Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1128 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Far Cry 3, players assume the role of Jason Brody, a figure alone at the edge of the world, stranded on a mysterious tropical island. In this savage paradise where anarchy and violence are the only sure thing, players dictate how the story unfolds, from the battles they elect to fight toIn Far Cry 3, players assume the role of Jason Brody, a figure alone at the edge of the world, stranded on a mysterious tropical island. In this savage paradise where anarchy and violence are the only sure thing, players dictate how the story unfolds, from the battles they elect to fight to the allies or enemies they make along the way. As Jason Brody, players slash, sneak, detonate and shoot their way across the island in a world that has lost its understanding of what's right and wrong. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Dec 5, 2012
    100
    Aside from the occasional texture glitch or stray enemy phasing into a rock (a problem easily solved with well-placed explosives), Far Cry 3 is a technically brilliant and expertly balanced gameplay experience that offers an immense amount of content and a high degree of polish. At the time of writing I have put nearly 60 hours into it across two playthroughs, and will probably play it a third time on PC later on. I suggest you do the same.
  2. Nov 26, 2012
    100
    Every so often, a game comes along which is so irresistible that it leaves you wondering whether sequelitis might actually be a good thing. Far Cry 3 being a classic example.
  3. Dec 5, 2012
    95
    Far Cry 3 was a shock all around. After being cold on the second game and only mildly excited about the original, I wasn't expecting groundbreaking. FC3 obliterated my expectations and is easily in my top-tier of 2012 games. I can see myself sinking hours into the campaign, and I am stoked to see what people concoct with the map editor over time. If you like FPS games in general, you owe it to yourself to pick up FC3. The game exceeds all expectations and is quickly becoming one I can't stop thinking about when real life takes me away from Rook Island.
  4. Nov 21, 2012
    90
    Far Cry 3 shines in its campaign, which is more layered and compelling than any game proffering a power trip through escapist ultraviolence has any right to be.
  5. Nov 21, 2012
    90
    Easily the best Far Cry game so far, with a near perfect mix of open world exploration, action, impressively ambitious storytelling, and one of gaming's best villains.
  6. Dec 12, 2012
    89
    With freedom comes great responsibility. With a lush world for free-roaming and with freedom to execute your objectives Far Cry 3 delivers. The story missions and characters are not of the same standard but are also not a big annoyance. [Dec 2012]
  7. Dec 4, 2012
    60
    Far Cry 3, a pretty good open-world shooter, is a terrible sequel to Far Cry 2. One of the hallmarks of Far Cry 2 was that you never left the game world, even to check your map. But like many good games, Far Cry 3 is brimming with gamey stuff that takes you out of the world and into the gaminess.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 282
  1. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    I love the intro to the game. I love the open world, I love the huge selection of weapons, the various techniques used to get throughI love the intro to the game. I love the open world, I love the huge selection of weapons, the various techniques used to get through missions, like opening tiger cages, sneaking around or just balls to the wall Rambo style. I love how everything in the environment explodes in fires when a car explodes, a flame thrower is used or whatever. I love hunting all the animals and using their skin to craft new items like wallets or ammo holsters which enable you to carry more money and ammo. I love the story and all the crazy vehicles you have at your disposal. The graphics aren't top notch, but it still manages to take your breath away and look extraordinary. I highly recommend anyone and everyone to buy this game as it's now became one of my favorite games. I wouldn't be surprised if Far Cry 3 won game of the year cause it sure as hell deserves it. Collapse
  2. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    I think this game is amazing most addictive single player in a long time. Cant believe what some people are moaning about. "getting headaches"I think this game is amazing most addictive single player in a long time. Cant believe what some people are moaning about. "getting headaches" ! MAN UP! "Only bought it for the map editor" If thats how you get your kicks then your boring. Expand
  3. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    I really don't have much to rag on for Far Cry III. This game has it all. Here's some of Far Cry III's biggest strengths:
    -Top quality voice
    I really don't have much to rag on for Far Cry III. This game has it all. Here's some of Far Cry III's biggest strengths:
    -Top quality voice acting & character animations
    -High quality story
    -Great combat (if you use it right. You can either just go in guns blazing or try for more stealth-based combat. I opt for the latter which has made my gameplaying experience SO much better!)
