User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 104 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 104
  2. Negative: 6 out of 104

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 6, 2013
    9
    One of my favourite games ever made. Intelligent, immersive, scary, graphically slick, a joy to play, just great. I've played it several times through including in the hardest difficulty mode and always love it.

    It's not quite worthy of a 10/10 as some sections can be a bit tedious, it's not a perfect game. But having said that it's easily in my top 10 games of all time and I would
    One of my favourite games ever made. Intelligent, immersive, scary, graphically slick, a joy to play, just great. I've played it several times through including in the hardest difficulty mode and always love it.

    It's not quite worthy of a 10/10 as some sections can be a bit tedious, it's not a perfect game. But having said that it's easily in my top 10 games of all time and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys horror games or shooters, or who just feels like a good, solid, captivating gaming experience.

    In my opinion it is significantly superior to the original and to the third game, which I felt lacked the character and intelligence of this one.
    Expand
  2. Jul 16, 2013
    7
    The gameplay was solid and fun. I had so high expectation for this game since a lot of folks talked highly on how scary of this game. Not that much for me. But I like the violent and bloodish in this game.
  3. Jun 25, 2013
    8
    While it's nowhere near as scary as its predecessor, "F.E.A.R. 2" does manage to up the level of action and gameplay complexity whilst still keeping the intense sense of dread that made eponymous franchise famous.
  4. May 31, 2013
    7
    The game doesn't follow the original story, but it's still scary as f**k! A new silent protagonist and story makes this one original to the series. However, the graphics, plot and MP need work. It looks like a PS2 game, which is bad in this generation of games. F.E.A.R. 2 is still a good scary game from start to finish, even if the plot isn't as good.
  5. May 29, 2012
    8
    Fear 2 is fantastic upgrade from the first. Graphics and flow and gameplay have all been updated. My only complaint is options. In the first installment you had some really nice customization choices. Head bob removal from the first would have been extremely nice. I also liked the crosshair customizer in Fear Files. All game makers should aspire to allow the consumers to customize theirFear 2 is fantastic upgrade from the first. Graphics and flow and gameplay have all been updated. My only complaint is options. In the first installment you had some really nice customization choices. Head bob removal from the first would have been extremely nice. I also liked the crosshair customizer in Fear Files. All game makers should aspire to allow the consumers to customize their gaming experience as much as technically possible. A solid game with plenty of thrills and scares to make you fearful. Expand
  6. Aug 9, 2011
    8
    Fear 2 gets it abit more right this time around and there actaully feels like some horror in the game . i really liked the things that grabbed you in the floor and pulled you under . thoose damn things would give me a good "oh shat!" moment . story wise though i still dont know what the hell is going on in this game and i wish i could but the games doesnt make any real attempt to explainFear 2 gets it abit more right this time around and there actaully feels like some horror in the game . i really liked the things that grabbed you in the floor and pulled you under . thoose damn things would give me a good "oh shat!" moment . story wise though i still dont know what the hell is going on in this game and i wish i could but the games doesnt make any real attempt to explain its self . its a solid shooter and the horror element helps define it from the rest of the cookie cutter FPS games out there but still needs improvement. Expand
  7. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    A fantastic delve back into the FEAR universe with far improved visuals and scares. The game features an new arsenal of weaponry, creepy and varied locations and a new host of enemies to boot. The game stays true to the series by keeping the melee combat system and bullet time features which used in conjunction can provide some epic moments. A true winner 10/10.
  8. Jun 14, 2011
    8
    Project Origin is really creepy , is based more on psychological scares rather than the old method of a monster to say "Boo"!! so is a nice game and the gunplay feels simple, the story is great. But take in mind that if you want more scary franchise take Dead Space.
  9. Aug 27, 2010
    8
    Really enjoyed it, the mechanics are tight the graphics are great although i didn't scared i just enjoyed it for what it was .. but then again i don't find videogames scary .. at all. Anyway great game
  10. EricE
    Sep 16, 2009
    8
    Better then the original in my opinion. Not one I would buy but definitely worth a rental. Pretty nice graphics as well. Only thing I didn't like is my character seemed to walk like a drunken sailor. Couldn't pass a sobriety test if he wanted to he staggered around sideways all the time.
  11. RobR
    Sep 7, 2009
    2
    Little variety of enemy. Same old same old weaponry. Tunnel shooter. It took me 15-20 hours to finish, and I couldn't wait to get done. Boring.
  12. HarisA
    Jul 19, 2009
    2
