User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 127 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 127
  2. Negative: 19 out of 127

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 5, 2011
    2
    Greetings! right off the bat this game is not scary in the slightest, the story is patchy and doesn't really give you anything to play for, you start out in a jail, why? it's not really explained. story telling is an integral part of a game and if the story's crap then you aren't going to care about what your doing. aside from that i'm sick and tired of games just cloning COD!! why? i likeGreetings! right off the bat this game is not scary in the slightest, the story is patchy and doesn't really give you anything to play for, you start out in a jail, why? it's not really explained. story telling is an integral part of a game and if the story's crap then you aren't going to care about what your doing. aside from that i'm sick and tired of games just cloning COD!! why? i like call of duty but i also like other games as well!?!?! why am i playing the same crappy game over and over again? call of duty has done it, there's no need for anymore COD clones!!! (Home Front.... i'm looking at you.) basically Fear 3 is call of duty with a bit of paranormal stuff thrown in, but it's far from atmospheric and if you really want to get scared and have a good story, just play Dead Space 2 again. Also, i understand that multiplayer is important but making a game purely geared towards multiplayer is gonna cut your audience in half straight away. what about people that don't like multiplayer and would rather have a good single player campaign thats well though out and engrossing? whilst playing fear 3 most of the single player levels feel like and play like multiplayer maps. this might be cool to some people having a pure multiplayer feast but for a game like fear, there should have been far more effort put into the single player. the multiplayer scoring system is in the single player too and it gets in the way breaking up the supposedly scary atmosphere, its balls! if you want to see how scoring is done in shooters check out Bullet Storm! and Bullet Storm has an amazing story with very well rounded characters. Back to Fear 3, the enemies, oh lord how i got bored of shooting the same guy in a balaclava. they didn't even bother getting a different voice actor for the soldiers, it's laughable hearing this same guys voice over and over again screaming "HE'S BEHIND THAT BOX!" there are a lot of boxes in this game too. all in all the story is bad, the graphics aren't anything special, the weapons are dull. and the voice acting is more horrific than the scares. to sum it up bluntly it's Call of Duty with a slow mo button the only redeeming factor of why this gets a 2, is because theres co op multiplayer but thats about it..... oh and there's ghosts in it.... we think... Bye! Expand
  2. Jul 3, 2011
    3
    FEAR 3 sadly has all been done before. The game combines a mediocre shooter with mediocre graphics and a haphazard storyline and tries to produce an epic, the results are not so. The combat system has a very generic call of duty feel and some of the games mechanics also add to this (The slow motion breach scenes, the knife as the new melee weapon). The single player is not anywhere near asFEAR 3 sadly has all been done before. The game combines a mediocre shooter with mediocre graphics and a haphazard storyline and tries to produce an epic, the results are not so. The combat system has a very generic call of duty feel and some of the games mechanics also add to this (The slow motion breach scenes, the knife as the new melee weapon). The single player is not anywhere near as atmospheric as the previous in the series and most of the scares are predictable, unbalanced and ultimately has been done before. FEAR 3 will not offer fans to the series the single player experience they are looking for, it is ultimately an arcade version of FEAR with few scares and familiar mechanics. FEAR 3 is however strong in its multiplayer aspect offering coop play modes and various, Innovative online features. Fans of online and coop play will definitely get more from this game than the rest. After completely this game I found myself googling it to find out why it didnâ Expand
  3. Dec 17, 2011
    4
    This is my big game disappointment for 2011. The original FEAR was one of my all time favorite games. Right up there with Silent Hill1, MW1, Postal2 and the rest. FEAR2 was good(ish). I was really, really really looking forward to FEAR 3. I played the first level and really had to push myself to continue onto the second. On the upside, the enemy AI is good, the graphics are OK, the audioThis is my big game disappointment for 2011. The original FEAR was one of my all time favorite games. Right up there with Silent Hill1, MW1, Postal2 and the rest. FEAR2 was good(ish). I was really, really really looking forward to FEAR 3. I played the first level and really had to push myself to continue onto the second. On the upside, the enemy AI is good, the graphics are OK, the audio is good but. its. just. not. scary or engaging any more. If FEAR were a film, the FEAR1 was 'Ring', FEAR2 was 'The Grudge' and FEAR3 is some instantly forgettable Tarantino flick.â Collapse
  4. Mar 15, 2012
    3
    I loved the first two games in the F.E.A.R. franchise. I loved the insane action, slow-motion roundhouse kicks and bodies exploding into Jell-O(tm) when you pumped a shell into them. I loved the freaky-deaky story, the mysterious protagonist(s) and the occasional flirt with enigmatic storytelling, the screeching, violin-falling-down-the-stairs soundtrack that worked in all its beautifulI loved the first two games in the F.E.A.R. franchise. I loved the insane action, slow-motion roundhouse kicks and bodies exploding into Jell-O(tm) when you pumped a shell into them. I loved the freaky-deaky story, the mysterious protagonist(s) and the occasional flirt with enigmatic storytelling, the screeching, violin-falling-down-the-stairs soundtrack that worked in all its beautiful discordance and hair-raising abruptness. The scripted scares wove ladders, hallways, doors and windows into shockingly intricate little spookouts that contrasted with the bombastic shootouts that framed them, and it all just worked out so WELL. Hell, even the ending of the second game was pretty good in my eyes.

