Fatal Inertia Xbox 360

User Score
4.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 19
  2. Negative: 10 out of 19
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MikeM.
    Feb 10, 2008
    7
    Though not filled with innovation and track variety, Fatal Inertia throws in a decent arcade formula that makes it pretty enjoyable. Now, I've noticed that a lot of reviewers have mentioned a 'slow' framerate as a detractor, and I honestly haven't experience any such slowdown. This may have something to do with me having played it for the first time after it was Though not filled with innovation and track variety, Fatal Inertia throws in a decent arcade formula that makes it pretty enjoyable. Now, I've noticed that a lot of reviewers have mentioned a 'slow' framerate as a detractor, and I honestly haven't experience any such slowdown. This may have something to do with me having played it for the first time after it was patched via Live. The core combat gameplay element has some clever aspects - such as a grappling hook or weapons that can be used as speedboosters - but it somewhat marred by a lack of various environments and track shortcuts. Other than that, I still find the challenge of unlocking customizations fun and he game itself charming. Expand
  2. Aaron
    Sep 11, 2007
    0
    This game has laggy combat. Horrible racing elemants. Just go by yourself a used copy of pgr 3 for half the price.
  3. Dec 2, 2011
    8
    Futuristic racing games are not easy to come by nowadays. Why play a futuristic racing game? It's faster! It's more open to possibilities! You can do things like shoot magnet balls and weigh down your opponents until they crash into the ground and explode! You can't get that kind of excitement from racing simulator. This game took some getting used to but you certainly can get used to theFuturistic racing games are not easy to come by nowadays. Why play a futuristic racing game? It's faster! It's more open to possibilities! You can do things like shoot magnet balls and weigh down your opponents until they crash into the ground and explode! You can't get that kind of excitement from racing simulator. This game took some getting used to but you certainly can get used to the unique experience of piloting a hovercraft. I picked this game up just for the lols because it was $16. I was more than surprised that it has become one of my favorites. The only problem you might find with this game is that you smoke your friends too badly at it unless they own it too. I enjoyed upgrading my racers and had days of entertainment from this diamond in the rough. Expand
  4. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    I love this game, is a bigger sorprise, is interesting, funny, the title is excellent, have great graphics, incredible controls, good effects, the score is incorrect.
  5. Oct 3, 2016
    6
    Fatal Inertia is a decent Wipeout-style racer.

    The gameplay is decent.The crafts do feel a bit sticky at times,but don't handle terribly.Now,the collision detection is atrocious and some of the tracks are terribly designed.The combat is balanced and competent.The craft customisation is great.The game feels unfair at points though. The graphics are pretty good,with lush environments
    Fatal Inertia is a decent Wipeout-style racer.

    The gameplay is decent.The crafts do feel a bit sticky at times,but don't handle terribly.Now,the collision detection is atrocious and some of the tracks are terribly designed.The combat is balanced and competent.The craft customisation is great.The game feels unfair at points though.

    The graphics are pretty good,with lush environments and good craft detail.The framerate stutters at times,but isn't detrimental to gameplay.

    The sound design is poor,but the good soundtrack makes up for it.

    Overall,Fatal Inertia is a decent Wipeout-style racer that is worth getting on the cheap.
    Expand
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 30
  2. Negative: 2 out of 30
  1. A brave concept fails to disguise a lame racer not worthy of sniffing "F-Zero"'s fumes. [Oct 2007, p.84]
  2. Edge Magazine
    60
    Fatal Inertia promised so much in its early showings (which claimed to represent in-game footage), but has turned out as a decent but thoroughly predictable racer. [Oct 2007, p.95]
  3. Games Master UK
    68
    This is a good-looking, fast racer but it's a little limp in the action stakes. [Oct 2007, p.77]