• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Far Cry Instincts Predator Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 70 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Far Cry Instincts Predator features both Far Cry Instincts Next Chapter and an enhanced version of the original Far Cry Instincts game. Offering the kind of lush and deep natural environment true to the Far Cry brand, Far Cry Instincts on Xbox 360 captivates gamers with its enhanced graphical reality and gameplay. Giving gamers the opportunity to discover the Far Cry universe in an optimized, high-definition environment, the game takes advantage of Xbox 360's multi-core next-generation engine for improved performance. Gamers will experience advanced pathfinding and new enemy and vehicle artificial intelligence for improved chase scenes and more enemies on-screen at one time, allowing for more adrenaline-rushing fast-action sequences. [Ubisoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Even if you have already played Instincts on the Xbox I can’t encourage you enough to check out the 360 version of Far Cry. The graphical improvements are simply outstanding, especially on an HDTV, and easily approach the quality of the original PC game.
  2. A feature-packed bundle that's fun to play, but won't blow the socks off Fary Cry experts. [May 2006, p.77]
  3. 83
    Killing things with feral powers is always enjoyable, and the expanded multiplayer options help to keep this game entertaining long after you blaze through the new single player content.
  4. Plenty of Bruckheimer-style action, a decent suite of multiplayer options, strong visuals, and a variety-packed single-player mode. Derivative it might be, both of past Far Cry games and other FPSes, but there's still no arguing with the quality of this offering.
  5. An enjoyable experience, and the animalistic twist on the usual weaponry is a nice idea, but as all of us who shelled out on the new Microsoft console should be asking ‘is the 360 really being stretched by this?’
  6. All of this is topped with solid online play and a pretty decent map-making tool. It will take some time to create your own perfect jungle battlefield, but this feature is a gold mine for online shooters.
  7. 50
    It'd need to deliver a pretty substantial kick in the ass to get anyone to purchase it yet again, but Far Cry: Instincts -- Predator falls quite a bit short in the asskick department. It just doesn't offer enough new material beyond yet another noun tacked to the end of its ever-lengthening name.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 32
  2. Negative: 8 out of 32
  1. Aug 28, 2011
    9
    When you come across an award winning game that is so awesome,well enjoy it all you can.When you get 2 on one disc well your in heaven because both of these games are mind blowing and deserve praise in one way or another.Far Cry 2 is out now and that game is headed for pure perfection but so are these two games.There are only a handful of games that get me excited and this game and Far cry 2 are among them so you go figure! Expand
  2. Mar 15, 2011
    9
    I am unable (at the time of writing) to post this review of Far Cry Instincts for the Xbox on its own review page. So I am posting this review of Far Cry Instincts (Xbox) on this page considering the Xbox 360 version is pretty much the same. I do not review the sequel, Far Cry Instincts: Evolution. Wonder what it would be like to be like a predator, the violent creature from the 1987 film, Predator, but in human form? Far Cry Instincts certainly does that but with a little more enthuses on running around, killing mercenaries and not camouflaging yourself, waiting for hours until eventually you make the kill and then realising your dinner has gone cold. Far Cry Instincts is an action packed FPS that places you in the shoes of Jack Carver, a former service of the United States Navy and a team of mercenaries are trying to hunt you down. The graphics are beautiful with lovely looking tropical environments, dense jungles with authentic looking bushes and trees which keep the game from looking boring. The water effects of the tropical waters are astonishing and look almost as good as the actual seas in real life. I do wish there were more daytime levels as the game gets quite dark later on. The game maybe quite linear with only a few open areas to explore for ammo supplies and health pickups but as Jack Carver, you will trek through dense jungles and dark swamps as you hunt and kill mercenaries and later on in the game, mutants. The game play is exciting, enjoyable and sometimes intense as you shoot and drive your way through a variety of levels and obliterate anyone you see with a range of weapons from assault rifles to rocket launchers. Although it's not necessarily to use throughout the game, (unlike say, the Metal Gear Solid series) this game does incorporate stealth into the game. You can hide underneath a hut, behind a wall or in a dense bush and see your prey walking - and sometimes exchanging conversation with someone else - unaware of your presence. You can take them out silently by stabbing them in the back or shooting them and then hide again. This stealth mechanic is taken further with the inclusion of branch trap - a spiked branch trap that can only be set on a tree - and claymore mines. You can set these traps up (out of sight of the enemy of course) and lure your prey into the traps by throwing rocks on the ground near the trap and because of the sound of the rock hitting the ground, you can lure your prey into the traps you have set. This is really neat idea and it is so satisfying when the unexpected mercenary walks towards a tree and then gets smacked down by one of your spiked branch traps. The enemy A.I is quite intelligent. Mercenaries will try to take you down and not just charge at you. As what seems that you maybe outnumbered in the early stages of the campaign, you gain feral abilities from being injected by serum (beats being infected with malaria huh Far Cry 2?). This serum has given Jack Carver the abilities of a natural predator like increased running speed, night vision, a melee attack that can send someone flying over the moon and the ability to regenerate health and heal his wounds like Wolverine from X-Men. This is where Jack Carver becomes a predator, a force to be reckoned with and even though he's not invincible, Jack seems to have an advantage in terms of strength and agility over his enemies (for now). These feral abilities are amusing to use and can serve you well through the dark, hostile environments. I love that you can run fast and then leap across huge gaps in the landscape and the fact that you can charge at your enemies and send them flying 20 feet into the air with one swipe of your hand. The game does have some enemy variety so you won't just be shooting trained mercenaries. Like I said before, you will be encountering mutants who are basically mad, experiments that look like they are from a horror movie and a huge mutant which looks like a deformed ape with a giant arm. The music is great and intensifies the action especially at a couple parts of the game. It has a certain jungle feel to it. The sound effects are superb. The guns sound that they pack a mean punch and the loud roars of those huge, psycho mutants is so awesome to hear. Jack Carver is nicely voiced. Thank god that the main focus of this game is the single player instead of today's shooters, although this game does have multiplayer. The single player campaign is lengthy and is a thrill from start to finish with very few boring moments where you just walk for a long time waiting for something to happen. Far Cry Instincts is a game that really shows us what the original Xbox can do. I consider this to be a much better game than Far Cry 2 despite being more linear and less open. It's not as boring or annoying than the more technologically advanced game that is Far Cry 2. Far Cry Instincts definitely earns the title of being one of the best FPS games I've played, along with Black and Halo. Expand
  3. Jan 6, 2012
    6
    Not the best game but still pretty damned good. The graphics could be a lot better considering it's on an Xbox 360, it's just a a port of two original Xbox games (There was Instincts, and then insticts evolution). They have updated some of the textures, but the game still looks outdated.