    -The best villain I've ever played against: Vaas.
    -An open, lush environment
    -A pretty cool RPG-esque level up system.

    Now, you may have heard this game is Skyrim with guns. As awesome as the game is, it'd be a lie to say that it's anything like the Elder Scrolls. NPC interaction is pretty limited, sidequests are really basic and you don't level up in nearly as much detail as Skyrim. That being said, I still loved the game. Buy it now!
    Expand
  4. Dec 26, 2012
    9
    Far Cry 3 is one of the greats of 2012. Has a great mix of combat, stealth, and exploration. Only bad thing would have to be story for me. IFar Cry 3 is one of the greats of 2012. Has a great mix of combat, stealth, and exploration. Only bad thing would have to be story for me. I mean, I guess I liked how you were just some random person caught up in crap events and learned to survive and all, but most of the story did not appeal much to me. Expand
  5. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    I'm really surprised how much i enjoyed play this game. Based on the first two games review I didn't expect it to be great, but it did lookI'm really surprised how much i enjoyed play this game. Based on the first two games review I didn't expect it to be great, but it did look cool so I picked it up. And it did not disappoint, there was so much to do, the island looked great, the story was insane it was a surprise hit for me. Expand
  6. May 6, 2013
    8
    Having enjoyed the first two installments of Far Cry, I thought I would give Far Cry 3 a whirl. While it has many similar features to Far CryHaving enjoyed the first two installments of Far Cry, I thought I would give Far Cry 3 a whirl. While it has many similar features to Far Cry 2, this time around those features have been improved and added to. Travelling around the game world is far less tedious than previously, missions are far less repetitive, there is a much wider range of things to do than in previous games and the story is a lot tighter. There are some parts of the game that are not so good the story, whilst ambitious, falls short of it's own ambitions and feels a little forced, the main character's personal journey does not really feel plausible, the guns all feel very similar and lack realism, there is not real feeling of survivalism as money is plentiful and you can unlock all the weapons without having to pay for them. Having said all that, Far Cry 3 is a lot of fun, has a long campaign by the standards of other FPS' and at least tries to have somewhere deep storyline. Well worth a look! Expand
  7. Dec 16, 2012
    0
    Many people might love Far Cry 3, but I give it a 6 out of 10 because it had many things I don't like in an open world game: there aren't muchMany people might love Far Cry 3, but I give it a 6 out of 10 because it had many things I don't like in an open world game: there aren't much activities or minigames around, there is poker, knife throwing and racing for what you can do anytime, the rest of the activities (like bounty hunting, "path of the hunter", etc) are finite, once you complete them you can't redo them. I'm not saying they should make a replay option, I'm saying that the AI should be able to generate randomly these activities and create infinite possibilities to them. The story is great, but I think the creators of this game focused too much on it, but alright, it's better to have a good story than a bad story. And although I disliked the main character, the villains are outstanding. Gameplay is great, but it's a shame you can only spend your money in guns or maps. Another thing that let me down was the fact that it's pretty fun killing pirates around and you don't want them to disappear once you take an outpost. Not to mention you need to play the story to unlock most of the recipes and skills (90% of skills and 60% of recipes). Side quests are just bad and for the record, you race against a clock on the racing activity, not against other NPCs. So considering it is an open world game and the side quests and activites to do to enjoy freedom are bad despite the awesome story, I give that rating to this game, it's just a decent game for me. But still, my gaming taste is a bit different, so I think FC3 might be great game for average gamers and fps fans although I give it a 6/10. Expand

See all 282 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.