    Breaks my heart to see this series become garbage. First, the game no longer tries to scare you psychologically, but instead, uses Doom 3 jump out tactics. These techniques are unsuitable as eventually you develop an immunity to it. Next the game was ridiculously easy compared to its predecessor. The storyline was so basic and leaves you with the feeling that you are doing a lot of the Breaks my heart to see this series become garbage. First, the game no longer tries to scare you psychologically, but instead, uses Doom 3 jump out tactics. These techniques are unsuitable as eventually you develop an immunity to it. Next the game was ridiculously easy compared to its predecessor. The storyline was so basic and leaves you with the feeling that you are doing a lot of the same stuff from FEAR all over again in this sequel...very disappointing Monolith... Expand
  13. Anonymous
    Jul 12, 2009
    9
    F.E.A.R. 2 is better than the first f.e.a.r. in many ways. mostly level design, where in the first f.e.a.r. it was repetitive. the sequel has much more variety and won't get boring. The AI is great, better than ever. The graphics look good, the storyline is good, the scares are good, everything is good. Highly recommended game!
  14. BB
    Jun 1, 2009
    9
    As far as psychological thriller video games go, this is one of the best (if not the best). The game has a fantastic balance between scares, story, and combat. I found the first F.E.A.R to be too annoying and cliche in it's scare tactics. This game is definitely worth a rent (at least).
  15. JohnE
    May 17, 2009
    10
    I could not put this game down. I have seen my fair share of real life horror and bloodshead, this is almost scarier. I could not play this game at night with the lights off. If you love 1st person shooters than buy it !!! The story line is interesting enough to keep you glued to the set. This is my favorite game to date,
  16. DavidT
    Apr 26, 2009
    6
    Had good game play but it never scared me why in hell wouldnt a fear game scare u u know why because she never pops out
  17. BaddAssElJay
    Apr 7, 2009
    9
    This is a great game! The creep factor is sick (meaning good), like the other series of F.E.A.R. If you're like me, the complex storyline is excellent! You need to pay attention to the other version of the game to follow it. You may need to play them again to understand.
  18. CharlemagneO
    Mar 10, 2009
    6
    I only played the single player since this is a story driven FPS so this is all my review covers. Also, I never played the first F.E.A.R. game. Well, first of all, it seemed very unnecessarily dark. Is that their method of covering up graphical shortcomings? Okay, I'm over that hump and I adjusted to that fault. Alright, so here is the show stopper for me (and the reason why I never I only played the single player since this is a story driven FPS so this is all my review covers. Also, I never played the first F.E.A.R. game. Well, first of all, it seemed very unnecessarily dark. Is that their method of covering up graphical shortcomings? Okay, I'm over that hump and I adjusted to that fault. Alright, so here is the show stopper for me (and the reason why I never finished the game). The save system is horrible. The game autosaves whenever you finish a level or some significant event occurs. Because of this save system, I was locked out of a room when I decided to turn around to explore the area further. The only means of progressing the story is now in that locked room. Even after exiting to the menu, there is no method of choosing the previous save point. No thanks. I'd expect a more sophisticated gamesave system in place. Maybe when they release this as a platinum game in 6 months they can fix this egregious error and allow you to save as you please like Halo or Bioshock did. Expand
  19. ApocalypseBrown
    Mar 8, 2009
    7
    I must first have another go at EuroGamer, as their reviewers are getting more ridiculous by the month. To give this game five, and Killzone 9 is a joke quite frankly. Neither game is above seven, though I'd say Fear 2 is the better of the two. But obviously objectivity is sadly replaced by big wads of cash at Eurogamer, so I'd advice scrapping their reviewers full stop. Anyway I must first have another go at EuroGamer, as their reviewers are getting more ridiculous by the month. To give this game five, and Killzone 9 is a joke quite frankly. Neither game is above seven, though I'd say Fear 2 is the better of the two. But obviously objectivity is sadly replaced by big wads of cash at Eurogamer, so I'd advice scrapping their reviewers full stop. Anyway Monolith have produced a game that does things in a very pleasing yet unspectacular way, basically it's a good pop corn game if you don't expect Gears of War 2 from it. The story is quite interesting in a subtle way, Alma is back to some nasty shite and has now turned her focus on the lead figure a soldier called Beckett. The repeating back-drops of offices in the original are replaced by schools, subways and ghost town streets, which definitely gives the game more appeal. But never did I really feel overly excited about playing this as every set piece (well they weren't too many to begin with), to the slow-mo gun play and enemy AI has been since and bettered before. And online is an embarrassment, which kills the game dead after you finish it. It's no more than a slightly above average game, just like Project Snowblind was on the PS2. But it is definitely worth a run through if you enjoyed the original, though it isn't even as remotely scary as it's predecessor. And it's very obviously Fear 3 is coming soon, so Monolith make sure you hit the jack-pot when it does arrive please. Expand
  20. PeterNielsen
    Mar 1, 2009
    10
    Hi

