more money and ammo. I love the story and all the crazy vehicles you have at your disposal. The graphics aren't top notch, but it still manages to take your breath away and look extraordinary. I highly recommend anyone and everyone to buy this game as it's now became one of my favorite games. I wouldn't be surprised if Far Cry 3 won game of the year cause it sure as hell deserves it. Collapse
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Apr 8, 2013
    80
    Far Cry 3 reaches for greatness, but falls short at merely being really fun. It has a few hiccups here and there and the story is very thin, but the exploration and combat really shine. It's a worthy addition to any collection.
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    90
    Almost everything about Far Cry 3 speaks to the game’s skilled, confident and tightly interwoven design, and players are free to seek their specific flavour of gratification and victory as Jason becomes the most dangerous animal on the island.
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    80
    The freeform combat, gorgeous locations, and excellent multiplayer are strong, and Far Cry 3 does a fantastic job of putting the player in the middle of a lawless, chaotic world and letting them get up to whatever they please. Yes, video games are capable of achieving much more than Far Cry 3 does, but it makes a persuasive argument that there's nothing wrong with a guilty pleasure now and again—especially when it's as slickly presented as this is.