    The game is good, but it doesn't feel like I should play it... something stops me from playing it. Also since there is no quicksaving feature, you're going to have to play until you reach the next checkpoint in order to save your game which is annoying.

    No one bothers with the multiplayer, so there is no point in even mentioning it. Which means the included Map Maker is of no use. Onto the good now.

    For starters the controls are fairly easy to master. The only reason people think they are "clunky" is because they have been playing Call of Duty and Halo too much, and have become too acustomed to CoD's control style. I admit I have had this issue myself, but you shouldn't be blaming the game for that.

    Storyline is still great, and having both Far Cry stories is pretty good.

    They need to make this game with the new CryEngine 3, I imgaine it would be a lot better.
    Expand
  4. Aug 11, 2012
    6
    Far Cry Instincts Predator had a horrible campaign, but the multiplayer is really good and I love the map editor so much. Campaign 3/10 Multiplayer 8/10 Map Editor 9/10 Far Cry Instincts Predator 6.6/10 Collapse
  5. Jul 14, 2013
    3
    what happpend to the original FC the graphics in this are downgraded the stealth is still a joke the gunplay works well but the werewolf stuff is just the multiplayer is just ok but the story and voice acting are even worse the diffculty is all over the place but the map editor is actually quite good i like it Expand
  6. Dec 18, 2012
    2
    This is a great game that was ruined by outrageous and pointless difficulty. There is almost no skill to this game. Almost every major battle consists of you finding out what precise spot to stand where you wont be instakilled by a sniper or blown away by a rocket launcher. Enemies take bullet after bullet without even flinching, and even if you run with the speed ability they can get you with every shot. Doesn't matter how fast you move. There almost never anywhere to take cover, since bullets magically come through the walls, rocks, and containers spread throughout the game. Enemies materialize out of nowhere, usually from behind you in an area that you cleared literally seconds ago. They surround you and push you into a corner. You can use the precise same guns as they do and it can take a whole clip in the chest to kill them, yet they can decimate you with 3-4 shots. And YOU are the one with the powers! I enjoyed parts of the game, but they were massively shadowed by the horrible parts. The worst part of the whole game is the aiming. There is a massive lag between when you push the stick to one side and your cursor actually moving. The auto-aim helps with this, but you are still benefitted by getting head shots. When you're surrounded by 30 enemies and 4 shots from any one of their rifles can kill you, and snipers and rocket launchers can instakill you through a keyhole in a door on the other side of the island, headshots are typically out of the question. Auto saving is very uneven. Sometimes it autosaves immediately after a big battle, others 3-4 big battles. The most frustrating parts of the game involved me having to die 8-10 times in order to figure out where the enemies would materialize out of thin air and where I could hide to keep them from instakilling me, and I typically had to spend anywhere from 10-20 minutes between respawning and getting to those points. I feel like this game takes the dirtiest possible route of making it challenging, and the moments of fun I had were eclipsed by frustration at being cheated out of a good time. This is not hard. This is ridiculous. I'm all for a challenge. I've played Dark Souls and I've never felt like a game hated me this much before. At the time I'm writing this, I'm at the final two battles with Crowe and Krieger. Crowe is sitting on a cliff with a unhinged previously mounted machine guy while mutants who take a clip each to kill unless I can manage to accidentally shoot them in the head (which still takes half a clip) tear at me with guns and instakill me with their bare hands if I don't happen to see them come up on me on my radar surround me, and I have to kill them first through a couple of waves. Next, he starts lobbing grenades at me that are more like homing missiles and shooting at me with his machine gun. When he start shooting at me with the machine gun, I get instakilled by something even if I have 100 life and 100 armor. You can shoot him while he is lobbing grenades if you want, but if you're within 3 miles of the magic grenade it'll blow you up. And most of the instakills are while his back is turned, so I guess he is shooting me with his sniper rifle machine gun backwards. Anyways, I think the game is great but that they went way overboard with the cheatish difficulty. It has sapped every bit of fun out of the game for me and left me wishing I had never bothered with it. Cheap shots don't make a game fun. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews