Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1011 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Far Cry 3, players assume the role of Jason Brody, a figure alone at the edge of the world, stranded on a mysterious tropical island. In this savage paradise where anarchy and violence are the only sure thing, players dictate how the story unfolds, from the battles they elect to fight to the allies or enemies they make along the way. As Jason Brody, players slash, sneak, detonate and shoot their way across the island in a world that has lost its understanding of what's right and wrong. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Dec 5, 2012
    100
    Aside from the occasional texture glitch or stray enemy phasing into a rock (a problem easily solved with well-placed explosives), Far Cry 3 is a technically brilliant and expertly balanced gameplay experience that offers an immense amount of content and a high degree of polish. At the time of writing I have put nearly 60 hours into it across two playthroughs, and will probably play it a third time on PC later on. I suggest you do the same.
  2. Nov 26, 2012
    100
    Every so often, a game comes along which is so irresistible that it leaves you wondering whether sequelitis might actually be a good thing. Far Cry 3 being a classic example.
  3. Dec 5, 2012
    95
    Far Cry 3 was a shock all around. After being cold on the second game and only mildly excited about the original, I wasn't expecting groundbreaking. FC3 obliterated my expectations and is easily in my top-tier of 2012 games. I can see myself sinking hours into the campaign, and I am stoked to see what people concoct with the map editor over time. If you like FPS games in general, you owe it to yourself to pick up FC3. The game exceeds all expectations and is quickly becoming one I can't stop thinking about when real life takes me away from Rook Island.
  4. Nov 21, 2012
    90
    Far Cry 3 shines in its campaign, which is more layered and compelling than any game proffering a power trip through escapist ultraviolence has any right to be.
  5. Nov 21, 2012
    90
    Easily the best Far Cry game so far, with a near perfect mix of open world exploration, action, impressively ambitious storytelling, and one of gaming's best villains.
  6. Dec 12, 2012
    89
    With freedom comes great responsibility. With a lush world for free-roaming and with freedom to execute your objectives Far Cry 3 delivers. The story missions and characters are not of the same standard but are also not a big annoyance. [Dec 2012]
  7. Dec 4, 2012
    60
    Far Cry 3, a pretty good open-world shooter, is a terrible sequel to Far Cry 2. One of the hallmarks of Far Cry 2 was that you never left the game world, even to check your map. But like many good games, Far Cry 3 is brimming with gamey stuff that takes you out of the world and into the gaminess.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 262
  1. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    I love the intro to the game. I love the open world, I love the huge selection of weapons, the various techniques used to get through missions, like opening tiger cages, sneaking around or just balls to the wall Rambo style. I love how everything in the environment explodes in fires when a car explodes, a flame thrower is used or whatever. I love hunting all the animals and using their skin to craft new items like wallets or ammo holsters which enable you to carry more money and ammo. I love the story and all the crazy vehicles you have at your disposal. The graphics aren't top notch, but it still manages to take your breath away and look extraordinary. I highly recommend anyone and everyone to buy this game as it's now became one of my favorite games. I wouldn't be surprised if Far Cry 3 won game of the year cause it sure as hell deserves it. Expand
  2. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    If you can get past the ample screen tearing and poor framerate, Far Cry 3 is or is one of the best games of the year. The gunplay is some of the best I've experienced all gen. Finally a game where the enemies aren't all bullet sponges. People without armor are finished in 2-3 shots while the heavily armored guys require a couple of clips ( or better yet, a couple grenade arrows). The action and animation make you forget about visuals allowing for an incredibly immersive experience and the gameplay doesn't get stale due to the myriad of combat strategies and the visceral gunplay which benefits greatly from realistic enemy health amounts. I almost didn't buy it because I'm a total graphics whore but I love the game, it's the quintessential triumph of gameplay over graphics. If you have a PC that can handle it, get it on that instead but I'm loving it on 360 despite the very overly stressed engine. Lastly, the pacing stinks - I have no idea how the main character becomes Rambo after never firing a gun prior. Notwithstanding, the voice acting and interesting characters (aside from the boring protagonist) make for an entertaining SP campaign. Expand
