User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 123 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 123
  2. Negative: 17 out of 123

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 21, 2011
    9
    This game is a blast. This a very co op oriented game. I'll start off with the online aspects. The online multiplayer does not have the typical competitive gametypes like deathmatch and team deathmatch. All the online multi is co op. This is one of those games where you and a few buddies can get online, and itll have you screaming, laughing, and having an overall exciting time.
    The
    campaign brings the stories of pointman, fettel, and alma full circle. While the gameplay remains much the same, the scare factor and atmosphere has changed from action- horror, to action- somewhat horror. It is a horror story with no scares. Being able to go through the campaign by yourself twice, with a freind in coop as each character, the addicting leveling system, and the stellar online multiplayer, this game should should have itself locked in your disc drive for quite some time. Way better game than the flop most were expecting Expand
  2. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    This game is actually a ton of fun... Co-op Campaign, Playing as Fettel is unique and pretty sweet (you can possess enemies!), one of the best FPS cover systems period, extremely cool scoring system, and some really unique & fun Co-op Multiplayer Modes... AND because of the Scoring System and Co-op/Multiplayer the replay-ability of FEAR 3 is through the roof!!!... NOTE: This is NOT Call Of Duty nor is it trying to be COD (which I think is refreshing)... Expand
  3. Jun 21, 2011
    9
    If a summer blockbuster and a Halloween fright fest had a baby, it would be called F3AR. The level of tension combined with some eye popping visual moments really make this game a treat. The summer is always pretty slow for new and good games, so this definitely fills the void. Though it's not perfect, you would be hard pressed to find a game with this much replay value during this time of year. Expand
  4. Jun 21, 2011
    9
    8.5

    Definitely a little different than the F.E.A.R we;re used to. The point system and scores for each chapter gives a slight arcade like feel up front, but after the first 2 chapters or so it changes from a negative to a positive. The single player campaign comes off as a typical FPS to start off but the atmosphere and overall creepiness of the game starts to unfold in chapter 3 and is
    what makes this unique from you typical FPS. The cut scenes between chapters are done very well in my opinion, not so much in looks but in the feel, mainly from Paxton since we don't hear from point man. I am only halfway through but the way the single player is going this could be a superb ending to the F.E.A.R series (although I doubt it will be) I say it could be a good ending due to the slight revamp I feel the series has undergone. The scariness has been diminished slightly due to the fact this is the third time we're getting scared in this fashion, Sure it's a little disappointing when we think of how badly the first game scared us but this is by no means the creators faults, this is our own desensitization, but I feel they knew they couldn't scare us like they used to and worked with that idea to make other aspects better. For example the mulitplayer. The online modes of F.E.A.R 3 are a refreshing take on FPS online games. The modes are hectic, fast paced, and can be played strategically or lazily with no loss of the "fun factor".

    I will admit the graphics could be a little better and the campaign has some dull moments, but the ability to play as paxton and the option of co op gives an incentive to play the campaign at least a second time without making it feel like you're playing the campaign over again.
    Expand
  5. Jun 21, 2011
    9
    In a sea of boring clones of the same FPS over and over, Fear 3 gives us something different. I like horror games and I've always been a fan of the FEAR franchise, this game does not disappoint. The multiplayer modes are fun but I bought the game for the single and co-op player.
  6. Jun 24, 2011
    9
    Hi All Fear / F3AR fans,

    little curious why all of the past 3 Fear titles have had a average score of 80? IMO F3AR at least deserves a A- (90) from each website. I understand there only critics but I beg to ask are they even Horror / Syfy fans? I honestly bet if you lined up gamers who love horror movies and then have a non FPS person review the games the reviews would be drastically
    different. Please respond if you agree or disagree and explain your opinion.

    also im looking for some co-op / multilayer buddies. add me- XBL - ZombieFan281 Forum Reply from Zekiran: on FearFans.com

    When dealing with critical reviewers for websites, you have to remember a lot of things:

    They're paid to review. That means one of two things, generally speaking - one, that they are paid to play and *enjoy* it, or that they're paid to *crush* it. Each of em is going to look at a game differently, obviously, but there's very little middle ground.

    Once you know the reviewer in question, and their likes and dislikes based on prior reviews, you can easily see how they're going to interpret certain things.

    Number scores are ridiculous, in any case. They're an abstraction that can't really take into account personality, individual game design needs or specialties, controls, etc all at once. They're still just opinions by people who are paid to play and critique games.