    And then this thing came out.

    I hardly know what to say about it, and I hardly have the energy- even now- to summon a full-blown rant on this marvelous marvelous deconstruction of a once-great shooter franchise. The scares? Gone. The lonesome eeriness? Gone. Hope you like playing co-operatively with your psychic **** brother who has lost all of his charm now that you can see how he works and he's always trotting along beside you like a goddamn doberman. The Half-Life-esque presentation that kept you in the protagonist's perspective constantly and almost never thrust you into immersion-punching cutscenes? Hope you didn't like them, because apparently neither did WB. Did I mention that this game isn't scary?
    It gets most of the action from previous titles right, but it's more than lacking in the horror department.
    You know.
    The game called... CALLED... 'Fear'?
    It doesn't even try to be scary.
    At all.

    The game should be called A.P.A.T.H.Y.
    Expand
  5. Jul 3, 2011
    2
    This is one of the worst first-person-shooter games ever, and I've played them all, since Doom. The graphics is hazy and washed out, the action is more like wave upon wave of spawning zombie-flooding enemies than actual structural gameplay. I loved Fear1, Fear2 was passable, but this is rubbish.
  6. Dec 17, 2011
    0
    This is my big game disappointment for 2011. The original FEAR was one of my all time favorite games. Right up there with Silent Hill1, MW1, Postal2 and the rest. FEAR2 was good(ish). I was really, really really looking forward to FEAR 3. I played the first level and really had to push myself to continue onto the second. On the upside, the enemy AI is good, the graphics are OK, the audioThis is my big game disappointment for 2011. The original FEAR was one of my all time favorite games. Right up there with Silent Hill1, MW1, Postal2 and the rest. FEAR2 was good(ish). I was really, really really looking forward to FEAR 3. I played the first level and really had to push myself to continue onto the second. On the upside, the enemy AI is good, the graphics are OK, the audio is good but. its. just. not. scary or engaging any more. If FEAR were a film, the FEAR1 was 'Ring', FEAR2 was 'The Grudge' and FEAR3 is some instantly forgettable Tarantino flick.â Collapse
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 71
  2. Negative: 2 out of 71
  1. Aug 19, 2011
    80
    What FEAR 3 lacks as a horror game it makes up for as a solid shooter. [Issue#75, p.80]
  2. Workmanlike design scuppers rock solid shooting. Not great FEAR, but not all awful. [Oct 2011, p.81]
  3. Jul 27, 2011
    68
    While I enjoyed FEAR 3 because I'm a fan of the series, I don't think the average person picking this up will know all the missing tidbits of knowledge the game doesn't give you to piece it all together.