  3. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    Far Cry 3 has set a new standard for open-world games. The location you play at is detailed and feels alive. The characters, story, and of course, the gameplay is top notch. Far Cry 3 is a must play and should not be passed by any gamer that enjoys FPSs. Expand
  4. Dec 17, 2012
    9
    Far Cry 3 is one of the highlights of 2012, an open world FPS with solid shooting mechanics, awesome action set pieces and memorable characters all brought together to make a brilliant game. Story wise, you play Jason Brody a 20 something American adrenaline junky who is on holiday with his friends and brothers, enjoying the clubs, the booze and thrill seeking high life of someone brought up in a wealthy family. As the game starts, Jason and his companions are kidnapped by the brilliantly psychotic Vaas, who intends to hold them to ransom and then sell them as human slaves. Jason manages to escape but his brother Grant is killed in the process, after a hectic escape sequence Jason wakes up in the presence of the Rakyat people, the native inhabitants of Rook Island who are fighting a losing battle against Vaas, the mercenaries he controls and their equally as insane leader Hoyt. Jason must follow the path of the warrior in order to rescue his friends and lead the Rakyat people in the fight against the mercenary invaders. The Single player is brilliant, a lush tropical island with plenty of amazing places and hidden collectibles to find. Along the way you will unlock new weapons, meet larger than life characters and learn new skills symbolized by the TaTau on Jason's arm, which grows more detailed with each new skill learned. I can't fault the single player, the co-op is a nice addition which while it does feel less attention has been made there, is still a very enjoyable experience. The multiplayer is par for the course, its got some unique ideas but mostly feels the same as other FPS games out there. The map editor is diverse and gives you a lot of creative options, one of the reasons the standard maps are so few is the expectation for the community to create the maps they want to play. This is a VAST improvement over the frustrating experience that was Far Cry 2. A definite purchase recommendation. Expand
  5. Apr 24, 2013
    9
    Farcry 3 is a amazing experience and probably one of best games of 2012. The story of Farcry 3 is amazing and Jason main protagonist grows as he is on the island. While the real star of the game is probably Vaas who is one of the main villians the game. The voice acting and the way he acts in the game really makes the player want to kill him. Furthermore, the gameplay of Farcry 3 is also amazing with a variety of ways a player can complete the game. You can complete the game stealthy or run and gun throughout the game. In addition, there are many weapons that a player can choose from which can help you be stealthy or help you mow down you enemies. Also the what makes this game different from other games is that you can also hunt animals. There are also many skills that a players changes the pace based on what players choose. Hunting animals actually have a impact on the game and you can create different things from materials found from animals. Even after you complete the game there are many things such as side quests to finish. Another addition the developers added was mulitplayer which wasn't even necessary but a welcome addition. Overall, the game is great with additional content the will make the game last. Expand
  6. Mar 13, 2013
    8
    Overall, its a great FPS, but it does have some flaws. First, the characters is lacking in any personality whatsoever, with the exception of Vaas. Second the driving is very hit or miss, but usually I think its very pointless, like the horses in Skyrim. I mean you can fast travel, and I prefer walking. Its more of an experience. And finally, the thing that really bothers me is whether it was being a serious or humorous game, or both; and if they're trying to do both they don't pull it off well, like in Majora's Mask and Portal 2. With that said though, it's still a great game. The upgrade system is simple to use, there's a lot to do, and its very addicting. Its not the best game of 2012, but it's still a worthy purchase. Expand
  7. Mar 19, 2013
    0
    Glitches all up in these Multiplayer is a JOKE. The 2nd place world ranked FarCry3 player uses a glitch to turn invisible and kill everyone, this is the kind of that goes with FarCry3, Not to mention it took them 4 months after release to fix some, not ALL, but some of the game breaking glitches in Single player and Multiplayer. Expand

See all 262 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.