    Once in a while there comes a game with both Good gameplay & good graphic !! - this is on of those games !! Its just good all the way ...- the single player story draws you in !! - and you will enjoy the combat, and exploring the rich story, that is getting told by locations, and notes you will find, and there is a nice background on the weapons, and every thing in the games,
    Hi

    Once in a while there comes a game with both Good gameplay & good graphic !! - this is on of those games !!

    Its just good all the way ...- the single player story draws you in !! - and you will enjoy the combat, and exploring the rich story, that is getting told by locations, and notes you will find, and there is a nice background on the weapons, and every thing in the games, just.....nice!!

    weapons are nice, and feels powerfull, just get this game, and please leave a comment on metacritic ;-)
    Expand
  21. Jesse
    Feb 24, 2009
    8
    I preordered this game just a day before it came out at gamestop and i was very disappointed at the fact there was no midnight release. It didn't recieve enough preorders to allow a midnight release which blew my mind. The fear series is a VERY underrated series and i think it deserves more attention. F.E.A.R 2 was a very solid game overrall. The story line was more intense than I preordered this game just a day before it came out at gamestop and i was very disappointed at the fact there was no midnight release. It didn't recieve enough preorders to allow a midnight release which blew my mind. The fear series is a VERY underrated series and i think it deserves more attention. F.E.A.R 2 was a very solid game overrall. The story line was more intense than scary, so if your looking for a good scare look elsewhere. Don't get me wrong there were some intense parts but nothing spectacular like in Condemned. The multiplayer is very fun in this game but i don't see it as a game your going to be coming back to time and time again. With that said, its a solid game overrall but i would wait until its at a lower price. Expand
  22. ZackShannon
    Feb 18, 2009
    8
    So i beat FEAR2 last night and i have to say its atop Notch game. Everthing about it crys awesome awesome. there were 2 things i didn't like about it though. There weren't as many scare moments and the ending left me with more questions even though the game did give you the origion of alma. Now we wait for FEAR 3
  23. ToddF
    Feb 16, 2009
    9
    A very worthy sequel packed with the action that made the original great while drastically improving and changing the locations, variety of enemies, and overall story arc. It's accessible to new fans but definitely rewards those that have played the first game. The audio, as always with monolith, is crisp and atmospheric, with tribal action sequence music that fits well. The graphics A very worthy sequel packed with the action that made the original great while drastically improving and changing the locations, variety of enemies, and overall story arc. It's accessible to new fans but definitely rewards those that have played the first game. The audio, as always with monolith, is crisp and atmospheric, with tribal action sequence music that fits well. The graphics aren't cutting edge per se but are very impressive nonetheless, and the atmosphere and tension is ramped up drastically by the lighting and visuals.The new concepts and enemies are more creative and scary than the first, and the scares have been ratcheted up. Fans of condemned will see a marked similarity in environments and in-body game movement. The difficulty is pretty standard but ramps up in the second half, and some newcomers to fear may find it frustrating at times. All in all, a well-made sequel that will intensely entertain and frighten you. Expand
  24. VinnyB
    Feb 15, 2009
    6