    I have to agree with you, though, that this is an "A" game through and through. I'll be posting a review eventually but I want to get through more of both the SP and then the co-op modes before doing so.

    And I'm on Steam, so no xbl code for me, sorry
    Expand
  7. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    This game was very solid and fun. The story of it was average, if not somewhat above average. It wasn't particularly mind blowing, but the fun game-play and multiple character selection does make up for it. The multi-player is incredibly fun. Modes such as Contradictions, f***ing run and Soul King put a new spin on multi-player gaming. If you're a FEAR fan this is a must buy. If you're a FPS/Horror fan give it a rent. Expand
  8. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    Let me start off by saying that if you are planning to get F3AR because you think its scary, dont. Im not a huge fan of horror games and this game is far from it. That aside, the game is very well done for a fairly lesser known developer. The hit detection rivals C.O.D which is a huge achievement and makes the game a lot better than one would think. The story is good enough to keep you wondering what will happen and isnt very predictable. The only snag, if you could call it that, was that me and my friend had some problems connecting online but that was soon solved by finding that we had our settings to closed in the options which we never set. All in all, the game is worth the money and has alot to do with ranking up and challenges to get. I would wait to get fear 3 until its cheaper however, if you dont have friends to play with, as it is very co-op heavy, in that the online is all co-op oriented. Expand
  9. Jun 30, 2011
    9
    I really wasn't expecting much from this title. In fact, after reading the reviews for its precursor, FEAR 2, I almost passed on it. I'm glad I didn't as it has been one of the gaming highlights of my year. Make no mistake, FEAR 3 is decidedly more FPS than horror survival. If you're looking for scares, best look elsewhere. This is no Dead Space. Suspense requires a well-paced storyline and characters that you can invest in. By the end of FEAR 3, I still had no idea what was going on, and neither did I care. Indeed, I would be hard-pressed to find a less engaging protagonist or more convoluted narrative. In this respect, the FEAR 3 is an unmitigated disaster. But who plays a game for the plot? That's what films (and LA Noire) are for. The real star of the show here is the excellent AI. Rather than blowing themselves up, enemies use their grenades to flush you out, before coming in for the kill. As they flank, circle and rush you, your choice of weapon and the tactical use of cover are all that stand between you and certain death. Once you trow in a satisfying arsenal of weapons and some well-designed maps, you have a surprisingly solid shooter. But, it is the ability to play as Fettel (either alone or co-operatively with Point Man) that sets this game apart from the usual FPS fodder. Whereas Point Man plays out as one would expect (guns, melee, grenades), Fettel is unable to use physical weapons unless he first possesses an enemy host. Subsequently, he can either extend his 'stay' by killing enemies or, alternatively, vacate the body, thereby killing the host. This mechanic is a stroke of genius and gives the campaign some much-needed replay value. The gameplay was so different playing through as Fettel that it felt like a whole new campaign. At its worst, FEAR 3, is a familiar pastiche of what has gone before (Bioshock, Crysis, Dead Space, Bulletstorm) but, at its best, it subsumes these influences and stands on its own two feet as a rethink of the genre. When so many of its competitors over-promise and under-deliver, FEAR 3 surprises by doing the opposite. Roll on FEAR 4! Expand
  10. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    F.E.A.R. was always one of my favorite games of all time - over the years I kept up with all the expansion packs and the sequel, Origin, and loved every minute of those games. The combination of high-tech sci-fi weaponry and horror-based first-person shooting is still the core gameplay in the third installment, and the game is just as fun as the ones that came before it. Sure, the scares aren't what they once were (although if you play this game alone at night with all the lights off it should still freak you out), but the shooting is still the highlight here, with enough weapon/enemy/environment changes to make the action always feel new and exciting. The solo mode is a tad on the short side (6 hours or so) but definitely worth playing and replaying, as are the mostly team-based multiplayer modes. Throw in co-op as a bonus and you have a game that delivers on all fronts. Expand
  11. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    Being a fan of the series I knew for a fact that Fear 3 would not disappoint me.
    When I loaded up the first level and start playing it felt foreign to me, and to be honest I didn't think I would enjoy the game at all.

    But my fears soon vanished as I started to have fun blasting my way through the prison and eventually the slums. Never had I had so much fun shooting up some bad guys.


    I eventually decided to jump into some multiplayer and my fun continued.
    I first played some f***ing run and was excited as my game loaded.
    The match started, my hands sweating I got ready to run and when that door opened I f***ing ran for my life and enjoyed every second of the match.

