Far Cry 3 Xbox 360

Far Cry 3 Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1236 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Far Cry 3, players assume the role of Jason Brody, a figure alone at the edge of the world, stranded on a mysterious tropical island. In this savage paradise where anarchy and violence are the only sure thing, players dictate how the story unfolds, from the battles they elect to fight toIn Far Cry 3, players assume the role of Jason Brody, a figure alone at the edge of the world, stranded on a mysterious tropical island. In this savage paradise where anarchy and violence are the only sure thing, players dictate how the story unfolds, from the battles they elect to fight to the allies or enemies they make along the way. As Jason Brody, players slash, sneak, detonate and shoot their way across the island in a world that has lost its understanding of what's right and wrong. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Dec 5, 2012
    100
    Aside from the occasional texture glitch or stray enemy phasing into a rock (a problem easily solved with well-placed explosives), Far Cry 3 is a technically brilliant and expertly balanced gameplay experience that offers an immense amount of content and a high degree of polish. At the time of writing I have put nearly 60 hours into it across two playthroughs, and will probably play it a third time on PC later on. I suggest you do the same.
  2. Nov 26, 2012
    100
    Every so often, a game comes along which is so irresistible that it leaves you wondering whether sequelitis might actually be a good thing. Far Cry 3 being a classic example.
  3. Dec 5, 2012
    95
    Far Cry 3 was a shock all around. After being cold on the second game and only mildly excited about the original, I wasn't expecting groundbreaking. FC3 obliterated my expectations and is easily in my top-tier of 2012 games. I can see myself sinking hours into the campaign, and I am stoked to see what people concoct with the map editor over time. If you like FPS games in general, you owe it to yourself to pick up FC3. The game exceeds all expectations and is quickly becoming one I can't stop thinking about when real life takes me away from Rook Island.
  4. Nov 21, 2012
    90
    Far Cry 3 shines in its campaign, which is more layered and compelling than any game proffering a power trip through escapist ultraviolence has any right to be.
  5. Nov 21, 2012
    90
    Easily the best Far Cry game so far, with a near perfect mix of open world exploration, action, impressively ambitious storytelling, and one of gaming's best villains.
  6. Pelit (Finland)
    Dec 12, 2012
    89
    With freedom comes great responsibility. With a lush world for free-roaming and with freedom to execute your objectives Far Cry 3 delivers. The story missions and characters are not of the same standard but are also not a big annoyance. [Dec 2012]
  7. Dec 4, 2012
    60
    Far Cry 3, a pretty good open-world shooter, is a terrible sequel to Far Cry 2. One of the hallmarks of Far Cry 2 was that you never left the game world, even to check your map. But like many good games, Far Cry 3 is brimming with gamey stuff that takes you out of the world and into the gaminess.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 291
  1. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    I love the intro to the game. I love the open world, I love the huge selection of weapons, the various techniques used to get throughI love the intro to the game. I love the open world, I love the huge selection of weapons, the various techniques used to get through missions, like opening tiger cages, sneaking around or just balls to the wall Rambo style. I love how everything in the environment explodes in fires when a car explodes, a flame thrower is used or whatever. I love hunting all the animals and using their skin to craft new items like wallets or ammo holsters which enable you to carry more money and ammo. I love the story and all the crazy vehicles you have at your disposal. The graphics aren't top notch, but it still manages to take your breath away and look extraordinary. I highly recommend anyone and everyone to buy this game as it's now became one of my favorite games. I wouldn't be surprised if Far Cry 3 won game of the year cause it sure as hell deserves it. Expand
  2. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    After playing this for over 25 hours now, I can honestly say this is probably my favorite game of all time. I have never played any of the FarAfter playing this for over 25 hours now, I can honestly say this is probably my favorite game of all time. I have never played any of the Far Crys before this one, but I will be picking up 2 after I am done with this. I don't expect 2 to be as good as 3 but if it's half as good it should still be a great game. This is most definately a must buy. GOTY Expand
  3. May 26, 2014
    10
    I loved this game as much as GTA V. Awesome story and awesome open world. Great graphics. It took an entire summer (playing evry day) toI loved this game as much as GTA V. Awesome story and awesome open world. Great graphics. It took an entire summer (playing evry day) to complete every single mission and to find the treasures. I lost so many hours doing nothing and having fun with animals and exploring the islands! Try to approach the situation like 'murika, throwing grenades and burning people with a flamethrower or try with stealth, letting tigers to kill enemies or killing them from behind. And the boss battle, skrillex soundtrack, all the moments that you will remember are too much to not play this game. Expand
  4. Dec 29, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game was a splendid experience. The gameplay is fun and immersive, everything can be going right while you're setting some wild pig on fire, then out of nowhere a lion is mauling you in the face, and some pirates decide to throw bullets and an rpg-7 at you. The locale and graphics are stunning, enough to keep you simply looking around for hours, much like Skyrim.

    This game would be worth a 10 if the story didn't fall flat on it's face after a certain event. Play it and you'll know what I mean.
    Expand
  5. Jul 7, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A great game with a nice open world to explore with a bunch of different collectibles to find and collect. The story isn't all that great, but the gameplay and missions make up for it greatly. It's really fun to play and the graphics are really good. However, there are quite a few bugs that I experienced with this game while playing. The characters are also really great, Vas is one of my favorite villains in a video game. Expand
  6. Jun 14, 2013
    8
    Really fun game play, OK story. The game world is beautiful and assassination are a new feature in a tired fps genre. MP however is veryReally fun game play, OK story. The game world is beautiful and assassination are a new feature in a tired fps genre. MP however is very underwhelming, with a cool to use map editior, the MP could have been great. Unfortunately the lack of vehicles or CTF make Far cry 3 MP a cod clone. Get it for the Sp, the MP is useless. Expand
  7. Nov 2, 2015
    0
    hoped that, being this the third instalment of a sequel, it might have a chance of actually being something good. The only good thing thathoped that, being this the third instalment of a sequel, it might have a chance of actually being something good. The only good thing that comes out of it is the idea behind it all, which is a shame. It feels and looks like you're playing a 128 bits console and it is so repetitive... the whole picking items up and crafting stuff is confusing, boring and not very believable. You can hide but there is no cover option, which makes a whole sense in this type of game. Expand

See all 291 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.