    Right where do i start with this. On the plus side the single player mode is quiet good with some highlights here are there, graphics are improved and the sound draws you in to the scary parts of the game, and there is a good ending also. Now to the bad part. I had preorderd this game a month before release has i had previously enjoyed the multiplayer in fear. O.M.G this must be the worst Right where do i start with this. On the plus side the single player mode is quiet good with some highlights here are there, graphics are improved and the sound draws you in to the scary parts of the game, and there is a good ending also. Now to the bad part. I had preorderd this game a month before release has i had previously enjoyed the multiplayer in fear. O.M.G this must be the worst online game i think i have ever played, what a disapointment. The aiming system on it is awful with no accuracy and who ever designed the levels is a idiot. Kill someone then get killed youself almost every time, i mean what a joke this game is. The weapons are garbage with far to much recoil on most and it seems to me that they have not even bothered to put any effort into the multiplayer part of the game. The first fear is better in everyway so my advise to you is that if you want a game for a decent single player mode then its just about o.k but for online gaming, save your money and don't buy this trash. Expand
  25. FPSMaster
    Feb 14, 2009
    7
    In some ways better than the first, but in some ways worse. It looks good at times, sometimes better than the original, then at others it looks very blurry and it has a grain filter over it like the developers were trying to hide something. The flashlight no longer casts dynamic shadows, so this was a huge letdown since the original from a game engine designed in 2005 had this feature and In some ways better than the first, but in some ways worse. It looks good at times, sometimes better than the original, then at others it looks very blurry and it has a grain filter over it like the developers were trying to hide something. The flashlight no longer casts dynamic shadows, so this was a huge letdown since the original from a game engine designed in 2005 had this feature and some other older engine games like Half Life 2 and Left 4 Dead also do it. It plays like the original almost to a T, except you can now pilot the power armor and there's a few new weapons. I never thought the original was scary at all and wondered why others found it scary because you're armed to the teeth like Rambo. But this game is even less scary than the first. The enemy A.I. doesn't seem as lifelike as the first game and doesn't move around and flank as much. If the game didn't show the symtoms that only the FEAR 1 port to PS3 had (choppy framerates, blurry look and just half-assed) it would score higher. It looks like this series was better when only on PC and 360 but now like most other multiplatfrom games that come out at the same time on PS3 and 360 this game shows symtoms of developers making it for the weaker PS3 graphics card and porting it over to 360 using none of it's more advanced features. It's obvious when looking at what the first game did when it was on 360 long before it was on PS3 then looking at this one that came out on both consoles at the same time and seeing it having the same problems that only PS3 games normally have and seeing things the first game did on 360 were cut out so it could perform decent on PS3. Expand
  26. CRobb
    Feb 14, 2009
    7
    *sigh* I literally bought this game yesterday, played it for about 4 hours and only about 3 today, to have me complete it. Dont get me wrong this game is graphically impressive and better paced then the 1st one. But they havnt pushed a single boundary when it comes to horror, not one. Im sorry but they are capable of much more then what was delivered in this sequel. Which aggrivates me *sigh* I literally bought this game yesterday, played it for about 4 hours and only about 3 today, to have me complete it. Dont get me wrong this game is graphically impressive and better paced then the 1st one. But they havnt pushed a single boundary when it comes to horror, not one. Im sorry but they are capable of much more then what was delivered in this sequel. Which aggrivates me even more is that they pulled the same stunt they did at the end of Fear 1! WRAP IT UP! You never find out what happened to the 1st guy, the 2nd one in Persious Mandate and now you dont have a clue whats happening to this guy now. If Monolith is doing it to drag out the story so they can make more money then I surely wont be buying the next couple of predictable expansion packs. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. 80
    Now, the spine tingling sequel, Project Origin is here to continue the story of the psychic and psychotic Alma with damn good results. [Mar 2009, p.78]
  2. It feels a lot like that last "007" movie: plenty of fun, but nowhere near as awesome as we hoped it'd be. [Mar 2009, p.76]
  3. While the multiplayer is weak and the mood won’t make people forget Dead Space any time soon, the solid action core makes it worth a play.