    After the match I fell in love with the game.
    This is a game I will never put down
    Collapse
  12. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    I would really give this game an 8.75, so rounding here makes sense. For those of you who have never played any of the FEAR games, you will most likely have no idea what is going on in the single player campaign. It does a very poor job of explaining everything that has happened in the previous games, and is essentially targetted towards fans. This is debatable, however, since the game's campaign can hardly be called frightening, (which is something that fans such as myself have come to love about the series), being geared more towards an intense shooter rather than a horror game. The problem with this is that it's either a hit or miss with most people. Either you despise the developers for moving more towards modern shooters, or you love the idea. I'm personally in the middle, giving due credit to the insanely tight shooting mechanics and incredible gameplay elements of the multiplayer, but I also am a little disappointed that the campaign is plain and simple not scary. FEAR 3's shooting is top notch, and I would go so far as to say that it rivals Call of Duty's tight gunplay. The hit markers on this game are spot on, and it is never a chore to hit enemies far away. The melee is excellent as well, being quite useful in many situations, despite it not killing in one blow (unless from behind). Grenades are a little bit on the sketchy side, but generally go towards where you want them to go. Every gun is extremely satisfying to use, and they're all well-balanced so that no gun feels inadequete, not even the standard pistol. The story of this game is a little on the stale side. There's no real arc to the plot nor is there any branching. It's essentially one primary goal throughout the entire campaign that never seems to become any more desirable than from the very beginning. There's no twists at all and the plot certainly never thickens. The game's story is basically Point Man and Fettel attempting to reach Alma before she has her baby. That literally sums up the entire campaign storyline. There are some impressive sequences and intense firefights throughout the game, and the slow-mo mechanic with Point Man never gets old. Being able to go through the campaign as Fettel (who can possess and explode enemies from the inside) also adds a new dimension and plenty of replayability along with many campaign-oriented achievements. The mech sequences are also a blast and they feel as powerful as ever. Voice acting is expertly done, especially for Fettel, who stands out amongst the rest. The enemy AI is extremely brutal, constantly looking to flank you and maintaing near 100% weapon accuracy no matter how far. The game's graphics are much better than the preview videos give them credit for, but they're still no Crysis 2 or Killzone. There are indeed a few moments that are slightly creepy, but most end up feeling like a recycled scene from a cliche horror flick meant to scare teenage girls. I think the part about this game that most impressed me was by far the fantastic multiplayer. Offering a variety of great modes, the multiplayer revolved mainly around co-op and is an absolute blast, no matter how many games you play. Since you're constantly leveling up during the campaign and from online, you will max out your rank within 2 weeks, granting you additional useful perks such as increased health regen or more magazines for your weapons. The star of all of the game modes in my opinion in Contractions, which is an amped up Nazi Zombies that may as well be one roids. It's insanely addicting, and becomes very intense often. Soul Survivor is a fun mode as well, which is essentially a form of Dark Deeds from Warcraft 3's online custom games. F**king Run is an absolute blast as well, but can grind your nerves when you're not playing with friends and wind up with a team that is low when it comes to player skill. This game mode is definitely targetted towards more skilled players, since it involves a lot of running and ACCURATE gunning. Soul King is somewhat fun, being the only competitive mode, but the small amount of players in a game keeps it from standing out. Overall, I'm a fan of the series, and am not disappointed by the next addition. A great purchase with plenty of replay value, but I only recommend it if you have at least one friend to play with, since the game seems to revolve around co-op. Not scary, but if you're looking for an intense shooter with paranormal elements as well as great co-op multiplayer, than look no further. Expand
  13. Feb 10, 2012
    10
    the original f.e.a.r. is one of my all time favorite games so I was really looking forward to this one, first the graphics aren't particularly impressive but they get the job done, the sound is very good with the ambiance really unnerving at times, gameplay wise the game is a blast, you'll really feel the power of your weapons, watching your enemy torn apart in slow motion never gets old, you'll also get a score after each chapter and this adds to the longevity and replay value, another interesting thing is the possibility to play as Fettel in single or co-op, this gives the game a totally different feel and grants a second playthrough, I've played with friends in the campaign and I must tell that I really enjoyed the experience, the fact that the two characters have so different powers and can cooperate in many different ways makes it stand out from the competition. Buy it if you are a f.e.a.r. fan or you're simply in search for a different fps with some original content Expand
  14. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    Awsome game its an epic action packed thrill ride the whole way through and delivers some creepy and scary moments and atmousphere plus this game packs hours of replay value because of its coop features and multiplayer aspects then buy this game you wont be disapointed
  15. Jul 4, 2011
    9
    In the lineage of the FEAR games, this game does not disappoint. The points I found very appealing about this game included a strong plot device (tying in with the previous two games), very good co-op work, and a GREAT weapon handling. The weapons feel very responsive to control, and performs very strong in the game. The few times I played through, the game was found to perform well and be glitch free. The leveling system also lends itself to replay-ability, and the multiplayer was pretty entertaining.

    Looking forward to a FEAR 4!
    Expand
  16. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    F.E.A.R 3,or F.3.A.R if you wish, is the weakest entry in the FEAR series. I am going to look at this game from 2 different points of view. Here is my honest opinion on the game.

    Alright, let's think of this game as a horror game. It fails, horribly even. This is one of the most...no...THE most disappointing games in the genre. The scares in this game are dull, and are far and few
    between. This game managed to make me jump ONCE, and that was one of those cheap scares. Yeah one of those. Alma is now a joke. I can't believe they could screw her up so bad. Also, the story blows. What was wrong with the original story. They took the original story, got high on heroine, and then rewrote it into a pile of garbage. They story may be in fact the reason why the game is not scary. Remember back in 2005, when Alma was scary? You would crap your pants at the very sight of her, and all the freaky hallucinations that came with it. Now, she's your mom, and that awesome, freaky guy Fettel is now your lame ass brother. With few scares and a retarded story, I can confidently say that this is the weakest in the franchise.

    However, when you look at it as a FPS, it's a pretty good game. Damn good. The gunplay is awesome, and the action almost never stops. Hiding behind cover then tactically taking out enemies is a real blast. The weapons all look awesome, my favorite being the sniper rifle. The levels seem to be build primarily for gunfights as well, hinting at the fact that FEAR 3 was more intended to be a FPS.

    When you think about it, the game, standing alone, is a pretty good FPS. However, as a part of the FEAR series, it just isn't that great. I was so so excited to hear that a new FEAR was coming out! I wanted a better game than FEAR 2. After playing FEAR 3, like many of you felt, I realized that FEAR 2 was actually pretty good. It was long for one thing. FEAR 3 barely lasted 4 hours.

    That is my review of FEAR 3. I wish they would had taken the time to make a better, more frightening game. Here's hoping for a better FEAR game in the future.
    Expand
  17. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    Haven't had this much fun playing a game in ages, it might have a short campaign but it's fully charged with electrifying gameplay, a great scoring challenge system & a ton of replay value, I picked mine up for £12.99 & having played it would have willingly paid double that or more. Awesome!
  18. Feb 13, 2012
    9
    Very underrated game! i thought the other two FEAR games was descent, nothing to remember in my book. this however is excellent, brilliant co-op campaign with tons of challanges to complete and a level up system that really rewards a second playthrough. i played this with a friend that hated the fear series and after we played through this game for the second time he said that this is one of the best games in 2011. a must buy for all you co-op shooter fans, solid 9/10 Expand
  19. Jun 30, 2011
    0
    Being a fan of the series I knew for a fact that Fear 3 would not disappoint me.
    When I loaded up the first level and start playing it felt foreign to me, and to be honest I didn't think I would enjoy the game at all.

    But my fears soon vanished as I started to have fun blasting my way through the prison and eventually the slums. Never had I had so much fun shooting up some bad guys.


    I eventually decided to jump into some multiplayer and my fun continued.
    I first played some f***ing run and was excited as my game loaded.
    The match started, my hands sweating I got ready to run and when that door opened I f***ing ran for my life and enjoyed every second of the match.

    After the match I fell in love with the game.
    This is a game I will never put down
    Collapse
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 71
  2. Negative: 2 out of 71
  1. Aug 19, 2011
    80
    What FEAR 3 lacks as a horror game it makes up for as a solid shooter. [Issue#75, p.80]
  2. Workmanlike design scuppers rock solid shooting. Not great FEAR, but not all awful. [Oct 2011, p.81]
  3. Jul 27, 2011
    68
    While I enjoyed FEAR 3 because I'm a fan of the series, I don't think the average person picking this up will know all the missing tidbits of knowledge the game doesn't give you to piece it all together.